View Full Version : Drum Ban

19-01-2025, 07:57 AM
They should ban drums at football matches and anyone that attempts to take one into a ground should be put in stocks for a week and have eggs and tomatoes thrown at them

Was at West Ham yesterday where drums are banned - the football was rubbish but at least I didn’t have to listen to an inane drum for 90 minutes

19-01-2025, 08:00 AM
Have to agree with this, wouldn’t be so bad if it wasn’t constant

19-01-2025, 08:24 AM
Yes, I agree too.

Good, if they are used to initiate songs.

But not when it's a constant beat drowning out the singing.

19-01-2025, 08:45 AM
I like it. Would have been like a morgue yesterday without it. Adds a bit of atmosphere at least.

19-01-2025, 08:47 AM
Does my head in.

hibee1875
19-01-2025, 08:54 AM
I like it. Would have been like a morgue yesterday without it. Adds a bit of atmosphere at least.

Personally think it prevents any other songs from starting.

From the lower west at the FF side I genuinely can’t make out what any of the ultra “chants“ are and it’s mainly down to the drum drowning it out

Stanton Spence
19-01-2025, 08:55 AM
I’m all for getting shot off the drum and I’m glad I don’t usually sit near it apart from yesterday and it done my head in as well

19-01-2025, 09:13 AM
I can only manage 5 or 6 games a year but when I do attend I'll always aim to get tickets in the west or east as far away from the FF as possible for this very reason, even though it means being closer to the away fans and hearing their support loud and clear. Mind, I'm a pishy breeks auld thing.

19-01-2025, 09:36 AM
I think it's only fair that if one person gets to take their drum in we all do. :greengrin

19-01-2025, 09:42 AM
I think it's only fair that if one person gets to take their drum in we all do. :greengrin

when I win the lottery, im paying for one of these to be under every seat! :greengrin

19-01-2025, 09:49 AM
Personally think it prevents any other songs from starting.

From the lower west at the FF side I genuinely can’t make out what any of the ultra “chants“ are and it’s mainly down to the drum drowning it out

Of course it stops other songs from starting - it used to be the case that someone would bellow out the first line to a song and everyone would join in. Now there’s no chance of that spreading around. The best atmosphere we’ve had in recent years was Aston Villa away when they weren’t let in.

Must also be a nightmare for those with certain types of neurodivergence.

19-01-2025, 09:53 AM
The monotonous so called "beat" of the drums does my head in - even watching TV games!

19-01-2025, 09:56 AM
when I win the lottery, im paying for one of these to be under every seat! :greengrin

Evil. And genius. I'm going to do the same, might throw in a vuvuzela as well. The thread on here afterwards will be a belter. :greengrin

HibsGW
19-01-2025, 10:00 AM

Whilst this is obviously a joke it’s also completely correct, no supporters should be getting different treatment to others when paying for the same tickets.

19-01-2025, 10:08 AM
The drum just goes over my head now.

It was a bit annoying a decade or so ago when it first appeared but it's just background noise now. I sit FF Upper so right above it so it's not like I'm in some far flung corner miles away from it.

One of the benefits is it totally drowns out the away fans. There was a thread on here about what the Rangers fans were singing the other week and I was blissfully unaware of it. I thought they had just been quiet because their team got a chasing for 70 minutes.

The big flags were a bit annoying at first but credit to the group. They were asked to keep them down when the ball was in and around the box at that end and they have largely played ball.

TrinityHFC
19-01-2025, 11:24 AM
It used to annoy me a bit, now I actively hate it.

They’ve obviously tried to kick it up a notch and this just horrific. That isn’t atmosphere. It is just noise and it kills any chance of spontaneous atmosphere. Noise at football games should ebb and flow and reflects what is going on out on the pitch and what the opposition fans are doing. That’s gone now.

The Wireless
19-01-2025, 01:14 PM
Hate them. Just a din and does my head in. If you want to improve the match day experience, get rid.

19-01-2025, 01:15 PM
Sounds like a small town in the north of Ireland.

19-01-2025, 01:16 PM
You just know that if drums were banned they'd rekindle footballs love of the vuvuzela 🤢

19-01-2025, 01:23 PM
Evil. And genius. I'm going to do the same, might throw in a vuvuzela as well. The thread on here afterwards will be a belter. :greengrin

Throw in some maracas as well 🪇😂

The Wireless
19-01-2025, 01:23 PM
You just know that if drums were banned they'd rekindle footballs love of the vuvuzela 🤢

Easier to blow the bagpipes

19-01-2025, 02:03 PM
Absolutely despise it. Both ends, cause the away end always has a drummer now, beating out the same ****ing rhythm all match.

