View Full Version : Scottish Cup 4th Round Draw - Hibs v Clydebank

28-11-2024, 11:29 AM
It’s the round that Hibs etc enter and I usually look forward to this draw?
It’s taking place after Monday nights 3rd round game, East Kilbride v Falkirk
Ties to take place over the weeks of 18th January. Bae badges is pulling the balls out, hope he’s kind to us as I dread another tough game in this round with the form we’re in

28-11-2024, 11:30 AM
Winner of Musselburgh Athletic - Bo’ness United at Easter Road would be decent.

28-11-2024, 11:35 AM

That would give us a chance of progressing.

28-11-2024, 11:37 AM

That would give us a chance of progressing.

BH, you’re very optimistic😀

28-11-2024, 11:41 AM
BH, you’re very optimistic😀

28-11-2024, 11:50 AM

I'd take the winner of that but away from home.

Wee trip to Musselburgh... excellent.

28-11-2024, 11:52 AM

Aw same, was just thinking it could be a decent wee money maker for either club if it's at ER.

28-11-2024, 11:53 AM
Aw same, was just thinking it could be a decent wee money maker for either club if it's at ER.

Don’t think they would play at Olive bank

28-11-2024, 12:50 PM
Don’t think they would play at Olive bank

The Olive Bank Arena you mean? 😉

28-11-2024, 12:52 PM
I thought it was the Olive Bowl.......

28-11-2024, 01:54 PM

They'll probably get the winner of Irvine Meadow and Stenhousemuir. We'll be away to Celtic.

28-11-2024, 02:31 PM

I know a Hibs supporter who’s have mixed feelings if it’s Musselburgh v Hibs😀

28-11-2024, 02:38 PM

Haha, same. I also have a mate at work who's a massive Bo'ness fan and used to be on their committee. So would quite like either team to get a decent pay day next round.

28-11-2024, 02:53 PM
Haha, same. I also have a mate at work who's a massive Bo'ness fan and used to be on their committee. So would quite like either team to get a decent pay day next round.

Who’s the favourite to win

28-11-2024, 03:01 PM

Musselburgh according to my work mate. Played recently at Bo’ness and Muss won 4-3. Sounded like a bumper of a game though.

28-11-2024, 04:13 PM
East Kilbride away, please

ErinGoBraghHFC
28-11-2024, 04:27 PM
East Kilbride away, please

+1

28-11-2024, 04:48 PM

Sorry forgot they had painted that fence :greengrin

28-11-2024, 04:48 PM

Very close game

28-11-2024, 05:53 PM

I know a few myself...

Hibees1973
28-11-2024, 07:44 PM

My local team.

I have a ticket for their cup tie on Saturday against Bo'ness.

Could do a lot worse than a Luca's ice cream and fish & chips at the Ship Inn in Musselburgh as an away day.

We would have to have a better goalie for me to feel confident of beating the honest men down at Olive Bank. :greengrin

28-11-2024, 08:05 PM
My local team.

Could do a lot worse than a Luca's ice cream and fish & chips at the Ship Inn in Musselburgh as an away day.

We would have to have a better goalie for me to feel confident of beating the honest men down at Olive Bank. :greengrin

Di Rollo's for me. Closer to the ground, too.

28-11-2024, 08:47 PM
My local team.

Luca's ice cream and a pint in the Ship?

Now you're making me homesick...

28-11-2024, 11:36 PM

Have been keeping my eye on Musselburgh's Cup run, hope they win.

Easiest time for me please.

01-12-2024, 07:54 PM
Dunfermline away please.

01-12-2024, 09:07 PM
Dunfermline away please.
Raith away 😉

Potty78
01-12-2024, 09:40 PM
Raith away, hearts away, caley home,dundee utd semi and them at hampden please👍

Cabbage-Patch
01-12-2024, 09:53 PM
Musselburgh Athletic at home please

01-12-2024, 11:39 PM
For obvious reasons Broxburn away please :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

andrew70
02-12-2024, 08:18 AM
Clydebank away for me please.

