View Full Version : Ticket prices in the 70s
I was having a tidy up last night and came across my old programme for the match vs Leeds in November '73. I also found the ticket stub - 50p for the Dunbar End. That seems really cheap for a European match. How much did tickets normally cost in these days?
seanshow
29-01-2025, 09:36 AM
A quick online inflation calculator puts that ticket at £7.73 in 2025, very cheap indeed. :crazy:
Here's the screenshot I didn't quite manage to add first time
29-01-2025, 09:54 AM
For that game there was no boys or OAP price. The terracing was all one price
29-01-2025, 09:59 AM
I was at that game, with my dad, Grandad and two Uncles. Even now, can't believe we didn't beat them. Brilliant to see guys like Bremner and Lorimer play. We outplayed them, but just couldn't make it count.
29-01-2025, 10:04 AM
50p for the Dunbar End was dear IIRC
The best seat in the house for the greatest game in history 1-1-1973 was a wallet blowing £1
https://i.ibb.co/22cZHSy/IMG-3220.png (https://ibb.co/4y41327)
https://i.ibb.co/zV15z2vp/IMG-3221.png (https://ibb.co/xqysNgTW)
hibby67
29-01-2025, 10:28 AM
Not quite the 70’s but started going to game myself in 81. Used to try and get a lift over if possible but if I had to pay a child was 50p for the East
29-01-2025, 10:41 AM
I always think football prices (in Scotland) went mental in the early 00s and have largely stagnated or risen far more slowly since.
As said above 50p would be equivalent to somewhere between £5.50 and £7 odd today depending on the source and methodology used to calculate the inflation and we are paying a damn site more than that. But in 2000 Hearts fans boycotted the 6-2 game nominally because Hibs had raised ticket prices to £26 (rather than because they knew they were getting pumped). If ticket prices had kept pace with inflation that £26 would be about £48 today. I think I paid £33 for the recent derby. A ticket for our Scottish Cup semi final v Celtic in 1995 was £15, in 2000 an equivalent big game ticket should have been around £17-18 but a derby was suddenly £26; today that £15 should be about £31-32, tickets this years were £30-38 for the semi final so broadly in line.
29-01-2025, 01:55 PM
I was having a tidy up last night and came across my old programme for the match vs Leeds in November '73. I also found the ticket stub - 50p for the Dunbar End. That seems really cheap for a European match. How much did tickets normally cost in these days?
Main terracing for the Liverpool game where we won with the Harper goal ( don’t mention the Brownlie pen miss) was also 50p. Don’t know why that sticks in my head but it does.
29-01-2025, 02:09 PM
Remember the big outcry when Tom Hart doubled the prices for the tickets for the game against Juventus.
29-01-2025, 02:11 PM
I remember Souness arriving in ‘86 from Italy saying we got our football too cheap in Scotland that was the beginning of the end
29-01-2025, 02:20 PM
I started going in the late 80s. Terracing was £3 I think. It was on a par with the cinema as Bobby Williamson might've pointed out. I remember thinking the £7 for the Skol cup final was outrageous and where would it all end?:dunno:
29-01-2025, 02:21 PM
I always think football prices (in Scotland) went mental in the early 00s and have largely stagnated or risen far more slowly since.
As said above 50p would be equivalent to somewhere between £5.50 and £7 odd today depending on the source and methodology used to calculate the inflation and we are paying a damn site more than that. But in 2000 Hearts fans boycotted the 6-2 game nominally because Hibs had raised ticket prices to £26 (rather than because they knew they were getting pumped). If ticket prices had kept pace with inflation that £26 would be about £48 today. I think I paid £33 for the recent derby. A ticket for our Scottish Cup semi final v Celtic in 1995 was £15, in 2000 an equivalent big game ticket should have been around £17-18 but a derby was suddenly £26; today that £15 should be about £31-32, tickets this years were £30-38 for the semi final so broadly in line.
Maybe the increase paid for the cost of the new stadiums after they were built and since then prices have deflated down to a more "reasonable" amount. Given the traditional audience of football it is a very expensive Saturday for most working people and a far bigger chunk out of the budget than it was in the 70s and 80s. Like much of life capitalism dictates that cost will be dictated by how much you can screw the customer. I think the club are about right in holding ST prices and trying to get income from teh value added products like hospitality.
When I started going in 1966 the boys gate was 2/6 and adult 5/- or 12 1/2p and 25p I don't think it went up much for a long time but Hibs used to book the stand which I think meant they could put the prices up.
29-01-2025, 02:33 PM
I remember the old days in the 60s, it cost 1/6d or 7.5p to get on to the terracing
29-01-2025, 02:33 PM
Maybe the increase paid for the cost of the new stadiums after they were built and since then prices have deflated down to a more "reasonable" amount. Given the traditional audience of football it is a very expensive Saturday for most working people and a far bigger chunk out of the budget than it was in the 70s and 80s. Like much of life capitalism dictates that cost will be dictated by how much you can screw the customer. I think the club are about right in holding ST prices and trying to get income from teh value added products like hospitality.
Aye I definitely think a lot of clubs could point to the massive upgrade in facilities post the Taylor report to justify the big increase in pricing at the turn of the century. The likes of Raith, Dunfermilne and Airdrie took on huge financial burdens in their quest for then SPL football eligibility.
I always remember being at the LC final v Rangers at Celtic Park and being terrified as a 7 year old. When Hibs scored it was bedlam and when you watch the videos back now you can see how tightly packed it was. Or when we ended the 22 in a row run v Hearts and the 'bench seats' collapsed in the row I was in sending dozens of fans sprawling into the rows behind them. When you compare that to now you can certainly make a case we should be paying more of a premium price albeit I think there is probably a middle ground to be had.
