View Full Version : Why are clubs continuing to entertain the Ultra movement?

15-12-2024, 06:57 PM
Twitter was full of videos of Rangers and Celtic “ultras” rampaging about the city centre of Glasgow pre match today with bystanders having to take refuge as flares and fireworks were thrown at each other. You then get the illegal pyro displays in stadiums yet clubs facilitate them with dedicated areas of their choosing in their grounds and sort them out with tickets for away games.

We’ve seen our own group with a long list of misdemeanours yet the incidents just appear to be ignored.

Do the Union Bears and Green Brigade just pull the “it was hangers on” narrative as well?

I’m not really sure why clubs continue to tolerate them. The media doesn’t seem to be that bothered either when they report on incredible spectacles. The whole thing seems to have moved on quite dramatically from what was initially groups of fans who wanted to create a bit of colour and sing more songs during games to more violence and hooliganism.

Sloop67
15-12-2024, 07:12 PM
If these "Fans" can't behave then the SFA should kick them out the Scottish Cup

15-12-2024, 07:13 PM
Twitter was full of videos of Rangers and Celtic “ultras” rampaging about the city centre of Glasgow pre match today with bystanders having to take refuge as flares and fireworks were thrown at each other. You then get the illegal pyro displays in stadiums yet clubs facilitate them with dedicated areas of their choosing in their grounds and sort them out with tickets for away games.

We’ve seen our own group with a long list of misdemeanours yet the incidents just appear to be ignored.

Do the Union Bears and Green Brigade just pull the “it was hangers on” narrative as well?

I’m not really sure why clubs continue to tolerate them. The media doesn’t seem to be that bothered either when they report on incredible spectacles. The whole thing seems to have moved on quite dramatically from what was initially groups of fans who wanted to create a bit of colour and sing more songs during games to more violence and hooliganism.

I agree. Case by case basis though as some of the junior clubs etc have a really nice scene with very young kids all about club colours and singing. Our Ultras have pretty much stopped me going away from home. It just isn't worth the effort. I'm normally a 4 device 8 browser types chap for Derby tickets at Tiny. I forgot this time such is my lack of interest in going away from home. The team haven't exactly made it a great experience anyways but our Ultras make it a pretty miserable day out. I'm surprised the club hasn't changed their tune on Block7 especially given graffiti on neighbours wall and cemetery walls along with all the other nonsense. The fighting with other Ultras will surely see the end of them being welcomed at ER

Paulie Walnuts
15-12-2024, 07:39 PM
I agree. Case by case basis though as some of the junior clubs etc have a really nice scene with very young kids all about club colours and singing. Our Ultras have pretty much stopped me going away from home. It just isn't worth the effort. I'm normally a 4 device 8 browser types chap for Derby tickets at Tiny. I forgot this time such is my lack of interest in going away from home. The team haven't exactly made it a great experience anyways but our Ultras make it a pretty miserable day out. I'm surprised the club hasn't changed their tune on Block7 especially given graffiti on neighbours wall and cemetery walls along with all the other nonsense. The fighting with other Ultras will surely see the end of them being welcomed at ER

Not whilst Kensell is here. He bends over backwards for them.

15-12-2024, 07:43 PM
Not whilst Kensell is here. He bends over backwards for them.

Does anybody know the script with this? Its truly bizarre. There seem to be a few guys on here who chat with him in hospitality. Have any of them raised the subject of these erses with him?

15-12-2024, 07:43 PM

Interestingly broadcasters (unlike if there’s a political slogan or protest / pitch invasion - they are compelled by the authorities FIFA UEFA to pan away from that, however the pyros are focused on.

they were also slow to act and ban flares / smoke bombs.

they’ve created a bit of a monster.

Donegal Hibby
15-12-2024, 07:45 PM
Was there a reason behind there banner being upside down in the game?

15-12-2024, 07:46 PM

That was the Brisbane Blues.

Benny Brazil
15-12-2024, 07:48 PM

Apparently a protest against the owners / board

PHeffernan
15-12-2024, 07:53 PM

That's them being edgy ... man
Up the right wi wording is not for them
They care not a jot
They've got stickers, flags, a tatted man and every-hing

15-12-2024, 07:59 PM

Block 7 banner was upside down at Motherwell last week.

While their a pain in the Archie their mostly just daft wee boys and not my idea of what an ultra actually is. Same can't be said about the uglies Ultras. A lot of them are grown asp men who should 100% know better.

15-12-2024, 08:03 PM
fighting with security at the game yesterday ? get them out Edinburgh football fans 'break out in brawl with security guards' ahead of match - Edinburgh Live (https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/edinburgh-football-fans-break-out-30591569)

poor guy tries to earn some wages and gets a doin for his troubles, not on :bitchy:

He's here!
15-12-2024, 08:06 PM

While their a pain in the Archie their mostly just daft wee boys and not my idea of what an ultra actually is. Same can't be said about the uglies Ultras. A lot of them are grown asp men who should 100% know better.

The scenes in Glasgow City centre were disgraceful.

The media big the fixture up as Scottish football's 'showpiece' when in fact Scottish football (and Scotland as a whole) would be an immeasurably better place without the existence of either club.

Donegal Hibby
15-12-2024, 08:14 PM
Apparently a protest against the owners / board

Cheers .. thought it looked daft TBH .

15-12-2024, 08:15 PM

Was upside down yesterday too. Is it a protest as well?

15-12-2024, 08:16 PM
It's a shame because Block 7 really should be getting a good press for their collection pre match and for handing out selection boxes to kids. Instead a dozen or so off them have us all talking about a brawl with stewards which however you try to flip it is indefensible.

I suppose it's the same as any big group of people; there will be good lads who are a bit daft and actual bad *******s and the latter always grab all the attention.

15-12-2024, 08:20 PM
It's a shame because Block 7 really should be getting a good press for their collection pre match and for handing out selection boxes to kids. Instead a dozen or so off them have us all talking about a brawl with stewards which however you try to flip it is indefensible.

I suppose it's the same as any big group of people; there will be good lads who are a bit daft and actual bad *******s and the latter always grab all the attention.

They've shot themselves in the foot big time. I didn't have a scooby they were doing a food drive (I saw your post afterwards) but if they were organising that, why were 20 of them in the ground and hour before kick off?

There's only about 40 of them. Roasters.

15-12-2024, 08:41 PM
fighting with security at the game yesterday ? get them out Edinburgh football fans 'break out in brawl with security guards' ahead of match - Edinburgh Live (https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/edinburgh-football-fans-break-out-30591569)

poor guy tries to earn some wages and gets a doin for his troubles, not on :bitchy:

There were loads of them fighting the stewards before the game, started with a wee skirmish then they ran out for reinforcements and a much bigger rammy followed from what I saw.

No clue why the club continues to accommodate them, a line was well and truly crossed yesterday.

No doubt there will be some "justification" or explanation as to why it's not their fault, of course, but there was no excuse for that yesterday.

15-12-2024, 10:01 PM
There were loads of them fighting the stewards before the game, started with a wee skirmish then they ran out for reinforcements and a much bigger rammy followed from what I saw.

No clue why the club continues to accommodate them, a line was well and truly crossed yesterday.

No doubt there will be some "justification" or explanation as to why it's not their fault, of course, but there was no excuse for that yesterday.

No excuse
Kensell needs to say something. Wherever he is .

15-12-2024, 10:34 PM
I wasn’t aware of the trouble with stewards yesterday until reading this - with it being a Hibs kids game yesterday I’m glad we opted for East.

15-12-2024, 10:43 PM
I wasn’t aware of the trouble with stewards yesterday until reading this - with it being a Hibs kids game yesterday I’m glad we opted for East.

It was just after 14:15. No clue what sparked it but the reaction was way over the line.

Hedlund12
15-12-2024, 11:18 PM
No excuse
Kensell needs to say something. Wherever he is .

He won't though, just like the he didn't speak up after the incident at Tynie when Shankland had a corkscrew thrown at him.

(A small acknowledgement of the incident was hidden in a separate statement issued several weeks later)

Total lack of leadership and IMO often looks like the club doesn't give a $h!t.

I was told at the game that B7 or the "hangers on" as they'll no doubt claim, were doubling up (through the turnstiles) coming into the game. They apparently weren't happy with the stewards who tried to address the issue and it kicked off from there.

15-12-2024, 11:51 PM
I was told at the game that B7 or the "hangers on" as they'll no doubt claim, were doubling up (through the turnstiles) coming into the game. They apparently weren't happy with the stewards who tried to address the issue and it kicked off from there. I saw them doing the same when I was taking snaps for the Foundation in the FFL. From the stewards reaction they were expecting it, dealt with it and got a mouthful for their trouble.

Hedlund12
16-12-2024, 06:17 AM
I saw them doing the same when I was taking snaps for the Foundation in the FFL. From the stewards reaction they were expecting it, dealt with it and got a mouthful for their trouble.

They should be banned - I personally can't understand why the club don't speak up and make a stance!

They could even issue their statement upside down. 🙃

7Hero
16-12-2024, 06:57 AM
Did the weegie ultras performance, which was far worse than the exuberant Hibs fans was in 2016, result in the violence being plastered all over every back page ?? (bar the evening news). It was a disgrace how the media ruined the back pages for us that day. Has it even been mentioned ?

Tarrahib
16-12-2024, 07:48 AM
Yes the Ultras were revolting.

16-12-2024, 07:57 AM
Did the weegie ultras performance, which was far worse than the exuberant Hibs fans was in 2016, result in the violence being plastered all over every back page ?? (bar the evening news). It was a disgrace how the media ruined the back pages for us that day. Has it even been mentioned ?

It looks like a few papers have picked it up but not many.

16-12-2024, 08:03 AM
I saw them doing the same when I was taking snaps for the Foundation in the FFL. From the stewards reaction they were expecting it, dealt with it and got a mouthful for their trouble.

Doubling up and doing the club out of money?

"Ultras" indeed.

And this upside down banner pish needs to stop, it's so green brigade. If you want to make a point make a banner making a point like they did with the sack the board one a few weeks ago.

16-12-2024, 08:23 AM
The scenes in Glasgow City centre were disgraceful.

The media big the fixture up as Scottish football's 'showpiece' when in fact Scottish football (and Scotland as a whole) would be an immeasurably better place without the existence of either club.

How many arrested?

WestStandWillie
16-12-2024, 08:50 AM
He won't though, just like the he didn't speak up after the incident at Tynie when Shankland had a corkscrew thrown at him.

(A small acknowledgement of the incident was hidden in a separate statement issued several weeks later)

I was told at the game that B7 or the "hangers on" as they'll no doubt claim, were doubling up (through the turnstiles) coming into the game. They apparently weren't happy with the stewards who tried to address the issue and it kicked off from there.

So they were trying to get into the game for nothing. Awful stuff that. Get them to ****

16-12-2024, 08:55 AM
I was at Anfield as a neutral on Saturday as I was down for a family do and was kindly given a ticket. No ultras but still a great old school atmosphere provided not only by fans in the Kop but throughout the stadium. Fulham fans were very poor though in spite of selling out their full allocation. Definitely showed ultras are not an essential of modern football.

I think Block 7 help the atmosphere at ER but if they misbehave to the extent of the OF then they become a liability we can do without.

16-12-2024, 09:25 AM
I think Block 7 help the atmosphere at ER

I actually disagree. I think they stifle it with the incessant drumming and incoherent chants.

16-12-2024, 09:35 AM

They're idiots. They criticise the appointment of Malky Mackay and then cover Ibrox in stickers mocking the Ibrox disaster.

OstKurve Hibs
16-12-2024, 09:37 AM
I actually disagree. I think they stifle it with the incessant drumming and incoherent chants.

Stifle what exactly ? It's like a library at times without them.

16-12-2024, 09:38 AM

We had a decent atmosphere before they arrived.

16-12-2024, 09:42 AM

I would like to know why they feel they are entitled to free entry, as it won't be coming from nowhere.

HarpOnHibee
16-12-2024, 09:52 AM
One reason, money. Until proper fans start sorting out these wasters, nothing will be done about them as long as they bring cash into the clubs.

16-12-2024, 09:57 AM
They're idiots. They criticise the appointment of Malky Mackay and then cover Ibrox in stickers mocking the Ibrox disaster.

And smash up the away end a Fir Park. And fight their own fans for seats, some of whom have children with them.

Paulie Walnuts
16-12-2024, 10:05 AM
I would like to know why they feel they are entitled to free entry, as it won't be coming from nowhere.

The treatment they get from the club has enabled it.

They’ve been treated like they’re more important than other fans by inexplicably being given priority for away tickets/areas of stadiums, so understandably they’ve began to believe they’re more important.

16-12-2024, 10:08 AM
Best bit of atmosphere on Saturday was the folk doing the Terrace experience, they were belting out old school Hibs tunes and generally having a ball, was good to see

HFC93
16-12-2024, 10:25 AM
Best bit of atmosphere on Saturday was the folk doing the Terrace experience, they were belting out old school Hibs tunes and generally having a ball, was good to see

Yep, it was great to hear that group singing Hibs songs. Instead of joining in Block Seven started banging their drum a bit more and singing some monotonous tune no one else knows the words to.

16-12-2024, 11:58 AM

Haha aye they were certainly enjoying the hospitality that's for sure. 10/10

16-12-2024, 12:34 PM

I think personally folk now don't sing because of the monotonous noise coming from that drum and an element of not wanting to compete.

Having the East singing the traditional songs creates a much better atmosphere than some tune that every other group of ultra type groups sing

The rest of the ground are never going to join in with them.

DIXIHIBS
16-12-2024, 01:47 PM
I think personally folk now don't sing because of the monotonous noise coming from that drum and an element of not wanting to compete.

Having the East singing the traditional songs creates a much better atmosphere than some tune that every other group of ultra type groups sing

The rest of the ground are never going to join in with them.

People are not singing/lack of atmosphere due to what's happening on the pitch more than anything else. Play exciting football and win games and the crowd will react. The ultras try and create atmosphere for 90mins non stop. That's not realistic as most people react to the ebb and
flow of the game.

16-12-2024, 01:49 PM
And as for those megaphones and siren noises. Jesus wept.

16-12-2024, 04:48 PM

our club would do something about it if the security company decided it didn't want to risk any of it's employees getting injured again

16-12-2024, 05:46 PM
Just before kick off on Saturday 2 flares were thrown on to the pitch from the area where the Ross County "ultras" were standing. Considering there were only about a dozen of them at most why were those responsible not identified and thrown out? You can understand why it's difficult to pick out culprits in a packed away end but there was no excuse on Saturday.

16-12-2024, 05:53 PM
Just before kick off on Saturday 2 flares were thrown on to the pitch from the area where the Ross County "ultras" were standing. Considering there were only about a dozen of them at most why were those responsible not identified and thrown out? You can understand why it's difficult to pick out culprits in a packed away end but there was no excuse on Saturday.

No wonder folk keep doing it. If 10 police piled in and hauled a few of them out that would put a stop to it.

hibee
16-12-2024, 06:16 PM
I’ve sat in the same seat in the FF upper with the same friends and family since it was built through some good and bad seasons but I’m not sure I’ll be back next season.

I don’t really care what they get up to before and after the game but that drum has completely ruined the atmosphere for us, we can’t hear any crowd reaction now. They don’t seem to realise it drowns out the 30 or 40 of them who are signing and just gives the rest of us a headache.

As for the megaphone guys that don’t watch the game, what’s that all about?

16-12-2024, 06:30 PM
No wonder folk keep doing it. If 10 police piled in and hauled a few of them out that would put a stop to it.

The Police are all outside trying to work out if they can stop home fans going home in a direction of their choice. I'm with you the complete lack of action from Police over the years has essentially stopped it being seen as a crime. They are enablers in the growth of pyro in stadiums

16-12-2024, 06:44 PM
One reason, money. Until proper fans start sorting out these wasters, nothing will be done about them as long as they bring cash into the clubs.

not if they are doing a “double-shuffle”…

16-12-2024, 06:48 PM
Statement from Nil by Mouth about yesterday's events.

"What you have is young, angry, narcissistic young men living out their Gangs of New York fantasy on the streets of Glasgow.

"It is a worrying trend and it appears to be getting worse. It’s a highly toxic mix, of sectarianism, tribal football rivalry, alcohol and drugs and toxic masculinity.

"They use flares and wear masks to pass it off as ultras culture. They aren’t real football fans. No one should be going to a football match wearing a balaclava.

"This ultras culture is a race to the bottom. It’s adding a new nasty element to football and damaging the brand of both clubs.

"They both feel like Glasgow belongs to either one of them. Glasgow belongs to
the people who live there. Yes, the football clubs have their place but they don’t run the city.

"It was absolutely terrifying for Christmas shoppers and families who had to shield from live fireworks and flares thrown at them. It was mob rule.

"I found the whole thing profoundly depressing. We all need to think about how we can challenge this. "

There are times when I disagree with them but it's hard to argue with this.

16-12-2024, 06:48 PM
I bet there will be about 30 of them grouped together on Boxing Day again.

Funny how they always seem to be able to get tickets together at a Tynecastle, it must be pure luck.

16-12-2024, 07:01 PM

I’m not really sure why clubs continue to tolerate them. The media doesn’t seem to be that bothered either when they report on incredible spectacles. The whole thing seems to have moved on quite dramatically from what was initially groups of fans who wanted to create a bit of colour and sing more songs during games to more violence and hooliganism.https://youtu.be/dEpO8twjDwU?si=abU4wR0JFMruaLYe

Watch the video the guy running along the pavement on all fours is incredible. Believe Daid Attenborough next wildlife programme the follow up to Asia is being called Glesga.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Bridge hibs
16-12-2024, 07:32 PM
https://youtu.be/dEpO8twjDwU?si=abU4wR0JFMruaLYe

Watch the video the guy running along the pavement on all fours is incredible. Believe Daid Attenborough next wildlife programme the follow up to Asia is being called Glesga.

Sent from my SM-A127F using TapatalkThat thud when the policeman scudded the guys legs with his batton and followed up on the guy behind him, that will ****ing hurt 🤣

They need to get the water canons out on them but the cowardly ***** bags know it wont happen because there are human beings in the vicinity just going about their business and they would get caught in amongst it.

16-12-2024, 07:46 PM
The Police are all outside trying to work out if they can stop home fans going home in a direction of their choice. I'm with you the complete lack of action from Police over the years has essentially stopped it being seen as a crime. They are enablers in the growth of pyro in stadiums

Not ultra related but watched in disbelief on Saturday night when a meat wagon pulled up and two cops got out to speak to some of the local young team. Young team just stood their ground and were giving the cops all sorts of verbals. Was two female cops and the young team started with the sexual crap and what they were gonna do to these female cops. The cops ended up just walking away and jumped back in their van before driving away. Local young team chased the van down the street banging on the sides of it and throwing bottles and cans and stuff at it as it sped off. Mental what the youth of today get away with.

16-12-2024, 08:35 PM
Not ultra related but watched in disbelief on Saturday night when a meat wagon pulled up and two cops got out to speak to some of the local young team. Young team just stood their ground and were giving the cops all sorts of verbals. Was two female cops and the young team started with the sexual crap and what they were gonna do to these female cops. The cops ended up just walking away and jumped back in their van before driving away. Local young team chased the van down the street banging on the sides of it and throwing bottles and cans and stuff at it as it sped off. Mental what the youth of today get away with.

Approaching 4 months since by daughter was really badly beaten. Video on socials, known culprits. 999 call from her at scene and she fortunately got away with concussion and bruised ribs. I said at an adult care meeting 6 weeks ago that if they hadn't started investigating before a meeting happening tomorrow then I would write a formal complaint to the Chief Constable. No surprise they phoned yesterday and today but haven't even got the video yet. You would think a cast iron case imo would be worthy of them following up. There was no attempt to go after those that committed the assault at the time as far as I can gather which I find amazing as they would not have been trying to hide and I could probably find them in 30 seconds on my daughter's phone. As far as I can tell unless you are driving, at a protest or a very serious crime has been committed they have stopped policing. They make things worse at the Hibs games I attend imo.

I do have sympathy for the officers though as it used to be a good job with decent terms and conditions, housing allowances etc. It absolutely should be a well paid job and for that I expect competent officers to deal with crime happening right in front of them. There would have been plenty officers in Glasgow for Cup Final Day. If they can't deal with a hundred or so of those tubes what hope do we have

16-12-2024, 09:17 PM
https://youtu.be/dEpO8twjDwU?si=abU4wR0JFMruaLYe

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

It’s a little worrying that these are the, self proclaimed, friendliest people in Scotland. But don’t dare tell them they’re not

16-12-2024, 09:33 PM
It’s a little worrying that these are the, self proclaimed, friendliest people in Scotland. But don’t dare tell them they’re not

What was it Kevin Bridges said about the friendly Glaswegians

They will beat you up but give you directions to the hospital.

16-12-2024, 09:38 PM
Will shake you warmly by the throat.

16-12-2024, 09:44 PM
Approaching 4 months since by daughter was really badly beaten. Video on socials, known culprits. 999 call from her at scene and she fortunately got away with concussion and bruised ribs. I said at an adult care meeting 6 weeks ago that if they hadn't started investigating before a meeting happening tomorrow then I would write a formal complaint to the Chief Constable. No surprise they phoned yesterday and today but haven't even got the video yet. You would think a cast iron case imo would be worthy of them following up. There was no attempt to go after those that committed the assault at the time as far as I can gather which I find amazing as they would not have been trying to hide and I could probably find them in 30 seconds on my daughter's phone. As far as I can tell unless you are driving, at a protest or a very serious crime has been committed they have stopped policing. They make things worse at the Hibs games I attend imo.

I do have sympathy for the officers though as it used to be a good job with decent terms and conditions, housing allowances etc. It absolutely should be a well paid job and for that I expect competent officers to deal with crime happening right in front of them. There would have been plenty officers in Glasgow for Cup Final Day. If they can't deal with a hundred or so of those tubes what hope do we have

Thats awful. Very sorry to hear your family’s recent experiences and hope things are better for her now.

16-12-2024, 09:59 PM

I think the club has (inadvertently) created a void in terms of atmosphere.
Butcher, Fenlon, Calderwood were merely the start the drip drip effect long term takes its toll IMO.

So Id suggest were scunnered into what at times felt like being in a library.

Times they are a changin’

The core of the support - would be interesting to see the demographics - are we perhaps ticking the marketing boxes further to the right…?

Are our kids interested ? Mine aren’t (they also can’t stand the Ultra culture it puts them off playing football or having anything to do with it but I accept they’re likely an outlier). So I attend less frequently than I’d like. Sad state of affairs.

So if this new wave emerging that’s apparently sweeping the continent you can hardly blame the club for keeping the door open - not literally like the uglies away support allegedly did - on the latest fad.

Andy Blanche and others of that era still attend I’ve heard. So perhaps it’s good business sense ? dunno.

Devoid of atmosphere - make your own. Can hardly blame them on one level?

But that drum is a poor substitute for atmosphere. And worse still it stifles it. Drowns out or discourages any alternative “start ups”. Ban the drum imo - anything that’s been trailblazed Livi ffs should be discouragement enough for the “yoofs”

It seems “atmosphere” and “match day experience” has been inadvertently? delegated to a segment of the support. Something that inadvertently or not should never be the would responsibly of a segment of the support. That’s on all of us. If some of us have “checked-out” but still criticise others for trying /something/ to revive atmosphere - that appeared to flatline - that’s on them.

16-12-2024, 10:34 PM
Thats awful. Very sorry to hear your family’s recent experiences and hope things are better for her now. Thanks, they are for the moment but the delay has stopped anything happening.

She is back in with that group, besties with a girl that must have punched her 50 times in the head and we wait for the next event. This group basically takes kids who have some issues/learning disabled/from care environment/been bullied often by this group itself and plays with them. I would describe it as similar to that horrible tramp fighting that seemed popular but with these kids it is their money that gets stolen. Going on for years and has came close to killing one of them and unlikely Police or Social Work ever act in time for anything to be done. Someone will die in time if they don't do something about it

This is relevant to the Ultras imo as being part of a crown/group is very attractive to insecure youngsters wanting power or validation and at that point they become very easily to manipulate. That is especially so if you have an advantage over them mentally or more streets or experience. The world is a pretty horrible place at the moment imo and very little is being done to make it better. The Motherwell guy that lead the chants looked far too old for that sort of stuff and that dynamic exists in our group too. It doesn't have to be age though.

17-12-2024, 05:56 AM
Doubling up and doing the club out of money?

"Ultras" indeed.

And this upside down banner pish needs to stop, it's so green brigade. If you want to make a point make a banner making a point like they did with the sack the board one a few weeks ago.

Yes think they have some adulation for their green brigade mates what with the unnecessary anti queen guff and the boy with the lone Irish flag 😄

17-12-2024, 06:00 AM
Thanks, they are for the moment but the delay has stopped anything happening.

She is back in with that group, besties with a girl that must have punched her 50 times in the head and we wait for the next event. This group basically takes kids who have some issues/learning disabled/from care environment/been bullied often by this group itself and plays with them. I would describe it as similar to that horrible tramp fighting that seemed popular but with these kids it is their money that gets stolen. Going on for years and has came close to killing one of them and unlikely Police or Social Work ever act in time for anything to be done. Someone will die in time if they don't do something about it

This is relevant to the Ultras imo as being part of a crown/group is very attractive to insecure youngsters wanting power or validation and at that point they become very easily to manipulate. That is especially so if you have an advantage over them mentally or more streets or experience. The world is a pretty horrible place at the moment imo and very little is being done to make it better. The Motherwell guy that lead the chants looked far too old for that sort of stuff and that dynamic exists in our group too. It doesn't have to be age though.

That sounds absolutely horrific sorry to hear that and disgusted nothing has been done about it. Think you should contact the chief constable

17-12-2024, 06:29 AM
Thanks, they are for the moment but the delay has stopped anything happening.

That’s a horrific experience for your daughter and awful environment.

We’re failing our kids. If we can’t take care of our most vulnerable how can we talks of progress?

Youth work , support for kids with additional support needs is woefully inadequate. Any “saving” on early support/ intervention merely pushes the problem further down the road until we’re potentially looking at most costly approaches if it’s gets to the criminal justice stage.

kids with additional support needs are often excluded and picked on so I can see how their vulnerability could lead to being impressed and taken in by such a group with feigned attention. Tragic.

17-12-2024, 07:48 AM
It's only a matter of time before a big enough group of non-Ultras is told one too many times to get out of their seats at an away game and it all kicks off.

17-12-2024, 08:10 AM
I’ve sat in the same seat in the FF upper with the same friends and family since it was built through some good and bad seasons but I’m not sure I’ll be back next season.

I don’t really care what they get up to before and after the game but that drum has completely ruined the atmosphere for us, we can’t hear any crowd reaction now. They don’t seem to realise it drowns out the 30 or 40 of them who are signing and just gives the rest of us a headache.

As for the megaphone guys that don’t watch the game, what’s that all about?

Move to the south side of the main stand. Ye can barely hear them.

Mcbizz1998
17-12-2024, 08:24 AM
Statement from Nil by Mouth about yesterday's events.

"What you have is young, angry, narcissistic young men living out their Gangs of New York fantasy on the streets of Glasgow.

"It is a worrying trend and it appears to be getting worse. It’s a highly toxic mix, of sectarianism, tribal football rivalry, alcohol and drugs and toxic masculinity.

"They use flares and wear masks to pass it off as ultras culture. They aren’t real football fans. No one should be going to a football match wearing a balaclava.

"This ultras culture is a race to the bottom. It’s adding a new nasty element to football and damaging the brand of both clubs.

"They both feel like Glasgow belongs to either one of them. Glasgow belongs to
the people who live there. Yes, the football clubs have their place but they don’t run the city.

"It was absolutely terrifying for Christmas shoppers and families who had to shield from live fireworks and flares thrown at them. It was mob rule.

"I found the whole thing profoundly depressing. We all need to think about how we can challenge this. "

There are times when I disagree with them but it's hard to argue with this.

Who/what is Nil by Mouth and why are they releasing statements on the matter?

17-12-2024, 08:28 AM

It's my ex wife, and she just likes interfering.

17-12-2024, 08:34 AM

https://www.nilbymouth.org/aboutus

17-12-2024, 09:11 AM
It’s like the curmudgeons collective in this thread FFS 😂

17-12-2024, 09:13 AM

Whats curmudgeonly about wanting ALL fans to enjoy the experience of going to the football without having to consider aggression from their own supporters who are trying to force their way in to their own ground without paying?

17-12-2024, 09:20 AM
Whats curmudgeonly about wanting ALL fans to enjoy the experience of going to the football without having to consider aggression from their own supporters who are trying to force their way in to their own ground without paying?

Pretty sure I could enjoy a game by either not even knowing that had happened, or ignoring it.

That said, fighting stewards etc is daft. I more made my comment after reading various gripes about the drum and them being too noisy!

hibee
17-12-2024, 09:27 AM
Move to the south side of the main stand. Ye can barely hear them.

I couldn’t hear them last season, the club should never have moved them.

hibee
17-12-2024, 09:31 AM
I more made my comment after reading various gripes about the drum and them being too noisy!

To be clear, they are not too noisy, we can barely hear them signing, the only complaint from me anyway is the constant banging of a drum for the whole game.

Go and sit next to the drum or right above it for a game then let us know if you enjoyed it.

Mcbizz1998
17-12-2024, 09:45 AM
https://www.nilbymouth.org/aboutus

Cheers.

17-12-2024, 10:29 AM
It's my ex wife, and she just likes interfering.

🤣🤣🤣

WeAreHibs
17-12-2024, 10:53 AM
Ban drums!

17-12-2024, 10:56 AM
I think we all have to accept that there has always been a youth culture around football, and that young men in groups will occasionally succumb to testosterone, alcohol, cocaine, etc etc and indulge in anti-social or even violent behaviour.

Youth are lifeblood of our support, and will take their behavioural cues from their peers rather than their elders. Violent offences though, have to be dealth with in the manner of all such criminal behaviour. I think it's accepted that the lower north, like the east terracing and cave before it, will contain more boisterous elements and be subject to different standards of behaviour than other parts of the stadium.

A lot of people on here complaining about the way the younger elements support the club, drums, song quality etc. I think it's pretty lame personally, but it's not supposed to satisfy me or other fans of uhm, more mature years. That's why it's called a youth culture.

Yes, they will make a noise and misbehave from time to time, and yes, some of us will moan, conveniently forgetting how we were at that age. But behind or knee-jerk demonization we have to remember it was always thus, and probably always will be.

17-12-2024, 10:58 AM
It's my ex wife, and she just likes interfering.[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Late charge for post of the year.

17-12-2024, 11:37 AM
I think we all have to accept that there has always been a youth culture around football, and that young men in groups will occasionally succumb to testosterone, alcohol, cocaine, etc etc and indulge in anti-social or even violent behaviour.

Youth are lifeblood of our support, and will take their behavioural cues from their peers rather than their elders. Violent offences though, have to be dealth with in the manner of all such criminal behaviour. I think it's accepted that the lower north, like the east terracing and cave before it, will contain more boisterous elements and be subject to different standards of behaviour than other parts of the stadium.

A lot of people on here complaining about the way the younger elements support the club, drums, song quality etc. I think it's pretty lame personally, but it's not supposed to satisfy me or other fans of uhm, more mature years. That's why it's called a youth culture.

Yes, they will make a noise and misbehave from time to time, and yes, some of us will moan, conveniently forgetting how we were at that age. But behind or knee-jerk demonization we have to remember it was always thus, and probably always will be.

It’s not the only youth culture though. There’s only about 50 of them. I imagine those of a similar age, and who are not part of the ultras, must vastly outnumber the 50 or so each game. Those are the youngsters to focus on, not have to turn a blind eye to a certain group primarily because of their age.

OstKurve Hibs
17-12-2024, 12:00 PM

This forum is drama queen Central, oooh that big bad noisy drum again.🤣 I'd put money on 99% of the moaners have never tried to start a song by themselves even once.

17-12-2024, 12:05 PM
Look, it's simple. Kids going to the football have two options:

Be part of the ultras, get in fights in town centres, bully fans out of their paid-for seats and put stickers everywhere about the Ibrox Disaster, smash seats at games (cool and normal)
Be a normal fan who goes to games and chants stuff and can be exuberant at times but doesn't do any of those other things (boring and woke, careful you might get offended if someone whispers too loudly next to you, probably haven't even chanted before!)

See, easy.

hibee
17-12-2024, 01:07 PM
This forum is drama queen Central, oooh that big bad noisy drum again.[emoji1787] I'd put money on 99% of the moaners have never tried to start a song by themselves even once.

