View Full Version : First team debuts

05-02-2025, 08:49 AM
Now that the excitement of the transfer window is over, the next thing I'm looking forward to is seeing Manneh play for the Hibees for the first time.

It made me think about first impressions of a player on a debut for the Hibees. We've all seen safe/decent debuts. We've all seen "worst player on the pitch" debuts. But, what about the "we've got a top player" debuts.

Going back to 1987, I recall seeing Andy Goram's debut against Dunfermline. We won easily 4-0, but in the final minutes he had a fantastic save from a shot outside the box. I was impressed, though maybe it was because I was too used to Alan Rough flapping at such efforts!

IIRC Grant Brebner crashing a shot from outside the box on his debut, on loan from Manchester United.

I'm sure there's many more I could add. But, what about your first (positive) impressions of a footballer on their debut.

05-02-2025, 08:52 AM
Brian Kerr at Tynecastle. Winning goal. Last thing he did for us

05-02-2025, 08:53 AM
Latapy away to Ayr Utd, wondering what this small slight guy was going to be able to do in the rough and tumble of the Championship or old 1st Division, don't think anybody could get the ball of him that day.

05-02-2025, 08:54 AM
Joe McBride Snr home debut hat-trick versus Lokomotiv Leipzig made us forget all about Colin Stein

05-02-2025, 09:04 AM
Lee Power 1997. Scored v Celtic and we won 2-1 in the first game of the season and I thought we were going to win the league. Ended up relegated.

05-02-2025, 09:05 AM
Best debut got to be 16 year old Gordon Smith Hearts thought they had him lined up for a trial but Hibs signed him up on professional forms played him at Tiny as a Trialist and he scored a hat-trick in borrowed boots in a 5-3 win

Was underwhelmed with us signing Alan Gordon from Dundee United for 12k Hearts reject but what a player 82 goals in 145 appearances

What do I know ?

05-02-2025, 09:07 AM
Marc Libbra, late equaliser at Celtc Park on his debut.

05-02-2025, 09:08 AM

What a player he was. Tremendous

05-02-2025, 09:09 AM
What a player he was. Tremendous

Class

05-02-2025, 09:12 AM
Some impressive memory recollections already on this thread!

05-02-2025, 09:13 AM
Must be the last time we wore our home kit at Celtic Park! He also popped up at Livingston a couple years later.

He's here!
05-02-2025, 09:15 AM
Now that the excitement of the transfer window is over, the next thing I'm looking forward to is seeing Manneh play for the Hibees for the first time.

It made me think about first impressions of a player on a debut for the Hibees. We've all seen safe/decent debuts. We've all seen "worst player on the pitch" debuts. But, what about the "we've got a top player" debuts.

Going back to 1987, I recall seeing Andy Goram's debut against Dunfermline. We won easily 4-0, but in the final minutes he had a fantastic save from a shot outside the box. I was impressed, though maybe it was because I was too used to Alan Rough flapping at such efforts!

IIRC Grant Brebner crashing a shot from outside the box on his debut, on loan from Manchester United.

I'm sure there's many more I could add. But, what about your first (positive) impressions of a footballer on their debut.

Bit harsh on Roughie. He was a great signing and did more than anyone to keep us up in a pretty dismal era for the club. He ended up at Celtic after leaving Hibs so was clearly still rated.

05-02-2025, 09:15 AM
Not his competitive debut but you could see David Murphy oozed class in the trial he played v Cardiff.

He was about a stone overweight and clearly miles away in terms of match fitness but it was blindingly obvious he was a cut above in terms of ability.

glenberviehibee
05-02-2025, 09:16 AM
Remember Franck Sauzees debut at Brockville just ouzed class

Paulie Walnuts
05-02-2025, 09:17 AM
Kamberi scored a screamer on his debut. Can’t remember if he actually played well, but it was a great strike and I’m sure we played fairly well, so I’m guessing it was a fairly decent performance from him!

Victor Palsson also looked outstanding on his debut. Looked neat and tidy and an absolute powerhouse. Thought he could have ended up being a superstar.

hibsforeurope
05-02-2025, 09:18 AM
Brian Kerr at Tynecastle. Winning goal. Last thing he did for us

The Last thing anyone seen him do for us :greengrin

He's here!
05-02-2025, 09:30 AM
Pretty sure Steve Archibald scored on his debut. Such a classy player and it still seems stunning that we managed to sign him.

