View Full Version : Ally Brazil retires

10-12-2024, 06:15 PM
After 21 years service, Ally Brazil is retiring from Lothian Buses.

Happy retirement Benny!

https://i.postimg.cc/kgBN4W7f/IMG-5208.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

10-12-2024, 06:21 PM
All the best Benny enjoy a well earned break in your life and happy retirement

Eaststand
10-12-2024, 06:29 PM
After 21 years service, Ally Brazil is retiring from Lothian Buses.

Happy retirement Benny!

https://i.postimg.cc/kgBN4W7f/IMG-5208.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

All the best, I hope you have for a long happy retirement 👍🇳🇬

10-12-2024, 06:31 PM
Thanks for posting this.

Wonder how Hibs.net would have viewed Ally Brazil had it been around in his day.

10-12-2024, 06:33 PM
Not many bus drivers can say they played with George Best :greengrin Happy retirement big man....

10-12-2024, 06:40 PM
Played over 360 games in his career 200 for Hibs. So must have been doing something right.

10-12-2024, 06:43 PM
Congratulations Aly and best wishes for a happy retirement

Hibs07p
10-12-2024, 06:53 PM
Did he not score a hatrick against celtc around 84/85/86, or did I imagine that?
All the best in your retirement.
GGTTH,
Scottish Cup Winners 2016

Hibs07p
10-12-2024, 06:59 PM
Did he not score a hatrick against celtc around 84/85/86, or did I imagine that?
GGTTH,

10-12-2024, 07:07 PM
GGTTH,

It was in a friendly.

10-12-2024, 07:28 PM
Another Hibs player much maligned from the terraces IIRC but always gave 100% for the cause worked his socks off and successive Managers kept picking him because of his professional attitude and versatility

Never let us down

Happy Retirement Benny

10-12-2024, 07:43 PM
Another Hibs player much maligned from the terraces IIRC but always gave 100% for the cause worked his socks off and successive Managers kept picking him because of his professional attitude and versatility

Never let us down

Happy Retirement Benny
100% this.

10-12-2024, 07:56 PM
Used to have a kick about in the park in Currie now and again with Benny when he was a flying winger.

All the best Benny.

10-12-2024, 08:04 PM
All the best Benny enjoy a well earned break in your life and happy retirement
2nd that, loved Benny in the day 👌

10-12-2024, 08:19 PM
100% effort from him in every game. Much better players than him have given less for Hibs. Must have been picked by about half a dozen managers and also u21 and u23 caps as well.

He's here!
10-12-2024, 08:35 PM
100% effort from him in every game. Much better players than him have given less for Hibs. Must have been picked by about half a dozen managers and also u21 and u23 caps as well.

Yep, got maligned largely for the way he looked and for the fact he was part of a team which wasn't as good as the Tornadoes. But he was a solid player with no little ability and who, as you say, gave his all for Hibs.

10-12-2024, 08:51 PM
Benny was ever present in the team when I first started going to ER. My sister once stuck a plasticine nose onto one of my subbuteo players and told me it as Benny! I hope he has a wonderful and long retirement!

10-12-2024, 08:53 PM
Benny was ever present in the team when I first started going to ER. My sister once stuck a plasticine nose onto one of my subbuteo players and told me it as Benny! I hope he has a wonderful and long retirement!

In the 79/80 season he played 50 of the 54 matches Hibs played that season.

10-12-2024, 08:57 PM
In the 79/80 season he played 50 of the 54 matches Hibs played that season.

how did you know that was my first season !

10-12-2024, 09:03 PM
Scored the winner in my 1st ever league game at ER. A 1-0 win over Motherwell in 1985.

10-12-2024, 11:19 PM
Used to have a kick about in the park in Currie now and again with Benny when he was a flying winger.

All the best Benny.

He used to stay next door to my Auntie in Balerno many years ago.

11-12-2024, 07:07 AM
I remember the game he played with a bandage round his head and the fans were chanting Rambo! Happy retirement Ally.

11-12-2024, 07:09 AM
Not many bus drivers can say they played with George Best :greengrin Happy retirement big man....

And scored a hat trick against Celtic. What a day that was!

11-12-2024, 07:40 AM

Never let us down

Happy Retirement BennyHappy to agree with every word of this.

Long and happy retirement Ally, last Hibs player to score a hat track against celtc.

SON OF PADDY
11-12-2024, 07:45 AM
Ally was a true professional, maybe not the most gifted of players, but always gave 100% every time he played for the hibs.
Happy retirement Benny, thanks for the memories.

adam middlemass
11-12-2024, 07:58 AM
Have a long and happy retirement Ally, gave everything for the cause. :thumbsup:

He's here!
11-12-2024, 08:15 AM
Scored the winner in my 1st ever league game at ER. A 1-0 win over Motherwell in 1985.

