View Full Version : Ayr United - cup build up thread

01-02-2025, 06:55 PM
Another tough test away this Friday night - 7.45pm kick off.

Hopefully we sell all the tickets and give the boys a loud backing they deserve.

Ayr haven’t lost since 7th December (Hibs also last lost 7th December to Celtic) and Ayr have won 9 out of 12 home games - only lost 1 to Livingston.

We should be confident going into this game though - I’m sure David Gray will have the guys ready to play the team who are top of the Championship.

Would expect the same starting team - will we have any new signings on the bench?!!

01-02-2025, 07:55 PM
A huge game for us and won`t be easy , far from it . Harder than our last 2 away games in Dingwall and Perth which we failed to win . Not a game for experiments or rotation .

01-02-2025, 08:02 PM
Only real question would be if Bowie starts or not, would like the same team again, with some new signings on the bench.

01-02-2025, 08:04 PM
Ayr’s defeat was against Raith Rovers while ours was against Celtic.

They’re on home territory and confidence will be high and it’s a big occasion for them in from of the TV cameras. We’re in fine form also, and against much stronger opposition. It’s a tie we should be expecting to win and I’m confident the players will not be treating the game lightly and we’ll see a professional performance and get the result we should.

Hibees1973
01-02-2025, 08:28 PM
Is the tie of the round.

In form lower tier side trying to eliminate a big boy.

If this game was four months ago I reckon we would have been knocked out. We will be favourites, but this is going to be a very tough game. I had a look at their squad on the Ayr Utd website and they are a big side with a fair bit of experience. No surprise they are top of the Championship.

Broony will have them up for this.

We will have to be fully on it to progress.

01-02-2025, 08:38 PM
I've not seen Ayr this season so am basing this on my confidence in our defence. Soak them up and hit them in the counter, and we'll be fine.

HibeeMackenzie
01-02-2025, 08:49 PM
Hopefully with a weeks training we’ll see Alasana get some minutes and hopefully Bowie can play 45, was very impressed with him today. Other than that I wouldn’t be changing anything, ayr are no mugs and brown and whitty will know us inside out

01-02-2025, 08:59 PM
It’s a long,long time since they had anything to do with Hibs.

01-02-2025, 09:03 PM
This could be a proper cup tie. But we have to win. Don’t do anything stupid, apply ourselves properly and we will.

TrinityHFC
01-02-2025, 09:07 PM
A huge game for us and won`t be easy , far from it . Harder than our last 2 away games in Dingwall and Perth which we failed to win . Not a game for experiments or rotation .

I don’t know how you could say it will be harder? Ross Co and St Johnstone might not be in great form but both are difficult away games against teams very established in the top league. Ayr are doing well but not sure why you decide they are better than teams in our league.

Donegal Hibby
01-02-2025, 09:12 PM

I’ve not seen much of Ayr Utd though if they were to play either St Johnstone or Ross County in the playoffs I’d fancy the premier teams to win .

Dmas
02-02-2025, 09:19 AM
Is this sold out? Can’t see tickets for away fans on either teams website

02-02-2025, 09:33 AM
Is the game played to a finish on the night?

02-02-2025, 09:41 AM
Is this sold out? Can’t see tickets for away fans on either teams website

https://tickets.ayrunitedtickets.co.uk/event/ayr-utd-v-hibernian-away-tickets

Tickets there.

Stanton Spence
02-02-2025, 09:53 AM
Is the game played to a finish on the night?

Yes it is extra time and penalties mate 👍🏻

02-02-2025, 09:55 AM
Yes it is extra time and penalties mate 👍🏻

Hopefully not required but could be exciting.

Dmas
02-02-2025, 10:19 AM
https://tickets.ayrunitedtickets.co.uk/event/ayr-utd-v-hibernian-away-tickets

Tickets there.

Thanks pb don’t know I’ve missed that one 👍

02-02-2025, 01:19 PM
Great to see those threads and feel eager and excited about forthcoming Hibs games - thanks SDG.

Cracker of a tie and Ayr will fancy an upset, and we’ll have to be at our best to avoid one. If we perform with a dedicated professional mindset we should be okay.

berwickhibee
02-02-2025, 01:21 PM
Hibs allocated more tickets due to strong sales💚

02-02-2025, 01:25 PM
Hibs allocated more tickets due to strong sales💚

Superb, really looking forward to this one. :thumbsup:

LewysGot2
02-02-2025, 01:31 PM
Superb, really looking forward to this one. :thumbsup:

Me too. Other than the wilderness years about a decade ago now - crikey time flies :agree: - did we not play them away in one of our cup final runs? Seem to remember a similar narrative in the media pre match. Looking forward to this. Turn up on the day and we win. We also have 10 days till our next fixture after it so no temptation for rotation. Get the job done Hibs ��

CL0762
02-02-2025, 01:34 PM
Me too. Other than the wilderness years about a decade ago now - crikey time flies :agree: - did we not play them away in one of our cup final runs? Seem to remember a similar narrative in the media pre match. Looking forward to this. Turn up on the day and we win. We also have 10 days till our next fixture after it so no temptation for rotation. Get the job done Hibs ��

We got knocked out down there under Calderwood (I think?) and we beat them on the way to the final in 2012.