05-02-2025, 09:38 AM
Bit harsh on Roughie. He was a great signing and did more than anyone to keep us up in a pretty dismal era for the club. He ended up at Celtic after leaving Hibs so was clearly still rated.

Yes, you're probably right.

I missed the period with Alan Rough in goals for Hibs, so my memory was probably influenced by trying to save shots from South American footballers.

05-02-2025, 09:39 AM
Pretty sure Steve Archibald scored on his debut. Such a classy player and it still seems stunning that we managed to sign him.

I was going include Archibald, but wasn't sure if the game against Celtic when I saw him score two early goals was his debut or not.

Hillsidehibby
05-02-2025, 09:44 AM
I was going include Archibald, but wasn't sure if the game against Celtic when I saw him score two early goals was his debut or not.

I think I remember Steve Archibald's debut was in the League Cup at ER. Stenhousemuir?

Hillsidehibby
05-02-2025, 09:47 AM
Yes, you're probably right.

I missed the period with Alan Rough in goals for Hibs, so my memory was probably influenced by trying to save shots from South American footballers.

The Rough, Goram and Leighton days were the Trifecta of goalies.

05-02-2025, 09:48 AM
Paul Hartley.

One of the best first touches I've seen a Hibs player take as he killed a ball when it dropped out of the sky. We thought we had a player on our hands then.

He, er, certainly later went on to do fairly well at an Edinburgh club.

05-02-2025, 09:50 AM
I remember seeing Alan O’Brien our latest signing from Newcastle United Stirling Albion away in a preseason friendly was like Ivan Sproule on a motorbike

I left the ground rubbing my hands salivating at the prospect of him ripping Premier League defences to shreds 53 games later nada goals

Oops sorry wrong thread :greengrin

05-02-2025, 09:55 AM
Paul Hartley.

One of the best first touches I've seen a Hibs player take as he killed a ball when it dropped out of the sky. We thought we had a player on our hands then.

Actually really liked Paul Hartley at Hibs. Was delighted when we signed him. Seemed to struggle for minutes though.

05-02-2025, 10:00 AM
Paul Hartley.

Yip remember that was a Christmas time game against Raith Rovers in freezing conditions ball came down with snow on it just inside the opposition half going up the slope trapped the ball first time killed it stone dead and set off up the wing I remember thinking this boy looks a player

05-02-2025, 10:04 AM
Conrad Logan. I wasn't the only one thinking WTF when I saw him. How wrong was I though lol. The rest as they say is history.

hibsfan7
05-02-2025, 10:04 AM
the best ever conrad logan in the semi v dundee united

05-02-2025, 10:09 AM
I think Neil Orr scored on his debut at ER way back in distant past. A diving header into the cooshed end.

Can't remember against who but I think we won the game 2-1.

inglisavhibs
05-02-2025, 10:14 AM

Peter Marinello at Kirkcaldy if my memory serves me right. Nobody knew who he was, but they soon did.

05-02-2025, 10:31 AM
I think Neil Orr scored on his debut at ER way back in distant past. A diving header into the cooshed end.

Sure we had a run of signings who all scored on their debuts at that time.
Did Keith Wright not score on his🤔
Victor Palsson had a very accomplished debut but then he regressed rapidly.

05-02-2025, 10:43 AM
Actually really liked Paul Hartley at Hibs. Was delighted when we signed him. Seemed to struggle for minutes though.

Me too. Scored some cracking goals in the First Division.

Lost his way a bit when the Sauzee, Latapy era really started to take shape.

I don't think we really saw the central midfielder in him that he went on to become. Funny, because my mate played with him as a youth at Accies and said he was an absolutely phenomenal central midfielder back in the day but had sort of evolved into a winger.

05-02-2025, 10:56 AM

I remember Gareth Evans found the same after coming off the bench, diving header vs Dundee I think?

05-02-2025, 10:56 AM
Dylan Vente versus Lucerne what a f#cking signing looked the dogs bollocks

05-02-2025, 11:03 AM
I remember seeing a certain Franc Sauzee debut for Hibs at home to Falkirk and thinking this guy looks the biz. Was not wrong!

