View Full Version : Wonderful old Hibs film
He's here!
09-01-2025, 01:06 PM
https://movingimage.nls.uk/film/8528
Something to pass the time as the transfer window drags on with no Hibs-related news...
Many will have seen this before (and I also posted it on the goalkeeping thread), but this version is longer than the one I've previously watched and includes footage of kids attending what I assume is holiday training event at ER (anyone recognise any of the 'stars of the future'?). It also includes introductions to more of the players of that era than I remember seeing before.
What always strikes me about the match footage is just how huge the old Ibrox must have been. The crowd looks like it's upwards of 80k, possibly nearer 100k.
ER was also about to become a lot bigger with the extension to the main terracing, which you can see is about to get under way in the St Mirren footage.
09-01-2025, 01:24 PM
Something to pass the time as the transfer window drags on with no Hibs-related news...
Many will have seen this before (and I also posted it on the goalkeeping thread), but this version is longer than the one I've previously watched and includes footage of kids attending what I assume is holiday training event at ER (anyone recognise any of the 'stars of the future'?). It also includes introductions to more of the players of that era than I remember seeing before.
What always strikes me about the match footage is just how huge the old Ibrox must have been. The crowd looks like it's upwards of 80k, possibly nearer 100k.
ER was also about to become a lot bigger with the extension to the main terracing, which you can see is about to get under way in the St Mirren footage.
101K according to this - https://gameofthepeople.com/2021/07/26/hibernian-1950-52-five-was-the-magic-number/
Hibs failed to retain the title in 1949 but went painfully close again in 1950, losing to Rangers by a single point. They met the Glasgow giants at Ibrox just before the end of the season in front of 101,000 people, the largest crowd to watch a league match in Britain. The game ended in a draw, but if Hibs had won, they would have been champions again.
Wonderful video content, I have watched this lots of times and it's nice to connect the stories my dad tells me of those times.
He started watching Hibs in 1947 as a 14 year old.He had just started his apprenticeship and could afford to go games.
He said that alot of the players outwith the 5 were very good in their own right but overshadowed by a wonderful forward line.
He still has Gilzeens brass plaque in his hall at home.
09-01-2025, 01:59 PM
The kit worn by the Old Rangers (RIP) in that film looks almost navy.
Wonder when they got the nickname 'the light blues'
09-01-2025, 02:20 PM
Have watched this before good to see Harry Reading as a younger man a good friend of my dad and I met Harry when my dad did some work for him. . Wonder if the youngsters were from Edinburgh Thistle who had links with Hibs and they trained at Easter Road, Harry and later my dad helped run the teams. Eddie Turnbull put a stop to Edinburgh Thistle using Easter Road in the early 60s.
09-01-2025, 04:48 PM
Have watched this before good to see Harry Reading as a younger man a good friend of my dad and I met Harry when my dad did some work for him. . Wonder if the youngsters were from Edinburgh Thistle who had links with Hibs and they trained at Easter Road, Harry and later my dad helped run the teams. Eddie Turnbull put a stop to Edinburgh Thistle using Easter Road in the early 60s.
My late Dad played some games for Edinburgh Thistle in that era who he told us were a feeder team for those hoping to advance onto Hibs books. First time I've heard Edinburgh Thistle mentioned in connection with Hibs since my Dads recollections. Thanks for sharing that info.
09-01-2025, 04:56 PM
My late Dad played some games for Edinburgh Thistle in that era who he told us were a feeder team for those hoping to advance onto Hibs books. First time I've heard Edinburgh Thistle mentioned in connection with Hibs since my Dads recollections. Thanks for sharing that info.
Yes Edinburgh Thistle were a feeder team in those days. No doubt my dad would have probably put your dad through hell at training.
09-01-2025, 05:19 PM
Saw that footage on a Hibs VHS I had in the mid 90's. Must have been around the time the FF and South standstill were built.
pollution
09-01-2025, 06:26 PM
The Haymarket bar is tiny compared to now!
09-01-2025, 06:33 PM
The kit worn by the Old Rangers (RIP) in that film looks almost navy.
Wonder when they got the nickname 'the light blues'
They did play in light blue. Suspect it’s the colour quality on the film.
09-01-2025, 07:03 PM
They did play in light blue. Suspect it’s the colour quality on the film.