02-02-2025, 01:54 PM
We got knocked out down there under Calderwood (I think?) and we beat them on the way to the final in 2012.

Central station was a battle zone after that game. Absolute mayhem.

02-02-2025, 03:45 PM
Aberdeen on sat was my first game of the season this will be my second Have lots of happy memories from when when I stayed in a students residence there in 1977
And never missed a hibs game there Incudinv Russel Latapy s debut

So looking forward to this one

02-02-2025, 04:37 PM
Just bought two tickets for the North Stand.

Looking forward to this now.

02-02-2025, 04:39 PM
Obviously anything can happen but one of the best attributes of this current team is that they don’t seem to take anything for granted and have been really switched on.

Think it’ll be a nervous night but think we’ll get there.

Garymcl
02-02-2025, 04:56 PM
So looking forward to this ,old style ground big travelling support ,should be a great atmosphere ,wonder if the new guy will play some part or will we keep the same team as Saturday

02-02-2025, 05:00 PM
So looking forward to this ,old style ground big travelling support ,should be a great atmosphere ,wonder if the new guy will play some part or will we keep the same team as Saturday

I think we’ll make a change up front, thought Gayle was poor and we maybe just need to freshen things up there. Same team otherwise I think.

PolmontHibby
03-02-2025, 10:55 AM
Stuck In London Friday night ☹️
I could always ask (or plead based on prior experience) a sports bar to stick it on one tv in a lonely corner……but wondering if any bar in London that Hibs supporters now go to? Been to Quinns but must be a few years now.
Grateful for any assistance.

JasonC1875
03-02-2025, 10:55 AM
143 seats left plus however many in the North Terrace

nickwhibs
03-02-2025, 11:06 AM
Can’t wait for this one. Railway end should be jumping (and hopefully at full time too!) Tricky game but also one we should be confident for given our current form and much more settled team

03-02-2025, 06:12 PM
I could always ask (or plead based on prior experience) a sports bar to stick it on one tv in a lonely corner……but wondering if any bar in London that Hibs supporters now go to? Been to Quinns but must be a few years now.

Sheephaven Bay near Mornington Crescent tube station.

03-02-2025, 06:40 PM

Depends what part of London you are in , Millers right ootside Kings cross train station is the business

03-02-2025, 06:49 PM
Depends what part of London you are in , Millers right ootside Kings cross train station is the business

That's an old favourite of mine too, great pub. Not been down for a while, Brian who runs/ran the place is a great guy.

03-02-2025, 07:41 PM
That's an old favourite of mine too, great pub. Not been down for a while, Brian who runs/ran the place is a great guy.

No sure if i know who that is Hutch but aye great boozer , Telly's all over the place and just in general a great wee pub , Was last there 3 weeks ago and the staff are brand new , 2 geordies are there every single time me and my son go , They are never away from the place :-)

Staggering distance to the Premier inn is always ideal before going to see the Arsenal

03-02-2025, 08:07 PM
No sure if i know who that is Hutch but aye great boozer , Telly's all over the place and just in general a great wee pub , Was last there 3 weeks ago and the staff are brand new , 2 geordies are there every single time me and my son go , They are never away from the place :-)

Staggering distance to the Premier inn is always ideal before going to see the Arsenal

Aye, stayed there for a couple of London Hibs Burns Suppers.

Off the bar
03-02-2025, 08:13 PM

The sheephaven have confirmed they’ll have it on for us and there’s 10 or so London Hibs regulars who should be there. If it’s at all convenient you should head there it’ll be a good one, and always welcoming for fellow Hibbies in the big smoke.

OstKurve Hibs
04-02-2025, 06:45 AM
Hope we can get the game done in the 90 mins.
Anyone takin the Train will have to leave early if it goes to e.t and pens.
Last Train is 10:05 pm if you want to catch a connecting train at Glasgow to wherever your going. Also a 15/20 min walk to the station from the ground aswell.
There is a Train to Glasgow at 11:05pm but no connectng trains from there until 5/6 am.

Dublin07
04-02-2025, 06:57 AM
Last Train is 10:05 pm if you want to catch a connecting train at Glasgow to wherever your going. Also a 15/20 min walk to the station from the ground aswell.
There is a Train to Glasgow at 11:05pm but no connectng trains from there until 5/6 am.

