View Full Version : Barbers, Nail Salons and Vape Shops
06-01-2025, 06:23 PM
What is the deal with these?
I always dismissed some of the accusations as the usual right wing propaganda but they are everywhere, particularly barbers and there is no way they can all be making money legitimately.
There was a barber near my parents for years. I got my hair cut there as a teenager and my dad used him as well. He closed up for good a while back saying he couldn't make it pay anymore. The shop is now occupied by another barber, the shop next door is a barber, go up 5 steps and 20 yards round the corner and there is.......a barber. About a quarter of a mile down the road a vacant unit has not long opened as a barber and another 200 yards along the street there is a barber.
Near me on Niddrie Mains Road there are 3 barbers about 50 yards apart. One also specialises in the totally related fields of phone repairs and vape sales. There is another barber on Milton Road that I have literally never seen a customer in. Every time I pass there is one guy is sitting on his phone. Portobello High street has at least 5 barbers on a half mile drag.
There are all kinds of explanations on social media that verge from the racist to the believable. They can't all be legit though can they? It must be money laundering of some description surely? A business that could easily be handling a lot of cash seems as good a front as any I suppose.
babahibs
06-01-2025, 06:40 PM
I always dismissed some of the accusations as the usual right wing propaganda but they are everywhere, particularly barbers and there is no way they can all be making money legitimately.
There was a barber near my parents for years. I got my hair cut there as a teenager and my dad used him as well. He closed up for good a while back saying he couldn't make it pay anymore. The shop is now occupied by another barber, the shop next door is a barber, go up 5 steps and 20 yards round the corner and there is.......a barber. About a quarter of a mile down the road a vacant unit has not long opened as a barber and another 200 yards along the street there is a barber.
Near me on Niddrie Mains Road there are 3 barbers about 50 yards apart. One also specialises in the totally related fields of phone repairs and vape sales. There is another barber on Milton Road that I have literally never seen a customer in. Every time I pass there is one guy is sitting on his phone. Portobello High street has at least 5 barbers on a half mile drag.
There are all kinds of explanations on social media that verge from the racist to the believable. They can't all be legit though can they? It must be money laundering of some description surely? A business that could easily be handling a lot of cash seems as good a front as any I suppose.
Money laundering, simple.
Ignore the racist pish though.
06-01-2025, 06:41 PM
I've wondered about this myself.
Some streets in Glasgow have so many nail bars, barbers, ice cream shops, tanning salons and other businesses that surely have a limited customer base, considering how many there are in close proximity.
06-01-2025, 06:43 PM
Same over here. Before I moved out of Berlin 10 years back, I lived in the area that had most restaurants per inhabitants. About 15 years ago the restaurants started closing and one by one were replaced with tattoo parlours, betting shops and barbershops. Only the barbershops ever had any customers but no where near enough to turn a profit. IMO the only explanation can be money laundering.
06-01-2025, 06:45 PM
I've wondered about this myself.
Some streets in Glasgow have so many nail bars, barbers, ice cream shops, tanning salons and other businesses that surely have a limited customer base, considering how many there are in close proximity.
Ice cream and dessert shops is another one. Everywhere.
06-01-2025, 07:13 PM
Post brexit, these, charity shops & coffee shops are Britain's growth industries. Right behind food banks.
06-01-2025, 07:27 PM
I have my own business - in a sector that the untrained eye would think it’s easy to be successful in - and it’s become much more challenging to make a profit over the past few years, so I often look at other businesses and wonder how on Earth they manage to survive.
Labour costs will presumably be cheap for a lot of them, that’s often the killer. But heating premises, heating water, rates, loan repayments then cost of credit servicing loans, insurance etc etc - most businesses just look like money pits.
My sense of optimism left the building some time ago, which is a problem when you’re the leader trying to be the ray of light.
But yeah, I look at all of that and think wtf too. Is that what there is demand for in Brexit Britain or is it something else?
Add American sweet shops to the list. Private Eye did a thing on them, in London, a while back before we got the same in Edinburgh.
I'm not sure about some of the Indian street food places either.
06-01-2025, 08:36 PM
Add American sweet shops to the list. Private Eye did a thing on them, in London, a while back before we got the same in Edinburgh.
Possibly this?
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10853107/Huge-tax-probe-launched-American-candy-stores-Londons-Oxford-Street.html
06-01-2025, 08:38 PM
Possibly this?
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10853107/Huge-tax-probe-launched-American-candy-stores-Londons-Oxford-Street.htmlIt's almost as bad as luring vulnerable pensioners into buying hard copies of the Daily Mail[emoji6]
06-01-2025, 08:40 PM
It's almost as bad as luring vulnerable pensioners into buying hard copies of the Daily Mail[emoji6]
tbf, that story is on many sites. The Mail version seemed to be the easiest to understand.
06-01-2025, 08:43 PM
tbf, that story is on many sites. The Mail version seemed to be the easiest to understand.Consistent with its target audience.
Possibly this?
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10853107/Huge-tax-probe-launched-American-candy-stores-Londons-Oxford-Street.html
I prefer the Private Eye articles but appreciate they're not available online 😆
That's the gist of it though. If only councils in Scotland followed Westminster's (council) lead.
06-01-2025, 08:43 PM
With the barbers, is it not just supply and demand? All the ones in Corstorphine are always flat out busy. Maybe blokes are going more than every 6 weeks these days, especially with all the beard trimming? [emoji2369]
I would suspect money laundering if they were all empty but that doesn’t appear to be the case?
06-01-2025, 09:15 PM
With the barbers, is it not just supply and demand? All the ones in Corstorphine are always flat out busy. Maybe blokes are going more than every 6 weeks these days, especially with all the beard trimming? [emoji2369]
I would suspect money laundering if they were all empty but that doesn’t appear to be the case?
Considering the amount of bald jambos I know and see, this surprises me.
06-01-2025, 10:22 PM
I wonder if there will be peak and off peak times with barbers too - like pubs etc (who may make the lion’s share of their profits on a Friday and Saturday night), might they have the place rammed at weekends and the place near empty through the week?
Stairway 2 7
07-01-2025, 05:24 AM
I read a thread from an actuary, the numbers are a guess but roughly he said. He lived in a town of less than 10k people within 5 miles and had 5 Turkish barbers. He worked out every male would have to have a haircut once a month just to cover rents and rates. That doesnt take in staff, electricity, people who cut their own hair or are bald.
The one beside me has two 100k Range Rovers outside regularly and is pretty dead most of the time.
The government probably knows they are fronts but it's fills up empty dying high streets and gets them some tax from the drug money, plus from landlords, electricity and the council gets money from council tax.
