View Full Version : Body Shaming - Huntly Women's Team

29-11-2024, 10:20 AM
Interesting statement from Huntly FC (https://www.huntlyfc.co.uk/news/Club-Statement-Rossvale-v-Huntly)regarding an incident at one of their recent fixtures. For those of us who were around for the match where Steve Fulton got "booked for being ugly" and Davie Dods chants it shows what a different society we now live in. No issue at all with the women deciding not to carry on the game but I also think the league are correct in awarding the game to Rossdale and fining Huntly. Huntly were also down 2-0 at the point they refused to continue if that makes any difference. Ultimately it is likely a she said/she said so will be unproven and the league would have little to go on in an investigation. I wonder if sledging exists in Women's Cricket. It would be nice to think that it didn't but no idea.

Stairway 2 7
29-11-2024, 11:00 AM
Interesting statement from Huntly FC (https://www.huntlyfc.co.uk/news/Club-Statement-Rossvale-v-Huntly)regarding an incident at one of their recent fixtures. For those of us who were around for the match where Steve Fulton got "booked for being ugly" and Davie Dods chants it shows what a different society we now live in. No issue at all with the women deciding not to carry on the game but I also think the league are correct in awarding the game to Rossdale and fining Huntly. Huntly were also down 2-0 at the point they refused to continue if that makes any difference. Ultimately it is likely a she said/she said so will be unproven and the league would have little to go on in an investigation. I wonder if sledging exists in Women's Cricket. It would be nice to think that it didn't but no idea.

Quitting the game because someone said something about your body is a ******g joke. Imagine how many mens Sunday amateur games would get cancelled because someone called someone else a fat C.

29-11-2024, 11:01 AM
“ Football Club is committed to creating an environment where all players feel safe, valued and respected. We will stand united against any behaviour that undermines these core rights of any individual, as we did in this case, we remain steadfast in promoting fairness, respect and equality for all.”

​
​​

This is a football wide issue. The men’s game is probably a lost cause but there’s a chance to shape a better way for the Womens game and rightly so - two wrongs don’t make a right. But I think it would take something like a US based lawsuit for the sport to truly address it maybe the way forward is youth football but where do you “draw the lines”?

WeAreHibs
29-11-2024, 11:02 AM
Quitting the game because someone said something about your body is a ******g joke. Imagine how many mens Sunday amateur games would get cancelled because someone called someone else a fat C.

It's all getting too much. If you can't stand the heat...

29-11-2024, 11:13 AM

When there's far more societal pressure for women to conform to an ideal body standard than men I would argue that something like this would have a far greater impact in the women's league than men's.

29-11-2024, 11:17 AM
It's all getting too much. If you can't stand the heat...

Alternatively, if you can't play football without being a prick, don't play football?

If you went up to someone on the street and called them a fat prick, you'd get a slap and deserve it. But cause you're on a football pitch you should suck it up?

29-11-2024, 11:22 AM
Alternatively, if you can't play football without being a prick, don't play football?

If you went up to someone on the street and called them a fat prick, you'd get a slap and deserve it. But cause you're on a football pitch you should stuck it up?

Arguably this is someone's work or at least could be a few levels up. Sport should be as inclusive as possible and I completely agree with your comment.

Paulie Walnuts
29-11-2024, 11:25 AM

If you went up to someone on the street and called them a fat prick, you'd get a slap and deserve it. But cause you're on a football pitch you should stuck it up?

If you ran up behind someone in the street and flattened them whilst going up for a header you’d get done for assault. Sports and day-to-day life aren’t quite the same.

Without knowing what was said, it’s hard to comment. But on the basis that the statement is fairly tame, I’m going to presume it was simply a case of slagging someone’s weight or something along those lines. Looks like they’ve seen an opportunity to walk off in the hope they’d get awarded the game.

29-11-2024, 11:26 AM
“ Football Club is committed to creating an environment where all players feel safe, valued and respected. We will stand united against any behaviour that undermines these core rights of any individual, as we did in this case, we remain steadfast in promoting fairness, respect and equality for all.”

​
​​

This is a football wide issue. The men’s game is probably a lost cause but there’s a chance to shape a better way for the Womens game and rightly so - two wrongs don’t make a right. But I think it would take something like a US based lawsuit for the sport to truly address it maybe the way forward is youth football but where do you “draw the lines”?

Personally don’t see it as a footballing issue. It’s life, people say things to people that aren’t nice whether it’s on a football pitch, in a pub, online or whatever. My 93 year old granny told me I was getting fat a couple of weeks ago!

You’re never going to get to a place, in any environment, where everyone is nice to each other all the time. Walking off and calling it out in this way will probably lead to their players encountering more of these types of comments IMO.

29-11-2024, 11:28 AM
If you ran up behind someone in the street and flattened them whilst going up for a header you’d get done for assault. Sports and day-to-day life aren’t quite the same.

