View Full Version : Open all Mics yesterday

StevieT
15-12-2024, 12:17 PM
Please feel free to merge this with other open all mica threads.

We were driving to Leuchars yesterday to get the train to Edinburgh so had Open all Mics on the radio.

Mikey Stewart couldn't give us enough stick for being rubbish and was going on about the boos we would hear at half time.They said that they would stay with him. We scored right on half time . Mikey Stewart was gutted. His comments were Goal. Can you believe it? Was it offside?

They don't even hide their bias.

15-12-2024, 12:23 PM

We were driving to Leuchars yesterday to get the train to Edinburgh so had Open all Mics on the radio.

Mikey Stewart couldn't give us enough stick for being rubbish and was going on about the boos we would hear at half time.They said that they would stay with him. We scored right on half time . Mikey Stewart was gutted. His comments were Goal. Can you believe it? Was it offside?

I didn’t think Mkley Stewart said anything that wasn’t in line with most of the comments on here. It wasn’t good listening but he was being brutally honest, not much said that I disagreed with.

15-12-2024, 12:31 PM

I dont listen to that programme any more, but this bit of your post stuck out.

Would they "stay with him" if its Hearts on the brink of going in a goal down for HT booing? I suspect not.

While Stewart is absolutely right that Hibs are rank rotten, and the first half was crap yesterday...........he is inconsistent with his criticism.

I watched the Hearts conf league match midweek, and he could barely do a sentence without babbling on about Jamestown Analytics or how well Hearts were doing to keep Copenhagen at bay (the stats at that point were about 89% possession to the danes, and zero shots from Hearts - they were garbage.

If we had upwards of £50m in donations siphoned our way, had won nothing and were at the foot of the table - he would be squealing to everyone about it.

I used to think he was ok, but no more.

15-12-2024, 12:32 PM

If he paid money to get in just like most of us, then perhaps I would listen to him, still would not agree with much he says as he practices his political speaking. jambo fud that has never forgiving Hibs and Collins for dumping him from the cup winning team v Kilmarnock.
must have been cold sitting there when the snow began.:greengrin

15-12-2024, 12:48 PM
I don't think Mikey Stewart is bias really. He has been full of praise for Hibs in the past and he was tearing strips off Hearts under Naismith even when they were sitting 3rd.

He's forceful bordering on arrogant in his opinions but generally I don't mind him. When it comes to Hibs I don't like what he says but I recognise a degree of truth in it.

HarpOnHibee
15-12-2024, 12:51 PM
We don't like Stewart when we're struggling as a side, because he tells the truth. We like Stewart more when we're doing well as a side, because he tells the truth.

15-12-2024, 12:56 PM
We don't like Stewart when we're struggling as a side, because he tells the truth. We like Stewart more when we're doing well as a side, because he tells the truth.

The "truth" as he see's it, just like any other budding politician.
Jambo fud.

15-12-2024, 01:00 PM
I don't think Mikey Stewart is bias really. He has been full of praise for Hibs in the past and he was tearing strips off Hearts under Naismith even when they were sitting 3rd.

He's forceful bordering on arrogant in his opinions but generally I don't mind him. When it comes to Hibs I don't like what he says but I recognise a degree of truth in it.

It was Jambo central again, with arrogant Stewart, Preston and illiterate Leanne. Oh and Budgies chief publicist Tom English.

Nearest we got to representation was when Pat Nevin turned up (oh and Matty!).

HarpOnHibee
15-12-2024, 01:00 PM
The "truth" as he see's it, just like any other budding politician.
Jambo fud.

Calling a spade a spade is factually correct. Calling a spade a fork is a matter of personal opinion, but isn't factually correct. Not everything is down to perspective. Some things are simply correct or incorrect. Michael Stewart called out our piss poor first half performance yesterday, not because it was his opinion, but because we were piss poor.

BH Hibs
15-12-2024, 01:09 PM
The worst culprit yesterday was the main presenter Kenny whatever his name is. At the third goal he was pleading for the goal to be disallowed for offside then a foul against Elle or anything else that didn’t exist. Even when Crichton and Stewart said there was nothing in it he was almost greeting for a foul.

15-12-2024, 01:20 PM
It’s fair comment to say that his opinions aren’t far removed from a lot of ours at the moment, but it’s his constant repetition, like a dog with a bone, that gets to you. Also, few would deny that he is clearly a Jambo and gets pleasure from putting the boot into us, moreso than when he used to criticise Hearts, when it was mainly a personal hatred of Harry Potter. He definitely bears a grudge against Hibs and can’t conceal it.

15-12-2024, 01:24 PM
Calling a spade a spade is factually correct. Calling a spade a fork is a matter of personal opinion, but isn't factually correct. Not everything is down to perspective. Some things are simply correct or incorrect. Michael Stewart called out our piss poor first half performance yesterday, not because it was his opinion, but because we were piss poor.

How refreshing it would be to be able to call a spade a spade in these P.C. times we live in.
No allowed to call a spade a spade nowadays.
As for being factually correct would that explain why history is written and told by the victors?
Just asking for someone who is interested in such insightful perceptiveness.

WestCoastHibby
15-12-2024, 01:28 PM
Michael Stewart was bang on with his comments about the first half. What’s he meant to do be nicey nicey because he used to play for us?
I don’t mind him except when he keeps droning on about various teams “identity”
He uses the word far too often.
Would love to see him have a crack at coaching though

15-12-2024, 01:31 PM
Michael Stewart was bang on with his comments about the first half. What’s he meant to do be nicey nicey because he used to play for us?

