View Full Version : The Bi-Annual Transfer Deadline Day Thread Of Nonsensical Noshing

02-02-2025, 06:54 PM
Hiya TDD Hiya Pal 👋

Well, as I wash down my steak pie and chips with a packet of Ready Salted Hula Hoops, Salt & Vinegar Hula Hoops and Roast Beef Monster Munch, it’s high time I started this thread in preparation for tomorrows capers.

What we doing, where are we and what are we eating?

Will Youan stay? Will anyone come in? And most importantly, would it be sheer gluttony for me to have melted cookie dough with triple chocolate ice cream for dessert given what I’ve just polished off as per above?

I’m supposed to be back on the fitness trail tomorrow but I might just sack it off for a day of diabetes inducing snacking.

02-02-2025, 07:19 PM
Thankfully I have already got type 1 diabetes, so I can't get type 2 diabetes. Therefore the shackles are off and the sweetie and snack aisles are my oyster if the NHS have enough insulin stocks to keep up.

Initial supplies consist of one "family" sized bag of Quavers, Steak McCoys (6 pack of), T-Bone Steak Roysters (5 pack of), 6 pack of Diet Irn Bru to give the pancrea a rest, 1 5 litre keg of Heineken which will remain unopened until 12:01pm and a cupboard full of emergency Dairy Milks and Boosts. I will of course need to nip out at lunchtime for some meat and pastry based products from the local Baynes, and perhaps a quick 5 minute dive in to Aldi for a couple of packets of their frankly ridiculously addictive salted caramel waves.

1 bottle of Johnnie Walker Gold Label remains unopened since Christmas, but is on stanby for any shocked face inducing signings from out of nowhere.

02-02-2025, 07:22 PM
Thankfully I have already got type 1 diabetes, so I can't get type 2 diabetes. Therefore the shackles are off and the sweetie and snack aisles are my oyster if the NHS have enough insulin stocks to keep up.

Initial supplies consist of one "family" sized bag of Quavers, Steak McCoys (6 pack of), T-Bone Steak Roysters (5 pack of), 6 pack of Diet Irn Bru to give the pancrea a rest, 1 5 litre keg of Heineken which will remain unopened until 12:01pm and a cupboard full of emergency Dairy Milks and Boosts. I will of course need to nip out at lunchtime for some meat and pastry based products from the local Baynes, and perhaps a quick 5 minute dive in to Aldi for a couple of packets of their frankly ridiculously addictive salted caramel waves.

1 bottle of Johnnie Walker Gold Label remains unopened since Christmas, but is on stanby for any shocked face inducing signings from out of nowhere.

And that, ladies and gentlemen (and Sam Smith), is how you do it.

02-02-2025, 07:36 PM
Hula Hoops are mostly air so plenty of room for the old Gino Ginnelli!

Up-the-slope
02-02-2025, 08:49 PM
As well as naming our snacks of choice (mine will be raiding the Christmas box of as yet uneaten sweets / biscuits / christmas pud / mince pies on the sweet side and the cheese biscuits with various cheeses)

I thought we could name appropriate snacks for player maybe leaving or one we hope will come in..

Player Maybe Leaving - Youan - Snack, Funny Feet ice-cream :greengrin

02-02-2025, 09:03 PM
Remember Brannigans roast beef and mustard crisps ? Absolute sacrilege they got discontinued

For the devilment factor try a monster munch piece with 2 pickled onions as an extra , Dare ye !

As well as naming our snacks of choice (mine will be raiding the Christmas box of as yet uneaten sweets / biscuits / christmas pud / mince pies on the sweet side and the cheese biscuits with various cheeses)

I thought we could name appropriate snacks for player maybe leaving or one we hope will come in..

Youan - Toe-blerone

Remember Brannigans roast beef and mustard crisps ? Absolute sacrilege they got discontinued

For the devilment factor try a monster munch piece with 2 pickled onions as an extra , Dare ye !

Reported.

02-02-2025, 09:04 PM
Reported.

02-02-2025, 09:06 PM
To be fair, I enjoy cheese and onion Squares on a piece with lashings of salad cream. Odd, but immense.

Up-the-slope
02-02-2025, 09:16 PM
Vente loan Terminated and back - Snack Hash Cake

Donegal Hibby
02-02-2025, 09:44 PM
Scampi fries or beef hula hoops with a bottle of McDaids football special or banana lemonade.

03-02-2025, 12:12 PM
Four sausage rolls
Cheese and onion bake
Sausage, bean and cheese bake
Full tin of Flaming Hot Cheese Pringles
6 pack of Salt & Vinegar Hula Hoops
Can of Coke

That’s me strapped in for the ride.

03-02-2025, 12:17 PM
Bacon bap for breakfast along with wads of coffee, baked tandoori chicken thigh and side salad for lunch and a Bangalore Green chilli curry with rice made from a Dan Toombs recipe for dinner while I watch the window slam shut.

03-02-2025, 12:22 PM
Breaking News : Craig and Charlie Reid loan deal to Coldplay for the remainder of the season.

03-02-2025, 12:30 PM
Breaking News : Craig and Charlie Reid loan deal to Coldplay for the remainder of the season.

They're capable of playing at a much higher level :rolleyes:

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-02-2025, 03:02 PM
Scampi fries or beef hula hoops with a bottle of McDaids football special or banana lemonade.