05-02-2025, 11:08 AM
I remember Gareth Evans found the same after coming off the bench, diving header vs Dundee I think?

Aye, I'm probably mixing my games up.

badabing67
05-02-2025, 11:17 AM

He was awesome

05-02-2025, 11:17 AM
Andy Dow and I went mental

jakeshibs
05-02-2025, 11:20 AM
Did De La Cruz not score against hearts on his debut? cant remember if it was his first game but remember thinking what a goal (if he meant it).

Yorkshire HFC
05-02-2025, 11:21 AM
Sure we had a run of signings who all scored on their debuts at that time.
Did Keith Wright not score on his🤔
Victor Palsson had a very accomplished debut but then he regressed rapidly.

Paul Wright came off the bench and scored the winner on his debut - can't remember who it was against but I'm sure it finished 3 - 2 - he might even have scored the second and third goals?

05-02-2025, 11:23 AM
You could tell within 5 minutes that Youan knows his way around a football, in the attacking sense at least, on his debut.

darwenhibby
05-02-2025, 11:26 AM
Keith Houchen at Tynie
Thought what a signing
Played from them on like he didn’t want to be here

Roxyhibee
05-02-2025, 11:28 AM
Conrad Logan. I wasn't the only one thinking WTF when I saw him. How wrong was I though lol. The rest as they say is history.

Nothing is topping that, for any team, let’s be honest. Given his physical and match fitness situation, it was astonishing.

05-02-2025, 11:30 AM
Jordan Forster arguably man of the match in a 2-1 win at Tynecastle.

05-02-2025, 11:32 AM
Technically his 2nd debut but Scott Allan coming on and winning a penalty against Rangers at Ibrox which McLaren scored to win the game.

Roxyhibee
05-02-2025, 11:32 AM
An unusual one for me as a then 12 year old was Johnny Graham’s debut around 1971..? Despite already having a few heroes in the team then, i recall being really excited by him. Sure the crowd were too.

Niffy
05-02-2025, 11:33 AM
Keith Houchen

Niffy
05-02-2025, 11:34 AM
Just seen Darwin's post. Aye - great debut - thought "here we go" then utterly dissapointed thereafter.

Niffy
05-02-2025, 11:37 AM

Were we not 0-2 down to Dundee United, then Alex Miller put on Gareth Evans - the headless chicken we all though, and I think he scored two and set up one.

05-02-2025, 11:42 AM
Keith Houchen at Tynie
Thought what a signing
Played from them on like he didn’t want to be here

Keith Houchen

Yes, I was also thinking of Keith Houchen when I started the OP. Scored early in successive games against the Hearts and The Rangers, but sadly we lost both games. Did he also not score a screamer in an away Euro tie against a Belgian team?

05-02-2025, 11:51 AM
Remember Franck Sauzees debut at Brockville just ouzed class

Made his debut along with fellow Frenchman Alex Marinkov , Can you believe that was 26 years ago in 15 days time?!

Andy Dow and I went mental

Me tae , we were seconds away from winning till that Racist Mckay scored to make it 1-1

Were we not 0-2 down to Dundee United, then Alex Miller put on Gareth Evans - the headless chicken we all though, and I think he scored two and set up one.

:agree: two nil down with under 10 minutes to go ! The headline in the sun the next again day was 'Good Evans it's Gareth ':greengrin

05-02-2025, 12:01 PM
Were we not 0-2 down to Dundee United, then Alex Miller put on Gareth Evans - the headless chicken we all though, and I think he scored two and set up one.Hogmanay 1992. The more significant event was Jim McLean taking Duncan Disorderly off at 2-0 thinking job done. He'd run us ragged that day.

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

05-02-2025, 12:23 PM
Jonathan Spector.

Came on in the 77th minute at Tynecastle, saw out a 2-1 win, never played for us again and retired at the end of the season. Legend.

jakedance
05-02-2025, 12:38 PM
Who was the winger we signed after Alan O'Brien? He skipped past a few players and I was genuinely excited to have a winger that could, you know, take people on and run fast. Then he got promptly injured (on his debut?) and never did much for us again.

