View Full Version : Kevin Nisbet

Corstorphine Hibby
21-12-2024, 09:24 PM
3-1 down at home today with 40 plus minutes to go and Nisbet still doesn't get the nod to come on as a sub.

Souter96Mac
21-12-2024, 09:26 PM
He was knacker in the game at ER a couple weeks ago. Obviously not really part of their plans

21-12-2024, 09:27 PM
Glad we didn’t sign him again. For all the talk about his changed attitude I never fully got the sense that was truly the case.

RCNG
21-12-2024, 09:28 PM
He's **** and he knows he is. Good riddance to bad p1sh

21-12-2024, 09:36 PM
Poor recruitment from Aberdeen.

PHeffernan
21-12-2024, 09:38 PM
3-1 down at home today with 40 plus minutes to go and Nisbet still doesn't get the nod to come on as a sub.

Don't know why Aberdeen signed him. Their playing style is not suited to his attributes.
Millwall will be paying him a shedload of dosh for another 18 months so he won't be bothered.

21-12-2024, 09:39 PM
He's pish

BS44
21-12-2024, 09:44 PM
Scored the winner against the dogs, and gave us a few good times when he was with us

He's not a Hibs player anymore, I don't get why some fellow Hibs fans seem to carry a grudge with him

21-12-2024, 09:47 PM
Hope he thoroughly enjoyed his day

21-12-2024, 10:07 PM
Weird responses here. Nisbet was/is a talent and one of the few natural goal scorers Scotland has. His leaving Hibs for the Championship was supposed to be the step up (like Porteous) that would secure his Scotland place - but it didn't happen. He's still young enough to get back on track, but something is clearly not right if he can't get minutes at Pittodrie when the sheep are chasing goals.

None of that makes him p1sh or whatever else he's been called. Scotland could be a leading European footballing nation - like Denmark/Norway/Portugal if we had the right infrastructure and pastoral care for our young talent. We need to break away from the SFA's 'mini-me' to the English Premier League and understand even Celtc can't compete with Bournemouth on income/TV/ Commercial rights etc and focus on developing our talent.

21-12-2024, 10:07 PM
Weird responses here. Nisbet was/is a talent and one of the few natural goal scorers Scotland has. His leaving Hibs for the Championship was supposed to be the step up (like Porteous) that would secure his Scotland place - but it didn't happen. He's still young enough to get back on track, but something is clearly not right if he can't get minutes at Pittodrie when the sheep are chasing goals.

None of that makes him p1sh or whatever else he's been called. Scotland could be a leading European footballing nation - like Denmark/Norway/Portugal if we had the right infrastructure and pastoral care for our young talent. We need to break away from the SFA's 'mini-me' to the English Premier League and understand even Celtc can't compete with Bournemouth on income/TV/ Commercial rights etc and focus on developing our talent.

He's barely played football since leaving us.

21-12-2024, 10:12 PM
He’s good when he tries and has a target/goal in mind

Being on the money he is at Millwall and being loaned back to the league he was in I’m not sure what his motivation is

Donegal Hibby
21-12-2024, 10:33 PM
He's pish

I can’t agree mate . I actually think he’s a good striker and a better all round striker than Shankland though I think there’s possibly something’s going on with him when he didn’t get on ahead of Ambrose today .. my on thoughts on it is it’s possible down to his character as I thought at times at us he was either sulking wanting a move where it didn’t feel like he was a team player or he was scoring goals and very much a team player :confused:

21-12-2024, 10:59 PM
He's **** and he knows he is. Good riddance to bad p1sh

Wow

21-12-2024, 11:01 PM
I can’t agree mate . I actually think he’s a good striker and a better all round striker than Shankland though I think there’s possibly something’s going on with him when he didn’t get on ahead of Ambrose today .. my on thoughts on it is it’s possible down to his character as I thought at times at us he was either sulking wanting a move where it didn’t feel like he was a team player or he was scoring goals and very much a team player :confused:

I was being dramatic saying he was pish to be fair. When he fancied it he was levels above the SPL. More often that not though he didn't seem 100% up for it.

