View Full Version : Garvan Stewart joins Hibs

03-12-2024, 04:09 PM
Now official. Could prove to be an excellent move and really strengthens ties with the BK Group;

"We are delighted to announce that Garvan Stewart has been appointed as Hibernian FC’s Head of Recruitment.

The 38-year-old started working with the Club on Monday and will work closely with Sporting Director Malky Mackay on all areas of player identification and recruitment.

Stewart spent the last 12 years at English Premier League side AFC Bournemouth as Head of Performance Analysis and Head of Recruitment Analysis, holding the latter position for the last two years.

During his time with the Cherries, he worked closely with Eddie Howe, before moving into the recruitment department with their now Technical Director Simon Francis following Andoni Iraola's appointment.

Alongside this, the Irishman has also worked for the Welsh FA, Cardiff City, and Portsmouth.

An expert in his field, Stewart’s skillset will allow the Club to reap the rewards from Black Knight Football’s scouting and player data resource.

In his role, he will lead Hibernian FC’s recruitment department, reporting into Mackay, and will continue ongoing work leading into the January Transfer Window, whilst also preparing for the summer.

Hibernian FC Sporting Director Malky Mackay commented: “It’s great to be able to bring someone of Garvan’s calibre to the Football Club.

“He’s been part of a highly successful recruitment team at AFC Bournemouth and will add real experience and guile to our player identification department.

“Garvan’s expertise in data and analysis, and his knowledge of Bournemouth’s and Black Knight’s systems, will be invaluable for us, and will hugely enhance our recruitment process and strategy. I’m looking forward to having him on board.”

Bringing Garvan Stewart to Hibernian FC further strengthens the strategic and operational connection between Hibs and Bournemouth within Black Knight Football, as the group works collaboratively to improve sporting performance.

Simon Francis, Technical Director at AFC Bournemouth, added: “During his time at Bournemouth, Garvan demonstrated a great work ethic, professionalism, and the ability to connect player profiles to the needs of the club within the recruitment and data departments.

“We will continue to work closely with Garvan, as well as Malky and everyone at Hibernian to enhance on-pitch performance.”

EGL2000
03-12-2024, 04:11 PM
Good news hopefully improves recruitment for us. Don't imagine it could get much worse! That being said it's definitely easier looking at players for premier league teams as you pretty much have pick of any player you want that isn't playing for one of the large European teams.

03-12-2024, 04:12 PM
Hadn’t expected him yo be recruited full time - thought it might have just been a cross over of jobs for a stint.

03-12-2024, 04:13 PM
Welcome to Hibs, please bring in the players we need to stay up this season.:worried::pray:

03-12-2024, 04:14 PM
Now official. Could prove to be an excellent move and really strengthens ties with the BK Group;

"We are delighted to announce that Garvan Stewart has been appointed as Hibernian FC’s Head of Recruitment.

The 38-year-old started working with the Club on Monday and will work closely with Sporting Director Malky Mackay on all areas of player identification and recruitment.

Stewart spent the last 12 years at English Premier League side AFC Bournemouth as Head of Performance Analysis and Head of Recruitment Analysis, holding the latter position for the last two years.

During his time with the Cherries, he worked closely with Eddie Howe, before moving into the recruitment department with their now Technical Director Simon Francis following Andoni Iraola's appointment.

Alongside this, the Irishman has also worked for the Welsh FA, Cardiff City, and Portsmouth.

An expert in his field, Stewart’s skillset will allow the Club to reap the rewards from Black Knight Football’s scouting and player data resource.

In his role, he will lead Hibernian FC’s recruitment department, reporting into Mackay, and will continue ongoing work leading into the January Transfer Window, whilst also preparing for the summer.

Hibernian FC Sporting Director Malky Mackay commented: “It’s great to be able to bring someone of Garvan’s calibre to the Football Club.

“He’s been part of a highly successful recruitment team at AFC Bournemouth and will add real experience and guile to our player identification department.

“Garvan’s expertise in data and analysis, and his knowledge of Bournemouth’s and Black Knight’s systems, will be invaluable for us, and will hugely enhance our recruitment process and strategy. I’m looking forward to having him on board.”

Bringing Garvan Stewart to Hibernian FC further strengthens the strategic and operational connection between Hibs and Bournemouth within Black Knight Football, as the group works collaboratively to improve sporting performance.

Simon Francis, Technical Director at AFC Bournemouth, added: “During his time at Bournemouth, Garvan demonstrated a great work ethic, professionalism, and the ability to connect player profiles to the needs of the club within the recruitment and data departments.

“We will continue to work closely with Garvan, as well as Malky and everyone at Hibernian to enhance on-pitch performance.”

Interesting that there is a quote from the Bournemouth TD - looks like BKG is taking a bigger role than thought, not just Stewart moving to Hibs but the rest of the group getting involved too.

03-12-2024, 04:16 PM
Can he play in goals?

03-12-2024, 04:16 PM
Saturday was great but we want more

Onwards and upwards

03-12-2024, 04:20 PM
Hopefully a good move going forward

You’d imagine he’d had very good insight into the players within the black knight structure, those who we could get and those who could improve us

Even the players that they looked at for Bournemouth but decided wasn’t quite at the standard yet

12 years at Bournemouth will mean he’s hopefully built up good relationships with other premier league clubs etc too

allmodcons
03-12-2024, 04:24 PM
Can he play in goals?

😂 Can’t be much worse than our current goalkeeping options but being able to identify a decent keeper would be a good start.

03-12-2024, 04:48 PM
Was wondering if Oscar Zambrano would still be on the radar, who knew he was was on loan at Hull 🧐

03-12-2024, 04:50 PM
Was wondering if Oscar Zambrano would still be on the radar, who knew he was was on loan at Hull 🧐

Was this the guy loads of places were reporting had signed for Bournemouth, Man Utd were apparently interested as well. Then he tested positive for a banned substance?

Or is this another South American wonderkid?

03-12-2024, 04:55 PM
Was this the guy loads of places were reporting had signed for Bournemouth, Man Utd were apparently interested as well. Then he tested positive for a banned substance?

Or is this another South American wonderkid?
Same boy

https://www.wearehullcity.co.uk/news/2024/november/05/club-statement-oscar-zambrano/

Hibees1973
03-12-2024, 04:59 PM
Seems the Golden Quadrant are now starting to listen.

Does this mean dubious Malky now has less responsibilities.

03-12-2024, 05:04 PM

I hope so

03-12-2024, 05:07 PM
Good move by the club/Black Knights.

I'd like to be the first to say "get Stewart out" 😉

03-12-2024, 05:08 PM
Nae pressure Gav.😅

03-12-2024, 05:41 PM
Who was previous head of recruitment ? Was the Calvin Charlton ? If so where is he off too ?