I'll copy and paste
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-13083199/Police-chief-warns-cheap-barber-shop-deals-criminal-gangs-exploit-workers-profit.html
There are now 17,702 nationwide, a 50 per cent increase since 2018, with 918 new establishments opening in the last year alone, the National Hair & Beauty Federation (NHBF) said.
07-01-2025, 05:42 AM
There are 5 barbers about 500 yards from me, i use one and he's nearly always busy. £12.50 a cut, it's not hard to see where he can make money.
I go in and normally there's 4 or 5 waiting, 15 minutes to cut each person, the money can mount up over a day/week.
Paul1642
07-01-2025, 06:10 AM
Near me on Niddrie Mains Road there are 3 barbers about 50 yards apart. One also specialises in the totally related fields of phone repairs and vape sales.
How about the Sushi place at the crossroads? Never seems to be open and when it is it always looks mostly empty. The concept of a sushi restaurant in Niddrie seemed a bit off from the start.
07-01-2025, 06:52 AM
Obviously not all barber shops are born the same but the ones you are alluding to are money laundering fronts for drug money, simple as that.
Paulie Walnuts
07-01-2025, 08:00 AM
Said the same about a couple of pubs near me.
I speak to the landlord when I’m out with the dog. Alright guy, bit of a gob*****, but he’s forever away to Dubai, eating in the finest restaurants, wandering around with his numerous Canada Goose jackets and out on the lash in all the other pubs and bars around the area. And there’s absolutely no chance in hell he’s turning a profit from the 2 (now 1 after he gave 1 up) pubs he’s got, infact he simply has to be making huge losses.
07-01-2025, 08:22 AM
How does a business with no customers launder money? Do they simply book themselves out to make them look a lot busier than they are on paper?
There's similar in Lanark, numerous barbers with no customers and big motors parked up out front. The only busy one is the one I use which is part of a chain in South Lanarkshire and West Lothian.
07-01-2025, 08:36 AM
As a stated above, the barbers I see are always busy. Younger men these days go to the barbers FAR more frequently than my generation. I'm 51, have a short back & sides hair cut and have gone for a hair cut once a month religiously since I were a lad. My 18 year old step son goes at least once a fortnight. I have a family member who's a hipster barber in Stirling. He has many clients who pay by monthly direct debit and go every week, without fail, for their (to the bone) skin fades.
Vape shops and tanning joints on the other hand.......I remember a few years ago reading a report that if the numbers declared by Glasgow tanning studios were accurate, the average Glaswegian would be black!
07-01-2025, 08:45 AM
As a stated above, the barbers I see are always busy. Younger men these days go to the barbers FAR more frequently than my generation. I'm 51, have a short back & sides hair cut and have gone for a hair cut once a month religiously since I were a lad. My 18 year old step son goes at least once a fortnight. I have a family member who's a hipster barber in Stirling. He has many clients who pay by monthly direct debit and go every week, without fail, for their (to the bone) skin fades.
Vape shops and tanning joints on the other hand.......I remember a few years ago reading a report that if the numbers declared by Glasgow tanning studios were accurate, the average Glaswegian would be black!
There are definitely barbers that are busy. A guy I was at school with is part owner of Rag & Bone which is very successful and busy and he previously worked for Boombarbers which is likewise.
The barbers I use is generally busy. There are others though, including one right next door to where I go that are never busy. There is one guy who sits in the shop day in, day out and I have never, ever seen him cut anyone's hair. Across the course of an hour or so a couple of fancy cars will pull up, nip inside for a minute or 2 then leave again. If it's legit then I'm a Hearts fan.
07-01-2025, 08:49 AM
There are definitely barbers that are busy. A guy I was at school with is part owner of Rag & Bone which is very successful and busy and he previously worked for Boombarbers which is likewise.
The barbers I use is generally busy. There are others though, including one right next door to where I go that are never busy. There is one guy who sits in the shop day in, day out and I have never, ever seen him cut anyone's hair. Across the course of an hour or so a couple of fancy cars will pull up, nip inside for a minute or 2 then leave again. If it's legit then I'm a Hearts fan.
Haha. I don't doubt that, like every type of business, there are barbers that are up to nonsense.
07-01-2025, 08:59 AM
How does a business with no customers launder money? Do they simply book themselves out to make them look a lot busier than they are on paper?
There's similar in Lanark, numerous barbers with no customers and big motors parked up out front. The only busy one is the one I use which is part of a chain in South Lanarkshire and West Lothian.
They just walk into the bank each morning with a large amount of money they claim were takings.
07-01-2025, 09:09 AM
They declare excessive amounts to HMRC, backed up by records and bank accounts showing cash going in, pay the tax, and the net amount is theirs.
These days, with anti money-laundering legislation in place, it can be quite difficult to do. Lawyers, accountants and banks are legally bound to report any suspicion of ML, and HMRC play their part too.
My suspicion is that the police are well aware of the ML side of things (they will get enough reports not to be), but the source of the cash is more important to them. They will chase that source as a priority, and any ML charges will come as an add-on.
07-01-2025, 09:44 AM
They declare excessive amounts to HMRC, backed up by records and bank accounts showing cash going in, pay the tax, and the net amount is theirs.
These days, with anti money-laundering legislation in place, it can be quite difficult to do. Lawyers, accountants and banks are legally bound to report any suspicion of ML, and HMRC play their part too.
My suspicion is that the police are well aware of the ML side of things (they will get enough reports not to be), but the source of the cash is more important to them. They will chase that source as a priority, and any ML charges will come as an add-on.
A few years back there were 2 guys who used to come into the bookies I used at Eyre Place (now closed). They would each load a couple of hundred quid into the FOBTs, play a single spin at £2, stand about for a bit then cash it out. They would take the slip to the counter, claim their 'winnings' and ask for a receipt for the pay out amount.
Story was they would do this in bookies all over Edinburgh and beyond so that if the police caught them with large amounts of cash on their person they could show the receipts as proof it was gambling winnings.
Not really money laundering as such and pretty unsophisticated and I always wondered if the police would buy it. They would have had to have been the luckiest punters in Scotland.
07-01-2025, 09:59 AM
They just walk into the bank each morning with a large amount of money they claim were takings.
But surely they need receipts for purchases and sales, for their account s
07-01-2025, 10:08 AM
They will process fake appointments and claim to be busy.
Bridge hibs
07-01-2025, 10:31 AM
Bostons second hand shop on Leith Walk was a perfect example of all of the above with regards a front for dubious transactions.