Donegal Hibby
21-12-2024, 11:09 PM
I was being dramatic saying he was pish to be fair. When he fancied it he was levels above the SPL. More often that not though he didn't seem 100% up for it.

Fair enough .. at one stage I was a bit envious of Aberdeen getting him and wondered why we didn’t try though I remember things getting said about players coming in that they had to have the right character and maybe Gray didn’t feel he was … early days though I think Bowie does appear to be .

21-12-2024, 11:11 PM
He’s a strange boy. Nobody can deny he has talent but more often than not he’s infuriating.

I thought his subs bib looked under more pressure Neil Critchley today.

21-12-2024, 11:12 PM
Fair enough .. at one stage I was a bit envious of Aberdeen getting him and wondered why we didn’t try though I remember things getting said about players coming in that they had to have the right character and maybe Gray didn’t feel he was … early days though I think Bowie does appear to be .

Bowie will have a better career than Nisbet. Bowie will give his all every game.

Ribs1875
21-12-2024, 11:18 PM
Some players fit in better at certain clubs. This was Scott Allan's case with us. Nisbet would still do a shift with us moreso than he would with Aberdeen.

22-12-2024, 06:35 AM
I liked him

When he was on it he was on it when he wasn’t sulking

Wanted him to sign but when he wanted to leave after only 6 months that was a giant red flag

I honestly think players from the West do not realise how big a club we actually are ?

Anyway glad he is not our problem anymore looked fat and unfit last time at Easter Road getting hooked at half-time

Agree with Ribs he would be better back here getting himself fit we pay decent wedge and Edinburgh is far nicer than Aberdeen or Millwall 😀

Wonder how he got on with SDG ?

allmodcons
22-12-2024, 07:50 AM
Word in Aberdeen is that he’s off back to Millwall when window opens.

Has all the attributes of a really good SPL player but just doesn’t seem to apply himself.

22-12-2024, 07:52 AM
It has to be a tough one for Nisbet but I’m pretty certain he would be in a much better place in his career if it hasn’t been for the loss of his father. There were occasional hints on here and elsewhere that his father was a major influence in keeping him grounded. When his father passed there was an understandable change in Nisbet. I can’t help but feel that went deeper than the initial grief. I hope he finds another stabilising influence as his current situation looks like one of life’s crossroads may have been reached.

Mcbizz1998
22-12-2024, 08:53 AM
His time at Hibs was the pinnacle of his career. He was quick to want to leave us, wonder what he thinks now?

22-12-2024, 09:08 AM
Embarrassing the Nisbet can't get a game before that Ambrose.

22-12-2024, 09:19 AM
I'd take him back.

22-12-2024, 09:29 AM
Good player but like any other Aberdeen FC player I hope he's an utter failure.

22-12-2024, 09:29 AM
He’s incredibly talented boy with an absolutely appalling attitude who only seems to apply himself when there’s a chance of a move.

If you look at his career since he signed for us. A decent first 4 months. Rank rotten for the next 2 years. Incredible last 4 months and honkin since then.

I knew he’d be back up here within a year and I was delighted when he didn’t come back here as I really struggled to see he’d be motivated by a step back in his career.

I suspect he’ll see out his contract at Millwall but spend it on loan at other clubs as he’ll not want to take the pay cut.

22-12-2024, 09:59 AM
I'd take him back.

No chance. He'll be playing for Barrow or Halifax Town next season.

22-12-2024, 10:08 AM
With a better attitude and mindset he’d be as good as he thinks he is.

22-12-2024, 10:11 AM
I'd take him back.

So would I but there’s a vocal minority in our support who would give him it tight from the minute he signed.

K-Zazu
22-12-2024, 10:15 AM
It has to be a tough one for Nisbet but I’m pretty certain he would be in a much better place in his career if it hasn’t been for the loss of his father. There were occasional hints on here and elsewhere that his father was a major influence in keeping him grounded. When his father passed there was an understandable change in Nisbet. I can’t help but feel that went deeper than the initial grief. I hope he finds another stabilising influence as his current situation looks like one of life’s crossroads may have been reached.

Good post, bit of common sense is needed sometimes. Nisbet is a good player and I’m sure he will find his form again even if his loan spell at the sheep doesn’t work out for him.