Without knowing what was said, it’s hard to comment. But on the basis that the statement is fairly tame, I’m going to presume it was simply a case of slagging someone’s weight or something along those lines. Looks like they’ve seen an opportunity to walk off in the hope they’d get awarded the game.

There’s a big difference between challenging for a header and giving someone personal abuse. My boss was a decent player at youth level and played a few games at lower league level and gave it up because he ****ing hated the people he was playing with - bullying, homophobic comments bandied around the dressing room and so forth.

29-11-2024, 11:38 AM
Going by the statement it would seem the comment was probably making fun of someones weight or body shape. Probably not the nicest thing to hear but seems a bit of an overreaction to not appear for the second half.

29-11-2024, 11:40 AM
Unfortunately you’d be struggling to complete a game of football if they were being stopped for stuff like this.

Whether it’s body shaming or just comments about their appearance etc.

I’ve played in loads of games where I’ve heard players say to others about their hair, lack of hair, weight, face, spots, being slow etc etc

What about when fans start the classic chant of “you fat ……” should the game be stopped also?

It’s a shame for the woman to be called whatever it was and hopefully doesn’t effect her mental health, however I don’t think football games should be stopped as a result.

29-11-2024, 11:43 AM
When there's far more societal pressure for women to conform to an ideal body standard than men I would argue that something like this would have a far greater impact in the women's league than men's.

Going to a women's game is a totally different experience though, they've managed to create a friendly culture and good for them and long may it continue.

29-11-2024, 11:48 AM
Some of the things I've heard on a football pitch go way beyond body shaming. It can be brutal. It's a big part of the phycology of the game. Happens at every level. Zidane didn't react and get sent off in a world cup final for no reason. His team lost. Rightly or wrongly it happens and it often works. It's football. I'm not sure if the womans game is different. Sounds like it.

29-11-2024, 11:48 AM
My 93 year old granny told me I was getting fat a couple of weeks ago!

Hope you gave her a slap.

greenflyer
29-11-2024, 12:03 PM
Hope you gave her a slap.

" You cannae shove your granny....."

29-11-2024, 12:14 PM

If you went up to someone on the street and called them a fat prick, you'd get a slap and deserve it. But cause you're on a football pitch you should suck it up?

Too many people think football is an excuse to suspend the normal rules of decency and mutual respect. It isn't. Well done to the Huntly players for sticking up for their team mate.

29-11-2024, 12:25 PM
Hope you gave her a slap.Full pelt slide tackle from the side is the only thing to do here.

OtleyHibs
29-11-2024, 12:26 PM
" You cannae shove your granny....."

That only applies if the granny in question is your mammys mammy, if its your daddys mammy then it's open season when it comes to shoving folk off buses I believe

29-11-2024, 12:26 PM

Too many people think football is an excuse to suspend the normal rules of decency and mutual respect. It isn't. Well done to the Huntly players for sticking up for their team mate.

Better steer clear of the Non Hibs match thread comments on Shankland :greengrin

29-11-2024, 12:34 PM
Going to a women's game is a totally different experience though, they've managed to create a friendly culture and good for them and long may it continue.

I really don’t watch women’s football but after watching The Rangers vs celtc women’s game it was far from a friendly experience, the players and managers were a bit of a disgrace.

WeAreHibs
29-11-2024, 12:39 PM

For 90 minutes you should aye! What goes on on the pitch stays on the pitch. That's my opinion you don't have to agree with it.

29-11-2024, 12:45 PM
Better steer clear of the Non Hibs match thread comments on Shankland :greengrin

Double standards apply here for the sanctimoniously minded.

Shankland, you facially challenged, slightly overweight, Hearts illegitimate....nah, it's not going to catch on.

Paulie Walnuts
29-11-2024, 12:49 PM
There’s a big difference between challenging for a header and giving someone personal abuse. My boss was a decent player at youth level and played a few games at lower league level and gave it up because he ****ing hated the people he was playing with - bullying, homophobic comments bandied around the dressing room and so forth.

Ok, so how far does this extend?

For example, you declared just the other day that Ian Gordon is proof that you don’t need talent if you’re born into money. Is calling him talentless any worse than someone calling someone fat, especially when you don’t have the excuse of being in the midst of competitive sport when you said it?

Just to be clear, I’ve no issue with your post about Ian Gordon. I’ve also little issue with a bit of needle on a football pitch. How far do we go to stop the insults on a pitch? Can you still call your direct opponent ****? Or is that not de rigueur any more either? Can a goalie call someone **** when they’re awaiting them taking a penalty to try put them off their game? Or should they stop that?

Chorley Hibee
29-11-2024, 12:51 PM
I really don’t watch women’s football but after watching The Rangers vs celtc women’s game it was far from a friendly experience, the players and managers were a bit of a disgrace.

