View Full Version : The fan experience of old compared to now

07-12-2024, 10:36 PM
Saw this photo on social media tonight - East Terracing at Hampden Park 1968. Scotland v England.

Open terraces and wading through mud. Fans didn’t seem to mind though as 134,000 turned up on a winter afternoon in February to watch!

You wouldn’t have been digging out the white trainers for these occasions that’s for sure..

https://i.postimg.cc/xCZDLcTy/IMG-5183.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

badabing67
07-12-2024, 11:38 PM
I could be wrong but I don't think that is mud, it's waste coal ash from power stations that was used back in the day. I always thought the old ash terraces were better when they were wet because when they were dry when you scored the dust cloud that was created were absolutely chocking. The experience between now and then is night and day.

08-12-2024, 08:13 AM
I could be wrong but I don't think that is mud, it's waste coal ash from power stations that was used back in the day. I always thought the old ash terraces were better when they were wet because when they were dry when you scored the dust cloud that was created were absolutely chocking. The experience between now and then is night and day.
The old "Rangers End" at Hampden was brutal for this.

I vaguely remember Scotland games where you couldn't see anything for about ten minutes after a goal.

08-12-2024, 08:32 AM
Couldn't believe how bad Hampden was when I went to my first visit in the 60s,the terracing was a mess. Some junior grounds had concrete terracing at that time but the national stadium was like going back in time to the 1920s.

08-12-2024, 08:40 AM
Couldn't believe how bad Hampden was when I went to my first visit in the 60s,the terracing was a mess. Some junior grounds had concrete terracing at that time but the national stadium was like going back in time to the 1920s.

I first visited Hampden in the early 80s and my first thought was that it was just a larger version of Cliftonhill.

The clouds of red dust floating about above the terracing was just weird.

Bridge hibs
08-12-2024, 09:24 AM
I first visited Hampden in the early 80s and my first thought was that it was just a larger version of Cliftonhill.

The clouds of red dust floating about above the terracing was just weird.I could be wrong but Im sure I remember the hibs end v rangers in the 1979 scottish cup final was old railway sleepers or pre cast concrete compacted with some ash or whin dust and it was messy as **** with dust everywhere.

Still beats the sterile all seated mechano efforts like we have today 😀

08-12-2024, 09:41 AM
I could be wrong but Im sure I remember the hibs end v rangers in the 1979 scottish cup final was old railway sleepers or pre cast concrete compacted with some ash or whin dust and it was messy as **** with dust everywhere.

Still beats the sterile all seated mechano efforts like we have today 😀
The Ash was like a sponge so it soaked up the p1sh.

Bridge hibs
08-12-2024, 10:08 AM
The Ash was like a sponge so it soaked up the p1sh.

Yeah I remember my wedgers being caked in a clarty soggy mess

For the young uns - Wedgers ��

08-12-2024, 10:37 AM
I remember when Alan Gordon equalised in the 6-1 drubbing the cloud off ash in the rangers end was unreal. Hampden was a right midden back then and it’s not at lot better now.

08-12-2024, 10:44 AM
I remember when Alan Gordon equalised in the 6-1 drubbing the cloud off ash in the rangers end was unreal. Hampden was a right midden back then and it’s not at lot better now.I was there as a kid, first big cup final and when he equalised I thought we'd win it[emoji849]

Remember the grotty terracing still.

Decades later I was lucky enough to buy the press photo of that actual goal and also used to see the great man from time to time in mathers bar when we both worked nearby.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20241208/1214de35d6c38f4e98c86464f5cd0c6f.jpg

08-12-2024, 10:51 AM
I was there as a kid, first big cup final and when he equalised I thought we'd win it[emoji849]

Decades later I was lucky enough to buy the press photo of that actual goal and also used to see the great man from time to time in mathers bar when we both worked nearby.

Sent from my SM-A750FN using Tapatalk brilliant photo that also I remember a guy standing in front off me with his young lad sitting on the barrier and the young lad was so excited before the game .It’s just something that stuck in my brain since then, maybe that was you with your dad.

