View Full Version : Red Weather Warning for Friday

jamie_1875
23-01-2025, 01:06 PM
Red weather warning in place for tomorrow. Looking like schools and other places being closed, police issuing a do not travel statement. The BBC weather lady saying worst she has seen for high winds.

Hope everyone stays safe.

23-01-2025, 02:15 PM
All schools and nurseries in Edinburgh and Midlothian shut. All trains in Scotland off. My workplace is closed so , ahem, working from home.

23-01-2025, 02:25 PM
All schools and nurseries in Edinburgh and Midlothian shut. All trains in Scotland off. My workplace is closed so , ahem, working from home.
Red weather warning until 5pm. Trains off ALL DAY. :grr:

23-01-2025, 02:32 PM
Red weather warning until 5pm. Trains off ALL DAY. :grr:
Telegraph-pole clearing-upping from 5 to midnight? :dunno:

23-01-2025, 02:41 PM
Telegraph-pole clearing-upping from 5 to midnight? :dunno:Stop being reasonable. It looks like my trip to Glasgow tomorrow night is off.

23-01-2025, 02:41 PM
Stop being reasonable. It looks like my trip to Glasgow tomorrow night is off.

Gig?

23-01-2025, 04:04 PM
Gig?
Yes. Julie Fowlis and the SCO at Celtic Connections. All Friday CC gigs now postponed. Don't fancy being in their shoes having to reorganise ....

Hibs4185
23-01-2025, 04:20 PM
Kids off school! Could cry

23-01-2025, 04:53 PM
Anyone else get one of those government warnings to their phone? A few people I know did but nothing for me so far.

Edit: Just got one now.

23-01-2025, 04:53 PM
Anyone else get one of those government warnings to the phone? A few people I know did but nothing for me so far.

Me

Bridge hibs
23-01-2025, 05:02 PM
Anyone else get one of those government warnings to their phone? A few people I know did but nothing for me so far.

Nope not me, my Wife did and about **** herself 😆

Berwickhibby
23-01-2025, 05:05 PM
Me….nearly pooped my pants …. Adrenaline is brown

23-01-2025, 05:13 PM
I got a really loud warning on ma phone a few minutes ago.

I had to change ma pants.

EDIT: I see I wasn't the only one

alhibby
23-01-2025, 06:27 PM
LRT are suspending all services between 1000 and 1700, that will cause major headaches

Just said that this will cause disruption until the end of service tomorrow

23-01-2025, 07:17 PM
My wife just text me to say Asda is rammed with people panic buying. People literally scrapping in the aisles over milk and bread😅😅😅😅😅

It's one day of wind FFS. What is wrong with people? Even if there are a few logistical issues to iron out afterwards it will be 2-3 days max until deliveries catch up. No one is going to starve.

For a nation that fetishes war and the 'blitz spirit' we'd be totally ****ed if such sacrifice was ever required again.

**My wife works there, she isn't one of the shoppers

23-01-2025, 07:40 PM
To be fair, I hadn't thought about panic buying but I do need to get some milk in soon... :dizzy:

Hibs4185
23-01-2025, 08:06 PM
My wife just text me to say Asda is rammed with people panic buying. People literally scrapping in the aisles over milk and bread😅😅😅😅😅

It's one day of wind FFS. What is wrong with people? Even if there are a few logistical issues to iron out afterwards it will be 2-3 days max until deliveries catch up. No one is going to starve.

For a nation that fetishes war and the 'blitz spirit' we'd be totally ****ed if such sacrifice was ever required again.

Yip. I just had to drive to Bonnyrigg from Galahsiels and had 5 miles in the tank. Went to Asda and there was massive queues which is unheard of in Galahsiels.

People are thick as *hit

23-01-2025, 08:23 PM

Was in Morrisons in Dalkeith earlier and hardly any milk left.

23-01-2025, 08:32 PM

Yep and nearly shat myself.

23-01-2025, 08:33 PM

🤣🤣 for a 1 day weather warning ffs.

23-01-2025, 11:03 PM

I’m sure the alert said something about candles, torches, batteries and the like.