03-12-2024, 05:42 PM
Very good news

Basildon Hibs
03-12-2024, 05:43 PM
Why has Malky not been emptied, then..?

03-12-2024, 05:45 PM
Who was previous head of recruitment ? Was the Calvin Charlton ? If so where is he off too ?

Calvin Charlton was relieved of his duties. He was Head of Technical Recruitment, essentially the same role Stewart held at Bournemouth. Ian Gordon was at one time Head of Recruitment, one suspects he was still doing that job but just no longer with that title.

03-12-2024, 05:46 PM

Because he is Director of Football not Head of Recruitment.

03-12-2024, 05:49 PM

Even after reading that term 83,458,932 times it's still still hilarious.

03-12-2024, 05:51 PM
Delighted at this, hopefully we'll see what BK group are made of and what he can bring, should've happened in the summer in IG etc, had listened.

03-12-2024, 06:03 PM

Why would he have less responsibilities. Malky is Director of Football, Garvan Stewart is now head of recruitment.

Jock O
03-12-2024, 06:08 PM
Why would he have less responsibilities. Malky is Director of Football, Garvan Stewart is now head of recruitment.

He will now report into Malky won't he?

NC1875
03-12-2024, 06:16 PM
How they’ve managed to get him to move from Bournemouth to this ****show I do no not know 🤣

I’m hoping he’s hungry for us to be successful rather than the move being forced upon him

03-12-2024, 06:20 PM
How they’ve managed to get him to move from Bournemouth to this ****show I do no not know 🤣

I’m hoping he’s hungry for us to be successful rather than the move being forced upon him

It’s a promotion for him in terms of title so I assume it’s financially better as well as being an upward career move.

The Tubs
03-12-2024, 06:20 PM

I think someone posted that his previous job title was head of technical recruitment so I suppose that head of recruitment is a promotion in job title at least.

Basildon Hibs
03-12-2024, 06:28 PM

The poor bloke is gonna have his work cut out, that's for sure...😮😕

Paulie Walnuts
03-12-2024, 06:48 PM

Currently suspended for doping.

Donegal Hibby
03-12-2024, 07:02 PM
Delighted we have got someone with the experience and qualifications that Garvan Stewart has and think it’s an exciting appointment …

We needed change within the club and we seem to be getting it from Malky Mackay’s appointment who imo hasn’t been in the job long enough to judge yet to this one now which will hopefully improve the recruitment process.

Glad the owners who I think genuinely care for the club seem to be working together with the BK’s in order to improve the fortunes of Hibs ..

Only see this as a positive move 👍

Dmas
03-12-2024, 07:36 PM

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/cn8l4wy9plno.amp

03-12-2024, 07:39 PM
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/cn8l4wy9plno.amp

Hull struggling in the relegation places. Hopefully they get relegated and Bournemouth sign him them give him on loan to the good guys.

Unless he's pish!

03-12-2024, 07:46 PM
Hull struggling in the relegation places. Hopefully they get relegated and Bournemouth sign him them give him on loan to the good guys.

Unless he's pish!

Hull sacked their manager at the end of last season. They finished 7th, three points short of the playoffs - having been 15th and 19th the two seasons before that, after promotion from League One.

Looked a really stupid move at the time and so it has proved to be.

03-12-2024, 08:04 PM
Terry Butcher was the last Hibs manager who oversaw recruitment. That didn't end well.

Then came the Dempster Craig and Mathie era.

In the past 10/11 seasons it would be interesting to recall which signings we made as a club that really helped to transform our fortunes.

03-12-2024, 08:09 PM
Terry Butcher was the last Hibs manager who oversaw recruitment. That didn't end well.

In the past 10/11 seasons it would be interesting to recall which signings we made as a club that really helped to transform our fortunes.

Neil Lennon was responsible for bringing in Ambrose, Marciano, McLaren and Kamberi - that worked out ok.

03-12-2024, 08:50 PM
Calvin Charlton was relieved of his duties. He was Head of Technical Recruitment, essentially the same role Stewart held at Bournemouth. Ian Gordon was at one time Head of Recruitment, one suspects he was still doing that job but just no longer with that title.

Calvin is still at the club he was on the bench with the coaching staff last Tuesday, I wasn’t there on Sat so can’t say if he was also there.

03-12-2024, 08:54 PM
Neil Lennon was responsible for bringing in Ambrose, Marciano, McLaren and Kamberi - that worked out ok.

Presumably he had an influence on signings but I don’t think he was solely responsible for it. We had structure in place to scout and bring players to the club.

03-12-2024, 08:57 PM
Calvin is still at the club he was on the bench with the coaching staff last Tuesday, I wasn’t there on Sat so can’t say if he was also there.

No he wasn’t, Calvin Charlton never sat on the bench. That would have been Colin Clancy.

Bridge hibs
03-12-2024, 08:58 PM

That was Colin Clancey

03-12-2024, 09:04 PM
Presumably he had an influence on signings but I don’t think he was solely responsible for it. We had structure in place to scout and bring players to the club.

Ambrose & Marciano were identified through his friend Dudu Dahan while Kamberi & McLaren were brought in through his friend Mark Fotheringham. Lennon didn’t have much time for Mathie or the players he was pushing him to sign.

7Hero
03-12-2024, 09:05 PM

how bout

Gray, Fontaine, McGregor, Fyvie, Cummings, McGinn, McGeoch, Stokes, Logan, Bartley, did i miss anyone ?

03-12-2024, 09:06 PM

Don’t folks just love how we seem to rip up what’s working and forget what helped us in the past?
So now we head back to the future…

03-12-2024, 09:06 PM
Ambrose & Marciano were identified through his friend Dudu Dahan while Kamberi & McLaren were brought in through his friend Mark Fotheringham. Lennon didn’t have much time for Mathie or the players he was pushing him to sign.

Thanks, that’s me telt! Interesting to hear, wonder what kind of players Mathie etc were putting his way?

03-12-2024, 09:09 PM

No he wasnt

1875Sean
03-12-2024, 09:16 PM
Thanks, that’s me telt! Interesting to hear, wonder what kind of players Mathie etc were putting his way?

Lennon was mates with the agent so I don’t think it rocky would joined if Lenny wasn’t our manager at the time

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/lennon-says-marciano-deal-is-a-bit-of-a-coup-for-hibs-616335

TrinityHFC
03-12-2024, 09:17 PM
Don’t folks just love how we seem to rip up what’s working and forget what helped us in the past?
So now we head back to the future…

People tend to have a bit of a rose tinted view about how well things were actually working though. We’ve not had any sort of even semi sustained success in my lifetime.

