View Full Version : Nectar Triantis
Donegal Hibby
20-12-2024, 01:59 PM
I see David Gray praising recent performances from Triantis . While not everyone’s cup of tea he’s a player i like and certainly has the potential to get better IMO …
https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/news/david-gray-reserves-special-hibs-praise-for-star-who-is-now-dominating-in-midfield/
20-12-2024, 02:10 PM
He’s playing like someone that is young, inexperienced and playing a new position…..which is exactly what he is.
Some games he’s really good in the middle of the park and dominates it, gets on the ball, beats people and drives forward, good passes etc see his first game back against Killie for example
Too often lately he’s not been doing any of that, if he does it’s for a 10 minute spell or so
He’s also making a lot of mistakes in a key area. Hes at fault a lot for not following midfield runners which results in a shot at goal or a goal itself
If we’re playing and developing a player like Triantis, he has to be signed imo. Is he good enough to play every week as a loan player? Is he better than Levitt, JDH, Amos or NMW?
Paulie Walnuts
20-12-2024, 02:28 PM
Find that nigh on impossible to agree with from him. Triantis has been really poor imo and I’m still surprised we brought him back.
PHeffernan
20-12-2024, 02:41 PM
He’s playing like someone that is young, inexperienced and playing a new position…..which is exactly what he is.
Some games he’s really good in the middle of the park and dominates it, gets on the ball, beats people and drives forward, good passes etc see his first game back against Killie for example
Too often lately he’s not been doing any of that, if he does it’s for a 10 minute spell or so
He’s also making a lot of mistakes in a key area. Hes at fault a lot for not following midfield runners which results in a shot at goal or a goal itself
If we’re playing and developing a player like Triantis, he has to be signed imo. Is he good enough to play every week as a loan player? Is he better than Levitt, JDH, Amos or NMW?
That about covers it. Bottom line is he is a 21 year old and as you said, is learning on the job.
To his credit he is keeping a lot of experienced midfielders out of the team week after week so he must be showing more than them day to day which is impressive.
On the downside his needless red card cost us dear against Motherwell but that said the massively experienced Newell and Obita have cost us in the same way. Fortunately his separate goal costing mistake against Celtic didn't lose us points.
Nectar also seems to be one of these players prone to bad luck, be that conceding penalties when he was playing at centre half last season, an og like he conceded against Dundee and who can forget him managing to poleaxe two of his own players with a free kick taken from deep in his own half.
Unfortunately we are just knocking the corners off and teeing the final product up for Sunderland.
20-12-2024, 02:43 PM
I think as others mentioned, he's a mixed bag due to his inexperience. Our first goal last week was a great example of what he can do, picks some great passes and progresses the ball through the thirds really well. Much better than the likes of Kwon showed for example.
But then defensively, you look at some of the goals at Dundee or Celtic Park and he doesn't seem to have that defensive instinct for tracking runners. Sometimes he gets bullied physically aswell and he can lose discipline - maybe a bit emotional at times.
I think the current shape suits him, as it does for the majority of our players. Think he could push on and have a strong second half of the season.
20-12-2024, 03:13 PM
Fair enough, inexperience is a problem for him.
It’s no my problem though, my problem is the performances. I’ve nae interest in helping some other teams players develop to our detriment. What’s the point in that?
He’s been disappointing (not unexpectedly) as far as I’m concerned and I’d rather we’d looked to bring in someone who didn’t need to adapt to the position to play there.
20-12-2024, 04:12 PM
I like him, he’s a bit rough around the edges but that’s why he’s playing for us, after all, we would never have got Dwight Gayle at the height of his power yet DG is doing a job for us just now.
Plus Nectar has given us the funniest moment in decades when he clattered his free kick into Newell and then Fish. If you don’t find that funny, there’s something wrong with you!
Donegal Hibby
20-12-2024, 04:49 PM
I like him, he’s a bit rough around the edges but that’s why he’s playing for us, after all, we would never have got Dwight Gayle at the height of his power yet DG is doing a job for us just now.
