View Full Version : Football's 200th anniversary (Edinburgh content)

12-12-2024, 04:25 PM
Great article about the world's first football club set up in Edinburgh 200 years ago: https://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/edinburgh-world-first-football-team-b2662545.html

Not sure founder John Hope would have had much time for Hibs though.

12-12-2024, 08:25 PM
Think this was set up in the Dalry area so just wait for Hearts to claim they invented football.

12-12-2024, 09:06 PM
Great article.

ErinGoBraghHFC
12-12-2024, 09:30 PM
John Hope sounds like a right cardigan wearer

13-12-2024, 04:55 AM
1824 : The World’s First Football Club Andy Mitchell is a decent read pretty sure they were based in the Dalry Lambs House area IIRC

13-12-2024, 08:18 AM
1824 : The World’s First Football Club Andy Mitchell is a decent read pretty sure they were based in the Dalry Lambs House area IIRC

Lambs Hoose is in Leith, down by the Shore.

Interesting article, well worth a read. Scotland pioneering the game to look more like something we would recognise as football today.

13-12-2024, 09:04 AM
Lambs Hoose is in Leith, down by the Shore.

Interesting article, well worth a read. Scotland pioneering the game to look more like something we would recognise as football today.

Aye so it is 😂

Getting auld

Dalry House Orwell Place was a posh house in a field then

13-12-2024, 09:22 AM
An interesting read.

I always think Scotland should make more of our place in the history of football. There is an English football historian, his name escapes me but he has written at least one book about Queens Park, who argues they should be held up as one of the worlds great clubs and it should be almost a pilgrimage for football fans worldwide to watch them. Bob Crampsey's book about them 'The Game for the Game's sake' is also well worth a read if you can get your hands on a copy.

With both Hibs and Hearts celebrating major anniversaries in close order and the rich history of teams like Leith Athletic and St Bernards to be talked about along with stories like the above it seems there is a real chance to sell Edinburgh football and counter some of the nonsense about us being predominantly a 'rugby town' (no disrespect intended to any rugby clubs or fans but all the stuff about 'Glesga is the fitba city' gets right on my nerves).

13-12-2024, 11:06 PM
An interesting read.

I always think Scotland should make more of our place in the history of football. There is an English football historian, his name escapes me but he has written at least one book about Queens Park, who argues they should be held up as one of the worlds great clubs and it should be almost a pilgrimage for football fans worldwide to watch them. Bob Crampsey's book about them 'The Game for the Game's sake' is also well worth a read if you can get your hands on a copy.

With both Hibs and Hearts celebrating major anniversaries in close order and the rich history of teams like Leith Athletic and St Bernards to be talked about along with stories like the above it seems there is a real chance to sell Edinburgh football and counter some of the nonsense about us being predominantly a 'rugby town' (no disrespect intended to any rugby clubs or fans but all the stuff about 'Glesga is the fitba city' gets right on my nerves).

14-12-2024, 12:44 AM
https://youtu.be/4N6NL0JGS9Y?si=pUxHRm5bj0ZFPNwG

This an hour long but worth a watch on the subject of Scotlands place in the development of football.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

14-12-2024, 10:12 AM
Thoroughly recommend the Three Hampdens Walking Tour. Great insight into how the modern game was shaped in Scotland. The old stadium at Cathkin Park is worth a visit by itself.

16-12-2024, 09:34 AM
There is an English football historian, his name escapes me but he has written at least one book about Queens Park, who argues they should be held up as one of the worlds great clubs and it should be almost a pilgrimage for football fans worldwide to watch them.

Not sure if it's who you're thinking of, but the book Beastly Fury by Richard Sanders highlights Queens Park as revolutionising football by being the first major club to focus on passing as the primary way of moving the ball.