View Full Version : Watching the Derby in Edinburgh
I’ll be up in Edinburgh for Christmas so I’ll want to watch the Hearts - Hibs game.
What Hibs oriented pubs are good for watching the game?
08-12-2024, 08:50 AM
I’ll be up in Edinburgh for Christmas so I’ll want to watch the Hearts - Hibs game.
Harp and castle leith walk. Hibs club also if you know any members
OstKurve Hibs
08-12-2024, 09:29 AM
Think we'll be heading for the harp and castle aswell. Be mobbed in there normally for a derby but even more so wi it being boxing day aswell.
Is that the only two left we'd call proper hibs pubs now, harp and castl amd hibs club ?
I know theres a few dissappear last few yrs, the albion bar, the four in hand and the nip gone aswell and Middletons was up for sale/let last time I was on easter rd itself.
JasonC1875
08-12-2024, 09:32 AM
Big screen in Robbie’s.
08-12-2024, 10:17 AM
Think we'll be heading for the harp and castle aswell. Be mobbed in there normally for a derby but even more so wi it being boxing day aswell.
Is that the only two left we'd call proper hibs pubs now, harp and castl amd hibs club ?
I know theres a few dissappear last few yrs, the albion bar, the four in hand and the nip gone aswell and Middletons was up for sale/let last time I was on easter rd itself.
Tamsons and the Iona still hanging on in there as well.
Problem is pubs just can't sustain themselves on a busy weekend every other week. People bemoan the lack of traditional pubs but if we used them and they were viable they wouldn't be closing or shifting the market they are targeting.
08-12-2024, 10:20 AM
Problem is pubs just can't sustain themselves on a busy weekend every other week. People bemoan the lack of traditional pubs but if we used them and they were viable they wouldn't be closing or shifting the market they are targeting.
Exactly but with the price of pints these days people can't afford it anymore.
08-12-2024, 10:54 AM
Exactly but with the price of pints these days people can't afford it anymore.
And paying £15 minimum for 🐟 & 🍟 or a 🍔 & 🍟.
Unfortunately the cost for everything is through the roof.
08-12-2024, 10:57 AM
Alhambra for us.
08-12-2024, 12:20 PM
Alhambra for us.
Will they show the game in Spain?
08-12-2024, 12:32 PM
Lol, what a hoot. 🙄
08-12-2024, 12:49 PM
Lol, what a hoot. 🙄
Oh cheer up, it's Christmas 🎄
08-12-2024, 01:16 PM
Aye it's on Granada over there.
(One for the kids.)
08-12-2024, 01:21 PM
Aye it's on Granada over there.
(One for the kids.)
Is that where you rented your TV from? (Also one for the kids)
OstKurve Hibs
08-12-2024, 01:25 PM
Forgot about those two, ionas a decent boozer, years since I've been in tamsons, couldnae swing a cat in there tho if a mind right.
Is the tor still there ? Sure a read that had became a bistro cafe.
08-12-2024, 01:45 PM
Oh cheer up, it's Christmas 🎄
If you check out the pet peeves page, you'll see why I wasn't feeling too festive. ☺️
08-12-2024, 01:48 PM
Forgot about those two, ionas a decent boozer, years since I've been in tamsons, couldnae swing a cat in there tho if a mind right.
Is the tor still there ? Sure a read that had became a bistro cafe.
I was last in the Tor after the Proclaimers gig on Leith Links 18 months or so ago. Not sure if it has closed since.
Iona is my pre match boozer of choice. Was always Tamsons with my Grandad when I was a bairn. Seat in the back room with juice and crisps and told to be quiet and keep out the way. That was an upgrade on my mum who said her 'scenery' of Scotland as a child was standing outside pubs near football grounds. Changed days with how child friendly so many pubs are now.
08-12-2024, 01:49 PM
Is that where you rented your TV from? (Also one for the kids)
Any more of these puns and I will go Radio Rental
08-12-2024, 01:51 PM
I was last in the Tor after the Proclaimers gig on Leith Links 18 months or so ago. Not sure if it has closed since.
Aye, it closed reasonably recently, not sure if the café part remains open. 🤔
Hibs3-2
08-12-2024, 02:03 PM
Harp & Castle
Hibs club
Iona bar
Tamsons
Malones leith
Gladstones
Robbies
08-12-2024, 02:05 PM
What about the Artisan or the Ballroom?
NthCarolinaHibs
08-12-2024, 02:08 PM
No Sky TV in Iona these days.. 🥲
08-12-2024, 04:12 PM
What about the Artisan or the Ballroom?
Artisan should be fine
11-12-2024, 06:40 AM
Behind the Goals is open.
Tickets can be purchased on Hibs website.
11-12-2024, 07:10 AM
Malones Leith & Haymarket.....Haymarket is ticketed I think.
gorgie greens
13-12-2024, 03:22 AM
Malones Leith & Haymarket.....Haymarket is ticketed I think.
Pretty sure Mallones is £7.50 a ticket to get in on boxing day,
Manager tells everyone it's a Celtic pub so they can do one for me
13-12-2024, 07:03 AM
Pretty sure Mallones is £7.50 a ticket to get in on boxing day,
Manager tells everyone it's a Celtic pub so they can do one for me
It is.
We looked at opening times for going pre match and saw the charge, no chance I'm paying £7.50 to get in to 'Bar O'Themes' for an hour and a half.
Platform 5 is open early so will just head there. Easier to get into than the Roseburn and it does the job.
13-12-2024, 07:10 AM
Cask and Barrel on Broughton Street surely a good bet. Also do great, no nonsense bar food.
Their other bar, in Southside is good for watching but don’t do bar food.
Gloucester Hibs
13-12-2024, 07:22 AM
The Persevere would be my shout for watching the derby on Easter Road, think it's the only boozer left on ER that still has Sky Sports. Decent scran and a decent choice of pintage too. :party: