View Full Version : Shankland

28-12-2024, 09:11 AM
I must admit I’ve always had a dislike for the large headed Jambo, but just watched his post match interview and was impressed by his honesty. Said Hibs were the better team. Said the league table doesn’t lie, with regards to their position.. refuses to blame anyone except the team and admits they need some quality to be bought in January. Says virtually nothing about Critchley, which is interesting.

https://youtu.be/0ZFo9SgxbKc?si=z7fuf7oireBKjG-o

Bridge hibs
28-12-2024, 09:14 AM
I must admit I’ve always had a dislike for the large headed Jambo, but just watched his post match interview and was impressed by his honesty. Said Hibs were the better team. Said the league table doesn’t lie, with regards to their position.. refuses to blame anyone except the team and admits they need some quality to be bought in January. Says virtually nothing about Critchley, which is interesting.

https://youtu.be/0ZFo9SgxbKc?si=z7fuf7oireBKjG-oI wouldnt be too impressed, all he really said is what happened to his ****ty team, even Stevie Wonder could have seen that

28-12-2024, 09:18 AM
The video from Hearts hospitality had him saying they don’t create chances and all there possession is in ineffectual situations

28-12-2024, 09:18 AM
I wouldnt be too impressed, all he really said is what happened to his ****ty team, even Stevie Wonder could have seen that
Maybe, but Jambos have a habit of rewriting history and suggesting they were robbed. He doesn’t.

28-12-2024, 09:21 AM
The video from Hearts hospitality had him saying they don’t create chances and all there possession is in ineffectual situations

Lovell said exactly that in the commentary. At one point there was a stat showing how their front guys had hardly touched the ball.

Long may it continue!

Greenio
28-12-2024, 09:24 AM
Cant really say anything else atm can he.

Ive nothing against the guy (actually feel he should have gotten more from Scotland while he was red hot) but one mans shoulders can only take so much before they buckle... He carried an entire club solo last season and theyve been quick to forget that (as most fans would) now hes inevitably come off that boil given the **** show all around him.

Is it wrong to take such enjoyment from Hearts imploding? Ha!

Donegal Hibby
28-12-2024, 09:28 AM
It was his reaction that got Rocky booked making out that Rocky used his elbow . As far as I’m concerned he’s just another cheating hertz b…… .

HarpOnHibee
28-12-2024, 10:35 AM
The extra touch he took in the box instead of taking the shot on near the end of the game looked intentional to me. Like he wasn't even all that bothered about scoring. Looks like a player who knows he's going to be away shortly.

He's here!
28-12-2024, 10:50 AM
The extra touch he took in the box instead of taking the shot on near the end of the game looked intentional to me. Like he wasn't even all that bothered about scoring. Looks like a player who knows he's going to be away shortly.

Intentional in the sense he lacked the confidence to try and get a shot away more quickly you mean? He's hardly going to deliberately try NOT to score.

The guy looks utterly bereft of belief. Got a massive slice of luck with Rocky's og, but any shots he was taking were being hit in hope more than expectation and never looked like troubling Smith. I got the impression he was more focused on at least keeping his efforts on target rather than hitting them with any real power and running the risk of the flying high and wide. I'm not sure I've ever seen such a prolific striker's scoring ability fall off a cliff like this. I recall Keith Wright hitting a barren spell in his second season with us, but it never lasted anything like as long as this and the fans remained 100% behind him.

28-12-2024, 01:33 PM

I saw the video you’re talking about and I hardly made out a word he said from his mumbling drone.

28-12-2024, 01:36 PM
It was his reaction that got Rocky booked making out that Rocky used his elbow . As far as I’m concerned he’s just another cheating hertz b…… .astard with a huge heid.

Finished that for you[emoji6]

28-12-2024, 01:49 PM
Big Spamheid working his ticket until January/summer at the latest. Telling uncomfortable truths is another facet of his "I'm a Hun, get me out of here Rangers" efforts and long may they continue.

28-12-2024, 01:51 PM
Even the most deluded of Jambos who have them challenging for the league every year can't deny how pish they are now.

andrew_dundee
28-12-2024, 01:52 PM
I'd have thought his best chance of a money move to Rangers would come from playing well. He must have hammered his fee and wage potential over the last few months.

