View Full Version : Police Barriers Albion Road

11-01-2025, 04:06 PM
Since when have we been getting held back for home games against Motherwell?

Complete overkill and pointless waste of resources.

Paul1642
11-01-2025, 04:08 PM

Fighting after the game last time they came to ER. If police do nothing and there was a repeat then there’s a blame directed at them.

Small minority of fans cause the inconvenience for the rest.

hibee316
11-01-2025, 04:08 PM

I'd actually blame the wee neds who can't behave

11-01-2025, 04:29 PM
Fighting after the game last time they came to ER. If police do nothing and there was a repeat then there’s a blame directed at them.

Bit pointless given I went the “long way” round that you would have to go because of the barriers at that game and witnessed the start of the pagger. So it makes no difference really

Partyraiser
11-01-2025, 04:31 PM
Why not hold the away fans back if they're concerned about trouble!? They do that everywhere else

Rick Rude
11-01-2025, 04:32 PM

Would they not have been better putting them in st Andrew square given that's where the trouble was?

Twiglet
11-01-2025, 04:35 PM
Went into the shop after to wait got the barriers to get taken down. There was a bunch of boys with their faces covered walking past the famous five. Police van met them at the corner of Albion Place and were being walked along by officers.

11-01-2025, 04:42 PM
Went into the shop after to wait got the barriers to get taken down. There was a bunch of boys with their faces covered walking past the famous five. Police van met them at the corner of Albion Place and were being walked along by officers.

Sounds mad but the Polis used to force Fans to remove balaclavas and the like.

Not sure if they're legally allowed to enforce that now but it must be worth a try.

11-01-2025, 04:46 PM
Motherwell ultras are being escorted to Waverley station and on to their train.

Is it just the ultras that have caused the extra police presence today?

the tornadoe
11-01-2025, 04:52 PM
Spoke to stewards & police officers at the gates and informed by both its ENTIRELY the Club decision to hold the home fans back and allow away fans to disperse first.

11-01-2025, 04:54 PM
Spoke to stewards & police officers at the gates and informed by both its ENTIRELY the Club decision to hold the home fans back and allow away fans to disperse first.

That’s staggering if true.

ehf
11-01-2025, 04:59 PM
That’s staggering if true.

Absolute insanity. There were about 15 Motherwell ultras there.

Chorley Hibee
11-01-2025, 05:03 PM

I don't believe that (Police and Stewards I mean).

Would be good to get confirmation from Power on this.

Se7enUp
11-01-2025, 05:20 PM

Policing of the streets outside the ground is bugger all to do with the club.

andrew_dundee
11-01-2025, 05:22 PM
A fair few police vans and an ambulance at the top of Leith Walk blocking traffic around 5.45 or so, did things kick off?

Se7enUp
11-01-2025, 05:22 PM

Even if true, the police could choose to have tge barriers on Albion Road/Terrace and force the away fans over the bridge of doom.

11-01-2025, 05:27 PM
Absolute insanity. There were about 15 Motherwell ultras there.

Surely that means it actually makes sense to let them away first?

A small group all likely to be heading in a singular direction away from the ground who can be dispersed quickly versus 15K plus heading in various directions, waiting at bus stops or congregating in pubs in the area

I get it's not ideal for people with mobility issues or whatever but the reality is it's a few hundred yards detour down St Clair Street to rejoin ER for anyone who needs to go in that direction. Probably adds 5-10 minutes to the day for anyone with reasonable mobility.

Chorley Hibee
11-01-2025, 05:31 PM
A fair few police vans and an ambulance at the top of Leith Walk blocking traffic around 5.45 or so, did things kick off?

Looked like the police and ambulance were dealing with someone on an LRT bus.

Se7enUp
11-01-2025, 05:32 PM

A small group all likely to be heading in a singular direction away from the ground who can be dispersed quickly versus 15K plus heading in various directions, waiting at bus stops or congregating in pubs in the area

I get it's not ideal for people with mobility issues or whatever but the reality is it's a few hundred yards detour down St Clair Street to rejoin ER for anyone who needs to go in that direction. Probably adds 5-10 minutes to the day for anyone with reasonable mobility.