There was a story many years ago when Rangers came out with a strip one season they were told that the colour was St Patrick's blue so they changed it to Royal Blue.
09-01-2025, 07:07 PM
There was a story many years ago when Rangers came out with a strip one season they were told that the colour was St Patrick's blue so they changed it to Royal Blue.https://images.app.goo.gl/yg2CNMMffnk33X4K8
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
09-01-2025, 07:08 PM
Lawrie Reilly came from Edinburgh Thistle
He's here!
09-01-2025, 08:28 PM
Saw that footage on a Hibs VHS I had in the mid 90's. Must have been around the time the FF and South standstill were built.
Yes, that's where I first saw it. Might be wrong but I don't think it was the full film, which this version is. I remember my dad saying he remembered the one-man band on Albion Place.
09-01-2025, 08:59 PM
Yes, that's where I first saw it. Might be wrong but I don't think it was the full film, which this version is. I remember my dad saying he remembered the one-man band on Albion Place.
First saw the film at a BB ex members smoker(those were the days)in the late 1950s. Bill Heeps who was a journalist with the Dispatch and then the News used to tour various social clubs with sports films. They were very popular.
09-01-2025, 10:35 PM
Yeah I've seen a more condensed version of the video too. There's footage on this one that I haven't seen before.
Great to see the whole film.
09-01-2025, 10:44 PM
There was a story many years ago when Rangers came out with a strip one season they were told that the colour was St Patrick's blue so they changed it to Royal Blue.
I love the fact their new chairman (or is it CEO) is called Paddy. Old rangers would never have allowed that
09-01-2025, 11:56 PM
I love the fact their new chairman (or is it CEO) is called Paddy. Old rangers would never have allowed that
Will feel at home with all the klingons.
10-01-2025, 07:05 AM
I love watching these old films. Wish there were more of them. They're like a social history lesson.
He's here!
10-01-2025, 10:51 AM
You can see why Gordon Smith was such a star. Good looks to match his terrific footballing ability.
I don't know much about Willie Finnigan but he looks like he's reached the veteran stage. My dad said he was a little before his time.
10-01-2025, 12:21 PM
Scottish Cup 1951
Rangers 2 v 3 Hibernian
https://youtu.be/Cdtm5w3LDNU?si=4Me5WWD-pzYS5J2t
10-01-2025, 01:08 PM
Scottish Cup 1951
Rangers 2 v 3 Hibernian
Not seen that one before! Very immature but had a wee chuckle every time he said "The Rangers".
He's here!
10-01-2025, 01:30 PM
Scottish Cup 1951
Rangers 2 v 3 Hibernian
Anyone ever go to the old Ibrox? It looks absolutely massive.
The rebuild must have involved demolishing everything bar the main stand. Did they play at Hampden for a while or do it stand by stand?
10-01-2025, 02:31 PM
Scottish Cup 1951
Rangers 2 v 3 Hibernian
You just can't beat a 3-2 win against Rangers in the Scottish Cup
10-01-2025, 05:28 PM
Anyone ever go to the old Ibrox? It looks absolutely massive.
The rebuild must have involved demolishing everything bar the main stand. Did they play at Hampden for a while or do it stand by stand?
Stand by stand. The workers would sit and watch the match.
10-01-2025, 05:31 PM
Aye can mind they built the Centenary Stand opposite the Main Stand to house attendances of 6-7k
They did walking away before they did walking away
11-01-2025, 06:53 AM
Scottish Cup 1951
Rangers 2 v 3 Hibernian
Great video, some crowd
bringbackbenny
11-01-2025, 07:28 AM
Scottish Cup 1951
Rangers 2 v 3 Hibernian
My dad was at this game, mentions travelling through on the Morrisons and Gibb work bus leaving from Canonmills!
Also chat of another SC semi final fixture vs Rangers a few years later 1958, draw at weekend then Hibs won the replay. But alas lost the final to Clyde.
He's here!
11-01-2025, 10:12 AM
Aye can mind they built the Centenary Stand opposite the Main Stand to house attendances of 6-7k
They did walking away before they did walking away
Think the rationale behind the new stadium was sound (ie safety/post-Ibrox disaster) but the architecture was quite basic back then and the new stadium was pretty dull with big gaps at each corner. A combination of costs and fans staying away saw them really struggle pre-Souness. I'm sure I remember them finishing 5th one season.
