View Full Version : Alex Edwards

Berwickhibby
11-12-2024, 10:42 PM
Hibs Retro posting on Facebook the passing of Alex (Mickey Edwards) … he was recently inaugurated onto the Hibees Hall of Fame…R.I.P

11-12-2024, 10:47 PM
Sorry to hear that. He was such a brilliant player. His undeserved suspension and Brownlie's leg break killed our title challenge. RIP Mickey.

Sent from my Tab 12 Pro using Tapatalk

AltheHibby
11-12-2024, 10:48 PM
That's so sad. RIP.

He's here!
11-12-2024, 10:59 PM
Sad news.

Terrific player who could find anyone with a pass.

11-12-2024, 11:25 PM
Talented talented player who's up there with the Hibs greats. RIP to a Hibs legend.

DroitwichHibs
11-12-2024, 11:39 PM
What A Player! Unbelievable he was never capped. A genius with the ball.
RIP Alex Edwards.

12-12-2024, 01:21 AM
What A Player! Unbelievable he was never capped. A genius with the ball.
RIP Alex Edwards.

Jimmy O’Rourle told me once that Eddie Turnbull told him that once John Brownlie gave the ball to Alex to start his run at goals then as Alex would always find him.

Alex could put the ball on a sixpence from anywhere on the park

hibsfan7
12-12-2024, 05:25 AM
R,I,P alex what a player

12-12-2024, 05:30 AM
Aww, what a player. RIP wee man. :hibees

12-12-2024, 05:48 AM
Oh my goodness! An outstanding talent in a side already full of outstanding talent. We really are reaching the end of a generation.
It’s insane that Scottish football had such a pool of great player the SFA could ignore him for international selection.
RIP and thanks for the great memories Alex Edwards.

12-12-2024, 06:00 AM
Ach that's sad news. What a player, he had magic in that right foot. How many times did he float an inch perfect cross to Alan Gordon's head.

RIP Mickey.

12-12-2024, 06:00 AM
Was my hero growing up loved his ability and also his temper. :greengrin One of our best ever players.
Can remember a game at East end where he was getting some gip from the home fans the second half he stood on the right touch line showing off his ability with flicks and tricks. Rip legend

DIXIHIBS
12-12-2024, 07:03 AM
Sad news indeed. One of my early heroes in a Hibs jersey. Huge talent with a wee edge to him. RIP.

adam middlemass
12-12-2024, 07:11 AM
Loved watching him play, fantastic right peg. RIP Mickey

12-12-2024, 07:13 AM
What a player, privileged to have seen this true Hibs great play.

RIP Alex.

Crammond Hibee
12-12-2024, 07:15 AM
🥲

12-12-2024, 07:51 AM
That's a shame, was always up for a wee blether in The East Port before games at East End Park.

12-12-2024, 07:52 AM
Aww my god that's dreadful news to wake up to 😪

12-12-2024, 07:53 AM
Club have just confirmed it. RIP

12-12-2024, 07:58 AM
Aw was a fantastic footballer a joy to watch with a sublime touch a precision passer of the ball albeit always on a short fuse the fact he was never capped by Scotland is one of the great mysteries of Scottish football

Sincerest deepest condolences to family and friends

RIP Mickey

Fanforlife
12-12-2024, 08:04 AM
R.I.P. Wee Mickey. Man was class in a glass, could make a ba talk etc. etc. Ive seen a few great players for Hibs but Mickey was my favourite of them all.💚💚💚💚💚💚💚

12-12-2024, 08:04 AM
Sorry to hear that. He was such a brilliant player. His undeserved suspension and Brownlie's leg break killed our title challenge. RIP Mickey.

Sent from my Tab 12 Pro using Tapatalk

Just read about that suspension. 8 game suspension for getting 4 bookings?!?

What was going on in those days?

RIP.

12-12-2024, 08:14 AM
Dreadful news. RIP Mickey, a true Hibernian great 💚

Roxyhibee
12-12-2024, 08:31 AM
This is terrible news. He was in fine fettle at the 50th anniversary Tornados 72 LC winning night 2 years ago.