It's at least 15 mins given the slow progress down St Clair Street

the tornadoe
11-01-2025, 05:32 PM

I appreciate your sentiment, was my thoughts too but both officials were very believable and insistent it was the Club

the tornadoe
11-01-2025, 05:33 PM
Policing of the streets outside the ground is bugger all to do with the club.

The fans are kept INSIDE the ground so that would be a Club call

11-01-2025, 05:39 PM
I appreciate your sentiment, was my thoughts too but both officials were very believable and insistent it was the Club

I suspect they were lying. No chance the policing outside the ground is up to the club. The P7 meet at St Andrew's Sq for a few lightweight punches will happen if the bairns want it to. They seem to easily outwit Lothian and Borders finest pretty easily.

Twiglet
11-01-2025, 05:40 PM

Don't think it was anything to do with fans kicking off. We walked past and the paramedics were doing CPR from the looks of it.

11-01-2025, 05:42 PM
Don't see the problem today TBH after trouble last time out. Barriers were only up for 5 mins after game, makes sense to let the smaller number of Well fans disperse.

ehf
11-01-2025, 05:44 PM

I’d say around two-thirds of the crowd need to go that way, so you are forcing at least 10,000 people to take a 10 minute detour, instead of holding 15 or so troublemakers back.

11-01-2025, 05:46 PM
I’d say around two-thirds of the crowd need to go that way, so you are forcing at least 10,000 people to take a 10 minute detour, instead of holding 15 or so troublemakers back.

There was no need to take a detour today though, if thought through properly could just wait 5 minutes as was clear you wouldn't have to wait long given small away support compared to Rangers Celtic Hearts etc.

andrew_dundee
11-01-2025, 05:52 PM
Don't think it was anything to do with fans kicking off. We walked past and the paramedics were doing CPR from the looks of it.

Sorry to hear it, hope everyone was ok.

PHeffernan
11-01-2025, 05:53 PM

Since the spotty little herberts from both clubs caused disruption in the city at the last fixture between the clubs.
Todays Police presence and disruption of our supporters before and after the game is 100% down to them. Thanks girls.

We were unable to access the East through the gate between East and South before and after the game which meant a much longer walk than necessary in both directions. Thanks girls.

P.S. on the upside there has been a marked reduction in disorder issues in the East since the spotties moved into the FFL and other supporters can now get access to a toilet cubicle in the East if they need a Tam Kite.

Cabbage-Patch
11-01-2025, 05:56 PM

There was a massive scrap in the town after the last game against Well at ER. Police won't be wanting a repeat. Damned if they do damned if they don't. Don't have an issue with it tbh. Blame the wee bams who think they are extras in Green Street :rolleyes:

TheSouthMoroccan
11-01-2025, 06:02 PM
Since the spotty little herberts from both clubs caused disruption in the city at the last fixture between the clubs.
Todays Police presence and disruption of our supporters before and after the game is down to them. Thanks girls.

I was unable to access the East through the gate between East and South before and after the game which meant a long walk in both directions.

There are no longer issues in the East since the spotties moved into the FFL which is evidenced by now being able to get use of a toilet cubicle in the East if required.

I like your style sir, I'd have been less polite, "wee *****" would have been my chosen phrase.

TheSouthMoroccan
11-01-2025, 06:05 PM
I like your style sir, I'd have been less polite, "wee *****" would have been my chosen phrase.

I didn't realise that certain words were starred out by this site. Should have said "wee self pleasure merchants"

hibee
11-01-2025, 06:08 PM
Could do with a couple of the police being down at the junction with Hawkhill Avenue and Lochend Road to move on some of the cars picking people up after the game before there’s an accident.

One woman was parked on the crossing today and started screaming abuse at us when we were crossing on the green man because apparently we were looking at her!

