View Full Version : New Year Plans
30-12-2024, 12:45 PM
Do many people do anything for New Year these days?
When I was younger I was always out on hogmanay, be that to a party or just in the pub, and then NYD itself was at my great aunts. As that generation has passed on no one has really taken on that role in the family among the younger generations (and a lot of cousins etc don't live locally now anyway). Even going back a couple of decades though us (then) youngsters would be told it 'isn't like the new years we used to have' and we would be regaled with tales of first footing, parties that lasted days and all ran into one, steak pies that would have fed 5000 etc etc. My grandad can recall working on Christmas Day as it wasn't the focus of the celebrations in Scotland but never New Year.
Is it just the case that Christmas has totally usurped New Year now? I can't remember the last time we did anything notable at NY. I tend to do the racing at Musselburgh and that's about it. We have no plans for Hogmanay and I doubt I'll even stay up until midnight. NYD we have my parents coming down and I'm doing soup and stovies but I don't foresee it being a raucous one. Is anyone keeping the party going? Or is it a thing of the past?
Bridge hibs
30-12-2024, 01:25 PM
I honestly cant be arsed with New Year and to be honest I havent for many years. In days if yore it would be building trade shut down for two weeks and on New Year it would be hit the Tron with the mates, why ? I actually dont know as it was nothing special, drinks in hand, ding dong bells, shake hands and have a bit of a snogathon.
Thereafter it would be stoat home and hit the families houses and mates parties, pretty much on it until I vomit. Sleep it off on someones stinking carpet and then start it all over again.
As I got older, married with kids the whole New Year theme became a chore and to be honest it was actually nothing special and if I really needed an excuse to get hammered I could just do that on a Friday or Saturday night or if I wanted to party we would just have one, we didnt need a reason.
Traditions never appealed to me and even as a youngster seeing my Dads pals stoating in carrying a lump of coal, a bit of black bun and a bottle of rum were just an excuse to sit and get loud and drunk with the occasional patronising pat on the head like Im some sort of ****ing dug, theres a good lad, happy new year now **** off to your bed.
The following morning the house would reek of stale booze, stinking feet from the straggler who kipped on the couch and the house full of cigarette smoke followed often by the echoing sounds of Huey as my Dad had his head down the lavvy pan.
Even nowadays, my neighbours are ***** so I wouldnt entertain them in my house so its door locked and lights out.
Signed
Mr Boring **** 😀
30-12-2024, 01:41 PM
I’ll be working on the 1st for what is the busiest day of the year for us. We will be absolutely smashed for deliveries. Not that fussed about New Year, Christmas is my happy time.🎅
ErinGoBraghHFC
30-12-2024, 01:43 PM
Hogmanay gets more and more shan the older I get, why would I want to queue at a bar for half an hour at a time? **** that. Carry oot, seat on the couch, maybe an Indian or a Chinese. NYD, go see my mum and dad for a bit. Just another day, time is a social construct.
30-12-2024, 02:17 PM
Sad admission time...
I've always cleaned my house from top to bottom on either 31st Dec or 1st Jan. My gran used to say that your home should be absolutely spotless for the incoming year and I just kind of followed her example.
Then I get p1ssed....
30-12-2024, 02:19 PM
Sad admission time...
I've always cleaned my house from top to bottom on either 31st Dec or 1st Jan. My gran used to say that your home should be absolutely spotless for the incoming year and I just kind of followed her example.
Then I get p1ssed....
I suppose once a year is better than not at all. :offski:
30-12-2024, 02:23 PM
I suppose once a year is better than not at all. :offski:
That's what I always tell Mrs M
30-12-2024, 02:26 PM
When I lived in Berlin it was like entering a war zone if you dared leave the house. Now I live outside I'll either stay at home and wait on the bells and have a wee nip to those no longer with us or just take a wee walk with the dug and watch the fireworks above Berlin in the distance.
