View Full Version : Light show
20-01-2025, 03:30 PM
Hibs have been trying out things for the fans’ match day experience, and I would like to get feedback and opinions from fans about the light show at Easter Road.
I’m not creating this thread for people to slag the club or people, it’s for positive and negative experiences of the light show, eg makes them feel unwell.
If people don’t like to post but want to give their opinion, please PM me.
20-01-2025, 03:48 PM
I don’t mind it. Even maybe quite like it.
Always said that the most important thing for matchday experience is a good squad, getting good results, and a feeling that things are being competently run. As of late those boxes have been ticked and that is the most important thing of all.
Light shows and hospitality and big screens are the icing on the cake and for the first time in a while, we have a cake worth icing.
And no, after that analogy I am not Lee Johnson.
20-01-2025, 03:50 PM
Was speaking to a couple of Cowden.... Clydebank fans on the way back to car. They were commenting on how great the stadium was including the screens and lighting.
20-01-2025, 03:55 PM
Think it adds something to the game / atmosphere especially in the darker months.
Not all away fans on clubs have the facilities / screens / light show so it’s only right when we beat them to give them something to enjoy
In all seriousness - big thumbs up. Better than what Easter Road was 5 years ago.
Still think there is room to make some sort of bar / walk in area for walk up fans wanting a pint in house.
Potentially the car park area between the famous 5 and east I think the fence up currently looks a bit nasty imho
20-01-2025, 03:56 PM
I like it.
One of my mates has a son who is autistic and he finds it very overstimulating though so I suppose that is a consideration. I have the same argument with smoke bombs and flares. I know some people like them and feel it adds to the atmosphere but it plays havoc with mine and my daughter's asthma.
All these things are going to have pros and cons and hopefully the club welcome feedback and consider all sides.
20-01-2025, 03:58 PM
I like it.
20-01-2025, 03:59 PM
Love it
20-01-2025, 04:10 PM
I'm all for it, adds something to the atmosphere IMO.
20-01-2025, 04:11 PM
It's great
20-01-2025, 04:13 PM
Light show great. Barrie still playing the same songs....not so great. :greengrin
20-01-2025, 04:19 PM
I like it.
One of my mates has a son who is autistic and he finds it very overstimulating though so I suppose that is a consideration. I have the same argument with smoke bombs and flares. I know some people like them and feel it adds to the atmosphere but it plays havoc with mine and my daughter's asthma.
All these things are going to have pros and cons and hopefully the club welcome feedback and consider all sides.
I have epilepsy, but thankfully very well controlled. However, even though the light show isn’t at the same light speed of lights that can cause photosensitive seizures, it can cause people to become unwell and sadly this can cause seizures at the stadium or post match.
I contacted the disabled liaison officer and Kieran Power about this and have had some good communication with them, and the club is now communicating to fans pre match to warn them about the light show which is a positive step 👍🏻
20-01-2025, 04:24 PM
Really like it.
Hopefully someone can tell Barrie to bin that godawful song he plays before kick off and I'll be quite happy.
I think the lights are very good. Presumably they are white only and cannot change colour.
20-01-2025, 04:34 PM
I have epilepsy, but thankfully very well controlled. However, even though the light show isn’t at the same light speed of lights that can cause photosensitive seizures, it can cause people to become unwell and sadly this can cause seizures at the stadium or post match.
I contacted the disabled liaison officer and Kieran Power about this and have had some good communication with them, and the club is now communicating to fans pre match to warn them about the light show which is a positive step 👍🏻
Is warning people (as they do at the start of news reports and TV programmes) enough?
We can never know when a goal is going to be scored, for example. Or are the lights to be played after a warning, giving people the chance to leave for a few minutes? Which would then dilute the effect.
Or will the whole notion put some people off going in the first place?
20-01-2025, 04:41 PM
I quite like it.
I’ve got used to them now but when the new lights were installed, I was getting a migraine whenever they came on (I get migraines anyway). I mean the lights just being on full pelt, not the flashing aspect of them which hasn’t been used regularly until recently
RMQ1967
20-01-2025, 04:46 PM
Yes it's a good touch - feels like it adds to the atmosphere when we score.
Another positive improvement to the ground 👍
20-01-2025, 04:46 PM
It's very good.
As are the individual players songs when we score.
I'm ambivalent about it at the game.