One of the greatest footballers I’ve ever seen in a Hibs jersey. His passing and vision was way ahead of his time, even in that brilliant team.

wandering_hibee
12-12-2024, 08:36 AM
Fabulous footballer and one of my all time favourites. RIP Mickey and thanks for the memories.

nsandy62
12-12-2024, 08:38 AM
Sad news. Great player and a pleasure to watch. RIP.

12-12-2024, 08:39 AM

RIP.

He was a marked man unfortunately . Certain opposition players would goad him and kick him all over the park and instead of protecting him the refs waited for the inevitable reaction from Alex. He was a great player and a linchpin in that wonderful team.
RIP Micky and thanks for the memories.

leith lynx
12-12-2024, 08:45 AM
This is terrible news, I saw him at ER just a few months ago and he looked great. Another one of my boyhood heroes gone, what a brilliant, brilliant player he was, as time moves on it reminds me of how lucky I was to be in the right place at the right time to witness the Tornadoes at their wonderful best. Rest In Peace Alex and thank you. GGTTH.

Tom Hart RIP
12-12-2024, 08:56 AM
Dreadful news to wake up to.
How Alex never won a cap is a mystery. He'd win 100 today ( or minus a few due to suspension)
Unbelievable talent and I feel lucky to have seen him play.
I'm sure I read that he chose Hibs over Leeds United who were one of the top clubs in Europe at the time, (As were Hibs)
£13,000 along with £12,00 or Alan Gordon was some business from ET.
RIP Alex and thanks for the memories

12-12-2024, 08:58 AM
Sad news.

I saw him at an event last year with a few of his peers and he was on great form that day.

Hopefully we can get a fitting tribute put together in time for the game on Saturday.

RIP.

12-12-2024, 09:01 AM
Pitty we don’t play the rangers this weekend. Old rangers were absolutely terrified of Alex Edwards. He had so many run ins with Alex MacDonald too.

12-12-2024, 09:07 AM

RIP.

Tbf, you had to commit GBH to get booked in thoise days :greengrin

Roxyhibee
12-12-2024, 09:09 AM
Let’s not forget he was in the Pars team that beat Hearts 3-1 in the 1968 SC Final too. True legend

12-12-2024, 09:12 AM

RIP.

Those were the days when the hammer throwers ruled Scottish football. Players like Mickey were given zero protection by refs and were kicked up and down the park all day long. Alex was on a short fuse anyway and often got into trouble because he finally had had enough of being assaulted and retaliated. The refs couldn't wait to book him/send him off for the merest hint of anger/retaliation whilst his opponents got away with many a reckless, potentially leg breaking tackle against him.

When we played The Rangers it was John Grieg's job to "get" Alex Edwards, something the nasty carthorse excelled at.

darwenhibby
12-12-2024, 09:14 AM
Sad News
Another player from when I was a kid that I thought Hibs would win every week and was a shock when they didn’t
RIP Alex Edwards

Greenwich_Hibby
12-12-2024, 09:15 AM
Terrific player in a fantastic side. RIP Mickey

12-12-2024, 09:20 AM
Tbf, you had to commit GBH to get booked in thoise days :greengrin

In fairness Wee Mickey was always booked for retaliation overreacting to over zealous opposition tackles

On the day the music died ( John Brownlie leg break East Fife 1-0 January 1973 ) he was booked for throwing the ball away after another heavy tackle to trigger the 8 week suspension

The Refs were always looking for a reaction with zero protection for the Wee Man

As others have said a fantastic talent the Old Firm were terrified of him

12-12-2024, 09:20 AM
Those were the days when the hammer throwers ruled Scottish football. Players like Mickey were given zero protection by refs and were kicked up and down the park all day long. Alex was on a short fuse anyway and often got into trouble because he finally had had enough of being assaulted and retaliated. The refs couldn't wait to book him/send him off for the merest hint of anger/retaliation whilst his opponents got away with many a reckless, potentially leg breaking tackle against him.

When we played The Rangers it was John Grieg's job to "get" Alex Edwards, something the nasty carthorse excelled at.

From memory Alex "Diddy" McDonald was Edwards' main duelling partner.