29-01-2025, 02:47 PM
December 1972 and 3 times the Leeds United ticket only to stand on the terraces fully clothed under a warm shower praying for the final whistle
Would do it all again tomorrow brilliant performance
https://i.ibb.co/FbkSnwnB/IMG-3222.png (https://ibb.co/mCrLSqSH)
29-01-2025, 03:15 PM
Been wracking my brains who is that next to Goram ?
29-01-2025, 03:17 PM
Been wracking my brains who is that next to Goram ?
Gareth Evans
Callum Milne
29-01-2025, 03:18 PM
Gareth Evans
Calum Milne
Ahhhh Calumn Milne that's it !!:aok:
Kent Gareth tho :greengrin
29-01-2025, 04:20 PM
First game I went to (on my own) was Sep 79, against Killie.
I think the price was £1.10 for adults and 60p for kids.
29-01-2025, 05:11 PM
I was visiting family in Newcastle around 1976, went to a Newcastle v Leicester match in the old first division.
30 pence for the boys gate !!
You could go out to the football with a pound pocket money, get buses both ways, buy a programme and a snack at half time and still have enough money when you got home for a bag of chips and three Bazooka Joe's
Main terracing for the Liverpool game where we won with the Harper goal ( don’t mention the Brownlie pen miss) was also 50p. Don’t know why that sticks in my head but it does.
What sticks in my mind about that game was the rain 🌧️
29-01-2025, 06:45 PM
Torrential
29-01-2025, 06:51 PM
I was at that game too and still have the ticket somewhere. It’s along with loads more tickets like the £1.50 I paid to see Black Sabbath front row of the circle in the Odeon. Scary
29-01-2025, 06:56 PM
Torrential
https://i.ibb.co/ynKPvKMJ/IMG-3225.png (https://ibb.co/VWb9nbh8)
https://i.ibb.co/5WtjmPhL/IMG-3223.png (https://ibb.co/fYBNfsdH)
Hillsidehibby
29-01-2025, 06:58 PM
My dad said that when he went to the football late 50’s early 60’s a pint , a haircut and getting into the football were all the same price
29-01-2025, 06:59 PM
First game I went to (on my own) was Sep 79, against Killie.
I think the price was £1.10 for adults and 60p for kids.
Yes I started following home and away in 79-80. Was 60p to get into the huge East.
29-01-2025, 07:33 PM
My dad said that when he went to the football late 50’s early 60’s a pint , a haircut and getting into the football were all the same price
A pint, a packet of fags and the fitba were all the same price into the early 70s as well.
29-01-2025, 08:43 PM
For the friendly against Real Madrid the ground price was put up to six bob (30p m’lud) and lots of supporters didn’t go . Far too dear.
30-01-2025, 10:34 PM
I was having a tidy up last night and came across my old programme for the match vs Leeds in November '73. I also found the ticket stub - 50p for the Dunbar End. That seems really cheap for a European match. How much did tickets normally cost in these days?Pretty sure the boys price was an old shilling or a new 5p at the time. 50 p was a stretch. Still the single biggest crowd I've experienced at Easter Road. Above 360000.
Sent from my Tab 12 Pro using Tapatalk
ChilliEater
31-01-2025, 05:42 AM
Pretty sure the boys price was an old shilling or a new 5p at the time. 50 p was a stretch. Still the single biggest crowd I've experienced at Easter Road. Above 360000.
Still short of Hearts 400000 then :greengrin
I started getting myself to games during the 84-85 season. Think it was 2 pounds, but may have been 1.75. Prices did go up massively with the advent of all seater stadia, but to do a fair comparison maybe it should be with stand, rather than terracing, prices as every ticket was now in a stand with no terracing available. The cheapest available tickets now came with better facilities (whether you wanted them or not!)
31-01-2025, 07:01 AM
Pretty sure the boys price was an old shilling or a new 5p at the time. 50 p was a stretch. Still the single biggest crowd I've experienced at Easter Road. Above 360000.
The biggest I was in was 49000. It was either the Scottish cup replay against the huns or the league decider against the plastics
Groathillgrump
31-01-2025, 10:43 AM
Torrential
Still got my programme from that night but when I took it out my pocket when I got home it resembled paper mache. Think it was the biggest soaking I've ever had watching a match and there's been loads of them over the years!
31-01-2025, 10:46 AM
Still short of Hearts 400000 then :greengrin
I started getting myself to games during the 84-85 season. Think it was 2 pounds, but may have been 1.75. Prices did go up massively with the advent of all seater stadia, but to do a fair comparison maybe it should be with stand, rather than terracing, prices as every ticket was now in a stand with no terracing available. The cheapest available tickets now came with better facilities (whether you wanted them or not!)[emoji1787]. Ach typos....
Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
31-01-2025, 10:58 AM
December 1972 and 3 times the Leeds United ticket only to stand on the terraces fully clothed under a warm shower praying for the final whistle
Would do it all again tomorrow brilliant performance
https://i.ibb.co/FbkSnwnB/IMG-3222.png (https://ibb.co/mCrLSqSH)
All for £1, and my auld man paid it…😁
Remember the whole day like yesterday, train to and from Waverley to Kings Park - Then climbing the Waverley steps to see a mass of green and white while Pat Stanton hung out the window of The North British Hotel with the cup.
I was 12 and in the North Stand, seat L 33 - Still have my ticket.
What a magical experience for a wee boy at that time...
Glory Glory