Ribs1875
03-12-2024, 10:52 PM
Technical director Simon Francis at Bournemouth Says “We will continue to work closely with Garvan, as well as Malky and everyone at Hibernian to enhance on-pitch performance.”

So folk down in Bournemouth remotely running operations at us. I wonder what Gordon and Kensell think of this.

03-12-2024, 11:06 PM
Technical director Simon Francis at Bournemouth Says “We will continue to work closely with Garvan, as well as Malky and everyone at Hibernian to enhance on-pitch performance.”

So folk down in Bournemouth remotely running operations at us. I wonder what Gordon and Kensell think of this.
Pretty obvious it's with their agreement that they are working together so I'm not sure what you are asking.

03-12-2024, 11:13 PM
how bout

Gray, Fontaine, McGregor, Fyvie, Cummings, McGinn, McGeoch, Stokes, Logan, Bartley, did i miss anyone ?

Scottish Cup heroes.

Mind you. Most of them were signed when Hibs were in the Championship?

We spent 3 seasons there and finished with 70/71 points each time. Then 67 pts in our first season back in the SPL.

For me, our most effective signings were Marciano, McGinn and Myziane.

04-12-2024, 07:15 AM

After our great result at the weekend, this is your most insightful contribution.

The poor bloke is gonna have his work cut out, that's for sure...😮😕

More upbeat and as always, cutting edge observations.

Of course, the folk down at Bournemouth are in control of everything, Gordon (the actual owner) and Kensell must be staggered by the minority shareholder coup that swept them from power.

04-12-2024, 07:20 AM
No he wasn’t, Calvin Charlton never sat on the bench. That would have been Colin Clancy.

Apologies, the CC on the top got me!

Hibiza
04-12-2024, 08:46 AM
A creative midfielder please Gav .

04-12-2024, 08:49 AM
Even on a thread which should be a positive, there's always a few who can't wait to have digs and post negativity, give a rest ffs.

El Gubbz
04-12-2024, 09:20 AM
Obviously hope this works out but this is another example of us hiring someone to a promoted post - consistent with the repeatedly failed approach under The Gordons.

Head of analysis(no matter what level it’s at) is very much junior to Head of Recruitment. Understand this appointment will largely be to get someone who understands the IT that BKFC use and will have an idea of what good looks like but ultimately he’s never done the gig before and is another big risk of an appointment.

Why can’t we just get folk in (on and off the pitch) that have already proven themselves at the level they’re being hired for?

04-12-2024, 09:24 AM
Obviously hope this works out but this is another example of us hiring someone to a promoted post - consistent with the repeatedly failed approach under The Gordons.

Head of analysis(no matter what level it’s at) is very much junior to Head of Recruitment. Understand this appointment will largely be to get someone who understands the IT that BKFC use and will have an idea of what good looks like but ultimately he’s never done the gig before and is another big risk of an appointment.

Why can’t we just get folk in (on and off the pitch) that have already proven themselves at the level they’re being hired for?
Or BKFC have insisted we put him in place as part of them taking charge of our recruitment going forward. That seems the more plausible reason for him getting the position of Head of Recruitment

El Gubbz
04-12-2024, 09:33 AM
Or BKFC have insisted we put him in place as part of them taking charge of our recruitment going forward. That seems the more plausible reason for him getting the position of Head of Recruitment

Aye you’re probably bang on - makes you wonder how it will work between Malky and BKFC if the main guy under Malky will have inherent allegiances to the guys at BKFC.

Interesting one - hopefully some comms to talk through Gordon’s Recruitment Strategy version 5.0 soon to give us confidence they are aware of the failings and understand possible solutions to resolve the onfield struggles.

I heard Longbangers this week talk about how after a 3-0 win at Motherwell fans might think the recruitment hasn’t been all that bad but if it’s taking 5/6 months for a player/team to get into their stride then there’s the issue with our recruitment. Good players/athletes that have no idea what level they’re playing at - hopefully this guy can help bridge that gap so we’re signings less players that will be alright in 6 months and more that can instantly have an impact.

04-12-2024, 09:34 AM

Do you live in a world where people never get promoted on merit?

In all seriousness, this guy has had a significant and relevant role in a league that is one of the most prestigious in the world. This isn't fantasy football, get real and be pleased that we have someone of his calibre coming in to the club.

04-12-2024, 09:37 AM

In all seriousness, this guy has had a significant and relevant role in a league that is one of the most prestigious in the world. This isn't fantasy football, get real and be pleased that we have someone of his calibre coming in to the club.

Absolutely agree with this, no issues whatsoever with this appointment.

Bridge hibs
04-12-2024, 09:39 AM

In all seriousness, this guy has had a significant and relevant role in a league that is one of the most prestigious in the world. This isn't fantasy football, get real and be pleased that we have someone of his calibre coming in to the club.Well said 👍

Donegal Hibby
04-12-2024, 09:42 AM

Looks like they are working together and everyone is onboard which can only be good and a positive outcome for the club.

El Gubbz
04-12-2024, 09:43 AM

Head of Analysis? Sounds like what I said in my post.

No, I am absolutely for recruiting guys like this here and there but I don’t want the entirety of HTC littered with Rookies (relative speaking).

Every person making decisions at Hibs is either doing the role for the first time or inherited the gig.

The guy sounds promising but it’s really difficult to do a good job and deliver a slick system in an environment filled with guys learning on the job. I think where we are as a club and as a fan base we needed to bring in someone who’s done a great job elsewhere and we can trust him to make good decisions - do I have that trust in this appointment? No but doesn’t mean I don’t think he can do a good job - he probably could in the right environment. Good luck to him.

Good luck to us.

Ribs1875
04-12-2024, 09:53 AM
Looks like they are working together and everyone is onboard which can only be good and a positive outcome for the club.

Fingers crossed. This season is probably going to be a case of maintain dignity, hopefully finish mid table and release those deadwood players out of contract. Frees the wage bill and the rebuild will commence next summer.

04-12-2024, 10:27 AM

No, I am absolutely for recruiting guys like this here and there but I don’t want the entirety of HTC littered with Rookies (relative speaking).

Every person making decisions at Hibs is either doing the role for the first time or inherited the gig.

The guy sounds promising but it’s really difficult to do a good job and deliver a slick system in an environment filled with guys learning on the job. I think where we are as a club and as a fan base we needed to bring in someone who’s done a great job elsewhere and we can trust him to make good decisions - do I have that trust in this appointment? No but doesn’t mean I don’t think he can do a good job - he probably could in the right environment. Good luck to him.

Good luck to us.

What’s the alternative to someone on the way up professionally? I think it’s an excellent appointment. His role isn’t coaching or managing our overall football operations. He has a relevant background and comes from a club with much more status. I think this is quite different from a rookie manager or the owner’s son doing the role.