Lost our first five league games that season while at the same time winning our midweek League Cup games in style to reach the final. Benny finally got us our first league win on what I seem to recall being a very misty day.

11-12-2024, 08:16 AM
He used to stay next door to my Auntie in Balerno many years ago.

He’s a member of my bowls club at Currie.

11-12-2024, 08:37 AM
One of the best games i seen Benny play was in the mid 80's at Parkhead. Hibs were flirting with relegation but beat Celtic 1-0. Paul Kane (I think), scored the winner. Benny had a great game, clearing one of the line late on. I was also at the friendly game at Easter Road against Celtic when Benny scored his hatrick.

Good Luck Benny.

Bridge hibs
11-12-2024, 09:36 AM
Im sure I remember Benny scoring v Kilmarnock at the hibs end at old Rugby Park and he done a hand stand, somersault, forward roll or whatever you athletes call it 😆

11-12-2024, 09:44 AM
I bet he's glad to get that honking jumper off for good.

All the best Benny.

Bridge hibs
11-12-2024, 09:47 AM
Been on a few of his buses and always comes over as a friendly guy, Wullie Jamieson on the other hand is an arrogant prick

11-12-2024, 10:05 AM
Been on a few of his buses and always comes over as a friendly guy, Wullie Jamieson on the other hand is an arrogant prick

He did go over to the dark side IIRC

11-12-2024, 10:18 AM

He used to drive the 36 quite a lot when I got it.

Funny how it would brighten your day up to have a well known face driving the bus in the morning.

He is a friendly guy - happy retirement to him.

He's here!
11-12-2024, 10:18 AM
One of the best games i seen Benny play was in the mid 80's at Parkhead. Hibs were flirting with relegation but beat Celtic 1-0. Paul Kane (I think), scored the winner. Benny had a great game, clearing one of the line late on. I was also at the friendly game at Easter Road against Celtic when Benny scored his hatrick.

Good Luck Benny.

Benny clearing the ball off the line rings a bell but I think the one I'm thinking of was against Rangers at ER, possibly a 2-2 draw.

11-12-2024, 02:08 PM
Thanks for posting this.

Wonder how Hibs.net would have viewed Ally Brazil had it been around in his day.

He would have taken the pressure off Josh Campbell for a start.

11-12-2024, 02:28 PM
I look back on my younger days as a fan and feel very guilty at the abuse I threw at Benny, Joe T and Brian H. Don't feel as bad about the vitriol at Alex Miller. Have a great retirement Benny and it would actually be nice to see him back at ER so numpties like me could give him a clap and a thank you

11-12-2024, 02:44 PM
I look back on my younger days as a fan and feel very guilty at the abuse I threw at Benny, Joe T and Brian H. Don't feel as bad about the vitriol at Alex Miller. Have a great retirement Benny and it would actually be nice to see him back at ER so numpties like me could give him a clap and a thank you

Loved all of these guys Benny always looked as though he had an error in him but looking back cannae think of any did all the basics well got about the pitch as someone else said probably suffered because he wisnae Stanton Blackley or a McNamara Loved Joe T whipped over a mean cross but is the first to admit his confidence was shot with all the abuse Brian Hamilton you could not meet a nicer guy a water carrier everyone that played with him spoke highly of his unseen work rate remember his drive from 35 years in the league cup final that struck the upright ?

11-12-2024, 02:51 PM
Loved all of these guys Benny always looked as though he had an error in him but looking back cannae think of any did all the basics well got about the pitch as someone else said probably suffered because he wisnae Stanton Blackley or a McNamara Loved Joe T whipped over a mean cross but is the first to admit his confidence was shot with all the abuse Brian Hamilton you could not meet a nicer guy a water carrier everyone that played with him spoke highly of his unseen work rate remember his drive from 35 years in the league cup final that struck the upright ?

I remember Hamilton missing a penalty against Hearts at Easter rd , Well struck with plenty power but Henry Smith bloody tipped it over !!

Absolutely battered Hearts from minute 1 from pillar to post but it ended 0-0, Honestly it was one of those games you walk away saying how the **** did we not win that !! And to this day Hearts are still spawny bassas !

That was during 22 in a row and looking back we defo should have won a fair few of those drawn games

11-12-2024, 02:54 PM
I remember Hamilton missing a penalty against Hearts at Easter rd , Well struck with plenty power but Henry Smith bloody tipped it over !!