However watching the highlights of the goals I'm missing part of the celebrations because it goes from bright light to too dark for the cameras to pick up properly.
Thought the quality of the new lights were impressive when first installed, almost a cleaner, truer light. The wee light shows are a nice addition - the kids in our group certainly enjoy them.
20-01-2025, 04:55 PM
Like it a lot.
20-01-2025, 04:56 PM
I surprised and a wee bit disappointed that aspect had clearly not been considered in the first place but glad we’re taking it into account.
Presumably we’re not the first or last to include these type of light shows
20-01-2025, 05:08 PM
I surprised and a wee bit disappointed that aspect had clearly not been considered in the first place but glad we’re taking it into account.
Presumably we’re not the first or last to include these type of light shows
Hibs have contacted Epilepsy scotland recently and hopefully this will help any fans who are unable to enjoy the celebrations
20-01-2025, 05:10 PM
Why do we have to flash lights when we score a goal? If it goes to Var and the goal stands do we flash lights again?
What is the ****ing point? Just get on with the game, let the fans go nuts and get on with the game.
Nonsense
20-01-2025, 05:12 PM
I like it, to be honest. If they could have it without the incessant drum beat it would be even better.
20-01-2025, 05:13 PM
Is warning people (as they do at the start of news reports and TV programmes) enough?
We can never know when a goal is going to be scored, for example. Or are the lights to be played after a warning, giving people the chance to leave for a few minutes? Which would then dilute the effect.
This is what Hibs put online pre Motherwell match-
“Although we have gone to great lengths to ensure the shows are safe for all to enjoy, we would still advise any supporter who may find such lightshows uncomfortable to consider whether it is best for them to avoid being in the main stadium bowl during any show.”
As you say, we don’t know when (or if) 😜 a goal will be scored. My seat is close to the stairs and exit so can easily exit if need be, but many others won’t be. I am just closing my eyes or looking down when the lights flash and thankfully no bad seizure has happened.
I don’t want this post to be just about myself, I’m sure there are other people with medical conditions which can be worsened by flashing lights.
Roll on day light games 😂
20-01-2025, 05:24 PM
Why do we have to flash lights when we score a goal? If it goes to Var and the goal stands do we flash lights again?
What is the ****ing point? Just get on with the game, let the fans go nuts and get on with the game.
Nonsense
I didn’t realise I couldn’t go “nuts” when a goal is scored because of the lights. Thank you for the clarification
20-01-2025, 05:28 PM
I don't mind it. What I did like was the first time was completely unannounced but there was an announcement after scoring that the lights would be going off and on if we scored again. When we scored the first I thought the stadium, lights were failing and the match might be abandoned.
DL1960
20-01-2025, 05:40 PM
Its mildly disorientating for me so I now stay seated when we score in anticipation of the light show activity.
I'd prefer it to be stopped but can see from this thread that I'm in the minority so happy for it to continue given that most people like it. :aok:
20-01-2025, 05:40 PM
I’m not a fan but realise that’s the way most stadiums are going. I was at Anfield recently for the first time for Liverpool v Fulham and was pleasantly surprised at the old school atmosphere. No drums, singing throughout the game (not only from the Kop), no screens and certainly no light show. Atmosphere helped by the incredible football Liverpool are playing at the moment of course.
20-01-2025, 05:51 PM
Really liked the light show, as did my daughter, and a great addition to the match day experience.
20-01-2025, 05:54 PM
I like it. I'm 55 and would watch Hibs in a tatty old *****hole of a stadium, and have done on many many occasions but what we have at ER now is really top class and compares well with anything else in Scotland. It's the way stadiums are going now so we need to be as good as we can. Still hate that ****ing drum though
20-01-2025, 06:03 PM
I'm autistic and I found it a bit disorienting. Not a fan really.
That said, I'm fine with crowds and loud noises so I doubt I speak for most other autistics!
20-01-2025, 06:05 PM
Like it
The clip of Boyle scoring his own against Motherwell is pretty cool with the lights going off
20-01-2025, 06:25 PM
I don't like them as a fan at the game but despise them when at ER or other grounds photographing games. I wonder if some future potentially iconic images will never be seen due to the massive change in exposure at the worst possible time for taking pics. It wont make much odds in the lighter months but for the darker games it is a total pain
20-01-2025, 06:27 PM
This is what Hibs put online pre Motherwell match-
“Although we have gone to great lengths to ensure the shows are safe for all to enjoy, we would still advise any supporter who may find such lightshows uncomfortable to consider whether it is best for them to avoid being in the main stadium bowl during any show.”