02-12-2024, 08:25 AM
Hearts at home

02-12-2024, 09:02 AM
About time we had Raith again.

1875M
02-12-2024, 09:24 AM
the easiest team possible at home.

hfc-1875
02-12-2024, 06:41 PM
Is the draw tonight live after Falkirk game?

02-12-2024, 06:43 PM
Is the draw tonight live after Falkirk game?

Aye

Donegal Hibby
02-12-2024, 06:49 PM
the easiest team possible at home.

Always this 👍

Donegal Hibby
02-12-2024, 08:40 PM
What idiot let him do the draw ?

02-12-2024, 08:41 PM
Dragging this out a bit. Hardly Mr Personality

02-12-2024, 08:41 PM
Can we not have a full length interview with Naismith before the draw please

ShadesLongThrow
02-12-2024, 08:42 PM
Good to see the wee tramp dressed up for the occasion.

i fancy it will be Dundee U at ER

Dundee derby

02-12-2024, 08:43 PM
A Dundee derby

02-12-2024, 08:44 PM
At home to Clydebank. Nice one on every level

Hibs v Clydebank

Not a bad draw there.

Take that draw

02-12-2024, 08:45 PM
Wow. Clydebank still exist?

02-12-2024, 08:46 PM
Brechin v The Gimps

That’s a great draw.

Broxburn will be gutted.

02-12-2024, 08:47 PM
Going to be lots of dross left after this round

Naebadges still needs to mention Hibs - cockwomble

It's a new clydebank. Airdrie are clydebank.

02-12-2024, 08:48 PM
Clydebank play in the sixth tier, when did we last get a team that low down?

Got to be happy with that.

Clydebank play in the sixth tier, when did we last get a team that low down?

Irvine Meadow?

Can't really ask for better than that.

02-12-2024, 08:49 PM
I'm struggling to remember if Hearts have ever been drawn against a Highland League side. Does anyone know?

02-12-2024, 08:50 PM
I'm sure I can remember a trip to Kilbowie in the cup in the early 90s. My grandad took me. 5-1 Hibs maybe?

92?

I'm struggling to remember if Hearts have ever been drawn against a Highland League side. Does anyone know?

I’m sure if they had, they took care of them no bother…

Donegal Hibby
Happy with the draw , pity Killie didn’t get drawn at home though. Dundee derby tie of the round IMO .

Irvine Meadow?

Was my first thought but weren't Bonnyrigg fairly far down when we beat them?

GRA
02-12-2024, 08:51 PM
IIRC we played Clydebank in the early 2000s in a Scottish Cup tie at ER, went to a replay which we won 3-0? Have we played them (oldco or newco) since?

That’s what I was thinking. Didn’t we beat them 5-1 in the cup back in the days of Keith?

My only memory of that game is that big huddy up front for them diving to get a penalty.

02-12-2024, 08:52 PM
As good a draw as we could have asked for.

02-12-2024, 08:52 PM
Take that draw

I'd be looking for a win here personally.

02-12-2024, 08:53 PM
Their fans got together and got them into the old Juniors. I worked with one of the guys at the centre of making it happen. Proper fan.

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

Garymcl
Great draw surely guaranteed into the next round ,wonder what the prices will be for this :greengrin

Happy with the draw.

Remember the old Clydebank ending our 22 game unbeaten run in the first division. Was it Sauzee's debut?

Paulie Walnuts
West of Scotland league side.

They’re going well but they’d probably be about a mid table lowland league side. We should be taking 6 or 7 off them.

02-12-2024, 08:54 PM
Happy with the draw.

Remember the old Clydebank ending our 22 game unbeaten run in the first division. Was it Sauzee's debut?

2-0 at Boghead iirc. Pitch was like a tattie field.

02-12-2024, 08:55 PM
Great. I remember getting knocked out the cup by Clydebank 1-0 at Kilbowie a long time ago.
Revenge.