Plus Nectar has given us the funniest moment in decades when he clattered his free kick into Newell and then Fish. If you don’t find that funny, there’s something wrong with you!
I wonder if he’s someone Gray would like to sign permanently in the summer? I think Sunderland got him for 300k which isn’t a huge amount and if they got promoted to the premier might help our case too.
It certainly was funny alright 😁
20-12-2024, 06:12 PM
I wonder if he’s someone Gray would like to sign permanently in the summer? I think Sunderland got him for 300k which isn’t a huge amount and if they got promoted to the premier might help our case too.
It certainly was funny alright 😁
Gray won't be here in the summer imo so that will be a no
20-12-2024, 06:14 PM
I actually really rate him. When he plays well, we play well and for being a defensive midfielder he is able to play some clever passes.
His age means he’s prone to inconsistency but even our experienced players could have the same said of them.
20-12-2024, 06:31 PM
Personally I'm not really a fan and thought he was ***** against Ross County but so were a lot of others. And personally I would never even consider building a team round a player that's as inconsistent as that, but that's purely my opinion.
20-12-2024, 06:57 PM
I see David Gray praising recent performances from Triantis . While not everyone’s cup of tea he’s a player i like and certainly has the potential to get better IMO …
https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/news/david-gray-reserves-special-hibs-praise-for-star-who-is-now-dominating-in-midfield/
He ranges from ok to horrific like on Saturday. If that’s the standard we are aiming for the we’re doomed. Don’t even know what position he plays????
20-12-2024, 07:18 PM
A player i just don’t get. I think he’s useless on the ball and mediocre off it. If he was our own academy prospect I’d question their future at this level.
20-12-2024, 07:24 PM
He ranges from ok to horrific like on Saturday. If that’s the standard we are aiming for the we’re doomed. Don’t even know what position he plays????
He wasn’t horrific though. He won 7 tackles - more than double anyone else. One of those times he won it at edge of our box, played great ball to Youan, gets it back and threads it to Hoilett and we equalise.
He is frustrating but he has quality. Much more so than other options IMO
20-12-2024, 07:37 PM
He wasn’t horrific though. He won 7 tackles - more than double anyone else. One of those times he won it at edge of our box, played great ball to Youan, gets it back and threads it to Hoilett and we equalise.
I don't agree that he has quality, he just isn't totally pish all the time.
20-12-2024, 07:38 PM
Well I sat there and watched him playing terrible for most of the game, absolutely incredible he stayed on the park especially with his booking. You have your own opinion which is fine but very different to everyone sitting around me in the East. Despite having a few good games he WAS horrific on Saturday but he definitely shows glimpses of quality at times, it’s probably the other options we have aren’t any better.
20-12-2024, 07:48 PM
I go back and forth with Triantis. Right now I'd happily give someone else (Kwon or NMW) a chance, but I still think ‘there’s a player in there’.
Think I forget he's only 21 and has only really played in the A-League before joining. He’s either good or pish, which gets annoying when he's pish cause you know he can do better. Again, only 21 though.
20-12-2024, 07:53 PM
Well I sat there and watched him playing terrible for most of the game, absolutely incredible he stayed on the park especially with his booking. You have your own opinion which is fine but very different to everyone sitting around me in the East. Despite having a few good games he WAS horrific on Saturday but he definitely shows glimpses of quality at times, it’s probably the other options we have aren’t any better.
I was sitting in the East and I was pretty scunnered with how bad we were. If you’d have asked me what happened in the build up to our first goal I couldn’t have told you.
But sometimes when you watch it back……we are all wrong. Players get slated with stuff like “when did he last grab the game by scruff of the neck” etc. Triantis did that at the first goal and he deserves a bit of credit.
I’d happily take better but I’d say that for every position
20-12-2024, 08:01 PM
I was sitting in the East and I was pretty scunnered with how bad we were. If you’d have asked me what happened in the build up to our first goal I couldn’t have told you.
But sometimes when you watch it back……we are all wrong. Players get slated with stuff like “when did he last grab the game by scruff of the neck” etc. Triantis did that at the first goal and he deserves a bit of credit.
