View Full Version : Joe Newell

cameronw-hfc
26-12-2024, 02:32 PM
A lot had been said about Newells poor performances at the start of the season and rightly so, but I think we need to give our captain a bit of praise also. He has been excellent in the last few games and the 'players meeting' before the Aberdeen game really seems to have done something. Gray deserves the credit for changing formation but imo the effort levels and togetherness of the squad has improved drastically since the mentioned meeting.

Joe can dip in form as we know and comes and goes sometimes, but he gets the club and seems to be a real leader in the changing room, add in the fact he's played most of this season carrying injuries as well, as he's often does when we need him.

hibeg
26-12-2024, 02:47 PM
Agreed. I thought Iredale was MOM and Nicky Cadden superb, along with the rest.
Joe was excellent in the first half, change of shape defo helps him in the last few weeks

26-12-2024, 04:07 PM
Newall is a my favourite player in the squad. Absolutely love the guy.

26-12-2024, 04:15 PM
Top player and loves the hibs.

26-12-2024, 04:19 PM
We completely controlled the midfield today. Extra man helped but they couldn't get near us

Well played Joe. But do me a favour. Dominate the next 2 games please

Galahibby
26-12-2024, 04:26 PM
Newall is a my favourite player in the squad. Absolutely love the guy.

At a sponsors evening a couple of years ago we had a few tables, mostly made up of the u18s who had the great European run. All but one of them (who said Lewy) said their favourite Hibs player, and the one they looked up to most, was Joe Newell. I’ve never quite understood the negativity he seems to get from so many Hibs fans. Doesn’t always get things right, for sure, but gives his all, and I think we generally look a better team with him in it.

26-12-2024, 04:33 PM
Played well today. There is a long list today though. Iredale was excellent. Thought Boyle and Youan were great pressing in first half. Both Cadden played well with Nicky especially good. Triantis and Campbell were decent.
And David Gray had a good day by making sure we dominated midfield by having the extra man in there.

tonyrougier123
26-12-2024, 04:36 PM
Super Joe was at his super best today. Looked a class above in midfield, no doubting he’s a top lad, but questions have been asked and the captain has stood up to the plate on and off the field. Can we ask for more than that? I don’t think so.

26-12-2024, 04:44 PM
He has his ups and downs, but some of the criticism he gets on here can be more than a bit OTT .... When he came off today he looked done in, which makes you wonder if he is carrying an injury. Not that many folk in recent years have captained us to a win at Tynecastle, so just enjoy it Joe

cameronw-hfc
26-12-2024, 06:11 PM
Worth mentioning as i should have in the opening post, you'll go a long way back to find a Hibs player that does as much charity work in the local area than Newell. Never posts about it on socials, just gets on with it.

26-12-2024, 06:17 PM
There’s a reason he’s El Capitan and part of the Community Foundation, he gets us and we should get him !

26-12-2024, 06:27 PM
Brilliant today Joe.

Thought his intensity and lack of touches was good today, he knew every time he got it his job was touch and wide to Cadden.

Thought he and Triantis dominated in there today

Also loved seeing him at Easter Road yesterday and then the celebrations after the game

26-12-2024, 06:45 PM
Was really impressed with him today. Playing through an injury?

Brilliant chip for Youan chance off freekick.

Fair play to him showing up yesterday to the Community event at Easter Road day before a game.

Keep it up as that’s the Newell and captain we need.

1875M
27-12-2024, 01:11 PM
Anyone else seen video of him on X currently doing the rounds?! What a guy!

27-12-2024, 01:13 PM

It’s brilliant

Hearts fans not happy :faf:

HendoDelivered
27-12-2024, 01:15 PM

Yeah hahaha unreal. He *** hates that mob. Hibs as fk is our Joe.

AdidasHibernian
27-12-2024, 01:16 PM

Any links?

27-12-2024, 01:18 PM

Aye I saw it earlier. I take any negative comment I’ve made about him (and there’s been a few) back.

On a serious note he’s found a bit form lately. Needs to keep it going now for me.

27-12-2024, 01:20 PM
Its one of the best things ever posted on Twitter 😂

27-12-2024, 01:23 PM
Any links?

https://x.com/hibeemedia/status/1872630433109967123?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg

27-12-2024, 01:27 PM
https://x.com/hibeemedia/status/1872630433109967123?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg

Who is Stuart ? Lovell ?

If that's not mimed it's top class !

27-12-2024, 01:30 PM
Quality video, someone on the comments tagging the sfa makes it even better!!

27-12-2024, 01:34 PM
Worth mentioning as i should have in the opening post, you'll go a long way back to find a Hibs player that does as much charity work in the local area than Newell. Never posts about it on socials, just gets on with it.

Yip was at Easter Road on Xmas Day with the wife & kids having hundreds of photos taken with the kids and helping to serve the meals.

WeAreHibs
27-12-2024, 01:34 PM
Gayle in background thinking "WTF"

Super Joe loves the club!!

27-12-2024, 01:37 PM
It’s brilliant

Hearts fans not happy :faf:

Its funny, they love it when hopeless dicks like Gary Locke gee them up but just cannae take it when the shoes on the other foot.

27-12-2024, 01:39 PM
Its one of the best things ever posted on Twitter 😂

100%.

I’ll not be having anyone say he’s not captain material or that these games don’t mean anything to the players now.

27-12-2024, 03:02 PM
People can complain about his performances but I’ve always felt the complaints about his mentality or leadership to be poor. As others have alluded to he is a very well respected member of the squad and one that has shown up off the park in ways that I would like to see from a club captain.

27-12-2024, 03:16 PM

That still work?

27-12-2024, 03:23 PM
That still work?

Been deleted mate.

27-12-2024, 03:23 PM
That still work?

Daily Ranger now reporting it Jim so it’s probably been taken down.

27-12-2024, 03:30 PM
Daily Ranger now reporting it Jim so it’s probably been taken down.

The clowns at the SFA will probably end up charging him with something for it.

27-12-2024, 03:34 PM

Pity I missed that one, the truth hurts.

LewysGot2
27-12-2024, 03:52 PM
Both Newell and Gayle took time today to go along to Danny Swanson's football camp for kids. Fair play to both 👏

27-12-2024, 04:09 PM
I love Joe Newell.
So sue me.

Silky
27-12-2024, 04:24 PM
Quality video, someone on the comments tagging the sfa makes it even better!!

Bitter, bitter Jambo tosser. Hopefully the tit who tagged them gets it tight.

HendoDelivered
27-12-2024, 04:32 PM

No doubt. Snowflakes out in full force because of this!!

27-12-2024, 04:33 PM
I love Joe Newell.
So sue me.

Just seen the video. Even I’m starting to like him now.[emoji23]

Mcbizz1998
27-12-2024, 04:36 PM
Video has been taken down. Anyone got another link or explain what happens?

27-12-2024, 04:39 PM
Video has been taken down. Anyone got another link or explain what happens?

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZGdkMMaXf/

27-12-2024, 04:48 PM
#weareallJoeNewell

27-12-2024, 04:55 PM
#weareallJoeNewell

27-12-2024, 05:13 PM
Bitter, bitter Jambo tosser. Hopefully the tit who tagged them gets it tight.They were all thinking it was great back in the day when old 'Rudi' was doing the winding up!

Clearly don't like it up 'em! :rofl:

27-12-2024, 05:30 PM

I absolutely love this.

My captain.

27-12-2024, 05:56 PM
He's out drinking AGAIN? Sigh.

27-12-2024, 06:06 PM
Yes, yes, yes, I know it's silly and he's captain, and it'll bring the club into disrepute etc etc... but it was a video for private consumption, and it's massively refreshing to see that passion from Hibs players going into derbies.

And he was correct, he did exactly as he said he would.

Mcbizz1998
27-12-2024, 06:09 PM

Cheers.

I’ve been a big critic of Newell over the years but I have to say this is outstanding!

27-12-2024, 06:10 PM
Yes, yes, yes, I know it's silly and he's captain, and it'll bring the club into disrepute etc etc... but it was a video for private consumption, and it's massively refreshing to see that passion from Hibs players going into derbies.

And he was correct, he did exactly as he said he would.

Also - and this is a really key consideration to make - **** the Hearts.

27-12-2024, 06:12 PM
Also - and this is a really key consideration to make - **** the Hearts.

Actually, when all is said and done, it's really the only consideration.

27-12-2024, 06:13 PM
Was really impressed with him today. Playing through an injury?

Brilliant chip for Youan chance off freekick.

Fair play to him showing up yesterday to the Community event at Easter Road day before a game.

Keep it up as that’s the Newell and captain we need.

When he was coming off, the commentary team said something about him playing with an injury just now

27-12-2024, 06:13 PM
They were all thinking it was great back in the day when old 'Rudi' was doing the winding up!

Clearly don't like it up 'em! :rofl:

Hearts players in the past and their fans happily dish it out but can’t take it when the tables turn.

**** them!

27-12-2024, 06:15 PM
Actually, when all is said and done, it's really the only consideration.

That’s not true - you also have to consider that Craig Levein is a Jambo tube who’s never won a thing in his life.

