View Full Version : Cold play - sunshine on leith
FILHIB7NIL
03-02-2025, 10:55 AM
Anyone listening to Radio2 piano room.
Cold Play just sung version of sunshine on Leith.Outstanding.Tear to the eye.🇳🇬🇳🇬
03-02-2025, 10:59 AM
Cold Play just sung version of sunshine on Leith.Outstanding.Tear to the eye.[emoji1184][emoji1184]
https://www.instagram.com/reel/DFnBM2koQQB/?igsh=MW53bWM5MnZwb3dzYQ==
scm70nyd1973
03-02-2025, 11:03 AM
Got an “emergency” phone call from the wife to rewind BBC Sounds to about 11.50 (piano room on Radio 2) to hear it - great to hear him talk about the “Hibernian fans on the terracing” signing it -good publicity 😁
03-02-2025, 11:12 AM
Sounds exactly like the Proclaimers' arrangement to me.
Albert Kidd 86’
03-02-2025, 11:13 AM
I am waiting patiently for the Slipknot version…
Posh Swanny
03-02-2025, 11:14 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/m0027h4h
segment starts just after 22 minutes.
03-02-2025, 11:18 AM
What a wild reaction to that I’ve just had.
Can hear it many times and just think nothing of it.
Then every now and again you hear it and are nearly in tears.
Amazing.
I’ll never not be delighted that our club have that song as our own.
The best without doubt.
mcohibs
03-02-2025, 11:29 AM
Got an “emergency” phone call from the wife to rewind BBC Sounds to about 11.50 (piano room on Radio 2) to hear it - great to hear him talk about the “Hibernian fans on the terracing” signing it -good publicity 😁
Yep, great publicity for Coldplay. Must be trying to use our great run of form to boost their popularity :greengrin
He's here!
03-02-2025, 11:37 AM
What a wild reaction to that I’ve just had.
Can hear it many times and just think nothing of it.
Then every now and again you hear it and are nearly in tears.
Amazing.
I’ll never not be delighted that our club have that song as our own.
The best without doubt.
It's become such an integral part of the club and when you hear those guys talking about the impact it had on them it just makes you all the more grateful it's ours. A unique, wonderful thing.
03-02-2025, 11:43 AM
Wonderful. My sister just passed and Sunshine on Leith was on the music list for the service. She was also a big Coldplay fan though, so this cover is perfect. Thank you for posting
Cold Play just sung version of sunshine on Leith.Outstanding.Tear to the eye.🇳🇬🇳🇬
Thanks for sharing. Coldplay doing a version of it could make it go stratospheric.
03-02-2025, 11:51 AM
Tears. On the ferry to Dunoon. Wonderful. Thanks
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
03-02-2025, 11:52 AM
Possibly the worst cover version I have ever heard.
03-02-2025, 11:53 AM
Wonderful. My sister just passed and Sunshine on Leith was on the music list for the service. She was also a big Coldplay fan though, so this cover is perfect. Thank you for posting
Sorry for your loss.
03-02-2025, 11:55 AM
Sorry to hear that. Many condolences. RIP
03-02-2025, 12:02 PM
Not a big Coldplay fan and it’s a dull version adding little to the original except the soul-stripping mundane they specialize in, but fair play to them making the tribute and I liked their comments about the song.
03-02-2025, 12:04 PM
Always good to get a mention on the TV or radio.
SOL is simply synonymous with us now, you can't mention it without referencing the club and it's fans as well. Heard it covered before, but there's just something about two guys who sound like they wudnae back oot o' a fight singing it that gives it so much more meaning and gravitas. Probably why I wasn't a fan of the film version, it's saccharine interpretation didn't do the song any favours IMO.
Not a fan of Coldplay, but fair play to them for giving it a go. The best fitba song in the world, that doesn't mention fitba or any team :greengrin
03-02-2025, 12:05 PM
Chris Martin seems to be affecting a touch of Leith accent. :greengrin
Not a patch on the original.
03-02-2025, 12:08 PM
I’m amazed (as is Jo Whiley it seems) that none of Coldplay had heard of the song before, especially their bassist who is Scottish and a Raith Rovers fan.
PHeffernan
03-02-2025, 12:10 PM
Losing a young sister must be a terrible loss.
I hope you're getting the support you need.
Best wishes.
WestStandWillie
03-02-2025, 12:13 PM
Great to hear us get mentioned but they've brutalised SoL there.
