View Full Version : Hibernian vs Clydebank - Scottish Cup

Pages : 1 [2]

18-01-2025, 03:31 PM
Hows Amos doing?

18-01-2025, 03:32 PM
What a ****ing shambles Open All Mics is, first time in a long time, will be my last 🤮

They seem to be enjoying themselves, I bet the listeners aren't though.

18-01-2025, 03:32 PM
The number 23 for them is a wee prick.

Nicky Low, formerly of Aberdeen, Dundee, Arbroath and others.

18-01-2025, 03:33 PM
Hows Amos doing?

Pretty unnoticeable tbh

Dmas
18-01-2025, 03:37 PM
Barry the announcer off form today

18-01-2025, 03:37 PM
Any idea of the attendance today?

18-01-2025, 03:40 PM
Rudi been good this half IMO

Donegal Hibby
18-01-2025, 03:40 PM
How’s Bowie doing ?

18-01-2025, 03:41 PM
No injuries and see if out without any drama will do now.

18-01-2025, 03:41 PM
How’s Bowie doing ?

Well, he’s had a couple of chances

18-01-2025, 03:43 PM
we want four

18-01-2025, 03:45 PM
I can pick up the sheep and STJ tv showing live games but not ours - odd

I should add that I’m in Spain

Very odd. BBC site have clips of the goals, but "not available in my location" :rolleyes:

18-01-2025, 03:46 PM
Any idea of the attendance today?

Given as 11406

scm70nyd1973
18-01-2025, 03:47 PM
Very odd. BBC site have clips of the goals, but "not available in my location" :rolleyes:

I was able to get into one clip (Boyle’s first) but couldn’t access the penalty given away by the Staggies

18-01-2025, 03:48 PM
I can pick up the sheep and STJ tv showing live games but not ours - odd

I should add that I’m in Spain

I'm in Edinburgh & can get Dons game & the St Johnstone game. Hibs TV said last week they would not be showing this week's game as Premier & BBC had the rights. Unless you can pay Premier & BBC a fee to be able to show the game & Hibs have gave it a miss.

18-01-2025, 03:49 PM
Get that right up you Marti Pellow you melt

18-01-2025, 03:49 PM
I was able to get into one clip (Boyle’s first) but couldn’t access the penalty given away by the Staggies
Same, only first goal to be seen, bizarre.

18-01-2025, 03:51 PM
Yup, it hasnt really worked, doesnt really fit the system, we seem to look like a man short when he plays, hopefully thatll change in the next few months.

Man of the Match... Opinions, eh!? :greengrin

18-01-2025, 03:52 PM
Ft 3-0

18-01-2025, 03:52 PM
Coasted to a win but pretty poor I think.

Suppose we are through and that is the main thing

cameronw-hfc
18-01-2025, 03:53 PM
Nicky Low, formerly of Aberdeen, Dundee, Arbroath and others.

He's a wee rat but a very good player for their level tbf

18-01-2025, 03:54 PM
I'm in Edinburgh & can get Dons game & the St Johnstone game. Hibs TV said last week they would not be showing this week's game as Premier & BBC had the rights. Unless you can pay Premier & BBC a fee to be able to show the game & Hibs have gave it a miss.

I hate Premier as much as I hated Setanta

Get that right up you Marti Pellow you meltFarty Smellow is a sticky bun, no.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Through. That will do. Well done Hibs.

Yesss 3 points in the prediction league

18-01-2025, 03:55 PM
A few more goals would have been nice, into the next round of the cup.

Onto county we go.

18-01-2025, 03:56 PM

🤣

18-01-2025, 03:56 PM
Nice win, even if expected, we'll done Hibs.

18-01-2025, 03:57 PM
We’re in the hat and there was never any chance of an upset. Bowie back and Gillie debuted. That’s about all the plusses I can think off.

