View Full Version : Serious question about Hearts

andrew_dundee
26-12-2024, 02:52 PM
Why have they been so terrible this season? They've not lost loads of players since they came third last season. Is it just poor management and Shankland losing it or is there more to it? Either way it is funny so long may it continue.

26-12-2024, 02:53 PM
Why have they been so terrible this season? They've not lost loads of players since they came third last season. Is it just poor management and Shankland losing it or is there more to it? Either way it is funny so long may it continue.

**** the hertz
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin

26-12-2024, 02:53 PM
I think it’s the lack of identity.

26-12-2024, 02:54 PM

Who the **** cares? I only care about our team😁

26-12-2024, 02:54 PM
Their new signings have been decidedly average and their manager is in the ***** column.add in the reason the excelled last season could hit a coo on the erse with a banjo this season.

OstKurve Hibs
26-12-2024, 02:56 PM
Who gives a ****

26-12-2024, 02:57 PM
It’s funny how much their recruitment was praised in the summer

Kept Shankland
Signed Penrice
Signed Dhanda
Signed Spittal

Then the were bigging up the boy Musa and Vargas.

But the 3 SPFL signings were considered very good and adding to an already strong squad. Dhanda hardly gets a sniff

Then on the flip side there’s the reaction to us signing Gayle, Iredale and Nicky Cadden for example.

Shows how tricky it is to recruit and to give players time before judging them

26-12-2024, 02:59 PM
The most overhyped team i can ever remember. BBC scotlands love-in with them has been a joke, theyve been losing for months and months, embarassed themselves in Europe and while injuries have been a factor they still have a bigger player budget than three quarters of the rest of the league. Yan Dhandas bragging they were going to split the big two after a 0-0 season opener sums it up.

HarpOnHibee
26-12-2024, 02:59 PM
Weak players, weak manager, weak fans, weak club, weak Hearts. Everything we're not. The tides have turned.

26-12-2024, 03:01 PM

Watching them today was like watching Montgomeryball.

That nonsense rotational 442 formation with possession in safe places and creating **** all chances. Hopefully Critchley takes 26 games to realise it’s not working just like Monty.

26-12-2024, 03:02 PM
:yw:
Say no more.

26-12-2024, 03:02 PM
They are absolutely honking.

Pleasing.

26-12-2024, 03:03 PM

Combo of both.

Last season was a freak…saw them a few times and they were pretty rotten but somehow getting a result.

As ever in fitba these things can’t last.

Chuck in Dhanda being of their key signings and ignoring their lack of creativity in midfield and they are getting everything they deserve [emoji1787]

-Jonesy-
26-12-2024, 03:04 PM
That’s what happens when your top scorer isn’t gifted a pen every 120 minutes

26-12-2024, 03:05 PM
Shankland has stopped scoring.

I'm starting to get the feeling that Critchley might not have it......... 😂😂😂😂😂😂

Shankland has stopped scoring.

How he never scored near the end I’ll never know.

Just shows how low in confidence he is, last season he was hitting that first time and scoring.

26-12-2024, 03:06 PM

Just shows how low in confidence he is, last season he was hitting that first time and scoring.

:casper:

26-12-2024, 03:06 PM

Great block(by Iredale i think)

26-12-2024, 03:07 PM

It was eventually. Just surprised that Shankland didn’t hit it first time.

26-12-2024, 03:08 PM
Critchley has been a shocking appointment for them. Surely someone was at it picking him?

26-12-2024, 03:08 PM
It’s funny how much their recruitment was praised in the summer

Kept Shankland
Signed Penrice
Signed Dhanda
Signed Spittal

Then the were bigging up the boy Musa and Vargas.

But the 3 SPFL signings were considered very good and adding to an already strong squad. Dhanda hardly gets a sniff

Then on the flip side there’s the reaction to us signing Gayle, Iredale and Nicky Cadden for example.

Shows how tricky it is to recruit and to give players time before judging them

A few on here were actually upset that we didn't bid for Dhanda and Spittal and were unhappy that they went to the Hertz.

26-12-2024, 03:09 PM

Aye compared to how he finished wrong footed after getting the bounce of the ball off Rocky at ER last year it was mental that he never hit it…was just waiting for the net to bulge, was already shout ahh FFS, the he farted about and the moment was gone.

Lovely stuff.

Critchley has been a shocking appointment for them. Surely someone was at it picking him?

Lee Johnson witout the tan.