GOAT

03-02-2025, 03:11 PM
I’m fasting for hospital visit, enjoy you greedy scoundrels. :flag: :smokin

03-02-2025, 03:12 PM

Wanders innocently by, looks in the .net window. ‘Banana lemonade’ you say? Starts engines…

03-02-2025, 03:14 PM
GOAT

Not sure even a goat would eat that lot :greengrin

03-02-2025, 03:19 PM

Sickner. Hope all is OK.

03-02-2025, 03:26 PM
i'm going through an Egg phase at the minute , Discovered yesterday you can make a poached Egg in the microwave :greengrin Never blew up in ma puss unlike Kirk Broadfoot either :cb

Made an omelette earlier but can't get it to stop browning on the underneath , Trial and error eh ....Some folk turn it over and some folk fold it in half tae ...Cheese and onion was lush !

03-02-2025, 04:24 PM

Hope it is nothing too serious and all goes well.

03-02-2025, 04:26 PM
i'm going through an Egg phase at the minute , Discovered yesterday you can make a poached Egg in the microwave :greengrin Never blew up in ma puss unlike Kirk Broadfoot either :cb

Made an omelette earlier but can't get it to stop browning on the underneath , Trial and error eh ....Some folk turn it over and some folk fold it in half tae ...Cheese and onion was lush !

When doing a Spanish omelette I always stick it under the grill to cook the other side.

03-02-2025, 04:59 PM

Hope the hospital goes well.

Shame as you could be tucking into a battered chip butty filled with gravy and mushy peas 😅

03-02-2025, 05:05 PM
I am on hunger strike until we sign someone Hurray up Hibs am starving

03-02-2025, 05:09 PM
Just had a substantial Nando’s after fasting during the day.

4 x boneless chicken thighs (Fanta), spicy rice, garlic bread, and 3 chicken wings (hot). 1600 calories, bosh.

snedzuk
03-02-2025, 05:47 PM

Thank goodness we're not signing Lorenzo Amoruso

03-02-2025, 05:57 PM
This thread is vastly more interesting and engaging than the official winter transfer thread.

03-02-2025, 06:45 PM
Scrant a whole packet of mini oreo's with 4 cans of tennents , Wasnae going to drink tonight but the lassie on deal or no deal winning 75 grand has put me in the mood , Love when they beat the banker !

Bought masel plain doritos and will chuck them in the micro with grated cheese on later for homemade Nachos

TheSouthMoroccan
03-02-2025, 07:24 PM
Mrs Crimble's 6 big choc macaroons. A bit like a Keith Wright hat-trick, always leaves you wanting more.

Trinity Hibee
03-02-2025, 08:26 PM
Out of curiosity, do people on this thread take the day off work to sit and watch the transfer development on deadline day? Funny reading what people eat on TDD. Scotlands version of the superbowl

03-02-2025, 08:28 PM
Out of curiosity, do people on this thread take the day off work to sit and watch the transfer development on deadline day? Funny reading what people eat on TDD. Scotlands version of the superbowl
Don't take the day off but productivity definitely falls short of the usual :greengrin

heidtheba
03-02-2025, 08:47 PM
My TDD has been a homage to Hibs seasons in the past;

Significant leaves, good intentions which backfired and a pile of last minute junk brought in....

Mrs Mr decided to ask for a separation back in June last year and I've managed pretty well ok, but mis-timed the defrosting of my lamb chops tonight and had to go with a travesty of a 'microwave' cauliflower cheese.

Lunch consisted of Ryvita and cucumber (I know...) and it was as uninspiring as you can imagine. This was done because I'm now seeing a thouroughly lovely lady AND she's a total honey. So i'm needing to be sensible.

And then I got fed up and ate the wee selection box her mum got me as part of my birthday - two wee Chomps, a mini-Twirl and a pint-sized Curly-Wurly. It's a bit like Harry McKirdy, I got excited even though I knew it wouldn't be the choice I thought i'd be going for. And it's disappointed.

Sigh.

03-02-2025, 08:52 PM
Home made lamb biryani, daal makhani and roti has satisfied by hunger for food. Alas, Hibs seem to be doing nothing to satisfy my hunger for better players for the Hibees

03-02-2025, 08:55 PM
Home made lamb biryani, daal makhani and roti has satisfied by hunger for food. Alas, Hibs seem to be doing nothing to satisfy my hunger for better players for the Hibees
Misty Ricardo/ Dan Toombs follower? :greengrin

cubehindthegoal
03-02-2025, 08:58 PM
New to this … can I actually order food here ? If so, is that the menu above. Innovative hibs.net, I like it … so … I’ll have … hmm ..

… one of each thanks. How much is delivery ? 😊

03-02-2025, 09:19 PM
It started out Sherbet Dib Dab but it’s turning into **** sandwich. Nobody wants that. If it wasn’t for the imminent cold, massive throbbing headache and painful sinuses I’d probably be more pissed off than I already am. With the wisdom of age I’m realising that TDD snacks and food aren’t really an accompaniment to the day, they’re a form of anaesthetic to help survive it.

In that spirit I’m going to nurse myself through the final disappointing squadrile dysfunction 45 minutes with a ****-ton of chocolate, some Medjool dates and then a generous Springbank. (drops mic)

NC1875
04-02-2025, 06:16 AM

They were great. Tescos do a roast beef and horseradish which are decent 👌🏼