As you say, we don’t know when (or if) 😜 a goal will be scored. My seat is close to the stairs and exit so can easily exit if need be, but many others won’t be. I am just closing my eyes or looking down when the lights flash and thankfully no bad seizure has happened.
I don’t want this post to be just about myself, I’m sure there are other people with medical conditions which can be worsened by flashing lights.
Roll on day light games 😂
Thanks for that.
I suppose I'm just a bit uncomfortable about the possible consequences for some. (and, perhaps, the loss of some supporters).
20-01-2025, 06:31 PM
I don't like them as a fan at the game but despise them when at ER or other grounds photographing games. I wonder if some future potentially iconic images will never be seen due to the massive change in exposure at the worst possible time for taking pics. It wont make much odds in the lighter months but for the darker games it is a total pain
Are you able to feed that back to the club? It's a fair point, for you and other photographers.
20-01-2025, 06:31 PM
I think it adds to the atmosphere as does the shooting flames 👏
20-01-2025, 06:32 PM
Light show great. Barrie still playing the same songs....not so great. :greengrin
Like Starman when Boyle scores? What you wanting him to play instead?
Victor
20-01-2025, 06:37 PM
Noticed that there are less seagulls around. Maybe they don’t like the lights!
20-01-2025, 06:38 PM
Not too keen, but it's not as bad at Celtc Park.
TBH, Celtc Park is just an unpleasant experience on so many levels, though, so a few extra lights at ER is nothing major.
20-01-2025, 06:55 PM
I didn’t realise I couldn’t go “nuts” when a goal is scored because of the lights. Thank you for the clarification
Ignore him, he's a miserable sod at the best of times.
Mcbizz1998
20-01-2025, 07:02 PM
I like it. It’s been pinched off Celtic but they have stolen enough from us over many years!
20-01-2025, 07:11 PM
I like it a lot.
We should also introduce the supporter lookalike cam.
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/uJNJZwLOtjI
20-01-2025, 07:15 PM
I like it a lot.
Oh that could be fun. Could generate a few good chants as well :greengrin
20-01-2025, 07:19 PM
I like it a lot.
Nah, they'd endlessly have photos of me in the crowd next to a picture of Frankenstein.
I get enough of that at work thanks.
hibeelady
20-01-2025, 07:21 PM
Like it
Bridge hibs
20-01-2025, 07:25 PM
I like it, to be honest. If they could have it without the incessant drum beat it would be even better.
Or we could have the lights synced with the drum beat 🫨
Pete70
20-01-2025, 07:29 PM
I like it, it’s good to see the club trying things. I also liked the pre match light show a few weeks ago.
20-01-2025, 07:40 PM
I like it a lot.
Can’t be long until we have the first Easter Road proposal broadcast on the big screens.
21-01-2025, 06:31 AM
Not exactly a new idea. Celtic been doing it a couple of years. Remember them being slaughtered when they started it
21-01-2025, 06:34 AM
Not exactly a new idea. Celtic been doing it a couple of years. Remember them being slaughtered when they started it
Think they got slaughtered cause they announced it cost a couple million to install.
21-01-2025, 06:40 AM
It's another way of ruining the best crowd moments by drowning them out with ludicrously loud music and now the same effect my 2 year old granddaughter achieves by switching lights on and off in my kitchen.
I realise I will be in the minority but I prefer my fitba a bit rawer and of the moment. Everything seems a bit too scripted these days.
21-01-2025, 06:40 AM
Can’t be long until we have the first Easter Road proposal broadcast on the big screens.
Hopefully someone also remembers a proposal that fizzled out - some lass had asked her bloke the question we were supposed to get an update from the result be it never came - made a call out for the boy and stand he was in.
maybe he was playing away from home :) often wonder what the story was - think it was before Barrie’s time iirc.
21-01-2025, 06:44 AM
Think they got slaughtered cause they announced it cost a couple million to install.
They also said they were for “Champions League nights” and then failed to make the Champions League.
21-01-2025, 06:48 AM
When your in that initial moment of euphoria it doesnt matter but I do think it does take away from the moment - now you see it now you don’t scenes and celebrations of players and fans. I think I’m a no.
At Murrayfield the light show is a pre-match build up thing combined with fireworks l- that was impressive it got people in early and in their seats. I don’t recall them fannying about when a try was scored.
