View Full Version : David Gray is the man to take us forward

26-12-2024, 01:28 PM
Takes massive bollocks and perseverance to turn such a bad start around.

Time to get behind SDG.

Trinity Hibee
26-12-2024, 01:30 PM
David david gray, david david gray

26-12-2024, 01:35 PM
He isn't called Sir David for nothing

26-12-2024, 01:36 PM
I love him so much

26-12-2024, 01:50 PM
Thought he was done, what a class turn around. Buzzing.

26-12-2024, 01:51 PM
Still remains to be seen. Take care of Killie and st Johnstone up there and I’ll believe.

Bridge hibs
David David Gray, David David Gray as the song goes

Just so happy for him. He’s kept his class, worked really hard and is now getting his reward. Really well deserved

26-12-2024, 01:52 PM
Brilliant turn around

Very well done

26-12-2024, 01:52 PM
Arise Sir David

hibee1875
26-12-2024, 01:55 PM
Who’s the last manager to win at both Tynecastle and Pittodrie in the same season? Maybe Lennon?

Did some googling. Mixu in the 07 08 season

26-12-2024, 02:13 PM
Still remains to be seen. Take care of Killie and st Johnstone up there and I’ll believe.

I doubt even six points would make you mildly satisfied 😌 Glass definitely empty.

26-12-2024, 02:17 PM
Who’s the last manager to win at both Tynecastle and Pittodrie in the same season? Maybe Lennon?

Did some googling. Mixu in the 07 08 season

Wowee, that’s some stat.

26-12-2024, 02:19 PM
The squad has problems, but you can’t question it’s togetherness. Something we’ve not had since Stubbs. Players are fighting for the club and Sir David.

26-12-2024, 02:19 PM
We're winning the Scottish Cup.

26-12-2024, 02:20 PM
So happy for him, if ever there’s a manager you want it to work out for it’s him.

26-12-2024, 02:22 PM
That's 4 wins from the last 5 league games. Was a tough looking run of games with 4 of them away and the only loss away to Celtic.

2 great away wins in 5 days at Aberdeen & Hearts, wins over Killie & St Johnstone may even get us to top 6 (or very close), hard to believe after the position we were in only a month or so ago.

Team spirit has also improved dramatically, great credit to David Gray just hope we kick on from here the signs are good.

26-12-2024, 02:23 PM
The squad has problems, but you can’t question it’s togetherness. Something we’ve not had since Stubbs. Players are fighting for the club and Sir David.

Aye it's clear as day the squad are all fighting for each other, the manager and the club. Delighted and I mean absolutely delighted Gray seems to have turned this round. I love the man and always will.

ac1
26-12-2024, 02:26 PM
God bless David Gray!

Gerard
26-12-2024, 02:28 PM
God bless David Gray!

Not Sir David but now Lord David Gray .

26-12-2024, 02:32 PM
Certainly making me eat my words, win games and folk are happy who'd have thought? :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::top marks:top marks:top marks

Mcbizz1998
26-12-2024, 02:35 PM
I wanted him as manager. But then I started to doubt it big time. I’m absolutely delighted for the guy!!!

26-12-2024, 02:35 PM
We're winning the Scottish Cup.

That would be some result.

MJ hibs
26-12-2024, 02:36 PM
Got the players playing for him that's clear. Found good balance with Boyle and youan together with caddens in behind.

26-12-2024, 02:39 PM
I wanted him as manager. But then I started to doubt it big time. I’m absolutely delighted for the guy!!!

Exact same as me. I'll never be happier to be proven wrong than this.

26-12-2024, 02:40 PM
Actual tears in his eyes today . Delighted for him. Legend

26-12-2024, 02:43 PM
I doubt even six points would make you mildly satisfied �� Glass definitely empty.
It’s gonna take more than 3 wins on the spin to be proclaiming David’s the man. I’ve already said take care of the next two and I’ll believe. Hell win the next three and I’ll be running around naked showing off my SDG tattoo.

e2los
26-12-2024, 02:54 PM
Beating them is the only thing that matters.

Derby day is and always will be a cup final day for us.

lugz
26-12-2024, 02:57 PM
Would love to know what has happened behind the scenes to go from a crippled with no confidence looking a cert to go down to now a team playing with more confidence and enjoying their football.

Donegal Hibby
26-12-2024, 03:09 PM
I think the whole way he’s handled things when they weren’t going so well has been impressive just as the turnaround in results and performances have been too …

Absolutely delighted for him .

26-12-2024, 03:09 PM
Just so happy for him. He’s kept his class, worked really hard and is now getting his reward. Really well deserved

Yup, thought he was borderline a busted flush after St Mirren at home. For obvious reasons, haven't wanted a manager to be a success as much as SDG since Sauzee.