08-12-2024, 11:00 AM
brilliant photo that also I remember a guy standing in front off me with his young lad sitting on the barrier and the young lad was so excited before the game .It’s just something that stuck in my brain since then, maybe that was you with your dad.Believe it or not, I was taken to the game on a Hibs supporters bus by my uncle who was a diehard Jambo. He even wore a maroon jacket to the game. Changed days[emoji846]

08-12-2024, 11:16 AM
I remember when Alan Gordon equalised in the 6-1 drubbing the cloud off ash in the rangers end was unreal. Hampden was a right midden back then and it’s not at lot better now.

I was in the Rangers End jumping about like a radge being ignored by everyone
Pretty sure everyone around about me were Celtic No segregation

Anyways then and now night and day

Remember the crushing only took one person to slip ?

You couldn’t even go the toilet too far away and difficult to get to and no Ladies Most folk just did the toilet where they stood and everyone took their own cairyoots

Era Wrigley Spearmint and ra Macaroon Bars

Offishul Souvenir Programme !

08-12-2024, 11:34 AM
The photo was from the Euro ‘68 Qualifiers v England on Sat 24th Feb 1968. Martin Peters and John Hughes the goal scorers.

The qualifying seemed to incorporate the Home Internationals with our group being England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and England qualified with Scotland finishing a point behind.

https://youtu.be/DHlyFdNu6YA?si=sAu4WlVpwRql179X

DIXIHIBS
08-12-2024, 11:48 AM
I remember coming back from games at Hampden in mid 70s caked in mud...I don't think my parents believed where I had been!! Of course stadiums are better now with better facilities but I loved it back then (maybe an age thing).The excitement of being in a crowd of 100k was unbeatable. 40k plus in ER was pretty special too. I'll put my rose tinted specs away now...

08-12-2024, 11:50 AM
At Hampden at the 1972 final celtic fans climbed up onto the rafters underneath the roof of the mount florida end not to get better view but to throw things down onto a section of Hibs fans. Like you Billy I was in the mount florida end surrounded by Celtic fans. The Celtic fans beside us apologised for their fans who were chucking bottles at our fans that day. You could go to games in those days stand beside Celtic and Hearts fans and have banter and no trouble, Rangers fans were different animals.

08-12-2024, 11:53 AM
At Hampden at the 1972 final celtic fans climbed up onto the rafters underneath the roof of the mount florida end not to get better view but to throw things down onto a section of Hibs fans. Like you Billy I was in the mount florida end surrounded by Celtic fans. The Celtic fans beside us apologised for their fans who were chucking bottles at our fans that day. You could go to games in those days stand beside Celtic and Hearts fans and have banter and no trouble, Rangers fans were different animals.
No sure about Celtic fans being okay as remember the Bobby duncan broken leg game massive battles in the shed and I ended up on the pitch with a few hundred more fans, it was mayhem and the derbies no much better bottles and cans getting tossed at each other.

08-12-2024, 12:00 PM
No sure about Celtic fans being okay as remember the Bobby duncan broken leg game massive battles in the shed and I ended up on the pitch with a few hundred more fans, it was mayhem and the derbies no much better bottles and cans getting tossed at each other.

CS Gas canister was a hoot !

08-12-2024, 12:04 PM
Yeh was at that game as well how did I forget that.

08-12-2024, 12:13 PM
It depended on where you stood on the terracing in those days. Started to get nasty in the early 70s. Was highlighting that you could stand beside opposition fans with no issues. There was trouble in the cave and covered terracing at Tiny but no issues elsewhere on the terracing.
I ended up on the pitch at the CS gas game, so have no time for either of the old firm fans.

08-12-2024, 01:33 PM
Did Hampden not have square goal posts when everyone else changed to round ones. Sure it was mentioned in reports of European Cup final between Bayern and St Eitenne in the mid 70s.

