View Full Version : Hibs V Motherwell

10-01-2025, 10:06 AM
Just checking this is actually happening tomorrow as you wouldn't know from reading this forum.

Hopefully an injured player or two back but that doesn't look likely.

If nobody is back I would be replacing Kwon from the starting line up, probably with NMW out of the available options.

10-01-2025, 10:09 AM
Phew, lets talk about football.

I'd be looking to start as similar a team as possible that started against Rangers, get NMW on when legs are tired.

Any word on Youan's availability?

evy
10-01-2025, 10:11 AM
Just checking this is actually happening tomorrow as you wouldn't know from reading this forum.

Hopefully an injured player or two back but that doesn't look likely.

If nobody is back I would be replacing Kwon from the starting line up, probably with NMW out of the available options.

It's taken you until today to bump yer gums and start a thread. What stopped you doing it the rest of the week?

10-01-2025, 10:12 AM
It's taken you until today to bump yer gums and start a thread. What stopped you doing it the rest of the week?

It's done now. Anything to actually say about the game?

10-01-2025, 10:14 AM
6-0 Hibs.

evy
10-01-2025, 10:16 AM

We'll wear green tops.

10-01-2025, 10:24 AM
6-0 Hibs.

My manager supports Well. I really really hope this is the score!

evy
10-01-2025, 10:28 AM

In seriousness, there's no reason why we shouldn't be winning this by a couple.

Not long ago we beat them 3-0 on their patch, they've played mid-week and were lucky not to get humped.

10-01-2025, 10:37 AM
Another big game. The kind we really need to be winning if we want to get/stay in contention for 3rd or 4th.

We should be fairly fresh, the games were thick and fast over Christmas but we have had close to a full week to recover and repair for this one. A luxury Motherwell haven't had. Another big effort required then we should be able to rest a few up next week and get minutes in legs for others.

Donegal Hibby
10-01-2025, 10:40 AM
Smith .

Miller .
Rocky .
Iredale.

C. Cadden .
Triantis.
Kwon .
Campbell.
N . Cadden .

Boyle .
Hoilett .

10-01-2025, 10:40 AM
Can't imagine anything other than a decent win for us.

'Well are bang average, 4-0 Hibs.

10-01-2025, 10:45 AM
Who plays instead of Newell is the big decision. Kwon has looked poor and was very slow last week. Not sure who I’d play there.

10-01-2025, 10:50 AM
Got to win if we want to push up the league. Games will start running out if we don’t get back to winning ways again. Need to make sure we win the particularly winnable looking ones and I think this is one of them, despite them being above us.

Minimal changes I’d expect. Hopefully we have a couple back to give us some options but won’t get my hopes up on that. Everyone always just seems to be close!

BennyB
10-01-2025, 11:33 AM
Never know what you’ll get with well. 3-1 … marching up the league.

10-01-2025, 11:36 AM
Who plays instead of Newell is the big decision. Kwon has looked poor and was very slow last week. Not sure who I’d play there.

A parking cone is more mobile than Kwon and shows more imagination

Donegal Hibby
10-01-2025, 11:37 AM
Thought Kettlewell spoke well in his pre-match about Hibs and totally agree with him about having a hectic schedule of games around this time isn’t great …

https://youtu.be/aM5LuYsHGQo?si=9D4pztz29eR4ym1s

MacGruber
10-01-2025, 11:47 AM
Could really do with some bodies back, wonder if Youan, Myko or O'Hora might come back in

10-01-2025, 12:01 PM
It will be interesting to see if Bowie makes the bench given he is in full contact training. Probably a couple of weeks too early. I'd play the same team as against The Rangers but swap NMW for Kwon purely because of the energy. I think both struggle on the ball but Nathan has the type of movement, energy and drive that can lift the crowd and his team mates and we need some energy so we start quickly. I'd also be tempted to start Gayle rather than Junior but he may make a better sub than starter.

Up-the-slope
10-01-2025, 12:04 PM
Hoping that Rudi can get more minutes like 30 or so to get further back to match fitness, as we need that ability to dribble in final 3rd when things are tight

10-01-2025, 12:16 PM
Cant really see much change from Rangers. I think MW deserves a start over Kwon based on his play on Sunday. Appreciate he was at fault for the goal, but his energy and tenacity would be a big improvement on Kwon.
Gayle im not sure will have the legs for another start, but not sure what we do there. McKirdy being the only available striker, id be amazed if we started him. Rudi back fit might slot in where Campbell has been playing and Campbell moved further up, not ideal. I dont see where Hoilett fits into the team.