Absolutely battered Hearts from minute 1 from pillar to post but it ended 0-0, Honestly it was one of those games you walk away saying how the **** did we not win that !! And to this day Hearts are still spawny bassas !

That was during 22 in a row and looking back we defo should have won a fair few of those drawn games
Aye that was the one where Henry spent prematch studying the programme that had a diagram of where he struck last week’s penalty 😀

11-12-2024, 02:58 PM
Aye that was the one where Henry spent prematch studying the programme that had a diagram of where he struck last week’s penalty 😀

Yip Billy that's the one !

11-12-2024, 03:54 PM

The wisdom of age would likely lead me to the same conclusions but I was a very young supporter back there and probably joined in with what I heard all the the older crew were saying.

11-12-2024, 04:08 PM
The wisdom of age would likely lead me to the same conclusions but I was a very young supporter back there and probably joined in with what I heard all the the older crew were saying.

Was young as well never joined in with abusing Benny but always thought he was dodgy maybe his running style never joined in with Joe T always liked him felt sorry for him Brian Hamilton I was meh ! Never noticed him I was looking at Keef ! Keef! Keef! Wee Mickey or Pat McGinlay never noticed Murdo either not a bad thing

Now Josh Campbell……😂

Wull
11-12-2024, 04:23 PM
Happy retirement Benny, I remember he scored a beauty late 70’s midweek against Meadowbank in Scottish cup cauld snowey night, made it worth the effort to go.

11-12-2024, 04:59 PM
Happy retirement Benny can’t mind a lot of Him think he was at Hamilton when my old man first took me to ER think Caughey and Fulton as well

He's here!
11-12-2024, 05:03 PM

I remember a game at Tannadice where he insisted on playing despite being one of several players who'd gone down with the flu. Pretty sure he scored as well. Sound player who, like Benny, rarely put a foot wrong.

Tortolano had a lot of ability on his day, but as you say the flak got to him. Still managed to make well over 200 appearances for Hibs so, like the other two, must have been doing something right. I recall him once flying up the wing at Dens and delivering a terrific cross for Archibald to score a late winner and spark bedlam on the old terraced away end.

He's here!
11-12-2024, 09:19 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3dnjVnxaLI

Benny thwarts Davie Cooper...4 minutes in.

Silky
11-12-2024, 10:08 PM
Wullie Jamieson on the other hand is an arrogant prick

Most people I've met who call themselves Wullie tend to be!

12-12-2024, 05:35 AM

Good Luck Benny.

Live on the telly Sunday match? It was the first time that the away end was cut in half and I ended up in the wrong side. We got escorted to the our side for our own safety when Keano scored ‘🤣🤣

leith lynx
12-12-2024, 08:51 AM

All the best Benny.

Nice one....
Best wishes for the future Ally.

He's here!
12-12-2024, 10:25 AM
Live on the telly Sunday match? It was the first time that the away end was cut in half and I ended up in the wrong side. We got escorted to the our side for our own safety when Keano scored ‘🤣🤣

Don't think Sunday TV matches were a thing at that time.

Wish it had stayed that way. Never liked Sunday fitba.

Jock O
12-12-2024, 10:30 AM

Didn't Ally lose us a late goal v Dundee Utd cup match when he should have booted the ball out but left it and they equalised or won? Long time ago.

I always quite liked him, as you said he looked error prone but was a solid enough player for a number of years. Another that achieved what most people could only dream of to be fair. Often wonder how guys like him and Gordon Rae, who I loved at time, would cope in today's game

12-12-2024, 12:07 PM
Didn't Ally lose us a late goal v Dundee Utd cup match when he should have booted the ball out but left it and they equalised or won? Long time ago.

I always quite liked him, as you said he looked error prone but was a solid enough player for a number of years. Another that achieved what most people could only dream of to be fair. Often wonder how guys like him and Gordon Rae, who I loved at time, would cope in today's game

I'm sure that was a cup replay at ER as we had drawn at Tannadice. Last couple of minutes and he tried to pass it back to the keeper but ended up putting it out for a corner. Utd equalised from the corner and we got pumped in the 2nd replay

12-12-2024, 01:57 PM
I'm sure that was a cup replay at ER as we had drawn at Tannadice. Last couple of minutes and he tried to pass it back to the keeper but ended up putting it out for a corner. Utd equalised from the corner and we got pumped in the 2nd replay

Yes it was they scored about 99 mins or so. Got gubbed 3 0 in the second replay

leith lynx
12-12-2024, 02:49 PM
Was there any truth in the rumour that Ally was a Hearts supporter?

He's here!
12-12-2024, 04:22 PM
Was there any truth in the rumour that Ally was a Hearts supporter?