30-12-2024, 02:26 PM
That's what I always tell Mrs M
babahibs
30-12-2024, 02:28 PM
I'll be in the sky somewhere over India at the bells, on my way to Bangkok to start 2 months of travels.
A tradition I could easily get used to.
30-12-2024, 03:01 PM
Pals house tomorrow.
patch1875
30-12-2024, 03:04 PM
Street party cancelled
patch1875
30-12-2024, 03:05 PM
I’m working occasional Uber driver it’s a pretty lucrative night.
Bridge hibs
30-12-2024, 03:06 PM
I'll be in the sky somewhere over India at the bells, on my way to Bangkok to start 2 months of travels.
A tradition I could easily get used to.
Now that sounds like my idea of new year, safe travels mate 👍
30-12-2024, 03:06 PM
I’m working occasional Uber driver it’s a pretty lucrative night.
Might need an uber to get home tomorrow night. :greengrin
30-12-2024, 03:47 PM
Street party cancelled
Gayle force wins in Edinburgh since Thursday. 🌬️
As mentioned, my folks, particularly my dad, have talked many times about Hogmanay/new years day when they were kids, parties that didn’t get going until after the bells, a couple of hours Kip then getting taken to grandparents houses etc.
We never really did anything over Hogmanay when I was younger, my dad takes a wander up the garden about 11:55 with the same half bottle they’ve had since I was born, so that he can first foot the house. And since living away from there, I’ve/we've never done anything, more than likely my wife will be asleep before the bells
30-12-2024, 04:51 PM
This might be the best thread to ask the question I ask every year:greengrin
Where can I get black bun??? I have the same hassle every year.... younger shop staff look at me as if I've said the most racist thing ever.
Last year, I found it at Bayne's in Granton, but they don't have it this year.
30-12-2024, 05:09 PM
Where can I get black bun??? I have the same hassle every year.... younger shop staff look at me as if I've said the most racist thing ever.
Tried everywhere myself to no avail.
30-12-2024, 05:20 PM
Tricky enough trying to find a well fired roll that is edible a couple of hours after purchase.
Silky
30-12-2024, 05:28 PM
When I was younger I was always out on hogmanay, be that to a party or just in the pub, and then NYD itself was at my great aunts. As that generation has passed on no one has really taken on that role in the family among the younger generations (and a lot of cousins etc don't live locally now anyway). Even going back a couple of decades though us (then) youngsters would be told it 'isn't like the new years we used to have' and we would be regaled with tales of first footing, parties that lasted days and all ran into one, steak pies that would have fed 5000 etc etc. My grandad can recall working on Christmas Day as it wasn't the focus of the celebrations in Scotland but never New Year.
Is it just the case that Christmas has totally usurped New Year now? I can't remember the last time we did anything notable at NY. I tend to do the racing at Musselburgh and that's about it. We have no plans for Hogmanay and I doubt I'll even stay up until midnight. NYD we have my parents coming down and I'm doing soup and stovies but I don't foresee it being a raucous one. Is anyone keeping the party going? Or is it a thing of the past?
Used to be the same for me. Would go out to the pub or a club on hogmanay. When I was a bit younger me and my dad would wander from Reastalrig, where we lived, to Meadowbank to visit his mate and his auld boy, but that stopped when the old boy died. Then there would always be a party at my folks on the 1st into the second, where my dad would pull out all the rank drink that lived in the drinks cabinet and never got an airing until New Year. Most of it was older than me!😂.this went on until I was in my 20's then started to fizzle out, especially one I got married, had kids and couldn't be bothered with it any more. My dad's mates still went round, but gradually they got older and health took over so it stopped.
I don't really do anything now. My daughter is 15, so I imagine it will be her turn for partying in a few years but I can't be arsed any more. Got some cheese and wine and will sit in the house then probably hit the sack just after the bells. As I hit my late forties, it doesn't have the same appeal any more.