Edwards got the eight match suspension for the bookings, exacerbated by throwing the ball away.

Great Hibernian who served the club well, I'll always picture him in my minds eye as a a wee stumpy guy who created goals with his fine passing and crossing. Didn't score many himself.

12-12-2024, 09:21 AM
So sad to hear about the passing off mickey edwards. What a brilliant player he was and he gave us some great memories with the other turnbull tornadoes. We would have won the league that year if he wasn’t suspended for 8 weeks I think it was , and brownlie breaking his leg put an end to the challenge. RIP mickey thanks for the memories

Bobo
12-12-2024, 09:30 AM
Terrible news, thoughts and condolences to his family and friends.

RIP Mickey, thanks for the memories 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

12-12-2024, 09:34 AM
From memory Alex "Diddy" McDonald was Edwards' main duelling partner.

Edwards got the eight match suspension for the bookings, exacerbated by throwing the ball away.

Great Hibernian who served the club well, I'll always picture him in my minds eye as a a wee stumpy guy who created goals with his fine passing and crossing. Didn't score many himself.

Aye many a midfield tussle with Alex McDonald no quarter given or asked

I remember after one desperate attempt to stop him Wee Mickey accidentally on purpose walking across a prostrate Doddy and the Rangers man lifting up his light blue top to inspect the damage in front of the Referee

Maybes all of his bookings were not for retaliation :greengrin

12-12-2024, 09:41 AM
Pitty we don’t play the rangers this weekend. Old rangers were absolutely terrified of Alex Edwards. He had so many run ins with Alex MacDonald too.

Thank goodness we dont.

There might actually be a chance that any tribute to him will be respected.

12-12-2024, 09:42 AM
Essential part of the Hibs team I grew up with, the magnificent Tornedoes. RIP 🙏

Donegal Hibby
12-12-2024, 09:43 AM
Hibs legend

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/december/12/alex-edwards--1946---2024/

LoaningCrHibbie
12-12-2024, 09:47 AM
Very sad news (R.I.P. Alex) ... Thanks for the memories. What a joy it was to have seen Alex play in that great Tornadoes team; I agree with others on this forum that I'm convinced Hibs could have won the league in 1973, until the game Alex was banned for 8 games and John Brownlie suffered that leg break.

12-12-2024, 09:55 AM
In fairness Wee Mickey was always booked for retaliation overreacting to over zealous opposition tackles

On the day the music died ( John Brownlie leg break East Fife 1-0 January 1973 ) he was booked for throwing the ball away after another heavy tackle to trigger the 8 week suspension

The Refs were always looking for a reaction with zero protection for the Wee Man

As others have said a fantastic talent the Old Firm were terrified of him

Don't know if I was at the game, or whether I've heard the story so often I imagine I was...

Mickey was on the ground after yet another "tackle". He wanted to have a go back, but Stanton sat on him to stop him :greengrin

dunfyhibby
12-12-2024, 09:56 AM
Great player who played in a great team!
A true Hibs legend! RIP! 💚

EskbankHibby
12-12-2024, 10:01 AM
Before my time as a player but had the pleasure of meeting him and was a gentleman.

LustForLeith
12-12-2024, 10:01 AM
Sad news this

He was before my time so never had the pleasure of seeing him

Is there a Hibs archive? One where you could filter players and watch clips of them?

12-12-2024, 10:16 AM
Essential part of the Hibs team I grew up with, the magnificent Tornedoes. RIP 🙏
My thoughts exactly, it was a joy to watch him as part of that team, nothing has equalled it since.
RIP.

Jock O
12-12-2024, 10:17 AM

I used to work with John Love who played for East Fife at the time, and he admitted his job, and similar players, was to rile Alex up, as he often got distracted then. He said it was not difficult to get him on the pitch but sure he also told a story of Alex eventually coming after him after one game and said he was a fiery sight.

I probably did not see him too much at his best as too young but still remember how amazing he was in flight, I thought all football would be played like that for rest of my life!

He's here!
12-12-2024, 10:24 AM
Hibs legend

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/december/12/alex-edwards--1946---2024/

That green shirt with the white cuffs is not bad. Not as good as the white sleeved shirt of the same era but still classy.