27-12-2024, 06:23 PM
He’s clearly not alone in his thoughts about them because I can’t remember a Hibs team going to Tynecastle and noising them up as much as they all did yesterday.

**** the Hearts.

27-12-2024, 06:23 PM
Top player and loves the hibs.
This👍

27-12-2024, 06:29 PM
He’s clearly not alone in his thoughts about them because I can’t remember a Hibs team going to Tynecastle and noising them up as much as they all did yesterday.

**** the Hearts.

Yes, that's true. Campbell was pissing himself laughing at the 2nd, Rocky thunbing his nose at them, Youan nicking the flag.

Excellent ****housery at their home.

WestStandWillie
27-12-2024, 06:41 PM
I see nothing wrong here…

Power to our captain.

27-12-2024, 06:51 PM
New contract immediately

USA_Hibee
27-12-2024, 06:52 PM
Name a stand after him.

27-12-2024, 06:58 PM
Now that it’s made the press and the video is out there of our captain calling our rivals “dirty Jambo *******s” or words to that effect, i can only hope that more videos surface of other squads members also talking about how they want to get it right up the dirty Hearts *******s.

27-12-2024, 07:03 PM
Name a stand after him.

Call the south the ‘Hearts b******* stand’?

tonyrougier123
27-12-2024, 07:10 PM
The behaviour of the players after the derby win has been shockingly unprofessional………….and I love it!!! Get it right roond them boys 💪🏻.

27-12-2024, 07:25 PM
The behaviour of the players after the derby win has been shockingly unprofessional………….and I love it!!! Get it right roond them boys 💪🏻.

This video was from before the game

27-12-2024, 08:31 PM
Sure somebody will come out with t shirts Joe Says, like the Frankie Says t shirts in the 80s.
Hearts fans on Kickback not bothered about this at all.

Hibs07p
27-12-2024, 08:49 PM
Totally unprofessional behaviour from our captain, out on the piss before an important game and not lasting the 90 minutes but, full credit for his accurate prediction and description of our Edinburgh neighbours. Should a vacancy become available as a motivational coach for Hibernian FC, I don't see a more suitable candidate than Joe.
**** the Hertz.
:hibees:lolyam::hibees

Scottish cup Winners 2016

27-12-2024, 08:57 PM
I love Joe Newell.

I mind someone dragged up an old thread about Joe Newell’s renewal and captaincy to try and make a dig during our poor run. Always find the excessive criticism of him bizarre. ‘Worst captain we’ve ever had’ etc. Nonsense then, nonsense now.

Newell is a good player who, at his best, can control a midfield at our level and, at his worst, can disappear a bit in games. It happens, if he was perfect he wouldn’t be here.

I’m glad he’s here for the foreseeable.

cameronw-hfc
27-12-2024, 08:59 PM
Totally unprofessional behaviour from our captain, out on the piss before an important game and not lasting the 90 minutes but, full credit for his accurate prediction and description of our Edinburgh neighbours. Should a vacancy become available as a motivational coach for Hibernian FC, I don't see a more suitable candidate than Joe.
**** the Hertz.
:hibees:lolyam::hibees

Scottish cup Winners 2016

Might be wrong but think that was the Christmas night out. Joe didn't last 90 because he was injured

Suburban Hibby
27-12-2024, 09:00 PM

Taken down- any others? Feel
I’m
Missing out!

27-12-2024, 09:08 PM
I’m
Missing out!
It's on the sun website.

27-12-2024, 09:16 PM
Might be wrong but think that was the Christmas night out. Joe didn't last 90 because he was injured

Where was the Christmas night out and after what game?

27-12-2024, 09:26 PM
He’s riled all the right people - fantastic!

It’s been perfectly acceptable for years for others to stick the boot into us - “Hibsing it”, “Hibs are falling apart” etc - all fair game seemingly.

Land a blow back? They don’t like it up ‘em..!

Murphys Touch
27-12-2024, 09:29 PM
Where was the Christmas night out and after what game?

All out during the old firm final….so a few Sunday’s ago. Certainly in Boston Bar on Hanover street - more than happy to talk to people in there. Had a decent chat with Chris Cadden at one point

27-12-2024, 09:37 PM
He’s riled all the right people - fantastic!

It’s been perfectly acceptable for years for others to stick the boot into us - “Hibsing it”, “Hibs are falling apart” etc - all fair game seemingly.

Land a blow back? They don’t like it up ‘em..!

Yesterday was as much as I’ve enjoyed a Hibs result in a long, long time.