Used to be the same for me. Would go out to the pub or a club on hogmanay. When I was a bit younger me and my dad would wander from Reastalrig, where we lived, to Meadowbank to visit his mate and his auld boy, but that stopped when the old boy died. Then there would always be a party at my folks on the 1st into the second, where my dad would pull out all the rank drink that lived in the drinks cabinet and never got an airing until New Year. Most of it was older than me!😂.this went on until I was in my 20's then started to fizzle out, especially one I got married, had kids and couldn't be bothered with it any more. My dad's mates still went round, but gradually they got older and health took over so it stopped.
I don't really do anything now. My daughter is 15, so I imagine it will be her turn for partying in a few years but I can't be arsed any more. Got some cheese and wine and will sit in the house then probably hit the sack just after the bells. As I hit my late forties, it doesn't have the same appeal any more.
Getting to this stage myself, used to love new year eve but I could quite easily go to my bed and wake up a new man in 2025…but we’re having a party and il drink too much and wake up dying for the next 2 days if I’m lucky, before trying to shake all the bad things I’m giving up, I’d love to wake up fresh, head out a run, just enjoy the day off work….. great fun il be at a party eh
30-12-2024, 06:02 PM
I’m going to a friends for a party tomorrow. Usually spend it with family but my son is 19 now and couldn’t be less interested in spending it with us old folk.
We used to go down to portobello beach for midnight which was lovely, it’s a really nice family atmosphere down there.
No real plans for the 1st, back when I was wee the whole family used to spend the 1st at my aunties house but that stopped a while back and it’s not the same anymore.
30-12-2024, 06:45 PM
Past few years we’ve not bothered with Hogmanay and been tucked up before the bells. Probably due to young kids. We’ve done Musselburgh races on NYD instead, same again this year.
30-12-2024, 06:49 PM
On Islay . It’s still the traditional New Year here with people going from house to house.
30-12-2024, 07:19 PM
Dunno if it’s been covid or just the age and stage we’ve all reached but I’ve definitely felt my more extended family drift apart over the past 5 years or so.
Where we once did loads together, all the little traditions seem to be evaporating one by one.
30-12-2024, 07:53 PM
Always work Hogmanay and love it. One of the best shifts of the year as everyone as in a good mood. Always take the 1st off and do a pub crawl around Edinburgh Old Town with Tartan Army pals, trying to take in the darts as we go. One of the social highlights of the year.
30-12-2024, 08:49 PM
I saw it somewhere. Valvona and Crolla, I think?
Edit: Just looked, and it's on their webpage under 'Scottish Foods.'
30-12-2024, 09:06 PM
I saw it somewhere. Valvona and Crolla, I think?
Edit: Just looked, and it's on their webpage under 'Scottish Foods.'
Looks like it's sold out.
30-12-2024, 09:15 PM
[QUOTE=CropleyWasGod;7853601]This might be the best thread to ask the question I ask every year:greengrin
Last year, I found it at Bayne's in Granton, but they don't have it this year.[/QUOTE
I 'think' I've seen them at Hopetoun Farm shop, which is out past Abercorn. Worth giving them a call!
Paulie Walnuts
30-12-2024, 09:33 PM
I stopped doing anything but recently started going out for dinner and then to the local for the bells. Quite enjoy it having hated new year in my youth.
30-12-2024, 10:20 PM
I have great memories of Hogmanay in my youth. In the city centre/southside there was always three or four house parties going on and youd often sway from one to another as the night progressed. As job and kids came along and staying up late got harder and harder, the whole event became less important for the older ones, which us how it should be. The corporate purchase of the Edinburgh Hogmanay brand by first Richard Branson in the 90s and then by successive ******s meant the while event has changed beyond all recognition. (I went to Pulp in the gardens last year and it was a good night so i suppose i shouldnt complain).
Friends are having a house party this year so im hoping to stay up till maybe 2 before retreating home.