Eaststand
12-12-2024, 10:24 AM
A superb player in a great team 🇳🇬
Condolences to all his friends and family.

RIP Mickey

Groathillgrump
12-12-2024, 10:25 AM
Another footballing hero of my boyhood gone.

RIP Alex.

scm70nyd1973
12-12-2024, 10:25 AM

My dad’s favourite and one of 11 of mine - you can name the team in a heartbeat- in the early 70s - Shades, Jimmy, Alan and now Mickey - nearly a 5 aside team up there with the angels - sorry guys but from a selfish point of view long may it be before you get the last one to make up the team ☹️🥲

12-12-2024, 10:41 AM
That green shirt with the white cuffs is not bad. Not as good as the white sleeved shirt of the same era but still classy.

Think we beat hearts in that kit? Early on in the 72-73 season.

Also wore it against Sporting

12-12-2024, 10:46 AM
Edwards was a wonderful player, so skilful, great passer and for a wee guy well able to stand up for himself. He did burn on a very short fuse.

As a young boy I remember being very impressed by him cupping a breast in response to one neanderthal's futile attempt to stop him, telling the boy what a tit he was.

I don't remember him walking over McDonald's back but I am sure I remember one game at ER where Jackie Mac did it to Parlane and wasn't even booked?

TBH that period and especially that team kind of ruined football for me, I have never seen anything that good again for other than very very brief periods.

You expected to win every week and see some scintillating football and lots of goals

may 21/05/2016
12-12-2024, 10:48 AM
That sad what a player he was

12-12-2024, 11:03 AM

RIP.

One of the things that was going on was that we had a chance of winning the league.

Edwards just danced around the pitch. Watching him and one or two of Brownlie, Stanton and O'Rourke do triangles through opposing teams was delightful.

K Kay
12-12-2024, 11:20 AM
Sad sad news, my favourite and my dads. RIP Micky, thanks for the memories.

12-12-2024, 11:26 AM
Such sad news, thoughts go out to family and friends another very special Hibs player and personal favourite from a wonderful time watching Hibs.
Think he made his debut for Dunfermline at 16 years old, same age as Jimmy O. He played in a very good Dunfy team, and I was surprised that we manged to get him for a daft price. What a player, never scored a lot, but one of my fav all time goals was scored by Alex at Hampden think it was a replay against the hun. Header down by John Hazel and he hit it on the volley never breaking stride, ball hit the net before the goalie moved, filthy wet night and the small group of Hibs fans went mad.

RIP Alex Edwards.

12-12-2024, 11:32 AM
Sad loss. Alex Edwards is up there with the best of them. As well as having a right peg that could hit a pass as accurate as the atomic clock, he had a fantastic football brain. If his pass didn't reach its man, then it was likely that that man was in the wrong place. It was often said that Edwards' football brain was a few seconds ahead of his teammates, remarkable when you consider who was on the pitch with him. RIP Mickey.

12-12-2024, 11:42 AM
This terrible news also got me thinking back to the greatest game in history, the Hibs players all tried to tee up a goal for the wee magician but it was not to be that day, we only managed 7.
For anyone not there or around at the time look for the game on utube the football was just as it should be, not likely to see the likes again.

Alex Edwards the best non capped player for Scotland ever.

12-12-2024, 12:06 PM
This terrible news also got me thinking back to the greatest game in history, the Hibs players all tried to tee up a goal for the wee magician but it was not to be that day, we only managed 7.
For anyone not there or around at the time look for the game on utube the football was just as it should be, not likely to see the likes again.

Alex Edwards the best non capped player for Scotland ever.

Really should have been double figures. Their keeper saved one from Stanton that still surprises me today. In fact, strangely when he got beat 7-0, their keeper had a pretty good game.

BennyB
12-12-2024, 01:09 PM
Another legend of my youth gone. Great player, RIP

HIBS NUTS
12-12-2024, 01:17 PM
Brilliant player, I loved watching him.

green.oracle
12-12-2024, 01:17 PM

RIP.