28-12-2024, 02:07 PM
Thought he looked a frustrated player out of form resorting to trying to influence the referee ( it worked ) and blaming his teammates for not getting the ball in the mixer quick enough missed a chance late doors should have pulled the trigger sooner shame

28-12-2024, 02:10 PM
Offer him a pre contract in January.

28-12-2024, 02:24 PM

Also that they lacked quality wonder if he was including himself in that

28-12-2024, 02:31 PM
Aye, he speaks well of his fellow team mates, great captain speak, a right throbber in amongst the rest of the throbbers.
:lolyam:

28-12-2024, 02:34 PM
That Scott Wilson seems like a fud.

28-12-2024, 02:39 PM
That Scott Wilson is a fud.

Sorted that for you!

PHeffernan
28-12-2024, 02:44 PM
Intentional in the sense he lacked the confidence to try and get a shot away more quickly you mean? He's hardly going to deliberately try NOT to score.

The guy looks utterly bereft of belief. Got a massive slice of luck with Rocky's og, but any shots he was taking were being hit in hope more than expectation and never looked like troubling Smith. I got the impression he was more focused on at least keeping his efforts on target rather than hitting them with any real power and running the risk of the flying high and wide. I'm not sure I've ever seen such a prolific striker's scoring ability fall off a cliff like this. I recall Keith Wright hitting a barren spell in his second season with us, but it never lasted anything like as long as this and the fans remained 100% behind him.

Van Veen was last seasons example

28-12-2024, 02:51 PM

Said this to my mate at the game - for all the Jambos comparisons, Griffiths, Riordan etc never went through the kind of barren run Shankland is suffering at the moment. His confidence looks shot, but I seem to recollect his goals last season Vs XG were way mismatched, pointing to last season being an anomaly which now looks the case.

28-12-2024, 02:56 PM

He's been a fud for about 20 years (at least)

DIXIHIBS
28-12-2024, 03:04 PM
He's been a fud for about 20 years (at least)

I worked beside him 40 years ago and he was a fud.

Dr What If?
28-12-2024, 03:23 PM
Even the most deluded of Jambos who have them challenging for the league every year can't deny how pish they are now.
Your lucky, clearly don't know that many Jambos.....I've got one mate who has 'conceded' that 3rd might be a stretch but after January when they get a couple of players in they will be looking to finish 4th. That was before Boxing Day mind, haven't heard a peep from him since then:greengrin

28-12-2024, 03:34 PM
Your lucky, clearly don't know that many Jambos.....I've got one mate who has 'conceded' that 3rd might be a stretch but after January when they get a couple of players in they will be looking to finish 4th. That was before Boxing Day mind, haven't heard a peep from him since then:greengrin

Jamestown this, Jamestown that. Bloom this, Bloom that.

They are deluded wallopers that have hung on every world Budge and McKinlay have said about being the bestest and bigliest outwith the OF.

£50million plus and counting and they’ve won diddly ****.

ben johnson
28-12-2024, 03:48 PM

His old and tired patter by playing Sparks , This town ain’t big enough
Every game there same old same old.

Paul1642
28-12-2024, 04:01 PM
Hearts top scorer of the 21st Century I believe, and single handedly carried them to 3rd place last season.

The way their fans have turned on him is pretty shameful.

28-12-2024, 04:07 PM
Hearts top scorer of the 21st Century I believe, and single handedly carried them to 3rd place last season.

The way their fans have turned on him is pretty shameful.

Not sure our fans are much better in that respect to be fair.

28-12-2024, 04:29 PM

https://youtu.be/0ZFo9SgxbKc?si=z7fuf7oireBKjG-o

Someone I know of very close to Alan Forrest. The word from him is that they hated Naismith bar a small faction of the group. They collectively really like Critchley, apparently Forrest describes him as the nicest guy he’s ever worked with in football but they are not sure about the ‘plan’ - ie tactics. The narrative from the coaching staff has changed a couple of times

28-12-2024, 04:50 PM
Isn't Scott Wilson retired?

speedy_gonzales
28-12-2024, 04:57 PM
Isn't Scott Wilson retired?

