View Full Version : 2 points dropped or a point gained?

05-01-2025, 12:59 PM
We did well to come back but should have started better.

Really can't make my mind up.

05-01-2025, 01:00 PM
Unreal point considering we were 2-0

Still gutted we never won it as I thought it was there as the game progressed

Brilliant fight though to come back

Must say, fair play to SDG for his role in getting us back into it

05-01-2025, 01:02 PM
A bit of both. Rangers could have had the game won early doors if they'd gone for it

We've come back in and could have nicked it. Probably a fair result

Huge credit to Gray and the players. How many times in the past have we crumbled after starting poor?

05-01-2025, 01:02 PM
Unreal point considering we were 2-0

Still gutted we never won it as I thought it was there as the game progressed

Brilliant fight though to come back

Must say, fair play to SDG for his role in getting us back into it

Sums up how I feel

05-01-2025, 01:03 PM
I think all you can do is enjoy that. So many arguments for either side of the argument, but that was great entertainment

05-01-2025, 01:04 PM
Point a piece the right result for me.

Both teams had chances and it would have great to have won but at 2 down anyone would take a draw no?

Albert Kidd 86’
05-01-2025, 01:04 PM
I think all you can do is enjoy that. So many arguments for either side of the argument, but that was great entertainment

agreed, just enjoy it for the great game of football it was.

05-01-2025, 01:05 PM
At 2-0 down I’d have bitten your hand off for a draw. It’s a good point.

05-01-2025, 01:07 PM
With The Rangers spending power, it's a point gained every time.

Trinity Hibee
05-01-2025, 01:08 PM
Point gained given we were 2-0 down and 3-2 down

Just enjoying a hibs game was enough for me. Great point.

A point against the OF is always a great result.

Anything against the OF is gained

05-01-2025, 01:09 PM
We were 2-0 down after 20 minutes Ffs. It's a clear point gained after that start.

andrew_dundee
05-01-2025, 01:09 PM
Points against the Old Firm are a bonus. Most if us would have taken a point before kick off so definitely a gain for me.

05-01-2025, 01:10 PM
A bit of both, if you ask me at 0-2 for 3-3 would have accepted it, chances to win it also.

Need to keep picking up points in the next month or so and hopefully we can add to our squad.

05-01-2025, 01:11 PM
Point gained. Well done Hibs

05-01-2025, 01:13 PM
From 2-0 down so early on its a point gained . A few weeks ago their ***** would have collapsed and we'd have got pumped 4 or 5 nil

Hibees1973
05-01-2025, 01:15 PM
2 points dropped. All day long.

Clearly need a central defender, maybe 2, a right back and a goalkeeper.

05-01-2025, 01:15 PM
We were 2-0 down after 20 minutes Ffs. It's a clear point gained after that start.

Exactly

05-01-2025, 01:16 PM

😂 nothing like a classic negative spin on a comeback from 2 goals down.

05-01-2025, 01:17 PM
Point gained today.

Thursday was a bad draw. Today a good one.

ChicoM1875
05-01-2025, 01:20 PM
Every game we don't get 3 points is a points dropped scenario.

He's here!
05-01-2025, 01:22 PM
Points against the Old Firm are a bonus. Most if us would have taken a point before kick off so definitely a gain for me.

Everyone would have taken a point beforehand with the team we had to put out. Terrific result.

Paulie Walnuts
05-01-2025, 01:24 PM
Point gained but it’s telling how bizarre a game/performance it was that it even needs to be a question. Mental match/performance.

Just_Jimmy
05-01-2025, 01:25 PM
At 20 mins in I was ready to see us get pumped by 5 or 6.

Definitely a point gained.

Very poor off the ball, we were good today with the ball.

Boyle and Campbell were excellent.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

A squad that we acknowledge isn’t our best, has 2 starting CBs out injured, our main midfielder and captain out and 3 first choice strikers out.

I feared the game a bit before the game and the first 20 minutes were playing out exactly as I’d feared.

So imo it’s an absolutely magnificent point gained and everyone at Hibs should be delighted.

I think you should maybe give your negative pish a break for a while

WestCoastHibby
05-01-2025, 01:27 PM
Point gained that feels like three for me
Unbelievable spirit in this team now

2 points dropped as they were there for the taking but also 1 point gained as we came back from behind twice

Sometimes seemingly contradictory statements can both be correct

Sioux

Clown.