07-01-2025, 10:37 AM
Bostons second hand shop on Leith Walk was a perfect example of all of the above with regards a front for dubious transactions.
Boston's was brilliant, like an early version of the middle of Lidl, could get a samurai sword, a pneumatic drill and a fruit machine
07-01-2025, 10:41 AM
I never get a receipt at the barbers? And they don’t have to purchase much? All the costs are like paying tax for them.
07-01-2025, 10:58 AM
They will process fake appointments and claim to be busy.
The bank isn't interested in paperwork. They just process the cash.
HMRC very rarely ask for paperwork.
Accountants process the numbers in the records. Paperwork is generally only referred to if there is doubt, or clarification is needed. The "better " launderers will avoid accountants, or use those who aren't registered with any body that has anti-ML responsibilities.
07-01-2025, 11:04 AM
My local Turkish barber offers discount for cash payment and gives a seriously scary death scare if you have to pay by card :greengrin
07-01-2025, 11:26 AM
My local Turkish barber offers discount for cash payment and gives a seriously scary death scare if you have to pay by card :greengrin
Mine flat out refuses anything but cash.
07-01-2025, 12:21 PM
I was at mine last week - he said the card machine was down and pointed me to the nearby cash machine.
Even taxi drivers are mainly card now, barbers seem to be the last bastion of “cash only”.
I wonder why? 😂
07-01-2025, 12:29 PM
I was at mine last week - he said the card machine was down and pointed me to the nearby cash machine.
Even taxi drivers are mainly card now, barbers seem to be the last bastion of “cash only”.
I wonder why? [emoji23]
Acorrding to my son and nieces, nightclubs regularly have a two hour window where the card machines go down and it’s cash only at the bar. And at the door.
07-01-2025, 12:33 PM
Acorrding to my son and nieces, nightclubs regularly have a two hour window where the card machines go down and it’s cash only at the bar. And at the door.
That's less about money-laundering, more about tax evasion.
In years gone by, football clubs would "forget" to count the money from a couple of gates, and that cash would resurface in players' boots... the so-called "boot-money".
07-01-2025, 12:36 PM
In years gone by, football clubs would "forget" to count the money from a couple of gates, and that cash would resurface in players' boots... the so-called "boot-money".
Yes, I agree.[emoji106]
07-01-2025, 02:11 PM
It’s funny, in the days of Mercer & Waugh, both clubs were often accused of declaring lower crowds than actually attended. These days it’s the opposite. lol
07-01-2025, 02:43 PM
Boston's was brilliant, like an early version of the middle of Lidl, could get a samurai sword, a pneumatic drill and a fruit machine
He would then phone the polis and say someone is walking up the road with a stolen guitar and bike.
Bridge hibs
07-01-2025, 02:47 PM
He would then phone the polis and say someone is walking up the road with a stolen guitar and bike.
He used to break into houses around the Inverleith area and sell the stuff in his store, especially expensive golf clubs etc, the Police knew but he always struck deals with them as he was believed to be an informer
Roddy McLean book is an interesting read 28426
07-01-2025, 02:53 PM
He used to break into houses around the Inverleith area and sell the stuff in his store, especially expensive golf clubs etc, the Police knew but he always struck deals with them as he was believed to be an informer
Wouldn't shock me if the police were among his biggest customers.
My grandad had a pal who was a renowned shoplifter way back when. It was rumoured that half of Fettes were throwing luxury watches and designer suits into Inverleith Pond when a few high heid yins from elsewhere were sent in to investigate.
There was more than a couple of Hibs players who availed themselves of said gentleman's services as well. Allegedly:greengrin
stu in nottingham
07-01-2025, 03:32 PM
These trends are everywhere, that's a fact. In Nottingham, there is a main arterial road into the city called Mansfield Road. The nearest description I'd have given it in the past is it's similar to Leith Walk. It used to be a well-used pub crawl with 9/10 pubs along it in around a quarter of a mile and a good number of restaurants, some of them really well reputed. Now there are 3 pubs that still linger and 2 restaurants. As similarly recorded in the thread, there are now 8 barbers clustered in .2 of a mile and another 8 wider within a further quarter mile. The obligatory desert/ice cream shop, various takeaways of varied appeal and a number of vape shops and nail shops.
Some of the barbershops are open until 11pm. Does anyone really have a haircut at that time? I see very few customers in any of them ar various times of the day or evening. It used to be a lively and fun area, now it's dreary, full of crime and with little of interest. The pavements are comparitively empty.
The once-proliferation of bettings shops can be explained easily. Each shop is allowed up to four fixed-odds betting terminals (FOBTs) only. In the past, betting companies would simply open more and more shops on the high street in order to place four more of these high-profit machines to the public. In more recent times the machines have become more restricted in terms of stakes and have lost the popularity they once had. A big part of that too is the inexorable growth of online betting where people basically carry an online casino around in their pocket by way of a mobile phone. The industry has reacted by closing more and more betting shops gradually.
07-01-2025, 04:33 PM
I passed the trophy shop at Slateford at the weekend. Even if they do extras like cutting keys etc, how can that possibly be a profitable business. Just how many folk or kids teams regularly need a cheap plastic trophy or medal?
07-01-2025, 04:47 PM
I passed the trophy shop at Slateford at the weekend. Even if they do extras like cutting keys etc, how can that possibly be a profitable business. Just how many folk or kids teams regularly need a cheap plastic trophy or medal?Is this a big team related question?
It's been a while without a trophy and maybe Levein & Medals MacKay have been looking in their window.
07-01-2025, 04:53 PM
I passed the trophy shop at Slateford at the weekend. Even if they do extras like cutting keys etc, how can that possibly be a profitable business. Just how many folk or kids teams regularly need a cheap plastic trophy or medal?
Every team needs them almost annually for POTY nights. And just about every kid walk home with one.
07-01-2025, 04:58 PM
Every team needs them almost annually for POTY nights. And just about every kid walk home with one.
Is that enough to sustain a business? Maybe it is, it must be as they’ve been around for years I suppose. Not a business I thought would be able to survive.
07-01-2025, 05:03 PM
Is that enough to sustain a business? Maybe it is, it must be as they’ve been around for years I suppose. Not a business I thought would be able to survive.
I’ve only ever used the one at Ferry Road but it’s busy enough. Seems to be about three people work there. Every kids sport needs them. Both my kids got at least a couple of worthless plastic trophies a year without breaking sweat or being particularly gifted. I think it’s the same for most kids. Footy, rugby, dance, swimming etc. Future landfills every single year.
07-01-2025, 05:46 PM
The market isn't flooded, so as long as they're giving a decent service, they will get repeat business every year.
