View Full Version : Fave classic British tv programmes/shows etc

Bridge hibs
16-12-2024, 07:17 PM
For laughs way back and even now Only Fools and Horses, its timeless.

Dr Who for my dalek scares when I was a kid and a Sunday watching Glen Michaels Cavelcade with Palladin the lamp.

For quiz shows I loved Bullseye although Jim Bowens jokes were cheesy as ****. I also enjoyed Golden Balls with Jasper Carrot.

Pot Black was the Friday night treat night with my Nana where we would get our bottle of red cola and black pudding supper.

Comedy shows, I loved Hale and Pace.

16-12-2024, 07:24 PM
Rise & Fall of Reginald Perrin, Rising Damp.

Spike Milligan's Q series. In fact anything Spike Miiligan.

Paulie Walnuts
16-12-2024, 07:35 PM
Still game for me.

16-12-2024, 07:42 PM
Still game for me.And that too [emoji106]

Donegal Hibby
16-12-2024, 08:02 PM
Only fools and horses the number one with me though there’s many others i like ….Only when I laugh and Open all hours a couple more .

Quiz shows Tipping Point and use to love watching the Krypton factor and 15 to 1 .

Stairway 2 7
16-12-2024, 08:16 PM
Faulty Towers, Hancocks half hour, Monty Python, the Prisoner, Boys from the blackstuff, Steptoe and Son, Cracker, Our friends in the North, the Singing Detective, Brass Eye

So many classics

16-12-2024, 08:25 PM
The reverend I M Jolly

Close the thread!

16-12-2024, 08:45 PM
The reverend I M Jolly

Close the thread!

Right Stirling oot the car !

Super Cop

16-12-2024, 08:47 PM
Rising Damp

16-12-2024, 08:56 PM
Dad's Army.

Bridge hibs
16-12-2024, 10:21 PM
Good shouts for Steptoe and Son, another classic

17-12-2024, 12:04 AM
Brass Eye

One of the best shows created.

babahibs
17-12-2024, 05:04 AM
The Young Ones, The Fast Show.

17-12-2024, 06:47 AM
Alan Partridge.

And I dunno if I'd go so far as to call it a "classic" but I loved Garth Merenghis Darkplace.

17-12-2024, 08:02 AM
Alan Partridge.

And I dunno if I'd go so far as to call it a "classic" but I loved Garth Merenghis Darkplace.

:top marks Brilliant show.

I'm not sure if it falls into the classic category yet but Peep Show for me. Dipped a bit towards the end but the first few seasons were absolute gold. Another shout for Brass Eye as well, very clever and indeed too cleaver for people who completely missed the point and got ultra offended by it.

In terms of light entertainment I loved Big Break when I was a bairn. It was only years later I realised that Jim Davidson being the host of Saturday night prime time was more than a bit odd.

17-12-2024, 08:12 AM
Not sure if these count as 'classic' but The Office & The Thick of It are 2 of the best comedies ever produced in the UK.

17-12-2024, 08:39 AM
The list is pretty much endless but here's a few more that deserve a mention.

Auf Wiedersehen, Pet
Blackadder (not series 1)
Minder
Harry's Game
Early Doors

Could go on all day really.

Hibs Go Bragh
17-12-2024, 09:11 AM
Phoenix Nights.

The episode with with pub quiz is one of the funniest episodes of all time!

Question 1: Name the magnificent seven…….Sleepy, Dopey, Bashful 😂🤣

17-12-2024, 09:39 AM
Men Behaving Badly was good.

17-12-2024, 09:43 AM
Allo Allo.

17-12-2024, 10:50 AM
Game On

17-12-2024, 11:14 AM
Tales of the Unexpected
Sorry
Love Thy Neighbour

17-12-2024, 11:18 AM
Gladiators.

Father Ted.

Another mention for Phoenix Nights - not seen it in its entirety for ages but short clips pop up from time to time - and I think it gets better with time. Some of the highlights and subtle little moments are first class.

And ok, we had the "Paddy and Max" spin off but I quite like it when things are left alone rather than to have every last drop wrung out of them. Both Father Ted and Phoenix Nights have been left near perfect.