18-01-2025, 04:03 PM
What a ****ing shambles Open All Mics is, first time in a long time, will be my last 🤮

It's dreadful. The Five Live matchday stuff isn't much better. It's like they're all bent on dumbing down football.

Hibiza
18-01-2025, 04:05 PM
Well done everyone .

Stairway 2 7
18-01-2025, 04:07 PM
We’re in the hat and there was never any chance of an upset. Bowie back and Gillie debuted. That’s about all the plusses I can think off.

Rudi was tremendous, no one injured and some minutes for the non starter's

Donegal Hibby
18-01-2025, 04:12 PM
Well, he’s had a couple of chances

Thanks .. big plus getting him back on the pitch again.

18-01-2025, 04:17 PM
All about getting through

Job done

Well done hibs

18-01-2025, 04:18 PM

Get it up him indeed.

Never forgiven him for blighting as good a year for music as 1994 with that bloody monstrosity of his being absolutely everywhere that year and at number 1 forever.

“Love is all around” - aye, maybe so, but it’s a shame that neither of your teams are going to be around for much longer, eh?

He's here!
18-01-2025, 04:20 PM
BBC match report describes the second goal as being 'nodded home' by Rudi. Brian still at half-time the pie tray when it went in?

They also make the point of referring to 'sixth tier Clydebank' in the headline and the opening paragraph.

18-01-2025, 04:24 PM
BBC match report describes the second goal as being 'nodded home' by Rudi. Brian still at half-time the pie tray when it went in?

They also make the point of referring to 'sixth tier Clydebank' in the headline and the opening paragraph.

I’m all for laying into Sportsound and BBC Scotland… but, to be fair, they also said it was confident and comfortable 😂

snedzuk
18-01-2025, 04:32 PM
Get it up him indeed.

Never forgiven him for blighting as good a year for music as 1994 with that bloody monstrosity of his being absolutely everywhere that year and at number 1 forever.

“Love is all around” - aye, maybe so, but it’s a shame that neither of your teams are going to be around for much longer, eh?

It's a Reg Presley / Troggs song. Pellow merely murdered it.

18-01-2025, 04:32 PM
I’m all for laying into Sportsound and BBC Scotland… but, to be fair, they also said it was confident and comfortable 😂

Obviously haven't read this thread then!

andrew_dundee
18-01-2025, 04:36 PM
Not vintage stuff but we were alright and they never looked like scoring. It felt like we had another gear if we needed it.

Fairplay to the Clydebank fans who were in good spirits and song despite the result.

18-01-2025, 04:38 PM
That's some scoreline!:tee hee:

18-01-2025, 04:38 PM
Training match for us.

Job done and game was all but over in less than a minute.

18-01-2025, 04:42 PM
Strolled through the game but could have scored more if they got out of first gear. Hardly a shot on goal. Hoilett, best player on the park for me.

18-01-2025, 04:53 PM
Thought Bowie looked really good when he came on. You could clearly see he has a bit of class

NC1875
18-01-2025, 04:58 PM
Thought Bowie looked really good when he came on. You could clearly see he has a bit of class

Good to hear. Really think he’s going to be a massive player for us going forward.

18-01-2025, 04:58 PM
It's a Reg Presley / Troggs song. Pellow merely murdered it.

18-01-2025, 04:59 PM
The number 23 for them is a wee prick.

The short arse must be gutted, his wife promised that if he scored she’d let him go up on her.

18-01-2025, 05:00 PM
3 goals and 1 assist for Rudi now in 6 for cup competitions

He seems to always get a chance and just needs to keep his composure and he’ll get far more - that will come the more he plays

He’ll soon start showing it in the league

Some of the comments on here today to an 18 year old boy were poor imo

18-01-2025, 05:01 PM
The short arse must be gutted, his wife promised that if he scored she’d let him go up on her.

Sounds more like a threat to me.

Arch Stanton
18-01-2025, 05:02 PM
Levitt down injured

Looked more like exhaustion. Certainly his socks were down at his ankles when he plomped down on his backside.