Why is that relevant, are you only a real fan if you start songs and anyone who doesn’t is not allowed to have an opinion?

I’d imagine 90-99% of all fans have never tried to start a song, not just the moaners as you call them.

17-12-2024, 01:14 PM
This forum is drama queen Central, oooh that big bad noisy drum again.🤣 I'd put money on 99% of the moaners have never tried to start a song by themselves even once.

If they could behave as well as the Hertha (and other German) ultras I'm sure no one would really mind.

17-12-2024, 01:58 PM

The minority always shout the loudest. Some people won't like them but personally think they add something to a mostly pretty crap atmosphere. The "Ultra movement" is what all the kids want to be part of these days and if we ban them etc we're risking alienating a huge chunk of our future fanbase. Times change.

17-12-2024, 01:59 PM
Pretty sure I could enjoy a game by either not even knowing that had happened, or ignoring it.

That said, fighting stewards etc is daft. I more made my comment after reading various gripes about the drum and them being too noisy!

How about criminal damage and aggression towards Hibs fans, is that any better?

17-12-2024, 02:00 PM

It's not just the drum, people find the drum irritating - that can be tolerated.

It's all the other ***** they bring with it. The fighting other fans, vandalising other grounds, making horrible stickers about the Ibrox disaster, Hibs fans being turfed out their seats.

If it was just the drum and they created a good atmosphere it would be fine. It's the baggage that goes with it.

17-12-2024, 02:02 PM
If they could behave as well as the Hertha (and other German) ultras I'm sure no one would really mind.

Yup. We all loved Since 1875.

17-12-2024, 02:11 PM
Yup. We all loved Since 1875.

:agree: they were excellent, the banners and TIFO's they did were fantastic and they got the whole stadium involved.

17-12-2024, 02:24 PM

Why don't you try engaging with a bit of discussion about crappy Ibrox stickers, forcing people from their seats, fighting stewards doing their job etc, and tell us why this is a good thing?

Posh Swanny
17-12-2024, 02:50 PM

That's just it though - the drum IS too noisy. It's so noisy you can't hear anything else. I was sat a dozen seats to their left on Saturday and the vocal support they offer is pathetic.

17-12-2024, 03:17 PM
Why don't you try engaging with a bit of discussion about crappy Ibrox stickers, forcing people from their seats, fighting stewards doing their job etc, and tell us why this is a good thing?

There are a few slavers on here. This OstKurve guy is right near the top of the pile. Best ignored.

HIBS NUTS
17-12-2024, 03:22 PM
That's just it though - the drum IS too noisy. It's so noisy you can't hear anything else. I was sat a dozen seats to their left on Saturday and the vocal support they offer is pathetic.
It’s a noise , and offers nothing, nothing more than all the other drums , OF all the other black clad ultras , that sing the same tunes with slightly different words.
They are actually boring.

17-12-2024, 03:57 PM
What was the footage of Block 7 fighting in the FFL on Saturday all about?

PHeffernan
17-12-2024, 04:20 PM
I don't see any issues with Block 7 at home matches. It's good that the young guys have their own area at Easter Road to do their own thing.
They're as far away from the away supporters as possible which minimises conflict within the stadium.
The club will occasionally have to get them to wind their necks in when they overstep the mark as some of them did before the game on Saturday but it has been ever thus with young men.
Importantly, them all being in their own area also enables the rest of us to easily keep away from their din if we choose to given there are loads of empty seats elsewhere in the stadium. All makes sense to me.

17-12-2024, 04:47 PM
It’s not the only youth culture though. There’s only about 50 of them. I imagine those of a similar age, and who are not part of the ultras, must vastly outnumber the 50 or so each game. Those are the youngsters to focus on, not have to turn a blind eye to a certain group primarily because of their age.

Which other youth culture is there? You're presumably an ex-Mod, and must remember when punks, Teds, Mods and Skins were all active before the unification of the casual movement, and subsequently, the ultras. I'm not seeing any other competiting youth culture now.

17-12-2024, 04:52 PM
Think of the outrage when rangers and celtic come to ER and double up in the turnstiles. Then imagine they attacked the stewards when they tried to stop it.
We now have a case when our own fans are doing it in our own stadium against our own stewards and folk are still saying boys will be boys.

Also, comparison with the CCS. I'm getting on a bit but I don't remember them being daft wee boys. They were mostly all adults, well in the late 80s and during 90s anyway.

17-12-2024, 04:55 PM
I must admit it creates an atmosphere in stadium but don't condone the behaviour at times

17-12-2024, 05:07 PM
Which other youth culture is there? You're presumably an ex-Mod, and must remember when punks, Teds, Mods and Skins were all active before the unification of the casual movement, and subsequently, the ultras. I'm not seeing any other competiting youth culture now.

Wee dicks in balaclavas on e-scooters taking liberties on the vulnerable definitely seems to be a youth culture thing in this part of the world.

Probably an element of crossover with the “ultras”.

Paul1642
17-12-2024, 05:52 PM
It’s a noise , and offers nothing, nothing more than all the other drums , OF all the other black clad ultras , that sing the same tunes with slightly different words.
They are actually boring.

The rise of the soulless drone from the ultras and their drum has coincided perfectly with a massive decline in the singing and chanting of all other songs and atmosphere from our support.

We generally had really good atmospheres prior the Ultras. Now it’s basically unofficially accepted that they are the ones who make noise and that’s that.

Being back half the stadium belting bout the ‘classics’.

No I’m not a curmudgeons. I just think the self appointed Ultras are a bunch of losers who add nothing and need to grow up. Don’t get me started on the balaclavas.

At least our lot aren’t half as bad as the ones through west.

17-12-2024, 05:58 PM

Giving it a title and calling it a culture doesn’t change the fact we’re talking about 50 or so kids. Why does it have to be argued along the lines of “boys will be boys” when they are a tiny proportion of the normal kids their age that go to the football and don’t cause the amount of problems the ultras do? If the 50 or so can’t behave, don’t let them in. If they can behave then they’re welcome. Surely it’s no more complicated than that.

PHeffernan
17-12-2024, 06:26 PM
Think of the outrage when rangers and celtic come to ER and double up in the turnstiles. Then imagine they attacked the stewards when they tried to stop it.
We now have a case when our own fans are doing it in our own stadium against our own stewards and folk are still saying boys will be boys.

Also, comparison with the CCS. I'm getting on a bit but I don't remember them being daft wee boys. They were mostly all adults, well in the late 80s and during 90s anyway.

AKA Chaseme Chaseme Sexy and led by Right Said Fred. Adults now but immature knuckledragging wall punchers then.
Block 7 are posturing pussycats in comparison.

17-12-2024, 06:36 PM
Plenty of threads over the years about lack of atmosphere.