Groathillgrump
03-02-2025, 12:34 PM
As someone who has a dislike of Coldplay bordering on hatred it wasn't as bad as I'd expected. :greengrin
Fair play to them for mentioning the Hibs.
itslegaltender
03-02-2025, 12:53 PM
Man, that song. Every single time hits.
03-02-2025, 01:08 PM
Brilliant
Crutch
03-02-2025, 01:20 PM
Nothing will better the original but that’s the way it should be. Quite liked it, and always nice hearing it unexpectedly. Got me right looking forward to Friday night.
03-02-2025, 01:20 PM
I’m amazed (as is Jo Whiley it seems) that none of Coldplay had heard of the song before, especially their bassist who is Scottish and a Raith Rovers fan.
Yes seems very odd a Scottish football fan wouldn’t have ever heard of it
Fergos
03-02-2025, 01:23 PM
Condolences my friend ✊
hibernian1982
03-02-2025, 01:30 PM
To be fair, Chris Martin lavishes praise on the original (and the wider catalogue of Proclaimer's songs) and also says they will "butcher it". It's such an incredible song that a cover still gives me shivers and the hairs stand up on the back of my neck. I'm sure plenty of folks will be searching out the original now they have heard the cover
Just_Jimmy
03-02-2025, 01:42 PM
I'm a coldplay fan, seen them live a few times.
I'm a massive proclaimers fan.
Not sure about that cover, I've heard worse covers of worse songs but it just doesn't do it for me.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
03-02-2025, 01:45 PM
So sorry to hear of your loss
TheHibernator
03-02-2025, 01:52 PM
Magnificent song, not a patch on the original mind you but as others have said always nice to hear people talk about it with such admiration and the fact it’s ours. Reminds me of all the good day following the Hibees
03-02-2025, 01:58 PM
Chris Martin isnae wrong, he did butcher it.
Got no time for Coldplay at all.
cameronw-hfc
03-02-2025, 01:58 PM
Nice of them to perform it, shame it's a brutal performance imo.
Nice words beforehand though and good to see the song means a lot to other people without a Scottish/Hibs connection
03-02-2025, 02:00 PM
Not a big Coldplay fan and it’s a dull version adding little to the original except the soul-stripping mundane they specialize in, but fair play to them making the tribute and I liked their comments about the song.
Did he have to say 'I'd never heard of it before' and then follow with some condescending bs about the Proclaimers?
Coldplay have been much more successful, but they're not fit to polish the twins' shiny shoes.
SickBoy32
03-02-2025, 02:01 PM
Top football anthem, the jambos must hate it 😂
03-02-2025, 02:04 PM
Sacrilege!!
Coldplay are utter dog****!
I won't bother listening to it.
03-02-2025, 02:09 PM
What have we done to deserve a Coldplay cover? 😩
03-02-2025, 02:14 PM
I preferred their follow up song, “Tony Mowbray and Mark Venus”
03-02-2025, 02:24 PM
Not a Coldplay fan but that’s a decent stab at it.
mcohibs
03-02-2025, 02:27 PM
Never understood the Coldplay hate. One of these bands it’s cool to **** on I reckon. Plenty worse music these days. Cover’s alright.
Never understood the Coldplay hate. One of these bands it’s cool to **** on I reckon. Plenty worse music these days. Cover’s alright.Am with you. Of all the bands picking up on that late70s thru 80s shtick Coldplay are far from being the worst.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
03-02-2025, 02:40 PM
Condolences mate
03-02-2025, 02:44 PM
They've hardly butchered it, it's about as faithful a cover as you could get.
Their recent descent into naff pop is a bit off-putting and they/he remain total cheeseballs, but they don't deserve the decades of hate they've had.
Murphys Touch
03-02-2025, 03:03 PM
Our of the most successful bands ever and people on here calling them dug ****
It’s entirely fine for others to have different likes or tastes without the theatrics.
I’m not a fan, got a ticket to see them with an ex bird and had one of the best musical/entertainment nights ever. (Same with Take That and Circus tour)
Great exposure for the proclaimers (no that they need it 🇳🇬)
03-02-2025, 03:04 PM
It’s entirely fine for others to have different likes or tastes without the theatrics.
I’m not a fan, got a ticket to see them with an ex bird and had one of the best musical/entertainment nights ever. (Same with Take That and Circus tour)
Great exposure for the proclaimers (no that they need it [emoji1184])
Yeah I often laugh at folk calling them boring etc. went to see them at Hampden and was one of the most entertaining concerts I’ve ever been to. And very upbeat.
Cat Stanton
03-02-2025, 03:05 PM
Coldplay always bring tears to my eyes.
03-02-2025, 03:06 PM
I like it they like it.
03-02-2025, 03:15 PM
Good effort tbf, glad they didn't try something too different. Being faithful to the original is a tribute in itself.
03-02-2025, 03:18 PM
So glad we have that harmless, beautiful, song as an anthem. Always thought Leeds fans might give it a go but the 2016 cup final rendition went viral and nobody can legitimately steal it now.
03-02-2025, 03:41 PM
Coldplay watching the Hibs. Brilliant.
Keep spreading the word Chris.
Cabbage-Patch
03-02-2025, 03:50 PM
I preferred the chat bit before it and thier reaction to hearing it for the 1st time. Very respectful from a global superstar of music in Chris Martin but the cover itself was awful. I didn't even listen to the end. Lacks the emotion of the original. Nice tribute though.
03-02-2025, 05:44 PM
Same on You Tube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nn-UR5YBZBk
Cardinal G
03-02-2025, 06:14 PM
Chris Martin isnae wrong, he did butcher it.
Got no time for Coldplay at all.
Have to agree he slaughtered it for me.
He's here!
03-02-2025, 06:30 PM
Did he have to say 'I'd never heard of it before' and then follow with some condescending bs about the Proclaimers?
Coldplay have been much more successful, but they're not fit to polish the twins' shiny shoes.
He didn't say anything condescending about them. He sounded genuinely blown away by them, real respect.
03-02-2025, 06:39 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nn-UR5YBZBk
Frogga
03-02-2025, 06:49 PM
Don't know how anyone can say they 'butchered it'. At worst it's a predictable/professional copy of a beautiful song. As others have said, I've heard much worse - I thought it was great.
03-02-2025, 07:01 PM
So glad we have that harmless, beautiful, song as an anthem. Always thought Leeds fans might give it a go but the 2016 cup final rendition went viral and nobody can legitimately steal it now.
Leeds? Sunshine on Leeds? :confused:
03-02-2025, 07:11 PM
Top football anthem, the jambos must hate it 😂
Nah, sure they've got that 'Hearts Song' rubbish to stick on when they finally end their league cup drought
TheSouthMoroccan
03-02-2025, 07:12 PM
In my very humble opinion (humble opinion these days seems to mean passive aggressive f***K you if you don't agree:wink:), if nothing else this gets a few more folks seeing our Cup Final rendition and wishing that their club had an anthem like that. Maybe be some of those folks will now have a wee soft spot for us as a result, beyond that, who cares.
03-02-2025, 08:55 PM
Never understood the Coldplay hate. One of these bands it’s cool to **** on I reckon. Plenty worse music these days. Cover’s alright.
Am with you. Of all the bands picking up on that late70s thru 80s shtick Coldplay are far from being the worst.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
agreed :agree::agree:
I'm not their biggest fan but they've written some very good songs over the years. And they are very good live. The cover of SOL is alright I reckon.
https://youtu.be/S__n4SDFSqs?si=0twHtMInn196p1MI
Coldplay version not quite as good as The Rascals', which isn't quite as good as their transcript version, particularly at 1:14.
https://i.ibb.co/G4GDr67Y/Screenshot-20250204-020254-You-Tube.jpg (https://ibb.co/Xr6PGQX0)
04-02-2025, 06:29 AM
That Coldplay cover should come with a warning for those of a sensitive disposition. It's utterly *****.
04-02-2025, 07:11 AM
https://youtu.be/S__n4SDFSqs?si=0twHtMInn196p1MI
Coldplay version not quite as good as The Rascals', which isn't quite as good as their transcript version, particularly at 1:14.
https://i.ibb.co/G4GDr67Y/Screenshot-20250204-020254-You-Tube.jpg (https://ibb.co/Xr6PGQX0)
That’s class.
04-02-2025, 07:12 AM
Coldplay seem to be a bit like Banksy in that if you say you don't like them people instantly accuse you of only not liking them because it's cool not to like them. I just think they are rubbish, popular certainly but then Westlife are popular so there is no accounting for taste. I saw them (Coldplay not Westlife) in December 2000 when I was 14 at the Liquid Rooms because my mate had a couple of tickets, would have been just after Parachutes was released, and my mind was pretty much made up then and nothing they have released in the intervening years has changed it.