18Craig75
04-12-2024, 10:28 AM
Will he be based here or Bournemouth?

Donegal Hibby
04-12-2024, 10:57 AM
Fingers crossed. This season is probably going to be a case of maintain dignity, hopefully finish mid table and release those deadwood players out of contract. Frees the wage bill and the rebuild will commence next summer.

We are only six points behind the team in sixth spot and seven from the team in fifth at this moment in time which I think is doable. If we can catch them with maybe Lady Luck on our side in the cup draws , who knows the season might not work out to be to bad in the end .🤞

04-12-2024, 10:59 AM

Who cares what they think

Jpdhfc
04-12-2024, 11:29 AM

well said

04-12-2024, 11:49 AM
We are only six points behind the team in sixth spot and seven from the team in fifth at this moment in time which I think is doable. If we can catch them with maybe Lady Luck on our side in the cup draws , who knows the season might not work out to be to bad in the end .🤞

Talking about potentially catching 5th and having a good season when we’re second bottom of the league, having won 2 games out of 15 is a particularly optimistic outlook 😀

04-12-2024, 11:57 AM
Talking about potentially catching 5th and having a good season when we’re second bottom of the league, having won 2 games out of 15 is a particularly optimistic outlook [emoji3]

Probably says a lot about this league that we have 2 wins in 15 and are only 7pts from 5th.

Aberdeen showed a couple of seasons ago that one good run of results can propel you up the table. I think if we can match the other teams from 5th down for points in the next 6 games, then we will have a more favourable run of games in the new year with hopefully a couple of good squad additions that could help us progress up the table.

04-12-2024, 12:10 PM

You'd imagine here. He's a full time Hibs employee with no direct link to Bournemouth anymore out with the ownership model.

Donegal Hibby
04-12-2024, 12:18 PM
Talking about potentially catching 5th and having a good season when we’re second bottom of the league, having won 2 games out of 15 is a particularly optimistic outlook 😀

Probably though I think if we can at least match them to January and add 3 or 4 quality players especially a good goalie and a creative attacking midfielder it could make all the difference in achieving that .. suppose I’m slightly optimistic that with our new head of recruitment that he can deliver that now for us .

04-12-2024, 12:20 PM

We’ve no idea if this guy is any good or not.

We’ve not really appointed anyone that could be described as decent since RG took over and we’ve yet to see if the BKs influence will be a good thing.

I’ll wait and see the quality of player we bring in over the next few months before claiming he’s a decent appointment.

I’m hoping he’s nothing more than an admin guy.

Let the manager decide who to sign so that he has full confidence in his squad.

04-12-2024, 12:25 PM
I genuinely think we can still qualify for Europe if we can start seeing matches out and get a goalkeeper in the window.

Most of the rest of the teams are bang average and will beat each other.

04-12-2024, 12:25 PM

Good luck to us.
He's certainly not a rookie.

Jock O
04-12-2024, 12:31 PM
Interesting that Bournemouth talk about speaking to Stewart and McKay which would suggest lines of accountability might not be as straightforward as I thought.

This was always the area where we should be able to get most benefit from the deal as i assume it would involve data analysis on external players as well as group players, significantly extending our reach and skills beyond what we currently have. That to me is the winner for Hibs, and interestingly is all Hearts are surely getting from their deal, which they seem to be making much more of it than that.

It will still mean that whoever is making the decisions on the players coming in are the key, I assume the committee structure will exist but with Stewart being part of it, not sure if there will be other changes, someone else from BK group may become involved, hence the direct communications, or that might only be for recommendations.

It would be interesting to see how it is structured, not necessarily at individual level but different roles. I still am slightly nervous on whether BK's would ever look at this purely from a Hibs interest, but that comes back to the scope of the data role including external players and who is providing the overall requirements.

It sounds a very positive move but as always the devil is in the detail.

Jock O
04-12-2024, 12:32 PM
Who cares what they think

We should, they still pull all the strings, And there may still be a benefit to that.

04-12-2024, 12:52 PM
I can’t think of a single negative regarding this appointment. Fingers crossed it’s the catalyst for some proper change at ER.

04-12-2024, 01:20 PM

Personally I think this looks like an excellent appointment and could be a bit of a coup for us. There’s been a few negative comments on this thread - a relatively small number to be fair - but I think you’ve put an unnecessarily negative spin on it. This guy clearly knows what he’s doing and has obviously been a big factor in Bournemouth’s rise up the ladder. I’m happy to trust him with our future recruitment.

04-12-2024, 01:25 PM
I can’t think of a single negative regarding this appointment. Fingers crossed it’s the catalyst for some proper change at ER.

If you look hard enough you'll find one, much like some of the people on this thread :rolleyes:

hibsforeurope
04-12-2024, 01:32 PM

Totally agree, he'll be given all the tools he needs by Bournemouth/BKFC to make sure he's a success. The group won't want to make their appointment and then see him fail.

Will make for a very interesting window.

04-12-2024, 02:07 PM
We’ve no idea if this guy is any good or not.

Let the manager decide who to sign so that he has full confidence in his squad.

A suggestion from the era of the dinosaur.

I think we are allowed to feel some optimism sometimes, you should give it a go.

leith lynx
04-12-2024, 02:35 PM
I genuinely think we can still qualify for Europe if we can start seeing matches out and get a goalkeeper in the window.

Most of the rest of the teams are bang average and will beat each other.
No chance, although I agree with the goalkeeper part.

04-12-2024, 02:47 PM
You'd imagine here. He's a full time Hibs employee with no direct link to Bournemouth anymore out with the ownership model.

I hope he will be based the majority of his time out on the road. He will learn almost nothing watching our current squad.

04-12-2024, 03:08 PM
I hope he will be based the majority of his time out on the road. He will learn almost nothing watching our current squad.

Hearts Head of Recruitment is based in London as it enables him to maximise the number of player he can watch due to number of clubs within close proximity and available travel options for scouting further afield.

Darren Mowbray when HoR for Aberdeen identifying the likes of Miovski and Ramadani hardly set foot up there, he was supposedly constantly travelling around Europe watching games.

EastThomasSTboy
04-12-2024, 03:17 PM
Based here with his family.

04-12-2024, 03:21 PM

I think we are allowed to feel some optimism sometimes, you should give it a go.

I was full of optimism when the Gordon's took over, it's just been sapped away over the last few seasons!

Every chairman or CEO we've ever had, has said the final say on we sign is down to the manager. I just want IG and BK to stick to their words this time.

Don't you think SDG would like to choose his own players? I'm 100% certain he would.

All I'm suggesting is that SDG has the final say. I don't see that in any way as being controversial - I think it's a sound policy to have.

04-12-2024, 03:30 PM
We should, they still pull all the strings, And there may still be a benefit to that.