At the time I thought it was a sure fire invitation for folk to panic bulk buy and that it would be a hellish night in the supermarkets.

24-01-2025, 06:23 AM
Quite disappointing so far in a weird way...just walked the dogs and it's just a normal windy day 🤔

24-01-2025, 06:36 AM
Quite disappointing so far in a weird way...just walked the dogs and it's just a normal windy day [emoji848]Dunno where you are but here in WL it's already a bit more than a windy morning

Worse than I expected at this time - just had to run out to the garden and move some things around

EDI airport is already at 30knots gusting 42

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

24-01-2025, 06:43 AM
Dunno where you are but here in WL it's already a bit more than a windy morning

Worse than I expected at this time - just had to run out to the garden and move some things around

I'm just along the road in Kirkliston!

Maybe my interpretation isn't as harsh as others 😃

24-01-2025, 06:43 AM
Dunno where you are but here in WL it's already a bit more than a windy morning

I'm in WL too and I had the dog out early as it's pretty bad here. Loads of branches down already.

24-01-2025, 06:44 AM
I'm in WL too and I had the dog out early as it's pretty bad here. Loads of branches down already.My dog weighs 5kg- she'l been flying, not walking out there

I thought the worst of it it was due 10am onwards so buckle in I guess

Hibs4185
24-01-2025, 06:56 AM
Pretty tame in the Borders so far!

In saying that, just had an iron bru can roll across the patio.

jamie_1875
24-01-2025, 06:57 AM
My dog weighs 5kg- she'l been flying, not walking out there

I thought the worst of it it was due 10am onwards so buckle in I guess

It's over Northern Ireland just now, so yes expected to hit Scotland in next few hours.

24-01-2025, 07:54 AM
https://news.stv.tv/scotland/storm-eowyn-timeline-sean-batty

When and where it's expected to be bad.

And major supermarkets have closed so panic buying wasn't such a bad idea.

Bridge hibs
24-01-2025, 08:01 AM
Quite disappointing so far in a weird way...just walked the dogs and it's just a normal windy day 🤔

Im just in after walking my dog, he got blown over mid poop, he has rage face now 🤭

24-01-2025, 08:04 AM

Supermarkets will be open this evening. Ridiculous behaviour from the public.

24-01-2025, 08:06 AM
Im just in after walking my dog, he got blown over mid poop, he has rage face now 🤭

Tbf it is getting a bit worse, I must have got lucky.

My wee dog would refuse to out now, big one will try and eat the wind....yeah he is a bit special :agree:

24-01-2025, 08:07 AM

I mean it really was. Weather will be mild, dry and breezy by this time tomorrow and shops will still have plenty food (or rather they would have if idiots hadn't cleared the shelves in panic). It's like people don't realise that panic buying creates scarcity in such circumstances rather than there actually being shortages.

Aye if you need a pint of milk or whatever fine but folk were literally filling multiple trolleys in Asda last night. Pathetic.

24-01-2025, 08:08 AM
I mean it really was. Weather will be mild, dry and breezy tomorrow and shops will still have plenty food (or rather they would have if idiots hadn't cleared the shelves in panic). It's like people don't realise that panic buying creates scarcity in such circumstances rather than their actually being shortages.

Folk will never learn PB...I blame the internet for this behaviour for sure!

Hibs4185
24-01-2025, 08:22 AM
Supermarkets will be open this evening. Ridiculous behaviour from the public.

Agreed. They’ll be shut for a few hours not days. Same with petrol, filling your car up yet the advice is not to travel.

24-01-2025, 08:49 AM
It’s no wonder our economy is struggling when we find it so easy to just close everything down.

24-01-2025, 08:51 AM
It’s no wonder our economy is struggling when we find it so easy to just close everything down.

It doesn't really happen all that often though, does it?

Hibs4185
24-01-2025, 08:54 AM
Getting pretty gusty down here. Heading out to the gym in 15 mins. Could be interesting

jamie_1875
24-01-2025, 09:20 AM

If a tree landed on a train and derailed it killing people then wouldn't people say why did you run trains during a red weather warning?

24-01-2025, 09:28 AM
I mean it really was. Weather will be mild, dry and breezy by this time tomorrow and shops will still have plenty food (or rather they would have if idiots hadn't cleared the shelves in panic). It's like people don't realise that panic buying creates scarcity in such circumstances rather than there actually being shortages.

Aye if you need a pint of milk or whatever fine but folk were literally filling multiple trolleys in Asda last night. Pathetic.

I went to Lidl at Straiton last night (not panic buying - was going anyway) and saw people panic shoplifting :rolleyes::greengrin - really obvious too. Some boy shoving stuff up his hoodie and in his socks.

Went to Sainsburys afterwards as Lidl didn't have any neeps. Sainsbury's didn't either but there was a couple standing next to me when I was at the empty space for neeps and they were moaning at how greedy people must be to have cleared the shop of neeps. Normally, I'd agree but there was no hint of irony in their voices given each of them were carrying stacks of the trays of pre-mashed potatoes so high that they had their chin keeping them in place.

Lidl was ridiculous. Queues so big that you couldn't get into anything on the shelves.

Lendo
24-01-2025, 09:32 AM

Lidl in Daley was like a scene from a post apocalyptic movie. Queue was about 40 minutes. I just popped in for Parmesan to make risotto.

Lendo
24-01-2025, 09:37 AM
If a tree landed on a train and derailed it killing people then wouldn't people say why did you run trains during a red weather warning?

They would just call the train woke and say that it wouldn’t have happened back in the 1930s despite they themselves being born in the 1960s.

24-01-2025, 10:15 AM

I seen someone on Reddit claim that even those who WFH should have the day off. :greengrin

24-01-2025, 10:20 AM
I seen someone on Reddit claim that even those who WFH should have the day off. :greengrin

My work have said there's no expectation that staff work from home but can choose to do so. I have something that needs doing I'm choosing to work. Judging by people's statuses on Teams most are working.

I think parents have been told by schools that they need to home school today (my wife's friend has been told that by her kids' school at least) so that might have something to do with it.

24-01-2025, 10:30 AM

Alternatively, we can celebrate the fact that we live in a society where people's safety is put at the centre of decisions.

24-01-2025, 10:34 AM
Got sent a picture of a tree down right across the road at Abbeymount at the junction with Montrose Terrace.

24-01-2025, 10:35 AM
I seen someone on Reddit claim that even those who WFH should have the day off. :greengrinI'm on annual leave, I should get that added back on to my allowance! :rofl:

24-01-2025, 11:08 AM
Got sent a picture of a tree down right across the road at Abbeymount at the junction with Montrose Terrace.

Only interesting thing I've seen was a pigeon trying to fly into the wind. It was such a hoot I wondered for a second whether it might have been an owl.

24-01-2025, 11:32 AM
DIY day for me. Doing all those indoor jobs the missus has been nagging me to do for months 😀

24-01-2025, 12:26 PM
https://news.stv.tv/west-central/front-of-irvine-ms-supermarket-torn-off-by-storm-eowyn-winds

Overreacting by the Met office?

24-01-2025, 12:42 PM
Alternatively, we can celebrate the fact that we live in a society where people's safety is put at the centre of decisions.

Absolutely, we have had a few disagreements over the years with our management regarding severe weather. Thankfully they now have a very common sense policy which agrees with Government advice. If it is a red warding and you shouldn't travel then don't and that then leads to the office closing. It is very rare so it makes perfect sense and the vast majority work from home and will continue to do so today. My lad is a bus driver and they were asked to travel into depots despite there being no buses going out. Absolutely moronic in my opinion having them travel in to sit and do nothing. No issue once the weather passes getting them to come in for the remainder of shifts but they put out the mixed message that it is too dangerous to travel on a bus not safe enough for workers to travel to depots against govt advice

24-01-2025, 01:00 PM
100% fanned by the media this.

I'm sitting in the house waiting on my roof/fence to blow away....if it wasn't for all the attention then I wouldn't have paid much notice.

I do get warnings of this severity have to be highlighted although it seems an absolute deluge of hysterical reporting wherever I turn.

24-01-2025, 01:02 PM

I'm sitting in the house waiting on my roof/fence to blow away....if it wasn't for all the attention then I wouldn't have paid much notice.

I do get warnings of this severity have to be highlighted although it seems an absolute deluge of hysterical reporting wherever I turn.

Have you seen the marks and Spencer in Ayrshire with the front ripped off???

24-01-2025, 01:05 PM

Thats a big fan.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

24-01-2025, 01:07 PM
DIY day for me. Doing all those indoor jobs the missus has been nagging me to do for months 😀

My missus keeps asking me to sort the tv aerial out on the roof for some reason…

Stairway 2 7
24-01-2025, 01:09 PM

750k homes without power in Ireland, 250k in Northern Ireland and 20k in central Scotland. The strongest gusts ever recorded in parts of Ireland. Trees down and tiles in various parts of Edinburgh. If it was business as usual people would have died today. 100% the correct call to put a red warning and stay at home message.

24-01-2025, 01:12 PM

Dunno where you stay but in Leith my fence is currently propped up with wooden pallets and blocks of wood to stop it flying into the house while the sound outside is like a plane taking off

According to a wind tracking website there have been gusts of 84mph in my postcode

To put it in context a Hurricane needs to be at least 74mph

24-01-2025, 01:19 PM
It does feel a bit of a damp squib but I'm sitting in my house catching up on Only Connect and The Traitors with a big bowl of crisps next to me.

The angle of the trees I can see outside suggest it would probably feel a bit different if I'd had to go out in it.

24-01-2025, 01:20 PM
Dunno where you stay but in Leith my fence is currently propped up with wooden pallets and blocks of wood to stop it flying into the house while the sound outside is like a plane taking off

According to a wind tracking website there have been gusts of 84mph in my postcode

To put it in context a Hurricane needs to be at least 74mph

My neithbour’s fence is lying on my decking, and I’ve had to tie the bairn’s trampoline down to stop it being blown over a 6 foot fence, but aye, it’s all media hype…

24-01-2025, 01:27 PM
My neithbour’s fence is lying on my decking, and I’ve had to tie the bairn’s trampoline down to stop it being blown over a 6 foot fence, but aye, it’s all media hype…

I'm one for a challenge, in 2018ish when we had mental snow for a few days and everything ground to a hault I walked to work, it was like an artic expedition but fairly fun and funny, no danger would I be out in this

I also live right on a park and as you say the trees are at weird angles, so much so that I've been doing mental calculations in my head about if they would actually hit my house or not if they fell the right way

Godsahibby
24-01-2025, 01:44 PM
Well there goes my fence, you were a fine boundary while you lasted!

24-01-2025, 01:44 PM

Fence doon here as well.

Was on its last legs right enough but it’s cabbaged now [emoji2959]

100% right call to warn folk to stay at home today…some of the gusts have been mental.

24-01-2025, 01:53 PM
Have you seen the marks and Spencer in Ayrshire with the front ripped off???

Some people will do anything for that pint of milk and loaf of bread...

Bridge hibs
24-01-2025, 01:57 PM
Well there goes my fence, you were a fine boundary while you lasted!

Same, my side fence is now match sticks 🤬

24-01-2025, 01:58 PM
Same, my side fence is now match sticks 🤬

Or kindling in my world

24-01-2025, 02:11 PM
Fencers and roofers already planning their next around the world cruises. 😀

24-01-2025, 02:11 PM
Fencers and roofers already planning their next around the world cruises. 😀

24-01-2025, 02:38 PM
A garden hut sitting in the neighbours garden, or parts of it, telecom cables down as hut was just lifted in to air and blown over a good distance.

Does seem to be easing now I think.

24-01-2025, 02:42 PM
Just seen a wee graphic showing the windspeed in Fraserburgh, 1989 being 142mph!!

24-01-2025, 02:43 PM
Good to see the Evening News has hidden the information about the storn behind a paywall. Very public service focused!

24-01-2025, 02:46 PM

Good for you. I’m going to be spending some time doing a good bit of repair work to my back fence. Are you suggesting its all fake news thats being reported wherever you turn?

24-01-2025, 02:48 PM
Good for you. I’m going to be spending some time doing a good bit of repair work to my back fence. Are you suggesting its all fake news thats being reported wherever you turn?

What? No. Some spin though 🙏

Bridge hibs
24-01-2025, 02:50 PM
A friends neighbours house in Gorebridge 🫨 28465

24-01-2025, 02:52 PM
A friends neighbours house in Gorebridge 🫨 28465Trying to work out what has happened. Was it scaffolding that has collapsed?

24-01-2025, 02:53 PM
What? No. Some spin though 🙏

I think its fair enough. There’s a lot of stuff been flying around. A real danger of serious injury - or worse - if folk had been going about their business as usual today.

Bridge hibs
24-01-2025, 02:55 PM
Trying to work out what has happened. Was it scaffolding that has collapsed?

Im not sure mate, the house facing has roof damage and I think the debris in the garden are the remnants of a rear extension on adjoining land

24-01-2025, 03:13 PM

Dunno what the weather is like for everybody else but just south of Glasgow it's horrendous. The wind speed is incredible and there's stuff flying about everywhere (including parts of people's roofs)

The shops are all closed around us and, while it's a minor inconvenience, I'd rather that than the poor sods that work there risking their safety just so I can do some shopping.

24-01-2025, 03:17 PM
A friends neighbours house in Gorebridge 🫨 28465

A tree fell on the road at Easthouses.

24-01-2025, 03:52 PM
Weather is saying 3 degrees but feels like -14, I have been out for a bit but -14, no chance.

24-01-2025, 04:04 PM
These hoaxes are getting more and more convincing.

Hibs4185
24-01-2025, 04:06 PM
Trying to work out what has happened. Was it scaffolding that has collapsed?

That estate is full of man caves and sheds etc in the gardens. Probably something like that I’d imagine

24-01-2025, 04:17 PM
Just me or has it died down pretty rapidly? Still windy here but notably calmer than even an hour ago.

24-01-2025, 04:18 PM
These hoaxes are getting more and more convincing.

Crikey!

It takes some force to cause that damage. Doesn't bear thinking about that a person takes the impact of that force.

My business is in a similarish building to that, probably the same part of the world. I'm a stoic sort and took a bit of convincing to close for the day. Very glad with hindsight, stuff flying off roofs and onto people isn't a crazy notion. Fortunately not many people out there and most have heeded the instructions to stay indoors.

24-01-2025, 04:19 PM
Just me or has it died down pretty rapidly? Still windy here but notably calmer than even an hour ago.

Still very gusty here in the Lindsay Road area.

I am on the 5th floor though and only a few hundred yards from the water so pretty exposed.

24-01-2025, 04:20 PM

Not out here in falkirk, it's mental, I left edinburgh about half 3 and it wasn't so bad, got home and it's still crazy, M9 had trees blown over the road all over the place

24-01-2025, 04:22 PM
Power just gone off, not even in the red warning!!!

24-01-2025, 04:25 PM
My garden is wrecked. Fences are fine but storage boxes and bin stores not in good Nick. Garden furniture rearranged and some lighting smashed.

24-01-2025, 04:28 PM
Power is back on after 4 hours off in South Lanarkshire.

Fair play the engineers, the online predictor had it back on lunch time
tomorrow.

Dozens of trees blown down, I’ve lost a fence, a double width gate and it looks like the kids play house may not make it through the night.

Wind is still as wild as it was at lunchtime today. We have a really wide front window in the living room and you can see the PVC flexing when the wind gusts.

24-01-2025, 04:42 PM

Still bad here in Leith. No sign of it dying down yet.

Stairway 2 7
24-01-2025, 05:26 PM
Cousin text me about 10 saying it was anticlimactic, she's just lost all power in her house near the meadows...

24-01-2025, 05:27 PM
Co-op in Denny, after today's Storm.