17-12-2024, 11:44 AM
Game On

Good god, I was in love with Samantha Janus ❤️❤️❤️

17-12-2024, 11:46 AM
Gimme Gimme Gimme was also seriously underrated!

patch1875
17-12-2024, 12:04 PM
The Professionals

17-12-2024, 12:17 PM
:top marks Brilliant show.

I'm not sure if it falls into the classic category yet but Peep Show for me. Dipped a bit towards the end but the first few seasons were absolute gold. Another shout for Brass Eye as well, very clever and indeed too cleaver for people who completely missed the point and got ultra offended by it.

In terms of light entertainment I loved Big Break when I was a bairn. It was only years later I realised that Jim Davidson being the host of Saturday night prime time was more than a bit odd.

Peep Show is absolutely brilliant.

17-12-2024, 01:08 PM
Some mothers do ‘ave em

Streets used to clear on a Thursday night

17-12-2024, 07:47 PM
The list is pretty much endless but here's a few more that deserve a mention.

Auf Wiedersehen, Pet
Blackadder (not series 1)
Minder
Harry's Game
Early Doors

Could go on all day really.

Porridge
Cracker
Grange Hill
Steptoe & Son
Waking the Dead
Spooks
The Likely Lads (and Whatever happened to)
Peaky Blinders
Killing Eve
A Discovery of Witches
Blake's 7
Harry Enfield & Chums

Captain Emerald
17-12-2024, 08:46 PM
Porridge
Rising Damp
Black Books
Red Dwarf
Only Fools and Horses
Blackadder
Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em
The Young Ones
Minder
The Sweeney
Steptoe & Son
Bottom
The Professionals
Gimme Gimme Gimme
'Allo 'Allo
Auf Wiedersehen, Pet
Rising Damp
Open All Hours
Doctor Who
Fawlty Towers
Monty Python's Flying Circus
Dad's Army
Last of the Summer Wine (the Compo years)
The Office
The Vicar of Dibley
Dinnerladies
The Good Life
One Foot in the Grave
Men Behaving Badly
Are You Being Served
The Likely Lads
Hancock's Half Hour
The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin
Bread (before they changed Joey)
It Ain't Half Hot Mum
Rab C. Nesbitt

Apologies for the long list - I got carried away!

Bridge hibs
17-12-2024, 09:32 PM
The Royle Family

ErinGoBraghHFC
17-12-2024, 09:53 PM
Still Game, Peep Show (undisputed greatest sitcom of all time imo) and Brassic are all absolutely brilliant tv

ErinGoBraghHFC
17-12-2024, 09:56 PM
Love Thy Neighbour

Jings[emoji51]

Bridge hibs
17-12-2024, 10:09 PM
George and Mildred

Sloop67
18-12-2024, 05:41 AM
Rumpole ofThe Bailey , Captain Scarlet , The Avengers

18-12-2024, 05:57 AM
Agree with other posters Peep Show was quality got all the box sets

18-12-2024, 08:15 AM
Man about the house
Robin’s Nest
The Good Life

One of my all time favourites is Benidorm 😀

18-12-2024, 09:22 AM
Think all my fave comedy shows have been mentioned except

The Comic Strip Presents
Saturday Night Live
A Bit Of Fry and Laurie
Drop The Dead Donkey

18-12-2024, 09:25 AM
Taggart

18-12-2024, 11:38 AM
Inspector Morse

18-12-2024, 12:30 PM
Think it really depends on when you were born and what was on the box at the time. But my list from a lad born in the early 80's is:

Red Dwarf
Bottom
Still Game
Game On
The Royle Family
Mr Bean
Men Behaving Badly
Goodnight Sweetheart
Atletico Partick

18-12-2024, 12:51 PM
Perhaps it's too recent but, I'm throwing Slow Horses in too.

18-12-2024, 01:18 PM
The Inbetweeners

18-12-2024, 01:37 PM
The Inbetweeners

Modern classic.

Still Game and Chewin the Fat for me are the pinnicle of comedy. I watch Still Game over and over, it never gets old.

The Christmas episode with the choir and the fruit machine are fantastic.

18-12-2024, 02:39 PM
The Inbetweeners

Cannae believe that I forgot about that. 🥺

Captain Emerald
18-12-2024, 02:51 PM
Think all my fave comedy shows have been mentioned except

The Comic Strip Presents...