We now have a group trying to add atmosphere and colour with flags etc.

I think the biggest issue is the behaviour outside the stadium trying to fight other fans etc.

In the stadium if they sang more catchy songs and involved the full stadium I reckon they would get more support. Obviously the team in the pitch winning would help too but over the years we have had some great chants. Now we hardly have any for players.

Think the SJM song - Vente song etc easy to sing along to.

I don’t have an issue with the drum but block 7 are at their best when they get the full stadium tk sing along.

Even the Celtic ultras have pretty much a pre/scripted song book at home games so fans know the songs etc. Not saying they are the model to follow but some of the stadium has no idea what the lyrics are to some of the chants so can’t / won’t join in.

Thought the last Derby was a good balance with fans in the East and block 7 starting chants.

As loud as the drum can be the stadium is very quiet without it and don’t want to go back to that friendly game type atmosphere.

babahibs
17-12-2024, 06:42 PM
AKA Chaseme Chaseme Sexy led by Right Said Fred. Adults now but immature knuckledragging wall punchers then.
Block 7 are posturing pussycats in comparison.

Eh?

PHeffernan
17-12-2024, 06:50 PM
Eh?

The first part is an anagram of CCS because they were always chasing boys and men about and the second part was a pop band containing bald men who were reputed to like chasing boys and men about and some of the CCS leaders looked like them ...

obviously they didn't see themselves like that.

babahibs
17-12-2024, 06:52 PM
The first part is an anagram because they were always chasing boys and men about and the second part was a pop band containing bald men who probably liked chasing boys and men about and some of the CCS leaders looked like them. Obviously they didn't see themselves like that.

Cool.

18-12-2024, 07:21 AM
It's not just the drum, people find the drum irritating - that can be tolerated.

It's all the other ***** they bring with it. The fighting other fans, vandalising other grounds, making horrible stickers about the Ibrox disaster, Hibs fans being turfed out their seats.

If it was just the drum and they created a good atmosphere it would be fine. It's the baggage that goes with it.

They don't even do that.

The Wireless
18-12-2024, 08:47 AM
You could start with banning the bloody drum. It is anti atmosphere and a focal point for those who impose their atmosphere on the majority who cant stand the din. Not 1 of these bloody instruments doing the rounds in England, they would get chased.

hibsforeurope
18-12-2024, 09:03 AM
You could start with banning the bloody drum. It is anti atmosphere and a focal point for those who impose their atmosphere on the majority who cant stand the din. Not 1 of these bloody instruments doing the rounds in England, they would get chased.

Agree, there's no need for a drum. mind when Livi introduced one cos they had no fans to make a noise, it was bloody awful and hated by many/majority of fans.

The constant inaudible drone from B7 doesn't create an atmosphere to inspire a team or stadium. As it's constant it detracts from any exciting phases of play as it never seems to change in pitch or tone.

The team in the Terrace Bar were more audible on Saturday than the whole of B7, until they tried to drown them out from singing some of the classics.

18-12-2024, 12:13 PM

Quite a few English clubs have drums, but they tend to be much smaller to just keep the rhythm rather than drowning out the vocals which surely defeats the object

18-12-2024, 12:34 PM

Thanks for this Bob.

I’m a bit conflicted by the whole thing I have to admit. On a personal level I can’t stand it, I don’t like the atmosphere they create, I think they look ridiculous and I’ll never understand the two of them that don’t even watch the game, they just face the wrong way shouting at people who seem keen to do what they’re told, I find the whole thing bizarre.

But……. I’m well aware I’m not their target audience! My boy who is 11 year old is absolutely obsessed with the whole ultras culture. He wants to dress like them, he loves watching the ultras videos, he’s got the posters on his wall, he loves all the pyros, the songs, he loves being part of them, doesn’t have to be Hibs ultras, it’s even youth teams him and his mates have been along to with a megaphone and drum, he just loves being part of an ‘ultras group’, from what I can tell, whenever he sits in amongst them at the home games, they’ve all been sound with him too and had no bother.

As I said, I don’t particularly like the whole scene but then I don’t have to. There must be parallels with all our youth culture and what we liked as kids being frowned upon by the older generation.

They’re a pain in the arse but every young generation has the right to be a pain in the arse to older generations.

18-12-2024, 02:42 PM
The minority always shout the loudest. Some people won't like them but personally think they add something to a mostly pretty crap atmosphere. The "Ultra movement" is what all the kids want to be part of these days and if we ban them etc we're risking alienating a huge chunk of our future fanbase. Times change.

A huge chunk? There’s what, about 50 of them?

18-12-2024, 02:52 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cj90wmgxmg2o

I can think of a solution, water cannons fired at those with flares and pyrotechnics.

18-12-2024, 02:59 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cj90wmgxmg2o

I can think of a solution, water cannons fired at those with flares and pyrotechnics.

If we had sprinklers under the stand roofs that were automatically activated on detection of smoke, then that would be quite an amusing sight.

18-12-2024, 04:16 PM
Thanks for this Bob.

I’m a bit conflicted by the whole thing I have to admit. On a personal level I can’t stand it, I don’t like the atmosphere they create, I think they look ridiculous and I’ll never understand the two of them that don’t even watch the game, they just face the wrong way shouting at people who seem keen to do what they’re told, I find the whole thing bizarre.

But……. I’m well aware I’m not their target audience! My boy who is 11 year old is absolutely obsessed with the whole ultras culture. He wants to dress like them, he loves watching the ultras videos, he’s got the posters on his wall, he loves all the pyros, the songs, he loves being part of them, doesn’t have to be Hibs ultras, it’s even youth teams him and his mates have been along to with a megaphone and drum, he just loves being part of an ‘ultras group’, from what I can tell, whenever he sits in amongst them at the home games, they’ve all been sound with him too and had no bother.

As I said, I don’t particularly like the whole scene but then I don’t have to. There must be parallels with all our youth culture and what we liked as kids being frowned upon by the older generation.

They’re a pain in the arse but every young generation has the right to be a pain in the arse to older generations.

Just of the phone to a dad who said he had his son at the game at the weekend and he is now obsessed with the ultras, he said his son was down beside them and they were so good to him and looked after him and couldn’t have been nicer, this is the in thing just now, it’s young lads at football and it has been going on for as longs as I have being going in different guises and you know what, it will always continue in different ways, I think a lot of folk on here forget what they got up to as a kid, tapping on old folks doors and running away, shame on you. :thumbsup:

18-12-2024, 05:09 PM
Thanks for this Bob.

I think it's basically the job of those of us 35+ to be baffled and hacked off by the youngsters and it's their job to annoy us. The only thing worse than older guys moaning about young guys is older guys still trying to pretend they are young and down with the kids.