I’d happily take better but I’d say that for every position
I was answering the OP statement. He’s on loan and right now he’s not what we need and not good enough. We don’t really even know what position he plays. We need ready made players to get our team to the standards we should be at. Triantis is not at that standard and talking about splashing £300k on him is utterly ridiculous. It was those points I was talking about initially although I do agree he does have ability sometimes.
20-12-2024, 08:03 PM
I was answering the OP statement. He’s on loan and right now he’s not what we need and not good enough. We don’t really even know what position he plays. We need ready made players to get our team to the standards we should be at. Triantis is not at that standard and talking about splashing £300k on him is utterly ridiculous. It was those points I was talking about initially although I do agree he does have ability sometimes.
He'd cost much more than £300k I reckon. His contract runs to summer 2027 and Sunderland already know we rate him as we've had him on loan twice.
20-12-2024, 08:07 PM
He'd cost much more than £300k I reckon. His contract runs to summer 2027 and Sunderland already know we rate him as we've had him on loan twice.
So we could get Shankland cheaper? 😂😂
Donegal Hibby
20-12-2024, 08:39 PM
Says what position he plays in the article though I would have thought it was obvious enough tbf.
20-12-2024, 08:45 PM
Send him back to Blackcats not good enough
20-12-2024, 09:08 PM
Send him back to Blackcats not good enough
He wasn't good enough first time around should never have been brought back 2nd time around ! We are where we are because of crap players , No danger i want to see him at Easter rd next season ....300 Thousand lol
20-12-2024, 09:10 PM
Says what position he plays in the article though I would have thought it was obvious enough tbf.
So what is he then, a centre back or a midfielder?
Donegal Hibby
20-12-2024, 09:17 PM
So what is he then, a centre back or a midfielder?
Not you again I’m only after talking to you on the other thread 😃..
He’s a number six , deep lying midfielder or defensive midfielder.
As I said at the start of the thread he’s not everyone’s cup of tea though a player I like as I think he’s decent with a lot of potential at 21 to become a good player.
20-12-2024, 09:20 PM
As I said at the start of the thread he’s not everyone’s cup of tea though a player I like as I think he’s decent with a lot of potential at 21 to become a good player.
I thought he was signed as a cb and was converted to midfield due to necessity. I’m not stating facts just what I was led to believe. Probably better speaking on WhatsApp 😂😂
20-12-2024, 09:40 PM
the ball to Youan was the best pass of the whole game.. silky, then drove forward, picked up the return and slotted the next pass. Frustrating, but there’s a player there.
1875Sean
20-12-2024, 09:52 PM
Triantis, Josh Campbell and Rocky, you have a thing for players who are not everyone’s cup of tea … really we should be aiming for ready made players rather than a centre half experimenting to be a holding midfielder
20-12-2024, 09:55 PM
A player that doesn't look comfortable in any position he's asked to play. Hopefully back to Sunderland in January and we can sign an actual midfielder.
20-12-2024, 09:56 PM
Triantis, Josh Campbell and Rocky, you have a thing for players who are not everyone’s cup of tea … really we should be aiming for ready made players rather than a centre half experimenting to be a holding midfielder
He’s far more a defensive midfielder than a centre half.
20-12-2024, 09:58 PM
With what we have at our disposal Triantis is s first choice in midfield and we should back him and every other one of our players.
At the end of the season we need a complete clear out. If our major shareholders have real ambition then Hibs need to be shopping at a higher level for players. But are they prepared to take the risk?
20-12-2024, 10:10 PM
A player that doesn't look comfortable in any position he's asked to play. Hopefully back to Sunderland in January and we can sign an actual midfielder.
I wish it was as black and white as that..
Some weeks he looks perfectly comfortable and is one of our most competent players.
Others he looks absolutely lost.
Part of our trouble is that instead of having one or two mercurial, inconsistent players we seem to have ended up with practically a full team of players with a low floor and high ceiling of performance level.