580 pages in their catalogue :cb
https://www.activityawards.co.uk/what-we-do/
07-01-2025, 05:50 PM
I’ve only ever used the one at Ferry Road but it’s busy enough. Seems to be about three people work there. Every kids sport needs them. Both my kids got at least a couple of worthless plastic trophies a year without breaking sweat or being particularly gifted. I think it’s the same for most kids. Footy, rugby, dance, swimming etc. Future landfills every single year.
How dare you?
I still have my Highland Dancing medals from my childhood. Just waiting for the right moment (and offer) to donate them, and my bronzed dancing shoes, to the People's Story museum. :greengrin
07-01-2025, 06:17 PM
You as well?
07-01-2025, 06:17 PM
The market isn't flooded, so as long as they're giving a decent service, they will get repeat business every year.
580 pages in their catalogue :cb
https://www.activityawards.co.uk/what-we-do/
They have certainly kept with the times. They even sell Padel trophies, fair play to them. A simple business but they appear to do it well.
07-01-2025, 06:24 PM
You’ll also sometimes get businesses that seem empty or quiet in person but have a significant online presence and do a roaring trade via the internet.
Not possible with the barbers.
07-01-2025, 06:47 PM
You’ll also sometimes get businesses that seem empty or quiet in person but have a significant online presence and do a roaring trade via the internet.
Not possible with the barbers.
Stamp shop at goldenacre?
07-01-2025, 06:54 PM
Stamp shop at goldenacre?
Bobby Murray, who started that business waaay back, was a childhood pal. Again, a niche, with a mail-order customer-base that obviously became online.
It's only in the last few years that he has sold on.
08-01-2025, 02:59 PM
I wonder why? 😂
There’s plenty a Chinese takeaway that’s cash only. :greengrin
08-01-2025, 03:14 PM
My two teenage boys get their hair cut once a month for the eldest and once every two month for the youngest. £17 a pop of a skin fade.
I’m the mug paying for it. Also ironic that I’m a bald man shelling out for haircuts.
08-01-2025, 03:18 PM
Correct. Just wash the money through as if it was a packed out barber shop. Then the money from nefarious means is clean, accounted for and the owner can explain the £100k Range Rovers. They'd pay a bit of tax, but that’s the cost of business.
Amazing though in this day and age of dabbing your card how many customers must pay cash.
08-01-2025, 05:25 PM
online? Repeat business over the years? They’re well established no?
08-01-2025, 05:29 PM
The business to be in is the shopfitting business tho - the amount of restaurants that repeatedly failed but then went through a refit before reopening as another business in Abbeyhill since we moved back in 2001 was ridiculous…. Stabilised now mind.
08-01-2025, 05:37 PM
The business to be in is the shopfitting business tho - the amount of restaurants that repeatedly failed but then went through a refit before reopening as another business in Abbeyhill since we moved back in 2001 was ridiculous…. Stabilised now mind.
I think restaurants have one of the highest business failure rates. A lot of people imagine it being different than the reality of trying to turn a profit in a highly competitive market.
Bridge hibs
08-01-2025, 06:17 PM
online? Repeat business over the years? They’re well established no?Yeah a place I visited for many years for football trophies for players of the year awards etc, Im sure it was the go to place for Maybury, Saturday and Sunday amateur leagues as well as 5 aside tourneys and thats just for football, no doubt bowls, golf, croquet etc used it.
Alpha Sports was it called ?
Councils closed a lot of them down in London. Money laundering, fake goods.
Another is taking a shop/food unit, washing a load of cash through supposed fit-outs etc that never really happen and then dissappearing.
Fake coffee shops as well which tell you to f off if you go in and ask for a coffee!!!
Porty High St has about 6 barbers and 3-4 nail/beauty salons. I've been going to the same barber, Salon La Greca at western corner for about 20 years now, currently paying £10 due to now being 66yr old. 😁
08-01-2025, 07:54 PM
This might be the most naive thing I’ve ever said… but is there even that much crime going on, leading to such a significant amount of money needing laundered?
Paulie Walnuts
08-01-2025, 08:00 PM
This might be the most naive thing I’ve ever said… but is there even that much crime going on, leading to such a significant amount of money needing laundered?
The amount of folk on cocaine these days I’d presume there must be plenty cash needing washed.
Stairway 2 7
08-01-2025, 08:07 PM
It's estimated over £10 billion in street drugs are bought in the UK each year, that's a lot of washing
08-01-2025, 09:14 PM
It's estimated over £10 billion in street drugs are bought in the UK each year, that's a lot of washing
9.4 Billion according to UK Gov. If Edinburgh had a per capita share of that then 70 Million quid would need washed a year. That is about a 12 quid haircut once a month for every occupant of Edinburgh
09-01-2025, 12:00 AM
Roddy McLean book is an interesting read 28426
He had the big massive house at Trinity with big boat and luxury cars, seemingly passed away after allegedly escaping from a open prison down south but were reports that he was living in South Africa, he obviously had contacts in high up places, killed a coastguard if I remember right when caught with a load of hash on a boat, boasted that he killed for the government.
09-01-2025, 12:11 AM
Cocaine and weed is everywhere, it’s a lot of money to be laundered every week, my problem with the barbers are I don’t think they are the drug dealers but launder for people higher up in that business, but how do they afford the high end cars or are they on finance through the business, I’m sure these barbers are busy on the weekends and they get enough through the week to tick things over.
09-01-2025, 04:09 AM
Cocaine and weed is everywhere, it’s a lot of money to be laundered every week, my problem with the barbers are I don’t think they are the drug dealers but launder for people higher up in that business, but how do they afford the high end cars or are they on finance through the business, I’m sure these barbers are busy on the weekends and they get enough through the week to tick things over.
My main problem with it is they have literally killed off the high street in the area I used to live. Unless you want your hair cut, your nose piercing, a tattoo, your nails done or to put on a bet, then you have to travel further afield. The legitimate businesses are suffering because of it too, walk by customers have decreased due to the lack of variety in the shops.
09-01-2025, 08:15 AM
Imagine if we just legalised weed. Like they do in many European countries including multiple states in America.
Think of the Tax revenue we could pull in. Taking the network away from criminals.
But no.
09-01-2025, 10:19 AM
Correct. Just wash the money through as if it was a packed out barber shop. Then the money from nefarious means is clean, accounted for and the owner can explain the £100k Range Rovers. They'd pay a bit of tax, but that’s the cost of business.
Amazing though in this day and age of dabbing your card how many customers must pay cash.