Best case is that Youan has recovered enough to give both him and Gayle a half each.

Jock O
10-01-2025, 12:39 PM

Is Newell still out, if so has he been ruled out for a period of time? Not sure I seen anything

10-01-2025, 12:40 PM
It will be interesting to see if Bowie makes the bench given he is in full contact training. Probably a couple of weeks too early. I'd play the same team as against The Rangers but swap NMW for Kwon purely because of the energy. I think both struggle on the ball but Nathan has the type of movement, energy and drive that can lift the crowd and his team mates and we need some energy so we start quickly. I'd also be tempted to start Gayle rather than Junior but he may make a better sub than starter.

Can’t see Bowie being on the bench tomorrow. Gray has said before the end of January so maybe next week is more realistic.

10-01-2025, 12:57 PM
Is Newell still out, if so has he been ruled out for a period of time? Not sure I seen anything

Out for another three weeks according to SDG.

10-01-2025, 01:24 PM
A parking cone is more mobile than Kwon and shows more imagination

In a game where would expect to dominate possession, surely Levitt gets the nod ahead of Kwon. That said, he isn't getting minutes, despite looking decent in his limited cameo appearances.

If Gayle is fit, he should start the game. Hopefully Youan is able to participate, even from the bench, we need his creativity.

Really looking forward to the game, the team must maintain our forward momentum in a league that is now looking tighter than a gnat's chuff.

10-01-2025, 02:25 PM
Myko was in the training pics so maybe a place on the bench for him ?

Could be the last time we see some of the Hibs bench if they leave in Jan?

Or will McKirdy finally get his goal against Clydebank?

10-01-2025, 02:30 PM
Myko was in the training pics so maybe a place on the bench for him ?

Could be the last time we see some of the Hibs bench if they leave in Jan?

Or will McKirdy finally get his goal against Clydebank?

Gray has ruled him out. Hoping to have him and Bowie back involved next week.

10-01-2025, 02:37 PM
Aye she's good thanks

10-01-2025, 03:02 PM
No injured players back according to SDG in today's press conference. Days and Weeks not months for them all with Big Marv furthest away

10-01-2025, 03:06 PM
Think Motherwell will be up for this. Chance for them to finish top 5.

Plus they were awful against hearts a few weeks back

That said I fancy us to dig in and gray giving the main first team players some time off next weekend.

Must win game to stay within touching distance of that pack hunting down United and Aberdeen.

10-01-2025, 03:11 PM
Thought Kettlewell spoke well in his pre-match about Hibs and totally agree with him about having a hectic schedule of games around this time isn’t great …

https://youtu.be/aM5LuYsHGQo?si=9D4pztz29eR4ym1s

Always comes over as a decent guy, in a well run club full of good people.

Motherwell tend to blow and hot and cold. They were terrible at Fir Park when we started turning things round, and I think they'll be better now. I'm predicting a close game and hoping for 2-1 Hibs

10-01-2025, 03:14 PM
No injured players back according to SDG in today's press conference. Days and Weeks not months for them all with Big Marv furthest away

That’s a shame. After a shaky start I was beginning to warm to Marv.

Mcbizz1998
10-01-2025, 03:34 PM

If anything, that means we will lose. Are you new to supporting Hibs or something? 😂

10-01-2025, 03:35 PM
If anything, that means we will lose. Are you new to supporting Hibs or something? 😂

Where's your confidence man? :greengrin

Donegal Hibby
10-01-2025, 03:38 PM
Always comes over as a decent guy, in a well run club full of good people.

Motherwell tend to blow and hot and cold. They were terrible at Fir Park when we started turning things round, and I think they'll be better now. I'm predicting a close game and hoping for 2-1 Hibs

Agree with what you say and in particular about Motherwell blow hot and cold , get them on a good day and it won’t be as easy as some think .

Mcbizz1998
10-01-2025, 03:38 PM

Long since bludgeoned out of me! I’ll be there in hope though, I’ve still got some of that 👍

10-01-2025, 03:42 PM
Long since bludgeoned out of me! I’ll be there in hope though, I’ve still got some of that ��

In all seriousness there's a real bit of mettle about this team, we've cut out the mistakes and score a lot of goals. Motherwell were by all accounts awful against Killie, as they were against us. They're ravaged with injuries - we aren't much better off in fairness.

Dwight Gayle masterclass incoming. Possibly from the bench :greengrin

When I say cut out the mistakes I mean the red cards - not the Bushiri masterclass defending!