Gloucester Hibs
11-01-2025, 06:09 PM
Barriers weren’t up for long, by the time I’d exited the East and reached Albion Road they were already being taken down.

hibeerealist
Todays Police presence and disruption of our supporters before and after the game is down to them. Thanks girls.

I was unable to access the East through the gate between East and South before and after the game which meant a long walk in both directions.

There are no longer issues in the East since the spotties moved into the FFL which is evidenced by now being able to get use of a toilet cubicle in the East if required.

Likewise and it really pisses me off, the club/polis/stewards would rather we walk into the away fans before the game rather than let us walk alongside them and access the East via the gate.

Typical Hibs, WHY INCONVENIENCE THESMALL GROUP OF AWAY FANS WHEN WE CAN INCONVENIENCE HOWEVER MANY OF OUR OWN!!!

Virtually every ground we visit they cater for their own and I cant knock that, this is what clubs should do - Hibs like to be different.

If only they appreciated the support they get from our fans I HOPE OUR CEO IS READING THE FORUMS

While it's not connected to what happens in the ground, it's things like this, increased strain on police resources because of the actions of a bunch of idiots in the summer, that there is no appetite among decision makers for allowing drink in grounds.

11-01-2025, 06:10 PM
Barriers weren’t up for long, by the time I’d exited the East and reached Albion Road they were already being taken down.

Aye, the delay in getting out was a rare bonus today!

11-01-2025, 06:15 PM
Seemed to me like a lot of people didn't realise they were going up with the crowds heading that way and at the south end of the West gates.

I can't remember an announcement in the ground. I know there was on social media but this should also be put over the tannoy during the game.

11-01-2025, 06:21 PM
While it's not connected to what happens in the ground, it's things like this, increased strain on police resources because of the actions of a bunch of idiots in the summer, that there is no appetite among decision makers for allowing drink in grounds.

Today it would have been more cost effective to hire a minibus to run the Motherwell ultras up to the bus station.

11-01-2025, 06:26 PM
Seemed to me like a lot of people didn't realise they were going up with the crowds heading that way and at the south end of the West gates.

I can't remember an announcement in the ground. I know there was on social media but this should also be put over the tannoy during the game.

I saw it parked up in Albion Road before the game so assumed it was going to be put in place.

11-01-2025, 06:26 PM
Likewise and it really pisses me off, the club/polis/stewards would rather we walk into the away fans before the game rather than let us walk alongside them and access the East via the gate.

Typical Hibs, WHY INCONVENIENCE THESMALL GROUP OF AWAY FANS WHEN WE CAN INCONVENIENCE HOWEVER MANY OF OUR OWN!!!

Virtually every ground we visit they cater for their own and I cant knock that, this is what clubs should do - Hibs like to be different.

If only they appreciated the support they get from our fans I HOPE OUR CEO IS READING THE FORUMS

It’s nothing to do with our CEO. It’s a long standing police decision and when you look at the access points to our ground it is the only way they can deal with things. Annoying but while we have fans on both sides intent on a wee bit of pavement dancing the rest of us are going to have to put up with it.

11-01-2025, 06:28 PM
I park my car in a different place when the barriers are going to be up so I can get to it quicker. Parked in my (barrier) place today so was totally unfazed when I saw it before the game even though I wasn’t expecting it.😀

11-01-2025, 06:30 PM

Yup same - takes so long to get out the east if further up that they were down and could walk back as normal. Luckily Hibs won so Motherwell fans properly left earlier than if they had won.

PHeffernan
11-01-2025, 06:32 PM

The Police should take their balaclavas off them and slap them aboot the heid Benny Hill on Jackie Wright stylee

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tEVYsmpcbvk

speedy_gonzales
11-01-2025, 06:34 PM
Sounds mad but the Polis used to force Fans to remove balaclavas and the like.

Not sure if they're legally allowed to enforce that now but it must be worth a try.

I remember when the police would demand you remove face coverings/scarfs (happened at Dumfries for a QotS cup game), but, since covid, it would be questionable to demand people to remove masks.