That was a professional performance by hibs today, we controlled possession, it was a comfortable scoreline and didn't push too hard and scored good goals.

18-01-2025, 05:04 PM
Looked more like exhaustion. Certainly his socks were down at his ankles when he plomped down on his backside.

He told Iredale (I think it was him) to put the ball out so just assumed he was feeling a knock.

18-01-2025, 05:07 PM
Thought Rudi was excellent today, and we were much better with Cadden at RWB. Gillie didn’t put a foot wrong, and six goals from three games for Boyle is excellent.

Myko was concerningly poor, and Miller for me was back to his fainting goat impressions.

Professional performance and never in threat.

allmodcons
18-01-2025, 05:08 PM
We seem to like scoring 3 these days.

Aberdeen, Motherwell, Ross County, Aberdeen, Rangers, Motherwell and now Clydebank.

18-01-2025, 05:08 PM
I see Ayr won 8-0 against Broxburn, who are pretty much the same level as Clydebank.

18-01-2025, 05:10 PM
I see Ayr won 8-0 against Broxburn, who are pretty much the same level as Clydebank.

Tbf I got the feeling that Clydebank were happy to sit in and keep it respectable as soon as they went behind. Other than a hopeful shot from distance they didn’t really take any risks.

18-01-2025, 05:12 PM

Clydebank beat Broxburn 4-0 in November...

Donegal Hibby
18-01-2025, 05:16 PM

Seen one of their goal scorers was ex Motherwell player Hastie . I remember he looked a really good player one time , whatever happened to him .

18-01-2025, 05:17 PM
Seen one of their goal scorers was ex Motherwell player Hastie . I remember he looked a really good player one time , whatever happened to him .

He ended up at Ayr.

18-01-2025, 05:17 PM
He ended up at Ayr.

18-01-2025, 05:18 PM
Clydebank beat Broxburn 4-0 in November...

I said the other day that there is some surprisingly good teams in the East/West of Scotland league. I think people see what level of the pyramid it is in and assume teams will be poor but it’s a very tough league to get out of. I think a lot of those teams would give most league 2 teams a run for their money but with the play-off to get into the lowland/highland league and then a play-off to get into League 2 it’s a big ask.

I see Musselburgh came close to taking Hamilton to extra time today.

EGL2000
18-01-2025, 05:25 PM
I said the other day that there is some surprisingly good teams in the East/West of Scotland league. I think people see what level of the pyramid it is in and assume teams will be poor but it’s a very tough league to get out of. I think a lot of those teams would give most league 2 teams a run for their money but with the play-off to get into the lowland/highland league and then a play-off to get into League 2 it’s a big ask.

I see Musselburgh came close to taking Hamilton to extra time today.

To he honest I thought Clydebank were really poor offered nothing going forward at all. You'd usually expect a couple runs forward ect but there was nothing. Think Smith touched the ball about 3 times.

18-01-2025, 05:28 PM
Not vintage stuff but we were alright and they never looked like scoring. It felt like we had another gear if we needed it.

Fairplay to the Clydebank fans who were in good spirits and song despite the result.

Fantastic turnout from them today. Biggest non-OF/hertz away support this season by far.

18-01-2025, 05:29 PM
Strolled through the game but could have scored more if they got out of first gear. Hardly a shot on goal. Hoilett, best player on the park for me.

I thought Hoilett was pretty wasteful - especially first half. Great ball in for the first goal though.

18-01-2025, 05:31 PM
Comfortable result today. Nowhere near as bad as some people on this thread made out.

Hibs controlled the ball and took early chances in each half but Clydebank proved they are definitely levels better than their current league. Great support as well.

I thoroughly enjoyed today, a good win, Bowie gets a run out , 16 year old gets a game Rudi had a good game and Hibs im the next round of the cup. What's not to like?

18-01-2025, 05:35 PM
What a truly wasteful and uninspiring first half performance.

