View Full Version : Scotland v Finland @ Easter Road Stadium

29-11-2024, 10:04 AM
Looks like a good attendance tonight at Easter Road for Scotland's play-off match versus Finland. Only single seats available in most sections.

Looking forward to the match. Maybe see the home team win at Easter Road for a change.

29-11-2024, 10:32 AM
For some reason I thought Scotland were away 1st

29-11-2024, 11:33 AM
For some reason I thought Scotland were away 1st

Maybe getting confused with the men's play-off match against Greece. We're away 1st, home 2nd for that play-off.

29-11-2024, 11:51 AM
i was positive we were away 1st Leg

ah well

29-11-2024, 12:54 PM
Hardly any tickets left. Obv a lot get given out to girls clubs etc but it's still a great showing. Much better having the games at local grounds instead of Hampden.

29-11-2024, 12:56 PM
Hardly any tickets left. Obv a lot get given out to girls clubs etc but it's still a great showing. Much better having the games at local grounds instead of Hampden.

Totally agree

29-11-2024, 01:03 PM

As in all 4 stands nearly sold out?

Chorley Hibee
29-11-2024, 01:06 PM
As in all 4 stands nearly sold out?

Only the Main and the East open.

The crowd won't be anything like what the ticket map shows.

It was the same with the Hungary game.

JasonC1875
29-11-2024, 01:55 PM
i was positive we were away 1st Leg

ah well

We were for the semi final against Hungary, unseeded this time round so home first.

29-11-2024, 02:16 PM
Should be a good game - if anyone wants an Easter Road fix or never seen the SWNT worth heading along.

Cuthbert and Weir are also great to watch on the ball.

29-11-2024, 02:34 PM
I have 2 tickets for tonight as unable to make the game due to feeling unwell. They are digital so can send them across

29-11-2024, 06:12 PM
We were for the semi final against Hungary, unseeded this time round so home first.

29-11-2024, 06:39 PM
Jeezo, absolutely wild the difference in turnout to the expected crowd.

29-11-2024, 06:52 PM
Only the Main and the East open.

The crowd won't be anything like what the ticket map shows.

It was the same with the Hungary game.

Yep. Which is really silly. 3 of us were going tonight but there was no 3 seats together in decent areas. Come kick off loads of gold areas are empty.

29-11-2024, 08:29 PM
Advantage Finland

29-11-2024, 08:32 PM
Aye. 2 teams well matched. No idea why he put Watson up top. She’s not played as a striker since she was about 7 year old 😂

Trinity Hibee
30-11-2024, 06:05 AM

Why is that? Were tickets free?

Puddocky
30-11-2024, 08:07 AM
Why is that? Were tickets free?

Free to under-16s I think.

30-11-2024, 09:41 AM

Yes, was reported as being around 8,800. The odd thing was that the block far right upper in the main stand, which was the only area on eticketing with availability (excluding single seats) when I looked yesterday, looked busier than much of the main stand. Obviously, free or discounted tickets were given to girls clubs, but take up lower than expected.

30-11-2024, 09:58 AM
Advantage Finland

Aye. 2 teams well matched.

I think that was my first live experience of a women's match and my reflection is that quality of individual players has improved from what I recall watching on TV a few years ago. There were no miskicks, goalkeeping errors (a first this season at Easter Road) and defensive shape of both teams was good. However, what was lacking was the creative spark and as a result the match was pretty uneventful.

My other reflection was that it was a joy watching players who just got on with it. There was hardly any throwing themselves to the ground to con the referee giving a foul or a booking. I can't recall the trainers coming onto the pitch disrupting play. Now, I know that the men's game is more physical, but I'd prefer the attitude of the players last night compared to those of the Aberdeen players (and some of our own) who fall over with the most minor of touches and require medical staff treatment.

Would I rush to watch a similar game. Probably not, but I feel women's football is heading in the right direction.

Re Scotland's chances. They must be underdogs now, but I wouldn't write them off largely due to their defensive shape.

30-11-2024, 11:36 AM
I would probably take Erin Cuthbert in the Hibs men’s team’s midfield at the moment. Cracking player. I wouldn’t mess with her either. Looks like she could handle herself in a scrap.

30-11-2024, 11:54 AM
I would probably take Erin Cuthbert in the Hibs men’s team’s midfield at the moment. Cracking player. I wouldn’t mess with her either. Looks like she could handle herself in a scrap.

Dinnae be daft.

He's here!
30-11-2024, 12:57 PM
Yes, was reported as being around 8,800. The odd thing was that the block far right upper in the main stand, which was the only area on eticketing with availability (excluding single seats) when I looked yesterday, looked busier than much of the main stand. Obviously, free or discounted tickets were given to girls clubs, but take up lower than expected.

It's good that free tickets that get distributed around kids clubs/schools etc but the take-up depends a lot on patents being willing to take the kids along. Many will simply have no interest in football and the tickets go unused.. We used to enjoy going to the women's internationals at ER as part of a group when my kids were at primary school.

30-11-2024, 04:19 PM
My other reflection was that it was a joy watching players who just got on with it. There was hardly any throwing themselves to the ground to con the referee giving a foul or a booking. I can't recall the trainers coming onto the pitch disrupting play. Now, I know that the men's game is more physical, but I'd prefer the attitude of the players last night compared to those of the Aberdeen players (and some of our own) who fall over with the most minor of touches and require medical staff treatment.

Some strange things going on in the penalty box, especially. Every time a player of either side got in to the box you sensed they wanted their team to score a goal, rather than win a penalty. Old style fitba!