They destroy everything they touch.

29-11-2024, 01:01 PM
What are people’s thoughts on the following:

- Falkirk players insulting Dean Shiels about losing his eye?

- Albion Rovers David Cox being taunted about his publicised mental health problems

- a former Hearts player and manager making comments about Kevin Nisbet’s dad

Part and parcel of the game or as unacceptable on a football pitch as they would be in the street?

29-11-2024, 01:13 PM

The Rangers manager was a disgrace, but i believe that stood out in total exclusion from everything else that goes on. It stood out because you normally never ever see it.

29-11-2024, 01:38 PM
Ok, so how far does this extend?

For example, you declared just the other day that Ian Gordon is proof that you don’t need talent if you’re born into money. Is calling him talentless any worse than someone calling someone fat, especially when you don’t have the excuse of being in the midst of competitive sport when you said it?

Just to be clear, I’ve no issue with your post about Ian Gordon. I’ve also little issue with a bit of needle on a football pitch. How far do we go to stop the insults on a pitch? Can you still call your direct opponent ****? Or is that not de rigueur any more either? Can a goalie call someone **** when they’re awaiting them taking a penalty to try put them off their game? Or should they stop that?

Genuinely a good point.

Thing is, what I was saying that from where I can see things from the outside looking in, Ian Gordon’s position at the club does not match his ability for it - neither did it when he was head of recruitment. I’ve been told that in my career twice before (and in both cases, my boss was right) - once I walked, the other I was let go. The fact that someone who has overseen a decline in the club can remain is in itself a privilege. I’d use that argument again as if you look at the league table, the loss in the last accounts, and that on the website it says he’s learning off of Ben Kensell means you can point to things that may back this up.

It was also made on here on a thread that if you were to read the title, you could kind of guess what why the content would be like. If you’re a high profile person, people will talk about you. Would be a very different scenario if I’d shouted that to him on the street or emailed him as that makes it unavoidable - but it wasn’t.

At most levels of football that isn’t full time professional, you’re not high profile and body shaming isn’t making a bigger part of a wider argument - it’s taking something someone may be very sensitive to and is weaponising it to their face in a place where they have a right to not expect it (particularly in womens football which has done a very good job of being more inclusive).

The men’s game as someone has said may be more unsaveavle - but I walked away from playing in the weight loss league I was playing in (Balon Carte D’or winner right here) as for what was supposed to be for people’s health ended up with being called a fat twat, studs raked down the calf, and some leathering into my ankle deliberately after I’d been out for months with ligament damage.

We have one openly gay player in the Scottish leagues - by laws of statistics that’s way at odds with society. Either there are lots of players afraid to come out, or men’s football isn’t inclusive and the sort of space that those who are gay want to be a part of. Look at the women’s game where there are a lot more openly gay players - it s worth wondering why that is, and if it’s more inclusive it’d be a shame if it were to lose that.

Body shaming or whatever sort of personal abuse on the pitch is the weaponising of it. If you’re putting a keeper or strikers off at penalties with Conrad Logan style “down the middle” or trying to up the pressure on someone who’s been booked or just made a mistake that’s one thing - personal attacks are another.

It’s when you see Instagram posts of Sunday leagues and seeing people put in genuine leg breakers of tackles that make you wonder what goes through peoples heads.

29-11-2024, 02:32 PM
The women's game would regard themselves as different I'd guess, as there's less tribalism about it from early ages.

Probably heightened sensitivity and shock when there is this kind of derogatory comment, as most of the players have a sort of kinship with both teammates and opponents, and see each other as equals. I don't think it's as simple as being weak compared to men, more than that's not the sort of environment they signed up to.

Groathillgrump
29-11-2024, 02:43 PM
So a player from the home side calls a member of the opposition a bad name and she gets so upset (inconsolable even!) she can't continue playing. Her teammates then refuse to play the second half in solidarity with her.

Jeez, when did people become so delicate? :bitchy:

Life is tough. She'll have to face much bigger challenges than been called a name!

ErinGoBraghHFC
29-11-2024, 02:50 PM
What are people’s thoughts on the following:

- Falkirk players insulting Dean Shiels about losing his eye?

- Albion Rovers David Cox being taunted about his publicised mental health problems

- a former Hearts player and manager making comments about Kevin Nisbet’s dad

Part and parcel of the game or as unacceptable on a football pitch as they would be in the street?

All very different from calling someone a fat ****, that’s what I think of them.

29-11-2024, 02:53 PM
All very different from calling someone a fat ****, that’s what I think of them.

What if someone is incredibly self-conscious about their appearance and that’s enough to get a reaction detrimental to their mental health?

29-11-2024, 03:13 PM
So a player from the home side calls a member of the opposition a bad name and she gets so upset (inconsolable even!) she can't continue playing. Her teammates then refuse to play the second half in solidarity with her.