Tom Hart RIP
08-12-2024, 02:33 PM
72 was also my first final.
A Celtic supporting friend of my old man offered to take me and I spent the weeks before the game worrying that he'd want to leave early and I'd miss Pat lifting the cup,
Then a couple of days before the final he had a heart attack and died.I was devastated until my dad offered to take me.
That was his one and only football match.
We went into the Rangers end but there were plenty of Celtic fans around.
I remember the pre match entertainment was a race involving young girls and can still remember the look on my dad's face at some of the comments from the Celtic fans near us about what they'd like to do to the lassies.
We left at 5-1 but as we were walking up the passageway a Celtic fan stopped us and told me not to be upset. He said he'd been to the semi-final and what a great team Hibs had.
He (and Eddie Turnbull) said we'd be back at Hampden soon and we were. Three finals in just over a year and we won them all.
Apparently on the road back the radio forecast thunder and lightening and i said I hoped it would hit Dixie Deans.
106,000 there that day.

08-12-2024, 02:43 PM
Did Hampden not have square goal posts when everyone else changed to round ones. Sure it was mentioned in reports of European Cup final between Bayern and St Eitenne in the mid 70s.

Aye.

08-12-2024, 04:35 PM
What you used to see in 60s and 70s was people being carried out on stretchers either
having been injured or blind drunk. Also the police arresting and marching people out the ground around the pitch. Funniest one was the female Rangers supporter being marched out of the stadium at Easter Road, boy did she give them a hard time.

pollution
08-12-2024, 06:17 PM

Despite the mud/ash how come all the shoes on the ledge are clean and shiny in some cases ?

Initially it looked like a staged advert for shoe polish.....

08-12-2024, 06:18 PM
What you used to see in 60s and 70s was people being carried out on stretchers either
having been injured or blind drunk. Also the police arresting and marching people out the ground around the pitch. Funniest one was the female Rangers supporter being marched out of the stadium at Easter Road, boy did she give them a hard time.

And the little blue three-wheeler cars for the disabled.

babahibs
08-12-2024, 06:31 PM

The cannister landed at my feet, absolute carnage.
How there wasn't more serious injuries or even loss of life that day is a miracle.

08-12-2024, 06:37 PM
I was there as a kid, first big cup final and when he equalised I thought we'd win it[emoji849]

Yes i thought we would win it also 😄

08-12-2024, 06:41 PM
I was in the Rangers End jumping about like a radge being ignored by everyone
Pretty sure everyone around about me were Celtic No segregation

Anyways then and now night and day

Remember the crushing only took one person to slip ?

You couldn’t even go the toilet too far away and difficult to get to and no Ladies Most folk just did the toilet where they stood and everyone took their own cairyoots

Era Wrigley Spearmint and ra Macaroon Bars

Offishul Souvenir Programme !

I was in that end as well. The "Best fans in the world" were on either side of a huge bank of Hibs fans. They started throwing bottles up at the stanchions and the shattered glass rained down on the Hibs fans in the middle.

In the next two finals that year, Hibs reversed the defeat, the fans reversed things on the terracing, and it was the Celtic fans who were caught in the middle.

08-12-2024, 06:43 PM
72 was also my first final.
A Celtic supporting friend of my old man offered to take me and I spent the weeks before the game worrying that he'd want to leave early and I'd miss Pat lifting the cup,
Then a couple of days before the final he had a heart attack and died.I was devastated until my dad offered to take me.
That was his one and only football match.
We went into the Rangers end but there were plenty of Celtic fans around.
I remember the pre match entertainment was a race involving young girls and can still remember the look on my dad's face at some of the comments from the Celtic fans near us about what they'd like to do to the lassies.
We left at 5-1 but as we were walking up the passageway a Celtic fan stopped us and told me not to be upset. He said he'd been to the semi-final and what a great team Hibs had.
He (and Eddie Turnbull) said we'd be back at Hampden soon and we were. Three finals in just over a year and we won them all.
Apparently on the road back the radio forecast thunder and lightening and i said I hoped it would hit Dixie Deans.
106,000 there that day.