He doesn't seem to do the match announcements but he still does the corporate introductions before/after the game.

28-12-2024, 05:28 PM
Big Spamheid working his ticket until January/summer at the latest. Telling uncomfortable truths is another facet of his "I'm a Hun, get me out of here Rangers" efforts and long may they continue.
:greengrin brilliant. I don't know why they keep putting him infront of the microphone tbh, pops up most weeks in short clips on social media and each time I open it he's talking absolute nonsense that you wouldn't want coming out of your own club. Today's 'we're no a good team' was excellent though.

28-12-2024, 05:32 PM
:greengrin brilliant. I don't know why they keep putting him infront of the microphone tbh, pops up most weeks in short clips on social media and each time I open it he's talking absolute nonsense that you wouldn't want coming out of your own club. Today's 'we're no a good team' was excellent though.

And how can someone with a microphone stuck under his nose sound so quiet. I think he was hurting. Pleasing

Bridge hibs
28-12-2024, 06:00 PM
And how can someone with a microphone stuck under his nose sound so quiet. I think he was hurting. Pleasing

Probably because he ate it first

28-12-2024, 06:36 PM

Scott Wilson is a bitter jambo fud.

When he was the stadium announcer he loved making digs at us on derby day which I actually have no problem with tbh, it’s all part n parcel that the home team give a bit of it to the away support. It gets the crowd going and produces a bit of atmosphere. It was when we weren’t playing them and he still constantly referenced us and about them being Edinburghs “big team” etc and all that pish.

Also when we played at there against st Johnstone in a league cup semi he could help but get his wee jibes in before the game.

GIFU him

28-12-2024, 06:48 PM
His old and tired patter by playing Sparks , This town ain’t big enough
Every game there same old same old.He's the Ted Bovis of Scottish football hospitality.

28-12-2024, 07:15 PM
Shankland still has the potential for another 2 or 3 good seasons in him. Hope he leaves Hearts.

Scotty Leither
28-12-2024, 08:28 PM
Scott Wilson is a bitter jambo fud.

When he was the stadium announcer he loved making digs at us on derby day which I actually have no problem with tbh, it’s all part n parcel that the home team give a bit of it to the away support. It gets the crowd going and produces a bit of atmosphere. It was when we weren’t playing them and he still constantly referenced us and about them being Edinburghs “big team” etc and all that pish.

Also when we played at there against st Johnstone in a league cup semi he could help but get his wee jibes in before the game.

GIFU him

He embarrassed himself that day. He was supposed to play the club song of whoever won at the end of the match too, but apparently refused because it was us. Fud.

28-12-2024, 08:57 PM
That Wilson guy just screams of Hearts.

He’s just like every one of them that you know.

28-12-2024, 09:06 PM

He’s just like everyone of them that you know.

Red face. Four chins. Talks pish.

A stereotypical one of them for me.

DickieDastardly
28-12-2024, 10:29 PM

He’s just like everyone of them that you know.

He was an *rse when doing the stadium announcing, but having been to corporate at Tynecastle quite a few times for derby's he's actually pretty funny and takes the p*ss out of the all players that get rolled out for interviews. Of course he has a Hearts bias but that's expected, he is after all being paid by them.

John Blackley was a guest in the suite on boxing day, and to be fair he praised him as a player and asked for a round of applause for him which by and large he was given - it was pre-match though.

Post match Craig Gordon was getting a lot of stick from supporters in the suite before Shankland was rolled out, some of their fans were really turning on them.

28-12-2024, 10:49 PM
He keeps banging on ab out 20000 sell outs, he's a fud

29-12-2024, 08:07 AM
He was an *rse when doing the stadium announcing, but having been to corporate at Tynecastle quite a few times for derby's he's actually pretty funny and takes the p*ss out of the all players that get rolled out for interviews. Of course he has a Hearts bias but that's expected, he is after all being paid by them.

John Blackley was a guest in the suite on boxing day, and to be fair he praised him as a player and asked for a round of applause for him which by and large he was given - it was pre-match though.

Post match Craig Gordon was getting a lot of stick from supporters in the suite before Shankland was rolled out, some of their fans were really turning on them.