Or maybe he's already agreed a pre contract and his mind is already elsewhere.

26-12-2024, 03:10 PM

it was,but he still had time to pull the trigger before the block came in… last season he would have.

26-12-2024, 03:10 PM

Nowhere near as good as LJ, tan or not!

26-12-2024, 03:11 PM
It’s puzzling why they’re so bad, and hopefully that makes it more difficult for them to fix.

26-12-2024, 03:12 PM
Shankland has stopped scoring.Ironically he was expecting to go to the Huns, stayed with the Diet version and got fatter.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

one day maybe...
26-12-2024, 03:14 PM

Sounds like that high pitched comedian Tiny Tim, looks a bit like him as wel

Who gives a ****

I concur. Long may they suffer.

Did the database come from a stall at Ingliston?

Iredale deserves a mention on every thread.

HarpOnHibee
26-12-2024, 03:15 PM
It was eventually. Just surprised that Shankland didn’t hit it first time.

Looked like a man who eat the entire xmas turkey.

26-12-2024, 03:18 PM

it’s clearly because if you had a jobby the same colour of their strip you’d need to see a doctor.

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-12-2024, 03:22 PM

Iredale deserves his pick of the wummin, the finest beer, the suavest clothes, the most potent drugs and the most expensive cigars. He deserves whatever he desires, god bless Jack Iredale

Pete70
26-12-2024, 03:54 PM
Who cares?

26-12-2024, 03:57 PM
Who cares?

400,000 gimps that's who care.

:lolyam:

26-12-2024, 04:28 PM
I lie awake at night wondering about this .... but it doesn't take me long to laugh myself to sleep :greengrin

Keepthefaith
26-12-2024, 04:31 PM

haha I thought I was the only one who saw that resemblance. just increases the comedy value of the appointment!

26-12-2024, 04:42 PM

Lee Johnson without the football IQ.

26-12-2024, 04:43 PM
Lee Johnson without the football IQ.

Lee Johnson without the accompanying app.

26-12-2024, 04:51 PM
If you removed shanklands goals last season they'd have been bottom 2 . He's not scoring this season and they're bottom 2 .

26-12-2024, 04:56 PM

Lee Johnson without the johnson

26-12-2024, 04:57 PM

Think ****s going to hit the fan when Ann goes and major unrest with the foundation without Tefals goals they would be ordinary like they are this season

Ps it will be all Dwight on the night Merry Xmas **** the hertz

26-12-2024, 05:03 PM
I'm starting to get the feeling that Critchley might not have it......... [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]That surely can't be the case, didn't the data say he did. 28378

leith lynx
26-12-2024, 05:05 PM

Paul Daniels re-incarnated,"it's magic", how did the jambos like it today? "not a lot!"

Paulie Walnuts
26-12-2024, 05:11 PM
Watching them today was like watching Montgomeryball.

That nonsense rotational 442 formation with possession in safe places and creating **** all chances. Hopefully Critchley takes 26 games to realise it’s not working just like Monty.

They look very similar to us under Montgomery.

Absolutely hopeless.

26-12-2024, 07:01 PM
The funny thing is…

Shankland and Gordon will be away from the club sooner rather than later.

Shanklands goals often win them games.

Gordon’s saves often wins them games and he turns into prime Buffon when he plays Hibs.

Can’t wait for this day when both aren’t at Hearts. Shankland has maximum 2 more derbies against Hibs. Gordon’s kicking gets worse by the day and reactions slower.

Why they are they crap..deluded fans..crap tiny pitch…Ann budge..FOH..maroon the colour…plus many other reasons. Hope they enjoyed today :) long over due from Hibs to beat them - last 3 games Hibs were the better team.

26-12-2024, 07:08 PM
They haven't been the same since Dhanda Dhanda'd them with chat about catching the old firm this season, and Hearts man on the inside, Mikey started stressing how important identity is to success.

Critchley is doing a fine job and the donators are seeing their money in action, again.

26-12-2024, 07:20 PM
They haven't been the same since Dhanda Dhanda'd them with chat about catching the old firm this season, and Hearts man on the inside, Mikey started stressing how important identity is to success.

Critchley is doing a fine job and the donators are seeing their money in action, again.

Dhanda is brutal. So glad they signed him

TrinityHFC
26-12-2024, 07:22 PM
It is a serious misuse of the funds they have. Something like £16m in staff costs? They should be miles clear in third.

26-12-2024, 07:22 PM
Dhanda is brutal. So glad they signed himMaybe Dhan dhan the Hearts are falling apart man is their jinx?

26-12-2024, 07:25 PM
No idea how they ended up with Crichtley.

A two minute chat with him would have told me he wasn't up for the job no matter what the data said.

Hopefully he stays for the season. He's every bit as bad as Cathro was.

Flanny boy
26-12-2024, 07:26 PM
Definitely thought he was excellent

26-12-2024, 07:27 PM
They are in serious trouble.

I never for a second thought they were a team who could challenge for 2nd but even after their slow start I thought they might be able to put a run together and be in the mix for 3rd or 4th. That just isn't going to happen now though and it really is survival mode for them from here on in.

They aren't close to being too good to go down.

26-12-2024, 07:29 PM

A two minute chat with him would have told me he wasn't up for the job no matter what the data said.

Strikes me as a middle manager in some crushingly dull industry sector, like toilet roll production or dry wall production, that fancied a shot at football management.

26-12-2024, 07:29 PM

I never for a second thought they were a team who could challenge for 2nd but even after their slow start I thought they might be able to put a run together and be in the mix for 3rd or 4th. That just isn't going to happen now though and it really is survival mode for them from here on in.

The teams around them also have experience of a relegation battle in recent years and that counts for a lot. Having the grit and the character to grind out results is what keeps you up, not passes along the back line or possession stats or that.

Today needed to be blood and snotters from them and it just wasn’t a derby performance.

Flanny boy
26-12-2024, 07:30 PM

Even Blackpool fans will tell you his football is boring to watch and clueless 😂💚

26-12-2024, 07:35 PM

They really are awful. They will need to bring in some real quality in January, but if they are using the same analysis as they did in the summer I wouldn’t be counting on that working out for them.

26-12-2024, 07:35 PM

Hopefully he stays for the season. He's every bit as bad as Cathro was.You don't just "end up" with a Critchley.

You might recall their chief executive explaining the very complex data analytics they use and apparently there was only one man for the job. I'm sure he's right.

Here's photographic evidence of how it all works and how only big teams can do it.

As ever Mrs doctor Budge is right at the centre of it all.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20241226/561457b6f27b2f24268c1a870d664b1a.jpg

26-12-2024, 08:01 PM

Shankland can't score....and he slows their play down..

26-12-2024, 08:07 PM
Even Blackpool fans will tell you his football is boring to watch and clueless 😂💚

Quite a funny read

https://avftt.co.uk/index.php?threads/hearts-and-hibs.58722/

26-12-2024, 08:11 PM
apparently there was only one man for the job./

You mean like when they appointed Levein? or Naismith? They've got previous!

He'll be gone soon and Craig Gordon, as the only man for the job, will take over.

26-12-2024, 08:12 PM
Isn't it also part of the yo-yo of Hibs/Aberdeen/Hearts etc being big enough to qualify for Europe one season and then not being big enough to maintain the league form that got you to Europe the previous season, because of playing in Europe?

26-12-2024, 08:13 PM
[QUOTE=Bostonhibby;7849676]apparently there was only one man for the job./[QUOTE]

You mean like when they appointed Levein? or Naismith? They've got previous!

He'll be gone soon and Craig Gordon, as the only man for the job, will take over.Computer says, maybe.

26-12-2024, 08:20 PM
I refuse to have an opinion on this until i hear directly from Michael Stewart.

26-12-2024, 08:49 PM
Critchley is proving to be as bad as we all hoped he would be.

Any Hearts manager who performs in derbies like he's done will be punted very quickly. Wouldn't surprise me if he went tomorrow.

PHeffernan
26-12-2024, 09:22 PM

A short but serious answer to your "serious question".

Like Aberdeen last season and themselves the season before, Hearts squad has not been good enough or deep enough to cope with the physical and mental demands of playing European Group football on Thurdays and League football on Sundays, especially in December.

Additional factor - Tefal totally losing his goal scoring touch.

Like Aberdeen last season they will no doubt climb the league in the course of the 3rd round of fixtures.

IMO their complete December meltdown could have been avoided by playing a second string team in their European tie in Copenhagen. Their players looked exhausted that night and have never recovered. They also played an important player with an injury and he was predictably carted and is out for months.

26-12-2024, 09:33 PM
Everything has been very reminiscent of Hibs the last three or so seasons manager choice, signings, etc.) so it's no surprise they're having the sort of season we were having with similar.

26-12-2024, 09:44 PM
I refuse to have an opinion on this until i hear directly from Michael Stewart.