Conrad Logan is an obvious standout. I couldn't believe we were playing this guy and then he turned in THAT performance. I was at Brockville for Sauzees debut and you could see he was class.

05-02-2025, 12:47 PM
Who was the winger we signed after Alan O'Brien? He skipped past a few players and I was genuinely excited to have a winger that could, you know, take people on and run fast. Then he got promptly injured (on his debut?) and never did much for us again.

Conrad Logan is an obvious standout. I couldn't believe we were playing this guy and then he turned in THAT performance. I was at Brockville for Sauzees debut and you could see he was class.

Maybe a winger Humphries ? Sure we got him from Motherwell

Chorley Hibee
05-02-2025, 01:01 PM
Paul Wright came off the bench and scored the winner on his debut - can't remember who it was against but I'm sure it finished 3 - 2 - he might even have scored the second and third goals?

Against Aberdeen at ER.

05-02-2025, 01:02 PM
Melkersen v Motherwell. Thought we had a superstar on our hands

05-02-2025, 01:12 PM
Georgie Best debut in Paisley never ever thought we would see the great man play for us

14000 turned up legs were gone but the fitba brain was still there had reinvented himself as a super passer of the ball with brilliant vision but maybes that was already there but still managed to score a late consolation and even more fans would be at the Holy Ground for his home debut versus Thistle

05-02-2025, 01:13 PM

Was that his debut? Thought he had played before that game

05-02-2025, 01:14 PM
Lee Power 1997. Scored v Celtic and we won 2-1 in the first game of the season and I thought we were going to win the league. Ended up relegated.

Wasn't his debut though.

foxy
05-02-2025, 01:15 PM
Hogmanay 1992. The more significant event was Jim McLean taking Duncan Disorderly off at 2-0 thinking job done. He'd run us ragged that day.

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

That game was played on 28th December 1991 and Gareth did score 2 goals but he signed for Hibs in 1988 and scored the winner (a diving header) on his debut on February 6th 1988 against Dundee at Easter Road.

Auckland Hibs
05-02-2025, 01:17 PM
Andy Dow - signed on a Saturday morning and scored at the PBS in the afternoon.

05-02-2025, 01:26 PM
Gordon Chisolm scored on his debut in the 1985 Skol cup semi final we won 2-0 at Easter road

Random aken , But i've just watched the 2nd leg of the return game at Ibrox which we lost 1-0 ( We Progressed through over 2 legs ) and for over 40 years i was adamant Davie Cooper scored at the rangers end but in the clip i watched he scored at the hibs end !!!:confused:

Even as a wee 9 year old laddie i have had this image in my head for years watching his free kick sail into the top corner from the other end of the pitch , Only thing i kin think off is my Dad took me and him into the Rangers end which would make sense seeing him score from the other end of the pitch , But not in his life would he take me into that cesspit home end

Scary man , For over 40 years i have lived with that goal lol

05-02-2025, 01:28 PM
Me too. Scored some cracking goals in the First Division.

Lost his way a bit when the Sauzee, Latapy era really started to take shape.

I don't think we really saw the central midfielder in him that he went on to become. Funny, because my mate played with him as a youth at Accies and said he was an absolutely phenomenal central midfielder back in the day but had sort of evolved into a winger.

He probably got his early chances as a winger because of his relatively diminutive stature. I also remember being really pleased when we signed him as he looked like a real talent in the making coming up through the leagues. We really missed a trick not spotting that central midfield talent though. His chances at making the breakthrough were probably limited at the time due to the money that was splashing about resulting in the likes of Latapy and Sauzee ahead of him in the pecking order.

05-02-2025, 01:29 PM
That game was played on 28th December 1991 and Gareth did score 2 goals but he signed for Hibs in 1988 and scored the winner (a diving header) on his debut on February 6th 1988 against Dundee at Easter Road.

Was a hibs kids game that day , We were situated in the now West stand upper towards the away end with brootle hard wooden seats :greengrin

Aye Gareth came of the bench with a peach of a diving heider

05-02-2025, 02:58 PM

Melks debut was a 0-0 draw at Dens Park.

