View Full Version : What if VARwas run from undersclosed overseas location…?

27-11-2024, 10:42 PM
With competent analysts?

Almost worth the suggestion just to see the look on the uglies faces…

Whilst already feasibleWith time and technology surely becomes more of an option as countries gain VAR experience. As long as we don’t get drawn Scottish analyst's we’ll be fine. Maybe

27-11-2024, 10:54 PM
Im sure VAR would work fine from behind a waterfall. Under a volcano. In a mountain fortress. Without anyone West of Broxburn having any involvement in proceedings.

ErinGoBraghHFC
27-11-2024, 11:25 PM
With competent analysts?

Whilst already feasibleWith time and technology surely becomes more of an option as countries gain VAR experience. As long as we don’t get drawn Scottish analyst's we’ll be fine. Maybe

I reckon it should be run from Ballingarry, Co. Limerick. No particular reason.

27-11-2024, 11:49 PM
I reckon it should be run from Ballingarry, Co. Limerick. No particular reason.

Scottish VAR would be run from somewhere random, like Orange County...

Donegal Hibby
28-11-2024, 12:16 AM
I hate it and would like to see it …

https://youtu.be/pWNe1yu6dlI?si=zglFjDog81aIlBbi

28-11-2024, 06:03 AM
With competent analysts?

Current VAR location according to google maps..

15 mins from Ibrox
20 mins from Celtic Park

Don’t forget the higher you finish in the league you more you payout for VAR - makes sense….

28-11-2024, 07:30 AM
Current VAR location according to google maps..

15 mins from Ibrox
20 mins from Celtic Park

Don’t forget the higher you finish in the league you more you payout for VAR - makes sense….Aw naw, I thought it was run by brothers Walsh & Beaton sitting at opposite ends of the bathtub full of blue water in Dallas's hoose.

Hibs4185
28-11-2024, 09:03 AM
They’d accept the proposal and then move it to Belfast

28-11-2024, 09:22 AM
Im sure VAR would work fine from behind a waterfall. Under a volcano. In a mountain fortress. Without anyone West of Broxburn having any involvement in proceedings.

"West of Broxburn".

It's funny because it's true. Even West of Broxburn might be a bit generous...

28-11-2024, 11:34 AM
"West of Broxburn".

It's funny because it's true. Even West of Broxburn might be a bit generous...

You might be right. Ive always been deeply suspicious of folk from Winchburgh as well.

28-11-2024, 11:39 AM
My pals and I always say we should do the VAR for English games and vice versa, would take away the implied bias, never happen though

28-11-2024, 12:48 PM
You might be right. Ive always been deeply suspicious of folk from Winchburgh as well.

That's old Winchburgh.....

28-11-2024, 03:53 PM
If it ever in a parallel universe came to pass then Ali McCoist would “demand” to know who made then decisions (he really gave away his true colours away from his cheeky chappie persona during the Rangers fall from grace)

28-11-2024, 04:05 PM
With competent analysts?

Unless other countries are willing to give up their top officials on match day (they'd need to be fluent in English too) it's pie in the sky. Would cost more than the clubs would be willing to pay.

HarpOnHibee
28-11-2024, 04:41 PM
It's a funny thought. But I wouldn't trust a group of people in an undisclosed location to be anymore competent than the clowns we have already. There would be even less accountability, as there would be no faces to put towards any controversial decisions. Not that the current crock are held accountable in any meaningful way.

28-11-2024, 04:59 PM
It's a funny thought. But I wouldn't trust a group of people in an undisclosed location to be anymore competent than the clowns we have already. There would be even less accountability, as there would be no faces to put towards any controversial decisions. Not that the current crock are held accountable in any meaningful way.

Rotate it. It’s fantasy anyway but surely there comes a point where countries get to some level of considency maybe more qualified nations do an exchange so folks can pair up and skill up.

regarding the translation / command of English - South Africa, Nigeria, New Zealand, Aus, Philippines and many mainland Europe have a better command of English than the locals :)

HarpOnHibee
28-11-2024, 05:06 PM
Rotate it. It’s fantasy anyway but surely there comes a point where countries get to some level of considency maybe more qualified nations do an exchange so folks can pair up and skill up.

regarding the translation / command of English - South Africa, Nigeria, New Zealand, Aus, Philippines and many mainland Europe have a better command of English than the locals :)

Rotating the VAR team could help. But because we're talking about unnamed people in an unnamed location, it wouldn't be long before fans began questioning whether these rotations were actually occurring or not, especially if they felt like their club was finding itself on the costly end of VAR decisions.

I think VAR needs to be more open and transparent rather than less so.

Basildon Hibs
28-11-2024, 05:13 PM
'Underclosed' ??

28-11-2024, 06:51 PM
'Underclosed' ??

sorry can’t see how to edit the title.

It should of course be “undisclosed”

29-11-2024, 06:16 PM
You could see them deciding to take this on board and operate VAR from “overseas”, then inform us that the location operated from is to be Belfast.

30-11-2024, 08:17 AM
Unless other countries are willing to give up their top officials on match day (they'd need to be fluent in English too) it's pie in the sky. Would cost more than the clubs would be willing to pay.

I had to read that twice as I was sure I saw the word 'flute'.

I wonder what made me think that?

30-11-2024, 08:24 AM
The only VAR will ever improve is if this give live audio and fans can hear it at home or games. That’s the transparency needed.

30-11-2024, 08:47 AM
The only VAR will ever improve is if this give live audio and fans can hear it at home or games. That’s the transparency needed.

I can just imagine it now...

"Hello, hello, Mason. Do you think that was a penalty?"

"Well, William, it would depend"

"Depend on what, Mason?"

"Well, William. Was it one of those wee Fenian Eejits or was it one of our Gloriously Loyal True-Blue foot soldiers"

"Ah how right you are Mason..... penalty to Rangurs!"

30-11-2024, 07:51 PM
Who’s love to see VAR outsourced. We’d still have the mistakes but it would remove the suspicion of bias.

11-12-2024, 07:04 AM
Who’s love to see VAR outsourced. We’d still have the mistakes but it would remove the suspicion of bias.

The problem with many VAR decisions is that it's still down to one person's view on whether a rule has been broken or not. And, as we know, that person will get things wrong and in Scotland there's clearly a bias towards two clubs. I don't know if computer technology is up to it yet, but surely there will become a day when we start talking about the probability that something happened or not. For example, 86% certain that a player has been fouled in the box, so the computer says "Penalty".

11-12-2024, 07:06 AM
On a slightly different but related topic, I see that Dundee United have held talks with referees chief Willie Collum in the aftermath of the 1-1 draw with Kilmarnock. Not sure why Dundee United did so, but I wonder whether Hibs have done similar to discuss some of the decisions against us. The penalty awarded to Dundee United being the obvious one.

11-12-2024, 07:14 AM
On a slightly different but related topic, I see that Dundee United have held talks with referees chief Willie Collum in the aftermath of the 1-1 draw with Kilmarnock. Not sure why Dundee United did so, but I wonder whether Hibs have done similar to discuss some of the decisions against us. The penalty awarded to Dundee United being the obvious one.
We have done on a few occasions in the past.