I was about ten and kept getting given coins by older Celtic fans every time they scored. Was a nightmare and broken hearted at the end of it. :boo hoo:

ErinGoBraghHFC
08-12-2024, 07:01 PM
Yeah I remember my wedgers being caked in a clarty soggy mess

For the young uns - Wedgers ��

Jesus, I’m sorry to hear that (you wore those)

08-12-2024, 07:35 PM

Think St Etienne bought them and put them in their club museum, although that's maybe an urban myth.

Bridge hibs
08-12-2024, 07:50 PM
Jesus, I’m sorry to hear that (you wore those)

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI wasnt blessed with height as a 14 year old so they done me fine for Hampden

08-12-2024, 08:32 PM
I wasnt blessed with height as a 14 year old so they done me fine for Hampden

Must have been difficult to stand on top of upturned beer cans with those on.

ErinGoBraghHFC
08-12-2024, 08:39 PM
I wasnt blessed with height as a 14 year old so they done me fine for Hampden

I’m not blessed with height as a 24 year old but Wallabees do me fine [emoji16]

08-12-2024, 08:55 PM
Must have been difficult to stand on top of upturned beer cans with those on.

Those shoes would crush anything in their way. I was more a “platforms” man

Bridge hibs
08-12-2024, 09:01 PM

Yeah nothing got in the way of the old “beetle crushers”

08-12-2024, 09:05 PM

Had a pair of black brothel creepers for the football in those days.

Yorkshire HFC
09-12-2024, 07:06 AM
I'm glad I experienced the 70s and 80s as a teenager - I wouldn't put up with those conditions now.

09-12-2024, 07:21 AM
Had a builders helmet in the club colours to deflect the flying boatils

Bridge hibs
09-12-2024, 08:05 AM
I'm glad I experienced the 70s and 80s as a teenager - I wouldn't put up with those conditions now.

We didnt know anything else though, grim stadia was part and parcel of the match day experience. Health and safety was non existent back then and moreso infection control, some of those so called toilets were absolutely beyond disgusting, in fact most couldnt be classed as toilets, they were just green pish stinking walls with a trough channel at your feet which were more often or not overflowing, thats where my “wedgers” came in handy.

Oh and lets not forget the “boaby watchers” I ****ing hated going to the bogs and unleashing my tinkle to have a winkle and being ogled by fat alcohol fuelled men.

Did fans actually go for a **** at games in those days ? I can imagine due to the vile cludgies there would be a fair few fans doing the crab walk after 😳

09-12-2024, 08:58 AM
When the put the cover on the East it felt like a big stadium upgrade - even with the pillars!

09-12-2024, 09:26 AM
My first trip to Hampden was for the first semi final in 72 vs the Huns. We were in the old north stand. As soon as you were through the turnstiles you were wading in wee. Everybody seemed to get in, find a space on the outside wall and then p*** on it.

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

09-12-2024, 10:09 AM
Green tinted specs on here but that 1-6 final could easily have been 5-6 we molocated them second half threw the kitchen sink at them but left the back door open :greengrin

‘We will be back’ Eddie Turnbull

09-12-2024, 10:47 AM
Green tinted specs on here but that 1-6 final could easily have been 5-6 we molocated them second half threw the kitchen sink at them but left the back door open :greengrin

‘We will be back’ Eddie Turnbull

So we didn't take our chances and were leaky at the back. The more things change, the more they stay the same eh

09-12-2024, 11:05 AM
My first trip to Hampden was for the first semi final in 72 vs the Huns. We were in the old north stand. As soon as you were through the turnstiles you were wading in wee. Everybody seemed to get in, find a space on the outside wall and then p*** on it.

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
Was in there for the replay so can concur. Saw a Rangers fan in the queue with his greyhound dog. There used to be dogs running onto the pitches in the 70s.when it happened at Easter Road it was greeted with shouts of John Greig or Colin Stein.

09-12-2024, 12:13 PM
Classic archive footage of the 1972 Cup Final ( ignore title ) gives you a birds eye view of what conditions were really like for the average fan

https://youtu.be/PcqvOBs0V8o?si=KQNTmXTYU8uSZmN9

09-12-2024, 02:05 PM

Or the wee 3 wheeler disabled cars parked behind goals.

09-12-2024, 02:07 PM
And the little blue three-wheeler cars for the disabled.