Molotnikov has been atrocious.
He scored and got MOTM

18-01-2025, 05:36 PM
He scored and got MOTM

Someone genuinely thought Molotnikov was atrocious????

He was excellent today.

18-01-2025, 05:38 PM
Rudi and Gillie the main bright spots to what was a training game pace. Rudi playing out of position and his first significant minutes for months. The laddie has got it.

18-01-2025, 05:43 PM

Your point please caller?

Paul1642
18-01-2025, 05:46 PM
Rudi and Gillie the main bright spots to what was a training game pace. Rudi playing out of position and his first significant minutes for months. The laddie has got it.

The rerun of Bowie has the potential to be huge for us.

AdidasHibernian
18-01-2025, 05:50 PM
Would have been nice to get more goals but main thing is we go through and avoid any injuries.

Surprised we had as many as 19 shots it said, nseemed less at the game in my opinion. Anyways, onwards and upwards!

18-01-2025, 05:58 PM
Poor first half. Stepped it up for 15-20 minutes second half then the subs killed the game a bit.

Didn’t think the attitude was particularly good first half. Too many players not doing the right things and playing far too slowly.

Never in any trouble and through so not the end of the world. Good to see Bowie back.

18-01-2025, 05:59 PM
Professional performance today, and a good win to go through.

I thought Kwon and Levitt struggled to make their mark against part-time opponents, and simply confirmed how limited they both are,

But how great to see a 16 year old laddie come on for the club, and do so well, on a day when we've just marked the passing of another skinny Scottish laddie who went on to become a Football Icon ?

jakedance
18-01-2025, 05:59 PM
We were clearly at a completely different level to Clydebank, who were very poor. I’d have liked a bit more entertainment for my £16.50 but job done. Some lovely touches by Gillie when he came on and great to see Bowie get some minutes. I think if we could be arsed, had Cadden available and Bowie or Gayle starting we could have scored 10.

Donegal Hibby
18-01-2025, 06:17 PM
David Gray post match Interview….

https://youtu.be/0LD0bxGvNyE?si=o0-tbGNDrxh0Cglq

18-01-2025, 06:17 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Ghl5fXnXkAER9F_?format=jpg&name=4096x4096

18-01-2025, 06:32 PM
They are actually a league up from Clydebank.

18-01-2025, 06:34 PM
Poor first half. Stepped it up for 15-20 minutes second half then the subs killed the game a bit.

Didn’t think the attitude was particularly good first half. Too many players not doing the right things and playing far too slowly.

Never in any trouble and through so not the end of the world. Good to see Bowie back.
I actually think we scored too early. We seemed to just jog along waiting for things to inevitabley happen rather than make them happen. They were happy to still be in the game at 1-0.

18-01-2025, 06:46 PM

Lol, your man’s on Michael McIntyre’s show just now!

18-01-2025, 06:53 PM
I actually think we scored too early. We seemed to just jog along waiting for things to inevitabley happen rather than make them happen. They were happy to still be in the game at 1-0.

Aye, safe to say we didn’t put too much effort in to the remainder of the first half. Thought it looked like Gray had a word about that at half time.

HIBS NUTS
18-01-2025, 07:37 PM
Aye, safe to say we didn’t put too much effort in to the remainder of the first half. Thought it looked like Gray had a word about that at half time.
Agree it was just a absolute walk through, no compilation, glad the left sided youth player got a few minutes in

18-01-2025, 08:27 PM

As frustrating as it is for fans, when we've got an upward battle going on in the league (one we're currently winning but it's damn tight) it makes sense to do what's needed and nothing more in a game like this.

18-01-2025, 08:35 PM
I always enjoy reading through the match update thread after a game, particularly for the wins, where you are usually taken back to the ebb and flow of how game panned out, reactions to controversy and things you might have missed at the time.

Today’s thread had very little of note and was a very quick skim through. With comment on TV blackout I guess that must have been the main reason for the lack of match update content.