Mcbizz1998
10-01-2025, 03:48 PM

In all seriousness there's a real bit of mettle about this team, we've cut out the mistakes and score a lot of goals. Motherwell were by all accounts awful against Killie, as they were against us. They're ravaged with injuries - we aren't much better off in fairness.

Dwight Gayle masterclass incoming. Possibly from the bench :greengrin

When I say cut out the mistakes I mean the red cards - not the Bushiri masterclass defending!

Fingers crossed mate. Win tomorrow and we effectively have 2 weeks to get some of the injuries sorted before we go again in the league. Potential to have Newell, Youan, Bowie and Myko all back for the Ross county game. Picking up 3 points tomorrow would be massive, to then have the injured players back and hopefully some new signings afterwards would give us a great platform to really kick on.

10-01-2025, 04:06 PM
It’s. Must win game given we have drawn the last two You don’t cling the league with draws I thought we would beat st Johnstone and we didn’t
But if we are up for this one don’t makes mistakes at the back and crucially take our chances we can win this one

10-01-2025, 04:11 PM
Fingers crossed mate. Win tomorrow and we effectively have 2 weeks to get some of the injuries sorted before we go again in the league. Potential to have Newell, Youan, Bowie and Myko all back for the Ross county game. Picking up 3 points tomorrow would be massive, to then have the injured players back and hopefully some new signings afterwards would give us a great platform to really kick on.
agree re winning tomorrow Only proviso re injured players coming back is they need game time to get match fit again and some can’t be risked by going straight back in Bowie will need to come on off the bench to start with I would think
Hoping by next game we will have made a new signing as well

EGL2000
10-01-2025, 04:26 PM
Well missing Lennon miller is a big bonus. However, they do have a few other key players coming back from injury who haven't played the last couple games against us.

10-01-2025, 04:32 PM
It’s. Must win game given we have drawn the last two You don’t cling the league with draws I thought we would beat st Johnstone and we didn’t
But if we are up for this one don’t makes mistakes at the back and crucially take our chances we can win this one

In all fairness, pretty much every game is a must-win until the split given how close it is between 6th and 11th.

Still though, with 1 defeat in our last 8 games, we're riding a wave of confidence and I'm looking forward to going to ER and to watch the Hibs.

sauzee1989
10-01-2025, 04:41 PM
Not buying the Youan injury claim still.

Hibees1973
10-01-2025, 04:46 PM

Last time I was fully confident about Hibs beating anyone was when Sauzee was playing as sweeper in his pomp while at Hibs.

Will be a while untll I'm confident under our current lot.

10-01-2025, 04:48 PM

Agreed. He’s really gone off the boil. It was a huge improvement last week when we changed to having two midfielders pressing higher up after NMW came on. I don’t think Triantis and Kwon works well for us. Big question is do we start with NMW?

10-01-2025, 04:55 PM
Not buying the Youan injury claim still.

If it is a broken toe as reported that should deter any suitors puts him back to square one

Edit : Had an MRI not broken just badly bruised and swollen could be good to go anytime if responds to treatment

Hibs Observer

10-01-2025, 05:14 PM
Last time I was fully confident about Hibs beating anyone was when Sauzee was playing as sweeper in his pomp while at Hibs.

Will be a while untll I'm confident under our current lot.

Clydebank ?

Stonewall
10-01-2025, 05:29 PM
If it is a broken toe as reported that should deter any suitors puts him back to square one

Edit : Had an MRI not broken just badly bruised and swollen could be good to go anytime if responds to treatment

Hibs Observer

i predict he’ll be okay once the window has closed.

10-01-2025, 05:32 PM
Going to be a tricky game tomorrow, can't see many changes from the rangers game

Cabbage-Patch
10-01-2025, 06:42 PM
Very frustrating despite us being the best form team in the league last 6 games we are still only 3 points above the Play off places. One loss and the teams below pick up points we are right back bang in trouble. 3 points a must tomorrow!

10-01-2025, 06:44 PM
Another big game, one we should be looking for 3 points, no slow starts please.

Hopefully Boyles on form again.

10-01-2025, 06:47 PM
Very frustrating despite us being the best form team in the league last 6 games we are still only 3 points above the Play off places. One loss and the teams below pick up points we are right back bang in trouble. 3 points a must tomorrow!

We’re going to draw/lose games along the way. I think we’ll pick up enough points between now and the end of the season to be pretty well clear of the playoff place. A win is more critical in terms of us pushing up the league than ending up back in trouble IMO.

10-01-2025, 07:09 PM

Thinking the same and will be happy as long as we win.