19-01-2025, 02:19 PM
Careful now, someone will be along to tell us we're old and boring for not liking listening to tuneless thumping for ninety minutes.

19-01-2025, 02:23 PM
Careful now, someone will be along to tell us we're old and boring for not liking listening to tuneless thumping for ninety minutes.

And those who don’t like Hibs fans facing physical aggression because someone wants to take over the seats that they’ve bought, or coked up kids fighting in balaclavas outside away grounds are curmudgeons and the like. Or those who don’t approve of staff at turnstiles being attacked being woke or something.

Fifth Amendmen
19-01-2025, 02:36 PM
Absolutely despise it. Both ends, cause the away end always has a drummer now, beating out the same ****ing rhythm all match.

In the recent survey by Hibs I did comment bin the drum pointless and annoying.

19-01-2025, 02:39 PM
Should you be commenting?
Excellent.

19-01-2025, 02:39 PM

19-01-2025, 02:41 PM

Post of the year early contender!

19-01-2025, 02:58 PM
They should ban drums at football matches and anyone that attempts to take one into a ground should be put in stocks for a week and have eggs and tomatoes thrown at them

Was at West Ham yesterday where drums are banned - the football was rubbish but at least I didn’t have to listen to an inane drum for 90 minutes

Drums are far too old school and should be replaced by drum machines. One would have imagined that today's youth should have sufficient tech skills to program a series of varied, exciting beats

WestCoastHibby
19-01-2025, 03:04 PM
Duh duh duh duh, duh duh duh, duh, duh duh duh …….da de da de duh duh duh huh

Pure tripe

19-01-2025, 03:15 PM

That's modern "music" for you.

19-01-2025, 03:20 PM
Got to the point where I mute the 'sound now... seems to be an exclusively Scottish 'thing'. Never hear the bloody things in EPL games

19-01-2025, 03:32 PM

19-01-2025, 03:45 PM
That's modern "music" for you. Rather listen to EDM than Val Doonican or Tom Jones... and I'm in my 70's. Some people were just born old

19-01-2025, 03:51 PM
Duh duh duh duh, duh duh duh, duh, duh duh duh …….da de da de duh duh duh huh

Pure tripe

Did The Police do that one?

19-01-2025, 03:55 PM
Got to the point where I mute the 'sound now... seems to be an exclusively Scottish 'thing'. Never hear the bloody things in EPL games

Definitely a drum at the Ipswich Man City game that is currently on.

Hairypoppins
19-01-2025, 03:57 PM
Does anybody know what the clubs view/policy on the drum is? I recently moved my season ticket from FF upper because my watch kept warning me that the decibel level was unsafe. No such warnings in west stand.

Bobo
19-01-2025, 04:03 PM

🤣👍🏻

19-01-2025, 04:15 PM
Drums have their place. They don’t need smacked for 90mins for no reason and that’s where it’s currently going wrong. Not every song needs drummed to either. Better mix needed. The biggest and best Ultras groups find the balance. If that’s what B7 are aspiring to be, they should look at them.

Yours
The original drummer, retired, who is the root cause of this debate 🤣

Bridge hibs
19-01-2025, 04:39 PM

No they did ne naw ne naw ne naw

19-01-2025, 05:04 PM
The drum doesn’t bother me as much as the megaphone with the sirens. While I’m on my high horse it would be good to see the club enforcing the ban on vapes inside the stadium. Guy two rows down from me was vaping constantly and blowing whatever **** comes out of these things all over the kids behind. And finally I don’t like the new font and text size used on the big screens yesterday. Rant over!

19-01-2025, 05:24 PM
No they did ne naw ne naw ne naw

Geez, I thought mine was bad. :greengrin

19-01-2025, 05:27 PM

🤣

Bridge hibs
19-01-2025, 05:45 PM
Geez, I thought mine was bad. :greengrinTo be fair yours was 🤣

19-01-2025, 05:56 PM
Does anybody know what the clubs view/policy on the drum is? I recently moved my season ticket from FF upper because my watch kept warning me that the decibel level was unsafe. No such warnings in west stand.

well I doubt we’ve heard that one before or will since…

Peanut Shaz
19-01-2025, 06:01 PM
The drum doesn’t bother me as much as the megaphone with the sirens. While I’m on my high horse it would be good to see the club enforcing the ban on vapes inside the stadium. Guy two rows down from me was vaping constantly and blowing whatever **** comes out of these things all over the kids behind. And finally I don’t like the new font and text size used on the big screens yesterday. Rant over!