18-01-2025, 08:36 PM
As frustrating as it is for fans, when we've got an upward battle going on in the league (one we're currently winning but it's damn tight) it makes sense to do what's needed and nothing more in a game like this.

Still think they should have done a bit more in the first half and I think they’d have been told that at half time.

As I say it’s not a big issue as it wouldn’t have mattered how bad we played, we were always going to win the game. Was just disappointed in a few of them though.

18-01-2025, 08:52 PM
I don't think that's correct. I thought both teams had to agree and it's the cost that puts teams off? I may be wrong, though.

Sent from my SM-S721B using Tapatalk

Maybes, not too sure tbh

18-01-2025, 09:00 PM

Different sport, but Damon Hill once said that the secret to success in motorsport was to finish first in the slowest time possible.

Today had a feel of that somewhat and with so many players out injured it made sense to not take too many risks.

18-01-2025, 11:27 PM
How many players have won the Scottish and FA cup?

I think I have 8:
Fyvie
Hart
Dalgleish
Gaza
Buchan
Mackay
Maloney
Caldwell

Any missing?
Any of them wrong?

Ps dini ask chat gpt. It’s ****ing useless. Unless I’ve updated its memory the night.

18-01-2025, 11:31 PM

I think I have 8:
Fyvie
Hart
Dalgleish
Gaza
Buchan
Mackay
Maloney
Caldwell

Any missing?
Any of them wrong?

Ps dini ask chat gpt. It’s ****ing useless. Unless I’ve updated its memory the night.
Kieran Tierney and Gary Stevens?

18-01-2025, 11:36 PM
Lou Macari.

whereswallace?
19-01-2025, 06:47 AM
Gordon Strachan

19-01-2025, 07:00 AM

I think I have 8:
Fyvie
Hart
Dalgleish
Gaza
Buchan
Mackay
Maloney
Caldwell

Any missing?
Any of them wrong?

Our own Darling Willie Groves

19-01-2025, 07:21 AM
Bit of a training game in the end but I thought Hoilett, Miller and Myko were poor. Based on that they should only be back up players.

Bowie looked class and Rocky strolled it. Not sure id agree Rudi was excellent but he got a goal and MOTM so my opinion probably wrong.

19-01-2025, 07:27 AM
Cheers folks.

Never though KT had been at Arsenal that long!

19-01-2025, 07:41 AM

I think I have 8:
Fyvie
Hart
Dalgleish
Gaza
Buchan
Mackay
Maloney
Caldwell

Any missing?
Any of them wrong?

Caldwell unused sub in 2013 FA Cup final

19-01-2025, 08:09 AM
Dinnae go abroad?

Good input

19-01-2025, 08:37 AM

Went to Rangers didn’t get a look in struggled since not sure if he has had injuries

19-01-2025, 08:43 AM

I think I have 8:
Fyvie
Hart
Dalgleish
Gaza
Buchan
Mackay
Maloney
Caldwell

Any missing?
Any of them wrong?

Souness?

19-01-2025, 08:46 AM
Half 10 BBC 1

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Quite a one sided game, that.

19-01-2025, 08:46 AM
Job done dull first half better second half after assume a few home truths second half. Positives were able to get minutes into players Bowie Rudi O’hora and Myko. Rest some others give young boy a debut.

19-01-2025, 09:46 AM
Job done dull first half better second half after assume a few home truths second half. Positives were able to get minutes into players Bowie Rudi O’hora and Myko. Rest some others give young boy a debut.

That about sums it up, to be honest. Very professional job, from SDG’s perspective it’s a good day’s work.

I thought first half we got drawn into trying to do things that we wouldn’t usually do, if that makes sense - extra touches, trying to dribble past two or three players at a time or trying wee chipped passes into the box that were never really on etc, and the overall play suffered as a result.

Second half was better, the pace of play was faster and we totally controlled the game. The main thing was to get into the hat for the next round, we did that and had the benefit of getting players onto the pitch that hadn’t played in a while.