As for the cover it's fine. It's basically Chris Martin singing the song to broadly the same arrangement as the original so it's always going to be ok because the original is so good (leaving aside the Hibs connection it's just a brilliantly written song). Good to hear Hibs get a mention to a broader audience but if I never heard that version again I wouldn't feel like I was missing much.
04-02-2025, 07:33 AM
Great exposure for the proclaimers (no that they need it 🇳🇬)
Christ on a bike.....using Take That as another example. :greengrin. It's like The Nightmare Before Music.
04-02-2025, 09:40 AM
Love the Arsenal song The Angel (North London Forever) written by Louis Dunford
04-02-2025, 09:50 AM
Never understood the whole "it's cool to hate such and such a band" or it's not cool to like them. Jesus, it's music. People like whatever they like.
I can understand it being a thing with the yoof, but are adults really in such desperate need for external validation that they choose their music based on what they think is 'cool'?
04-02-2025, 09:51 AM
Love the Arsenal song The Angel (North London Forever) written by Louis Dunford
I think its quite good but the problem Arsenal have is they sing it every week, which ruins it overall.
One of the best things about Sunshine on Leith and Hibs is its only brought out for special occasions - therefore the song is a reminder of the really good times.
04-02-2025, 10:01 AM
Coldplay seem to be a bit like Banksy in that if you say you don't like them people instantly accuse you of only not liking them because it's cool not to like them. I just think they are rubbish, popular certainly but then Westlife are popular so there is no accounting for taste. I saw them (Coldplay not Westlife) in December 2000 when I was 14 at the Liquid Rooms because my mate had a couple of tickets, would have been just after Parachutes was released, and my mind was pretty much made up then and nothing they have released in the intervening years has changed it.
As for the cover it's fine. It's basically Chris Martin singing the song to broadly the same arrangement as the original so it's always going to be ok because the original is so good (leaving aside the Hibs connection it's just a brilliantly written song). Good to hear Hibs get a mention to a broader audience but if I never heard that version again I wouldn't feel like I was missing much.
Never understood the whole "it's cool to hate such and such a band" or it's not cool to like them. Jesus, it's music. People like whatever they like.
I can understand it being a thing with the yoof, but are adults really in such desperate need for external validation that they choose their music based on what they think is 'cool'?
There are definitley some people in life who seem overly keen in telling people how much they hate Coldplay. There's a post on here claiming the SOL cover is the worst cover version they've ever heard. That's just hyperbole.
04-02-2025, 10:37 AM
There are definitley some people in life who seem overly keen in telling people how much they hate Coldplay. There's a post on here claiming the SOL cover is the worst cover version they've ever heard. That's just hyperbole.
I think it’s true what you say. They are the ultimate marmite band. They do have some nice melodies and catchy hooks, but there’s a very visceral reaction when these are combined with Chris Martins vocals. (Especially the earlier songs, his voice has deepened a little over the years.)
Some people (my wife for example) find it laden with emotion, poignant and pathos drenched.
I, on the other hand, find the warbling eunuch voice produces a thoroughly nauseating reaction, a cloying despair almost verging on a physical sickness, evoking a seedy nonce with a bag of sweets outside a set of school gates.
So obviously healthy debates in my house on the status of this band.
I’m at a loss to ascertain how they impact me so negatively- maybe that’s a testimony to the power of the music. Very rarely do I have such a reaction to music. Generally I find something decent in most stuff, from complex to bubble gum. They seem too bland in terms of their personas to inspire such negativity in me and I’m not proud of it - I feel it’s something I should have gotten over years ago. But perhaps music is like football in that we never stop loving and hating.
If that’s so, I’m annoyed an obvious Jambo band are covering our song…
04-02-2025, 10:41 AM
I think it’s true what you say. They are the ultimate marmite band. They do have some nice melodies and catchy hooks, but there’s a very visceral reaction when these are combined with Chris Martins vocals. (Especially the earlier songs, his voice has deepened a little over the years.)
Some people (my wife for example) find it laden with emotion, poignant and pathos drenched.
I, on the other hand, find the warbling eunuch voice produces a thoroughly nauseating reaction, a cloying despair almost verging on a physical sickness, evoking a seedy nonce with a bag of sweets outside a set of school gates.
I’m at a loss to ascertain how they impact me so negatively- maybe that’s a testimony to the power of the music. Very rarely do I have such a reaction to music. Generally I find something decent in most stuff, from complex to bubble gum. They seem too bland in terms of their personas to inspire such negativity in me and I’m not proud of it - I feel it’s something I should have gotten over years ago. But perhaps music is like football in that we never stop loving and hating.