22-12-2024, 10:24 AM
He’s incredibly talented boy with an absolutely appalling attitude who only seems to apply himself when there’s a chance of a move.

If you look at his career since he signed for us. A decent first 4 months. Rank rotten for the next 2 years. Incredible last 4 months and honkin since then.

I knew he’d be back up here within a year and I was delighted when he didn’t come back here as I really struggled to see he’d be motivated by a step back in his career.

I suspect he’ll see out his contract at Millwall but spend it on loan at other clubs as he’ll not want to take the pay cut.

First paragraph sounds exactly like Scott Allan.

22-12-2024, 10:29 AM
First paragraph sounds exactly like Scott Allan.No it doesn't. Allans attitude was never really a problem at Hibs first time around. Certainly on the pitch there was never really any impression he was phoning it in.Just that he handed in a transfer request to force a move through to the Huns.

Ultimately he had the balls to come back when plenty didn't want him, had a great loan spell, worked his socks off. Came back a third time and unfortunately couldn't ever really get back to his best after his Heart condition was diagnosed. Even then he was still contributing and arguably kept Jack Ross in a job longer.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

22-12-2024, 10:47 AM

Musselbound
22-12-2024, 10:47 AM
Nisbet seems to have spells of good form then go off the boil or get injured. It was ever thus since his Hibs days. I was worried he would find some form again at the Dons but he seems to be on the fringes. A good player on his day but it doesn't seem to happen often enough.

22-12-2024, 11:15 AM
Nisbet is a moaning faced git who only plays when he can be arsed and will jump to another club at the 1st sign of extra dosh.

22-12-2024, 11:22 AM
I can see Nisbet at Tiny in the future.

22-12-2024, 11:24 AM
I can see Nisbet at Tiny in the future.

I’d love them to splash a fortune on him

Crunchie
22-12-2024, 11:34 AM
Scored the winner against the dogs, and gave us a few good times when he was with us

He's not a Hibs player anymore, I don't get why some fellow Hibs fans seem to carry a grudge with him
Nor me, and he's certainly not pish.

22-12-2024, 11:49 AM
He's barely played football since leaving us.

That isn't true. He played 29 times for Millwall last season, scoring 5 league goals in a season where he was out for a spell with injury.

No chance. He'll be playing for Barrow or Halifax Town next season.

No, he won't.

I'd take him back.

If Aberdeen want to cancel his loan, he would be a great option at Hibs for the remainder of the season.

22-12-2024, 11:52 AM

Sadly that's the problem

22-12-2024, 11:53 AM
That isn't true. He played 29 times for Millwall last season, scoring 5 league goals in a season where he was out for a spell with injury.

No, he won't.

If Aberdeen want to cancel his loan, he would be a great option at Hibs for the remainder of the season.

He started off playing for them, starting most matches then he was either injured, not in the squad or on the bench.

So far out the picture he was punted out on loan and now doesn't seem to start for Aberdeen.

I think he's a good player when he can be arsed.

22-12-2024, 12:15 PM
Don’t have anything against him, he gave us some good times but no thank you to him coming back.

22-12-2024, 12:19 PM
Maybe whoever is the next Millwall Manager may want him back

22-12-2024, 12:25 PM
Good player but stinking attitude by all counts. Wonder if his agent could get Stephen Dobbie to have a word with him.

22-12-2024, 12:39 PM

Agree, strange attitude.

Exuberance1875
22-12-2024, 12:41 PM
First paragraph sounds exactly like Scott Allan.

Sounds exactly nothing like Scott Allan.

22-12-2024, 12:53 PM
I think he's a good player who does not appear to apply himself enough to be a top player?

22-12-2024, 01:01 PM
This kind of thing happens with a lot of good players at a certain level. He was smashing it before he came to us with Raith and Dunfermline, then made the step up to the Premier League with us and done really well too. Then up another level to the English Championship, obvioulsy a bit more difficult, out of his comfort zone and being away from friends and family, although it's really only a few hours away, can take a mental toll on some players. Then losing his dad, a lot of perhaps negative experiences at the same time. I feel for the lad, he's clearly massively talented and needs a bit of stability. Hopefully he can push through and get settled in a good team with a good manager/coaching staff and start scoring again as that would be great for him and for Scotland.