Jeez, when did people become so delicate? :bitchy:

Life is tough. She'll have to face much bigger challenges than been called a name!

The snowflake generation

Stairway 2 7
29-11-2024, 03:27 PM
What if someone is incredibly self-conscious about their appearance and that’s enough to get a reaction detrimental to their mental health?

They shouldn't play sport or go to the pub and they urgently need help with their issues as its effecting their lives. I think going to the pub as a young person and getting the absolute pish ripped out you when you say or do something daft is the grounding of a well adjusted person.

The player should have got a yellow if the ref heard it perhaps walking off is ludicrous. You could have the boy that cried lardass if not, he called me fat and slow so we're not playing, even if it hadn't been said.

He's here!
29-11-2024, 03:34 PM
They shouldn't play sport or go to the pub and they urgently need help with their issues as its effecting their lives. I think going to the pub as a young person and getting the absolute pish ripped out you when you say or do something daft is the grounding of a well adjusted person.

The player should have got a yellow if the ref heard it perhaps walking off is ludicrous. You could have the boy that cried lardass if not, he called me fat and slow so we're not playing, even if it hadn't been said.

https://www.lbc.co.uk/opinion/views/six-match-ban-on-teen-for-asking-a-simple-question-football-association/

Should a female footballer get a six-game ban for asking if an opposition player is a man?

29-11-2024, 03:34 PM
Where will this all end?:devil:

29-11-2024, 03:49 PM

With every respect, we don’t get to dictate what other people’s red lines are.

29-11-2024, 03:51 PM
The snowflake generation

I'm not from that generation and played Sunday league, Darts in dodgy boozers and watched what was deemed funny in 1970. Things have changed and people realise that words do hurt and that type of behaviour is not something you really want to ignore to the point of normalising. Particularly in a sport that is growing and seeking to encourage younger generations. I stood and watched loads of horrible stuff being said, some of it to me. I laughed it off or stuck it in the corner of my mind. I would argue this generation are brave enough to call it out as behaviour that isn't acceptable and on occasion make a stand against it. It takes acts like this to change behaviour.

29-11-2024, 03:52 PM
https://www.lbc.co.uk/opinion/views/six-match-ban-on-teen-for-asking-a-simple-question-football-association/

Should a female footballer get a six-game ban for asking if an opposition player is a man?

When you read the context to it, of course they shouldn’t be getting a six game ban. The world is mental about these type of things.

Murphys Touch
29-11-2024, 03:57 PM
Having played both full time and part time professional football - you should to hear what TEAMMATES say to each other in training when things get heated or even in the changing room.

Stairway 2 7
29-11-2024, 04:00 PM

No because a biological male shouldn't be playing against a female, where is the satisfaction of beating them when you have a physical advantage from bone density to larger lungs and more

29-11-2024, 04:04 PM
No because a biological male shouldn't be playing against a female, where is the satisfaction of beating them when you have a physical advantage from bone density to larger lungs and more

I get what you’re saying, however I’m sure a transgender person would class it as discrimination in the same way an overweight person would

The Tubs
29-11-2024, 04:08 PM
The problem with the East Stand nowadays is that your voice doesn't resoante with the stand anymore so opponents can't hear you when you're trying to sledge them. It spoiled the whole experience.

Stairway 2 7
29-11-2024, 04:08 PM
I get what you’re saying, however I’m sure a transgender person would class it as discrimination in the same way an overweight person would

I'm happy for trans female to have every right whether that is marriage, adoption, the right to be free from abuse to legally call themselves female. I don't when it takes away biological females rights, like the right to get changed next to only biological females or play sports against biological females.

Weight doesn't change your chromosomes or the advantages a male body has over a female in sports

29-11-2024, 04:18 PM
I'm happy for trans female to have every right whether that is marriage, adoption, the right to be free from abuse to legally call themselves female. I don't when it takes away biological females rights, like the right to get changed next to only biological females or play sports against biological females.

Weight doesn't change your chromosomes or the advantages a male body has over a female in sports

Don’t get me wrong I agree with you, I’m just playing devils advocate 🤣

But there will undeniably be transgender people out there that will claim they were born in the wrong body, class themselves as females etc so should be allowed to play female sports.

29-11-2024, 04:20 PM
Having played both full time and part time professional football - you owt to hear what TEAMMATES say to each other in training when things get hearted or even in the changing room.

100%

Coming back from pre season there would always be one player outed as being overweight etc

A spotty kid would get slagged off and there would be comments every time he headered the ball

Not saying it’s right, but we’re on an extremely slippery slope if games start getting cancelled for name calling

Stairway 2 7
29-11-2024, 04:24 PM
Don’t get me wrong I agree with you, I’m just playing devils advocate 🤣

But there will undeniably be transgender people out there that will claim they were born in the wrong body, class themselves as females etc so should be allowed to play female sports.