30-12-2024, 10:24 PM
I'd always go out when I was younger either to clubs or party's
With young kids now we've often debated doing something a bit more substantial and sending the kids to grandparents but generally it's low key
My eldest (13) goes off to her dad's for a few days so we usually just get a takeaway (contemplating going out for a meal this year) and have a few drinks. Last year our middle child (6 at the time) came downstairs around 11pm and wanted to get involved so we brought in the bells and danced and sang around the living room with her which was pretty special. I suspect we'll do similar again this year tbh
30-12-2024, 11:00 PM
For those looking for Black Bun try Crombies at Broughton St. Just checked their website & it doesn't say it's sold out. Worth a call in the morning.
31-12-2024, 06:05 PM
Street party cancelled
Currently uptown now and the weather doesn’t seem to be that bad?
31-12-2024, 06:14 PM
As a kid growing up Christmas was a build up to the New Year, doors open and folk just going from stair to stair partying, my mum and dad would go awol for days, we would have Happy Howden at the house and the odd Hibs player would make an appearance, it was great, folk giving you change out there pockets, I will say good times, as I got older it was up town to the Tron for the bells and the Royal Mile would be packed and then it was back home to someone’s house, the doors were no longer left open due to imo drug addicts sneaking in to houses and stealing stuff, as I got older it would be parties that did last for days at my missus mums house, ask R & S about the parties at there grannies house, crazy stuff and then we would head to mates house for absolute benders where you could let the hair down :greengri, now it’s just another day to me, don’t drink anymore and hate being in company with other loud drunk folk, getting old you see, a few spliffs will do me for tonight, have a good one. :thumbsup:
Donegal Hibby
31-12-2024, 06:51 PM
Pretty much the same as other years .. see in the new year with the family and have a few beers .
31-12-2024, 08:58 PM
We had friends over for dinner earlier. Family for dinner tomorrow. I couldn't give 2 ****s whether I'm awake or not come midnight.
A pointless endeavour.
All the best a'body.x
31-12-2024, 10:11 PM
We had friends over for dinner earlier. Family for dinner tomorrow. I couldn't give 2 ****s whether I'm awake or not come midnight.
A pointless endeavour.
All the best a'body.x
Hardly pointless. If you are up at midnight with family or loved ones it is as good an excuse to be together as any other.
We also had dinner.
All the best to you too.
01-01-2025, 12:06 AM
Think the organisers have overreacted. It’s windy but the fireworks and concerts have been held in worse conditions.
01-01-2025, 12:10 AM
Think the organisers have overreacted. It’s windy but the fireworks and concerts have been held in worse conditions.
I suppose they can only go on the advice given…the advice was well OTT by the looks of it though. Nothing worse than a strong breeze with the occasional gust of not very much.
Shame as sure it ruined a lot of people’s plans.
01-01-2025, 12:36 AM
Have to agree. The wind speeds were never going to be over 45mph on the day, which in Scotland is classed as a good drying day. It's Scotland, it's winter. Just get on with it.
01-01-2025, 01:18 PM
Cancelling was absolutely the right decision. Also replicated in other cities like Newcastle. The weather was atrocious early this morning and conditions were definitely dangerous, barriers getting ripped off and chucked around.
01-01-2025, 01:35 PM
You have to make a decision early sometimes. I remember it being cancelled well into the evening in the early 00s and it was carnage in town. People were already gathered on Princes Street and in the days before widespread social media and when phone signals went a bit sketchy on Hogmanay there was a real lack of information. That kind of uncertainty creates incidents.
I do have a bit of an objection to the company who rake in a fortune from Hogmanay in Edinburgh telling people to stay at home altogether though. Pubs, clubs and restaurants desperately need people going out and about and if people choose to gather in the streets between pubs or parties, as they did for decades before we were charged to enter our own city centre, then it's really none of their business.