Surely for money laundering purposes, a few card transactions is of benefit to them. Makes them look more legit and provides a potential paper trail for some legitimate transactions which might make them look less dodgy overall. Different for tax evasion, granted.
There’s plenty a Chinese takeaway that’s cash only. :greengrin
I'm not meaning to veer into racial stereotypes here but that could be for non-money laundering or tax evasion reasons. When I used to work late shifts at the cinema at Ocean Terminal, I'd drive past the old casino in Leith Docks late at night (11/12) and it would be crazy the amount of Asian people getting out of cars with what looked like swag bags, presumably full of cash. Looked like they literally closed up their business for the night, took the takings and were putting it all on 15 black.
Yes - drugs, prostitution, sale of stolen goods, people trafficking, IPTV. The list goes on. The people higher up the chain won't want it all going through the one "legitimate" business either, hence why there are loads of these types of places.
09-01-2025, 10:22 AM
Surely for money laundering purposes, a few card transactions is of benefit to them. Makes them look more legit and provides a potential paper trail for some legitimate transactions which might make them look less dodgy overall. Different for tax evasion, granted.
I'm not meaning to veer into racial stereotypes here but that could be for non-money laundering or tax evasion reasons. When I used to work late shifts at the cinema at Ocean Terminal, I'd drive past the old casino in Leith Docks late at night (11/12) and it would be crazy the amount of Asian people getting out of cars with what looked like swag bags, presumably full of cash. Looked like they literally closed up their business for the night, took the takings and were putting it all on 15 black.
Yes - drugs, prostitution, sale of stolen goods, people trafficking, IPTV. The list goes on.
Chinese people love gambling. Not sure that counts as a stereotype when it factually correct?
Dodgy fire sticks must make up a fair bit of organised crime income these days?
09-01-2025, 10:25 AM
The most obvious example of a money laundering front I'd encountered personally was when I went to a new barbers when I lived in Bruntsfield. The two women working in there had clearly never cut hair before. The first one made a state of my hair. The second one tried to fix it and made it worse. Clearly it had opened up and they plonked two people in there with no experience of the legitimate business it was claiming to be.
babahibs
09-01-2025, 10:30 AM
Imagine if we just legalised weed. Like they do in many European countries including multiple states in America.
Think of the Tax revenue we could pull in. Taking the network away from criminals.
But no.
I was just going to say this,
Legalise it, take it out the hands of the gangsters.
Too simple?
09-01-2025, 10:56 AM
To merge 2 different parts of this thread....I just went for a "haircut" (using quotes, as it's not exactly a long job these days), to find that they'd just done a refit :greengrin
As an aside, I love the way local shops plagiarise the names of big concerns, but just enough to avoid the legal peoiple taking action. Mine is "Barber King". :cb
09-01-2025, 11:00 AM
To merge 2 different parts of this thread....I just went for a "haircut" (using quotes, as it's not exactly a long job these days), to find that they'd just done a refit :greengrin
As an aside, I love the way local shops plagiarise the names of big concerns, but just enough to avoid the legal peoiple taking action. Mine is "Barber King". :cb
My favourite was a convenience store in Newcastle (I think). Was called Singhsbury's. Sainsbury's threatened to sue so they changed to Morrisinghs :greengrin
To be fair, they totally ripped off both the Sainsbury's and Morrisons logos too.
09-01-2025, 11:13 AM
My favourite was a convenience store in Newcastle (I think). Was called Singhsbury's. Sainsbury's threatened to sue so they changed to Morrisinghs :greengrin
To be fair, they totally ripped off both the Sainsbury's and Morrisons logos too.
The wee shop beside my barber is called Jasda. :greengrin
babahibs
09-01-2025, 11:16 AM
Best one has to be the coffee shop in China, Star****s
Bridge hibs
09-01-2025, 11:35 AM
Theres a good one on Porty High St called Turkish Hairways, I loved the one on Whitburn High St too called Curl Up and Dye 🫢
09-01-2025, 01:33 PM
I was just going to say this,
Legalise it, take it out the hands of the gangsters.
Too simple?
Not for me. I think most politicians also think that is the way to go but there is a lack of courage.
09-01-2025, 03:10 PM
But no.
And bizarrely enough the UK is one of the biggest exporters of cannabis.
Lendo
09-01-2025, 03:37 PM
I go to a Kurdish barber in Gorgie and he’s excellent but to be fair I had the option of seven others on Gorgie Road. Feels like every second shop there is a barbers.
On the subject of money laundering there’s been lots of speculation that all the tartan tat shops are really just a front. Loads of stores selling low cost high volume stock, easy to funnel cash through and incredibly difficult to audit you would imagine.
09-01-2025, 03:50 PM
I go to a Kurdish barber in Gorgie and he’s excellent but to be fair I had the option of seven others on Gorgie Road. Feels like every second shop there is a barbers.
On the subject of money laundering there’s been lots of speculation that all the tartan tat shops are really just a front. Loads of stores selling low cost high volume stock, easy to funnel cash through and incredibly difficult to audit you would imagine.
Any business that deals in cash is excellent for money laundering. HMRC can’t really dispute your income so long as you keep it reasonable. They don’t have the staff these days to investigate. And there is no real policing of white collar crime in the UK anyway.
Barbers are great because there is not much stock. With sweet shops I guess you have to buy a lot of sticks to keep it semi respectable. Probably end up throwing a lot of it away.
09-01-2025, 04:37 PM
Any business that deals in cash is excellent for money laundering. HMRC can’t really dispute your income so long as you keep it reasonable. They don’t have the staff these days to investigate. And there is no real policing of white collar crime in the UK anyway.
Barbers are great because there is not much stock. With sweet shops I guess you have to buy a lot of sticks to keep it semi respectable. Probably end up throwing a lot of it away.
It's not HMRC's job to investigate money-laundering. They do, though, have a duty to report any suspicions of it to the National Crime Agency, as do solicitors, banks, most accountants, and many other client-led businesses..
As for "no policing", I would disagree. It's very common for ML charges to be tacked on to charges of drug-dealing and other high-value crimes. It's those crimes that they are most interested in, and the ML is often their way in.
09-01-2025, 04:45 PM
It's not HMRC's job to investigate money-laundering. They do, though, have a duty to report any suspicions of it to the National Crime Agency, as do solicitors, banks, most accountants, and many other client-led businesses..
As for "no policing", I would disagree. It's very common for ML charges to be tacked on to charges of drug-dealing and other high-value crimes. It's those crimes that they are most interested in, and the ML is often their way in.
Yes but as far as the investigating goes, it’s usually once they have evidence of the drug dealing that they go after the money laundering? Do they ever investigate suspicious businesses that leads them to drug dealers? If that makes sense?