I genuinely feel sorry for them as they wouldn't go through the torment and abuse I'd they weren't born in the wrong body but unfortunately they were. Women's rights took hundreds of years to be achieved I think it would be misogynistic if I said stop complaining to them. If there was zero advantage I think they wouldn't care but there is so unfortunately the male competition should be an open category for anyone who wants to compete.

ErinGoBraghHFC
29-11-2024, 04:33 PM

In that case, I’m sorry that happened to them. But it’s not comparable to mocking someone for losing an eye (a disability) or attempting suicide. Being fat or ugly isn’t a disability so doesn’t cross that line imo

29-11-2024, 04:41 PM
With every respect, we don’t get to dictate what other people’s red lines are.

That's a very slippery slope in terms of what people can say.

If someone is short is making a jibe about height now frowned upon to an extend it can never be said. That's just one example.

The way certain sections of society are going speech will be curtailed to a level that any kind of joke is barred. I know people on a certain section of the political spectrum believe they are in correct in this, but they aren't.

29-11-2024, 04:58 PM
That's a very slippery slope in terms of what people can say.

If someone is short is making a jibe about height now frowned upon to an extend it can never be said. That's just one example.

The way certain sections of society are going speech will be curtailed to a level that any kind of joke is barred. I know people on a certain section of the political spectrum believe they are in correct in this, but they aren't.

Far more slippery slope to not allow people to draw their boundaries.

If I were to make a joke about someone’s height and they were to say “I’m not comfortable with this” and then I were to continue to make jokes about it then they are very entitled to make a complaint about that.

If someone were to weaponise it as personal abuse then the boundary shouldn’t need to be set in the first place. There is a social contract already in place.

29-11-2024, 05:00 PM

If I were to make a joke about someone’s height and they were to say “I’m not comfortable with this” and then I were to continue to make jokes about it then they are very entitled to make a complaint about that.

So what can be made a joke of in society?

29-11-2024, 05:00 PM
I think going to the pub as a young person and getting the absolute pish ripped out you when you say or do something daft is the grounding of a well adjusted person.

Me and my pals take the pish out of each other all the time. I’d never get offended at what anyone says to me.

29-11-2024, 05:04 PM

If the other person is comfortable with it, anything.

The key in it is “the other person”.

I say this as someone who has an incredibly thick skin and if taken out of context the state of some of my WhatsApp groups would be considered as atrocious by some - the key is that nobody is uncomfortable with it and if someone were to say that they were we’d dial it back.

Paul1642
29-11-2024, 05:04 PM

Seemingly very little these days.

If Hibs men’s teams ever walk of the pitch because a player gets called a fat **** I’d be close to done.

It wasn’t so long ago that chants about Dean Shields having one eye were being chanted at him numerous times a season. It wasn’t right but a backbone was needed and the best way to deal with such a thing is to put in a MOTM performance instead of acting like a young school bairn.

29-11-2024, 05:05 PM
If the other person is comfortable with it, anything.

The key in it is “the other person”.

I say this as someone who has an incredibly thick skin and if taken out of context the state of some of my WhatsApp’s would be considered as atrocious by some - the key is that nobody is uncomfortable with it and if someone were to say that they were we’d dial it back.

So any joke has to be made by asking the person beforehand if they are comfortable with it?

I'm sure you realise how ridiculous that sounds.

29-11-2024, 05:05 PM
Seemingly very little these days.

If Hibs men’s teams ever walk of the pitch because a player gets called a fat **** I’d be close to done.

Big difference between joke and abuse. Claiming abuse is a joke is the classic argument of your average playground bully.

29-11-2024, 05:07 PM
My favourite ‘sledging’ incident is from cricket. Aussie fast bowler Glenn McGrath asked Zimbabwean tail ender Eddo Brandes ‘why are you so fat?’ Quick as a flash Brandes replied ‘cause every time I make love to your wife she gives me a biscuit.’

29-11-2024, 05:07 PM
So any joke has to be made by asking the person beforehand if they are comfortable with it?

I'm sure you realise how ridiculous that sounds.

No. By the sounds of the statement it may have been a downright abusive comment rather than a joke which is very different.

Even if it’s not it’s quite simple. If the other person says they’re uncomfortable - stop.

It’s basic human respect.

29-11-2024, 05:11 PM
No. By the sounds of the statement it may have been a downright abusive comment rather than a joke which is very different.

Even if it’s not it’s quite simple. If the other person says they’re uncomfortable - stop.

It’s basic human respect.

I'm not talking about the comment on the pitch, I'm talking about someone making a comment about someone height, for example, as a way of making a joke.

How is someone meant to know if that will upset the person or not? If there is no way of knowing, are you suggesting it should never be said?