OstKurve Hibs
21-01-2025, 06:51 AM
Think it adds something to the game / atmosphere especially in the darker months.
Not all away fans on clubs have the facilities / screens / light show so it’s only right when we beat them to give them something to enjoy
In all seriousness - big thumbs up. Better than what Easter Road was 5 years ago.
Still think there is room to make some sort of bar / walk in area for walk up fans wanting a pint in house.
Potentially the car park area between the famous 5 and east I think the fence up currently looks a bit nasty imho
Never thought about I before but your right, the fence looks pretty gash behind the east. Be cool if they built a wall instead and it could be painted with hibs murals.
21-01-2025, 07:07 AM
When your in that initial moment of euphoria it doesnt matter but I do think it does take away from the moment - now you see it now you don’t scenes and celebrations of players and fans. I think I’m a no.
At Murrayfield the light show is a pre-match build up thing combined with fireworks l- that was impressive it got people in early and in their seats. I don’t recall them fannying about when a try was scored.
It’s different at the rugby as you can have a drink in your seat. Therefore getting there early and in a seat is easier.
At the football you will have people leaving it as late as possible at the bar/hospitality before the game kicks off.
21-01-2025, 07:37 AM
If we are to be a truly inclusive club this is obviously something to consider - and to be fair to the club from the statement quoted we have taken thing into account although to say folks might not want to be in the bowl when the light show is on is clearly unworkable - in effect excluding folks.
Not sure what the answer is but this is one instance where taking a democratic approach leads to and impact on others.
21-01-2025, 07:52 AM
TBF hundreds of clubs were doing it before Celtic.
21-01-2025, 08:07 AM
The lights have a novelty value and probably add something to the "match day experience". For those who experience photo sensitivity as a trigger, it seems the option of closing eyes or looking downward is effective. Given they are a tiny minority in a 15,000 crowd, that seems like a reasonable compromise to make.
I once fainted at a Super Furry Animals gig, precipitated by stroboscopic light and a few mitigating factors. Any gig where there are strobes, I now look down or shut the yaks. I don't even need a warning or announcement, I just seem to manage to do it.
21-01-2025, 08:08 AM
I like it, it gives the place a more modern feel
21-01-2025, 08:42 AM
TBF hundreds of clubs were doing it before Celtic.
There is nothing original about Celtic football club.
Just_Jimmy
21-01-2025, 08:42 AM
Tin pot American nonsense.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Renfrew_Hibby
21-01-2025, 08:46 AM
I like the light show but when you see the new Spurs ground and their show that's just a bit too much.
Posh Swanny
21-01-2025, 09:26 AM
I like it a lot.
This would be even better! (for the away end when we're winning, obviously)
https://youtube.com/shorts/ovKBYKE0dpI?si=BRRTFSaGcnYz-alb
21-01-2025, 10:09 AM
Tremendous
21-01-2025, 10:13 AM
Like it.
The match day experience has definitely improved.
Think the Derby last year was one of the best with a montage on the big screen and all the other stuff they had with pyro etc.
For the price of the tickets good to see them doing more.
Would still be good if they had more options before the game to get fans into the stadium earlier like a simple fans bar with screens etc.
21-01-2025, 10:14 AM
Hopefully someone also remembers a proposal that fizzled out - some lass had asked her bloke the question we were supposed to get an update from the result be it never came - made a call out for the boy and stand he was in.
maybe he was playing away from home :) often wonder what the story was - think it was before Barrie’s time iirc.
That was so sad. I always thought he got cold feet and legged it out the stadium.
21-01-2025, 10:54 AM
That was so sad. I always thought he got cold feet and legged it out the stadium.
I always felt sorry for the guy who proposed at HT at the 2012 final.
He must have been thinking 'goal just before half time, back in the game, new fiancee, get the next goal and you never know, potential best day ever'. And then.............................:rolleyes:
21-01-2025, 11:24 AM
I always felt sorry for the guy who proposed at HT at the 2012 final.
He must have been thinking 'goal just before half time, back in the game, new fiancee, get the next goal and you never know, potential best day ever'. And then.............................:rolleyes:
Didn't see that. I was already back in the supporters bus. Game finished 2-0 for me 😉 the one time I've ever left a game before half time and I'm delighted I did.
woodythehibee
21-01-2025, 11:27 AM
I think the lights are great. Easter Road is looking tremendous these days.
