View Full Version : Well done to Copenhagen FC. What football is all about.
14-12-2024, 07:48 AM
I am not referring to them beating Hearts which in their words was "pleasing".
Seemingly before kick off an official went into the Hearts section and randomly selected an 8 year old boy to be mascot at the game. He then led the team out onto the pitch.
No charge.
What a memory for the wee man and his family.
14-12-2024, 08:19 AM
Everything done for the camera and praise these days
confused
14-12-2024, 08:23 AM
Seemingly before kick off an official went into the Hearts section and randomly selected an 8 year old boy to be mascot at the game. He then led the team out onto the pitch.
No charge.
Top Class that’s what true sportspeople do
14-12-2024, 08:26 AM
Was that the case or was it indeed a nice gesture as the op has posted ? Whichever the young lad will have had a great experience & memory following his team Europe.
14-12-2024, 08:34 AM
Maybe in your cynical world but I think some clubs still respect the game.
A couple of weeks ago Motherwell invited two disabled Hibs supporters to announce the teams before the kick off. They also organised for our disabled mascot.Joyce at the Community Foundation organised it on their behalf and made a fantastic job of it.
At the end of the game David Gray sent the players over to get their photo taken.
Suppose that was all done for the media.
Clubs throughout the world do make a difference. It's not all about money everywhere but that is a discussion for another thread.
Sometimes just enjoy the moment.
14-12-2024, 08:36 AM
Whoever made that decision, and for whatever reason, deserves a a pay rise. The thread title is absolutely correct, football is about entertainment and bringing special moments.
There is precedent here that we shouldn’t miss. Not our initiative but Hibs should climb right on this bandwagon. Why not start today, a Hibs Kids Day, and make the festive season very special for a young staggy?
14-12-2024, 08:41 AM
Fantastically cynical
14-12-2024, 08:49 AM
Maybe in your cynical world but I think some clubs still respect the game.
A couple of weeks ago Motherwell invited two disabled Hibs supporters to announce the teams before the kick off. They also organised for our disabled mascot.Joyce at the Community Foundation organised it on their behalf and made a fantastic job of it.
At the end of the game David Gray sent the players over to get their photo taken.
Suppose that was all done for the media.
Clubs throughout the world do make a difference. It's not all about money everywhere but that is a discussion for another thread.
Sometimes just enjoy the moment.
Well said, Hibs contribute to a lot of good work in our communities via the foundation. There are good people in football and they give their time and effort to help all who reach out to them.
14-12-2024, 08:53 AM
Why was the bairn not at school? Nice gesture by FC Copenhagen though.
14-12-2024, 09:01 AM
No charge.
Thanks for posting that. Just been reading about FIFA and the Saudis and so is a timely reminder that not everyone in football is a total ****.
14-12-2024, 09:32 AM
I’m not a fan of clubs extracting a lot of money for “mascot experiences” - that’s where to get cynical.
I’m a big fan of what Copenhagen have done and similarly Motherwell.
I don’t think Hibs or any clubs should be charging kids families to be a mascot for the day. If they or their parents are ST holders, regular walk up fans and will be buying a kit to wear for the occasion, then they’ve contributed more than enough for the privilege of being their teams mascot for a special treat.
14-12-2024, 09:37 AM
I’m not a fan of clubs extracting a lot of money for “mascot experiences” - that’s where to get cynical.
I’m a big fan of what Copenhagen have done and similarly Motherwell.
I don’t think Hibs or any clubs should be charging kids families to be a mascot for the day. If they or their parents are ST holders, regular walk up fans and will be buying a kit to wear for the occasion, then they’ve contributed more than enough for the privilege of being their teams mascot for a special treat.
I don't think Hibs' mascot packages are exclusively paid for, are they? I think so long as there's an opportunity for fans who can't afford it to do it, then having some paid for spots seems fair enough.
14-12-2024, 09:45 AM
🥱🙄
Radge70
14-12-2024, 09:50 AM
If so the evidence is mounting against him 😂
14-12-2024, 09:58 AM
I don't think Hibs' mascot packages are exclusively paid for, are they? I think so long as there's an opportunity for fans who can't afford it to do it, then having some paid for spots seems fair enough.
The money involved is peanuts within our turnover. Not so peanutty to parents. Parents should be able to put their kid's names into a draw (if they win then that winner's name can't be entered again) and the less well off kids get a chance.
14-12-2024, 09:59 AM
It's a nice touch and the kid will remember it forever.
I think that's all that really needs said tbh.
14-12-2024, 10:04 AM
The money involved is peanuts within our turnover. Not so peanutty to parents. Parents should be able to put their kid's names into a draw (if they win then that winner's name can't be entered again) and the less well off kids get a chance.
That happens though? Am I wrong with that? I am happy to stand corrected but I thought Hibs kept places to be drawn and have some that can be bought.