:faf: brilliant
04-02-2025, 10:53 AM
This is wonderful prose, very thought provoking.
04-02-2025, 10:57 AM
Jesus, it's music. People like whatever they like.
Exactly right. To quote Nigel Blackwell:
"Give me Love, give me Can, give me Meat Loaf
Give me Rush, give me Marquee Moon
Michael Ball, or The Fall
I could listen to them all"
TheHibernator
04-02-2025, 11:24 AM
Their Scottish member said he had never heard it before which I find pretty incredible especially as a musician. He's from Kircaldy and according to Wikipedia he's a Raith Rovers fan so there's a football connection there. Has he been living under a rock?:confused:
04-02-2025, 11:30 AM
Their Scottish member said he had never heard it before which I find pretty incredible especially as a musician. He's from Kircaldy and according to Wikipedia he's a Raith Rovers fan so there's a football connection there. Has he been living under a rock?:confused:
He doesn't want to go to Idaho, he'd rather stay home in Kirkcaldy.
04-02-2025, 11:46 AM
Yep, great publicity for Coldplay. Must be trying to use our great run of form to boost their popularity :greengrin
:tee hee: Exactly!
I always thought Coldplay were a right bunch of dreeps - now I think they are a right bunch of dreeps who must have lived in a cave half their lives - imagine having never heard SOL!
Appreciated their comments though and am on the same page as them over this beautiful tear jerker of a song that we are privileged to have as our anthem
04-02-2025, 11:49 AM
I hate Hyperbole - they're a bunch of dreeps as well :grr:
04-02-2025, 11:57 AM
I hate Hyperbole - they're a bunch of dreeps as well :grr:
Never heard the phrase dreeps before :greengrin
Musselbound
04-02-2025, 12:07 PM
:tee hee: Exactly!
I always thought Coldplay were a right bunch of dreeps - now I think they are a right bunch of dreeps who must have lived in a cave half their lives - imagine having never heard SOL!
Appreciated their comments though and am on the same page as them over this beautiful tear jerker of a song that we are privileged to have as our anthem
Yes quite incredible they've never heard it. And one of them sounds Scottish too. I was dreading hearing their version but actually it's OK. A pretty straightforward cover version really.
04-02-2025, 12:09 PM
im guessing it a milder version of twunts… :)
04-02-2025, 12:10 PM
Yes quite incredible they've never heard it. And one of them sounds Scottish too. I was dreading hearing their version but actually it's OK. A pretty straightforward cover version really.
One is definitely Scottish. From Fife and a football fan. Can’t believe he’s never heard it!
Musselbound
04-02-2025, 12:11 PM
One is definitely Scottish. From Fife and a football fan. Can’t believe he’s never heard it!
Amazing. Hard to believe as you say. Wonder where they live? On the moon?
04-02-2025, 12:12 PM
Fife…. As in where Auchtermuchty is… Oddfellow.
04-02-2025, 12:17 PM
Guy Rupert Berryman
Different musical tastes. And went to the Edinburgh Academy - prob not many Nationalist leaning pupils there… could it be that the twunt is a Jambo?
04-02-2025, 12:28 PM
im guessing it a milder version of twunts… :)
Stonewall
04-02-2025, 12:29 PM
The song is beautiful, the version is fine and the fact that a mega band like Coldplay are covering it is a huge compliment to the Proclaimers and if it encourages people to discover them and we get a mention then what is the problem.
04-02-2025, 12:35 PM
Indeed. The older you get the more you should simply be able to appreciate that if folk enjoy something then basically who are you or I to diss them for it? Hell, some folk like to put on cowboy hats and go line dancing ... if that's their thing good on em I say :greengrin
Being old school ( IE not tech savvy ) I still play CDs in the car. A typical mix would be anything from Motorhead to Joni Mitchell and points in between. Lately I'm becoming a big fan of Scottish folk legend and Leith old boy Dick Gaughan .... but still prefer heavy rock over everything. I've certainly got a load of CDs that would fall into the 'what's this pish' category for a lot of folk. I don't give a **** and neither should anybody else .... what a pish ( sorry, pisher ) place the world would be if we were all the same :greengrin
04-02-2025, 01:21 PM
Indeed. The older you get the more you should simply be able to appreciate that if folk enjoy something then basically who are you or I to diss them for it? Hell, some folk like to put on cowboy hats and go line dancing ... if that's their thing good on em I say :greengrin
Being old school ( IE not tech savvy ) I still play CDs in the car. A typical mix would be anything from Motorhead to Joni Mitchell and points in between. Lately I'm becoming a big fan of Scottish folk legend and Leith old boy Dick Gaughan .... but still prefer heavy rock over everything. I've certainly got a load of CDs that would fall into the 'what's this pish' category for a lot of folk. I don't give a **** and neither should anybody else .... what a pish ( sorry, pisher ) place the world would be if we were all the same :greengrin
👍 Dick Gaughan's Handful of Earth is a fantastic album. Opening track is Erin Go Bragh. A really seminal, important album. Great listen.