Just mentioned that, they need to bring that back for disabled drivers. :greengrin

09-12-2024, 02:11 PM
Stadiums always seemed to have about a 1000 steps just to get up to the ground, getting a push through at the turnstiles and the smell of pish was overwhelming. The days eh.

Bridge hibs
09-12-2024, 02:12 PM
Just mentioned that, they need to bring that back for disabled drivers. :greengrin

Can you imagine trying to squeeze them around the tiny pitch at tiny

09-12-2024, 02:38 PM
Can you imagine trying to squeeze them around the tiny pitch at tiny

They used to have them Shades was struggling for room to take his long throw for the first at 0-7 😀

09-12-2024, 03:07 PM
They used to have them Shades was struggling for room to take his long throw for the first [emoji3]Best, biggest, most atmospheric parking space at the side of a pitch anywhere in the world.

09-12-2024, 03:10 PM
Best, biggest, most atmospheric parking space at the side of a pitch anywhere in the world.

But can you see the Castle ?

09-12-2024, 03:13 PM
But can you see the Castle ?No, but surely an unrivalled view of the finest, most atmospheric Marley roof tiles on a school roof anywhere in the world beats that?

09-12-2024, 03:17 PM
No, but surely an unrivalled view of the finest, most atmospheric Marley roof tiles on a school roof anywhere in the world beats that?

Not forgetting the pong from the Distillery the reek o pish from the bogs interspersed with the smell o baccy and stale alcohol not forgetting the pickpockets

Oh for bygone days

The craic was good though

09-12-2024, 03:21 PM
Not forgetting the pong from the Distillery the reek o pish from the bogs interspersed with the smell o baccy and stale alcohol not forgetting the pickpockets

Oh for bygone days

The craic was good though[emoji23]

Aye, and getting crushed into MacLeod street as the polis horses forced you down the channel and into the death trap tiny turnstiles.

09-12-2024, 03:25 PM

Oh for bygone days

https://i.postimg.cc/QM2rWmBV/IMG-5198.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

09-12-2024, 03:29 PM
Best, biggest, most atmospheric parking space at the side of a pitch anywhere in the world.

Bigliest and best home derby defeat in football history! Hearts do everything bigger!

Bridge hibs
09-12-2024, 03:29 PM
Ive found a pic of the Invicars at Tiny wee Tinycastle, it was even tight at Tiny back in days of yore 🫣 28339

09-12-2024, 03:31 PM
Ive found a pic of the Invicars at Tiny wee Tinycastle, it was even tight at Tiny back in days of yore 🫣 28339[emoji16] Is that the new megastand in the background? Looks atmospheric.

09-12-2024, 03:34 PM
[emoji23]

Aye, and getting crushed into MacLeod street as the polis horses forced you down the channel and into the death trap tiny turnstiles.

The Gorgie Road end was worse tiny turnstiles. Who could forget the Al fresco toilet at the top of the Gorgie Road end sure some of the flat owners could see in. Remember the halftime scoreboard at Easter Road, you had to buy a programme to see the letters that corresponded to what fixture. I had a radio with earphone and would notice how many times the wrong half time scores were put up. Does anyone remember the guy walking round with the blackboard with the lucky numbers draw.

09-12-2024, 03:34 PM

09-12-2024, 03:38 PM
The Gorgie Road end was worse tiny turnstiles. Who could forget the Al fresco toilet at the top of the Gorgie Road end sure some of the flat owners could see in. Remember the halftime scoreboard at Easter Road, you had to buy a programme to see the letters that corresponded to what fixture. I had a radio with earphone and would notice how many times the wrong half time scores were put up. Does anyone remember the guy walking round with the blackboard with the lucky numbers draw.

Yes, because my programme won £2. Would have been 2 guineas at Tiny, probably, as they do everything biglier, but I was happy enough. Rich!

09-12-2024, 03:41 PM

Yep, remember all that, the scoreboard on a windy day wasn't the place to be

09-12-2024, 03:43 PM
Yes, because my programme won £2. Would have been 2 guineas at Tiny, probably, as they do everything biglier, but I was happy enough. Rich!But at Easter Road the winner didn't need a can opener to get into the collection tin to collect their "prize".