As noted above by Matty, once we get rid of the drum we'll hopefully be able to boost the atmosphere :flag:
21-01-2025, 11:33 AM
Yup, I like the lights and ima grumpy git :greengrin
21-01-2025, 12:06 PM
Didn't see that. I was already back in the supporters bus. Game finished 2-0 for me 😉 the one time I've ever left a game before half time and I'm delighted I did.
Snap, headed back for train
21-01-2025, 12:12 PM
I’d imagine it would be a tiny amount of fans who might not go to a game in case they might be affected by this.
Whilst the club needs to consider everyone who attends, they can’t make decisions based on how a handful of fans might feel.
21-01-2025, 12:17 PM
I'm ambivalent. I'm there to watch Hibs and dont really care about light shows etc one way or the other. That said, I'm surprised to read of so many people adversely affected - the club really have to listen long and hard to these supporters and act accordingly.
On a general note though - glad to see the screens being put to good use with helpful and relevant info re the match. Also pleased to see some pre match activities and stuff introduced under the East - not that I've had a chance to try them. Innovative though.
Also the sound people and announcer deserve a thumbs up. Announcements are now audible, relevant and delivered in a suitable style. Audio was a problem for umpteen years so glad to see this addressed.
21-01-2025, 12:20 PM
Doesn’t do anything for me, the only thing that enhances my match day experience is what happens on the pitch, anything else doesn’t matter to me.
chasitup
21-01-2025, 12:55 PM
Doesn’t do anything for me, the only thing that enhances my match day experience is what happens on the pitch, anything else doesn’t matter to me.
This is exactly how I feel too.
21-01-2025, 01:21 PM
Not for me either, I appreciate I’ll be in a minority though
I can just about tolerate and understand it for massive games or a sellout etc, but not for run of the mill games when you’ve basically got a full empty empty end every single time
21-01-2025, 01:24 PM
Love the light shows - definitely adds to the goal euphoria and is flashy enough to show we are a team with a cracking stadium / a bigger club. Must be cool for the players as well. Just need to get goal fireworks like they do at Inter Miami 😆
21-01-2025, 02:39 PM
It's ok but I prefer the drum 😉
21-01-2025, 03:23 PM
Not trying to make light of the situation of people with epilepsy, would putting a pair of dark glasses on when a goal is scored not help?
Excuse my ignorance on the subject.
21-01-2025, 03:42 PM
I’m a fan.
I like them. I applaud the club for liaising with Epilepsy Scotland, I'm sure there's some middle ground where the amount of people affected is very limited. When there's a goal it's always going to be a very stimulated atmosphere. It's the nature of the beast.
21-01-2025, 04:21 PM
Not trying to make light of the situation of people with epilepsy, would putting a pair of dark glasses on when a goal is scored not help?
Excuse my ignorance on the subject.
It might help, something I will ask epilepsy scotland.
Gloucester Hibs
21-01-2025, 04:55 PM
I like it, obviously it’s the cherry on top of the icing on top of the cake but it is impressive. Don’t always stay right to the very end but did against Motherwell so got the full experience
Get a bigot cam doing a sweep across the Rangers fans as they're singing their songs, AI to create subtitles with the lyrics.
Mind you, it probably wouldn't shame them into stopping like you'd expect it should.
Cardinal G
21-01-2025, 05:50 PM
Its mildly disorientating for me so I now stay seated when we score in anticipation of the light show activity.
I'd prefer it to be stopped but can see from this thread that I'm in the minority so happy for it to continue given that most people like it. :aok:
I'm the same, not my cup of tea but clearly from responses above its welcomed.
21-01-2025, 05:55 PM
It's another way of ruining the best crowd moments by drowning them out with ludicrously loud music and now the same effect my 2 year old granddaughter achieves by switching lights on and off in my kitchen.
I realise I will be in the minority but I prefer my fitba a bit rawer and of the moment. Everything seems a bit too scripted these days.
Bring back the days when someone pissed doon yer back when we scored. 🤣🤣
21-01-2025, 06:24 PM
Bring back the days when someone pissed doon yer back when we scored. 🤣🤣
And that was when you were watching on the telly.
21-01-2025, 06:26 PM
And that was when you were watching on the telly.
😂👍
22-01-2025, 02:08 PM
No flashing lights at Tynie.
Place was bouncing.