Donegal Hibby
20-12-2024, 10:31 PM
I always liked Campbell tbh as he’s a player that I think always gives 100% and is one of our own .
Rocky I sort of picked because I’ve thought since being on the net he has been given a rough time which I think at times has been unfair. I do think the guys got character and spirit.
Triantis I can understand why folk aren’t keen on as he’s been inconsistent at times though think he’s a player with potential and has shown his ability at times ..
Three players that probably need a bit of support which is why I do in fairness 👍
21-12-2024, 08:12 AM
I wish it was as black and white as that..
Some weeks he looks perfectly comfortable and is one of our most competent players.
Others he looks absolutely lost.
Part of our trouble is that instead of having one or two mercurial, inconsistent players we seem to have ended up with practically a full team of players with a low floor and high ceiling of performance level.
Agreed. I don’t think it helps that our midfield is largely bypassed in most games.
21-12-2024, 08:14 AM
Agreed. I don’t think it helps that our midfield is largely bypassed in most games.
We bypass them as neither demands the ball. It’s an awful midfield. And I’d be happy if we got 2 new players in there in Jan.
7Hero
21-12-2024, 08:19 AM
With what we have at our disposal Triantis is s first choice in midfield and we should back him and every other one of our players.
At the end of the season we need a complete clear out. If our major shareholders have real ambition then Hibs need to be shopping at a higher level for players. But are they prepared to take the risk?
Worryingly, it's not the majority shareholder that has the ambition now, the club is away the minute Foley can get approval, clearly it's the black knight who now have the ambition..
Wasn't any good last season and not that great this season, over hyped bang average player similar to Myko, we need so much better. You can add Kwong into that category, 3 players brought in last minute because our recruitment ****ed up again.
21-12-2024, 08:52 AM
Wasn't any good last season and not that great this season, over hyped bang average player similar to Myko, we need so much better. You can add Kwong into that category, 3 players brought in last minute because our recruitment ****ed up again.
Agree Kwon been a massive disappointment
21-12-2024, 08:59 AM
I thought he was signed as a cb and was converted to midfield due to necessity. I’m not stating facts just what I was led to believe. Probably better speaking on WhatsApp 😂😂
Sunderland definitely signed him as a centre half. It’s where he played almost all his games in Australia.
We definitely signed him as a centre half originally. Monty had him previously, brought him in and put him into the defence.
He’s in midfield now because he was hopeless at the back for us. I’d have nae problem with us having him as a squad player. I reckon he could fill in if we had injuries/suspensions. He’s no good enough to be playing regularly though.
No chance we should be spending any money trying to make it a permanent transfer.
1875Sean
21-12-2024, 12:08 PM
I always liked Campbell tbh as he’s a player that I think always gives 100% and is one of our own .
Rocky I sort of picked because I’ve thought since being on the net he has been given a rough time which I think at times has been unfair. I do think the guys got character and spirit.
Triantis I can understand why folk aren’t keen on as he’s been inconsistent at times though think he’s a player with potential and has shown his ability at times ..
Three players that probably need a bit of support which is why I do in fairness 👍
Look forward to the Bursik and McKirdy thread next
Donegal Hibby
21-12-2024, 12:30 PM
Look forward to the Bursik and McKirdy thread next
Different situation entirely though.
21-12-2024, 04:00 PM
Another clever bit of play and another good game.
21-12-2024, 04:01 PM
Played very well today.
ToulouseHibs
21-12-2024, 04:04 PM
There’s a player there!!! Lovely feet for the third today.
21-12-2024, 04:12 PM
Played well today, night and day from last week so well done. 👍
tonyrougier123
21-12-2024, 04:27 PM
Played well today, night and day from last week so well done. 👍
He was still influential in last weeks win also. Catalyst in goal build up play. Campbell was superb as was Rocky all 3 playing well. Been integral actually.
23-12-2024, 10:47 AM
Notice that Sunderland are monitoring him as they are weak in the DM area. Hope they don't recall him in January. People on here were divided over Mark Milligan but sometimes you don't appreciate what you have until they leave.