There’s been absolutely zero benefits to them pulling the strings so far.

I’m hoping this is the start of them stepping back from any involvement in the football side of things

Bridge hibs
04-12-2024, 03:33 PM
I was full of optimism when the Gordon's took over, it's just been sapped away over the last few seasons!

Every chairman or CEO we've ever had, has said the final say on we sign is down to the manager. I just want IG and BK to stick to their words this time.

Don't you think SDG would like to choose his own players? I'm 100% certain he would.

All I'm suggesting is that SDG has the final say. I don't see that in any way as being controversial - I think it's a sound policy to have.Wont Gray have the final say ? To be honest if he had the final say in a few of our recent signings then I would remain concerned. If Garvan is able to identify a better quality of player to suggest to Gray then I would be far happier with that.

Garvan and Mackay identify the talent and Gray coaches that talent. Sounds a better plan than the previous shockingly expensive scattergun approach.

04-12-2024, 03:41 PM
Folk will laugh but even though they were 4th going into their recent League Cup semi, and high in the league going into their game vs us at the weekend past, I had a feeling that the loser of our game vs Motherwell would find themselves in relegation trouble come Feb/March. It was a pivotal win for SDG & I am delighted for him.

I think Kettlewell has done remarkably well to get a team of "Lennon Miller plus Ten" to a semi final and European places (albeit temporarily)

Sell Miller in Jan and that team is (along with Ross County) the worst in the league

St Johnstone aren't wildly good either, but they do have some unpredictable dynamite up front that ought to save them

If we get our Jan window right, we should finish above Motherwell, County and Saints, and probably Hearts (unless they too have a decent window)

04-12-2024, 03:45 PM
^^ I don't know.

That's part of the problem. This forum is full of threads with people questioning who signed player X or Y.

Was it SDG? Or IG? Or MM? Or......

I think (and hope) SDG can see how bad our squad is, and what needs to be done to fix it. If he can't, then for me, he's not up to the job.

Just look at the goalkeeper situation. How did that happen? If that's down to someone signing them and telling SDG to coach and play them, then that is utter madness.

If SDG signed them, then he needs to take full responsibility for it. If he didn't sign them, he can rightly tell the board that it's not his fault.

Donegal Hibby
04-12-2024, 04:22 PM
I know we are sitting second bottom ( which isn’t good ) though I’ve seen this being mentioned a few times about our squad being bad …

is it any worse than some of the teams above of us like Dundee Utd’s for example? And would three or four good players added like a keeper , Att Mid etc not likely improve us with what we already have?

04-12-2024, 04:24 PM
I know we are sitting second bottom ( which isn’t good ) though I’ve seen this being mentioned a few times about our squad being bad …

is it any worse than some of the teams above of us like Dundee Utd’s for example? And would three or four good players added like a keeper , Att Mid etc not likely improve us with what we already have?

Every team could say the same, we are not the only club who will sign players in January?

04-12-2024, 04:32 PM
Be better with Andy Stewart to work beside the current panto villans

Bridge hibs
04-12-2024, 04:36 PM

Brilliant, almost spat all my coffee over my keyboard

Clarence
04-12-2024, 05:02 PM
Brilliant, almost spat all my coffee over my keyboard

Oh no you didn’t

04-12-2024, 05:19 PM

Alan Stewart says me pedantically.

Donegal Hibby
04-12-2024, 06:04 PM
Every team could say the same, we are not the only club who will sign players in January?

I suppose they could and they probably will .. though a signing along the lines of the quality of Will Dennis and Lyall Cameron would make a big difference to us in January with maybe Bowie coming back too which is why I’m wondering if our squad is as bad as some think it is compared to other teams like Dundee Utd , Motherwell etc .

04-12-2024, 06:41 PM
I suppose they could and they probably will .. though a signing along the lines of the quality of Will Dennis and Lyall Cameron would make a big difference to us in January with maybe Bowie coming back too which is why I’m wondering if our squad is as bad as some think it is compared to other teams like Dundee Utd , Motherwell etc .

Our current squad is where it is on merit. What you’re talking about is some fairly drastic surgery required with 3 or 4 marquee level first team players needed to replace the summer signings and salvage our season. If there was no January transfer window and everyone had the current squads until the end of the season I think it’s probably 50/50 we would finish in the bottom two or manage to climb up to 9th or 10th.

The season is salvageable with more money spent, and more importantly spent wisely, in January. However I don’t know why you persist trying to talk up this squad, particularly in comparison to clubs like Dundee Utd. They are 11 points ahead of us with a game in hand. Almost as many points ahead of us as we have on the board. Motherwell are 7 points ahead with 2 games in hand. Your relentless positivity is admirable, but it would be easier to agree with if it was grounded in a bit more realism.

04-12-2024, 06:58 PM
Alan Stewart says me pedantically.

You Kent whae a meant 😆

04-12-2024, 07:07 PM

That word is alien to a few people on here unsurprisingly. Doesn’t exist in their vocabulary.

04-12-2024, 07:16 PM
Our current squad is where it is on merit. What you’re talking about is some fairly drastic surgery required with 3 or 4 marquee level first team players needed to replace the summer signings and salvage our season. If there was no January transfer window and everyone had the current squads until the end of the season I think it’s probably 50/50 we would finish in the bottom two or manage to climb up to 9th or 10th.

The season is salvageable with more money spent, and more importantly spent wisely, in January. However I don’t know why you persist trying to talk up this squad, particularly in comparison to clubs like Dundee Utd. They are 11 points ahead of us with a game in hand. Almost as many points ahead of us as we have on the board. Motherwell are 7 points ahead with 2 games in hand. Your relentless positivity is admirable, but it would be easier to agree with if it was grounded in a bit more realism.
Dundee United are ahead of us at the moment. However, they’re a poor side and were extremely fortunate to have taken any points against us in the fairly recent games - never mind 4. I wouldn’t say our squad is great at the moment, but I think its underperformed hugely so far. Its a squad capable of far better, despite what you may think. In my opinion of course.

04-12-2024, 07:37 PM
Dundee United are ahead of us at the moment. However, they’re a poor side and were extremely fortunate to have taken any points against us in the fairly recent games - never mind 4. I wouldn’t say our squad is great at the moment, but I think its underperformed hugely so far. Its a squad capable of far better, despite what you may think. In my opinion of course.

Dundee Utd are a poor side. Hearts were a poor side despite romping to 3rd last season, as were Aberdeen before that. It’s a league of poor sides. We’ve finished 8th twice in the last 3 seasons and are second bottom after 15 games. It just annoys me the talking down of all the poor sides above us when we can only aspire to be that poor.