29-11-2024, 05:13 PM
I'm not talking about the comment on the pitch, I'm talking about someone making a comment about someone height, for example, as a way of making a joke.

How is someone meant to know if that will upset the person or not? If there is no way of knowing, are you suggesting it should never be said?

No, I’m saying if that person were to say “I’m not comfortable with that” then you respect that and don’t make that joke again.

29-11-2024, 05:20 PM
No, I’m saying if that person were to say “I’m not comfortable with that” then you respect that and don’t make that joke again.

What if that persons mental health is negatively impacted by the comment before the question could be asked if they are happy for the joke to be made?

29-11-2024, 05:26 PM
What if that persons mental health is negatively impacted by the comment before the question could be asked if they are happy for the joke to be made?

It does depend on the situation IMO. Human beings by their very nature are all different people and if it was genuinely meant as a joke then the intention comes into it.

To say the other person doesn’t have a right to draw a line as to what they find acceptable and what they find uncomfortable is a way more slippery slope though.

29-11-2024, 05:34 PM
It does depend on the situation IMO. Human beings by their very nature are all different people and if it was genuinely meant as a joke then the intention comes into it.

To say the other person doesn’t have a right to draw a line as to what they find acceptable and what they find uncomfortable is a way more slippery slope though.

I don't think anyone has said there isn't a line when people can say that's enough. In any situation if someone is being made fun of to a point that person is offended, most decent people would step in.

The point is you said no-one can know another person's red lines. By that metric the red line could be before the initial joke.

29-11-2024, 05:41 PM
I don't think anyone has said there isn't a line when people can say that's enough. In any situation if someone is being made fun of to a point that person is offended, most decent people would step in.

The point is you said no-one can know another person's red lines. By that metric the red line could be before the initial joke.

Well, yes. Generally speaking you’d imagine you’d be considerate as to how you joke about someone. You’d have very different banter with someone you’ve known all your life than someone who you’ve just met.

29-11-2024, 05:42 PM

Some of the replies on this thread, yours in particular, having me fearing for society as a whole.

At this stage I really think the world, or at least our enlightened western society, perhaps this website, is completely knackered - with a capital F.

When one sportsperson winds up/sledges/abuses an opponent - however you want to describe it - the sole intention of that is to upset them and put them off their game FFS .
That is literally THE point.

Why wouldn't they??

I fully expect you to next turn your attention to some other totally trivial thing like : should boxers be allowed to punch each other? Surely violence has no place in modern society etc etc etc

Absolute bollocks.

29-11-2024, 05:45 PM
Some of the replies on this thread, yours in particular, having me fearing for society as a whole.

At this stage I really think the world, or at least our enlightened western society, perhaps this website, is completely knackered - with a capital F.

When one sportsperson winds up/sledges/abuses an opponent - however you want to describe it - the sole intention of that is to upset them and put them off their game FFS .

Why wouldn't they??

I fully expect you to next turn your attention to some other totally trivial thing like : should boxers be allowed to punch each other? Surely violence has no place in modern society etc etc etc

Absolute bollocks.

I really don’t think the person who is being over sensitive is the one you think it is.

29-11-2024, 05:48 PM
I really don’t think the person who is being over sensitive is the one you think it is.

And I really don't care.
See how easy that was?

29-11-2024, 05:49 PM
And I really don't care.
See how easy that was?

See how easy what was?

Tell me how “if someone has said that they’re not comfortable with a topic of conversation then don’t be a dick” is going to lead to the downfall of society? And what on earth it has to do with banning boxing?

29-11-2024, 05:54 PM
You're allowed to be uncomfortable and even offended or upset.

Doesn't mean you're right, wrong or that the sky is falling.

If I'm no longer comfortable with your repeated posting on this thread will you stop?

29-11-2024, 05:56 PM
You're allowed to be uncomfortable and even offended or upset.

Doesn't mean you're right, wrong or that the sky is falling.

If I'm no longer comfortable with your repeated posting on this thread will you stop?
No, because there are no comments made about you. It’s a discussion on a message board.

I’m not going to continue discussing with you further though as I genuinely have not a clue what this has to do with boxing or the downfall of society.

29-11-2024, 06:29 PM
Personally, at least in some cases, I think comments made towards an individual are worse than comments targeting a larger (but essentially faceless) community.

Saying "women are bad at football" is going to have way less impact on the individuals than a crude, targeted insult. Both are wrong of course but I think the latter should be equally unacceptable.

I have been previously diagnosed with body dysmorphia though, so am just basing it on how I'd feel in that situation.

Groathillgrump
29-11-2024, 06:31 PM

Why wouldn't they??

Absolute bollocks.

You saved me the trouble of typing a similar reply.

I will add that there now appears be a generation of people who actively look for things to be offended by which is really worrying. Next step is the Thought Police!