Needs to keep this up for a bit longer before we can say he's *the* man to take us to where we want to be as a club, regularly top 4, getting to cup finals regularly etc etc but the corner is being turned for this season at least.

kentao
26-12-2024, 03:12 PM
Was never in doubt in my mind. He's going to be a great manager for us for a long time if given the chance. Merry Christmas SDG

cubehindthegoal
26-12-2024, 03:18 PM
Listened to the radio program about Alex Ferguson today … nothing new in it, but interesting reminder that he was sacked by St Mirren, then Aberdeen snapped him up within days, and the rest is the history of a very successful manager. We can all be too hasty to condemn sometimes. Time will tell with our manager, but I so hope he gets what he deserves with us …that being success.

26-12-2024, 03:23 PM
Was never in doubt in my mind. He's going to be a great manager for us for a long time if given the chance. Merry Christmas SDG

Same here, was always behind him from the beginning.

What a turnaround and we can play far better than that.

26-12-2024, 03:25 PM
It does make me happy knowing he'll have enjoyed the past month or so. Rightly so and it's down to him we're on a charge up the league. Surely Manager of the month (if that's still a thing?)

et_hibby
26-12-2024, 03:31 PM
Well done, SDG 👍

Donegal Hibby
26-12-2024, 03:42 PM
David Gray delighted after derby victory….

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/december/26/gray-delighted-after-derby-victory-/

Hibees1973
26-12-2024, 04:28 PM
Gray really needed a positive run of results, which he now has had.

We are still uncomfortably near the bottom on points, but things have clearly improved in December.

There are always going to be bumps in the road so the sooner we get over 35 points and safety, we might start to believe in a promising future under Gray.

26-12-2024, 04:35 PM
So pleased for David Gray. Not blamed him for anything that's happened this season - all responsibility rests with Hibs Board - but the turn around he's made with this group of players has been nothing short of sensational. SDG has managed to galvanise and inspire these players to performances I thought would be impossible. Even then, he could have been forgiven for taking this group to Tynecastle and coming up short, but none of it. They dominated first half, lost a soft goal at a key time, had backs to the wall for long periods of the 2nd half but STILL found the will and a way to win.

Full credit to SDG and the players today. Wonderful to watch.

When was the last time we won against Aberdeen and Hearts back-to-back away from home ?

26-12-2024, 04:36 PM
I wanted him to get the job but I have to admit I thought he was a goner and tbh couldn’t have had any complaints if he had been sacked. Hopefully this upturn in form continues and we continue to climb the table. Let’s face it bar Celtic and probably the Huns the rest of the league is lacking in quality so there is no reason why we can’t grab a European spot (provided we can sign some quality in January.

Credit to DG for the way he’s conducted himself since being appointed. It would have been all too easy for him to chuck players under the bus at times, he never once did so.

kentao
26-12-2024, 05:08 PM
He's turned things around massively, I am loving the team morale and geeing each other up and celebrating small wins during a game. He certainly has the players and fans believing.

Normally the last 10 minutes of a tight derby is a cagey affair where the Hibs fans have a tendency to go quiet expecting the worst. Today was different where the Hibs fans sounded confident and loud up till the final whilst maybe this was down to the festive drinking or maybe the feel good factor is back.

Trinity Hibee
26-12-2024, 05:11 PM
Must say I doubted that Gray was the man to take us forward but the last month he has really stepped up as has the team. Delighted to see him doing well. Keep it going and hopefully he stays long term. Imagine a Hibs manager winning the cup as a player and a manager

TrinityHFC
26-12-2024, 07:01 PM
We will always have spells where we go on runs good and bad. Sacking managers during the bad spells can’t just keep happening.

I think Gray knows the type of players that should be playing for us and I’m happy to give him an extended period to build something.

26-12-2024, 07:07 PM
I wanted him to get the job but I have to admit I thought he was a goner and tbh couldn’t have had any complaints if he had been sacked. Hopefully this upturn in form continues and we continue to climb the table. Let’s face it bar Celtic and probably the Huns the rest of the league is lacking in quality so there is no reason why we can’t grab a European spot (provided we can sign some quality in January.

Credit to DG for the way he’s conducted himself since being appointed. It would have been all too easy for him to chuck players under the bus at times, he never once did so.

Yup.

Delighted for him / the team and fans.

I always remember someone posting if we go into a relegation battle who would you want…Gray or some random with no connection to the club. Gray every day of the week.

These results are giving him massive credit in the bank - important results for the league standings - plus statement wins away to Aberdeen and Hearts at Tynie.