09-12-2024, 03:43 PM
Yes, because my programme won £2. Would have been 2 guineas at Tiny, probably, as they do everything biglier, but I was happy enough. Rich!

Bought a programme every home game for about 5 years never won a bean.

09-12-2024, 03:44 PM

Can still remember the murmurs roond the ground D04 for the Celtic v Partick League Cup Final halftime score

The auld boy wi the blackboard with the Lucky Programme Number at halftime used to get all things thrown at him when the animals were in town

Anyone remember the ball boys getting kitted oot wi Hun tracksuits for their own safety �� ?

09-12-2024, 03:52 PM
Who could forget as a spectator being able to change ends at half time at a lot of stadiums .

Bridge hibs
09-12-2024, 03:55 PM
Who could forget as a spectator being able to change ends at half time at a lot of stadiums .

Last time I done that was at the old Love Street where we walked around behind the old main stand

Bridge hibs
09-12-2024, 04:02 PM
Hearts v Dundee on Saturday 28340

09-12-2024, 04:02 PM
This thread reminds me of the monty python sketch were the successful businessmen are going on about how hard life was in the past exaggerating and coming up with extreme hardships and the last line in the sketch was you try telling the youngsters today they won't believe you. In this case everything in this thread is true.

LUXURY

09-12-2024, 04:20 PM

The underground bogs at the school end were worse. There was always the fear that if you went in there you would never get oot.

09-12-2024, 04:25 PM
The Hearts End at half time 0-7

https://i.ibb.co/MPjnLhx/E406837-A-7-BCF-4-CB0-95-C7-3677-A449-FFE1.jpg (https://ibb.co/6DpY5Z7)

Bridge hibs
09-12-2024, 04:31 PM
The Hearts End at half time 0-7

https://i.ibb.co/MPjnLhx/E406837-A-7-BCF-4-CB0-95-C7-3677-A449-FFE1.jpg (https://ibb.co/6DpY5Z7)

🤣

10-12-2024, 05:49 AM

Oh for bygone days

It was the signage warning to “Beware of Pickpockets” that impressed me
Only ever saw that at tynecastle. Who’d have thought they’d eventually pick the pockets of The Lady Haig Poppy Fund?

10-12-2024, 08:10 AM
This thread reminds me of the monty python sketch were the successful businessmen are going on about how hard life was in the past exaggerating and coming up with extreme hardships and the last line in the sketch was you try telling the youngsters today they won't believe you. In this case everything in this thread is true.

LUXURYMacaroon bars and spearmint chewing gum?

Luxury, we used to have to eat gravel.

10-12-2024, 08:23 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/QM2rWmBV/IMG-5198.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

The pee used to run down the slopes

ChilliEater
10-12-2024, 10:29 AM

If my memory serves me right, the last game with the square posts (and bar) was the 0-0 draw with England in 1987. Think we hit the bar (Charlie Nicholas maybe?) and talk afterwards was that if they'd changed the posts before the game it might have gone in rather than out.

10-12-2024, 10:33 AM
It was the signage warning to “Beware of Pickpockets” that impressed me
Only ever saw that at tynecastle. Who’d have thought they’d eventually pick the pockets of The Lady Haig Poppy Fund?

Had the Beware of Pickpockets signs at The main stand at Hampden as well. Youngsters asking for a lift over was common place. Saw at All ticket games at Hampden money being passed to turnstile operators going in their back pockets. No checking that you had a ticket in those days.

linlithgowhibbie
10-12-2024, 01:10 PM
The pee used to run down the slopes

Run down?? It was like a tsunami when we played there.

10-12-2024, 02:15 PM
One big difference was that Hibs had a side that was expected to win most games they played in. Having not been taken to watch games v Rangers or Celtic, you can imagine my shock when we lost 4-1 to Hearts in my first derby, Sept 1973. Fair to say we didn't lose many more to them over the next seven years of that decade.