Great shout. Some cracking episodes. My favourite was "A Fistful of Travellers' Cheques".

18-12-2024, 04:34 PM
Can anyone remember a show in the mid 00s set in a block of flats in Glasgow? It was a comedy but pretty dark in parts.

I remember stumbling across it late at night/early morning when I was at Uni and thinking it was really good. Name totally escapes me and I can't recall who was in it so can't look at IMDB. Would like to rewatch it if it was on any streaming services.

18-12-2024, 04:41 PM
Can anyone remember a show in the mid 00s set in a block of flats in Glasgow? It was a comedy but pretty dark in parts.

I remember stumbling across it late at night/early morning when I was at Uni and thinking it was really good. Name totally escapes me and I can't recall who was in it so can't look at IMDB. Would like to rewatch it if it was on any streaming services.

High times?

18-12-2024, 04:50 PM

There was a programme called Looking out for Joe Joe, think it was based in Edinburgh though. 🤔

18-12-2024, 04:59 PM
There was a programme called Looking out for Joe Joe, think it was based in Edinburgh though. ��

It was.

Robert Carlyle, and it was set around the high flats at Sighthill. Don't think it was the 00's, though. Maybe the 90's, after Trainspotting.

I was just talking about it to my son last night, and the accent that Carlyle used.

Bridge hibs
18-12-2024, 05:03 PM

I remember stumbling across it late at night/early morning when I was at Uni and thinking it was really good. Name totally escapes me and I can't recall who was in it so can't look at IMDB. Would like to rewatch it if it was on any streaming services.High Times ?

18-12-2024, 05:05 PM
It was.

Robert Carlyle, and it was set around the high flats at Sighthill. Don't think it was the 00's, though. Maybe the 90's, after Trainspotting.

I was just talking about it to my son last night, and the accent that Carlyle used.

Aye, I thought that the 00's sounded too recent. Good programme though.

18-12-2024, 05:11 PM
Don’t want to be that guy but …

Looking after Jo Jo

Pretty sure I watched it recently on catch up

18-12-2024, 05:41 PM
Don’t want to be that guy but …

Looking after Jo Jo

Pretty sure I watched it recently on catch up

1000 apologies 🙄

I don't think that programme has had a mention yet.

Mind your Language, for the youngsters looking in.

18-12-2024, 05:46 PM
High Times is right. And it's on the STV Player. Thanks guys.

Donegal Hibby
18-12-2024, 07:35 PM
Mind your language.

Family fortunes.

ErinGoBraghHFC
18-12-2024, 07:49 PM
The Inbetweeners

Criminal it took that long for someone to mention it, genius

18-12-2024, 07:59 PM
Great shout. Some cracking episodes. My favourite was "A Fistful of Travellers' Cheques".

Yep mine too, me and my mate used to drive everyone daft by reciting the gunfight scene "what's your favourite football team" after a few pints 😁

18-12-2024, 08:24 PM
Lots of good ones mentioned, I will throw in

Big Train
Jam

18-12-2024, 09:08 PM
The Office
The IT Crowd
Vic Reeves Big Night Out
Shooting Stars (actually pretty much anything with Vic and Bob)
Father Ted
Blackadder
Fast Show
Royle Family
BrassEye
Trigger Happy TV
Peep Show
Teachers
Inbetweeners
Toast of London
Coupling
Alan Partridge
Big Train
Thick of It

18-12-2024, 09:13 PM
Absolutely. Not sure if its already been mentioned.

Sloop67
18-12-2024, 09:38 PM
Black Books

Captain Emerald
18-12-2024, 09:55 PM
The High Life.

18-12-2024, 11:55 PM
Still game for me.

👍

Hibs Go Bragh
19-12-2024, 08:23 AM
Since we’re going down memory lane does anyone remember a show called Operation Good Guys? It was a mockumentary about the police. It was definitely in the 90s.

I loved it when it was on and remember it being hilarious but haven’t seen it in years. Everyone I’ve ever spoken to about it has never heard of it! It can’t just be me who watched it?!

19-12-2024, 10:14 AM
Since we’re going down memory lane does anyone remember a show called Operation Good Guys? It was a mockumentary about the police. It was definitely in the 90s.