What was Gordon getting stick for? Not getting stuck in to tackles, that kind of thing? :confused:

29-12-2024, 08:10 AM

Craig Gordon saved them from their biggest derby embarrassment since Jan 1973

Bridge hibs
29-12-2024, 08:20 AM
What was Gordon getting stick for? Not getting stuck in to tackles, that kind of thing? :confused:

The only thing I could probably blame Gordon for was his kicking/distribution as a few times during the game he found green jerseys instead of his ****ty marroon

29-12-2024, 08:27 AM
Thought he ( Gordon ) was my MOTM for them not bad for a 42 year old 6 shots on target only conceded 2 with little protection

hibbydog
29-12-2024, 08:48 AM
Hearts have royally f&@£& up with Shankland.

They chose not to sell him when he was at his peak and could have made say £3m. But they held on to him, he’s lost all form, taken the huff and looks about a stone overweight. Nobody really wants to buy him now.

Pleasing

29-12-2024, 09:12 AM

They chose not to sell him when he was at his peak and could have made say £3m. But they held on to him, he’s lost all form, taken the huff and looks about a stone overweight. Nobody really wants to buy him now.

Pleasing

They didn’t choose not to sell him. No one made an offer.

29-12-2024, 09:15 AM
Probably go to the Huns and start twice, be sub three times then quietly slope off to Dundee and after a barren spell there, have a minor resurrection at Raith in the Championship.

WeAreHibs
29-12-2024, 09:17 AM
Probably go to the Huns and start twice, be sub three times then quietly slope off to Dundee and after a barren spell there, have a minor resurrection at Raith in the Championship.

Let's hope so.

29-12-2024, 09:19 AM
He embarrassed himself that day. He was supposed to play the club song of whoever won at the end of the match too, but apparently refused because it was us. Fud.

Yes remember they didn’t play SOL that day. Bit odd.Went to school with Scott not a bad guy all in.

29-12-2024, 09:25 AM

Again. He's been keeping them in Derbies on and off for more than 2 ****ing decades. Hope he retires yesterday for that reason alone - incredible shot stopper.

29-12-2024, 11:29 AM

Antti Niemi did that and still managed to concede 6.

29-12-2024, 11:38 AM

And it could have been many more that day.

Shankland will probably end up going to Saudi for the £ or the Huns..you can tell he’s definitely leaving Hearts though.

His interview in the Hearts hospitality he is blaming the lack of quality in the team - can’t imagine his team mates are too pleased with that.

29-12-2024, 11:46 AM

Pleasing

They didn’t choose not to sell him. No one made an offer.

For a player in great form, scoring regularly and earning International caps with a contract running down, where was the clamour from clubs to try and sign him?

With such little interest, was there something that was putting clubs off? Got to be more than a coincidence that so many clubs who’d be in the market for such a player were steering well clear?

29-12-2024, 01:09 PM
Not in Hearts squad v Ross County.

ErinGoBraghHFC
29-12-2024, 01:12 PM
Not in Hearts squad v Ross County.

Him and Zander Clarke will be in hibs squads before the end of January. On the bench though.

Ribs1875
29-12-2024, 01:21 PM
For a player in great form, scoring regularly and earning International caps with a contract running down, where was the clamour from clubs to try and sign him?

With such little interest, was there something that was putting clubs off? Got to be more than a coincidence that so many clubs who’d be in the market for such a player were steering well clear?

I am sure clubs would have been keeping tabs on him. I think the reason no one came in for him when he was in form is because fronting the money hearts would have been wanting 3-4 million for a guy scoring a few goals in a dug ***** league is not a good risk for an English championship team. Or they might have thought **** paying that money for someone who looks like beavis and butthead.

Bridge hibs
29-12-2024, 01:44 PM
Him and Zander Clarke will be in hibs squads before the end of January. On the bench though.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkShankenheid ? No chance 😆

29-12-2024, 05:25 PM
Shankenheid ? No chance 😆

Shankenstein

29-12-2024, 05:29 PM

Absolute nonsense.

Hes got Falkirk written all over him :greengrin

29-12-2024, 05:30 PM

Definitely.