11-01-2025, 06:36 PM
Hibs do have a policy no face coverings or balaclavas allowed to be worn within the stadium.

speedy_gonzales
11-01-2025, 06:43 PM
Hibs do have a policy no face coverings or balaclavas allowed to be worn within the stadium.

Genuinely? Honestly didn't know but last Sunday against Rangers I had a neck warmer/buff on that I pulled up to my glasses because it was so cold, hope I don't get a ban 🧐

11-01-2025, 06:49 PM
I can kinda understand being held back at the West when its Rangers, Celtic, Hearts and vaguely Aberdeen.............but Motherwell????

I know there was bother at the last fixture - ok, so it makes sense to let the police deal with it...............but holding back thousands of Hibs fans, when there were ~400 Motherwell fans, is a total piss take.

We have a fan laison - Power - and I like him.

But we need to hear, from him, why this happened.

There was a guy on crutches who was struggling to stand up at the barriers - why are we treating OUR fans like this at our home?

An answer, or explanation, would help.

11-01-2025, 06:52 PM
Genuinely? Honestly didn't know but last Sunday against Rangers I had a neck warmer/buff on that I pulled up to my glasses because it was so cold, hope I don't get a ban 🧐

I had a quick look on hibs website and couldn’t see the exact wording but every away team we play is told this in information before game. A quick google search will find the results.

PHeffernan
11-01-2025, 07:09 PM
I had a quick look on hibs website and couldn’t see the exact wording but every away team we play is told this in information before game. A quick google search will find the results.

The following instruction was provided for Aberdeen supporters attending Easter Road in May last year.
"Full face coverings, such as balaclavas, are not permitted in the stadium"

However, there is no mention of full face coverings in the ER ground regulations which I note have been updated to include pyro.

PHeffernan
11-01-2025, 07:17 PM

It doesn't apply to old fossils aged 50 or over who are just wearing coupon covers to avoid hypothermia :wink:

Power
11-01-2025, 07:29 PM

This is right D ✅

The dispersal of spectators safely is a collective responsibility and decision, not solely/entirely Hibs.

I can kinda understand being held back at the West when its Rangers, Celtic, Hearts and vaguely Aberdeen.............but Motherwell????

I know there was bother at the last fixture - ok, so it makes sense to let the police deal with it...............but holding back thousands of Hibs fans, when there were ~400 Motherwell fans, is a total piss take.

We have a fan laison - Power - and I like him.

But we need to hear, from him, why this happened.

There was a guy on crutches who was struggling to stand up at the barriers - why are we treating OUR fans like this at our home?

An answer, or explanation, would help.

Segregation and diversion updates were provided to supporters pre-match in the supporter information here - https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/january/10/supporter-info--motherwell--h-/

Diverting via St.Clair Street or Lochend Butterfly way is the arrangement for Category A games, Motherwell has had an increase in category status (this is determined by Police presence - There has been increased police presence at games between the two recently (home and away) because of public disorder).

Supporters can choose to wait for the barriers to be removed or follow the diversion route.

Barriers and diversions have been talked about a lot on here over the years, if there was another way of stadium egress, it would be considered but the current operation has been in place close to 30 years as it’s the safest and quickest way at dispersing supporters.

I’m happy to help any supporter directly on games with segregation, especially those with mobility issues. Please just get in touch.

11-01-2025, 07:42 PM
This is right D ✅

The dispersal of spectators safely is a collective responsibility and decision, not solely/entirely Hibs.

Segregation and diversion updates were provided to supporters pre-match in the supporter information here - https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/january/10/supporter-info--motherwell--h-/

Diverting via St.Clair Street or Lochend Butterfly way is the arrangement for Category A games, Motherwell has had an increase in category status (this is determined by Police presence - There has been increased police presence at games between the two recently (home and away) because of public disorder).

Supporters can choose to wait for the barriers to be removed or follow the diversion route.

Barriers and diversions have been talked about a lot on here over the years, if there was another way of stadium egress, it would be considered but the current operation has been in place close to 30 years as it’s the safest and quickest way at dispersing supporters.