Agree ref the vapes. Guy directly in front of me vapes throughout the games and the ‘smoke’ comes back to us. The 2 kids with us both have asthma (in fact one takes her inhaler to the games in case of any issues with pyros etc) and I’m tempted to report it but don’t want to be ‘that’ person.

19-01-2025, 06:48 PM
Definitely a drum at the Ipswich Man City game that is currently on.

They’re more common than you’d think down here, but they tend to be more of a background noise to go along with the rhythm rather than a dominating thud. Probably helps that the whole stand joins in rather than being a few dozen stood at the front so those behind can’t hear a word they’re singing

19-01-2025, 07:02 PM
There is plenty other things I would ban before a drum at a Hibs game.

I would start with some fans giving our own players abuse or folk who act like dicks at games.

19-01-2025, 07:08 PM

I would start with some fans giving our own players abuse or folk who act like dicks at games.

How about folks giving ground staff abuse because they’ve tried to stop people doubling up in the turnstiles?

19-01-2025, 07:21 PM
I’d rather we bin the music we always play before the teams come out before kick off instead.

EGL2000
19-01-2025, 07:35 PM
It used to annoy me a bit, now I actively hate it.

They’ve obviously tried to kick it up a notch and this just horrific. That isn’t atmosphere. It is just noise and it kills any chance of spontaneous atmosphere. Noise at football games should ebb and flow and reflects what is going on out on the pitch and what the opposition fans are doing. That’s gone now.

Best atmospheres around the world pretty much all use drums.

Se7enUp
19-01-2025, 07:49 PM
Agree ref the vapes. Guy directly in front of me vapes throughout the games and the ‘smoke’ comes back to us. The 2 kids with us both have asthma (in fact one takes her inhaler to the games in case of any issues with pyros etc) and I’m tempted to report it but don’t want to be ‘that’ person.

Why not 'that' person? It's a valid complaint you have; man up!

19-01-2025, 08:02 PM

My auntie, who is up front if nothing else, tapped a guy in front of her on the shoulder and told him to stop vaping a few months ago at one of the games. He didn't kick off, but he also didn't stop vaping either lmao

Dmas
19-01-2025, 08:06 PM
I’d rather we bin the music we always play before the teams come out before kick off instead.

And after goals are scored had Bowie and the specials yesterday just kills anything the fans are feeling, PA system absolutely blasting right up to kick off no singing or chanting builds pre game needs sorted out long before the drum

Peanut Shaz
19-01-2025, 08:19 PM
Why not 'that' person? It's a valid complaint you have; man up!

Or maybe woman up 😆

Up-the-slope
19-01-2025, 09:22 PM

I am hoping the 2 of you are including the away fans as well out of fairness........ such bright coloured drums will be a treat for the Huns hoards

:devil::devil:

Up-the-slope
19-01-2025, 09:35 PM

you might half the crowd if you did that

19-01-2025, 10:12 PM
My auntie, who is up front if nothing else, tapped a guy in front of her on the shoulder and told him to stop vaping a few months ago at one of the games. He didn't kick off, but he also didn't stop vaping either lmao

sounds like a reasonable twunt of a fella in that moment.

TheHibernator
19-01-2025, 10:13 PM
Doesn’t bother me but suppose I can understand why people don’t like it. Without it however we’d be sitting in silence most of the game, for all their faults I commend the young lads for at least trying to create some sort of atmosphere.

19-01-2025, 11:16 PM
I'd have drums at all games, vuvuzelas AND I'd give every child one the old fashioned wooden football rattles.

19-01-2025, 11:21 PM
I can't stand drums at football. Kills the atmosphere imo and even if I am wrong silence would be far preferable. If Block 7 want to sing new songs etc they can crack on with that. If they are good and I understand the words I'll happily join in but the drum is just crap

19-01-2025, 11:32 PM
I don't hear the drum anymore, wasn't even sure there was one Saturday. That said, not sitting next to one and can understand the complaints. Banning them will only result in worse alternatives. Anyone remember the wee sh*t of a Motherwell fan using a ref's whistle when we were in position? Imagine block seven with these.....

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk