View Full Version : GOV.UK Wallet and App
This will have some folk screaming blue murder and probably not just the conspiracy nutters who'll be reaching for another roll of kitchen foil!
I'm all for it and I'm sure most people, who have nothing to hide, will welcome the convenience.
Veterans cards will be the test area by the looks of it followed by driving licences and "government services - like applying for childcare or reporting a lost passport – far easier and in tune with modern life"
But let's not kid ourselves before long I can see it being used as proof of identity and allow access to all government services such as benefits and probably even the NHS. I still have nothing to hide so it won't affect me and millions of other citizens who go about their lives not bothering anyone.
Thoughts? 😆
https://www.gov.uk/government/news/digital-driving-licence-coming-this-year
22-01-2025, 10:31 AM
This will have some folk screaming blue murder and probably not just the conspiracy nutters who'll be reaching for another roll of kitchen foil!
I'm all for it and I'm sure most people, who have nothing to hide, will welcome the convenience.
Veterans cards will be the test area by the looks of it followed by driving licences and "government services - like applying for childcare or reporting a lost passport – far easier and in tune with modern life"
But let's not kid ourselves before long I can see it being used as proof of identity and allow access to all government services such as benefits and probably even the NHS. I still have nothing to hide so it won't affect me and millions of other citizens who go about their lives not bothering anyone.
Thoughts? [emoji38]
I’m all for it. Should have been done years ago.
22-01-2025, 10:38 AM
Thoughts?
I've nothing to hide either, but that's only under current laws. Laws can change, and for that reason, I'm out.
22-01-2025, 11:10 AM
Nothing to hide? Might as well get the monitors in the telly and microchip us all....oh wait:wink:
22-01-2025, 11:17 AM
Nothing to hide? Might as well get the monitors in the telly and microchip us all....oh wait:wink:
That’s just it. This is no more intrusive than the multiple form of surveillance we routinely already ignore in favour of convenience.
Stairway 2 7
22-01-2025, 12:20 PM
Every EU country bar Denmark uses citizen cards its bizarre we don't. Countries like Estonia that have had digital ID for decades, you can vote, prove your 18, pay bills in most shops online. In the UK to prove your identity we're still bringing in gas bills to the doctors to prove our identity 😆
The government and Google know everything they want anyway.
22-01-2025, 12:50 PM
You walk around with a tracking device in your pocket with banking apps and doctors apps in your pocket all day (your mobile).
I wouldn’t worry about a digital driving licence.
Some states have had them for ages.
No problem here. If you don’t want it, don’t download it.
22-01-2025, 01:04 PM
I really can’t see any downside to it given what we already have on our smart phones.
I'd love a national ID card. If you don't have a driving licence you need to carry a passport if you have one. They cost a fortune to replace if you lose it.
22-01-2025, 02:18 PM
I'd love a national ID card. If you don't have a driving licence you need to carry a passport if you have one. They cost a fortune to replace if you lose it.
Why? Do you look under 18? :dunno:
22-01-2025, 02:51 PM
You walk around with a tracking device in your pocket with banking apps and doctors apps in your pocket all day (your mobile).
I wouldn’t worry about a digital driving licence.
Some states have had them for ages.
No problem here. If you don’t want it, don’t download it.
That's my very point, I think.
We've allowed access to every aspect of our lives, kind of sleep walked into it. Who needs Big Brother when we mostly passively surrender all data anyway.
I can't wait for my microchip insertion.
22-01-2025, 03:06 PM
Just apply for a provisional 😀
22-01-2025, 05:20 PM
Yep, no problems that I can see.
Will I get loyalty points?
Why? Do you look under 18? :dunno:
You need ID for a lot more than buying alcohol. I dealt with both my mum's and my brother's estates last year and had to have id for banks, lawyers and the court amongst other things. Voting, I needed to take id with me this time. Loads of stuff.
Just apply for a provisional 😀
I had one years ago but it lapsed. I did consider it last year
22-01-2025, 07:54 PM
You need ID for a lot more than buying alcohol. I dealt with both my mum's and my brother's estates last year and had to have id for banks, lawyers and the court amongst other things. Voting, I needed to take id with me this time. Loads of stuff.
Yes but those are all one-off things. I thought you meant you had to carry it about with you all day every day. Thanks for clarifying.
22-01-2025, 08:07 PM
Yes but those are all one-off things. I thought you meant you had to carry it about with you all day every day. Thanks for clarifying.
I’m 31 and I have to carry my passport with me when I’m out drinking or what not. I do look young for my age though :greengrin
22-01-2025, 08:18 PM
I’m 31 and I have to carry my passport with me when I’m out drinking or what not. I do look young for my age though :greengrin
Jeez, that must be a pain. Considered an Amish style fake beard to avoid the inconvenience?
22-01-2025, 08:29 PM
A proper ID system can help with illegal immigration as well. One of the reasons for trying to get here rather than stop in more affluent Europe is they all have ID cards which make it hard to get work. Here, HMRC will give anything with a pulse a National Insurance number.
24-01-2025, 10:22 AM
Alas, I don't get ID'd much these days but I have been a couple of times in the last year. I take great delight in pointing out that I'm closer to 60 than I am 18 :greengrin
24-01-2025, 02:35 PM
I’m 57 and got ID’d in the White Lady. Son was getting the round in and was asked for ID which he showed, the barman then asked who the other pint was for, my son pointed me out as I was sitting directly opposite the bar and told the barman I was his Dad. The daft ****** of a barman still insisted on seeing my ID and when I told him he was being ridiculous he tried to make a joke out of it and said I should take it as a compliment.
24-01-2025, 04:11 PM
I’m 57 and got ID’d in the White Lady. Son was getting the round in and was asked for ID which he showed, the barman then asked who the other pint was for, my son pointed me out as I was sitting directly opposite the bar and told the barman I was his Dad. The daft ****** of a barman still insisted on seeing my ID and when I told him he was being ridiculous he tried to make a joke out of it and said I should take it as a compliment.
I'm 47 and still get a bit miffed when trying to buy something you need to be over 18 to buy in ASDA and the supervisor at the self-service check out comes over, scans the card and presses the "nae need, really" button confirming they haven't seen my ID.
speedy_gonzales
24-01-2025, 05:37 PM
I'm 47 and still get a bit miffed when trying to buy something you need to be over 18 to buy in ASDA and the supervisor at the self-service check out comes over, scans the card and presses the "nae need, really" button confirming they haven't seen my ID.
🤣🤣🤣
Worse than that (slightly) is when they remotely authorise "age challenge" items at Tesco.
The wee red light comes up, you act all nonchalant so you don't present yourself as an absolute jaikey when buying your poison of choice, after a while the face eventually drops and your like "c'mon tae....." And the lassie at the master checkout is just staring at you, for the idiot you are!
27-01-2025, 12:26 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2025/jan/26/poland-digital-id-cards-e-government-app?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=bluesky&CMP=bsky_gu
27-01-2025, 09:42 PM
Jeez, that must be a pain. Considered an Amish style fake beard to avoid the inconvenience?
I do have a beard at the minute :greengrin.
Really need to look into getting a provisional license for ID.