09-01-2025, 04:53 PM
Yes but as far as the investigating goes, it’s usually once they have evidence of the drug dealing that they go after the money laundering? Do they ever investigate suspicious businesses that leads them to drug dealers? If that makes sense?
The ML can often lead them to the main crime.
That's where the reporting by all of those people I mentioned can come in useful. The regime was brought in post 9/11, initially to identify terrorist funding, but was quickly extended and adapted to cover all crimes.... and not just ML.
And the Police are not daft (cue the smartarses :greengrin). They will have a fair idea of who the MLs are, but obviously need evidence to tie that back to the main crime.
09-01-2025, 04:55 PM
A cynic might think that as long as the crooks are paying income tax on their ill gotten gains, then the authorities might be tempted to look the other way. :whistle:
09-01-2025, 05:01 PM
A cynic might think that as long as the crooks are paying income tax on their ill gotten gains, then the authorities might be tempted to look the other way. :whistle:
The reality is that, once the crime has been established and prosecuted, all of the proceeds are due to be paid over. It can be a long and costly process, though.
Up until relatively recently, it was the case that tax was due on all criminal activities. And that's all. In theory, once you'd paid tax on your £2.5m train robbery money, you could keep the rest. Mental, but true.
Stairway 2 7
09-01-2025, 05:05 PM
Probably more tax percentage in Britain paid through drug profit than there is through many huge companies and people who pay their tax in the Bahamas ect ha
09-01-2025, 05:08 PM
The reality is that, once the crime has been established and prosecuted, all of the proceeds are due to be paid over. It can be a long and costly process, though.
Up until relatively recently, it was the case that tax was due on all criminal activities. And that's all. In theory, once you'd paid tax on your £2.5m train robbery money, you could keep the rest. Mental, but true.
That's mental. I guess if the crooks were to hide their swag,then it might be more beneficial to tax them.
09-01-2025, 06:22 PM
Ice Cream shop just along the road from me is called 'For Fudge Sakes'
The owner has another in Glasgow's southside called 'What the Fudge'
09-01-2025, 07:00 PM
There is a big ice cream shop on Gorgie road that I have never seen anyone in.
09-01-2025, 07:50 PM
Why open up in Edinburgh? Even on the fringes of the city it must be relatively expensive and more at risk of being caught than opening up in a small town somewhere? :dunno:
09-01-2025, 08:43 PM
My Brother-in-law lived in Airlie Beach in Queensland. Their local curry house was called….Get it India.
Works particularly well with an Aussie accent.
09-01-2025, 10:35 PM
Why open up in Edinburgh? Even on the fringes of the city it must be relatively expensive and more at risk of being caught than opening up in a small town somewhere? :dunno:
I’d assume the opposite.
Plenty of small scale retail empty across the city thanks to the ‘death of the high street’ and a pretendy large population to service.
Much less conspicuous than setting up in a small town.
Oh and closer to the main source of the ill gotten gains as well!
As for being caught? Hmm hardly. Seems to be openly tolerated while the honest person continues to be forever taxed more as that’s the easy thing to do.
Reminds me a bit of this story where banning the guy for being a director for 9 years seems to be the sum of the punishment for millions going astray…and only ‘caught’ because it was so egregious.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c8j94np0193o.amp
10-01-2025, 06:24 AM
I’d assume the opposite.
Plenty of small scale retail empty across the city thanks to the ‘death of the high street’ and a pretendy large population to service.
Much less conspicuous than setting up in a small town.
Oh and closer to the main source of the ill gotten gains as well!
As for being caught? Hmm hardly. Seems to be openly tolerated while the honest person continues to be forever taxed more as that’s the easy thing to do.
Reminds me a bit of this story where banning the guy for being a director for 9 years seems to be the sum of the punishment for millions going astray…and only ‘caught’ because it was so egregious.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c8j94np0193o.amp
That all makes sense. :aok:
It does open up the opportunity to follow ones vocational dreams if you can top up inadequate revenues with dirty money...
If you don't pay the rent or local taxes it doesn't matter how expensive it would be if you did!
10-01-2025, 09:28 AM
If you don't pay the rent or local taxes it doesn't matter how expensive it would be if you did!
Why wouldn't they be doing those things?
It's the American sweetie shop types I was referring to and some others are at it too.
They set up a fairly basic shop and then after all the final demands for payment have reached a climax, or the utilities are cut off, they disappear and turn up in a different location but the same outfit really. If you know what I mean.
Generally government types of payments because they take longest to be chased up.
10-01-2025, 01:42 PM
The ML can often lead them to the main crime.
That's where the reporting by all of those people I mentioned can come in useful. The regime was brought in post 9/11, initially to identify terrorist funding, but was quickly extended and adapted to cover all crimes.... and not just ML.
And the Police are not daft (cue the smartarses :greengrin). They will have a fair idea of who the MLs are, but obviously need evidence to tie that back to the main crime.
Be assured the police are not daft, I watched 24 hours in police custody on Monday night, it was about 20 people escaping from a detention centre, they were waiting to be returned back to the country they came from, most had served time for cultivating cannabis, I think 14 were caught that night but the rest got away and were picked up by some Albanian guy, the police started to raid cannabis farms down South and a few I think were told to hand themselves into custody to take the heat off, eventually the main guy who escaped was caught in a house with a staggering amount of drugs and cash, it did seem though that the police do know about these weed farms but maybe don’t do nothing about them until they need to.
10-01-2025, 01:49 PM
It's the American sweetie shop types I was referring to and some others are at it too.
They set up a fairly basic shop and then after all the final demands for payment have reached a climax, or the utilities are cut off, they disappear and turn up in a different location but the same outfit really. If you know what I mean.
Generally government types of payments because they take longest to be chased up.
Happens all the time with Independent grocery stores. Don’t pay a few things, like rates and a few utilities, then set up the business under another company name, but same people
10-01-2025, 01:57 PM
Happens all the time with Independent grocery stores. Don’t pay a few things, like rates and a few utilities, then set up the business under another company name, but same people
Happens more often than you think and not just grocery stores. Some well know Edinburgh businesses too!
10-01-2025, 02:11 PM
Kind of related to all of this, I've noticed a few times when ordering a takeaway on the likes of Just Eat, Uber Eats, Deliveroo, etc. that all of a sudden a new takeaway will pop up.