Long may it continue - the togetherness is so important and I really hope we strengthen in January. The worry is he upsets the balance in January but I’m confident we will keep improving and have a strong finish to the 2nd half of the season.

26-12-2024, 07:21 PM
Pleased for him that we're now getting the wins.

No idea if he's the right man for the future, it's still too soon to tell, but he's done enough to be allowed to see the season out.

I guess that what happens between now and May will determine his fate with us. Seems fair.

26-12-2024, 07:26 PM
We will always have spells where we go on runs good and bad. Sacking managers during the bad spells can’t just keep happening.

I think Gray knows the type of players that should be playing for us and I’m happy to give him an extended period to build something.

Gray has definitely earned himself some credit in the bank that will now see him through the next tough spell. Being wedded to a 433 or making the change everyone was crying out for to 352, alongside dropping Bursic, was the real make or break crossroads. A more experienced manager might have made those change months before we did and we’d be higher in the table, however we knew we were appointing a manager still learning.

If Gray had persisted with 433 and shelling crosses into an empty box he wouldn’t have been here to win today IMO. He was lucky in that the change to 352 was enforced with Obita’s suspension. However managers need a break/luck along the way and we’ve not looked back since. It will be interesting to see where Gray is in his development and what he does when 352 stops working and/or we hit a bad bit of form. Will also be interesting to see how the January window plays out and how we make the tough decisions to replace players to keep us progressing.

26-12-2024, 07:41 PM
Yup.

Delighted for him / the team and fans.

I always remember someone posting if we go into a relegation battle who would you want…Gray or some random with no connection to the club. Gray every day of the week.

These results are giving him massive credit in the bank - important results for the league standings - plus statement wins away to Aberdeen and Hearts at Tynie.

Long may it continue - the togetherness is so important and I really hope we strengthen in January. The worry is he upsets the balance in January but I’m confident we will keep improving and have a strong finish to the 2nd half of the season.

The togetherness is a key point. The players clearly are playing for him. Credit to them and it shows the kind of guy DG is. Hopefully we can continue to improve, there really is nothing in the league outwith the OF that we need to fear.

TrinityHFC
26-12-2024, 07:44 PM
Gray has definitely earned himself some credit in the bank that will now see him through the next tough spell. Being wedded to a 433 or making the change everyone was crying out for to 352, alongside dropping Bursic, was the real make or break crossroads. A more experienced manager might have made those change months before we did and we’d be higher in the table, however we knew we were appointing a manager still learning.

If Gray had persisted with 433 and shelling crosses into an empty box he wouldn’t have been here to win today IMO. He was lucky in that the change to 352 was enforced with Obita’s suspension. However managers need a break/luck along the way and we’ve not looked back since. It will be interesting to see where Gray is in his development and what he does when 352 stops working and/or we hit a bad bit of form. Will also be interesting to see how the January window plays out and how we make the tough decisions to replace players to keep us progressing.

It isn’t just down to playing 352 or not though. That is way too simplistic.

26-12-2024, 07:52 PM
It isn’t just down to playing 352 or not though. That is way too simplistic.

I think that’s the fundamental difference IMO, that and the keeper. 352, from early on, looked the best fit for the squad we have. Myko getting injured has also been a bit of a blessing IMO, we get a lot more out of Boyle & Youan.

What do you see that’s turned out season around? A genuine question, not intended to come across as snarky incase it can be read that way.

26-12-2024, 08:04 PM
I think that’s the fundamental difference IMO, that and the keeper. 352, from early on, looked the best fit for the squad we have. Myko getting injured has also been a bit of a blessing IMO, we get a lot more out of Boyle & Youan.

What do you see that’s turned out season around? A genuine question, not intended to come across as snarky incase it can be read that way.

I agree with your points about the catalyst for the change in outcomes, along with getting Nicky cadden on the pitch and in a position that suits him. He’s been a big factor in many of our recent goals

Hibs3-2
26-12-2024, 08:33 PM
There was no doubt in my mind when he was appointed. A ropey start (due to individual errors) had me questioning him. However hes pulled through. Hes built a team/squad fighting for him and the club. Thats not happened in a few years.

Long may it continue under him

26-12-2024, 09:08 PM
Got his substitutions spot on today and at the right time. That wee Beni was starting to be pivotal for them second half and Joe was starting to struggle albeit he’d been very good first half. Kwon added height and physicality and got nearer Baningime closing the space. As for Gayle, he’s simply a class footballer. Gray sticking with 3 at the back and being brave has also been much better to watch. We are creating far more meaningful chances so fair play to him.