The ultras annoy me but I get it. When I was in my teens I was listening to rappers spouting some awful life lessons and parroting it. Others were pretendy punks because they had bought a couple of Blink182 albums or satanists and goths because they listened to Marilyn Manson. There were also the fake casuals copying a style that was well past it's heyday. Ridiculous looking back but at the time it was deadly serious and old folk who didn't get it had just forgotten what it was to be young (which they had, as most of us have now however much we might try to deny it).

I always say it. The daft wee followers will grow up, we've all had hobbies or obsessions that were everything until they weren't. They'll learn how to talk to girls and realise they aren't impressed by how many smoke bombs there were at Motherwell away. They'll discover better music, better clothes and better things to do. It's about navigating them through it and making sure they don't get hurt as the lines between a singing group and battering opposing fans in the street gets blurred. The actual bad *******s are a minority and have jumped about from subculture to subculture for generations.

Stuff like fighting with stewards and intimidating their own fans needs dealt with. That's not up for debate. It's not about excusing it but the reality is it's always happened. There are plenty people on here who lament the loss of the old east or the cowshed and the more anything goes standards that existed in those days yet condemn the young team having their own fun now.

It's not my era, not my scene and I find it totally baffling and more than a bit annoying. As I say I'm not excusing the violence or intimidation stuff but moaning about the drum or the way they dress is just grumpy old men showcasing our favoured cultural trait.

18-12-2024, 06:48 PM
.... As I say I'm not excusing the violence or intimidation stuff but moaning about the drum or the way they dress is just grumpy old men showcasing our favoured cultural trait.

I disagree. The drum can be incredibly loud and, combined with the monotonous chanting, it often takes away from the experience of attending games.

Not related to your comment but there also seems to be a common misconception that the current incarnation of the 'Ultras' are all kids in their early to mid teens. While there are a lot in that age group, there's also a number of older guys involved.

18-12-2024, 08:15 PM
Agree, there's no need for a drum. mind when Livi introduced one cos they had no fans to make a noise, it was bloody awful and hated by many/majority of fans.

The constant inaudible drone from B7 doesn't create an atmosphere to inspire a team or stadium. As it's constant it detracts from any exciting phases of play as it never seems to change in pitch or tone.

The team in the Terrace Bar were more audible on Saturday than the whole of B7, until they tried to drown them out from singing some of the classics.

We tried our best, the bevvy certainly helped 😁

18-12-2024, 08:37 PM
If we had sprinklers under the stand roofs that were automatically activated on detection of smoke, then that would be quite an amusing sight.

I watched the interviews with the sfa and spfl high heid yins on reporting scotland, haven't got a clue how to deal with either the pyrotechnics or the sectarian singing, apparently.

Well, maybe hit them where it hurts, deprive them of money by playing old firm games, at least at hampden, behind closed doors until they learn to behave.

19-12-2024, 04:00 AM
What was the footage of Block 7 fighting in the FFL on Saturday all about?

I was at the ground early for a change and watched it kick off from the West Lower.

As he walked past, I asked the ground security dude ( tall guy , suited up, stands at the tunnel entrance. Sorry, can't remember his name. " Ian " maybe ?) what had happened and was told that the Ultras were fighting with stewards.

The ultras were doubling up going through the turnstiles and stewards were trying to stop them. A fight broke out.
Naively,I asked can you not chuck them out ?

Seems, they couldn't positively ID them because they all look the same and couldn't pick out the culprits. They were all moving about

So that fella, stewards, matchday and Club security guys, grounds staff, Malky ( he waded in too ).... all involved.

Hope noone was hurt.

19-12-2024, 06:28 AM
Thanks for this Bob.

Kind of where I am on this.

I was a wee laddie in the days of "The Cave" but have older cousins in their 60s and 70s who reminisce about battles in it during the 1960s. Pre-segregation I mind watching (from a distance ) pitched battles on the East Terracing between Hibs fans and Hertz / OF. I remember two sets of Hibs fans , YLT and YPD going toe to toe outside the ground one day , while the 80s brought in the casuals and all the trouble that came with that.

The "Ultras" are a pain in the neck and the fact that innocent people are being caught up in their nonsense is totally unacceptable. They're giving Hibs a bad name but the fact is we've had groups of youngsters giving Hibs a bad name since the 1960s.

The one difference with this lot is that our owners seem to have enabled them and encouraged them. Tom Hart didn't walk to games with the YLT and Dougie Cromb didn't travel on the train with the CCS but we have a CEO who not that long ago was walking to Tynie with the Ultras. I find that totally bizarre.

19-12-2024, 07:48 AM
In my day it was firstly YLT, then CCS, it's a thing you do as a kid, be part of it, the thrill etc, it's these older guys in their 30's and 40's organising it all I don't get, grow the **** up ffs.

19-12-2024, 10:16 AM
In my day it was firstly YLT, then CCS, it's a thing you do as a kid, be part of it, the thrill etc, it's these older guys in their 30's and 40's organising it all I don't get, grow the **** up ffs.

Try 50's. he who shall not be named on here (AKA Fagan) is in his mid 50's. Weird!

20-12-2024, 05:58 PM
See the trouble with the stewards has made national press and club have supposedly started banning those involved.

20-12-2024, 06:53 PM
See the trouble with the stewards has made national press and club have supposedly started banning those involved.

It was the guy in the black balaclava wot dunnit. :greengrin
I doubt anyone will be banned, how do they identify them?

20-12-2024, 07:11 PM
It was the guy in the black balaclava wot dunnit. :greengrin
I doubt anyone will be banned, how do they identify them?

Dunno. Says in the article they already banned 2 guys who are over 18.

ErinGoBraghHFC
21-12-2024, 02:08 AM

I don’t intend to be rude here but… chased by ****ing who? A bunch of tourists from Hong Kong, Japan, Denmark, Nigeria? Doubt it. The English game is finished for the working man, that’s why the ultra movement is nowhere to be seen in their highest levels. This isnt 1985 anymore, Millwall, West Ham and Leeds United etc scare me about as much as a dose of the ****s does

21-12-2024, 06:51 AM
I don’t intend to be rude here but… chased by ****ing who? A bunch of tourists from Hong Kong, Japan, Denmark, Nigeria? Doubt it. The English game is finished for the working man, that’s why the ultra movement is nowhere to be seen in their highest levels. This isnt 1985 anymore, Millwall, West Ham and Leeds United etc scare me about as much as a dose of the ****s does

I watched the second half of the Luton v Derby game last night. Great atmosphere, big travelling support, no drums.

Mcbizz1998
21-12-2024, 07:21 AM

Millwall is still a community, working class club. Many of them never want to be promoted to the Premier League to keep it that way.