I do think we’re better than second bottom, but 9th or 10th is around our current level IMO. We’ve downgraded the keeper and striker from last season in Bursic/Smith & Myko. As well as our best 11 containing a load of the players who took us to 8th last season - Obita, Miller, Cadden, Newell, Campbell, Boyle, Youan.

Roll on the January window.

Donegal Hibby
04-12-2024, 08:03 PM

I think we have shot ourselves in the foot considerably over the course of the season and our squad is underperforming tbh …

Is three or four players really drastic surgery nowadays in a transfer window? . We don’t need to replace all the summer signings, just the goalie , as to the others we do need a ATT MID and one or two other positions . As to needing three or four Marquee signings I’d settle for a good goalie , good ATT MID with one or two other decent players if possible…

As to there being no January window and you thinking our squad have a 50/50 chance of finishing in the bottom two . I personally didn’t see much a difference between the teams when we played Aberdeen and I thought we were much the better team against Motherwell too . I think our squad as I said is underperforming this season. A few signings in the key areas would make a big difference…

I’m not trying to talk up the squad but more trying to understand the few posters who think it’s so poor when I look at other squads in our league and don’t see a massive difference.. I’ve seen it said on here that we are in bother yet hertz will be alright finishing mid table .. is their squad much better ? Because quite frankly I don’t see that being the case either having watched both teams ..

04-12-2024, 08:51 PM
I think we have shot ourselves in the foot considerably over the course of the season and our squad is underperforming tbh …

Is three or four players really drastic surgery nowadays in a transfer window? . We don’t need to replace all the summer signings, just the goalie , as to the others we do need a ATT MID and one or two other positions . As to needing three or four Marquee signings I’d settle for a good goalie , good ATT MID with one or two other decent players if possible…

As to there being no January window and you thinking our squad have a 50/50 chance of finishing in the bottom two . I personally didn’t see much a difference between the teams when we played Aberdeen and I thought we were much the better team against Motherwell too . I think our squad as I said is underperforming this season. A few signings in the key areas would make a big difference…

I’m not trying to talk up the squad but more trying to understand the few posters who think it’s so poor when I look at other squads in our league and don’t see a massive difference.. I’ve seen it said on here that we are in bother yet hertz will be alright finishing mid table .. is their squad much better ? Because quite frankly I don’t see that being the case either having watched both teams ..
Far too sensible a post. You need to make a Doctors appointment immediately and have him prescribe some of the Hysterical tablets that a few others seem to be taking on this site.

Donegal Hibby
04-12-2024, 09:24 PM
Far too sensible a post. You need to make a Doctors appointment immediately and have him prescribe some of the Hysterical tablets that a few others seem to be taking on this site.

They are certainly strong going by some of the stuff that gets posted :wink:

04-12-2024, 09:52 PM
how bout

Scott Allan 🙂

Keepthefaith
04-12-2024, 10:29 PM
Dundee Utd are a poor side. Hearts were a poor side despite romping to 3rd last season, as were Aberdeen before that. It’s a league of poor sides. We’ve finished 8th twice in the last 3 seasons and are second bottom after 15 games. It just annoys me the talking down of all the poor sides above us when we can only aspire to be that poor.

I do think we’re better than second bottom, but 9th or 10th is around our current level IMO. We’ve downgraded the keeper and striker from last season in Bursic/Smith & Myko. As well as our best 11 containing a load of the players who took us to 8th last season - Obita, Miller, Cadden, Newell, Campbell, Boyle, Youan.

Roll on the January window.

I think the point others are making is that we seem to have either self inflicted points loss or been shafted by VAR more than others which has impacted on league position. we could and should easily be at least 4 points better off from VAR decisions alone which would see us mid table, 3 points off 5th and looking more positively on the jan window to push top 4.

I think folk are reflecting that from what we've seen, there are no standout teams bar Celtic, so putting a wee run together would impact significantly. I agree we need to be better, and the appointment of Gravan should see us start to make the necessary changes in the team, though like donegal I'd only expect 3 or so key positions to be targeted. when we play like we did in the last 2 games I have faith that we will be ok this season and create a good foundation for being top 3/4 challenges next.

05-12-2024, 05:48 AM
^^ I don't know.

That's part of the problem. This forum is full of threads with people questioning who signed player X or Y.

I think (and hope) SDG can see how bad our squad is, and what needs to be done to fix it. If he can't, then for me, he's not up to the job.

Just look at the goalkeeper situation. How did that happen? If that's down to someone signing them and telling SDG to coach and play them, then that is utter madness.

If SDG signed them, then he needs to take full responsibility for it. If he didn't sign them, he can rightly tell the board that it's not his fault.

I think it's straightforward, players anyone thinks are crap were signed by Ian Gordon, players we like are signed by the manager 😁

05-12-2024, 07:28 AM
^^ I don't know.

TBF, I'm not currently seeing threads all over the forum questioning who signed what. It's been done to death though and much discussed over the past few years.

Gray will not be signing anyone, that isn't the way it works. Players will be identified in order to meet needs outlined by Gray. I'm sure he will have some input, but let's not kid ourselves that he will be doing scouting and finding players. That will be done by others. The whole point of Stewart coming in is that he has skills in this department that we recognise we are lacking.

05-12-2024, 07:40 AM

I do agree but at the same time these are just one off games. If I'm to think we're better than some of these sides ahead of us then we need to win some games of football consistently. Fail to win this weekend and it will be 2 wins in the space of 4 months. It doesn't really matter if we played well in a draw against someone 3 months ago when we've only beaten Motherwell since then. If we finish bottom we can't ask the league to relegate Ross County over us because we played better than them that one time.

We are where we are because the squad has been largely disappointing and poor in their 90+ minute performances week to week. That suggests to me the squad is pretty poor.

Donegal Hibby
05-12-2024, 09:37 AM
I do agree but at the same time these are just one off games. If I'm to think we're better than some of these sides ahead of us then we need to win some games of football consistently. Fail to win this weekend and it will be 2 wins in the space of 4 months. It doesn't really matter if we played well in a draw against someone 3 months ago when we've only beaten Motherwell since then. If we finish bottom we can't ask the league to relegate Ross County over us because we played better than them that one time.

We are where we are because the squad has been largely disappointing and poor in their 90+ minute performances week to week. That suggests to me the squad is pretty poor.

I think there’s been evidence in more than just these latest games , like at Ibrox even though we lost I thought we played well , Killie away wasn’t pretty though we matched them in what was a physical battle….

