View Full Version : Goalkeepers Now v Golden Generation Keepers
27-11-2024, 03:25 PM
The current pairing, bad as they are, have some way to go to match Clown and Zibi.
Maybe controversial, but I’ve said it.
ErinGoBraghHFC
27-11-2024, 03:28 PM
The current pairing, bad as they are, have some way to go to match Clown and Zibi.
Not a chance, Zibi had a few howlers especially against Hertz but had a few good games too. Neither of this pair are capable of having a good game.
27-11-2024, 03:30 PM
Not a chance, Zibi had a few howlers especially against Hertz but had a few good games too. Neither of this pair are capable of having a good game.
Bursik had a good game at Ibrox including a point blank save from Dessers.
He's struggled to replicate it anywhere else, which you'd think would be easier than Ibrox.
ErinGoBraghHFC
27-11-2024, 03:35 PM
He's struggled to replicate it anywhere else, which you'd think would be easier than Ibrox.
The fact it was from Dessers devalues it massively to be honest.
27-11-2024, 03:36 PM
The fact it was from Dessers devalues it massively to be honest.
It doesn't though really does it. Praise where it's due, criticism where it is too.
27-11-2024, 03:44 PM
Zibi had a few high profile howlers in big games but he was a much better goalie overall than these 2.
27-11-2024, 03:45 PM
As long as we aren't playing Hearts, out of the unholy trinity on offer, it's got to be Zibi for me, by some way, on this occasion. Remember seeing him for the first time on our irish tour (2005?) and thought he was going to be decent[emoji16]
27-11-2024, 04:26 PM
I wasn't wholly convinced by Wollocott but I can remember him coming up with a few big saves in moments. Already more than what I've seen over a third of a season this year. I can only hope it was him driving the move and we've not assessed it and told him if you want football you'll need to leave.
27-11-2024, 04:28 PM
That's a big claim but definitely haven't seen the likes since then. Though the goal at Dundee last week reminded me of Maka kicking the ball of the striker up at Aberdeen that's the only comparison I could make.
27-11-2024, 05:00 PM
Where does Graeme Smiths “performance” in the 6-6 draw with the mothers stand in all this tales of woedom?
27-11-2024, 05:05 PM
Zibi had a few high profile howlers in big games but he was a much better goalie overall than these 2.
Correct, he's the perfect example of when I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets.
27-11-2024, 05:07 PM
Where does Graeme Smiths “performance” in the 6-6 draw with the mothers stand in all this tales of woedom?He did save a penalty?[emoji16]
27-11-2024, 05:12 PM
Where does Graeme Smiths “performance” in the 6-6 draw with the mothers stand in all this tales of woedom?
I would have had him investigated for match fixing allegations.
27-11-2024, 05:45 PM
Considering the number of **** ups vs number of games I think Bursik is the worst I’ve ever seen at ER. He’s made some good saves but for every one there’s been either a howler or at the very least a shot that he should have saved.
27-11-2024, 06:16 PM
I watched it as it cropped up on my Xitter feed (Brazilian Portuguese joke - “Xi” is pronounced “shi”)
it looks completely suspect.
27-11-2024, 10:16 PM
Brown was a shocker. Still can’t forget the two goals Charlie Adam scored against him. Showed him the near post, lost a goal. Then did exactly the same not long after. Clown indeed.
28-11-2024, 10:49 AM
Did he not save a penalty in that game, though? I think he was just crap.
Zibi, however, I've suspected was on Romanov's payroll. Largely decent except against Hearts where he was like a different player.
snedzuk
28-11-2024, 11:09 AM
He had a good game at Ross County including one marvellous save which involved leaping into the air, meaning Smith would have struggled.
28-11-2024, 11:11 AM
As long as we aren't playing Hearts, out of the unholy trinity on offer, it's got to be Zibi for me, by some way, on this occasion. Remember seeing him for the first time on our irish tour (2005?) and thought he was going to be decent[emoji16]
His running to the corner flag with the ball to speed up play at Livi was a classic. We did manage to scramble it clear if I remember correctly.
DickieDastardly
28-11-2024, 12:25 PM
My first game was in 1980, Jim MacArthur was between the sticks. From that point for the next decade or so we generally had good goalies, Roughie, Goram, Budgie, Leighton, Colgan, Anderson, Williams, Stack, even the early reserve keepers were ok (Robin Rae/Chris Reid).
We never seemed to have any shockers nor was there a Tynecastle goalkeeper "hoodoo", it seemed to start with Zibby, then spread across Brown x 2, McNeill, Ma Kalamby etc (not in order), our keepers came under media scrutiny and it's been pretty fragile ever since...