There was just something totally different about it. The way the players were towards that lot. The way it meant more to our team than it did to them. We bullied them and took the piss out of them in their own stadium. Brilliant.

27-12-2024, 09:52 PM
I’m
Missing out!

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZGdkhr18g/

Hibs07p
27-12-2024, 10:07 PM

I think you might have misunderstood my attempted humour that even a half pissed Joe, could give the fuds the runaround before we went easy on them by taking him off. It's obvious he wasn't on the piss the night before, In my 65 year old head it sounded right. Using mojis might have explained my thoughts better, but my tech expertise pretty much limits me to using a mobile phone as a phone only, nothing else.:giruy2:

Scottish Cup Winners

By the way, the whole post was tongue in cheek, including this one, Merry Xmas, **** the Hertz

27-12-2024, 10:47 PM
We've been moaning for years (decades?) that Hearts players always seemed to 'get' the importance of the derby while ours generally didn't. Hearts players over the years have it shoved in their faces the second they walk in the door and they play like they want to grind us into the dust while ours have always been a little, shall we say, nice?

Excellent work Newell. Keep it up.

There's even plenty of grudging respect for him over on kickback for this.

Silky
27-12-2024, 10:50 PM
It's on the sun website.

Of course it is!

27-12-2024, 10:56 PM
Yesterday was as much as I’ve enjoyed a Hibs result in a long, long time.

There was just something totally different about it. The way the players were towards that lot. The way it meant more to our team than it did to them. We bullied them and took the piss out of them in their own stadium. Brilliant.

Very much so, and to be honest it's twice in a row we've done it at Tynie. Between last season's 1-1 and yesterday we've created a bucket full of chances and they've had about one and a half. Only difference is our performance was rewarded yesterday while last season it wasn't.

It's great to see and maybe (hopefully) a sign of changing times in this fixture.

Our players no longer fear Tynecastle, that much is obvious.

28-12-2024, 02:34 AM
Seeing players celebrating blocks and tackles towards the end (Chrissy Cadden and Iredale both did this) is changed days. We were up for it.

There has been a seismic shift in attitude which I didn't foresee weeks ago when we were getting turned over by Dundee - although admittedly everything that could possibly go wrong for us was playing out then. Players said they were united and with SDG and it's showing now. Need to keep it going, no complacency or stupid mistakes but delighted at the turnaround.

Albert Kidd 86’
28-12-2024, 05:32 AM
Thank you Joe for putting the icing on what has been a fantastic 48 hours

**** the hertz:na na:

28-12-2024, 09:42 AM
To be fair hes hardly won many derbies. What it did prove to me was their over top celebrations with flags etc as if they had won something beating us. Wee team mentality and they know it like getting it over your big brother now and again, yet they go on city being theirs and they are big team. They never will be unless budge is still here in 10 years, as their wee celebrations when they do win shows us they will always be our bitches and the wee team. The majority of hubs wins tend to be when we are toothless, crap players or *****rs, rank poor footballers who aren't very good, and they take advantage if they have a few that aren't bad.[/B]

Found this absolute corker on the kickback thread about Newell.

That last line is something else. I mean what kind of argument is that. F*** me if we took all the derbies that they've won when Hibs were absolute crap out of the equation we'd probably be ahead of them in the grand total.

28-12-2024, 09:42 AM
Just seen the film last night after my mate sent it to me. A Hibs captain should be expected to maintain a certain standard and be an example to this team mates, especially the younger players ...... so all I can say to Joe Newell is:

THIS is the example I want to see :greengrin:thumbsup::flag:

Mcbizz1998
28-12-2024, 09:54 AM
Seeing players celebrating blocks and tackles towards the end (Chrissy Cadden and Iredale both did this) is changed days. We were up for it.

There has been a seismic shift in attitude which I didn't foresee weeks ago when we were getting turned over by Dundee - although admittedly everything that could possibly go wrong for us was playing out then. Players said they were united and with SDG and it's showing now. Need to keep it going, no complacency or stupid mistakes but delighted at the turnaround.

Agree. It clearly helps having a manager who knows how much these games mean and is drilling that into the players! We haven’t had that since probably Lennon.

28-12-2024, 10:02 AM
To be fair hes hardly won many derbies. What it did prove to me was their over top celebrations with flags etc as if they had won something beating us. Wee team mentality and they know it like getting it over your big brother now and again, yet they go on city being theirs and they are big team. They never will be unless budge is still here in 10 years, as their wee celebrations when they do win shows us they will always be our bitches and the wee team. The majority of hubs wins tend to be when we are toothless, crap players or *****rs, rank poor footballers who aren't very good, and they take advantage if they have a few that aren't bad.