29-11-2024, 06:35 PM

You can tell by the reaction, or by whether the banter is mutual. If someone doesn't have the awareness to tell when their brand of humour is being offensive/making people uncomfortable, then maybe they should adjust their sense of humour.

29-11-2024, 06:35 PM

I will add that there now appears be a generation of people who actively look for things to be offended by which is really worrying. Next step is the Thought Police!

Who on this thread is offended?

29-11-2024, 06:38 PM

If someone were to weaponise it as personal abuse then the boundary shouldn’t need to be set in the first place. There is a social contract already in place.

Who is going to be the boundary police?

I just choose not to be offended at anything anyone says to me, i find that works well for me, but i've no idea where the boundary stops as everyone if different, so we may as well all be mute and say nothing and nobody will be offended as that's the way it's going.

29-11-2024, 06:38 PM
Another thread derailed by the anti woke lot. Sigh

29-11-2024, 06:40 PM
Who is going to be the boundary police?

The person who is the butt of the joke.

People seem to be going down the lines of “you can’t say anything these days, people will look for reasons to be offended” when I’m pretty exceptionally thick skinned. I just also respect if others aren’t the same.

29-11-2024, 06:41 PM
The person who is the butt of the joke.

How does the person telling the joke know their boundary?

29-11-2024, 06:41 PM
Another thread derailed by the anti woke lot. Sigh

Suggs told me off for telling a sexist joke the other day.

It’s Madness gone politically correct.

Groathillgrump
29-11-2024, 06:42 PM
Who on this thread is offended?

I was talking about society in general.

Did I touch a nerve? :wink:

29-11-2024, 06:43 PM
How does the person telling the joke know their boundary?

If the person says “I’m not comfortable with that”.

Intention is key. If it’s a genuinely well intended joke that has crossed a line and the person stops as soon as they realise they’ve crossed a line then frankly no harm done. Finding a boundary, crossing it, then deciding not to cross it again is still being respectful. We all make mistakes.

I’ve been to comedy roast battles which are often brutal with nothing off limits. I’m never saying “don’t make jokes”. I’m simply saying “it’s good to not be a dick”.

29-11-2024, 06:44 PM
I was talking about society in general.

Did I touch a nerve? :wink:

No. I was adding it to a list of things about boxing, police, and other things that I have no clue where they’d come from or what they had to do with the conversation.

29-11-2024, 06:48 PM
There are a new bread of human that just hates being offended, it's as if they choose to be offended so they can be seen to be outraged.

Everyone seems to get offended now at things they never used to get upset about, when as i said myself, i dont give a toss, and i'd imagine if everyone had that way of thinking the offender or joke maker would quickly give up.

I wonder how some people cope with this modern world that is so bad?

29-11-2024, 06:51 PM
If the person says “I’m not comfortable with that”.

Intention is key. If it’s a genuinely well intended joke that has crossed a line and the person stops as soon as they realise they’ve crossed a line then frankly no harm done. Finding a boundary, crossing it, then deciding not to cross it again is still being respectful. We all make mistakes.

I’ve been to comedy roast battles which are often brutal with nothing off limits. I’m never saying “don’t make jokes”. I’m simply saying “it’s good to not be a dick”.

Cant argue with that. :agree:

Paul1642
29-11-2024, 06:52 PM
I wonder if they would have walked off if they were two nill up?

On the a very similar topic this made me laugh out loud at the end.

https://x.com/footbalifights/status/1860616132111028408?s=46&t=QfwAUDYQuecN_TDBpg3wPA

29-11-2024, 06:52 PM
Cant argue with that. :agree:

Snowflake 😂

29-11-2024, 06:53 PM
There are a new bread of human that just hates being offended, it's as if they choose to be offended so they can be seen to be outraged.

Everyone seems to get offended now at things they never used to get upset about, when as i said myself, i dont give a toss, and i'd imagine if everyone had that way of thinking the offender or joke maker would quickly give up.

I wonder how some people cope with this modern world that is so bad?

Well, it's still up to you if you want to continue to offend the hypothetical target of your joke after they've told you they're not comfortable.

ErinGoBraghHFC
29-11-2024, 06:56 PM

Now as much as this whole “you can’t insult an opponent” stuff is garbage so is your statement here. Reeks of the “woke snowflake hurrdurr” brain rot posted by undesirables on social media.

29-11-2024, 07:01 PM
Snowflake 😂

:greengrin I'm still going to abuse that gorgie lot whether they like it or not.

29-11-2024, 07:02 PM
You ate all the pies...

The Tubs
29-11-2024, 07:13 PM
Robbo, Robbo, where's your wife...?

29-11-2024, 07:25 PM
You ate all the pies...

Me, and i dont give a toss. :devil:

29-11-2024, 07:31 PM
Me, and i dont give a toss. :devil:

Are they vegan with sustainably sourced pastry?