There has been times where we have played badly too though the biggest problem we have had is we have been masters of our own downfall by making some bad mistakes at times …

I’m not convinced even with our league position that everything is doom and gloom with the squad , I still think it’s underperforming and with three or four good players added we’d probably see a big improvement . I was thinking this morning if we hadn’t lost Bowie how much of a difference he’d have made and would a partnership of Bowie and Myko or Bowie and Gayle if preferred be any worse than what other teams have ? …

05-12-2024, 09:42 AM
I think it's straightforward, players anyone thinks are crap were signed by Ian Gordon, players we like are signed by the manager 😁

Depends on whether we like the manager or not!!

But yeah, the only difference in future will be that Stewart gets the blame for the crap ones we sign.

05-12-2024, 09:46 AM

Blah blah blah.

You really don’t like folk having a different opinion eh.

Our point of view is just as valid as yours and doesn’t warrant the constant digs you make towards us.

05-12-2024, 09:49 AM

But then it doesn't take a highly paid 'head of recruitment' to identify these guys!!!

Most punters on this forum could recommend those two

05-12-2024, 09:53 AM
I think there’s been evidence in more than just these latest games , like at Ibrox even though we lost I thought we played well , Killie away wasn’t pretty though we matched them in what was a physical battle….

There has been times where we have played badly too though the biggest problem we have had is we have been masters of our own downfall by making some bad mistakes at times …

I’m not convinced even with our league position that everything is doom and gloom with the squad , I still think it’s underperforming and with three or four good players added we’d probably see a big improvement . I was thinking this morning if we hadn’t lost Bowie how much of a difference he’d have made and would a partnership of Bowie and Myko or Bowie and Gayle if preferred be any worse than what other teams have ? …

Again though you're pointing to matches that we didn't win. That's all fine if we were sitting 7/8th and not quite hitting our top 6 target yet and we can say "It's almost there, there's things to like and when we tweak these things it'll be fine" but we're not, we were bottom until Saturday there and dropping points for fun and hadn't won a game for three and a half months.

I'm okay with someone telling me that there's a couple of good players in here that can be useful when the dross around them are replaced with better, but to say the squad isn't that bad to me is just not correct. There's a good 13/14 at least players in this squad that if you asked this forum if they should stay beyond this season I think it would be a majority saying no, that doesn't sound like we have the makings of a good squad at all. A few new signings might kick us up the table and keep us safe from relegation but it's not going to have us sitting fourth or fifth because the same failures will likely let us down once again.

05-12-2024, 09:54 AM
A lot of people talking about the structure but i see it as:

DG: I need a right winger, somebody who can play in a front three and perhaps operate in a midfield four. It would be preferable if they had experience.

GS: Ok Davie lad, I have found 6 potential players who meet those criteria. Lets look at their stats and some videos and whittle it down to 3 targets.

I'd hazard a guess that MM is part of the discussion around the final three players and he then takes his proposal to IG to sign off on any financial aspect of the deal.

Simples.

Jock O
05-12-2024, 10:05 AM
A lot of people talking about the structure but i see it as:

DG: I need a right winger, somebody who can play in a front three and perhaps operate in a midfield four. It would be preferable if they had experience.

GS: Ok Davie lad, I have found 6 potential players who meet those criteria. Lets look at their stats and some videos and whittle it down to 3 targets.

I'd hazard a guess that MM is part of the discussion around the final three players and he then takes his proposal to IG to sign off on any financial aspect of the deal.

Simples.

Isn't the whittling down and agreeing targets done by "the committee", which I think is currently MM, DG and DM, and would therefore be expanded to to include GS. I think that is why I was interested in the structure to see if there were any changes to this. I am excluding the debate on IG's involvement as really think that is irrelevant now, or should be. Whilst this is not unusual in modern day footie, I suppose it presents differing challenges especially as many of the targets at our level will come with some risk, and especially if the rumours about McKay and Gray not getting on are true, although tbf I have only read that on here which means it could be just one of the elves spreading naughty fibs.

05-12-2024, 10:12 AM
Isn't the whittling down and agreeing targets done by "the committee", which I think is currently MM, DG and DM, and would therefore be expanded to to include GS. I think that is why I was interested in the structure to see if there were any changes to this. I am excluding the debate on IG's involvement as really think that is irrelevant now, or should be. Whilst this is not unusual in modern day footie, I suppose it presents differing challenges especially as many of the targets at our level will come with some risk, and especially if the rumours about McKay and Gray not getting on are true, although tbf I have only read that on here which means it could be just one of the elves spreading naughty fibs.

Possibly it is done by committee, who knows. Either way there is a collaborative discussion amongst professionals to get DG the type of player he wants.

I'd guess the discussion does not extend to it including GS, he'd be involved at the identification and presentation of each player found but would not be involved in the decision making process as he'd 'done his job'.

In regard to DG and MM not getting on, there are plenty of folk at my work i don't necessarily 'get on' with but I am professional and our ability to do our job is not affected. They shouldnt be different.

Donegal Hibby
05-12-2024, 11:55 AM
But then it doesn't take a highly paid 'head of recruitment' to identify these guys!!!

Most punters on this forum could recommend those two

True though Bournemouth have apparently already turned down another loan for Dennis who’s third choice keeper there now and I think someone on here said there was rumours of the huns interested in Cameron too…

Which is where Garvan Stewart comes in with other alternatives of similar quality hopefully.

05-12-2024, 01:44 PM
How long until he gets renamed Gavin Stuart on here 😁

05-12-2024, 02:07 PM
How long until he gets renamed Gavin Stuart on here 😁

Gordon who?

05-12-2024, 03:28 PM
There’s been absolutely zero benefits to them pulling the strings so far.

I’m hoping this is the start of them stepping back from any involvement in the football side of things

Continuous failure has not stopped Gordon / Kensell from being actively involved in footballing decisions. We've got to pray that Garvan is not hampered by the Quadrant's egos and that he's not just being brought in as a sop to BKG. Hopefully Foley is watching very closely.

05-12-2024, 03:33 PM
January can't come around quick enough for us to get some new bodies in.

05-12-2024, 04:54 PM
I'm all for change - by god we need it - but what is MacKay doing now? Do we really need quite so many people drawing a wage and apparently contributing to nothing more than our continual decline?

Brianmcd
05-12-2024, 08:37 PM
Commentator on Bournemouth Spurs saying Iraola was in Edinburgh during international break. Hopefully another sign that relations with BK are thawing.

05-12-2024, 08:39 PM
Commentator on Bournemouth Spurs saying Iraola was in Edinburgh during international break. Hopefully another sign that relations with BK are thawing.
Outstanding if true, good things happening.

Brunswickbill
06-12-2024, 07:05 AM
It would be a first to sing a song about a Head of Recruitment but there’s a David Bowie number just waiting to be adapted. Here’s my attempt:-

There's a Garvan gonnae make us fly
He'd like to come and meet us
But he thinks he'd blow our minds
There's a Garvan gonnae make us fly
He's told us not to blow it
'Cause he knows it's all worthwhile
He told us
Don’t let the players lose it
Let the players use it
Let all the Hibees boogie

And so ends my song writing career.

ruthven_raiders
06-12-2024, 10:26 AM
Outstanding if true, good things happening.

Yeh I posted that on the match day thread I think, but I took it that it was more a break for him as he's been travelling about around Devon etc, exploring the country, but who knows maybe he popped in to say hi to gray and company ☺️

CentreForward
06-12-2024, 05:39 PM
Not so sure about the headline in tonight’s Evening News “Can Black Knight guru gift Hibs another Marcondes-style signing?”. No thanks and think we can do better!

06-12-2024, 05:51 PM
I'm all for change - by god we need it - but what is MacKay doing now? Do we really need quite so many people drawing a wage and apparently contributing to nothing more than our continual decline?

Director of football and head of recruitment are different roles

Stewart has taken someone else’s job

27-01-2025, 05:59 PM
When does he start work?

Bridge hibs
27-01-2025, 06:02 PM
When does he start work?

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkYou know when he started, daft post

Wull
27-01-2025, 06:10 PM
You know when he started, daft post

Maybe he is still busy with Dave Marshall getting his onboarding

27-01-2025, 06:12 PM
Inevitable that someone would drag this thread up to have a dig.

It’s not his job to negotiate deals and finalise transfers. Let’s judge his work on the deals we eventually do make, rather than the lack thereof.

27-01-2025, 06:18 PM
When does he start work?

:doh:

27-01-2025, 06:19 PM

It’s not his job to negotiate deals and finalise transfers. Let’s judge his work on the deals we eventually do make, rather than the lack thereof.

The value he could be offering could also be in the work we don’t see. He might have stopped us from signing crap we signed previously.

18Craig75
27-01-2025, 06:49 PM
Sometimes think we don’t deserve nice things.

27-01-2025, 07:30 PM

Its an absolutely pathetic dig. Some sad folk around.

TrinityHFC
27-01-2025, 07:46 PM
When does he start work?

Pathetic.

27-01-2025, 07:56 PM
Pathetic.

Lighten up.[emoji23]

Paulie Walnuts
27-01-2025, 08:42 PM
It’s certainly been a bit anti climatic so far.

Fingers crossed he can pull a rabbit out the hat.

27-01-2025, 09:00 PM
It’s certainly been a bit anti climatic so far.

Fingers crossed he can pull a rabbit out the hat.

Have to hope it’s a case of good things come to those who wait, there’s a lot riding on this transfer window because it’s the first reasonable opportunity to see if Malky and Garvan have been able to significantly improve our signings.

Considering it’ll also be the third window since BKFC came on board I don’t think it’s unreasonable for the support to be expecting better than what’s been done so far.

green with envy
28-01-2025, 07:54 AM
Lighten up.[emoji23]

TBF, it was a pathetic dig.:not worth

28-01-2025, 08:07 AM
Have to hope it’s a case of good things come to those who wait, there’s a lot riding on this transfer window because it’s the first reasonable opportunity to see if Malky and Garvan have been able to significantly improve our signings.

Considering it’ll also be the third window since BKFC came on board I don’t think it’s unreasonable for the support to be expecting better than what’s been done so far.

Last Jan was a, good window, saved us from being in the relegation mix.

Summer was a decent window too, albeit a couple who really have been a let down but one of those (Myko) had been here previously so that's on us I feel, not BKFC.

Agree this is an important one for both the club and Black Knights. We're doing well recently but the poor start leaves no room for error, and draws are feeling like missed opportunities. Team is running on fumes, so a couple of quality signings are needed to pick us up.

28-01-2025, 08:08 AM
When does he start work?

Humour bypass by some on here.

Rumours are the fruits of his labours may be unveiled today.

Let's hope he's been busier than just the one target!

28-01-2025, 08:17 AM
Humour bypass by some on here.

Rumours are the fruits of his labours may be unveiled today.

Let's hope he's been busier than just the one target!

Looking forward to the unveiling of Will Fish 😁

28-01-2025, 08:46 AM
I worry some are painting this guy to be some sort of recruitment whizz kid that can come in right the wrongs of years of mismanagement in one window. He's just one guy that hopefully has a better, more professional way, of working to identify targets than we've been doing previously. There's every chance he's done that already but if they're good players they'll have more than just us looking to sign them.

The other flip side of the coin is that he's maybe been used to identifying players that work at a totally different level to this one, I'm sure there will be a lot of learning for him to do while here also and not just us from him. Patience is a virtue with this.

28-01-2025, 08:51 AM
When does he start work?

Maybe in the minority by looks of it, but I laughed.

28-01-2025, 09:05 AM
Last Jan was a, good window, saved us from being in the relegation mix.

Summer was a decent window too, albeit a couple who really have been a let down but one of those (Myko) had been here previously so that's on us I feel, not BKFC.

Agree this is an important one for both the club and Black Knights. We're doing well recently but the poor start leaves no room for error, and draws are feeling like missed opportunities. Team is running on fumes, so a couple of quality signings are needed to pick us up.
I don’t think it was especially good, we were looking good for a top six spot going into the window, and we went backwards in league placing from where we were.

28-01-2025, 09:24 AM
To transform an under-performing football department takes a season or two if a board gives time for a Director of Football time to implement a strategy.

It takes a new Head Coach several months to improve under-performing players, work on their strengths and weaknesses and find their best role in the team. Then knit them all into a tight unit.

Good recruitment is about doing the best analysis, having a good scouting network, putting exciting incentives into a package and approaching agents 6-12 months before contracts run out. Then working with the DoF and HC to convert a target into a signing.

Mackay, Marshall and Gray started work during the last window. Stewart just before the start of this window. Personally, I think it's way too soon to be expecting any quick wins from Garvan this early.

Hibs under his leadership will be working hard on our summer squad rebuild. That's when supporters can expect to see his impact.

28-01-2025, 09:32 AM
I don’t think it was especially good, we were looking good for a top six spot going into the window, and we went backwards in league placing from where we were.

Marcondes - meh
Maolida - probably earned us a better finish than we would have had.
Myenda - 1 sub appearance?
Bevan - Lol
Triantis - wasn't great last season but wow, what a difference
Moriah-Welsh - barely kicked a ball for us this season
Amos - Lol

7 players, 1 of them I'd say was a success, Marcondes was playing through an injury apparently but was disappointing, the rest were average to poor.

28-01-2025, 09:39 AM

I think the players signed were good, but just not used well on Montgomery

One of his biggest problems imo was Triantis.

Proving now how good a player he is but at the time we were screaming out for a new centre half that is good.

A new centre half instead of Triantis or Bevan would probably have made a huge difference