I’ll be disappointed if we drop points in this one.

PHeffernan
10-01-2025, 07:52 PM
It's currently only 2 days since Motherwell last played and 5.5 days since Hibs played so a big advantage for us there.
I watched their full game on Wednesday and they offered little and Liam Gordon had to be subbed at half time due to injury.
Missing long term casualty Lennon Miller didn't help.

Ordinarily all that would see me confident of a Hibs win tomorrow, however, playing without Youan and Newell saw a drop off in performance during the second half against the 10 men of Kilmarnock and for an hour against the 10 men of St J. I put that down to the aforemention missing players as Gray tries to manage Gayle by playing Hoilett in an ill suiting role.
The Rangers game saw Gayle start again and finish along with a run into the ground Boyle. As I mentioned Hibs have had a rest since Sunday and that could prove the advantage that tips the balance our way tomorrow especially if we start with Gayle form the start knowing he can have a sleep for 2 weeks after the Motherwell game.

Win tomorrow and we have 3 weeks until our next league game at home.
That will allow injured players Kuharevych and apparently Bowie to return for that league game against Ross County but Youan will either be away or still have his transfer toe injury for a final week. Can see Newell and Ekpiteta missing 2 more league games after tomorrow. All in all, 2 more league games after tomorrow before we have a full strength squad plus a couple of new starts from the latter end of the transfer window.
Unfortunately tomorrows must win game will have to be navigated without them, but win we must, to both close the gap on tomorrow's opponents and keep ahead of the chasing pack.

AdidasHibernian
10-01-2025, 07:56 PM
Think tomorrow will be tough but fancy us to get a win. Motherwell have been poor apart from Rangers game and even against Aberdeen they weren't world beaters.

I think we will win 2-0..Mon The Hibs 🇳🇬

TrinityHFC
10-01-2025, 08:54 PM
i predict he’ll be okay once the window has closed.

Probably says more about you than him to be fair.

Donegal Hibby
10-01-2025, 09:23 PM
Hoping the extra couple of days we have had on Motherwell will benefit us tomorrow as i felt at times we looked to be running on empty at times , surely can’t hurt anyhow.

seanshow
10-01-2025, 11:30 PM
Pre game press conference against Motherwell
David Gray (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lIV-fjKsuDk)
Nicky Cadden (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dk6KM1IZcrs)

....This is old now but, an extended version of Martin Boyle post the the Rangers game
Boyler (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AxXi_e8Y3Hc)

Donegal Hibby
10-01-2025, 11:36 PM
Thanks for posting Seanshow 👍

11-01-2025, 07:12 AM
Tough one today. Motherwell are no mugs. Winnable tho even with our absentees.

11-01-2025, 07:17 AM
If attending game today I would wrap up warm - it’s really cold outside !!

The next 4 fixtures including this game have a feeling it could really define our season - especially with the fixtures this weekend.

We have had a great run - shown togetherness and we should be aiming to push on.

Let’s get behind the team and get another 3 points after the previous Motherwell win at Easter Road.

The Motherwell captain went off with a head injury midweek so curious to see if they follow any head injury protocols or just play him.

malcolm
11-01-2025, 08:25 AM
It seems the barriers in Albion Place will be up at the end of the game which is a complete pain -

Supporters are advised that the route around the rear of the South Stand will be closed before and after the match. In addition, barriers will be in place in Albion Place post-match and spectators are advised to exit via St Clair Street or Hawkhill Avenue.

Anyone know how long they stay up for? It surely won’t take long for the small number of Motherwell fans to clear off :wink:

HIBS NUTS
11-01-2025, 08:31 AM
It seems the barriers in Albion Place will be up at the end of the game which is a complete pain -

Supporters are advised that the route around the rear of the South Stand will be closed before and after the match. In addition, barriers will be in place in Albion Place post-match and spectators are advised to exit via St Clair Street or Hawkhill Avenue.

Anyone know how long they stay up for? It surely won’t take long for the small number of Motherwell fans to clear off :wink:

They usually stay up, for so long that you would be advised to take a different route, so for 50 wee Ned’s in the Motherwell end, our entire stadium has to take alternative ways home .
How about keeping the little neds inside .

11-01-2025, 08:32 AM

Celtic & Rangers , Hearts is a pain in the erse but Motherwell wtf :confused:

Chorley Hibee
11-01-2025, 08:34 AM
They usually stay up, for so long that you would be advised to take a different route, so for 50 wee Ned’s in the Motherwell end, our entire stadium has to take alternative ways home .
How about keeping the little neds inside .