Paulie Walnuts
02-12-2024, 08:55 PM

Bonnyrigg were a junior side when we played them at Tynecastle. Moved into the pyramid system the year after.

02-12-2024, 08:56 PM
Happy with the draw.

Sauzee made his debut v Falkirk at Brockville in a 2-1 win

Bridge hibs
02-12-2024, 08:57 PM
If its a draw does it go to a replay ?

Happy with the draw.

I remember them knocking Hibs out of the cup in the mid 80’s
Think we lost 1-0 at New Kilbowie, I unfortunately was there that day

Great. I remember getting knocked out the cup by Clydebank 1-0 at Kilbowie a long time ago.
Revenge.

1987 I think. Played them the day after my stag night. Was as rough as......

Revenge.

Was that the game the ref (my recollection of it being Valentine) got hit in the face with a pie?

02-12-2024, 08:58 PM
Sauzee made his debut v Falkirk at Brockville in a 2-1 win

You are correct. A different dump.

Stuarty1875
02-12-2024, 08:58 PM
Nice draw. Happy with that.

02-12-2024, 08:59 PM
You are correct. A different dump.

Marinkov made his debut that day too. I do remember the weather being horrendous.

MartinfaePorty
02-12-2024, 09:00 PM
1987 I think. Played them the day after my stag night. Was as rough as......Do you not drive us through as well?! :-) I know somebody did!

Sent from my SM-S721B using Tapatalk

Paul1642
02-12-2024, 09:01 PM
Very good draw. The competition will also loose at a minimum 5 teams from the top 14 in the League (SPFL + Falkirk and Livingston)

02-12-2024, 09:01 PM

Remember a cup game there in the 80's and we lost 🙈

02-12-2024, 09:02 PM
IIRC we played Clydebank in the early 2000s in a Scottish Cup tie at ER, went to a replay which we won 3-0? Have we played them (oldco or newco) since?
The replay was at Cappielow. I got a lift there with a workmate who went on to be a major player in setting up the new club and I think is still a director for them. Good guy - gave me a lift home even though we'd beaten them.

02-12-2024, 09:03 PM
Happy with the draw , pity Killie didn’t get drawn at home though. Dundee derby tie of the round IMO .

No, tie of round is Rangers v Fraserburgh at Ibrox according to Marvin Bartley!!! wtf?

Coach Jon
02-12-2024, 09:03 PM
Probably the easiest draw we could have got.

K-Zazu
02-12-2024, 09:04 PM
Something not right about that draw for me, Naismith wasn’t even shuffling the balls about. It’s like rangers and Celtic balls were put on different sides and he was just picking balls out of the middle.

02-12-2024, 09:05 PM
Did we not lose to Clydebank away in the cup when Miller was manager ? Late 80s probably . One of many low points in that period though Bankies were probably above us in league at the time and had a few good players . Anyway a good draw . I think the last time I saw us play Clydebank was in a 2 goal draw at Boghead ( Kilbowie closed by then ? ) with Kevin Harper getting a double . Anyway a great draw for us and hopefully clubs will use the opportunity to offer reasonable prices and boost the crowd and give folk who normally can`t afford to go the chance just like Killie game .

monarch
02-12-2024, 09:06 PM
Dundee derby looks tasty but Premier Sports will be at Rangers v Fraserburgh and Celtic v Killie.

02-12-2024, 09:08 PM
My only memory of that game is that big huddy up front for them diving to get a penalty.

Our second time hitting 7 at the PBS 😁
Finished 8-1

02-12-2024, 09:09 PM

No

Fanforlife
02-12-2024, 09:09 PM
That’s what I was thinking. Didn’t we beat them 5-1 in the cup back in the days of Keith?

We certainly did I left at half time with Keiths auld man Harry, was freezing and we were choking on a drink🤣🤣

Fanforlife
02-12-2024, 09:11 PM
Snap 😨

Sloop67
02-12-2024, 09:12 PM
Decent enough draw , could've been a lot worse . A few good looking ties

02-12-2024, 09:13 PM

1-0 Ken Eadie. Got to the car and found out Hertz had beaten Celtc. Shouldn’t have worried as St Mirren beat them in the semi courtesy of Frank McGarvey.