In saying that, the only two other 'all seated' stadia then were Pittodrie and Kilbowie which were really just the same as they'd always been except with seats/benches bolted on to the terracing. Kilbowie was actually MORE unsafe than previously with its uncovered wooden benches getting soaked and slippery in the rain.
11-01-2025, 10:18 AM
Think the rationale behind the new stadium was sound (ie safety/post-Ibrox disaster) but the architecture was quite basic back then and the new stadium was pretty dull with big gaps at each corner. A combination of costs and fans staying away saw them really struggle pre-Souness. I'm sure I remember them finishing 5th one season.
In saying that, the only two other 'all seated' stadia then were Pittodrie and Kilbowie which were really just the same as they'd always been except with seats/benches bolted on to the terracing. Kilbowie was actually MORE unsafe than previously with its uncovered wooden benches getting soaked and slippery in the rain.
Sticks in my mind Willie Waddell lecturing in the animals on the pitch outside the Centenary Stand on how to behave themselves after the 1980 Scottish Cup Final
11-01-2025, 10:27 AM
My dad was at this game, mentions travelling through on the Morrisons and Gibb work bus leaving from Canonmills!
Also chat of another SC semi final fixture vs Rangers a few years later 1958, draw at weekend then Hibs won the replay. But alas lost the final to Clyde.
Typical.
11-01-2025, 10:35 AM
Way, way before my time but that Clyde final haunts me thanks to my Dad's stories about how disappointed he was. We should ban any mention of it!
I don't think it was actually that much of a shock at the time though?
11-01-2025, 10:41 AM
After 58 my Dad refused to take me in 1972 all the fight had been kicked out of him
‘ Hibs always let you down ‘ He said
Went through on the Carlton Branch my 14 year old self
He was right we got gubbed 6-1
11-01-2025, 10:48 AM
After 58 my Dad refused to take me in 1972 all the fight had been kicked out of him
‘ Hibs always let you down ‘ He said
Went through on the Carlton Branch my 14 year old self
He was right we got gubbed 6-1
I wonder if the reaction to the Clyde final was as strong as it was because the result hammered home that, without the F5, our time in the sun was over.
He's here!
11-01-2025, 12:22 PM
Way, way before my time but that Clyde final haunts me thanks to my Dad's stories about how disappointed he was. We should ban any mention of it!
Clyde at the time were a much more competitive team than they are now. Think they'd finished above us in the league that season.
He's here!
11-01-2025, 12:27 PM
I wonder if the reaction to the Clyde final was as strong as it was because the result hammered home that, without the F5, our time in the sun was over.
The title-winning days may have been behind us but we still had some great days ahead with Joe Baker coming into the side and numerous cracking European nights. We were very much in the running for a league and Scottish Cup double under Jock Stein before he abandoned us for Celtic. Turnbull revived us and it's really since the late 70s that we've most notably fallen away.
11-01-2025, 01:02 PM
Clyde at the time were a much more competitive team than they are now. Think they'd finished above us in the league that season.
Didn't we play much of the game with ten men as someone got injured early?
11-01-2025, 06:13 PM
Leg break, I think.
He's here!
11-01-2025, 06:25 PM
Effectively 10 men. Andy Aitken got injured early on, stayed on but was little more than a passenger.
Not only did we beat Rangers in the semi, we also knocked Hearts out at Tynecastle. 4-3, with Joe Baker scoring all four.
11-01-2025, 06:56 PM
And we beat Rangers in the league 3-1 on the Monday before the final.Lawrie Reilly scored in his last game and Andy Aitken got the other two. Aitken was targeted by Mike Clinton early on and two bad fouls saw him crocked.It was Clyde’s second cup success in three years.
He's here!
11-01-2025, 10:44 PM
And we beat Rangers in the league 3-1 on the Monday before the final.Lawrie Reilly scored in his last game and Andy Aitken got the other two. Aitken was targeted by Mike Clinton early on and two bad fouls saw him crocked.It was Clyde’s second cup success in three years.
I didn't realise Lawrie didn't play in the final. Stunning to think he was only 29 when he was forced to retire. Imagine what his goal tally would have been if injury hadn't brought down the curtain so early.
12-01-2025, 09:40 AM
Leg break, I think.