There is a train at 10.33 which gets into central at 11.25. Last train from queen street 11.45 so plenty time. You can get it from Newton on Ayr which is closer to the ground but still at least a 10 min walk.

OstKurve Hibs
04-02-2025, 07:16 AM
There is a train at 10.33 which gets into central at 11.25. Last train from queen street 11.45 so plenty time. You can get it from Newton on Ayr which is closer to the ground but still at least a 10 min walk.

Oright nice one, I never noticed the 10:33 mate 👍🏻, that would give me 10 mins to get from Central to queen street to catch connecting train, should be sound.

PolmontHibby
04-02-2025, 10:12 AM
Sheephaven Bay near Mornington Crescent tube station.

Thank you

PolmontHibby
04-02-2025, 10:13 AM

thank you - stayign central so a tube wherever not a problem

04-02-2025, 10:23 AM
Kevin Clancy is the ref for this game

What a joke

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

04-02-2025, 11:10 AM

What a joke

No doubt he will arrive pissed off that Don Robertson didn't give that ludicrous "handball" on Saturday.

04-02-2025, 11:18 AM
I’ve not seen much of Ayr Utd though if they were to play either St Johnstone or Ross County in the playoffs I’d fancy the premier teams to win .

Not seen Ayr Utd this season, but I've watched Livvi twice on the telly, home to Partick Thistle and away to Falkirk.
All I can say is you DO NOT want to be facing this lot in a play off ... in the home game they had a bit of football about them, but in both games they were incredibly physical, made about three chances at Falkirk and took 2 of them ... they have a CH called Nottingham who is a bloody giant, and lest we forget they have already punted Ross County oot the cup away from home.

All I can say is that if they make the play off and your team finishes 11th be afraid, be very afraid
:sofa:

04-02-2025, 11:41 AM
Looks like we won't be short of support anyway :greengrin

Ayr have only lost 4 times all season, let in less than a goal a game, but score less than 2 a game and that average includes two games where they scored 5 against Falkirk and Airdrie .... Falkirk had 10 men for most of the game and Airdrie are pish. Won their last 4 games as well.

I'm not putting much store in the Brown / Whittaker connection. They won't be on the pitch and there isn't a single Hibs player they have personal knowledge of that would allow them to pinpoint weaknesses from playing or training alongside them.

If Hibs are on it we should win this game in normal time .... but only if we are 'on it' because this won't be an easy game.

04-02-2025, 11:50 AM
Looking forward to this now.

Old fashioned cup tie, both teams going well in their respective leagues and a ground that is likely to be packed to capacity.

Heading through early as I have the bairn with me and we are standing so want to get in sharp and get a spot at the front so she can see. Drive through, wee detour to the Forehill Cafe for chips then onto the game. A cracking Friday night out as long as Hibs do the business.

JasonC1875
04-02-2025, 12:02 PM

What a joke

Be interesting to see what the KMI panel will say later in the week about his decisions on Saturday…Then he gets full control of our next game

04-02-2025, 12:17 PM
Looking forward to it as well. Change of scenery from all the usual grounds.

They will fancy it with being at home. Hopefully we can make a quick start, not something we’ve done too often this season. Think the biggest danger is them coming out and getting a lead, getting the crowd up and having something to hold on to. Stop that happening and we’ll be fine.

04-02-2025, 12:19 PM

What a joke

That is unbelievable. Already up against it and he won’t even have VAR

04-02-2025, 12:21 PM
That is unbelievable. Already up against it and he won’t even have VAR

Hope I don’t regret saying this but so much better being at a game where there is no VAR.

badabing67
04-02-2025, 12:31 PM

What ever happened to the football specials

04-02-2025, 01:02 PM
We sold this out yet? Bit disappointing if there's any tickets left come kick off.

04-02-2025, 01:06 PM
We sold this out yet? Bit disappointing if there's any tickets left come kick off.

Why? They’ve given us additional allocation in the last couple of days due to exceptional sales.

davhibby
04-02-2025, 01:27 PM
Why? They’ve given us additional allocation in the last couple of days due to exceptional sales.

To be fair that was them just giving us the full agreed allocation. Not too sure we’ll sell out but think we’ll take around 3k which is pretty decent for a Friday night on BBC

04-02-2025, 01:34 PM
To be fair that was them just giving us the full agreed allocation. Not too sure we’ll sell out but think we’ll take around 3k which is pretty decent for a Friday night on BBC

Don't know if it's the Friday night or travelling cross country element, but away cup ties have always well attended even when we're pish so at least 3k tends to be a given. Forfar, Dundee United a few years ago... Thought we'd be looking at more than usual especially given chat of ticket rushes, the team deserve it at the moment. Plus it's a huge game, obviously.