Donegal Hibby
02-12-2024, 09:14 PM
No, tie of round is Rangers v Fraserburgh at Ibrox according to Marvin Bartley!!! wtf?

Saying all the right things ..he go far as a pundit with them :rolleyes:

Donegal Hibby
02-12-2024, 09:20 PM

Last time we played them in the cup we drew at ER:worried: ….

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/december/02/hibs-to-face-cyldebank-in-scottish-cup/

02-12-2024, 09:24 PM
Something not right about that draw for me, Naismith wasn’t even shuffling the balls about. It’s like rangers and Celtic balls were put on different sides and he was just picking balls out of the middle.

Pleased it wasn’t just me that was getting annoyed by that 😂

There were a couple of occasions he just kept pulling out numbers beside each other, Dundee Derby obviously one of those occasions but there were others, surely you’re meant to give the balls a wee swirl from time to time?! (Stop giggling at the back 😜)

02-12-2024, 09:39 PM
2-0 at Boghead iirc. Pitch was like a tattie field.

Sure I was at that game.

02-12-2024, 09:42 PM
Snap 😨
As do I, shock of the round.

02-12-2024, 09:44 PM
I also seem to remember playing Clydebank in the league cup and Amdy Goram scoring a penalty.It might have gone to penalties or i could be wrong entirely.

02-12-2024, 09:44 PM
Last time we played them in the cup we drew at ER:worried: ….

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/december/02/hibs-to-face-cyldebank-in-scottish-cup/

I was sure I remembered a honking Scottish Cup result against them at some point in the early 90s, around the time we used to lose to Airdrie regularly.

Maybe that was it?

02-12-2024, 09:45 PM

There were a couple of occasions he just kept pulling out numbers beside each other, Dundee Derby obviously one of those occasions but there were others, surely you’re meant to give the balls a wee swirl from time to time?! (Stop giggling at the back 😜)
It's a variation of the hot ball draw. 😂😂

02-12-2024, 09:58 PM
I also seem to remember playing Clydebank in the league cup and Amdy Goram scoring a penalty.It might have gone to penalties or i could be wrong entirely.

I was there , Went to penalties .Must have been late 80's ...Pretty sure Goram saved the penalty before then stepped up next for the winner

I was there when he scored against Morton anaw ...Bet no many fans can say they have seen a goaly score twice :greengrin

Edit : Oxley anaw against Livingston that's 3 goals for a goalie i have seen score :-)

percy veer
02-12-2024, 10:03 PM
I was sure I remembered a honking Scottish Cup result against them at some point in the early 90s, around the time we used to lose to Airdrie regularly.

Maybe that was it?

Im sure there was a game againt stirling albion we lost aswell .

Musselbound
02-12-2024, 10:03 PM

Maybe that was it?

Pretty sure we beat them comfortably at Kilbowie around that time. I was there. Maybe you're thinking of an earlier match some have mentioned?

02-12-2024, 10:07 PM
Im sure there was a game againt stirling albion we lost aswell .

Replay after 1-1 at Easter road

And aye Chris Jackson scored in a 2-1 win against us :rolleyes:

Superfurry72
02-12-2024, 10:14 PM
1-0 Ken Eadie. Got to the car and found out Hertz had beaten Celtc. Shouldn’t have worried as St Mirren beat them in the semi courtesy of Frank McGarvey.

Wasn’t Ken Eadie. Was Stuart Gordon (I think). Very annoying as we’d have had Dundee at home in QF and both Celtic and Rangers were out.

BS44
02-12-2024, 10:18 PM

We beat them 4-1 at Easter Road the week before, Mikey Weir had a smashing game. Clydebank stuck their wee fat left back on him the following week, Weir hardly got a kick and Hibs were rotten

Not sure what Roughie is doing here for their goal!