Has anybody heard from him today [emoji16]

AdidasHibernian
26-12-2024, 11:14 PM
Because the Shawshankland Redemption has been to busy tunnelling himself a move away so there main goal threat isn't doing the business.

Pleasing regardless

26-12-2024, 11:57 PM
Critchley is proving to be as bad as we all hoped he would be.

Any Hearts manager who performs in derbies like he's done will be punted very quickly. Wouldn't surprise me if he went tomorrow.

Shades of Terry Butcher in his comments today.

I hope he stays until the end of the season at least!

27-12-2024, 12:06 AM
Thing is David Gray's improvement this season strengthens the argument that managers need time to settle and get the best out of teams (obviously not always the case), but Hearts have a dilemma during the Jan window. Can they afford to take that chance and give him time knowing if it doesn't improve relegation is a real possibility.

If he does go are the back to Robbie Neilson again or are we still a couple of managers to go before the RN signal hits the sky?

Stanton Spence
27-12-2024, 12:26 AM
They were out fought out played and out sung in their own ****hole

cocteautwin
27-12-2024, 03:47 AM

With that action being the flushing of £50m+ of donated money down the toilet pan.

27-12-2024, 07:45 AM
With that action being the flushing of £50m+ of donated money down the toilet pan.At least thisctime it's just flumps handing the money to Mrs doctor Budge and their golf guy who are forcing it round the U bend with their big plunger.

No charities, tax payers or pension funds are being harmed in this production.

27-12-2024, 08:22 AM

It’s interesting as going into the game yesterday both managers had won the same number of games. Even after yesterday Critchley has a better ppg (1.27) than Gray (1.11). Yet the evidence of our eyes shows two clubs and two managers, currently, moving in different directions.

There’s a lesson in there for those that put too much importance on stats.

27-12-2024, 08:29 AM
Thing is David Gray's improvement this season strengthens the argument that managers need time to settle and get the best out of teams (obviously not always the case), but Hearts have a dilemma during the Jan window. Can they afford to take that chance and give him time knowing if it doesn't improve relegation is a real possibility.

If he does go are the back to Robbie Neilson again or are we still a couple of managers to go before the RN signal hits the sky?

We weren't playing that badly but dropping Burasic has been the key to the uptick in points accumulated...and it's a position we need to address in the transfer window.

27-12-2024, 08:35 AM
Dropping Bursik and the impact of Iredale and Cadden has changed the whole dynamic of the team.

Iredale and Cadden were the two best players on the park yesterday.

27-12-2024, 08:45 AM
It’s interesting as going into the game yesterday both managers had won the same number of games. Even after yesterday Critchley has a better ppg (1.27) than Gray (1.11). Yet the evidence of our eyes shows two clubs and two managers, currently, moving in different directions.

There’s a lesson in there for those that put too much importance on stats.

:agree: Statistically they were beating us in most metrics yesterday, possession was about 65% them at one point, but the eye test told anyone watching we were the dominant team, in control, and in the key areas we won everything. I think expected goals was the only metric we had a lead in, probably because its the most meaningful one (excluding final scoreline :greengrin)

27-12-2024, 08:57 AM
Has anybody heard from him today [emoji16]

He's having an identity crisis. :wink:

27-12-2024, 09:15 AM
:agree: Statistically they were beating us in most metrics yesterday, possession was about 65% them at one point, but the eye test told anyone watching we were the dominant team, in control, and in the key areas we won everything. I think expected goals was the only metric we had a lead in, probably because its the most meaningful one (excluding final scoreline :greengrin)

Aye and 64% of that possession was around their own penalty box, :flag: merry xmas ya yam bams.

Saint Hibee
27-12-2024, 11:37 AM
I thought Dhanda was going to be a great signing - very happy to be proved clueless!

27-12-2024, 12:06 PM
Because the Shawshankland Redemption has been to busy tunnelling himself a move away so there main goal threat isn't doing the business.

Pleasing regardless

Agree the last thing square head needs is an injury before the transfer window opens…..

27-12-2024, 01:27 PM

He employs the exact same tactics as Nick Montgomery

27-12-2024, 01:55 PM
Now lets see what is/was the only statistic that mattered yesterday, the one that will go into the record books.
Oh aye it was hertz 1 Hibernian 2

Ribs1875
27-12-2024, 05:46 PM

Because self declaring yourself as 3rd best always comes back to bite you in the backside.