24-01-2025, 05:33 PM
Not out here in falkirk, it's mental, I left edinburgh about half 3 and it wasn't so bad, got home and it's still crazy, M9 had trees blown over the road all over the place

Still pretty wild in Livingston, albeit maybe slightly lessened since its peak

24-01-2025, 07:14 PM

28467Workers should've been in and tidying that up already!

24-01-2025, 08:35 PM
Tonight's tea was a packet of crisps in a roll and a can of juice!

Only later did I remember there's a camping gas stove and my electric car has 2 13amp outlets and I have 3 induction hobs!!! Sorted for tomorrow if it continues. 😂

25-01-2025, 08:18 AM
Power back on around 1am. Got up to check no lights were left on and various heating controls were set correctly.

25-01-2025, 10:15 AM
Quite a bit damage around about us this morning.

The Asda petrol station sign at the Jewel was damaged and bits of it were all over the road. Few trolley shelters totally collapsed as well. Tree down at the top of our road and a lanpost down on the path behind us. Bin shed door is blown off and there are slates all over the road.

25-01-2025, 10:43 AM
Quite a bit damage around about us this morning.

The Asda petrol station sign at the Jewel was damaged and bits of it were all over the road. Few trolley shelters totally collapsed as well. Tree down at the top of our road and a lanpost down on the path behind us. Bin shed door is blown off and there are slates all over the road.

Free exercise for me this morning chopping up the destroyed fence.

Thankfully no other damage to report unlike the poor folk that had trees fall through their roof.

Thankfully the warnings were spot on and no doubt saved a hell of a lot of people a lot of hassle and injury.

And that’s before you consider the impact on the emergency services if everyone had just went about their business as normal yesterday.

Lendo
25-01-2025, 11:26 AM
I’ll need to send my drone up to do a wee reccy on the roof when the winds calmed down tomorrow but it seems fine from down on the street.

Andy Bee
25-01-2025, 11:29 AM
Apparently flats in Leith (Hawkhill) although people are questioning if it's real. Shoddy building if it is, the fancy glass balastrade seems to have brought the wall down.

https://x.com/LBCNewsScot/status/1882825459286847781

25-01-2025, 11:33 AM
Apparently flats in Leith (Hawkhill) although people are questioning if it's real. Shoddy building if it is, the fancy glass balastrade seems to have brought the wall down.

https://x.com/LBCNewsScot/status/1882825459286847781

It’s real, it was the talk of the street Facebook page yesterday!

Not my building thankfully but pretty concerning.

Andy Bee
25-01-2025, 11:40 AM
It’s real, it was the talk of the street Facebook page yesterday!

Not my building thankfully but pretty concerning.

There'll be questions asked on this one, there should be 2.5 wall ties per M² and I don't see any.

25-01-2025, 01:46 PM
There'll be questions asked on this one, there should be 2.5 wall ties per M² and I don't see any.

Good chance all those flats just became un-mortgageable.

25-01-2025, 01:57 PM

My son stays in Denny, a new building will be a welcome addition. :greengrin

25-01-2025, 06:13 PM
Anyone else’s windows absolutely filthy after the storm?

25-01-2025, 08:01 PM
Anyone else’s windows absolutely filthy after the storm?

And front door, and garden (filled with rubbish from everywhere else).

You're not far from me, so I suspect you experienced in the unbelievable wind speeds too (I'm about 2 miles form the place in South Lanarkshire where the 102mph was recorded!).

Bridge hibs
25-01-2025, 08:24 PM
18 feet of fencing torn to shreds 🤬 delivery of a new fence on Monday so me and my Brother are going to be busy, a few ridge tiles came off the roof too so my Brother is going to repair that so not all bad thankfully.

25-01-2025, 09:59 PM
Was speaking to the a national timber company this morning and between closing up on Thursday night and opening again Saturday morning they had sold all their stock of 3k fence posts online....god knows how many slats and panels on top of that!

26-01-2025, 12:51 PM
I had a power cut down here in Wiltshire. Seems localised. Fair confused me when I came back from rugby (cancelled).

All back up and running. Hearing a tree down over power lines.