HIBS NUTS
02-12-2024, 10:27 PM
I hate to say it, but this is effectively a bye into the next round.
Oh No , what have I done.!

02-12-2024, 10:42 PM
Revenge.

I seem to have a vague recollection of a Hibs player (might have been George McCluskey) being on the deck for ages and the referee refusing to stop the game.

I'm sure I was on the Hawkhill bus that day and one of the windows got smashed by some fud with a scaffolding pole.

02-12-2024, 10:56 PM
A great draw, but would have been good to take the chance to score another ground off the list with an away ground that few will have been to, and certainly not with Hibs, and a chance to recreate one of the classic “Limmy” sketches..

andrew70
02-12-2024, 11:06 PM
https://open.substack.com/pub/andrewjeffrey/p/hibernian-v-clydebank?r=2f20qe&utm_campaign=post&utm_medium=web&showWelcomeOnShare=true

A historic tie awaits Hibernian against old foes Clydebank.

A look back, a club reborn and top players.

03-12-2024, 05:14 AM
I was there , Went to penalties .Must have been late 80's ...Pretty sure Goram saved the penalty before then stepped up next for the winner

I was there when he scored against Morton anaw ...Bet no many fans can say they have seen a goaly score twice :greengrin

Edit : Oxley anaw against Livingston that's 3 goals for a goalie i have seen score :-)
I was at the Morton game too.
Goram scored in the cooshed end. Keeper could only touch it into the roof of the net

03-12-2024, 05:50 AM
Revenge.

Yep mid 80s horrible game they scored early we never looked like scoring

03-12-2024, 05:52 AM

Yes me too a shocker was it Ken Eadie that scored?

03-12-2024, 05:58 AM

Yes that was doing my head in personally think there should be two people doing it not just one and certainly not one when he doesn’t stir the balls about. Fnarr :greengrin

03-12-2024, 06:05 AM
Clydebank going well in their league. Recently beat Broxburn 3 0 or so playing away so while should be a straight forward tie think they are a team on the up at that level. Potential to be tricky if we aren’t at it.

03-12-2024, 06:16 AM
I hate to say it, but this is effectively a bye into the next round.
Oh No , what have I done.!

If we're not putting 4 or 5 past them I'd be surprised

03-12-2024, 06:27 AM
Wasn’t Ken Eadie. Was Stuart Gordon (I think). Very annoying as we’d have had Dundee at home in QF and both Celtic and Rangers were out.

It was indeed! Looked it up and they scored in 14 minutes. Hibs huffed and puffed but deserved to go out.

03-12-2024, 06:42 AM

Mckirdy double (if he’s still here).

03-12-2024, 07:23 AM

I remember it was freezing cold , they had an all seater stadium of railway sleeper benches and there was a big mental pub behind the ground. Cant remember much else probably because I spent too much time in the big mental pub behind the ground.

HIBS NUTS
03-12-2024, 07:29 AM
I remember it was freezing cold , they had an all seater stadium of railway sleeper benches and there was a big mental pub behind the ground. Cant remember much else probably because I spent too much time in the big mental pub behind the ground.
I actually got piles at that game, I was told to sit down on the benches, which were sodden wet.
I had piles for ages afterwards.

03-12-2024, 07:29 AM

If I remember correctly I think Hearts beat Celtic at Tynecastle to round of a grim day.

03-12-2024, 07:31 AM
Yes me too a shocker was it Ken Eadie that scored?

https://www.clydebankfc.co.uk/matchdetails.php?id=965

It was Stuart Gordon, who I went to a school with in Paisley
Funnily enough Kenny Eadie was in my boys club team at under 12 level, he was a goalie back then

Some big names in that Hibs team!

03-12-2024, 08:59 AM

4 or 5 in each half!

03-12-2024, 09:11 AM
I feel it in my fingers, I feel it in my toes that we should comfortably win.

Roxyhibee
03-12-2024, 09:27 AM
Always had a soft spot for them since they held Hearts to 1 goal at Tynie a week before Dens 1986. If they’d rolled over that day and allowed a 4 or 5, it would have all been over, regardless of Albert Kidd.