Musselbound
30-11-2024, 08:37 PM

I thought Cuthbert was Scotland's best player by some distance. But was played too deep to have a major impact on the game.

03-12-2024, 04:40 PM
1-0!down after 8 mins of the 2nd leg. A good strike but perhaps the keeper caught by surprise a bit.

03-12-2024, 04:44 PM
Defensive clanger, then deflection. 2-0

gordie18
03-12-2024, 05:06 PM
The standard of football is abysmal

Basildon Hibs
03-12-2024, 05:45 PM
Women's fitba is utter garbage, tbh.

03-12-2024, 05:51 PM
Get it forward for heaven's sake! Never mind poking it around at the back.

He's here!
03-12-2024, 05:57 PM

A very sweeping generalisation. Scotland have been very poor for a good while now but the top international sides are excellent as are the top clubs.

The mistake folk make is regarding it as a comparable sport to the men's version.

We thoroughly enjoy the Hibs women's games. More than the men's this season in fact.

Basildon Hibs
03-12-2024, 06:03 PM
A very sweeping generalisation. Scotland have been very poor for a good while now but the top international sides are excellent as are the top clubs.

The mistake folk make is regarding it as a comparable sport to the men's version.

We thoroughly enjoy the Hibs women's games. More than the men's this season in fact.

I believe it was only a few years ago, that some teenage laddies hammered the then World Champion USA woman's team...😁😉

03-12-2024, 06:11 PM

It sounds like the 'off' button on the TV is just the invention for you:aok:

Basildon Hibs
03-12-2024, 06:15 PM
It sounds like the 'off' button on the TV is just the invention for you:aok:

No. The change of channel did the trick. 😉 🤣

Halifaxhibby
03-12-2024, 06:18 PM
I believe it was only a few years ago, that some teenage laddies hammered the then World Champion USA woman's team...😁😉

Yeah Wrexham over 50’s hammered a women’s team and an under 18 team hammered another woman’s team….

Scotland are *****…..too busy gettin there nails done and sun tan shops today.

Halifaxhibby
03-12-2024, 06:20 PM

Who’s we?

He's here!
04-12-2024, 09:37 AM
There must be questions getting asked about the decision to extend Martine Lopez's contract until 2027. Getting to the play-off only papered over some very big cracks. Scotland have been going backwards under him.

England are obviously on a different level entirely but that 6-0 defeat at Hampden last year should have had the alarm bells ringing.

Need someone in who can spark a bit of passion. The crowd at the Ireland v Wales game last night (circa 30k I think) provided an atmosphere sorely lacking at Scotland games, especially at Hampden.

04-12-2024, 09:43 AM
First women's game I've watched probably since the last tournament we qualified for.

Seemed a strange lack of urgency from Scotland too happy knocking the ball about in comfortable areas for the opposition. Need your best players to turn up, hardly seen Weir & Cuthbert do anything positive going forward. And the standard of set piece delivery was quite shocking.

That will be me until the next chance of a tournament.

EGL2000
04-12-2024, 10:07 AM
Whenever I watch them I'm also shocked at how poor the players playing at the big clubs look. I've watched a few WSL games/ champions league and always thought the standard was good. Those same players put on a Scotland shirt and look so poor. I'm often more impressed with the ones playing in Scotland which is a much lower standard!

He's here!
04-12-2024, 10:16 AM
Whenever I watch them I'm also shocked at how poor the players playing at the big clubs look. I've watched a few WSL games/ champions league and always thought the standard was good. Those same players put on a Scotland shirt and look so poor. I'm often more impressed with the ones playing in Scotland which is a much lower standard!

Exactly how it strikes me. As you say several of these players are with big clubs where the quality is high. They show next to nothing to indicate that with Scotland. And yes, Hibs women's games tend to be more engaging than what we saw last night from Scotland!

04-12-2024, 10:22 AM
Only saw the second half Scotland looked pretty poor with only really Cuthbert threatening to do something. Thought Weir was way off it.

Renfrew_Hibby
04-12-2024, 01:26 PM
There must be questions getting asked about the decision to extend Martine Lopez's contract until 2027. Getting to the play-off only papered over some very big cracks. Scotland have been going backwards under him.

England are obviously on a different level entirely but that 6-0 defeat at Hampden last year should have had the alarm bells ringing.

Need someone in who can spark a bit of passion. The crowd at the Ireland v Wales game last night (circa 30k I think) provided an atmosphere sorely lacking at Scotland games, especially at Hampden.

Somethings amiss with women's football in Scotland.
Wales first leg in Cardiff drew double the crowd we saw at Easter Road and then last night around 30K rock up in Dublin.
Now there may well have been (but maybe not) loads of freebies or cheepo tickets but there just seems to be a complete down play of women's football in Scotland.
Old blazers with dinosaur attitudes or just a fear that money that might have ended up in the men's clubs coffers could now go towards 'lassies'?

He's here!
04-12-2024, 04:18 PM
Somethings amiss with women's football in Scotland.
Wales first leg in Cardiff drew double the crowd we saw at Easter Road and then last night around 30K rock up in Dublin.
Now there may well have been (but maybe not) loads of freebies or cheepo tickets but there just seems to be a complete down play of women's football in Scotland.
Old blazers with dinosaur attitudes or just a fear that money that might have ended up in the men's clubs coffers could now go towards 'lassies'?

The BBC, to be fair, do a decent job in promoting the game here, but as you say there's a sense of down play within the powers that be. It's not just the bigger attendances but the buzz at matches like the Ireland Wales game which contrasts with the flatness around Scotland.

Different attitude altogether in England. Significant investment rewarded by success. 80k at Wembley for a friendly last week.