04-02-2025, 02:44 PM
What ever happened to the football specials
Oh! The memories of the football specials. Sometimes carriages other times like cattle trucks?
But the atmosphere on them was excellent, especially going over the Forth Rail Bridge, I always remember coming back in the dark no lights as they had been unscrewed and chuck out over the bridge.
Great times!!!

GRA
04-02-2025, 04:03 PM

What a joke

Apart from missing the blatant Rangers handball, blatant Morelos stamp and blatant Vargas dive, what's the issue with him reffing our games?
..... 😑

JasonC1875
04-02-2025, 04:47 PM
79 seats remaining in the North Stand and the Railway End back to being sold out again…North Terrace remains available

04-02-2025, 04:53 PM
Apart from missing the blatant Rangers handball, blatant Morelos stamp and blatant Vargas dive, what's the issue with him reffing our games?
..... 😑

Excellent point some absolute shockers in there

04-02-2025, 04:58 PM
79 seats remaining in the North Stand and the Railway End back to being sold out again…North Terrace remains available

And to think we had posters on here calling Ayr fans arrogant for suggesting we might not sell out our allocation 😬

04-02-2025, 05:59 PM
Excellent point some absolute shockers in there

Also his performance at Killie away under Lennon and on Saturday doing VAR

hfc-1875
04-02-2025, 07:57 PM
Does anyone know what pub our fans will most likely be in?

JasonC1875
04-02-2025, 08:03 PM
Does anyone know what pub our fans will most likely be in?

At least two buses booked in to the Black Bull

05-02-2025, 06:40 AM
Starting to get a wee bit nervous about this now.

It's a proper cup tie at a real fitba ground against a team in form.

Still we are obviously in great form too making it comfortably the tie of the round.

Power
05-02-2025, 07:10 PM
c3,000 tickets sold for this one so far.

The railway end is now sold out and small availability in the North Stand and North Terrace.

Digital tickets on sale right up to kick off.

Only 8 turnstiles for all of our support (4 in railway end, 3 in North, 1 West) so the message is get there sharp to enter the ground before kick off.

Ayr are planning for turnstiles to be open at 1815.

He's here!
05-02-2025, 07:12 PM
Any danger we won't be able to wear the unbeaten white shorts and socks combo?

06-02-2025, 07:15 AM

The railway end is now sold out and small availability in the North Stand and North Terrace.

Only 8 turnstiles for all of our support (4 in railway end, 3 in North, 1 West) so the message is get there sharp to enter the ground before kick off.

1 turnstile in the West stand being open sounds like fans definitely need to get there in plenty of time!

06-02-2025, 07:18 AM

As long as the banner is upside down we'll be OK.

nickwhibs
06-02-2025, 07:29 AM

I think they have black shorts and socks so we should be fine

jaf
06-02-2025, 07:32 AM
Anyone got any parking advice if coming in the car? I appreciate we've no been here in a while

06-02-2025, 07:44 AM
Anyone got any parking advice if coming in the car? I appreciate we've no been here in a while

Loads of on street parking within a 5-10 minute walk of the ground. Russell Drive or Craigie Road are both good options and close to the main drag for getting back out of Ayr again after the game (or they where good options about 10 years ago, don't blame me if they are now pedestrianised or cycle lanes or something:greengrin)

06-02-2025, 07:48 AM

Anywhere off the racecourse rd is good

06-02-2025, 08:14 AM

At the Hibee Buzz thing last night Liam Craig revealed it was the kitman who decided to change shorts. Hats off to the kitman

He's here!
06-02-2025, 08:52 AM
At the Hibee Buzz thing last night Liam Craig revealed it was the kitman who decided to change shorts. Hats off to the kitman

Wow, he's due a bonus if that's the case.

06-02-2025, 09:38 AM

The white shorts should win the player of the year award

06-02-2025, 09:47 AM
Any pubs around the ground away fans will be able to go to?

I’m on one of the club supporters busses and I’m assuming we will be there in plenty time for a beer before the game with the busses leaving at 4pm.

Only times I’ve been to Ayr have been by supporters bus and we’ve stopped on the way or by train and we’ve stayed town centre before heading in.

06-02-2025, 10:00 AM
Anyone know if it's possible to move between behind the goals and the new North Stand where we are located at the side?

I'm sure in previous visits I recall moving freely between them at HT to use the "facilities".

Up-the-slope
06-02-2025, 10:29 AM

:not worth Mr P your up to date factual info is always welcome and saves people second guessing (or just making stuff up :greengrin)

JasonC1875
06-02-2025, 10:40 AM

I’m on one of the club supporters busses and I’m assuming we will be there in plenty time for a beer before the game with the busses leaving at 4pm.