03-12-2024, 09:33 AM
I feel it in my fingers, I feel it in my toes that we should comfortably win.

:thumbsup::greengrin

03-12-2024, 09:54 AM
I actually got piles at that game, I was told to sit down on the benches, which were sodden wet.
Oh those were the days when football was a real man's game on and off the pitch 😂

03-12-2024, 10:16 AM
I'm sure the week before the cup game we had pumped them at Easter Road. 4-0 or 4-1 i think, typical Hibs we then lost the cup tie.

leith lynx
03-12-2024, 11:38 AM
☺️ The cherry on the cake for a truly miserable day!

03-12-2024, 11:47 AM

The match day experience was very different back then. If that was "New" Kilbowie I would have hated to see the old one.

03-12-2024, 12:26 PM
https://www.clydebankfc.co.uk/matchdetails.php?id=965

It was Stuart Gordon, who I went to a school with in Paisley
Funnily enough Kenny Eadie was in my boys club team at under 12 level, he was a goalie back then

Some big names in that Hibs team!

Ok cheers

03-12-2024, 12:30 PM
I actually got piles at that game

This is my favourite post of all time.

When football gives you a bad case of the Tate n Lyle’s you’ve definitely paid your dues.

03-12-2024, 01:00 PM

Anyone else remember a cup relay from the 60’s, 1965 I think . We won 2-0 and I went through on one of the buses from St Andrew square.
I remember seeing the shells of bombed out tenements from the war that hadn’t been rebuilt.

ruthven_raiders
03-12-2024, 01:01 PM

I was there for oxley and goram scoring from a kick up the park😊💚

HIBS NUTS
03-12-2024, 02:25 PM
This is my favourite post of all time.

When football gives you a bad case of the Tate n Lyle’s you’ve definitely paid your dues.
It’s a pity that we didn’t have phones, in they days, I could have posted the aftermath, in all it’s full glory.

IFONLY
03-12-2024, 02:31 PM

Some people will have a conspiracy theory about anything and everything!!!!!!!

leith lynx
03-12-2024, 03:48 PM
It’s a pity that we didn’t have phones, in they days, I could have posted the aftermath, in all it’s full glory.

Thank god we didn't, perish at the thought!

03-12-2024, 04:02 PM

A bit like when I look back at the boozy fug that was my student era, I think this is one of those occasions where we should count our blessings that smartphones weren't around.

03-12-2024, 07:25 PM

Like we did with Kelty Hearts?

03-12-2024, 07:56 PM
Some people will have a conspiracy theory about anything and everything!!!!!!!

It did look a bit odd to be honest

HIBS NUTS
03-12-2024, 08:20 PM
Like we did with Kelty Hearts?

Kelty are second in league one.
We played them away .
Clydebank are non league, and it’s at home.
Aberdeens defeat by Darvel, or hearts defeat by Brora, are the worst results of all time.
Cyldebank beating us would be worse.

06-12-2024, 09:56 AM
TV games confirmed:

Dundee vs Dundee United
Falkirk vs Raith Rovers
The Rangers vs Fraserburgh (BBC)
Celtic vs Kilmarnock

And on Friday night

Brechin City vs Hearts (BBC)

Lightning strike twice maybe

06-12-2024, 09:57 AM
TV picks all announced and we are not one of them so a rare Saturday 3pm game for us 😀

06-12-2024, 06:16 PM
The original Clydebank's record attendance was 14,900 in February 1965... in a game against Hibs.

06-12-2024, 06:26 PM
The original Clydebank's record attendance was 14,900 in February 1995... in a game against Hibs.

It was 1965 and it was ES Clydebank, I have got the programme somewhere in my collection

07-12-2024, 11:26 AM
It was 1965 and it was ES Clydebank, I have got the programme somewhere in my collection

Sorry, typo.

I'll fix it. :-)

07-12-2024, 11:45 AM
Sorry, typo.

I'll fix it. :-)

👍