Andy Aitken got injured after 13 minutes with an injured knee and effectively became a passenger no subs in them days
Turnbull lost the ball in midfield on 24 minutes the ball was quickly passed to Coyle who scored the only goal in a scrappy game in off Baxter
Joe Baker equalised late on but was adjudged to have used a hand
Another year of pain
13-01-2025, 01:23 PM
I do remember being taken to Ibrox in 1963 for a league match. The ground did seem massive and pretty intimidating.
I like the video shots of the big east terrace being built up. Shame they couldn't put a cover over it as it would have improved the atmosphere at Easter Road.
13-01-2025, 02:17 PM
Yes think Clyde were a very decent team in those days
13-01-2025, 02:55 PM
Yes think Clyde were a very decent team in those days
Dad said their captain Harry Haddock was a supper player.
13-01-2025, 03:02 PM
Dad said their captain Harry Haddock was a supper player.
The #8 Currie was pretty hot tae and that Tommy Ring the third time Clyde had won the Cup
Septimus
14-01-2025, 07:27 AM
Clyde was a really good team in a competitive league when beating Rangers seemed quite normal .
14-01-2025, 09:48 AM
Unbelievable. I know EXACTLY what house Harry Swann lived in, assuming that footage shows him in his back garden at the beginning.
14-01-2025, 09:58 AM
And oh my God, that green and white quarter panel shirt some of them are wearing during training!!!
Just gorgeous. Please, Hibs, pleeeeeeeese!
DanishJohn
14-01-2025, 12:35 PM
I do remember being taken to Ibrox in 1963 for a league match. The ground did seem massive and pretty intimidating.
I like the video shots of the big east terrace being built up. Shame they couldn't put a cover over it as it would have improved the atmosphere at Easter Road.
That 1963 game at Ibrox.
Can you remember what colour of goalkeeper's top Ronnie Simpson wore that day?
14-01-2025, 02:53 PM
Red ?
DanishJohn
14-01-2025, 03:19 PM
Red ?
Yes Billy it was red.
Again because I don't know how its done using a link,
however if you visit a site called Memory Lane type in Rangers V Hibs 1963 and you will see some great colour pics from the game. (forget the score !)
14-01-2025, 03:36 PM
Yes Billy it was red.
Again because I don't know how its done using a link,
however if you visit a site called Memory Lane type in Rangers V Hibs 1963 and you will see some great colour pics from the game. (forget the score !)
There were two games at Ibrox in 1963 April 3-1 and September 1963 5-0 both wins for Rangers
I did find black and white images from both games difficult to decipher the actual colour but I do recall seeing colour images of Ronnie Simpson wearing a red top for us
https://i.ibb.co/wR69GCk/IMG-3205.png (https://ibb.co/808Wv2C)
14-01-2025, 04:27 PM
https://youtu.be/fOWiAWooQYQ?si=EZ7zi-MYg4a6I6jc
Only posting this because it was my first Hibs game.
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
He's here!
14-01-2025, 06:27 PM
Unbelievable. I know EXACTLY what house Harry Swann lived in, assuming that footage shows him in his back garden at the beginning.
You have to assume that was his house. Where is it? You get a glimpse of Arthur's seat and I was guessing Liberton. It's a funny wee clip.
And yes, agree about the quartered green and white shirts
14-01-2025, 06:31 PM
Clyde was a really good team in a competitive league when beating Rangers seemed quite normal .
Although they had quite an eventful 3/4 seasons.Two cup wins and relegation I think.
14-01-2025, 07:23 PM
Unbelievable footage!
Wonder why the stadium wasn't called Albion Road, given the main stand is on that road.
Peanut Shaz
14-01-2025, 07:49 PM
During his second spell as a Director with the club my other halfs Aunt was engaged to Harry Swan as well as his Dad playing for them. As a young boy he was regularly allowed in the Chairman’s Lounge and watched the games from the Directors box. His Aunt and Harry never got married following the engagement.
baker1959
16-01-2025, 01:32 PM
You have to assume that was his house. Where is it? You get a glimpse of Arthur's seat and I was guessing Liberton. It's a funny wee clip.
When Harry Swan died in 1966 his address was 4 Alnwickhill Road and I think that's the house in the film.
Hibspur
21-01-2025, 03:27 PM
My father recalls being taken to see Hibs play at Ibrox by my grandfather in the 50s. They might even have been at that cup game, but his main memory is of Gordon Smith getting the treatment from the home fans as he warmed up. They were scared of him!