19-01-2025, 10:31 AM

That sums it up nicely.

sauzee1989
19-01-2025, 11:45 AM
Positives from game
16 year old debutant looked good
Rudi was superb
Boyle very good
Bowie will be a handful
Amos done decent when on
O’Hora assured and good communication

Negatives
Kwon offered little
Miller poor in first half in particular
Myko offered nothing

19-01-2025, 12:20 PM
Into the next round no problem, all that matters.

19-01-2025, 12:48 PM
Souness?

Never won the Scottish - as player or manager.

19-01-2025, 03:03 PM
Our own Ronnie Simpson

19-01-2025, 03:13 PM
Our own Ronnie Simpson

👍

Forgot about Faither

Donegal Hibby
19-01-2025, 04:42 PM
Match highlights here …

https://youtu.be/IF5B2X9ZENM?si=88rZakyo9m5lN7oy

https://youtu.be/3rRAxlavJQ4?si=nEQdErl4XurG_TjZ

foxy
19-01-2025, 07:27 PM
Leighton
Kanchelskis

19-01-2025, 09:49 PM
Dave Mackay

19-01-2025, 09:49 PM
Leighton
Kanchelskis

Interesting. Leighton played the first final but missed the replay.

The list as I have it is:

1. Kenny Dalglish
2. Joe Hart
3. Shaun Maloney
4. Fraser Fyvie
5. Paul Gascoigne
6. Gary Caldwell
7. Dave Mackay
8. Martin Buchan
9. Andrei Kanchelskis
10. Ronnie Simpson
11. Lou Macari
12. Gordon Strachan
13. Ray Stevens
14. Kieran Tierney

19-01-2025, 09:52 PM
Pretty sure Martin Buchan didn’t.

19-01-2025, 09:58 PM
Pretty sure Martin Buchan didn’t.

Absolutely did, in fact he's one of the very few (not even sure if anyone else has done it) who captained a Scottish and English side to a cup win.

19-01-2025, 09:58 PM

1. Kenny Dalglish
2. Joe Hart
3. Shaun Maloney
4. Fraser Fyvie
5. Paul Gascoigne
6. Gary Caldwell
7. Dave Mackay
8. Martin Buchan
9. Andrei Kanchelskis
10. Ronnie Simpson
11. Lou Macari
12. Gordon Strachan
13. Ray Stevens
14. Kieran Tierney
*Gary Stevens

19-01-2025, 09:59 PM
Absolutely did, in fact he's one of the very few (not even sure if anyone else has done it) who captained a Scottish and English side to a cup win.

Yep, 1970 for Aberdeen, 1977 for Man Utd

19-01-2025, 10:00 PM

1. Kenny Dalglish
2. Joe Hart
3. Shaun Maloney
4. Fraser Fyvie
5. Paul Gascoigne
6. Gary Caldwell
7. Dave Mackay
8. Martin Buchan
9. Andrei Kanchelskis
10. Ronnie Simpson
11. Lou Macari
12. Gordon Strachan
13. Ray Stevens
14. Kieran Tierney
IIRC A medal was struck for Jim Leighton because he played in the first game but he declined to accept it.

19-01-2025, 10:03 PM
Gary Caldwell never played in 2013 Wigan ( Unused sub ) but went up with the match day captain to lift the trophy

I'm Spartacus
20-01-2025, 07:45 AM
A tie, ehich in recent years we would have struggled through, job done and we move on with zero comment as it was expected.

But I see a difference. (BK, IG & MM can GTF)

20-01-2025, 04:43 PM
Forgot about 1977:greengrin.

20-01-2025, 07:46 PM
Anyone got the goals from the game? Thanks in advance

20-01-2025, 07:57 PM
Anyone got the goals from the game? Thanks in advance

Next page back ��

https://youtu.be/3rRAxlavJQ4?si=ImkqaAXnVIPbBLix