A little rich coming from a club that rushes out a commemorative DVD if they snatch an undeserved draw with a last minute hoof.

28-12-2024, 10:23 AM
A little rich coming from a club that rushes out a commemorative DVD if they snatch an undeserved draw with a last minute hoof.

Don't forget the commemorative beer launched to honour said goal too

28-12-2024, 10:26 AM
We've been moaning for years (decades?) that Hearts players always seemed to 'get' the importance of the derby while ours generally didn't. Hearts players over the years have it shoved in their faces the second they walk in the door and they play like they want to grind us into the dust while ours have always been a little, shall we say, nice?

Excellent work Newell. Keep it up.

There's even plenty of grudging respect for him over on kickback for this.

Yes, what I was thinking about the other day. We were in their faces from minute one and didn’t let up. Really liked the 5 in midfield, as that’s where the day is won or lost in a derby. The extra man showed. The gunts were chasing shadows.

Now let’s do the same vs Killy tomorrow.

4-0 please.

28-12-2024, 10:57 AM
To be fair hes hardly won many derbies. What it did prove to me was their over top celebrations with flags etc as if they had won something beating us. Wee team mentality and they know it like getting it over your big brother now and again, yet they go on city being theirs and they are big team. They never will be unless budge is still here in 10 years, as their wee celebrations when they do win shows us they will always be our bitches and the wee team. The majority of hubs wins tend to be when we are toothless, crap players or *****rs, rank poor footballers who aren't very good, and they take advantage if they have a few that aren't bad.[/B]

That last line is something else. I mean what kind of argument is that. F*** me if we took all the derbies that they've won when Hibs were absolute crap out of the equation we'd probably be ahead of them in the grand total.

Thing is, thats just one in a long line of walloper jambos who think (because their 6 fingered mate told them) that they win every derby etc etc.

IIRC ;

Hearts have won 1 of the last 7 derbies
Hibs are 4 unbeaten at tiny
In the last 10 years there have been 16 derbies at tiny and hearts have won 4
Hibs have won as many league derbies as hearts in the last decade

Hearts fans are the wee fanny at school or work who have to tell people how good they are - to mask their own deficiencies - while the rest of us just get on with it like normal people.

28-12-2024, 11:41 AM

Great to know they are still hurting bad.

28-12-2024, 11:56 AM
Great to know they are still hurting bad.

quite revealing in their obsession with out Scottish Cup record fails to acknowledge our win…

that happened on their watch.

https://londonhearts.com/hibs.htm

28-12-2024, 02:38 PM
Joe has now gone way up in my estimation of him being a Hibee, great stuff and long may it continue.
**** the hertz
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin

28-12-2024, 02:46 PM
Can't have enough players in the team that hate Hearts to be honest. You usually associate that with them and have us as the soft touches. There was only one team winning that derby and they were wearing green and white. Long may that attitude continue.

28-12-2024, 03:17 PM
Can't have enough players in the team that hate Hearts to be honest. You usually associate that with them and have us as the soft touches. There was only one team winning that derby and they were wearing green and white. Long may that attitude continue.

Yup. Only thing I can't take as a fan after any loss, but even more so a Derby loss is a piss poor attitude and application on the pitch. Getting pumped at home by Celtic under LJ was absolutely chastening from that perspective.

But wasn't an issue on Thursday and don't think it'll be an issue for a bit under SDG.

28-12-2024, 05:35 PM
Just really wanted to say I’ve watched the video again and if anything, it gets better with each viewing.

28-12-2024, 05:54 PM
Just really wanted to say I’ve watched the video again and if anything, it gets better with each viewing.

Get that man a six pack of Tennants Super, a prime time TV slot and you’ve got the most entertaining programme of the year.

28-12-2024, 07:02 PM
One Joe Newell ! :flag:

**** those hearts *******s indeed :aok:

25-02-2025, 10:00 PM
Out for a couple of weeks due to a niggle.

https://youtu.be/iRZmerorHMw?si=eDg_l_yfs1f-Ecxv&t=142

25-02-2025, 11:16 PM
Out for a couple of weeks due to a niggle.

https://youtu.be/iRZmerorHMw?si=eDg_l_yfs1f-Ecxv&t=142

Hope it’s no as bad as Elli’s niggle

25-02-2025, 11:19 PM
Hope it’s no as bad as Elli’s niggle

It's not another toe is it??!!

David Gray should just do 'this little piggy' and tell them to get on with it.

BlackSheep
26-02-2025, 05:37 AM
Gray does say in regards to newell “he’s the only one who is going to miss out”

Does this suggest Youan may be available to play now?