I’m happy to help any supporter directly on games with segregation, especially those with mobility issues. Please just get in touch.

I think we all understand that we can choose to wait or walk all the way round the stadium............but the question was really - why are WE inconvenienced for a tiny number of Motherwell fans?

Why cant they be held back until WE disperse?

And - yes, I know its been the situation for about 30 years, and for 30 years its OUR fans that have had to wait, and take long diversions.

Which doesnt happen at the likes of Ibrox.

When my dad was alive, and struggling toward the end, this was part of the reason he stopped going to games at Easter Road.

Its not your fault, but it IS a problem, and its not good enough to be quite honest.

11-01-2025, 07:45 PM
I think we all understand that we can choose to wait or walk all the way round the stadium............but the question was really - why are WE inconvenienced for a tiny number of Motherwell fans?

Why cant they be held back until WE disperse?

And - yes, I know its been the situation for about 30 years, and for 30 years its OUR fans that have had to wait, and take long diversions.

Which doesnt happen at the likes of Ibrox.

When my dad was alive, and struggling toward the end, this was part of the reason he stopped going to games at Easter Road.

Its not your fault, but it IS a problem, and its not good enough to be quite honest.

It took the smalll number of Motherwell fans 5 mins to dispserse. Makes perfect sense tbh.

Doing it the other way round would be a bit silly.

11-01-2025, 07:48 PM
What I don’t get is that there wasn’t even that many Motherwell fans - so surely they go over the bridge ?

If the bridge is an issue just have something in place to stagger that.

The barrier can be up like they were before the game.

Did the Motherwell fans exit via Albion Road in large numbers - not really.

11-01-2025, 07:50 PM
It took the smalll number of Motherwell fans 5 mins to dispserse. Makes perfect sense tbh.

Yup it’s about crowd management and the police don’t care who is inconvenienced. Pity the ones around Glasgow can’t manage it better tho. The only time they were inconvenienced was the Scottish cup game where strangely enough when we had the whole stand and they weren’t allowed up that end till we were gone.

11-01-2025, 07:52 PM
What I don’t get is that there wasn’t even that many Motherwell fans - so surely they go over the bridge ?

If the bridge is an issue just have something in place to stagger that.

The barrier can be up like they were before the game.

Did the Motherwell fans exit via Albion Road in large numbers - not really.
It’s about separating the fans for a period of time to allow them to disperse. Opening Albion road to Hibs fans doesn’t give away fans enough time to get up the road and out of the way.

11-01-2025, 08:01 PM
Yup it’s about crowd management and the police don’t care who is inconvenienced. Pity the ones around Glasgow can’t manage it better tho. The only time they were inconvenienced was the Scottish cup game where strangely enough when we had the whole stand and they weren’t allowed up that end till we were gone.

:agree: agreed!

Mcbizz1998
11-01-2025, 08:13 PM

It’s not deemed silly at Ibrox. We get about 800 tickets and are made to wait.

11-01-2025, 08:13 PM
It’s not deemed silly at Ibrox. We get about 800 tickets and are made to wait.

Agreed - but still would have been silly today.

babahibs
11-01-2025, 08:16 PM

No you didn't.

11-01-2025, 08:31 PM
You could have asked every person in the ground to point to where the guys likely to be candidates to get involved in some bother and the answer would have been the same “That group of lads dressed in black down the front down there and that group of lads dressed in black down the front over there”
The police of course know that fine well as well, as the report of them escorting the Motherwell group to the station proves.

Keep an eye on those groups and keep them apart as opposed to herding in law abiding fans like cattle with ridiculous metal barricades.

speedy_gonzales
11-01-2025, 08:32 PM
It doesn't apply to old fossils aged 50 or over who are just wearing coupon covers to avoid hypothermia :wink:

Oh you b¡tch, I'll have you know I'm a very youthful feeling 50 year old, just don't feel the need to look cool and be cold!

the tornadoe
11-01-2025, 08:41 PM
No you didn't.