A complete and utter nonsense, and a sad indictment of the inability of the police to deal with a bunch of kids on both sides.

A bunch of kids that the police, and clubs, will be well aware of as well.

About time they started cracking down on them properly if they're such a nuisance.

11-01-2025, 08:35 AM
Celtic & Rangers , Hearts is a pain in the erse but Motherwell wtf :confused:

Will be because there was scrapping the last time we played them. Although that was away up the town so don’t know what difference they think this will make!

11-01-2025, 08:36 AM

FFS, at least we have prior notice I suppose, last time was a farce. Got that moron with the loud hailer to look forward to as well as Animal from the Muppets on drums.

HIBS NUTS
11-01-2025, 08:40 AM
Will be because there was scrapping the last time we played them. Although that was away up the town so don’t know what difference they think this will make!

If they can’t keep them apart, keep the small amount of Motherwell fans inside.
Hibs fans get kept in at ibrox for at least 20 minutes.
The normal Motherwell fans, might even do something about them.

11-01-2025, 08:48 AM
Motherwell fans on P&B reckon they will bring about 400/500 fans.

So we inconvenience 3000 people - including those who may have mobility issues - in our main stand for that?

Its appalling crowd management by (either) Hibs or the police.

I can almost understand it for the Cat A games, but this is a ****ing joke.

HIBS NUTS
11-01-2025, 08:51 AM
Because we are a bit short of numbers, and with most the bench, expected, not to be here come summer.
It would be nice to see Murray Aiken get a place on the bench.
He’s back at the club, and was captain, of our under 19s team, that done so well.
Injury has held him back.

MacGruber
11-01-2025, 08:57 AM
With Youan, Newell and Myko still missing my worry for today is whether we create enough. Still puzzles me Gayle couldn't do 45 in Perth but the full game a few days later v Rangers. Hopefully he is available for a good spell today.

We will have possession of the ball, personally would have Levitt back in. We really need to be on the front foot

11-01-2025, 09:10 AM
Because we are a bit short of numbers, and with most the bench, expected, not to be here come summer.
It would be nice to see Murray Aiken get a place on the bench.
He’s back at the club, and was captain, of our under 19s team, that done so well.
Injury has held him back.

If he got on he wouldn't be able to go on loan again unless it was back to Airdrie I think.

11-01-2025, 09:10 AM
With Youan, Newell and Myko still missing my worry for today is whether we create enough. Still puzzles me Gayle couldn't do 45 in Perth but the full game a few days later v Rangers. Hopefully he is available for a good spell today.

We will have possession of the ball, personally would have Levitt back in. We really need to be on the front foot

Motherwell missing 5 or 6 players as well, including their best one.

We just need to find a way to win today. Can’t afford to drop anything.

HIBS NUTS
11-01-2025, 09:24 AM
If he got on he wouldn't be able to go on loan again unless it was back to Airdrie I think.
Fair point, Mabye it’s time for him to fight for a place in the hibs team.

11-01-2025, 09:31 AM

It’s obvious Gayle has been managed like Hoilett with minutes.

No chance he could have done 90 mins and 90 mins so close together.

As others have said after today we have the cup game so can freshen up so hopefully the group have enjoyed the few days rest and can give it all today.

11-01-2025, 11:13 AM
Heads up for people driving, the lights are back on at Lochend road. It was a nightmare last year but they left over christmas, back now and likely to cause huge delays. Avoid at all costs

11-01-2025, 11:23 AM
We’ve not had a positivity thread as we have done for the entirety of our unbeaten run - who starts these? We need them to get on it and see us riding closer to a triumphant third in the league :hyper

11-01-2025, 12:02 PM
Avoid Abbeyhill today, the temp light heading towards Easter Road are only on green for 3 second.

11-01-2025, 12:03 PM
Heads up for people driving, the lights are back on at Lochend road. It was a nightmare last year but they left over christmas, back now and likely to cause huge delays. Avoid at all costs

Just read this after posting about Abbeyhill.

11-01-2025, 12:06 PM
FFS, at least we have prior notice I suppose, last time was a farce. Got that moron with the loud hailer to look forward to as well as Animal from the Muppets on drums.
😂😂😂

11-01-2025, 12:20 PM
We’ve not had a positivity thread as we have done for the entirety of our unbeaten run - who starts these? We need them to get on it and see us riding closer to a triumphant third in the league :hyper

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?369368-Hibees-positivity-thread-ahead-of-the-Motherwell-game