Motherwell was his first start.

inglisavhibs
05-02-2025, 03:10 PM
An unusual one for me as a then 12 year old was Johnny Graham’s debut around 1971..? Despite already having a few heroes in the team then, i recall being really excited by him. Sure the crowd were too.
What was the song again Hey Hey Hey Johnny Graham💚

MM19
05-02-2025, 03:24 PM
I was going to mention Johnny Graham it was a midweek game I think we had just signed him maybe the day before and he scored. One of my favourite players scored a lot of goals for us.

05-02-2025, 03:26 PM

Pretty sure it was Johnny Graham King O Scotland repeat

Johnny Graham had signed that afternoon scored a brace in a 3-1 win versus Airdrieonians Peter Cormack getting the other goal Dave Marshall for them

Every Hibs goal in the second half downhill met with a good natured pitch invasion from the Cave

We thought we had found a new hero long hair shirt outside the shorts but Eddie Turnbull didn’t fancy him

MM19
05-02-2025, 03:31 PM
Pretty sure it was Johnny Graham King O Scotland repeat

Johnny Graham had signed that afternoon scored a brace in a 3-1 win versus Airdrieonians Peter Cormack getting the other goal Dave Marshall for them

Every Hibs goal in the second half downhill met with a good natured pitch invasion from the Cave

We thought we had found a new hero long hair shirt outside the shorts but Eddie Turnbull didn’t fancy him

I was thinking he had just signed for us great player Johnny I think he left too soon. Was there no something happened with him and Joe McBride they were both dropped for the Liverpool game when we got beat 1-0 I think Joe came on as a sub. Did Willie McFarlane no resign no long after and I thought him and Joe left no long after but my memory isn't so good

05-02-2025, 03:38 PM
I was thinking he had just signed for us great player Johnny I think he left too soon. Was there no something happened with him and Joe McBride they were both dropped for the Liverpool game when we got beat 1-0 I think Joe came on as a sub. Did Willie McFarlane no resign no long after and I thought him and Joe left no long after but my memory isn't so good

Tom Hart wanted to pick the team for the biggest game of the season

Willie MacFarlane resigned in protest prior to kick off

Hart dropped our top scorer Joe McBride to the bench as he wanted him to move permanently through to Edinburgh from Glasgow

Graham was dropped totally for the game and eventually spent 5 years at Ayr United before rejoining Falkirk

05-02-2025, 03:46 PM
Kenny Davidson, 18 when made home debut having just come back from beating Malmo in Sweden (we had beat then 6-0 at home) they got there revenge a few years ago. Kenny played against St Mirren on the Sat, scoring 2 goals we thought we had the new Marinello, he was some player but used too much and played to often he got his leg broke the next season, never lost a game at the gimps place.
Some great games in the same team that Joe Baker returned to.

darwenhibby
05-02-2025, 03:53 PM
Another on Graham Harvey
Scored on his debut after signing from Ormiston
After a season or so went on to play at a decent level further down the league

05-02-2025, 04:24 PM

Gorams debut for Rangers was the opposite. Against Hertz at Tynie he put his hands up for a shot that he thought was going wide and left it. Ball hit the back of the net. This was after replacing Chris Woods. Still the best goalie & one of the best players I've seen in a Hibs jersey.

05-02-2025, 06:44 PM
Gordon Rae’s second game 3 days after his debut was at Ibrox.Score 2-0 for the goodies. Scorers Rae and Auld.(maybe not Auld!)

05-02-2025, 07:06 PM

Hit the last minute winner as a sub in a 3-2 win v Aberdeen. Neil Orr and Pat McGinlay had us two up before Aberdeen came back late.

05-02-2025, 07:10 PM
Paul Hartley.

Looked like it was chucked out a plane it was that high,killed it dead he did .

LustForLeith
05-02-2025, 07:12 PM
Paul Hartley.

I remember that!

Was it against Raith Rovers?

Ginger Gehagan
05-02-2025, 07:42 PM
Scott Brown, came off the bench against the sheep and set up 3 goals. Rob Jones, fair enough that was against Dinaburg who were one of the worst teams I've seen us play, but I remember the cheers everytime he won a header as we finally had a decent centre half to go with a great midfield and attack (goalie was still s**t though!)