Yes I did.... gates at the away end of the West Stand, several other supporters around me at the time.. youngish police officer with an older one wearing a cap, older steward ( supervisor ) with a female steward who was telling a lady supporters about her 12 week scan coming up...
Sorry if you don't believe me, I'm just a fellow supporter passi g on info about what ACTUALLY happened and was said.

I'm not a liar...

11-01-2025, 10:39 PM
You could have asked every person in the ground to point to where the guys likely to be candidates to get involved in some bother and the answer would have been the same “That group of lads dressed in black down the front down there and that group of lads dressed in black down the front over there”
The police of course know that fine well as well, as the report of them escorting the Motherwell group to the station proves.

Keep an eye on those groups and keep them apart as opposed to herding in law abiding fans like cattle with ridiculous metal barricades.

Spot on. The Police should be dealing with those causing trouble not peeing off hundreds of fans wanting to get to and from teh game. They desperately need to try and get the public back on side yet constantly make decisions like this that is the opposite of what the public want. Deal with those causing trouble. It is really that easy

11-01-2025, 11:04 PM
Spot on. The Police should be dealing with those causing trouble not peeing off hundreds of fans wanting to get to and from teh game. They desperately need to try and get the public back on side yet constantly make decisions like this that is the opposite of what the public want. Deal with those causing trouble. It is really that easy

Can't blame the police for what happened in the summer. Hooliganism is creeping back into the game and, rightly, the polis will deal with that as they see fit.

joebakerforever
11-01-2025, 11:37 PM
When the barrier was eventually partly opened, it was a small opening on the pavement side.

There then was rush by the sizeable waiting crowd to exit, resulting in a dangerous funnel of bodies surging into this gap, which could have resulted in injuries, should someone had stumbled over.

IMO holding the waiting crowd behind the barrier for longer than necessary, contributed to this dangerous situation.

11-01-2025, 11:38 PM
Can't blame the police for what happened in the summer. Hooliganism is creeping back into the game and, rightly, the polis will deal with that as they see fit.

Yeah, find it hard to blame the police for the actions of idiots that want to go fighting. The bother after the last fixture was always going to have a knock on effect on the rest of us. Just another example of the selfishness from the ultras/hangers on that aren’t really the ultras but dress and act and hang about near the ultras.

11-01-2025, 11:42 PM

Think your aiming your anger in the wrong direction.

There wouldn’t have been any barriers if it was wasn’t for the wee fannys the last time round.

Police’s job isn’t always to do what the public want them to do. It’s to keep people safe whether that potentially means having to piss people off or not, which by the sounds of it, worked yesterday. Unless I missed anything.

joebakerforever
11-01-2025, 11:54 PM
Think your aiming your anger in the wrong direction.

There wouldn’t have been any barriers if it was wasn’t for the wee fannys the last time round.

Police’s job isn’t always to do what the public want them to do. It’s to keep people safe whether that potentially means having to piss people off or not, which by the sounds of it, worked yesterday. Unless I missed anything.

You are missing the point and stating what I witnessed & was in the crush, is not aiming anger.

As you say the police's job is to keep people safe, and how this was handled did not fulfill the safety aspect.

PHeffernan
12-01-2025, 02:10 AM
You are missing the point and stating what I witnessed & was in the crush, is not aiming anger.

As you say the police's job is to keep people safe, and how this was handled did not fulfill the safety aspect.

Crowd shouldn't have been crushing. Common sense to proceed in a patient manner once the barrier was removed. The crushers and rushers need to think about kids, the auld and folk with mobility issues. Nae fecken patience.

babahibs
12-01-2025, 02:16 AM
Yes I did.... gates at the away end of the West Stand, several other supporters around me at the time.. youngish police officer with an older one wearing a cap, older steward ( supervisor ) with a female steward who was telling a lady supporters about her 12 week scan coming up...
Sorry if you don't believe me, I'm just a fellow supporter passi g on info about what ACTUALLY happened and was said.

I'm not a liar...

Then I apologise, heavy drinking is my excuse.