Only times I’ve been to Ayr have been by supporters bus and we’ve stopped on the way or by train and we’ve stayed town centre before heading in.

From a friend of mine that’s an Ayr fan: “nothing within 10 mins walk of the ground apart from the neighbouring bowling club”

06-02-2025, 11:19 AM

The Tam O' Shanter used to be a decent pub a few years back. No idea if it is still decent or even on the go now.

15 minute brisk walk from the ground, 20 if you are taking it easy.

06-02-2025, 11:36 AM

What a joke

deffo something going on... After last week hes then onto our match. Sending off for 2 debatable yellows coming up...

Power
06-02-2025, 11:53 AM

Supporter buses will be parking at Craigie Park on Craigie Road. There will be a limited amount of car parking there and the rest is surrounding local streets.

Ayr United advised Hibs fans will be welcome at Hawkhill Bowling club near the ground.

06-02-2025, 11:57 AM
Supporter buses will be parking at Craigie Park on Craigie Road. There will be a limited amount of car parking there and the rest is surrounding local streets.

Ayr United advised Hibs fans will be welcome at Hawkhill Bowling club near the ground.

Thanks but at the same time, ****in hell mouth, keep the noise down. Can you delete the message and we will keep it on the down low between those of us that have read the message already?! Will never get served if there’s only one place for us to go to!

Garymcl
06-02-2025, 12:48 PM
Most important guys as Power says get to the ground early ,as will be very busy nearer kick off you have been warned :greengrin:flag:

Hibees1973
06-02-2025, 01:09 PM
Starting to get a wee bit nervous about this now.

It's a proper cup tie at a real fitba ground against a team in form.

Still we are obviously in great form too making it comfortably the tie of the round.
Indeed Flash.

Can't get through to the game. The older I get the more nervous I have become watching Hibs, particularly on TV.

Who knows we may get a couple of early goals then be in for a comfortable evening.

However I get the feeling this one is going to be riddled with angst and frustration which will result in me going out for a long walk without my phone and peeking at the result when I'm back.

06-02-2025, 01:36 PM
Most important guys as Power says get to the ground early ,as will be very busy nearer kick off you have been warned :greengrin:flag:

If the railway end holds 2,000 and there's only 4 turnstyles, that's 500 people per turnstyle, we'll need to be going through about every 7 seconds for an hour and that's just not happening is it!

06-02-2025, 03:33 PM
If the railway end holds 2,000 and there's only 4 turnstyles, that's 500 people per turnstyle, we'll need to be going through about every 7 seconds for an hour and that's just not happening is it!

Well that’s where I am so shoukd be a good atmosphere

He's here!
06-02-2025, 04:12 PM
Indeed Flash.

Can't get through to the game. The older I get the more nervous I have become watching Hibs, particularly on TV.

Who knows we may get a couple of early goals then be in for a comfortable evening.

However I get the feeling this one is going to be riddled with angst and frustration which will result in me going out for a long walk without my phone and peeking at the result when I'm back.

I'm the same. I can't bear watching on TV these days. When we played St Johnstone in the 2021 cup final we were living down south, literally over the wall from a public golf course. I'd have probably travelled up for the game if crowds had been allowed but I had a sinking, unshakable feeling we were going to get beat so grabbed the half-set of clubs which had been gathering dust in a cupboard, left the phone at home, and played about a dozen leisurely holes while the game was on. There was literally not another soul on the course (trying to recall if it was maybe still closed due to Covid and I just chanced it!). The peace was kind of blissful and when I got back in to learn the grim news from Hampden it somehow didn't seem as painful as it would have had I fretted through the game.

06-02-2025, 05:53 PM
Well that’s where I am so shoukd be a good atmosphere

Is that because you are playing the drum?

06-02-2025, 10:20 PM
Tickets purchased looking forward to it. An old fashion cup tie but expect Hibs to win by a couple of goals.

06-02-2025, 11:09 PM
Mind a game there years ago, must have been something like 16ish years ago. They had some right bams in their crowd who turned to pavement dancers after the game and were having free swings at Hibs fans walking past them. They eventually got chased by a different group of Hibs fans but it was definitely a tasty atmosphere after the game on the walk to the busses..

07-02-2025, 12:55 AM
Indeed Flash.

I’ve always hated watching on TV, only thing worse is listening on the radio.

Sloop67
07-02-2025, 05:49 AM
This has the potential to be real banana skin , and the fact it's on TV makes it even worse . I hope I'm wrong and we're in the hat for the draw come Monday night .