Excited that there is a new place open, I look at the address given on the app and google it. Google returns an existing establishment but of the same type of cuisine. So you would assume, they've closed down and someone has moved in or perhaps they've re-branded. Perhaps they are one of these 'ghost' or 'virtual' restaurants that rent space from an existing restaurant/take-away to cut overheads. Except you then realise that the original place is also on the same app with the same menu as the 'new' place. You drive past the address and it is still the original branding.
I'm convinced its a tax dodge, most likely VAT. Channel sales through multiple different businesses to keep turnover below the VAT-registration threshold.
On a related note, my wife when we were early dating really wanted to take me to her favourite Indian restaurant at her end of town. I realised the menu was suspiciously like the menu that one of my favourite Indian restaurants at my end of town. A lot of dishes that I hadn't seen elsewhere other than 'my' place were on this menu. A quick Google showed it was exactly the same menu. Assumed it must be the same owners even although the names of the places were different. So I asked the boss man if they were the same people. He looked absolutely petrified and started mumbling. Eventually said "similar families own both restaurants... distant relatives". He was really spooked by me asking this and I assumed he thought I was a HMRC Inspector. However, a year or so later one of them got raided by the Immigration Authorities. I suspect that might have been the reason for him getting spooked at my perfectly innocent question.
10-01-2025, 02:12 PM
Happens more often than you think and not just grocery stores. Some well know Edinburgh businesses too!
Bagel woman being a high profile recent example.
10-01-2025, 02:14 PM
I know it does, and I know of people who make a living out of this, advising companies, take a % of the savings
10-01-2025, 02:14 PM
Kind of related to all of this, I've noticed a few times when ordering a takeaway on the likes of Just Eat, Uber Eats, Deliveroo, etc. that all of a sudden a new takeaway will pop up.
Excited that there is a new place open, I look at the address given on the app and google it. Google returns an existing establishment but of the same type of cuisine. So you would assume, they've closed down and someone has moved in or perhaps they've re-branded. Perhaps they are one of these 'ghost' or 'virtual' restaurants that rent space from an existing restaurant/take-away to cut overheads. Except you then realise that the original place is also on the same app with the same menu as the 'new' place. You drive past the address and it is still the original branding.
I'm convinced its a tax dodge, most likely VAT. Channel sales through multiple different businesses to keep turnover below the VAT-registration threshold.
On a related note, my wife when we were early dating really wanted to take me to her favourite Indian restaurant at her end of town. I realised the menu was suspiciously like the menu that one of my favourite Indian restaurants at my end of town. A lot of dishes that I hadn't seen elsewhere other than 'my' place were on this menu. A quick Google showed it was exactly the same menu. Assumed it must be the same owners even although the names of the places were different. So I asked the boss man if they were the same people. He looked absolutely petrified and started mumbling. Eventually said "similar families own both restaurants... distant relatives". He was really spooked by me asking this and I assumed he thought I was a HMRC Inspector. However, a year or so later one of them got raided by the Immigration Authorities. I suspect that might have been the reason for him getting spooked at my perfectly innocent question.
It's not a dodge, it's illegal :greengrin HMRC are quite hot on this, but they often do need "intelligence" to act.
10-01-2025, 02:18 PM
I was expecting the Hearts creditors list to make an appearance shortly after this post.
10-01-2025, 02:19 PM
It's not a dodge, it's illegal :greengrin HMRC are quite hot on this, but they often do need "intelligence" to act.
Oh I know. Was using 'dodge' a bit flippantly. My father-in-law is a retired HMRC manager. He has some stories about the part of his career investigating these sorts of places. Think he got a good few meals out of it too under the guise of checking how busy places were :greengrin
10-01-2025, 02:24 PM
Oh I know. Was using 'dodge' a bit flippantly. My father-in-law is a retired HMRC manager. He has some stories about the part of his career investigating these sorts of places. Think he got a good few meals out of it too under the guise of checking how busy places were :greengrin
Lendo
10-01-2025, 03:27 PM
Bagel woman being a high profile recent example.
Yeah forgot about her. Read she was wanting to make a third comeback despite going in to administration twice and skipping out on loads of debt and tax.
Stairway 2 7
10-01-2025, 05:16 PM
I think it's cute that people think the authorities would stop this. Probably like when the police show a picture of seized gear saying they were cracking down on dealing, sound
The 24 hour arcade/casino on Shandwick Place and Nicholson Street must come under the dodgy category too? I sometimes have a peek in when I'm wandering by and most times the places are empty apart from staff, never seen either busy
jamie_1875
18-01-2025, 07:41 AM
The 24 hour arcade/casino on Shandwick Place and Nicholson Street must come under the dodgy category too? I sometimes have a peek in when I'm wandering by and most times the places are empty apart from staff, never seen either busy
A 24hr laundry facility? I think it's just machines as well so go in with a few hundred quid and play a game for a £1 and "cash out".
Paulie Walnuts
18-01-2025, 08:12 AM
A 24hr laundry facility? I think it's just machines as well so go in with a few hundred quid and play a game for a £1 and "cash out".
Would that not just get you your cash back?
jamie_1875
18-01-2025, 08:15 AM
Different cash to what you took in though?
Hibs4185
18-01-2025, 08:43 AM
It’s not just money laundering. It’s for immigration reasons too.
We used to go to a kebab shop for years in town. Every 2-3 months there would be 3-4 new staff arrive and the old ones would move on. It usually was cousins or so they said.
Similarly I’ve been going to a barber now for 6 years. Again every month a new barber appears who can’t cut hair or speak English. He sweeps the floor, learns how to cut hair and eventually he gets basic phrases and does basic haircuts.
I know for a fact there is one main guy who opens barbershops and gets staff in. He also has flats so they pay him rent for the flat and rent for working in the barbers.
Whether it’s smuggling gangs offering a semi professional life in Britain service or genuinely family members coming to join other family, immigration is definitely a big part of it.
18-01-2025, 08:51 AM
Mentioned it earlier in the thread. Very common or certainly was a few years back.
Walk in with a wad, put it all in the machine, play one spin then cash out. Ask for a receipt for the winnings and if the polis ask why you have £499 in cash on your person you can show them the receipt for your 'winnings'.
Tbh I think these 24/7 slots places make plenty legit money too. Those FOBTs are a license to print money hence why the bookies opened all kinds of new bricks and mortar shops to get around the 4 per shop limit. They fought increased regulation tooth and nail, legislation that aimed to erase the ability to lose £100 a minute among other things. When the £2 a spin limit was implemented all these new shops started to close one by one. The slots places don't have the same limits on number of machines so are still more than viable.
Paulie Walnuts
19-01-2025, 07:02 AM
Mentioned it earlier in the thread. Very common or certainly was a few years back.