12-01-2025, 09:14 AM
Yeah, find it hard to blame the police for the actions of idiots that want to go fighting. The bother after the last fixture was always going to have a knock on effect on the rest of us. Just another example of the selfishness from the ultras/hangers on that aren’t really the ultras but dress and act and hang about near the ultras.

I'm no defender of the ultras but the bother at Picardy Place last time didn't involve our ultras. It was more of an old skool 'reunion.' The St Andrews square trouble later was between the Motherwell ultras and the police.

12-01-2025, 09:18 AM
I'm no defender of the ultras but the bother at Picardy Place last time didn't involve our ultras. It was more of an old skool 'reunion.' The St Andrews square trouble later was between the Motherwell ultras and the police.

I saw some of it and if that’s the case they must have fallen into the second category of people I mentioned that weren’t the ultras but just dressed and behaved like them, hard to distinguish to folk passing by trying not to get caught up in a fight.

hibstag
12-01-2025, 09:21 AM
Even if true, the police could choose to have tge barriers on Albion Road/Terrace and force the away fans over the bridge of doom.

This. Or further along forcing them to disperse towards Sainsbury’s car park area through the estate

12-01-2025, 09:25 AM

:agree: I was coming back just as the trouble was ending, groups of aged ex-cashie boys running away down broughton street as cops and ambulances were swarming about. It wasnt just the young team last time.

12-01-2025, 09:28 AM
From what it looked like they had 2 sets up yesterday. One to stop Hibs fans getting to Albion Road and the other to divert the away fans over the bridge

12-01-2025, 09:30 AM
Home fans being held back has been questioned for at least 30+ years. It's quite simple really......could you imagine the carnage if we got access to Easter Road first whilst Rangers/Hearts/Celtic fans are held back? The Mash Tun and Middletons full of Hibs fans, the bus stops full of Hibs fans then 3500 rabid Huns or Jambos are released having just been skelped on the pitch? The fans in the pubs would be sitting ducks and the potential for serious disorder would be off the scale. At least the current policy sees most of the away fans away and on their busses by the time we reach the top of Easter Road. I do question why their busses aren't parked on Albion Road or the new streets behind the South Stand though. Get them straight on their busses and away. Also, surely the police could manage the 30 odd kids that were the issue yesterday...............

12-01-2025, 09:50 AM
I asked a puzzled looking polis at the top of Albion Road when I walked past why the barrier was up, he replied he didn’t know it was and him & the other polis stood there had been wondering why so many fans were coming up Easter Road. Good to see communication within Police Scotland is alive & well…

Got a bit further up Easter Road where the Motherwell fans joined and there was maybe about 60/70 of them being escorted by about 30 police. I asked one of them why there was such a police presence and he shouted at me to keep on walking, he must have still been fuming from his team conceding a late equaliser last Sunday.

I asked another of them the same question and they said that it was because of some trouble last time but they had also anticipated a few more away fans

12-01-2025, 09:58 AM
Home fans being held back has been questioned for at least 30+ years. It's quite simple really......could you imagine the carnage if we got access to Easter Road first whilst Rangers/Hearts/Celtic fans are held back? The Mash Tun and Middletons full of Hibs fans, the bus stops full of Hibs fans then 3500 rabid Huns or Jambos are released having just been skelped on the pitch? The fans in the pubs would be sitting ducks and the potential for serious disorder would be off the scale. At least the current policy sees most of the away fans away and on their busses by the time we reach the top of Easter Road. I do question why their busses aren't parked on Albion Road or the new streets behind the South Stand though. Get them straight on their busses and away. Also, surely the police could manage the 30 odd kids that were the issue yesterday...............

Not forgetting the state the stand would be left in if they were in there for 20 minutes after the game. Place would be destroyed.
Also, having to get to Waverley after games, the barriers boil my P when they are up. Been like this for 30 years though so have just gotten used to it. Motherwell have an active wee firm, have done for a wee while now. Maybe the barriers were up because of this and nothing to do with Hibs fans causing trouble.