What was going on was the SFA were petrified Hibs were going to sweep the board.

Drybrugh cup and League Cup already won, top of the league after pumping the jambos 7-0, quarter finals of the european cup winners cup and scottish cup still to come and 100 plus goals by December, SFA had to act.

Think I'm correct in saying a world record for four bookings.

RIP Mickey, my condolences to family and friends.

12-12-2024, 01:18 PM
Loved Alex Edwards, just remember Hibs being great to watch in those days, RIP Alex

12-12-2024, 01:21 PM
Can remember an easy New Years Day 3-1 victory at Easter Road Wee Mickey was winding up the Hearts players by singing Jingle Bells to them Drew Busby totally lost it and ended up chasing him around the pitch trying to boot him

DIXIHIBS
12-12-2024, 01:25 PM
Really should have been double figures. Their keeper saved one from Stanton that still surprises me today. In fact, strangely when he got beat 7-0, their keeper had a pretty good game.

Similar to 6-2…..Niemi has a great game that night.

He's here!
12-12-2024, 01:41 PM
Another legend of my youth gone. Great player, RIP

Schaedler, Gordon, O'Rourke and Edwards gone from that classic line-up. Hope I've not forgotten another passing.

12-12-2024, 01:58 PM
Can remember an easy New Years Day 3-1 victory at Easter Road Wee Mickey was winding up the Hearts players by singing Jingle Bells to them Drew Busby totally lost it and ended up chasing him around the pitch trying to boot him

Brilliant 🤩

Cheshire Hibby
12-12-2024, 01:59 PM
Fantastic player in a free scoring forward line. Another Tornadoes hero gone but never forgotten.
Sincere condolences to his family and friends. R.I.P.Alex.

12-12-2024, 02:22 PM
Very sad news. Incredible player, part of an amazing team.

Ardenttwo
12-12-2024, 02:37 PM
Very sad news. Incredible player, part of an amazing team.

R.I.P. Alex. Sad to hear this news on the passing of a fantastic talented footballer. Never forgotten by the Hibernian family.

Albahibs
12-12-2024, 03:04 PM
Amazing player. RIP Alex Edwards. A huge part of one of Hibernian's greatest ever teams. Forever remembered.

Crammond Hibee
12-12-2024, 03:34 PM
Amazing player. RIP Alex Edwards. A huge part of one of Hibernian's greatest ever teams. Forever remembered.

Says it all

MKHIBEE
12-12-2024, 04:26 PM

RIP.

We were challenging Celtic for the league, that suspension weakened us.

hibeg
12-12-2024, 05:33 PM
RIP Mickey and thanks for the memories.
Superb football player and an integral part of one of the best ever Hibs teams.

Pete70
12-12-2024, 06:15 PM
I was just a kid but he was one of my favourite payers. Great player and a travesty that he wasn’t capped. Typical of the GFA bias back then.

12-12-2024, 06:50 PM
A true great. RIP.

12-12-2024, 07:34 PM
My earliest memories was sitting on the wall at the warm up and him doing cross field passes with out any effort to this day the smell off liniment reminded of him

12-12-2024, 07:42 PM
RIP Alex, one of my boyhood heroes in a team of fantastic footballers, he was a joy to watch sat on the wall at the north end of the main stand as a young laddie.

Hibees1973
12-12-2024, 08:36 PM
So sad to find this out.

Vital cog in the Tornadoes. Team was not the same whenever he was absent due to injury or suspension.

So pleased I watched him play.

RIP.

12-12-2024, 09:04 PM
RIP my dad said he was a great player

13-12-2024, 05:21 AM
Kickback have opened a thread in remembrance of the wee man every single post highly complimentary of his outstanding skills as a football player showing the high level of esteem Alex Edwards held in Scottish football

Gone but not forgotten

His memory goes marching on

13-12-2024, 05:40 AM
A true Hibernian legend.

13-12-2024, 07:45 AM
Another Hero from my childhood gone, great player who should have had double figures in Scotland caps.

13-12-2024, 09:34 AM
Kickback have opened a thread in remembrance of the wee man every single post highly complimentary of his outstanding skills as a football player showing the high level of esteem Alex Edwards held in Scottish football

Gone but not forgotten

Good to hear that sort of thing and imo highlights that the vast majority of football fans are inherently decent

13-12-2024, 11:12 AM
Very sad news. He was some player with a bit of dig about him as well. I always remember him constantly creating chaos down the right with John Brownlie, or pinging perfect crosses onto Alan Gordon's head.

RIP Mickey.

hibeerealist
13-12-2024, 12:12 PM
R I P Alex, you were some player and a previous poster summed things up "WE WERE PRIVILLEGED TO HAVE WATCHED YOU PLAYING FOR HIBS".

Fifth Amendmen
13-12-2024, 06:57 PM
Was a great passer of the ball loved it when he kicked lumps out of the huns especially Alex Macdonald, RIP

13-12-2024, 09:11 PM
Was a great passer of the ball loved it when he kicked lumps out of the huns especially Alex Macdonald, RIP mickey and that twat McDonald’s had a running feud , use to love it when mickey nutmeg him a few times but McDonald’s knew he had a short fuse so use to try and kick lumps out of edwards.

13-12-2024, 09:26 PM
RIP Alex.

Only Scott Allan has the same vision and passing ability that Alex possessed. Took a hell of a lot of punishment with no protection from referees. Could hit a 50 yard pass and land it on a sixpence
To think we got him for £14000

13-12-2024, 09:34 PM
I started my working life as a Commis Chef, at Crawfords, Frederick Street. The back entrance led out to a small lane leading onto Rose Street, opposite the Auld Hundred. Mickey & Sloop turned up one afternoon at the back entrance after the pubs were out, caught short, they were looking for a toilet. As a star-struck 16-year-old, who the previous evening was at Hampden, watching Hibs book their League Cup final place, I led them up the stairs to use the staff toilets.

All my other memories were of him on the park, where he was a sublime player. The last time I saw him in a Hibs shirt was at the Crystal Palace friendly, at Selhurst Park in February 1978.

I'm blessed to have the memories. R.I.P Mickey.

Fifeshirehibs
13-12-2024, 10:49 PM
And they thought Beckham could cross a ball, nowhere near AEs class. Recall a game agin pre liquidation Edward Bears, Hibs kicked off but gave the ball to Cropley rather than Edwards, Greig who had clearly been detailed to lay one on early still hacked him down still in Hibs half, with Arthur Duncan haring down the left wing after the ball.

13-12-2024, 10:56 PM
RIP Alex.

Only Scott Allan has the same vision and passing ability that Alex possessed. Took a hell of a lot of punishment with no protection from referees. Could hit a 50 yard pass and land it on a sixpence
To think we got him for £14000
Scott Allan was on a par with Alex Edwards for passing ability and vision? Naw, not even close.

14-12-2024, 07:54 AM
Minutes silence confirmed for before the game today.

14-12-2024, 08:05 AM
Slightly before my time (i may have seen him against Partick Thistle at George Bests home debut but was really too young then to remember him) but i think Hibs fans know his reputation as a special player who deserves to be mentioned along with other true greats like Stanton, Baker and Sauzee. Rest in peace.

14-12-2024, 08:44 AM
Minutes silence confirmed for before the game today.

Absolutely gutted I am missing that.

14-12-2024, 09:54 AM
Mickey Edwards dead?
God I'm getting old.
Him and Cropley made the team tick, spreading passes all over. Players had more time on the ball then. Alex had a red mist at times and often got targeted by the opposition. RIP.

Hibiza
14-12-2024, 11:31 AM
Sad news . RIP Mickey , condolences to all.

Fanforlife
14-12-2024, 11:35 AM
Scott Allan was on a par with Alex Edwards for passing ability and vision? Naw, not even close.
👍

Donegal Hibby
14-12-2024, 11:44 AM
After watching this which I thought was a nice wee tribute to a great player “ He could drop the ball on a six pence “ ….

https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1867238230631870656

Skol
14-12-2024, 11:56 AM
I have great, albeit hazy, memories of him.

Where did the name Mickey come from. I have a feeling I used to know but have forgotten

14-12-2024, 12:07 PM

Where did the name Mickey come from. I have a feeling I used to know but have forgotten

Think it was Eric Schaedler that christened him Mickey the wee bid cage man.

14-12-2024, 12:10 PM
Not sure if anyone's posted this already, but some really lovely memories from Dunfermline fans. It reminds me that Alex had some career before joining Hibs from the Pars. Memorable European nights, Valencia, Anderlecht and winning a Scottish Cup, beating Hearts in the final (I think?).

In recent years Alex was a regular at East End Park and was clearly still adored by the fans, more than 50 years after leaving them for HIbs.

https://dafc.net/forum/read.php?f=1&i=1951083&t=1951083

14-12-2024, 12:17 PM
Very early in his Hibs career we were slaughtering Cowdenbeath (I think).Towards the end someone chipped our goalie-game was well over but Edwards raced back 30/40 yards and hooked the ball from under the bar. I realised we'd won a prize. He was disgracefully treated by referees. His booking against East Fife that led to his suspension was for throwing the ball down in exasperation when he had hurdled Love's umpteenth kick at him ,had a clear run in on goal and the ref blew for a foul.It was still 0-0 at the time so an important moment.At least we won 1-0.

14-12-2024, 12:20 PM
Just got a good mention on the much maligned Off the Ball.

14-12-2024, 01:31 PM

My memory, and this may be way off, was that someone thought he bore a resemblance to Mickey the Monkey, who was the front-page story in the Topper comic every week.

https://britishcomics.fandom.com/wiki/Mickey_the_Monkey

Or was it Mickey Rooney?

14-12-2024, 01:45 PM
My memory, and this may be way off, was that someone thought he bore a resemblance to Mickey the Monkey, who was the front-page story in the Topper comic every week.

Or was it Mickey Rooney?
Or was it because he used to take the Mickey out of the opposition.

Shetland_Hibby
14-12-2024, 02:00 PM
Very sad news. My favourite Hibs player in the Tornadoes team, his vision was exceptional and never saw a better passer of a ball. True legend.

14-12-2024, 02:03 PM
Some idiot just shouted near the end of that

14-12-2024, 02:31 PM

Or was it Mickey Rooney?

Rooney according to the Dunfermline site.

14-12-2024, 02:32 PM
Some idiot just shouted near the end of that

You've got to wonder what goes through folk's heads at times. 🙄

14-12-2024, 05:42 PM
Very early in his Hibs career we were slaughtering Cowdenbeath (I think).Towards the end someone chipped our goalie-game was well over but Edwards raced back 30/40 yards and hooked the ball from under the bar. I realised we'd won a prize. He was disgracefully treated by referees. His booking against East Fife that led to his suspension was for throwing the ball down in exasperation when he had hurdled Love's umpteenth kick at him ,had a clear run in on goal and the ref blew for a foul.It was still 0-0 at the time so an important moment.At least we won 1-0.

I remember that, it was home to Arbroath on a Wednesday night.

14-12-2024, 05:51 PM
Not sure if anyone's posted this already, but some really lovely memories from Dunfermline fans. It reminds me that Alex had some career before joining Hibs from the Pars. Memorable European nights, Valencia, Anderlecht and winning a Scottish Cup, beating Hearts in the final (I think?).

In recent years Alex was a regular at East End Park and was clearly still adored by the fans, more than 50 years after leaving them for HIbs.

https://dafc.net/forum/read.php?f=1&i=1951083&t=1951083

Lovely tributes from the Pars fans, still remembered as one of their best.

15-12-2024, 11:46 AM
Watched the sportscene highlights which showed a bit of the silence thought it was awful they never mentioned his Pars career

15-12-2024, 12:04 PM

Seems like he was called that when at Pars

15-12-2024, 12:37 PM
Watched the sportscene highlights which showed a bit of the silence thought it was awful they never mentioned his Pars career

They are amateur and would not like being reminded that he destroyed the jambos a few times both for Dunfy to win the Scottish cup v them and on that famous day 1st Jan 1973.
One of the best players that I seen both for Dunfermline and Hibs.