05-01-2025, 01:28 PM
I think you should maybe give your negative pish a break for a while

Looks like stating facts - we need to improve - hopefully we will see some decent action in the transfer window

CentreForward
05-01-2025, 01:29 PM
Am absolutely bouncing after that and could have won it. Thursday was a bad draw today a great one. What a turnaround in our fortunes since winning at Fir Park. GGTTH !

05-01-2025, 01:31 PM

I can’t agree with that. We were never ahead and we were always chasing the game, despite the fact we played well. Delighted to get a point in a game where it must feel like a defeat to them.

05-01-2025, 01:31 PM

Hardly, Rangers have dropped points most weeks away from home. It was the best game I've seen at ER in a long time though, awful 1st 25mins, but were the better team from then on - have to be a bit disappointing not to win with that dominance, but might easily have still got nothing, very entertaining afternoon.

05-01-2025, 01:38 PM
I expected a drubbing today so personally delighted with the point.

Unbeaten in six.. and only game lost in last nine was away to Celtc.

Well done Hibs!

05-01-2025, 01:40 PM

:troll:

05-01-2025, 01:43 PM
It's a point gained when you take into account the start and that we haven't got a good squad whilst also down to the bare bones.

I said it on another thread but Gray is getting every ounce he can with limited resources right now and needs help asap in the January window.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

05-01-2025, 01:44 PM
A point gained after the performance level for the first 20 minutes.

05-01-2025, 01:49 PM
Delighted with the point.

cubehindthegoal
05-01-2025, 01:50 PM
Bit of both … we could’ve had another goal, definitely … they similarly had chance that hit post near the end. Bit disappointed of course we didn’t get three points, but happy at the superb fight shown to make sure we didn’t finish without a point. We have improved, look like we care, and have a foundation now to move more players on (already happening tbf) and make room for better ones to come in. GGtTH onwards and up now dare I say 🤞🏻

tonyrougier123
05-01-2025, 01:55 PM
Bizarre game, I think we could’ve nicked it in last ten mins. Whatever performance it was we matched them no ends. I’ll take a point but they were awful rangers. Can’t defend crosses.

05-01-2025, 01:59 PM
Enjoyed that game. Great to see the fighting spirit from our boys. What a difference in a few months!

05-01-2025, 02:08 PM
We did well to come back but should have started better.

Really can't make my mind up.

Point gained, we were two goals down.

05-01-2025, 02:11 PM
Being 2-0 down it's always going to be a point gained.

05-01-2025, 02:16 PM
Good point. Keeps the momentum going.

05-01-2025, 02:22 PM
A home draw always feels like a loss and I’ll never drop that standard, but 0-2 and 2-3 down in a game we’d have lost 0-4 a few weeks back is not to be sneezed at

05-01-2025, 02:24 PM
Lots of postives from today. Our unbeaten run continues and that team has lots of character. We largely bossed that second half and could easily have won it. There's obviously work to be done but give me games like today every day of the week.

05-01-2025, 02:42 PM
After slow/poor start when the game could have got beyond us, Hibs showed great character to come back from 2 down, and 3-2 down. When was the last time any Hibs side did that against either of the OF ? So, hopefully it will feel like a point won against a team with their tails up (just as it was against Aberdeen). Kick on.

05-01-2025, 02:53 PM
Two points dropped don't care who the opposition is. You must win your home games.

Fergos
05-01-2025, 02:57 PM
[QUOTE=Smartie;7859480]A squad that we acknowledge isn’t our best, has 2 starting CBs out injured, our main midfielder and captain out and 3 first choice strikers out.

I feared the game a bit before the game and the first 20 minutes were playing out exactly as I’d feared.

So imo it’s an absolutely magnificent point gained and everyone at Hibs should be delighted.[/QUOTE

Aye agreed, all the above considered its a very decent point. Loving our resilience and resolve now, looking more like a David Gray team now.

GGTTH 🇳🇬

05-01-2025, 03:01 PM
Two points dropped don't care who the opposition is. You must win your home games.

When you come back from 2 nil down and then 3-2 down against a better team than you then it’s a point gained surely?

Donegal Hibby
05-01-2025, 03:10 PM
Anything you get against the OF is a bonus nowadays but to get something with the players we had out injured and coming back twice very much feels like a win today…. Absolutely delighted with that result :thumbsup:

e2los
05-01-2025, 03:13 PM
Enjoyed that game. Great to see the fighting spirit from our boys. What a difference in a few months!