05-02-2025, 07:51 PM
Did anyone see Maolida doing what he did after his debut?

Dreadful, but wow did he turn it around.

Roxyhibee
05-02-2025, 07:53 PM

Think it was nananana (twice) - hey ey ey - Johnny Graham. The tune was a 60’s girl group song. Who sang goodbye instead.?

05-02-2025, 08:09 PM
Think it was nananana (twice) - hey ey ey - Johnny Graham. The tune was a 60’s girl group song. Who sang goodbye instead.?

Was Steam who did the original in the 60's. They were guys.

Bananarama covered it though.

Roxyhibee
05-02-2025, 08:10 PM
I was going to mention Johnny Graham it was a midweek game I think we had just signed him maybe the day before and he scored. One of my favourite players scored a lot of goals for us.

It was definitely a night game yes.

05-02-2025, 08:35 PM

I know it wasn't his actual debut, but thanks to that game I'll always be convinced he's an absolute player and we just never saw the best of him. Put him in this Hibs team and BOOM.

Before anyone tries to convince me otherwise using things like facts. I don't care. I've made my mind up, this is a hill I die on 😁

05-02-2025, 09:25 PM
Martin Boyle's second debut was alright.

Roxyhibee
05-02-2025, 10:01 PM
Was Steam who did the original in the 60's. They were guys.

Bananarama covered it though.

That was it.! - I’m hearing Banana bloody rama’s voices.! The shame..

06-02-2025, 03:22 AM
Jonathan Baillie, if I recall correctly a quarter final against Celtic and he strolled it and we won the game, felt like the start of an amazing career that never took off and then he was baldy injured and had to retire.

inglisavhibs
06-02-2025, 09:27 AM
That’s the one, used to sing it on the excursion buses from St Andrews Square.

MM19
06-02-2025, 02:58 PM
Tom Hart wanted to pick the team for the biggest game of the season

Willie MacFarlane resigned in protest prior to kick off

Hart dropped our top scorer Joe McBride to the bench as he wanted him to move permanently through to Edinburgh from Glasgow

Graham was dropped totally for the game and eventually spent 5 years at Ayr United before rejoining Falkirk

Probably cost us the game they were two great strikers for us. Should have been at Hibs longer

TelaStella
06-02-2025, 09:05 PM
Surprised not to have seen Benji’s name yet. Of a similar time, Thomas Sowunmi scoring the winner in a Scottish cup quarter away in Dumfries? Or anyone remember Filipe Morais debut albeit as a trialist at home v Middlesborough?

06-02-2025, 09:09 PM
Surprised not to have seen Benji’s name yet. Of a similar time, Thomas Sowunmi scoring the winner in a Scottish cup quarter away in Dumfries? Or anyone remember Filipe Morais debut albeit as a trialist at home v Middlesborough?

Benji’s debut was a 4-0 defeat to Hearts

06-02-2025, 09:11 PM

Jog my memory R.E Benji ? wasnae at Hampden v Hearts was it ?

Sowunmi and his brothers were crap for Hibs imo

TelaStella
06-02-2025, 09:11 PM
Benji’s debut was a 4-0 defeat to Hearts

Ah, Hampden? My bad. Worked very hard on erasing that from memory so you can forgive me!

06-02-2025, 09:13 PM
I think I remember Steve Archibald's debut was in the League Cup at ER. Stenhousemuir?

Stranraer I think.

TelaStella
06-02-2025, 09:15 PM
Jog my memory R.E Benji ? wasnae at Hampden v Hearts was it ?

Sowunmi and his brothers were crap for Hibs imo

It was, my mistake. Perhaps we can just pretend it was the game he scored the winner and went riot inciting mode in celebration! Yeah they were pish. That game in Dumfries followed by the the game v huns were Charlie Adam scored the 2 free kicks are my only memory of them, one of them at least. Wonder whatever happened to them?

06-02-2025, 09:19 PM
It was, my mistake. Perhaps we can just pretend it was the game he scored the winner and went riot inciting mode in celebration! Yeah they were pish. That game in Dumfries followed by the the game v huns were Charlie Adam scored the 2 free kicks are my only memory of them, one of them at least. Wonder whatever happened to them?