29-11-2024, 07:36 PM
I'm guessing making fun of Hearts fans is off, they might be offended.

Their red lines could be crossed.

29-11-2024, 07:51 PM
Are they vegan with sustainably sourced pastry?

Nope, mutton with the grease running down my chin. Oh er matron.

29-11-2024, 08:00 PM
100%

Coming back from pre season there would always be one player outed as being overweight etc

A spotty kid would get slagged off and there would be comments every time he headered the ball

Not saying it’s right, but we’re on an extremely slippery slope if games start getting cancelled for name calling

This is an interesting comment, and I’m not having a dig at you mate, others have said similar comments on the thread.

If you/we are saying it’s not right, but XYZ, are we suggesting that even though we acknowledge it’s not right, we keep doing it because we don’t like the alternative?

I don’t think it’s unfair to say that abuse and name calling aren’t the same thing, so where is the line drawn? A former hearts player has drawn criticism on here for making a comment about a Hibs player’s recently deceased father, others would say (not me) that sledging is fair game in getting an edge on your opponent. We’re not that far removed that insinuations of being gay or gay insults were very prevalent on the field and from the stands, same with racist remarks, these have been largely wiped out, rightly. At the time they were used though, people would have said it’s just name calling and harmless.

StirlingHibee
29-11-2024, 08:02 PM
Snowflake generation - How on earth are you going to get through a real life crisis when it happens? People need to grow a pair!

29-11-2024, 08:07 PM
One of the many reasons woman’s football will remain 2nd rate pish.

Pathetic amateur *****

29-11-2024, 08:09 PM

Pathetic amateur *****

🤭🍿

29-11-2024, 08:11 PM
Is this misogyny bingo?

Legs eleven…

He's here!
29-11-2024, 08:15 PM

Pathetic amateur *****

The only pathetic aspect of this is your post.

Stairway 2 7
29-11-2024, 08:20 PM
You ate all the pies...

Hate crime

StirlingHibee
29-11-2024, 08:22 PM

Pathetic amateur *****

I agree mate - 2nd rate in my opinion. However, for balance I should add that men's Netball is also 2nd rate pish!

29-11-2024, 08:24 PM
The only pathetic aspect of this is your post.

It will remain miles behind the men’s game at elite level. It can’t compete, physically, ability, mentally.. yet we have pathetic outpouring of made up anger down to body shaming, poor crowds, lesser wages, zero advertising.

Always someone else fault.

29-11-2024, 08:55 PM
Snowflake generation - How on earth are you going to get through a real life crisis when it happens? People need to grow a pair!

You can't even throw a banana on the pitch these days.

29-11-2024, 08:56 PM
You can't even throw a banana on the pitch these days.

But you can take an inflatable one in, and punch it in the air for everyone to join in.:confused:

29-11-2024, 08:57 PM
That only applies if the granny in question is your mammys mammy, if its your daddys mammy then it's open season when it comes to shoving folk off buses I believe

Younger folk will be thinking wtf are they on about?!

29-11-2024, 08:58 PM
It will remain miles behind the men’s game at elite level. It can’t compete, physically, ability, mentally.. yet we have pathetic outpouring of made up anger down to body shaming, poor crowds, lesser wages, zero advertising.

Something tells me you don’t find women comedians funny either.

29-11-2024, 08:59 PM

Perfectly understandable to be honest.

29-11-2024, 08:59 PM

Agree, press etc trying to make it bigger than it will ever be

29-11-2024, 09:00 PM

Cant stand that Rosie Jones, i dread to think what rules i'm breaking there, and who i'm upsetting?

29-11-2024, 09:00 PM
Perfectly understandable to be honest.

Why do you think that is?

29-11-2024, 09:01 PM

I know this might be controversial, but I think the women’s game would be a lot more entertaining and competitive if the pitch and goals were made slightly smaller.

29-11-2024, 09:03 PM
Why do you think that is?

Cos they're not funny.

29-11-2024, 09:05 PM
Cos they're not funny.

I get you think that. Im asking , without judgement, why you think that. Are women just genetically less funny?

29-11-2024, 09:06 PM
I know this might be controversial, but I think the women’s game would be a lot more entertaining and competitive if the pitch and goals were made slightly smaller.

😂😂

29-11-2024, 09:06 PM
Cos they're not funny.

I quite like Ellie Taylor.

Stairway 2 7
29-11-2024, 09:10 PM

Don't think that is offensive it seems obvious I'd I've seen female pros say the same. The goals were designed for men. Women's volleyball net is lower and golfers usually play a shorter course

StirlingHibee
29-11-2024, 09:15 PM

A tad controversial mate but I agree - I would maybe even consider not having goalies - after all I've never seen a women goalie make a save!

HNA12
29-11-2024, 09:20 PM
It looks like all that can be said on this has been said, it will just go round in circles now.

Thread closed.