I think there should definitely be the chance for everyone but I don't have a problem with some being available to buy as well - it's not only going to be loaded folk that take these spaces, that's always a misconception with these things but being able to guarantee that experience for a kid whose circumstances might be such that you'd absolutely want to take away the chance that it might never happen for them isn't a bad thing.
14-12-2024, 10:41 AM
School here finishes at 3-3.30 on most days 😉
14-12-2024, 10:46 AM
That happens though? Am I wrong with that? I am happy to stand corrected but I thought Hibs kept places to be drawn and have some that can be bought.
I think there should definitely be the chance for everyone but I don't have a problem with some being available to buy as well - it's not only going to be loaded folk that take these spaces, that's always a misconception with these things but being able to guarantee that experience for a kid whose circumstances might be such that you'd absolutely want to take away the chance that it might never happen for them isn't a bad thing.
I think they are all paid for now Matty. Back in the day they put all the Hibs kids name in a hat and at half time they would draw the name out the hat for the following home game. It's all about money now.
14-12-2024, 10:59 AM
I think they are all paid for now Matty. Back in the day they put all the Hibs kids name in a hat and at half time they would draw the name out the hat for the following home game. It's all about money now.
Still drawn places for Hibs Kids games. My niece was a mascot at the last one and didn't pay.
14-12-2024, 11:11 AM
Father: "Right, we can take you out of school for the game. Let's just keep a low profile "
Copenhagen: "How would you like to be the star of the show?"
HibsGW
14-12-2024, 11:13 AM
You’re right, nobody should ever do anything nice ever again because it’s all for the cameras. Nice gestures should be a thing of the past.
14-12-2024, 11:21 AM
Definitely still do that too as my mates wee one is mascot today from Hibs kids draw.
Can see both arguments. Personally I was absolutely desperate to be a mascot when I was a wee boy, was a proper dream. Entered every single draw imaginable. Season ticket holder the entire time, in the Hibs kids from the age of 3. Was never lucky enough to be drawn [emoji17] an amazing childhood memory unfulfilled. Now I could ask for it as a birthday present. Got to be a good thing that for many kids
14-12-2024, 11:47 AM
Father: "Right, we can take you out of school for the game. Let's just keep a low profile "
Copenhagen: "How would you like to be the star of the show?"
He will have gained way more on the trip than he would have sitting in the classroom.
14-12-2024, 11:57 AM
Your spot on. Santa only brings his Coca Cola truck out once a year and his mum always puts a TV ad for us not to forget. Attention seeking fkr.
14-12-2024, 12:01 PM
He will have gained way more on the trip than he would have sitting in the classroom.
No arguments from me. :agree:
14-12-2024, 12:04 PM
Definitely still do that too as my mates wee one is mascot today from Hibs kids draw.
Can see both arguments. Personally I was absolutely desperate to be a mascot when I was a wee boy, was a proper dream. Entered every single draw imaginable. Season ticket holder the entire time, in the Hibs kids from the age of 3. Was never lucky enough to be drawn [emoji17] an amazing childhood memory unfulfilled. Now I could ask for it as a birthday present. Got to be a good thing that for many kids
Not sure what the Hibs kids numbers are these days, but when you were a youngster there was thousands in the club. Only Man Utd had a bigger kids membership. I get what you are saying with both sides of the argument but it certainly favours the ones who can afford it. Also back in the day the mascots got a kick about before k.o with there fav player or taking shots into the goalie. Now it's run oot, photo,then into the stand to watch the game. But yes it must be a great feeling to do this as a youngster.
Green Man
14-12-2024, 12:16 PM
Agreed. I was speaking to one of the kids at football training, he was going over to the game and was absolutely buzzing for it. Experiences like that are great for kids.
14-12-2024, 12:17 PM
You must be fun at parties.
Fair play to FC Copenhagen
14-12-2024, 12:50 PM
Brilliant from Copenhagen.
14-12-2024, 05:55 PM
What a cynical comment. Sad.
14-12-2024, 08:20 PM
Played the Jambos off the park, slick passing and football that was a real treat to watch
WeAreHibs
15-12-2024, 12:18 PM
Not sure what the Hibs kids numbers are these days, but when you were a youngster there was thousands in the club. Only Man Utd had a bigger kids membership. I get what you are saying with both sides of the argument but it certainly favours the ones who can afford it. Also back in the day the mascots got a kick about before k.o with there fav player or taking shots into the goalie. Now it's run oot, photo,then into the stand to watch the game. But yes it must be a great feeling to do this as a youngster.
It's significantly more than that. It's a great experience that lasts at least an hour for the kids including meeting the players in the changing rooms with photos. They also get a full kit and warm up on pitch before running out! Probably much better than "back in the day". Hanlon Stevenson Foundation still have places they give away.
It gets on my man boobs when I see a random away mascot though and don't understand why we do that but been told it's because we're an "inclusive club". Usually an old firm or derby game too!