Ran the length of the pitch with his boot to the Hearts fans :greengrin

06-02-2025, 09:53 PM

Willie Mac bought him from Falkirk for 20K on a Tuesday morning, November 1969. He made his debut that evening against Airdrie where he got a brace in the 3-1 win. He got another brace in his next home match against Dunfermline and his consecutive run of home goals lasted one more match. The 1-1 draw with Motherwell, the scene of the famous shoot magazine photo of Peter Marinello, standing on a snow-covered Easter Road, with the line markings, being the only part of the pitch that had been cleared of snow [with grass visible on either side of the lines, obviously] :big grin:

Another Ayr connection. Hibs' new manager, Eddie Turnbull, deemed him surplus and let him join his recent ex-teammate, Eric Stevenson, at Ayr.

MM19
08-02-2025, 02:37 PM
Willie Mac bought him from Falkirk for 20K on a Tuesday morning, November 1969. He made his debut that evening against Airdrie where he got a brace in the 3-1 win. He got another brace in his next home match against Dunfermline and his consecutive run of home goals lasted one more match. The 1-1 draw with Motherwell, the scene of the famous shoot magazine photo of Peter Marinello, standing on a snow-covered Easter Road, with the line markings, being the only part of the pitch that had been cleared of snow [with grass visible on either side of the lines, obviously] :big grin:

Another Ayr connection. Hibs' new manager, Eddie Turnbull, deemed him surplus and let him join his recent ex-teammate, Eric Stevenson, at Ayr.
I knew Willie McFarlane had bought him and he had scored pretty soon after we had bought him. I mind of being at the match when he scored and it was a night match. Couldn't mind who it was against though. I remember he scored against Falkirk in the first 10 seconds probably about 1971 I think we were winning 2-0 they brought it back to 2-2 and Joe Baker scored a diving header for the winner. I liked Johnny Graham and Joe McBride they left Hibs too soon.

08-02-2025, 03:20 PM
I knew Willie McFarlane had bought him and he had scored pretty soon after we had bought him. I mind of being at the match when he scored and it was a night match. Couldn't mind who it was against though. I remember he scored against Falkirk in the first 10 seconds probably about 1971 I think we were winning 2-0 they brought it back to 2-2 and Joe Baker scored a diving header for the winner. I liked Johnny Graham and Joe McBride they left Hibs too soon.

Pretty sure that Johnny Graham scored against Falkirk in second game of a quarter final league cup game we were down 2-0 and just could not find the other goals that our play deserved that night. he was a good player for Hibs, Joe McBride senior was one of the best goalscorers I ever seen live. We dumped both due to the whim of Tom Hart. So its not that unusual for Hibs to be messed around by owners, we have history.

08-02-2025, 04:29 PM
Pretty sure that Johnny Graham scored against Falkirk in second game of a quarter final league cup game we were down 2-0 and just could not find the other goals that our play deserved that night. he was a good player for Hibs, Joe McBride senior was one of the best goalscorers I ever seen live. We dumped both due to the whim of Tom Hart. So its not that unusual for Hibs to be messed around by owners, we have history.

Jimmy O’Rourke everyone knows his name scored

08-02-2025, 04:43 PM
Jimmy O’Rourke everyone knows his name scored

Right enough Billy, funny how the auld grey matter plays tricks, can still see in my mind a picture of what I thought was JG stooping to head a goal in at the coo Shed end.
That was a disappointing result as we should have gubbed them. Good crows at ER that night as well, or did I imagine that.

08-02-2025, 04:50 PM
Right enough Billy, funny how the auld grey matter plays tricks, can still see in my mind a picture of what I thought was JG stooping to head a goal in at the coo Shed end.
That was a disappointing result as we should have gubbed them. Good crows at ER that night as well, or did I imagine that.

Aye big crowd we battered them but could only score the one

We beat them 6-0 in the League at ER a few weeks later

Was at Brockville for the first leg we pummelled them 0-2 two breakaways another big crowd mind I had to sit on the track

Valencia
10-02-2025, 03:01 PM
Yip same one for me. I think he scord two in a three one win. i had just started working [1969] and boss took me to home for my tea and took me to the stand as it was a horrible night.