Exactly, wouldn't have been too downhearted if we had lost at the end.

2 points lost and 1 point gained, don't care as fantastic to see us not give up after going 2 down.

Absolutely love Rocky, but what a roller-coaster of a game from him.

Was sure he was going to give away a penalty at the end after losing the ball, can't say he doesn't give his all.

05-01-2025, 03:28 PM

Lol

05-01-2025, 03:31 PM
Could have gone either way, a draw was a fair result, just shows what we can do when we start fighting with the erse cheeks and get right into them, they dont like it.

05-01-2025, 03:32 PM
Lol

Shows up as a draw on league table so two points dropped at home.

Donegal Hibby
05-01-2025, 03:34 PM
They are just after beating Celtic 3-0 and were probably full of confidence going into our game as well .:greengrin

05-01-2025, 03:39 PM

Aww, did Rocky's equaliser spoil your agenda, sounds like you were loving the fact we were losing

05-01-2025, 03:39 PM
They were all over us first 20 minutes and going 2 nil down it looked as if we were in for a very long afternoon. If you’d have offered me a draw at that point I’d have certainly snapped your hand off.

However, second half we were very good at at the end we looked like the only team that could have snatched it. The only time they got chances was when we made silly mistakes.

05-01-2025, 03:53 PM
When I saw the team my immediate thought was I'd bite your hand off for a draw, especially considering they had just pumped Celtic and we had failed to beat the team bottom of the league with 10 men.

After 25 minutes it looked like we were going to get easily swept aside ... what happened after that 25 minutes is about as good as you'll see from any team SDG can put out even with a fully fit squad. Masses of fight and character and some decent play as well, near the end when we hit the post and then Martin Boyle put one just past I genuinely thought we might win it, which would have been nothing short of incredible.

Definitely a point gained for me in the circumstances .... but more than that, a reward for the fans willing to come out in terrible weather, for a crap KO time to support the team ... If we see that fight and application for the rest of this season nobody at Hibs will have to worry about a connection between the team and the fans. Great entertainment.

H18S NX
05-01-2025, 04:07 PM
Definately a point gained,considering the players we have out at the moment

1875M
05-01-2025, 04:32 PM
Considering their result against Celtic and we gave them a 2-0 lead, it’s a point gained.

05-01-2025, 04:34 PM
After 20 minutes I would have taken a 2-0 defeat if offered so definitely a point gained.

Cardinal G
05-01-2025, 04:57 PM
Delighted with the point.

Agree totally, infact whilst only a point it feels like a win. The Bigot sisters are on a different planet to us resource wise , so much so it's really not a level playing field. There mocking us for celebrating getting a draw but when they have 10 times our turnover it's no surprise that we're so happy with a point.

05-01-2025, 05:13 PM
At 2-2 I could only see one winner and it wasn't them. Their 3rd was a real kick in the balls

05-01-2025, 05:29 PM
History tells us, any point or points against the OF are ALWAYS points gained.
Trust me. I’m an old codger and seen too many OF defeats.

babahibs
05-01-2025, 06:22 PM

Away and throw ***** at yourself, prick.

Donegal Hibby
05-01-2025, 09:05 PM
Would you rather have beaten St Johnstone and lost to the huns or the two draws ? .

05-01-2025, 09:09 PM
Would you rather have beaten St Johnstone and lost to the huns or the two draws ? .

Interesting question! Objectively of course 3 points is better than 2.

But that draw today keeps the feel good factor going and will add to the players belief and self confidence.

05-01-2025, 10:01 PM
Would have taken a point before the game

Will 100% take a point that we were 0-2 down

Delighted with the performance and great to see tactical tweaks in the match notably effecting the outcome

Moving Campbell back and going to a flat 3 in midfield massively helped.

andrew_dundee
05-01-2025, 10:16 PM

But that draw today keeps the feel good factor going and will add to the players belief and self confidence.

Agreed. I think fans would easily have forgiven a loss to Rangers, but anything against them is a boost - especially after they hammered Celtic.

Paul1642
05-01-2025, 10:18 PM
Unbeaten in 6 has a nice ring to it and the fixtures are stacked nicely to increase that number.

Donegal Hibby
05-01-2025, 10:37 PM

3 points would be better though agree with what you say about the feel good factor and player’s belief and self confidence.. also a big bonus in the way we came back from 2-0 down and there are a lot of p***** off huns today too:greengrin