07-02-2025, 06:17 AM
Mind a game there years ago, must have been something like 16ish years ago. They had some right bams in their crowd who turned to pavement dancers after the game and were having free swings at Hibs fans walking past them. They eventually got chased by a different group of Hibs fans but it was definitely a tasty atmosphere after the game on the walk to the busses..

Trouble at the game made the papers that day as it was Hibs and Rangers casuals fighting. Think someone had a chunk of their ear chopped off when it kicked off at Glasgow central station after the game.

07-02-2025, 07:32 AM
Knowing the young team hang on every word written in here, no smoke bombs tonight, please. Was raging at the 2013 match when I couldn't see the game for a bit thanks to all the smoke hanging under the Railway End roof. Cannae be doing with that.

07-02-2025, 09:28 AM
Tickets purchased looking forward to it. An old fashion cup tie but expect Hibs to win by a couple of goals.

Ayr have conceded 1 in their last 7 and have a hearts loanee in goals. We need a clean sheet here!

07-02-2025, 11:39 AM
Is that because you are playing the drum?

I got stuck beside it at a Kilmarnock game a few years back thst was enough for me Avoid it like the plague now Pat lol

07-02-2025, 11:48 AM
Be tough tonight, we need everyone on the ball.

07-02-2025, 11:53 AM
Ayr sold around 3,500 tickets so not too far off a 50/50 crowd!

07-02-2025, 12:03 PM
Ayr sold around 3,500 tickets so not too far off a 50/50 crowd!

Quite a fair bit off capacity of 10k. Surprising.

07-02-2025, 12:32 PM
Quite a fair bit off capacity of 10k. Surprising.

Ayrs highest home attendance this season was just over 3000 so will be double the crowd they are used to.

HendoDelivered
07-02-2025, 01:34 PM
Sorry if covered, but can Manneh play tonight?

07-02-2025, 01:38 PM

He’s registered but won’t play due to not having played a competitive game since November.

07-02-2025, 01:38 PM
Wonder if we’ll see any team changes:

Smith

O’Hora Rocky Iredale

Cadden Levitt Triantis Cadden

Campbell

Boyle Bowie

Bench - Bursik, Miller, Obita, Manneh, Holliet, Gayle, Myko

07-02-2025, 01:40 PM

Gray said he’s not match fit. I’m hoping he’s on the bench and if the game is going our way then a cameo appearance is made.

07-02-2025, 01:41 PM
Gray said he’s not match fit. I’m hoping he’s on the bench and if the game is going our way then a cameo appearance is made.

He said he wouldn’t be involved.

07-02-2025, 01:45 PM
He said he wouldn’t be involved.

He said unlikely. I’m hoping that he makes the bench.

“New signing Alasana Manneh received his international clearance and visa last week and has been training with his teammates, however, Gray announced that he is unlikely to be match-fit for the weekend.”

07-02-2025, 01:54 PM
He said unlikely. I’m hoping that he makes the bench.

“New signing Alasana Manneh received his international clearance and visa last week and has been training with his teammates, however, Gray announced that he is unlikely to be match-fit for the weekend.”

He said in his press conference yesterday he wouldn’t be there

GreenPJ
07-02-2025, 02:31 PM
Start Bowie and then bring on Gayle/Myko after 60 or vice versa

07-02-2025, 02:58 PM
Any suggestions on parking? Cheers

07-02-2025, 03:12 PM
Any suggestions on parking? Cheers

I've never parked at Ayr for a game but there's a Govt building near the bottom of the A719 (Main road into Ayr. Entry by Limmonds Wynd). If there's still no no gate there's a big car park about 10 minute walk from the ground.

TelaStella
07-02-2025, 03:13 PM
First time visiting Ayr by train. Looks like Newton on Ayr is a bit closer to the ground than Ayr’s main station? Ideally looking to squeeze in a quick pint before hand if anyone knows of anywhere near there? Away fan permitting obviously.

07-02-2025, 03:22 PM

Pubs near ayr racecourse town centre · Bill Rodger
https://maps.app.goo.gl/LjsPbW7WiKnh1UmU6?g_st=i

All within walking distance, but please leave yourself at least 20 mins to get to the ground
If it was me I’d be parking before Tesco, which is in your left before the racecourse, will be much quicker getting home post match

07-02-2025, 03:27 PM
I've never parked at Ayr for a game but there's a Govt building near the bottom of the A719 (Main road into Ayr. Entry by Limmonds Wynd). If there's still no no gate there's a big car park about 10 minute walk from the ground.

BoyledEgg
07-02-2025, 03:35 PM
First time visiting Ayr by train. Looks like Newton on Ayr is a bit closer to the ground than Ayr’s main station? Ideally looking to squeeze in a quick pint before hand if anyone knows of anywhere near there? Away fan permitting obviously.