Donegal Hibby
23-12-2024, 10:51 AM
Notice that Sunderland are monitoring him as they are weak in the DM area. Hope they don't recall him in January. People on here were divided over Mark Milligan but sometimes you don't appreciate what you have until they leave.
Exactly was just reading the article . Hope they haven’t an option to recall him in January too …
https://the72.co.uk/2024/12/23/sunderland-nectarios-triantis-stars-new-role-hibernian/
23-12-2024, 10:55 AM
Don't think there's anything to worry about. He's doing fine for us, at present a bottom half Scottish Premiership team. Even then his performances are erratic.
No way will they look to him as the answer to kick on this season. He’ll see out his loan spell I reckon.
23-12-2024, 11:10 AM
Don't think there's anything to worry about. He's doing fine for us, at present a bottom half Scottish Premiership team. Even then his performances are erratic.
No way will they look to him as the answer to kick on this season. He’ll see out his loan spell I reckon.
Yet Mayenda who didn't got next to game time here is a regular in the Sunderland team. They may take him back have a look and still have the option of sending him back out on loan at the end of the window, assuming they don't play him themselves in January.
23-12-2024, 12:02 PM
He will do everything he can to stay. He knows we are destined to win the Cup this year.
24-12-2024, 11:18 AM
Played very well today.
His play for Boyles goal was excellent
24-12-2024, 11:47 AM
I actually really rate him. When he plays well, we play well and for being a defensive midfielder he is able to play some clever passes.
His age means he’s prone to inconsistency but even our experienced players could have the same said of them.
Agreed! I think if he settles and i that position and can be more consistant we could build a team/midfield around him if we can bring him in full time.
24-12-2024, 02:20 PM
He is Fraustrating like Lewis Miller very capable if he maintains Saturdays performance don’t see why he can’t do a turn for Sunderland
This, decent enough in bits, inconsistent in the main with the odd brain fart now and then, unfortunately we're not in a position nurture young players, we need ready to go ones.
24-12-2024, 05:13 PM
Thats a bit misguided and unfair on our owners. The Gordons have been very generous with our transfer budgets since taking over. Recruitment has been the failure. I’m hoping the shakeup in the recruitment area will reap rewards going forward.
24-12-2024, 08:13 PM
Thats a bit misguided and unfair on our owners. The Gordons have been very generous with our transfer budgets since taking over. Recruitment has been the failure. I’m hoping the shakeup in the recruitment area will reap rewards going forward.
Yes I agree the Gordons have very been generous. Problem is IG was shopping in the wrong market but paying higher market wages and admitted in his interview he had been mistaken. It remains to be seen if he has stepped back from controlling recruitment. His interview suggested he has but…
In my “major shareholders” comment I saw that to include Black Knight as well as the Gordons. I think their ambition for us is crucial. However, that depends very much on whether IG is listening and really has turned a corner. If they work together I feel there is genuine cause to be optimistic for the future.
I’m not in the Gordons out brigade. I want IG to be good for his words. Back off all together from recruitment and allow people that know what they are doing to carry us forward. The family may then be in a position to wallow in some success.
He's definitely a player I'd keep.
Unless we finish in one of the relegation / play-off spots, Gray will stay.
Gray will need the spine of the team retained past January and into next season.
A promising 21 year old with a tall, powerful physique and two good feet would be worth retaining IMO.
sauzee1989
24-12-2024, 08:42 PM
More bad games than good games. Often a red card waiting to happen.
24-12-2024, 09:12 PM
Marmite I guess. I’m on the like side of the toast.
24-12-2024, 09:26 PM
w pilton hibby
24-12-2024, 09:42 PM
Me too.
Premiership team of the week. From The Scotsman
The on-loan Sunderland man was excellent as Hibs shocked Aberdeen 3-1 at Pittodrie. Was ranked at 8.3 for his own performance. Picked up one assist, won 67% of his tackles (two of three), won 80% of his ground duels won and created two chances for his team.