22-12-2024, 01:05 PM
Agree, strange attitude.

There are posters on here who just have to have somebody to moan about.

22-12-2024, 01:20 PM
I’d take him back. He would fair a lot better playing in the current system with a partner and not have to create most of his own goals from an isolated position. Wouldn’t spend a big fee on him, only re-sign him for a reasonable deal, as what version of Nisbet you get is the risk.

That being said, with proper recruitment, which we hopefully now have in place, we shouldn’t have to re-sign players that are a gamble and very up and down.

22-12-2024, 01:31 PM
He started off playing for them, starting most matches then he was either injured, not in the squad or on the bench.

So far out the picture he was punted out on loan and now doesn't seem to start for Aberdeen.

I think he's a good player when he can be arsed.

He was put out on loan this season and yes we know this, but he did play 29 times for them last season, regardless of whether you like that or not.

His attitude was questioned when he returned from injury at Millwall. his bridges are probably burned with the manager. When he leaves Millwall, it won't be for 2 million pounds.

The kind of player worth a punt on for Hibs. When you consider the money wasted on dross and the permanently injured, Nisbet would well worth a gamble for a side at our level. He's entering the peak years of his career and has a lot to prove, yet again.

The Hibee Harp
22-12-2024, 05:46 PM
He was offered to us in the summer but we weren’t interested, and rightly so. The problem for Nisbet was that he was only interested in the money down south and not finding the right team to suit him. Millwall’s blood and thunder, up and at the approach was never going to suit him. He is not big nor powerful enough. He is a poacher. Surprised he’s been as poor as he has at Aberdeen though.

22-12-2024, 05:48 PM
He was offered to us in the summer but we weren’t interested, and rightly so. The problem for Nisbet was that he was only interested in the money down south and not finding the right team to suit him. Millwall’s blood and thunder, up and at the approach was never going to suit him. He is not big nor powerful enough. He is a poacher. Surprised he’s been as poor as he has at Aberdeen though.

I'm not his biggest fan, but in his defence here, surely that's the vast majority of players all over the world.

The Hibee Harp
22-12-2024, 06:54 PM
I'm not his biggest fan, but in his defence here, surely that's the vast majority of players all over the world.

My point wasn’t against him looking south for a big move but more taking the first offer instead of finding the right club down there to suit his style.

24-12-2024, 03:48 PM

It's the Hibs way. It's been like that since I was a bairn and I've never understood it. Maybe it's my understanding of the definition of the word "Supporter".

24-12-2024, 04:21 PM

Thats a certain percentage of people in all walks

24-12-2024, 05:33 PM

Kevin Nisbet is a whole lot more than a poacher when he is on it. He looked like a different player when he returned after injury for that great last half season with us. He should be Scotland’s main man just now but needs to screw the nut and get back to that level he was at just before he left ER.

24-12-2024, 06:18 PM
Had a lot of unwarranted criticism during his time at Hibs.

24-12-2024, 07:41 PM
Had a lot of unwarranted criticism during his time at Hibs.

He’s in good company

sauzee1989
24-12-2024, 08:45 PM
Agree, strange attitude.

Fairly obvious really. He handed in a transfer request at Dunfermline to sign for his supposed boyhood heroes Hibs. Yes he was a good player but he wanted away thinking he was too good for us early doors, Handing in a transfer request in the end to force a move. Billy big time attitude

24-12-2024, 09:09 PM
Fairly obvious really. He handed in a transfer request at Dunfermline to sign for his supposed boyhood heroes Hibs. Yes he was a good player but he wanted away thinking he was too good for us early doors, Handing in a transfer request in the end to force a move. Billy big time attitude

He's a Celtic fan no?

sauzee1989
24-12-2024, 09:36 PM
He's a Celtic fan no?

No claimed to be a hibs fan as a child.

24-12-2024, 10:16 PM

Since when? He’s from the west - although that doesn’t exclude you from being a Hibee obviously. Never heard it claimed by anybody he was a boyhood Hibs fan.