01-01-2025, 04:18 PM
I do have a bit of an objection to the company who rake in a fortune from Hogmanay in Edinburgh telling people to stay at home altogether though. Pubs, clubs and restaurants desperately need people going out and about and if people choose to gather in the streets between pubs or parties, as they did for decades before we were charged to enter our own city centre, then it's really none of their business.
Just seen that, who do they think they are.
01-01-2025, 04:44 PM
We were unsure on what to do last night so ended up with my sister in law and her 3 down with us for a sleepover.
Kids were all sound and went to bed by half 8, we cooked a lamb leg with dauphinois potatoes and tender-stem (or Tory broccoli), drank a bottle of gin and a couple of bottles of fizz between us, went to bed at 1 and woke up reasonably fresh.
SIL is usually on her own on NYE as brother in law is a musician so is playing for the bells, think we might make it a wee tradition going forward.
01-01-2025, 06:32 PM
I think it was cancelled as the weather was worse on the 30th which meant they couldn't complete the setup safely.
Also, nobody in their right mind is going to ignore advice saying there could be a danger to either those setting up or attending. If they ignored that and went ahead and it resulted in someone being seriously hurt or worse, they'd very likely be looking at serious charges.
01-01-2025, 07:02 PM
We ended up having our neighbours round.
Thoroughly enjoyable night, more sociable than I’m used to being these days but pleasant nonetheless.
A good few bottles of Prosecco, beer and Oatnog polished off between us with all manner of snacks that I’d been sent out for earlier.
My partner’s in a great mood today. I think she likes it when I get dragged out of being in a room on my own.
Quite pleasant, almost unscripted and a fairly pleasant surprise.
01-01-2025, 08:21 PM
I think it was cancelled as the weather was worse on the 30th which meant they couldn't complete the setup safely.
Also, nobody in their right mind is going to ignore advice saying there could be a danger to either those setting up or attending. If they ignored that and went ahead and it resulted in someone being seriously hurt or worse, they'd very likely be looking at serious charges.
They've had a whole year to get it ready :greengrin
01-01-2025, 08:37 PM
Drank wine, whisky and beer, cuffed the missus at Uno and Outsmarted, stayed up for the bells listening to music and went to bed shortly after. Perfect.
01-01-2025, 08:56 PM
They've had a whole year to get it ready :greengrin
The weathers been **** for a year to be fair.
He's here!
03-01-2025, 04:45 PM
Christmas has always been king for my family. More of a sense of escapism from the norm and I like the way you lose track of what day it is. My in-laws were bigger on new year but that's kind of fizzled out as older relatives have passed on and now new year just feels a slightly depressing attempt to stave off the return to reality. New Year's Day itself always seems especially flat.
03-01-2025, 06:17 PM
Much prefer Boxing Day, probably about the best day of the year for sport and the boozer is usually bouncing.
04-01-2025, 11:21 AM
Just seen that, who do they think they are.
We should reclaim the streets next year. Don't let some corporate shyster tell us where we can't go in our own city. Irvine Welsh will lead us. To the Tron!
04-01-2025, 11:28 AM
We should reclaim the streets next year. Don't let some corporate shyster tell us where we can't go in our own city. Irvine Welsh will lead us. To the Tron!
Isn't Irvine still a resident of Miami?
Trinity Hibee
04-01-2025, 03:03 PM
I see they made a black bun on New Year bake off with Scottish contestants
04-01-2025, 03:08 PM
Much prefer Boxing Day, probably about the best day of the year for sport and the boozer is usually bouncing.
Best day of the year for me.
Changed loads over the years. For a long time it was an all day sesh with the boys, now we meet for a few pints every 2nd year to keep the tradition alive but not totally **** off our partners.
On the other years my parents take the kids to the panto so me and the wife go out for a few drinks and we each pick a couple of horses for the racing.
04-01-2025, 04:00 PM
I see they made a black bun on New Year bake off with Scottish contestants
Surprised that the authorities allowed that, seems a tad extreme. 🤭