ChilliEater
24-12-2024, 09:42 PM
Seems like you need to wait a long time. According to this: https://www.transfermarkt.com/nectarios-triantis/detaillierteleistungsdaten/spieler/957224 he's had 1 red card in his entire career.
24-12-2024, 09:53 PM
Seems like you need to wait a long time. According to this: https://www.transfermarkt.com/nectarios-triantis/detaillierteleistungsdaten/spieler/957224 he's had 1 red card in his entire career.
I wondered what the number was but didn't know where to look for the info, bizarre what lengths some posters will go to to put a Hibs player down.
Donegal Hibby
24-12-2024, 09:56 PM
I think folk forget he’s only 21 and has a lot of potential . Personally I think he’s been a decent signing ….
https://www.whoscored.com/Players/486760/Show/Nectarios-Triantis
24-12-2024, 10:03 PM
Yes I agree the Gordons have very been generous. Problem is IG was shopping in the wrong market but paying higher market wages and admitted in his interview he had been mistaken. It remains to be seen if he has stepped back from controlling recruitment. His interview suggested he has but…
In my “major shareholders” comment I saw that to include Black Knight as well as the Gordons. I think their ambition for us is crucial. However, that depends very much on whether IG is listening and really has turned a corner. If they work together I feel there is genuine cause to be optimistic for the future.
I’m not in the Gordons out brigade. I want IG to be good for his words. Back off all together from recruitment and allow people that know what they are doing to carry us forward. The family may then be in a position to wallow in some success.
Apologies - I thought you were only referring to the Gordons initially. And I agree with everything you’ve said above. I think the appointment of Garvan Stewart is a key indicator that IG is very much being influenced by Foley & co now. It seems inconceivable that this guy has been parachuted in to head up our recruitment only for IG to saw no. I don’t think IG would be that daft. The January window will be telling.
25-12-2024, 01:57 AM
Apologies - I thought you were only referring to the Gordons initially. And I agree with everything you’ve said above. I think the appointment of Garvan Stewart is a key indicator that IG is very much being influenced by Foley & co now. It seems inconceivable that this guy has been parachuted in to head up our recruitment only for IG to saw no. I don’t think IG would be that daft. The January window will be telling.
👍 My mistake though. I should have made that clearer. Have a great Christmas one and all.
25-12-2024, 10:23 AM
I wondered what the number was but didn't know where to look for the info, bizarre what lengths some posters will go to to put a Hibs player down.
You assume they are Hibs supporters?
Donegal Hibby
25-12-2024, 12:04 PM
Just after watching this again .. it is funny 🤣…
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/13104747/rangers-v-hibernian-free-kick-gone-wrong-as-visiting-duo-go-down-from-own-set-piece
bordergreen
25-12-2024, 04:19 PM
I like him. Lots of energy, comfortable on the ball, can see and play a pass. He makes the odd mistake, but does far more good than bad.
25-12-2024, 04:35 PM
You assume they are Hibs supporters?
Exactly.
25-12-2024, 11:57 PM
There are people on this site who jump onboard with criticism of players because they make a small mistake so that defines that player. There were games that SJM was awful but that didn't define him as a player.
26-12-2024, 01:52 PM
Very good ball to Cads2 who crossed for the winning goal. A wee bit quieter today but still had a decent game
26-12-2024, 02:00 PM
Improving every game.
cameronw-hfc
26-12-2024, 02:03 PM
Thought him and Newell were absolutely outstanding first half. Second half was quieter but still good.
Forget he's so young sometimes
skyehibee
26-12-2024, 02:03 PM
I’m not his biggest fan but he had a brilliant game today and controlled the midfield very well.
26-12-2024, 02:04 PM
Thought him and Newell were absolutely outstanding first half. Second half was quieter but still good.
Forget he's so young sometimes
Said the same the other day. He has so much potential. Was class today again.
cameronw-hfc
26-12-2024, 02:06 PM
Said the same the other day. He has so much potential. Was class today again.
Also forget this is his first ever full season as a midfielder. Still so so much to learn.
He has some really nice moments on the ball every week it seems.
26-12-2024, 02:21 PM
Classy player still learning