I loved it when it was on and remember it being hilarious but haven’t seen it in years. Everyone I’ve ever spoken to about it has never heard of it! It can’t just be me who watched it?!

It was superb.

Hibs Go Bragh
19-12-2024, 04:36 PM
It was superb.

“Get me some bloody midgets” 😂

19-12-2024, 08:20 PM
Phoenix Nights
Still Game
The Inbetweeners
Partridge
Only Fools & Horses

Quote heaven

19-12-2024, 09:24 PM
IT crowd has to be up there?

19-12-2024, 10:07 PM

I remember it too, was brilliant

BS44
20-12-2024, 07:05 AM
Tiswas, couple hours of mayhem and great fun on a Saturday morning for youngsters. Spit the dog, the cage, compost corner, phantom flan flinger and the dying fly dance

20-12-2024, 07:08 AM
Tiswas, couple hours of mayhem and great fun on a Saturday morning for youngsters. Spit the dog, the cage, compost corner, phantom flan flinger and the dying fly dance

This is what they want !

BS44
20-12-2024, 07:23 AM
This is what they want !

Saturday is Tiswas day!

Bridge hibs
20-12-2024, 07:48 AM
Worzel Gummage and Stig of the Dump, oh and anyone remember Murphys Mob ?

patch1875
20-12-2024, 09:07 AM
Uk answer to Friends, Coupling was great

And Game On similar era.

20-12-2024, 02:00 PM
Has anyone mentioned Early Doors yet?

I missed it first tiem round but stumbled across it not so long ago and loved it. Not really laugh out loud stuff or particularly quotable but enjoyably slow paced and witty.

Bridge hibs
20-12-2024, 02:11 PM

I missed it first tiem round but stumbled across it not so long ago and loved it. Not really laugh out loud stuff or particularly quotable but enjoyably slow paced and witty.No but Im into the second of High Times on STV player, I cant believe I havent seen this before, its a good watch and I get the humour too

20-12-2024, 02:15 PM
Absolutely. Not sure if its already been mentioned.

MacGlashan doing the fitba scores - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=odsnKKz2-dU&t=106s

20-12-2024, 02:33 PM
Maybe too modern (though its almost 14 years old), but Friday Night Dinner would be on my list.

20-12-2024, 03:42 PM
Would I lie to you is my favourite show, it's had my Mrs and me in tears of laughter at times.

20-12-2024, 04:01 PM

I missed it first tiem round but stumbled across it not so long ago and loved it. Not really laugh out loud stuff or particularly quotable but enjoyably slow paced and witty.

Aye, I mentioned it "Early Doors" 🤭 in this thread, massively under rated show. Suffers from The Pacific factor, if Early Doors and The Pacific had been aired first they'd be seen in a much better light. The radio messages the police get when they are in the pub deserve a thread of their own. The background story surrounding Ken and his daughter is beautiful TV.

20-12-2024, 05:19 PM
Black Books

Sloop67
20-12-2024, 05:34 PM

It was great , I always wanted to see Jim Royal wander into The Grape one night

Bridge hibs
20-12-2024, 05:40 PM
Aye, I mentioned it "Early Doors" 🤭 in this thread, massively under rated show. Suffers from The Pacific factor, if Early Doors and The Pacific had been aired first they'd be seen in a much better light. The radio messages the police get when they are in the pub deserve a thread of their own. The background story surrounding Ken and his daughter is beautiful TV.Brilliant tv, each and every character with their own stories and personalities, the cops were brilliant

Bridge hibs
20-12-2024, 05:44 PM
Anyone remember the other Craig Cash comedy called Rovers, created and starring Joe Wilkinson, Craig Cash, Sue Johnston and others.

Hibs Go Bragh
20-12-2024, 06:18 PM
Would I lie to you is my favourite show, it's had my Mrs and me in tears of laughter at times.

Bob Mortimer is the king of WILTY but the Kevin Bridges horse story is can’t breathe levels of laughter!

20-12-2024, 06:19 PM
Aye Early doors i only started watching a few weeks ago !! Never eve heard of it but i like Craig Cash so i googled all the tv stuff he was in and came to this , A young James McAvoy in it too , Brilliant tv

20-12-2024, 06:20 PM
Anyone remember the other Craig Cash comedy called Rovers, created and starring Joe Wilkinson, Craig Cash, Sue Johnston and others.