Wallace’s Bar at Tams Brig just across the road from Newton on Ayr station. Will be mostly Ayr fans but away fans welcome.

Fergos
07-02-2025, 03:46 PM
Wonder if we’ll see any team changes:

Smith

O’Hora Rocky Iredale

Cadden Levitt Triantis Cadden

Campbell

Boyle Bowie

Bench - Bursik, Miller, Obita, Manneh, Holliet, Gayle, Myko

Id have the fear if Levitt starts, hes not exactly up for a scrap. Id have same team but with NMW in for DL.

Cmon the Hibs 🇳🇬

TelaStella
07-02-2025, 03:51 PM
Wallace’s Bar at Tams Brig just across the road from Newton on Ayr station. Will be mostly Ayr fans but away fans welcome.

Thanks mate.

07-02-2025, 03:55 PM
The financial news has a taken a bit of the shine off my mood (thanks Hibs), but looking forward to this. How many we sold? Roughly 3000?

07-02-2025, 03:57 PM
Pubs near ayr racecourse town centre · Bill Rodger
https://maps.app.goo.gl/LjsPbW7WiKnh1UmU6?g_st=i

All within walking distance, but please leave yourself at least 20 mins to get to the ground
If it was me I’d be parking before Tesco, which is in your left before the racecourse, will be much quicker getting home post match

Rabbies Bar was my local in 1977 when I was living at craigie student residences as couldn’t get student accommodation in paisley
Met my wife there so happy memories

07-02-2025, 04:00 PM
Id have the fear if Levitt starts, hes not exactly up for a scrap. Id have same team but with NMW in for DL.

Cmon the Hibs 🇳🇬

We haven’t conceded a single goal during our recent run of form in the roughly 5 hours of football Levitt has been on the pitch for. The only league goals we’ve conceded while he’s been playing this season were against Celtic and when we were down to 10 men up in Dundee. We look much less secure defensively when NMW is playing.

07-02-2025, 04:13 PM
I think this will be a tough game tonight, I really hope the players are ready to battle.

07-02-2025, 04:15 PM
Working day is done, bring it on.

Feel like a good result tonight would go some way to chilling me out after a stressy day of football finance chat.

babahibs
07-02-2025, 04:39 PM
0-3 Hibs.

07-02-2025, 04:41 PM
1-3 Hibs.

Ayr scoring 1st.

Lendo
07-02-2025, 05:02 PM
Hopefully the prize money for getting through this round is £7.2m. :wink:

07-02-2025, 05:11 PM
Think Bowie may start. Big physical presence up front.

AdidasHibernian
07-02-2025, 05:19 PM
Think Bowie may start. Big physical presence up front.

Agree. Would like to see him start as he will like the battle.

SJNB Hibby
07-02-2025, 05:20 PM
Hopefully the prize money for getting through this round is £7.2m. :wink:

Fergos
07-02-2025, 05:20 PM
We haven’t conceded a single goal during our recent run of form in the roughly 5 hours of football Levitt has been on the pitch for. The only league goals we’ve conceded while he’s been playing this season were against Celtic and when we were down to 10 men up in Dundee. We look much less secure defensively when NMW is playing.

Didn’t realise he was such an influence, defensively. Attributing these stats to him is a tad generous. Imho of course.

scm70nyd1973
07-02-2025, 05:23 PM
Agree. Would like to see him start as he will like the battle.

I’m hoping for an early sending off for Ayr after they try and act like Billy Big Baws from the off - a couple of goals right after the SO and relaxing 🙏

07-02-2025, 05:25 PM
Didn’t realise he was such an influence, defensively. Attributing these stats to him is a tad generous. Imho of course.

I’m not attributing them entirely to him, I’m questioning the suggestion that he should be dropped and we’d be stronger with NMW in his place. We looked a lot less secure in midfield when NMW replaced him in Dingwall for example or when Kwon replaced him against Aberdeen.

scm70nyd1973
07-02-2025, 05:31 PM

But remember it could cost the sheep £72 million to build their new stadium that has been talked about since Adam was a boy - 7.2 is a drop in the ocean 🤭

Fergos
07-02-2025, 05:32 PM
I’m not attributing them entirely to him, I’m questioning the suggestion that he should be dropped and we’d be stronger with NMW in his place. We looked a lot less secure in midfield when NMW replaced him in Dingwall for example or when Kwon replaced him against Aberdeen.

Your opinion is exactly that, as is my own. Enjoy the game.

Willis1875
07-02-2025, 05:33 PM
No sign of Manneh in the team tonight 🤷*♂️

cameronw-hfc
07-02-2025, 05:33 PM

I think the issue is who we have in midfield. Triantis, NMW/Kwon and Campbell leaves most of the 'footballing' stuff to triantis, making him less effective. Adding Newell or Levitt in there next to him means we have better control of the ball and Triantis can be a bit more box to box.