Walk in with a wad, put it all in the machine, play one spin then cash out. Ask for a receipt for the winnings and if the polis ask why you have £499 in cash on your person you can show them the receipt for your 'winnings'.
Tbh I think these 24/7 slots places make plenty legit money too. Those FOBTs are a license to print money hence why the bookies opened all kinds of new bricks and mortar shops to get around the 4 per shop limit. They fought increased regulation tooth and nail, legislation that aimed to erase the ability to lose £100 a minute among other things. When the £2 a spin limit was implemented all these new shops started to close one by one. The slots places don't have the same limits on number of machines so are still more than viable.
That makes more sense with the receipt side of things :agree:
Was reminded of this thread last night, when I went to a chippy not far from where I live. There’s a wee cluster of shops - chip shop, Co-op, Chinese takeaway, a hairdressers (which usually does have people in getting their hair done during the day), and… an American style sweet shop, which was still open at the back of 9 last night when I went past!
19-01-2025, 04:18 PM
I’d add car washes to this group.
Bridge hibs
19-01-2025, 04:36 PM
I’d add car washes to this group.
To be honest we have used a few of them and they have all done a cracking job
19-01-2025, 05:12 PM
To be honest we have used a few of them and they have all done a cracking job
Britains productivity problem in a nutshell. We used to have machines that did this.[emoji2369]
Bridge hibs
19-01-2025, 05:17 PM
Britains productivity problem in a nutshell. We used to have machines that did this.[emoji2369]
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkTry finding a car wash that isnt broken or faulty, at least the guys doing it manually dont break down
19-01-2025, 05:20 PM
Try finding a car wash that isnt broken or faulty, at least the guys doing it manually dont break down
I agree they have taken over now but we used to have lots of working machines to do that job.
CyberSauzee
24-01-2025, 03:20 PM
This is an interesting read. Where I live in North London there has been a massive influx of Turkish barbers. I mean loads of them. Started about 10 years ago, within about 6 months there were about 8-10 in a small square mile radius.
One of them is opposite the car wash I use. Open from 7.30 in the mornings until late at night, 8 on Sunday mornings. Sign in the window saying cash only, and they offer gift vouchers!
I know someone who has recently retired form a very senior position in HMRC. They are well aware of these cash businesses opening up, it's just a matter of picking their battles and tying them into more serious, high level crime.
30-01-2025, 07:06 AM
Whats behind the noticeable increase in folks zooming about in e-bikes for Deliveroo and Just Eat?
is that an immigration dodge - genuine question I’m not anti immigrant - my wife is one.
30-01-2025, 07:09 AM
Whats behind the noticeable increase in folks zooming about in e-bikes for Deliveroo and Just Eat?
is that an immigration dodge - genuine question I’m not anti immigrant - my wife is one.
Quicker than peddling and probably a more efficient way to get around the city would be my guess.
I've seen a couple of places in Leith now renting these bikes on a weekly basis with queues of food delivery types outside. I'm not suggesting they're hiring bikes with the delivery on their backs, they are probably complaining about something.
On Facebook, I follow a few police pages, there's regular threads with food delivery drivers; immigration, bike doctored to go faster or without pedaling, speeding, various other traffic offences. Sharing deliveroo etc accounts. Some in Edinburgh too!
30-01-2025, 09:10 AM
Food delivery is just a **** job now that not many people want to do unless they are desperate. I done it for a while for pocket money many years ago and back then when you worked for a take away direct the money could be quite decent and most people still paid in cash so the tips were good as well. I could easily clear £100-150 on a Saturday night for 5 hours work. Now with so many places using drivers or riders from the the likes of those mentioned in your post the going rate is rubbish most of the time. You have to put in serious hours to make any kind of money and employment rights are minimal. I know some will argue the flexibility suits for those wanting causal work on the side but for the most part it's long hours, unsociable hours, potentially high risk and very low reward. The e-bikes probably increase earning potential quite a bit in that you can cram more jobs into any given timeframe. It's a bit like care work in that the workforce is dominated by immigrants because of the awful pay and conditions. My granddad had carers going in daily until fairly recently and every single person we saw was from Africa or the Indian subcontinent. Talking to them they were often very bright people just taking anything they could get to try to make ends meet.
I'm torn on the whole thing. On the one hand I tip my hat to these people being willing to work such jobs, certainly the latter is essential. It flies in the face of the 'lazy and just here for the benefits' stereotype. On the other hand it's appalling that we have this 'underclass' doing genuinely hard work for a pittance. I saw a carer job advertised the other say for £12.79 an hour. WTF? Surely no one thinks that is acceptable? We have backed ourselves into a terrible corner in the UK though in that we have become a low wage economy in the last 15-20 years and once you get into that cycle it becomes hard to break it.
30-01-2025, 03:43 PM
Food delivery is just a **** job now that not many people want to do unless they are desperate. I done it for a while for pocket money many years ago and back then when you worked for a take away direct the money could be quite decent and most people still paid in cash so the tips were good as well. I could easily clear £100-150 on a Saturday night for 5 hours work. Now with so many places using drivers or riders from the the likes of those mentioned in your post the going rate is rubbish most of the time. You have to put in serious hours to make any kind of money and employment rights are minimal. I know some will argue the flexibility suits for those wanting causal work on the side but for the most part it's long hours, unsociable hours, potentially high risk and very low reward. The e-bikes probably increase earning potential quite a bit in that you can cram more jobs into any given timeframe. It's a bit like care work in that the workforce is dominated by immigrants because of the awful pay and conditions. My granddad had carers going in daily until fairly recently and every single person we saw was from Africa or the Indian subcontinent. Talking to them they were often very bright people just taking anything they could get to try to make ends meet.
I'm torn on the whole thing. On the one hand I tip my hat to these people being willing to work such jobs, certainly the latter is essential. It flies in the face of the 'lazy and just here for the benefits' stereotype. On the other hand it's appalling that we have this 'underclass' doing genuinely hard work for a pittance. I saw a carer job advertised the other say for £12.79 an hour. WTF? Surely no one thinks that is acceptable? We have backed ourselves into a terrible corner in the UK though in that we have become a low wage economy in the last 15-20 years and once you get into that cycle it becomes hard to break it.
I only get £81p/w as a 24/7 carer, so that seems decent. :thumbsup:
10-04-2025, 11:23 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c3677xzk56no
2 of the 3 mentioned in the thread title in the headline.
Lendo
12-04-2025, 04:31 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c3677xzk56no
2 of the 3 mentioned in the thread title in the headline.
High street barbers pulling on over £1m a year 😂. If they were sensible about their money laundering you would surely make it less obvious.