12-01-2025, 10:39 AM
Don't see the problem today TBH after trouble last time out. Barriers were only up for 5 mins after game, makes sense to let the smaller number of Well fans disperse.

They were removed at 5.10pm.

It was ridiculous to have them up that long. There was probably only a hundred Motherwell fans left at full time

Helensburghhibs
12-01-2025, 10:44 AM
There are definitely better options. Barriers on Easter road directing hibs fans to leith walk and away support up and over Abbey Hill is one of those I would suggest.

hibeerealist
12-01-2025, 11:10 AM
It’s nothing to do with our CEO. It’s a long standing police decision and when you look at the access points to our ground it is the only way they can deal with things. Annoying but while we have fans on both sides intent on a wee bit of pavement dancing the rest of us are going to have to put up with it.

The opening of theSouth/East gate IS NOT A POLICE DECISION.

12-01-2025, 11:18 AM
There are definitely better options. Barriers on Easter road directing hibs fans to leith walk and away support up and over Abbey Hill is one of those I would suggest.
This would be my preferred option other than not having one at all. :greengrin It won’t happen tho as it’s going to cause wider inconvenience to the wider public.

12-01-2025, 11:20 AM
The barriers were definitely a surprise to a lot of people. Therefore the decision not to announce it during the match needs looked at (I certainly didn't hear it anyway).

You don't want thousands going down a dead end that's for sure.

JoeT
04-02-2025, 11:28 AM
Surprised there were no barriers after the Aberdeen game. I thought they were usually up for Aberdeen fixtures. A good sign, hopefully everyone got up the road without any incidents and this can be the norm for more games.

Sent from my SM-S911B using Tapatalk

andyf5
04-02-2025, 12:21 PM
Surprised there were no barriers after the Aberdeen game. I thought they were usually up for Aberdeen fixtures. A good sign, hopefully everyone got up the road without any incidents and this can be the norm for more games.

Sent from my SM-S911B using Tapatalk

I'm not so sure. There were Aberdeen fans goading us before the game at the junction of Albion Place and Road. Mind you, it didn't look like they wanted to get through police lines. Bit of a pantomime IMHO.

04-02-2025, 12:26 PM
I'm not so sure. There were Aberdeen fans goading us before the game at the junction of Albion Place and Road. Mind you, it didn't look like they wanted to get through police lines. Bit of a pantomime IMHO.

Gates were closed at west, had to wait until they’d all cleared.

04-02-2025, 12:31 PM

:agree: yep, i stupidly parked by bike up at the west stand so had to have a post-match libation for 30 mins before the cop vans had cleared. No barrier means more hibs fans can get directly onto easter road via albion road though.

04-02-2025, 12:38 PM

That and a couple of police vans and half a dozen police across the road.

What I found funny was the odd Aberdeen fan shouting “Fenian *******s” towards us and then 30 seconds later the gates opened

04-02-2025, 05:22 PM

Only at the end nearest the away support. The gates beside the ticket office were open.

ruthven_raiders
04-02-2025, 06:24 PM
Only at the end nearest the away support. The gates beside the ticket office were open.

Yeh pleasantly surprised to walk out and turn left for a change rather than go long way round....

04-02-2025, 08:05 PM
I made the mistake of asking a steward clearly... was told the barriers were up and so I walked down St Claires street.

04-02-2025, 08:09 PM
Great having no barriers this week, nice and quick up toon firra pint. Long may it continue. Small police presence is all thats needed by the Bothwell and another small one at the Albion, nae need fir barricades for games like this.

04-02-2025, 08:11 PM
They didnae want tae fight either, ah jist walked straight through them.

05-02-2025, 06:09 AM
Great having no barriers this week, nice and quick up toon firra pint. Long may it continue. Small police presence is all thats needed by the Bothwell and another small one at the Albion, nae need fir barricades for games like this.

Wonder if we will stop pricing it as a Cat A game then.

05-02-2025, 07:28 AM
Shows you how much time was wasted by VAR - barriers up and down again before the fans were out