Brought up in Currie and as a kid watched Hearts who signed him on an S form. He saw the light though and opted for a contract with Hibs rather than being farmed out to the Juniors. I remember reading Hearts weren't happy.

Definitely a Hibby ever since.

He's here!
12-12-2024, 04:24 PM

All the best Benny.

He got asked about the 'maroon' jumper in an interview a few years back and replied 'I think you'll find it's burgundy'.

12-12-2024, 05:42 PM
Retirement is brilliant Benny, enjoy it

12-12-2024, 05:47 PM
He got asked about the 'maroon' jumper in an interview a few years back and replied 'I think you'll find it's burgundy'.
I'd deny it too in his shoes, fequin nasty color.

12-12-2024, 06:04 PM
Makes me feel really old. I taught Ally as 14 yr old, when I worked at Curry High School way when.

AltheHibby
14-12-2024, 05:52 AM
Playing for Hibs then driving for Britain's best bus company? A life well spent if you ask me.

Happy, well-earned retirement Benny.

14-12-2024, 08:21 AM

Don't think it was live on telly, was on Sportscene later that night with Archie McPherson commentating. The last 10 minutes seemed to last for ever. We were in the front stand opposite "the jungle" with a few other Hibbies dotted around, and we didn't hide it when Hibs scored, or at full time. I don't know how the result affected Celtic but the fans were very gracious, complementing us on our win and hoping we stayed up, that doesn't happen very often after a win in Glasgow.

14-12-2024, 08:24 AM

I think he was actually trying to boot it into the back row of the stand but sliced it out for a corner. Classic Benny!

14-12-2024, 09:53 AM

Remember that game. Think it was a foggy day. We were flying in the League Cup - Cowan and Durie on fire - but were toiling badly in the League. Benny to the rescue.

Edit - I see He’s Here has already posted the same. So no memory tricks at least.

29-12-2024, 07:36 PM
A surprise day out at Easter Road today to celebrate the occasion.

https://x.com/alanbrazil_/status/1873453324973772903?s=61

29-12-2024, 09:04 PM
A surprise day out at Easter Road today to celebrate the occasion.

https://x.com/alanbrazil_/status/1873453324973772903?s=61

Great stuff 🙌

30-12-2024, 11:31 AM
He was a players favourite for his hard work and winning the ball back and giving it to a Hibs player.

30-12-2024, 03:17 PM
He was a players favourite for his hard work and winning the ball back and giving it to a Hibs player.Eventually. For a few years he had the misfortune to have something slapstick happen to him every game. Saw him kick himself in the face one time. Took loads of stick. Have to say for the two seasons GOD was manager he was a very useful midfielder to Hibs, made himself hard to play against and was good as a DM.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

ben johnson
31-12-2024, 11:26 AM
Makes me feel really old. I taught Ally as 14 yr old, when I worked at Curry High School way when.

Must do better. Slack work
It’s Currie High School. If you taught him then you also taught me in the same class.

31-12-2024, 11:28 AM

Just noticed this. You might have had the misfortune of teaching me as well although he was in the year below me.

itslegaltender
31-12-2024, 11:50 AM
Benny coached me and others at Deanpark Athletic in the early to mid 80's. Was a lovely guy and remember him taking a lot of time to go through training drills with us. Happy Retirement!

31-12-2024, 12:01 PM
Must do better. Slack work
It’s Currie High School. If you taught him then you also taught me in the same class.

Just noticed this. You might have had the misfortune of teaching me as well although he was in the year below me.

Apologies :greengrin bloody teacher……. cannae spell. If I remember correctly, Ally was either in my art class or register group. The name Ben Johnson sounds familiar, but I suppose there’s been a few famous Ben Johnsons. I remember a few years later, Ian Westwater was at Currie HS. I used to help out with the second year football team and Ian, great wee keeper, often saved them from a few hammerings.
There were also a few top golfers during my time there ….. Andrew Oldcorn and Ewen Murray spring to mind.

31-12-2024, 12:55 PM
Apologies :greengrin bloody teacher……. cannae spell. If I remember correctly, Ally was either in my art class or register group. The name Ben Johnson sounds familiar, but I suppose there’s been a few famous Ben Johnsons. I remember a few years later, Ian Westwater was at Currie HS. I used to help out with the second year football team and Ian, great wee keeper, often saved them from a few hammerings.
There were also a few top golfers during my time there ….. Andrew Oldcorn and Ewen Murray spring to mind.

David Matthew was another good golfer although the polar opposite of Andy and Ewan! Graeme Marshall played rugby for Scotland as well. And Paul Donnelly played for Partick and Dunfermline.

Think you taught me art...hopeless task!