I think we have decent players in the middle but poor balance. A lot of legs with Triantis, NMW, Kwon but the only 'footballers' as some would say are Newell(injured) Levitt and Triantis.

I think when Newell/Levitt isn't with Nectar we look poorer on the ball so give up more of the midfield, 2i5g Levitt/Newell in there with him we are better on the ball and end up with more control of the midfield.

Previous years I think Levitt was being asked to do things he couldn't, this year, we have plenty of legs around him so he can do what he's good at more often, I my opinion anyway.

07-02-2025, 05:34 PM
Myko in out the blue - meh.

07-02-2025, 05:36 PM

SDG said he wasn't going to feature.

Big night for Myko....

07-02-2025, 05:37 PM
I’m hoping for an early sending off for Ayr after they try and act like Billy Big Baws from the off - a couple of goals right after the SO and relaxing 🙏

You do realise the referee is Clancy. It's more likely that we are down to 10 at some stage.

scm70nyd1973
07-02-2025, 05:39 PM

Manneh is the way the Invernessians say money and we need to get £7.2 million of it so in the words of The Flying Lizards - 🦎 I want yer Manneh - cmoan the Cabbage 🙏

I’ll get ma coat - too many pre match beers 🫢

scm70nyd1973
07-02-2025, 05:41 PM
You do realise the referee is Clancy. It's more likely that we are down to 10 at some stage.

Good point - and it’s in Ayrshire too - a real Hun stronghold - ok - I’ll take the 2 early goals 🤭

Albahibs
07-02-2025, 05:42 PM
Huge game tonight. Can only hope that we progress through no matter what. Hope its a good game with us winning by two clear goals though. Come on Hibs.

Paulie Walnuts
07-02-2025, 05:42 PM

Big night for Myko....

Any idea why? You’d think we’d be wanting him involved asap.

07-02-2025, 05:44 PM

This gives me the fear with no VAR to call him out.

Willis1875
07-02-2025, 05:44 PM
Any idea why? You’d think we’d be wanting him involved asap.

Just read he’s not match fit,hasn’t played a competitive game since November

07-02-2025, 05:48 PM
It’s a tough game and should be a good cup tie. Ayr are doing great just now and will relish the challenge at home. The first goal is very important; I think we might edge it 2-1.

The Guinness is chilling, I’m looking forward to it.

07-02-2025, 05:51 PM
Strong team, would have preferred Gayle or Bowie, think we need to see Myko put in a good performance tonight.

scm70nyd1973
07-02-2025, 05:52 PM
From the Jimmy Pursey - well Sham 69 - song Kids are United -

Top of the league - Ayr Utd

But you’ll never beat the Hibees

Houston7
07-02-2025, 06:04 PM

Big night for Myko....

I reckon one of Myko’s duties is to mark Oakley at Ayr corners. I hope I’m wrong but Oakley could cause our defence some problems - he has some leap!

07-02-2025, 06:05 PM
Yogi and Ian Murray getting mixed up on the BBC. They will be talking about their respective old firm careers no doubt

07-02-2025, 06:13 PM
I reckon one of Myko’s duties is to mark Oakley at Ayr corners. I hope I’m wrong but Oakley could cause our defence some problems - he has some leap!

Campbell and O’Hora have a good leap in them too.

Paulie Walnuts
07-02-2025, 06:15 PM
Just read he’s not match fit,hasn’t played a competitive game since November

That’s a shame. You’d think tonight could have been the perfect opportunity to involve him on the bench and start working on that, especially if we found ourselves a couple of goals ahead.

pollution
07-02-2025, 06:17 PM
I'm feeling nervous tonight - home crowd, TV, ex Hibs manager .. what could go wrong !

AdidasHibernian
07-02-2025, 06:19 PM
Gayle for Myko for me but hopefully he does well tonight as feel he needs to score and get performing as has happened for him here yet imo.

scm70nyd1973
07-02-2025, 06:20 PM
Everyone wants Ayr to win - what could possibly go wrong?

07-02-2025, 06:42 PM

I dinnae

07-02-2025, 06:47 PM
Very last chance for Myko tonight surely?

Come on son. Do something!

07-02-2025, 06:48 PM
That’s never in a million years a foul

07-02-2025, 06:51 PM
Why’s Triantis going in like that ffs. Didn’t think it was a yellow but it’s f’n Clancy after all!

07-02-2025, 07:06 PM

I all fairness, everyone wanted underdogs to do well bar the opposition fans and any rivals the underdogs may have. If it was any team bar Hibs I'd be wanting Ayr to win too

But it is Hibs so F 'em. 'Mon the Hibees