26-12-2024, 09:15 PM
Absolutely agree, delighted for SDG and the team, he never tried to shy away from things when the going was tough, a true class act and hopefully him and the team can now climb the table , roll on the Scottish cup :flag:

27-12-2024, 06:00 AM
There was no doubt in my mind when he was appointed. A ropey start (due to individual errors) had me questioning him. However hes pulled through. Hes built a team/squad fighting for him and the club. Thats not happened in a few years.

Long may it continue under him

Well said.

Now that we've cut out the individual errors and got a better shape, we're now one of the league's form teams.

Well done SDG!

27-12-2024, 06:22 AM
The togetherness is a key point. The players clearly are playing for him. Credit to them and it shows the kind of guy DG is. Hopefully we can continue to improve, there really is nothing in the league outwith the OF that we need to fear.

Aberdeen 3-3 game was the catalyst. Since then, every game has been a "must win" or a tough as they get. The real test for SDG will now be bread and butter games, starting with Killie at home in front of a full house. Very different challenge.

27-12-2024, 06:33 AM
Absolute hero of a man - he’s turned us around and got us playing some great stuff. Watching the highlights this morning we fair zipped the ball about yesterday at points and never looked out of shape defensively. He’s got this team playing for each other and can really feel the togetherness now. Absolutely love the guy and truly delighted for him.

Trinity Hibee
27-12-2024, 08:11 AM
Heard at end of radio interview with Fat Brian that SDG got a guitar for Xmas. Was going to give it a go last night with the curtains closed 😂

27-12-2024, 08:20 AM
Gray really needed a positive run of results, which he now has had.

We are still uncomfortably near the bottom on points, but things have clearly improved in December.

There are always going to be bumps in the road so the sooner we get over 35 points and safety, we might start to believe in a promising future under Gray.

We’re as close to 4th as we are to bottom. Fill up your empty glass we’re looking upwards now.

Murphys Touch
27-12-2024, 08:54 AM
I was definitely in the “why was he appointed and why is he still here camp”. I just couldn’t see how someone who has been part of failure have the presence and stature to really shake up the changing room and turn THOSE players into anything regarding a team. The Dundee performance was up there with one of the biggest tactical and commitment failures I’ve seen.

It did, however, force SDG into a change of shape and eventually changing the keeper. Like Monty before him…the reluctance to change shape was a huge concern and one of the reasons for appointing SDG was that he “learned from the mistakes of others”

Fast forward to today and he has got the guys working for each other and a connection with the fanbase which was a pipe dream 4/5 weeks ago. He’s saved his job and gets the chance to strengthen in January. I’m a bit concerned at what happens when injury or drop of form happens - I hate thinking Hibs are seen as a college for coaches. The league is absolutely diabolical in standard and there is a right good opportunity to cement European football for 4/5 years

Well done SDG!

27-12-2024, 09:13 AM
SDG has consistently said that there was short term pain for long term gain.

With so many players coming in it was always going to take a bit time.

Cutting out the stupid bookings / sending offs and individual errors coupled with the enforced change of shape have all helped turn things around.

He doesn’t shout and scream from the sidelines but by all accounts behind the scenes he will let them have it.

His passion and drive as captain was evident and I think we can now see he is beginning to get that instilled in the team.

A long way to go until we are a good and consistent team but we are now hopefully heading in the right direction.

Well done Sir David

1875M
27-12-2024, 09:26 AM
Let’s get in another couple of quality additions in January and push up the league. Except the old firm, let’s be honest, the rest of the teams aren’t great.

27-12-2024, 10:23 AM
Not sure about Gray. I think we need to be more scientific like Hearts and trust in the data.

Ribs1875
27-12-2024, 10:28 AM
Gray I think will get time now, however I am unsure if he, his backroom and some of the boardroom staff are going to be the longterm answer.

27-12-2024, 11:14 AM
I love that man, he's absolutely the man for the job we have to stick by him.

Fair play to the players as well, there are a handful of them who have shown some proper grit and spirit over the last few weeks and definitely deserve to hang around following the inevitable summer clear out ahead.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

Victor
27-12-2024, 11:40 AM
Not sure about Gray. I think we need to be more scientific like Hearts and trust in the data.

And we need an Anne Budge type figure to lead us

27-12-2024, 11:51 AM
Gray I think will get time now, however I am unsure if he, his backroom and some of the boardroom staff are going to be the longterm answer.

Is any manager really a long term answer in football?

22-02-2025, 01:38 PM
I genuinely think this man will end up at a top, top club (not that we're not) in years to come.

To turn around such a slump but to go a third of the season undefeated is sensational. Our best run in decades, since the seventies I believe.