I would love to see him have a crack at a coconut wi his heid.

15-12-2024, 01:50 PM
I don't think he's wrong with anything he said, I mean all he was doing yesterday was repeating the opinions of the majority of us on here! I'm glad we have a pundit who is actually in tune with the shambles of a club that we are right now.

Ask any of the other incoherent, clichéd, west coast numpties on that show and they probably haven't got a clue what is actually happening at Hibs. They just look at the table an hour before the game and make sure they praise the ones in the top half that week.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

15-12-2024, 01:55 PM
Don't listen to it.

Full of loudmouth Hertz *****!

15-12-2024, 01:56 PM

How do you explain his ongoing vendetta against Youan? No facts, no impartiality. Some of his on air conduct when covering Hibs is a disgrace.

15-12-2024, 01:58 PM
He’s also got a problem with his language. Constant use of this “would/could/should of” nonsense. Sackable offence in itself.

StevieT
15-12-2024, 02:45 PM
I have no issues with anyone commenting on how poor we are or how poor the games is.
Where I do have an issue is when a National broadcaster goes to our game just on half time in the hope of hearing boos ring out around the ground. They were gutted that we scored and then commented on how quiet the ground was.

15-12-2024, 02:50 PM
Is there a support that moan about Sportsound pundits more than us? Big bad Mikey Stewart saying we're pish. We are. We're a big club lurching from one crisis to another for a number of years. Of course they're going to cover us a fair bit. If we were better they would be saying it. Pretty simple.

15-12-2024, 02:56 PM
It was Jambo central again, with arrogant Stewart, Preston and illiterate Leanne. Oh and Budgies chief publicist Tom English.

Don't forget fat red faced Jambo Mclaughlin trying to cajole David Gray into saying the ref added on too much time end of first half for us to equalise. Gray just batted it away stating the ref was in control of the match. Anything to detract from a Hibs win with that lot it seems

15-12-2024, 02:58 PM
Is there a support that moan about Sportsound pundits more than us? Big bad Mikey Stewart saying we're pish. We are. We're a big club lurching from one crisis to another for a number of years. Of course they're going to cover us a fair bit. If we were better they would be saying it. Pretty simple.

HarpOnHibee
15-12-2024, 03:00 PM
How do you explain his ongoing vendetta against Youan? No facts, no impartiality. Some of his on air conduct when covering Hibs is a disgrace.

I don't see any vendetta against Youan. The comments about him have been pretty much accurate. His performances haven't been anywhere near as great as some of our fans are making them out to be.

15-12-2024, 03:14 PM
I take it Hearts have been slaughtered for their utterly horrendous first half today?

15-12-2024, 03:16 PM
Hearts game has been barely mentioned because what Sportsound really excels at is pretending nothing else is happening when Celtic and Rangers are playing.

They got a good ribbing about it on Off The Ball yesterday (another show I assume has to be boycotted to achieve proper Hibs fan status).

15-12-2024, 03:17 PM
I don't see any vendetta against Youan. The comments about him have been pretty much accurate. His performances haven't been anywhere near as great as some of our fans are making them out to be.

All I can say is you haven’t been watching or listening to Stewart’s comments. It’s frankly been a bit weird.

15-12-2024, 03:22 PM
I don't think he's wrong with anything he said, I mean all he was doing yesterday was repeating the opinions of the majority of us on here! I'm glad we have a pundit who is actually in tune with the shambles of a club that we are right now.

Ask any of the other incoherent, clichéd, west coast numpties on that show and they probably haven't got a clue what is actually happening at Hibs. They just look at the table an hour before the game and make sure they praise the ones in the top half that week.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

You missed all the weird Youan £2.5m weird **** they were trying to use to tar our club with criticism again?

HarpOnHibee
15-12-2024, 03:22 PM
All I can say is you haven’t been watching or listening to Stewart’s comments. It’s frankly been a bit weird.

I know he has a habit of reiterating points over and over again and it can be annoying and grating to listen to. But it doesn't make the points incorrect. Youan hasn't been anywhere near as good for us as he could be. But that's not entirely down to Youan either. He's wasted out wide in my view and could be far more effective with a more direct approach.

15-12-2024, 03:23 PM

Guess you didn't listen to the whole broadcast then?

15-12-2024, 03:26 PM
I take it Hearts have been slaughtered for their utterly horrendous first half today?

Brian says football is a funny game, because hearts started really brightly up to 18 minutes. Theres been no criticism for Scotlands Official Basememt Dwellers though.

15-12-2024, 03:34 PM
Brian says football is a funny game, because hearts started really brightly up to 18 minutes. Theres been no criticism for Scotlands Official Basememt Dwellers though.

……. and if they get beaten, they’ll drag up the old chestnut about ‘how difficult it can be to beat a team down to 10 men. Poor souls.

CL0762
15-12-2024, 03:35 PM
Kenny MacIntyre was absolutely desperate for us to go into half time a goal down. Several times he mentioned “the noise from the stands at half time”. He was absolutely ****ing gutted Gayle scored.

15-12-2024, 03:55 PM
You missed all the weird Youan £2.5m weird **** they were trying to use to tar our club with criticism again?

They went back to that after a few minutes as they were desperate for a quote from the club which stated we had knocked back 2.5mil. They obviously couldn't find one but went on to say how not taking it was disgraceful.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

15-12-2024, 04:08 PM
Kenny MacIntyre was absolutely desperate for us to go into half time a goal down. Several times he mentioned “the noise from the stands at half time”. He was absolutely ****ing gutted Gayle scored.

He’s a hun so no surprise there. It’s not so much the slagging of Hibs but the fawning over a terrible Hearts team that gets me.

snedzuk
15-12-2024, 04:15 PM
Something MS said yesterday was that O Hora and Ekpiteta were both offered up to Montogomery, and he rejected both. Now I've no way of knowing if that's correct, but it's a strange claim if not.

Victor
15-12-2024, 04:19 PM
……. and if they get beaten, they’ll drag up the old chestnut about ‘how difficult it can be to beat a team down to 10 men. Poor souls.

This cannot be right. How could Hearts be beaten by 10 man Kilmarnock? Don’t they have a super manager picked by a super duper computer and are backed by a super super duper analytical system that is worth £60m and will have them competing with the Old Firm? There surely must be some mistake.

15-12-2024, 04:23 PM
MS was onto something when he was calling out The Rangers last season or the season before that, but after obviously being "telt" not to rock the boat everything after that is tainted. Like Rugby Tom and his McGinn rubbish. You can't make a claim for credibility after being a clown.

Rumble de Thump
15-12-2024, 04:41 PM
The obsession the pundits on BBC Radio Scotland have with attacking Hibs and everyone at the club is so unhealthy and creepy. Hibs lose possession? 5 minutes chat about how much money has supposedly been wasted on transfers. Hibs concede a corner. Let's talk about the owners of the club. It's mental. Funnily enough, they don't do that with any other club and never had, because it would be bonkers. There are games being played. Listeners want to know what's happening in them.

This season, if I'm not at a game, I have to go online to find out if we've had a shot, has there been a sub etc. Yesterday, if I had only been listening to the radio you'd think Gray made no changes, we had no chances. Yet we won 3-1 and it would have been 4 if not for a missed penalty.

I do worry about Stewart. His obsession and anger towards Hibs are very odd. Something not quite right with him. Making stuff up about Youan was particularly weird, then letting us know he'd gone online to find something to back his nonsense up - and failed to do so - then stuck by his statement anyway. Bizarre.

15-12-2024, 04:53 PM
The obsession the pundits on BBC Radio Scotland have with attacking Hibs and everyone at the club is so unhealthy and creepy. Hibs lose possession? 5 minutes chat about how much money has supposedly been wasted on transfers. Hibs concede a corner. Let's talk about the owners of the club. It's mental. Funnily enough, they don't do that with any other club and never had, because it would be bonkers. There are games being played. Listeners want to know what's happening in them.

This season, if I'm not at a game, I have to go online to find out if we've had a shot, has there been a sub etc. Yesterday, if I had only been listening to the radio you'd think Gray made no changes, we had no chances. Yet we won 3-1 and it would have been 4 if not for a missed penalty.

I do worry about Stewart. His obsession and anger towards Hibs are very odd. Something not quite right with him. Making stuff up about Youan was particularly weird, then letting us know he'd gone online to find something to back his nonsense up - and failed to do so - then stuck by his statement anyway. Bizarre.

Oddball

15-12-2024, 05:02 PM
Im quite enjoying Packy bonner on sportsound, his gasping and grunting and muttering in the background reveals a fan who’s pretending to be a commentator. He’s got a dream job really.

15-12-2024, 05:05 PM
Im quite enjoying Packy bonner on sportsound, his gasping and grunting and muttering in the background reveals a fan who’s pretending to be a commentator. He’s got a dream job really.I'd like to know why he's a weekly commentator. He lives in Ireland and gets flown over every week . It couldn't be too hard to find a Scotland based ex Celt in and around d Glasgow.

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

15-12-2024, 05:08 PM
Im quite enjoying Packy bonner on sportsound, his gasping and grunting and muttering in the background reveals a fan who’s pretending to be a commentator. He’s got a dream job really.

It's a joke that taxpayers are basically paying for a celtic supporter to be at every celtic game home and away. And the added expense of air fares and hotels every week

15-12-2024, 05:12 PM
It's a joke that taxpayers are basically paying for a celtic supporter to be at every celtic game home and away. And the added expense of air fares and hotels every week

I wouldn’t mind if he gave some insight into being a professional at the top level. But hes really dull.

15-12-2024, 05:15 PM

Just saw Callum McGregor pass it straight out the park. I bet that’s never mentioned again. :rolleyes:

15-12-2024, 05:50 PM

Heard his commentary on our final goal and he was convinced Campbell was offside. He has been ridiculous recently

15-12-2024, 06:10 PM

I haven’t listened to that crap for at least 5 years, Tam Cowan killed it for me ……..

15-12-2024, 06:13 PM

Must be great to have a dedicated match commentator for your team on taxpayer funded radio. Why don't the rest of us get one?

He's here!
15-12-2024, 06:21 PM
I note the BBC refer to yesterday's ER crowd as 'sparse'. Aside from the fact crowds traditionally dip in the run-up to Christmas it was far from an awful turn-out. Even when there are clearly thousands of empty seats at Tynecastle the crowd is described as 'raucous' or similar.

15-12-2024, 06:26 PM
I note the BBC refer to yesterday's ER crowd as 'sparse'. Aside from the fact crowds traditionally dip in the run-up to Christmas it was far from an awful turn-out. Even when there are clearly thousands of empty seats at Tynecastle the crowd is described as 'raucous' or similar.I think you'll find their wee stadium is "atmospheric".

15-12-2024, 06:31 PM
Why don't people just stop listening to it if they don't like hearing criticism of Hibs? Every week it's the same complaints from the same posters

15-12-2024, 06:35 PM

At the league cup final against Celtic a few years ago I managed to get a seat in hospitality. Just in front of the walkway in front of me were the BBC commentary team.

Just before kick off Packy stood up and said "I will have to apologise, as I might block your view as I stand up when I am commentating". We had an exchange of words during which I informed him that we had paid a fortune for these tickets and he had no right to stand up..

Stewards got involved and moved him along a couple of seats out of our view.

Self entitled prick who adds nothing to the game.

Rumble de Thump
15-12-2024, 06:37 PM
Why don't people just stop listening to it if they don't like hearing criticism of Hibs? Every week it's the same complaints from the same posters

Which other radio station would you recommend?

15-12-2024, 06:37 PM
I have stopped listening to Sportsound. It is the most amateurish, biased and ill informed football show on earth. My mental health has improved dramatically.

15-12-2024, 06:45 PM
Bbc scotland have ramped it up to full jambo for years now.
No point listening or paying the fee

15-12-2024, 07:15 PM

I could safely say the same about the criticism of the criticism posts. Predictable faces every week. Why don't you tell us what you like about the BBCs coverage instead?

Albahibs
15-12-2024, 07:22 PM
I haven’t listened to that crap for at least 5 years, Tam Cowan killed it for me ……..

Genuinely thought Tam Cowan was going to burst into tears this afternoon on Heartsound when talking about his love for, you guessed it, Hearts. Talked about Hearts for a solid 5 minutes, how wonderful they were, and how much they mean to him. Its sickening how utterly biased they are on BBC Scotland towards their beloved club.

15-12-2024, 07:23 PM
Genuinely thought Tam Cowan was going to burst into tears this afternoon on Heartsound when talking about his love for, you guessed it, Hearts. Talked about Hearts for a solid 5 minutes, how wonderful they were, and how much they mean to him. Its sickening how utterly biased they are on BBC Scotland towards their beloved club.

He is a Well fan though

Albahibs
15-12-2024, 07:25 PM
He is a Well fan though

I know, but he was nearly blubbering earlier on this afternoon, waxing lyrical about Hearts, and mentioned how he has 'nothing against Hibs'.

15-12-2024, 07:26 PM

I’ve said that for years. He brings zero insight to the broadcast. A fanboy who follows his team all over and gets paid - by us - for the privilege. Its a scandal.

15-12-2024, 07:31 PM
I note the BBC refer to yesterday's ER crowd as 'sparse'. Aside from the fact crowds traditionally dip in the run-up to Christmas it was far from an awful turn-out. Even when there are clearly thousands of empty seats at Tynecastle the crowd is described as 'raucous' or similar.

Absolute BS, whilst not full, the only sparse section was the South stand with circa 80 RC fans

15-12-2024, 07:38 PM
So what’s their current narrative about them wasting nearly £50 million of donations and being bottom of the pile??

15-12-2024, 07:40 PM
I know, but he was nearly blubbering earlier on this afternoon, waxing lyrical about Hearts, and mentioned how he has 'nothing against Hibs'.

Cowan has made plenty of cash from those gullible FoH idiots since they went into admin.

Did one charity gig for them and keeps getting rebooked - for fees, obviously - for after dinner stuff etc.

He's a fud.

SickBoy32
15-12-2024, 09:46 PM

Reading the match report last night the use of the word sparse stood out for me too. Clearly an editorial stance to be pro hearts / anti hibs, been blatant for a long time.

As for the clowns on the radio - don’t tune in, simple as.

Stop paying them too 👍

15-12-2024, 10:06 PM
I still listen to it as it has broad coverage and can’t find anything that is comparable but its bias towards Hearts and hatred towards Hibs is so weird.

They have Preston, Robbo, Derek Ferguson, Leanne Crighton and bumbling McLaughlin and Michael Stewart who all have soft spots to outright fans of the gorgie mob. Even Tom English has a strong liking towards Queen Ann. It’s pathetic. Not a single person who leans towards Hibs. Willie bloody Miller is the fairest that’s how bad it is.

When Hearts are bottom it’s just temporary and they even said last week they might finish 4th after a win v Dundee. The obsession with Shankland is off the scale as well. They literally are desperate for him to score and when he doesn’t and looks overweight they still justify it by saying how great a contributor he is.

Midweek they should have lost 4 or 5-0. Didn’t have a single short on goal. Yet biscuits Preston said he didn’t matter as it was all about the last game at home in front of a white hot atmosphere and the fans were in Copenhagen for the fun anyway. What a pathetic outlook. Hearts were dreadful in midweek and if that was us we would have been slaughtered.

Anyone who subscribes to Graham Spiers podcast should listen to recent review of Sportsound and how it’s viewed now. Ratings are bombing and Kenny Mcintrye approach treating as a talk sport type shock jokey show is one of the main reasons. It’s an interesting listen.

15-12-2024, 10:10 PM
Wonder what identity Hearts have? Stewart has gone on about us and our identity or lack of it for years. Also they keep going on about the white hot atmosphere of the Tynecastle Library. As for Tom English he should stick to Rugby, talks more sense when covering that sport.

Fergos
16-12-2024, 05:07 AM

Hes atotal drama queen, awful broadcaster, barely literate at times when he’s creaming his hun pants.

16-12-2024, 06:00 AM

Bizarre behaviour

16-12-2024, 06:04 AM
I still listen to it as it has broad coverage and can’t find anything that is comparable but its bias towards Hearts and hatred towards Hibs is so weird.

They have Preston, Robbo, Derek Ferguson, Leanne Crighton and bumbling McLaughlin and Michael Stewart who all have soft spots to outright fans of the gorgie mob. Even Tom English has a strong liking towards Queen Ann. It’s pathetic. Not a single person who leans towards Hibs. Willie bloody Miller is the fairest that’s how bad it is.

When Hearts are bottom it’s just temporary and they even said last week they might finish 4th after a win v Dundee. The obsession with Shankland is off the scale as well. They literally are desperate for him to score and when he doesn’t and looks overweight they still justify it by saying how great a contributor he is.

Midweek they should have lost 4 or 5-0. Didn’t have a single short on goal. Yet biscuits Preston said he didn’t matter as it was all about the last game at home in front of a white hot atmosphere and the fans were in Copenhagen for the fun anyway. What a pathetic outlook. Hearts were dreadful in midweek and if that was us we would have been slaughtered.

Anyone who subscribes to Graham Spiers podcast should listen to recent review of Sportsound and how it’s viewed now. Ratings are bombing and Kenny Mcintrye approach treating as a talk sport type shock jokey show is one of the main reasons. It’s an interesting listen.

Great summation of the state of BBC Sportsound and the array of inarticulate slavers being paid by us via our licence fees. The only real difference between it and stations like Talk Sport is the absence of adverts. Bob Crampsey must be turning in his grave at how standards have slipped. Impartiality seems to have gone out the window as has the ability of its contributors to construct coherent sentences.

As for Stewart he comes across as the character at work who thinks he's a whole lot cleverer than everyone else but isn't really. He's the person at your work who's picked up some buzz words and phrases that they regurgitate all the time to make them sound smarter than the rest of the people in the room. For a while his favourite was "mutually exclusive" and now its "identity". He wasn't the player he thought he was and he's not the wordsmith he thinks he is. Someone earlier up the thread described him something along the lines of forceful verging on arrogant. I'd describe him as arrogant verging on very arrogant.

Cabbage-Patch
16-12-2024, 07:44 AM
Stopped listening to this pain fest years ago. Richard Gordon leaving was the final straw for me. McIntyre is a dyed in the wool hun and the bias towards the ugly sisters and Hearts every week is insufferable. Every team pretty much has thier own pundit as well -

Preston/Stewart/McLaughlin/Robertson- Hearts
K Miller/ Ferguson/Mcintyre/Mccan - Rangers
Bonner/English - Celtic
W. Miller - Aberdeen
Craigan- Motherwell
Thompson - St Mirren
Bell - Killie

All except us it seems. Listening to that oaf Preston commentating on Hibs games as he seems to do every week is a joke. I'd rather listen to nails down a chalk board.

Don't get me started on off the ball aswell. About as funny as a broken leg and should have been binned decades ago. Actually lose brain cells trying to listen to Cowan

So yeah in a nutshell BBC Scotland football coverage is ***t

HIBS NUTS
16-12-2024, 07:50 AM
The coverage of this league season has been ridiculous, yes we have been rubbish , but I really can’t see why the media, gives hearts almost no grief, for being equally bad, and that’s with a much bigger budget, and donations.

16-12-2024, 08:03 AM
Is it just me that thinks when open all mics is on that whenever they're talking to someone else Preston always finds something to scream about at his game to butt in?

I'm always waiting for it now when I listen and its amazing how many times he does it :greengrin

16-12-2024, 08:17 AM
Is it just me that thinks when open all mics is on that whenever they're talking to someone else Preston always finds something to scream about at his game to butt in?

I'm always waiting for it now when I listen and its amazing how many times he does it :greengrin

No it’s not just you. It’s also like the have a flow chart that always brings it back to Tynecastle legandary atmosphere/ FOH / Shankland / Hibs are rubbish

Preston also has this annoying habit of saying “brilliant, just brilliant” at every moment when sometimes it’s just a run of the mill shot.

16-12-2024, 09:09 AM
Sportsound definitely has went more pro Hearts since Covid. That period was an embarrassment. Every night you had tools like English talking about "smoking guns" and emails that would bring down the SPFL and Doncaster. Ann Budge getting to come on every other night to demand the leagues are reconstructed (definitely nothing to do with keeping Hearts up, all for the betterment of Scottish Football) which has never been mentioned since.

There's nothing wrong with them hammering Hibs, it's deserved as we aren't a good team and are a poorly run club. However, how they can just fail to call out Hearts who are just as bad, and just as poorly run is the issue. Shankland is overweight, he's continually on his heels, his goal record this season is poor. Even Hearts fans have been calling him out. But he gets the benefit of doubt for some bizarre reason from the BBC lot.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

16-12-2024, 09:30 AM
No it’s not just you. It’s also like the have a flow chart that always brings it back to Tynecastle legandary atmosphere/ FOH / Shankland / Hibs are rubbish

Preston also has this annoying habit of saying “brilliant, just brilliant” at every moment when sometimes it’s just a run of the mill shot.

Before I stopped listening to Sportsound etc, Preston used to bang on about how "the FoH direct debit is the one he doesnt mind coming out every month".

Which is cute, especially for a guy who was a Rangers fan at school................

He, like Tam Cowan, knows that Hearts are part of his mealticket.

Fergos
16-12-2024, 09:42 AM
Stopped listening to this pain fest years ago. Richard Gordon leaving was the final straw for me. McIntyre is a dyed in the wool hun and the bias towards the ugly sisters and Hearts every week is insufferable. Every team pretty much has thier own pundit as well -

Preston/Stewart/McLaughlin/Robertson- Hearts
K Miller/ Ferguson/Mcintyre/Mccan - Rangers
Bonner/English - Celtic
W. Miller - Aberdeen
Craigan- Motherwell
Thompson - St Mirren
Bell - Killie

All except us it seems. Listening to that oaf Preston commentating on Hibs games as he seems to do every week is a joke. I'd rather listen to nails down a chalk board.

Don't get me started on off the ball aswell. About as funny as a broken leg and should have been binned decades ago. Actually lose brain cells trying to listen to Cowan

So yeah in a nutshell BBC Scotland football coverage is ***t

Totally, Cowans an absolute walloper, talking about his freebies, what stars hes met and recommending youngsters look up YouTube for things that they would have nae interest in including his crap taste in music. Embarrassing.

16-12-2024, 09:45 AM

A few weeks back tables were turned while he was raving about a Jambo (of course ) goal when he was cut off by one his mates who was viewing another match where a VAR decision was being made. Preston was furious and ranted on (not jokingly) for about half an hour about the nerve of being cut off when he was describing ‘potentially, the goal of the season. It was hilarious.

16-12-2024, 10:27 AM
Sportsound definitely has went more pro Hearts since Covid. Ann Budge getting to come on every other night to demand the leagues are reconstructed (definitely nothing to do with keeping Hearts up, all for the betterment of Scottish Football) which has never been mentioned since.

Wow thats a great point id never considered. League reconstruction was being trumpeted as the thing that was going to make Scottish Football Great Again. Whats changed and why has it barely been mentioned since? :faf:

16-12-2024, 11:05 AM
Wow thats a great point id never considered. League reconstruction was being trumpeted as the thing that was going to make Scottish Football Great Again. Whats changed and why has it barely been mentioned since? :faf:

Give it a few months and it might well be back on the agenda. Two up, none down. 🤔

Hibees1973
16-12-2024, 12:28 PM
I think what gets me is characters like McIntyre, Preston, Ferguson & Stewart sound like four guys in the pub talking about fitba'.

They have a platform to give an insightful, unbiased analysis on the game on Scotland, however most of them make no attempt to hide their team colours with comments which are less than constructive. I don't listen to Sportsound much, but when I do I can only handle it for 15 mins max, then switch to Radio 5 live.

I understand the standard of the game in England is way above ours, however the standard of presenting on Radio 5 Live need not be streets ahead of Radio Scotland.

Over the years I have tended to agree with Stewart. I don't have an issue with his opinion of the team and the current regime at Hibs. However, his comments on Elie Youan have been extreme and a bit weird recently. There are numerous other Hibs players who have performed as poorly as Youan. Fine criticise Youan, but I feel Stewart has had his gun loaded way before watching Youan.

16-12-2024, 01:00 PM
Give it a few months and it might well be back on the agenda. Two up, none down. 🤔

I think that’s a very possible/probable area of debate and of course it would be to ensure safety for the Jambos. But the stumbling block might/would surely be that any legislation passed this season could not be introduced this season but in 25-26.

16-12-2024, 01:35 PM
How long has it been on the air for now?

I honestly thing I stopped listening when they no longer had commentary for the full 90 mins. I think before they went to the current format they at least had reporters at the ground giving chat about the games....my memory could be making that up though?!

16-12-2024, 01:52 PM
I think that’s a very possible/probable area of debate and of course it would be to ensure safety for the Jambos. But the stumbling block might/would surely be that any legislation passed this season could not be introduced this season but in 25-26.

True, it wouldn't be for another year. In that case they'll propose 2 down and 4 or 6 up, just to make sure they come up.

16-12-2024, 01:52 PM
How long has it been on the air for now?

I honestly thing I stopped listening when they no longer had commentary for the full 90 mins. I think before they went to the current format they at least had reporters at the ground giving chat about the games....my memory could be making that up though?!

There's a still a match commentary. Generally whatever cheek is playing at home. There's a split in frequency. In old money the AM channel was the match, FM the Open All Mikes. So the digital extra channel has the match. There's another match channel but you can't get it through the BBC Sounds App, only via the BBC web site. Generally running about 4 minutes behind the actual time.

16-12-2024, 02:00 PM
There's a still a match commentary. Generally whatever cheek is playing at home. There's a split in frequency. In old money the AM channel was the match, FM the Open All Mikes. So the digital extra channel has the match. There's another match channel but you can't get it through the BBC Sounds App, only via the BBC web site. Generally running about 4 minutes behind the actual time.

Nice one :thumbsup:

16-12-2024, 02:08 PM
As for Tom English he should stick to Rugby, talks more sense when covering that sport. Not when I listen to him.

16-12-2024, 02:27 PM
True, it wouldn't be for another year. In that case they'll propose 2 down and 4 or 6 up, just to make sure they come up.

Mind you, the cynic in me wouldn’t be surprised if, with a bit of bullying, bribery and ad hoc legislation, the powers that be are unethical enough to get their way.

16-12-2024, 03:02 PM
I don’t think Kenny Mac is necessarily anti Hibs, he’s just too hyped up for the juicy ‘crisis’ story. MS simply doesn’t like it when he’s wrong… He’s also a “hence why” guy, which unravels any pretence of intellectualism. It was remarkable how flat they all were after Hibs turned it round, while we had Craigan whooping with delight at every Motherwell goal.

16-12-2024, 03:06 PM
Why would the BBC be biased against Hibs?

What do they gain from it?

16-12-2024, 03:11 PM
I don’t think Kenny Mac is necessarily anti Hibs, he’s just too hyped up for the juicy ‘crisis’ story. MS simply doesn’t like it when he’s wrong… He’s also a “hence why” guy, which unravels any pretence of intellectualism. It was remarkable how flat they all were after Hibs turned it round, while we had Craigan whooping with delight at every Motherwell goal.

he did come across rather excited on saturday, almost as loud & screechy as preston is when his beloved's score

Hibiza
16-12-2024, 03:16 PM
Mickey Stewart in my humble opinion is a top notch unbiased pundit.

Se7enUp
16-12-2024, 03:19 PM

Contentious "chat" to draw the punters in (who won't get drawn in by anything anodyne), but the pundits are just to amateurish to do anything other than favour their own team with their chat, and will certainly avoid the Old Firm criticisms, probably at the BBC's direction. So ... be contentious about a biggish club who won't come after you, ie Hibs.

16-12-2024, 03:19 PM

That won't go down well on here but I agree. Best of the lot. He's criticised Hearts heavily in the past. Rangers too. He's also sung our praises under Ross. It's almost as if he sees it how it is...

Se7enUp
16-12-2024, 03:22 PM
That won't go down well on here but I agree. Best of the lot.

Not since he had his claws removed after he was critical of der hun. The grief after criticising der hun probably had a lot to do with Graham Spiers leaving the Scottish goldfish bowl.

16-12-2024, 04:19 PM
Not when I listen to him.
It wasn’t a high bar.

16-12-2024, 04:33 PM

Craigan is possibly the worst of the anti Hibs brigade. At least Preston is a genuine Jambo fud who revels in the rivalry, Craigan is simply anti anything Hibs.

16-12-2024, 04:48 PM

I don’t think he’s biased. Once he makes a point he just won’t budge, even if it’s something completely ridiculous though. And the more he’s challenged, the more he’ll double down on it.

16-12-2024, 04:54 PM
You are just never going to please everyone and in some cases some people are never going to be pleased regardless of what is put out.

I don't really listen to Open All Mics because I am at the games. I have Sportsound on for a wee bit before and after and it just seems Old Firm centric most of the time. It was like that when guys like Cranpsey were still around too and it will be like that in decades to come. Mikey Stewart was constantly having a go at Hearts last year, ironically enough about their lack of identity, and he argued they were in a false position being clear in 3rd. That actually looks pretty spot on right about now. The whole identity thing is a bit of an obsession but he was full of praise for Hibs when we were punching our weight under Ross so the idea he is inherently bias seems wide off the mark.

Everyone was full of praise for Marvin Bartley when he first appeared on Sportscene. 'A breath of fresh air' and 'big Marv gives a far more considered approach'. Then it seemed to dawn he wasn't just going to bum up Hibs all the time and there was all kind sof conspiracies that he has been 'got at' and it's now descended into Hibs fans abusing him on Twitter.

I like Off The Ball. Well past it's heyday and the jokes went out with the ark but it's fans of provincial clubs having a bit of fun. It's very much not Old Firm centric which is welcome and it's not meant to be serious, they make that pretty clear in their own tag line. Tam Cowan is the fool to Cosgrove's more considered straight guy. I don't really care he played a free gig for Hearts about a hundred years ago. He done the same for Motherwell and Dundee when they were in bother.

A View From the Terrace gets battered with the 'full of jambos' chat which is nonsense. Big Tony who is on is a huge Hibs fan and gives bask as good as he gets from the Hearts fans. Dismissing it as a Hearts fest ignores the fact it produces some of the best coverage and content on the lower leagues in the mainstream media and covers stories others totally ignore. Some of the Hearts and Hibs banter is schoolboy stuff and anyone getting upset or irritated by it really needs to have a word. It's one of those instance where people moan that they want 'something different' or 'fan produced content' then they get it and give it 'aye but not like that'.

Even HibsTV isn't safe. Cliff, Stuart Lovell, Joelle Murray and even Pat Stanton FFS have all had it tight in recent months and in the case of the former two every single week.

It's almost like producing content or providing a platform for a diverse range of people and views is quite difficult especially when people largely just want to hear stuff they agree with.

Paulie Walnuts
16-12-2024, 05:08 PM
You are just never going to please everyone and in some cases some people are never going to be pleased regardless of what is put out.

I don't really listen to Open All Mics because I am at the games. I have Sportsound on for a wee bit before and after and it just seems Old Firm centric most of the time. It was like that when guys like Cranpsey were still around too and it will be like that in decades to come. Mikey Stewart was constantly having a go at Hearts last year, ironically enough about their lack of identity, and he argued they were in a false position being clear in 3rd. That actually looks pretty spot on right about now. The whole identity thing is a bit of an obsession but he was full of praise for Hibs when we were punching our weight under Ross so the idea he is inherently bias seems wide off the mark.

Everyone was full of praise for Marvin Bartley when he first appeared on Sportscene. 'A breath of fresh air' and 'big Marv gives a far more considered approach'. Then it seemed to dawn he wasn't just going to bum up Hibs all the time and there was all kind sof conspiracies that he has been 'got at' and it's now descended into Hibs fans abusing him on Twitter.

I like Off The Ball. Well past it's heyday and the jokes went out with the ark but it's fans of provincial clubs having a bit of fun. It's very much not Old Firm centric which is welcome and it's not meant to be serious, they make that pretty clear in their own tag line. Tam Cowan is the fool to Cosgrove's more considered straight guy. I don't really care he played a free gig for Hearts about a hundred years ago. He done the same for Motherwell and Dundee when they were in bother.