I do :agree: That was brilliant tae !

20-12-2024, 06:42 PM
Bob Mortimer is the king of WILTY but the Kevin Bridges horse story is can’t breathe levels of laughter!

I’ve watched and re-watched the Bob clips from this so many times. Still laugh my head off at it.

Chris Rea ran me a bath and popped an egg in it.

Playing I Do Beg Your Pardon but We Are in Your Garden.

Haircuts in exchange for egg sandwiches

Doing his own dentistry.

So good.

20-12-2024, 06:49 PM
Black Books

The episode with the security door and the subbuteo player in the guys hair is my favourite.

Hibs Go Bragh
20-12-2024, 06:58 PM
I’ve watched and re-watched the Bob clips from this so many times. Still laugh my head off at it.

Chris Rea ran me a bath and popped an egg in it.

Playing I Do Beg Your Pardon but We Are in Your Garden.

Haircuts in exchange for egg sandwiches

Doing his own dentistry.

So good.

Same! It’s the perfect pick me up when you’re having a rubbish day.

Neil Overall, Jerry Dungaree’s son 😂

Bridge hibs
20-12-2024, 07:32 PM
I do :agree: That was brilliant tae !

Again the individual characters and their personalities were brilliant, why dont these shows get a really good run, brilliant tv

20-12-2024, 09:08 PM

He doesn't have to say anything anymore, the camera pans onto his face and I can feel tears of laughter already welling up.

Captain Emerald
22-12-2024, 03:26 PM
Green Wing.

22-12-2024, 04:04 PM
I’m presuming some of the 70’s comedies like Love thy neighbour and Til Death Us Do Part are no longer avaiatro watch

22-12-2024, 04:08 PM
Always loved Auf Wiedersehen, Pet, and Boys from the Bush. Tim Healy in both of these

22-12-2024, 06:09 PM
I’m presuming some of the 70’s comedies like Love thy neighbour and Til Death Us Do Part are no longer avaiatro watch

That's TV has reruns of the old comedies. Definitely shows Till death us do part.

22-12-2024, 06:14 PM

You can pick Love Thy Neighbour up on DVD on Amazon or the likes. Apparently it's really popular in the Carribbean.

Rudolph Walker still defends it and says he is proud of it when he gives interviews.

22-12-2024, 06:26 PM
You can pick Love Thy Neighbour up on DVD on Amazon or the likes. Apparently it's really popular in the Carribbean.

Rudolph Walker still defends it and says he is proud of it when he gives interviews.

I think people often look at things like LTN, and condemn it on the basis of the racist language. In truth, the plots usually had Eddie as the bad guy, but also showed up black racism.

babahibs
22-12-2024, 06:33 PM
Green Wing.

Superb show

22-12-2024, 08:39 PM
Green Wing.

Such a good show.

23-12-2024, 11:02 AM

Saw an interview in the My Life at Christmas series BBCiPlayer came across as a very interesting and intelligent guy is a legend in Trinidad and Tobago went on to star in Eastenders Black Silk a voice over in the US and UK versions of Teletubbies and started the Rudolph Walker Foundation to help young disadvantaged young actors awarded the CBE and OBE for services to drama and charity despite two divorces and being made homeless himself

23-12-2024, 11:06 AM
Gavin and Stacey anyone ?

23-12-2024, 08:37 PM
A bit more recent but Hustle is right up there. Certainly the earlier seasons, though frankly, I enjoyed the full show.

Sloop67
23-12-2024, 09:55 PM

Before it became mainstream it was really good , personally I think it's went on too long

Sloop67
23-12-2024, 09:56 PM
A bit more recent but Hustle is right up there. Certainly the earlier seasons, though frankly, I enjoyed the full show.

The original line up was excellent , it was a must watch for me

Sloop67
23-12-2024, 09:59 PM
Waking the dead and Spooks both top notch

24-12-2024, 06:46 AM
Before it became mainstream it was really good , personally I think it's went on too long

Watched about 7 episodes trying to get into it, gave up.

24-12-2024, 01:03 PM

I’ve seen better comedy shows but I’ll watch the finale tomorrow.

24-12-2024, 05:33 PM
Alan Partridge.

You used this to treat him?! What sort of medical school did you go to? If that's how you treat your friends imagine how you treat your enemies - worse I expect.

Captain Emerald
25-12-2024, 04:53 AM
Man in a Suitcase.

Callan.

Donegal Hibby
25-12-2024, 11:18 AM
Use to like blockbusters . Can’t remember the hosts name now :rolleyes:

25-12-2024, 11:52 AM

Bob Holness , Just remember being wee and my dad watched it every single day and he ALWAYS made his way across the board to the end , Clever clogs ma Dad

Bridge hibs
25-12-2024, 12:10 PM
Bob Holness , Just remember being wee and my dad watched it every single day and he ALWAYS made his way across the board to the end , Clever clogs ma Dad

Can I have a P please Bob 😆

Donegal Hibby
25-12-2024, 12:13 PM

Thanks … was doing my head in trying to remember his name. I had the Bob bit though for some reason kept thinking on Bob Monkhouse .

babahibs
25-12-2024, 12:34 PM
Can I have a P please Bob 😆

Can I have an E please Bob, always made me smile.

25-12-2024, 09:19 PM

It’s back on with a new host on the Challenge channel

25-12-2024, 09:48 PM
I’ve seen better comedy shows but I’ll watch the finale tomorrow.

Watched it tonight and enjoyed it. Still never found out what happened on the fishing trip.

25-12-2024, 10:41 PM

Find that strange. Tonight was the 24th episode. That’s really not that much.

Thought tonight’s was superb tbh. Exactly what you want from a finale.

25-12-2024, 11:33 PM
Watched it tonight and enjoyed it. Still never found out what happened on the fishing trip.

Find that strange. Tonight was the 24th episode. That’s really not that much.

Thought tonight’s was superb tbh. Exactly what you want from a finale.

I’m delighted to not find out about the fishing trip. An explanation would have ruined all that went before. And to all the possible/probable negative critiques…… bah, humbug.:greengrin

Donegal Hibby
26-12-2024, 12:02 AM
It’s back on with a new host on the Challenge channel

Cheers SH . I didn’t know that …

Haven’t seen any cookery programmes mentioned . I particularly liked Keith Floyd and Rick Stein .

26-12-2024, 05:01 AM
I’m delighted to not find out about the fishing trip. An explanation would have ruined all that went before. And to all the possible/probable negative critiques…… bah, humbug.:greengrin

The whole joke worked precisely because you didn't know. People who kept saying 'I hope we find out' completely missed the point.

I thought it was a good final episode. Tied everything up and didn't leave any need to do it again.

26-12-2024, 09:42 AM

I definitely think its up there with some of the best TV of the last thirty years. Managed to balance lighthearted romantic humour with a bit of occasional filth and surreal nonsense. I thought they got the finale just right last night.

26-12-2024, 07:46 PM
I definitely think its up there with some of the best TV of the last thirty years. Managed to balance lighthearted romantic humour with a bit of occasional filth and surreal nonsense. I thought they got the finale just right last night.

The scene where Smithy waited for Mick's advice before making his decision at the wedding was pretty close to TV perfection in the genre.

Caversham Green
21-01-2025, 07:16 AM
Anyone remember Tutti Frutti?

I started watching it again on BBC Iplayer, but they're removing it at the end of the week so you'll need to get cracking if you want to see it.

Also, One Foot in the Grave starring Eddie Clockerty as Victor Meldrew.

And Ripper Street was the other one I thought of.

Oh, and The Last Kingdom.

21-01-2025, 09:32 AM
Anyone remember Tutti Frutti?

I started watching it again on BBC Iplayer, but they're removing it at the end of the week so you'll need to get cracking if you want to see it.

Also, One Foot in the Grave starring Eddie Clockerty as Victor Meldrew.

And Ripper Street was the other one I thought of.

Oh, and The Last Kingdom.

If you liked Last Kingdom you will love Vikings

Caversham Green
21-01-2025, 09:57 AM
If you liked Last Kingdom you will love Vikings

Yep, I'm on Season 3 of Vikings - excellent stuff.