24-12-2024, 10:19 PM

Which team did you support as a child :wink:

25-12-2024, 04:38 AM
My point wasn’t against him looking south for a big move but more taking the first offer instead of finding the right club down there to suit his style.

That was my worry with him going to Millwall. Their fans expect their players to put a shift which isn’t him in the slightest.

Unfortunately he never had any other offers.

25-12-2024, 04:48 AM
It's the Hibs way. It's been like that since I was a bairn and I've never understood it. Maybe it's my understanding of the definition of the word "Supporter".

Yer on an internet forum, where people offer opinions and some will be pro the subject being talked about and others will have the opposite opinion. This isn’t anything to be surprised about, and certainly not exclusive to Hibs.

25-12-2024, 05:59 AM
Spent a couple of years at Hibernian Under 15’s was a boyhood chess champion before joining Thistle

His mum and dad were dedicated to the development of his career

Would have him back in a heartbeat if he could get his act together

25-12-2024, 06:39 AM
I liked him

When he was on it he was on it when he wasn’t sulking

Wanted him to sign but when he wanted to leave after only 6 months that was a giant red flag

I honestly think players from the West do not realise how big a club we actually are ?

Anyway glad he is not our problem anymore looked fat and unfit last time at Easter Road getting hooked at half-time

Agree with Ribs he would be better back here getting himself fit we pay decent wedge and Edinburgh is far nicer than Aberdeen or Millwall 😀

Wonder how he got on with SDG ?

This ☝️😊

25-12-2024, 08:52 AM
Spent a couple of years at Hibernian Under 15’s was a boyhood chess champion before joining Thistle

I knew he was at Hibs as a kid but the chess thing is definitely new to me.

25-12-2024, 09:03 AM
I knew he was at Hibs as a kid but the chess thing is definitely new to me.

https://footballbiography.com/kevin-nisbet-unexpected-path-chess-to-football-fame/

25-12-2024, 10:23 AM
Yer on an internet forum, where people offer opinions and some will be pro the subject being talked about and others will have the opposite opinion. This isn’t anything to be surprised about, and certainly not exclusive to Hibs.

Anyone who has ever stood/sat in the same place week after week at Easter Road will know at least 1 or 2 "fans" that are there just to have a moan. They normally pick out one player to bump their gums at. I'm convinced they're only there to have a good moan at someone. There's probably a psychological term for their behaviour.

25-12-2024, 10:31 AM
I knew he was at Hibs as a kid but the chess thing is definitely new to me.Explains his chequered career.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

25-12-2024, 11:02 AM
Anyone who has ever stood/sat in the same place week after week at Easter Road will know at least 1 or 2 "fans" that are there just to have a moan. They normally pick out one player to bump their gums at. I'm convinced they're only there to have a good moan at someone. There's probably a psychological term for their behaviour.

Ye, spot on but yer original comment suggested this was unique to Hibs which of course it isn’t. Speak to any football fan at any club and they will say the same.

25-12-2024, 11:04 AM
Good goalscorer and clever player, if he's looking to reassert himself as such I'd be delighted if it was at Hibs.

25-12-2024, 11:08 AM

Back in the day we used to bus young players from Glasgow, presume Kevin was one of these at that age

25-12-2024, 11:14 AM

I’m with you. Clearly a supporter is someone that offers support.
Fans on the other hand, offer opinions, views, managerial advice, objections, insults and a whole plethora other stuff. You’ll get used to it 😉

25-12-2024, 01:36 PM
I’m with you. Clearly a supporter is someone that offers support.
Fans on the other hand, offer opinions, views, managerial advice, objections, insults and a whole plethora other stuff. You’ll get used to it 😉

God I hope so, with 50+ years supporting Hibs I cannae wait until it stops bugging the **** out of me.

25-12-2024, 01:38 PM
God I hope so, with 50+ years supporting Hibs I cannae wait until it stops bugging the **** out of me.

Me too 🤞🏻

25-12-2024, 02:01 PM
Since when? He’s from the west - although that doesn’t exclude you from being a Hibee obviously. Never heard it claimed by anybody he was a boyhood Hibs fan.

Yep he never did

25-12-2024, 02:10 PM
Would take him back but I think his workrate needs to improve that’s how he hasn’t cut it with Millwall