A View From the Terrace gets battered with the 'full of jambos' chat which is nonsense. Big Tony who is on is a huge Hibs fan and gives bask as good as he gets from the Hearts fans. Dismissing it as a Hearts fest ignores the fact it produces some of the best coverage and content on the lower leagues in the mainstream media and covers stories others totally ignore. Some of the Hearts and Hibs banter is schoolboy stuff and anyone getting upset or irritated by it really needs to have a word. It's one of those instance where people moan that they want 'something different' or 'fan produced content' then they get it and give it 'aye but not like that'.

Even HibsTV isn't safe. Cliff, Stuart Lovell, Joelle Murray and even Pat Stanton FFS have all had it tight in recent months and in the case of the former two every single week.

It's almost like producing content or providing a platform for a diverse range of people and views is quite difficult especially when people largely just want to hear stuff they agree with.

Some mad tin foil hat stuff on here recently.

The pundits are laying into us, they hate Hibs etc. In reality, we’ve been terrible and deserve to be laid into.

The pundits never criticise Hearts. Yet last season one of Scottish footballs highest profile pundits was fairly critical of them even whilst they ran away with third place.

The officials are against Hibs, there’s a corruption ring aimed at keeping Hibs down. Why? Because we won the cup, or because they’re anti catholic. Of course they would have just stopped us winning the cup rather than a decade long corruption campaign from every Scottish referee, risking their refereeing careers and even civilian freedom, but why let that get in the way of a good conspiracy.

Oh and of course the anti catholic conspiracy bizarrely doesn’t apply to the only club in the country that plays on their Catholic roots. Infact that club are given preferential treatment.

16-12-2024, 05:18 PM

Worked in sports media long enough (20+ years) to know there are definitely folk involved with a real vendetta and axe to grind against certain clubs and certain individuals. It does happen.

In Scotland there was always a Rangers bias. It wasn't imaginary. A lot of those of that 'persuasion' realised they couldn't go calling out Celtic at every opportunity - most of them live in Glasgow and need to get by there. Hibs were the obvious, easier target, similar in their minds with less clout and comeuppance if you pile on. Classic transference. It doesn't just apply to the Craigans and Keith Jackson types, you can level this at referees too.

Does anyone on here genuinely believe Hibs get a fair press? Find it pretty staggering if anyone does...

16-12-2024, 05:42 PM
Craigan is possibly the worst of the anti Hibs brigade. At least Preston is a genuine Jambo fud who revels in the rivalry, Craigan is simply anti anything Hibs.Definitely Craigan.

It's not the BBC per se who are "anti" Hibs. It's the selection of pundits (I use even that term loosely) that the producer seems to allow, then what they say, which can hardly be said to be meeting their Charters impartiality obligation......

16-12-2024, 05:42 PM

Illiterate Leanne? A bit harsh. I've always found her to be fair and talking common sense - mostly in proper English too. Can't recall her saying "The boy done good. He's went for goal."

16-12-2024, 06:17 PM
Sportsound definitely has went more pro Hearts since Covid. That period was an embarrassment. Every night you had tools like English talking about "smoking guns" and emails that would bring down the SPFL and Doncaster. Ann Budge getting to come on every other night to demand the leagues are reconstructed (definitely nothing to do with keeping Hearts up, all for the betterment of Scottish Football) which has never been mentioned since.

There's nothing wrong with them hammering Hibs, it's deserved as we aren't a good team and are a poorly run club. However, how they can just fail to call out Hearts who are just as bad, and just as poorly run is the issue. Shankland is overweight, he's continually on his heels, his goal record this season is poor. Even Hearts fans have been calling him out. But he gets the benefit of doubt for some bizarre reason from the BBC lot.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Don’t forget the air time afforded to that windbag Leslie Deans. He used Sportsound to talk about suing the authorities should his team be demoted. The first time I heard it I thought there was no way it would fly. But he hand eggchaser English and others waving the flag for his outrageous scheme - which could have been disastrous for many clubs up here had it succeeded. Thankfully the court wasn’t so naive.

16-12-2024, 07:03 PM
Illiterate Leanne? A bit harsh. I've always found her to be fair and talking common sense - mostly in proper English too. Can't recall her saying "The boy done good. He's went for goal."

I put in on in the car after the game, her and MS were absolutely gutted at the result, you could tell by their tone. She then started gibbering on about our structure and I turned it over.

16-12-2024, 07:06 PM
Crichton seems to hate us for some reason, which is weird because she's another that used to play for us.

Paul1642
16-12-2024, 07:18 PM

Some mad tin foil hat stuff on here recently.

Definitely the case unfortunately. I think trying to look in from the outside is important. The most prominent case of this is both the clubs and fans of Celtic and Rangers acting the constant victims in regards to Media, SFA and referees, when the fans of every other club in Scotland can clearly see that a vast amount more goes in their favour than goes against them.

It’s utterly laughable when they do it and playing the victim is not something I want us to do because it’s a pathetic look.

Admittedly I do feel that we tend to get a rough end of the deal when it comes to referees and VAR but once again, fans of every club in the word seem to feel this way. We can’t all be right.

As for pundits, up until Saturday we were sat rock bottom despite having a budget and infrastructure much larger than that of at least 7 teams in the league. If they were singing our praises then something would be massively wrong.

There is no anti Hibs conspiracy. We’re just not doing good enough.