04-02-2025, 03:18 PM
How any Scotsman, a football fan, from Fife, in his mid to late 40’s, who’s in the music industry and plays in a band can seriously say he’s never heard of the Proclaimers Sunshine on Leith is beyond me!!! I suspect he’s chatting *****
As for the cover….. I L💚VED it!! Best song associated to a football club bar none!!!
PHeffernan
04-02-2025, 03:46 PM
The Proclaimers and Coldplay.
Like two bald guys fighting over a comb :wink:.
Criswell
04-02-2025, 04:00 PM
If you remain true to the original what's not to like?
04-02-2025, 04:03 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=aEJQBZuOayU&pp=ygUdc3Vuc2hpbmUgb24gbGVpdGggcm9kIHN0ZXdhcnQ%3D
04-02-2025, 04:14 PM
Can't say I've ever mentioned Coldplay on here before. Hope I won't do so again. Utter pish. :wink:
Ironically, Chris Martin in his interview seemed to be implying that The Proclaimers were uncool, but it's ok to like them these days. What a bellend.
04-02-2025, 04:18 PM
At least some parts of the Beeb loves the Hibs ;)
heres a rewind to 2018….
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?329440-Tribute-to-quot-Sunshine-on-Leith-quot-on-BBC-6-music&highlight=Durge
Fergos
04-02-2025, 04:53 PM
👍 Dick Gaughan's Handful of Earth is a fantastic album. Opening track is Erin Go Bragh. A really seminal, important album. Great listen.
Both sides of the Tweed also a cracker from DG.
🇳🇬
heid the baw
04-02-2025, 05:29 PM
He did say they were going to butcher it and he wasn't wrong. The string arrangement was well done.
I agree that it's pretty condescending of Chris Martin to suddenly declare that there is more to the Proclaimers than 500 miles. Anyone who saw them back in the day gigging around Edinburgh knew they were the real deal as soon as they hit those blood harmonies. Paul Heaton knew it straight away too.
I do like the format of Piano Room and there are some great quirky performances on it.
Bruce Hornsby doing "the way it is" is worth a watch. Not someone I paid much attention to before, but what a performance
04-02-2025, 08:17 PM
How any Scotsman, a football fan, from Fife, in his mid to late 40’s, who’s in the music industry and plays in a band can seriously say he’s never heard of the Proclaimers Sunshine on Leith is beyond me!!! I suspect he’s chatting *****
As for the cover….. I L💚VED it!! Best song associated to a football club bar none!!!
The guy is as someone said probably a Raith fan, I think wae hertz tendencies.
05-02-2025, 10:21 AM
At least some parts of the Beeb loves the Hibs ;)
heres a rewind to 2018….
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?329440-Tribute-to-quot-Sunshine-on-Leith-quot-on-BBC-6-music&highlight=Durge
Any idea that clip is available anywhere? The clip on the link to the BBC on that thread says it is no longer available. My wife is a massive Elbow fan so would be quite interested in it. Had a quick search but with no luck.
05-02-2025, 12:51 PM
I think the Coldplay cover is ok ……. nothing to write home about but not worthy of the criticism here.
The best cover of Sunshine In Leith in my opinion is here. A lot of folk will know Blue Rose Code ….. Ross Wilson is a good Hibby. It starts with Edina ( good Hibby references) and leads into SOL.
https://youtu.be/WouU7PY-LoM?feature=shared
05-02-2025, 01:10 PM
Any idea that clip is available anywhere? The clip on the link to the BBC on that thread says it is no longer available. My wife is a massive Elbow fan so would be quite interested in it. Had a quick search but with no luck.
Fraid not. is there not bbc archives somewhere tho?
05-02-2025, 03:48 PM
At least now I could name a song that Coldplay sing.