28-11-2024, 12:40 PM
His running to the corner flag with the ball to speed up play at Livi was a classic. We did manage to scramble it clear if I remember correctly.Yep, for the avoidance of doubt I'm saying Istill preferred zibi to the other two mentioned.
28-11-2024, 12:45 PM
It can only be our younger generation that can be calling the keepers we have now.
No one was worse that Zibi. It's a real stretch to pin point his worst howler but I think the one where he helped chuck a 2-0 lead at ER in a derby when he sprinted from his line to punch a cross that hadn't even reached the box, leaving Velicka a free header into an open goal from 22 yards.
28-11-2024, 01:19 PM
I remember I always had a real disliking for Nick Colgan. I think if you looked closely enough on Tuesday night you could see him still trying to get down to the 1st goal AEK Athens scored in 2001. Current estimates are that if he continues going down in the stages he did that night he'll hit the ground sometime around the Hibs 175th anniversary celebrations.
He was like prime Buffon compared to his competition in the latter part of his time here in Tony Caig. Hands down the worst professional goalkeeper I have ever seen. The 5-1 defeat at Tynecastle should be shown to every young goalkeeper as a manual for what not to do. There was another game against Partick Thistle when Colgan was sent off, Caig came off the bench and the free kick that followed the red was passed into the goal at a snails pace and he didn't get close to getting down for it.
Bursik is bad, Smith may be worse but anyone saying they are the worst they have seen at Hibs is either too young to have seen Caig or have erased him from their memory in an act of self preservation. I'd take Oli Gottskalkson, Zibi or even Simon ****ing Brown ahead of Caig.
28-11-2024, 01:23 PM
Zibi is remembered for the big cup games against Hearts, and while he was a big ocassion player, Clown matched him all the way for sheer consitency. Anybody remember the game against the Huns when Charlie Adam took a free kick, with Clown wandering around on the edge of his box? Basically just gently volleyed it over the wall into an empty end.
THEN
Did exactly the same thing later on the game.
It was more than an astonishingly inept goalkeeping performance, it was watching a man who was so non-present in the moment, he literally could have been on a different world.
28-11-2024, 01:43 PM
My abiding memory of Simon Brown was him having the ball in his hands unaware of an opposition player being behind him, putting ball down to kick it and the player nipping in, taking the ball off him and scoring. Might have been a derby actually.
Zibi was a vastly better keeper than Brown.
28-11-2024, 02:01 PM
My abiding memory of Simon Brown was him having the ball in his hands unaware of an opposition player being behind him, putting ball down to kick it and the player nipping in, taking the ball off him and scoring. Might have been a derby actually.
It was a derby that happened but thankfully they didn't score from the error.
Game finished 2-2 and took place only a couple of weeks after we won 2-1 at Tynecastle, O'Connor and Shiels scoring. Hearts went 1-0 up in said game when Brown tried to shepherd the ball past the post and succeeded only in guiding it tenderly into the net.
28-11-2024, 02:18 PM
I remember I always had a real disliking for Nick Colgan. I think if you looked closely enough on Tuesday night you could see him still trying to get down to the 1st goal AEK Athens scored in 2001. Current estimates are that if he continues going down in the stages he did that night he'll hit the ground sometime around the Hibs 175th anniversary celebrations.
He was like prime Buffon compared to his competition in the latter part of his time here in Tony Caig. Hands down the worst professional goalkeeper I have ever seen. The 5-1 defeat at Tynecastle should be shown to every young goalkeeper as a manual for what not to do. There was another game against Partick Thistle when Colgan was sent off, Caig came off the bench and the free kick that followed the red was passed into the goal at a snails pace and he didn't get close to getting down for it.
Bursik is bad, Smith may be worse but anyone saying they are the worst they have seen at Hibs is either too young to have seen Caig or have erased him from their memory in an act of self preservation. I'd take Oli Gottskalkson, Zibi or even Simon ****ing Brown ahead of Caig.
Colgan I always thought was a really average goalkeeper. I never came away from a game being wowed by one of his performances. He was steady. He made very few mistakes and very few good saves.
28-11-2024, 02:43 PM
Game finished 2-2 and took place only a couple of weeks after we won 2-1 at Tynecastle, O'Connor and Shiels scoring. Hearts went 1-0 up in said game when Brown tried to shepherd the ball past the post and succeeded only in guiding it tenderly into the net.
Ah memory must have been playing tricks on me.
With you mentioning Colgan, I just looked him up. I see he's the GK Coach at Stockport County where Smith was last season. He could have warned us about him!
28-11-2024, 02:47 PM
Colgan I always thought was a really average goalkeeper. I never came away from a game being wowed by one of his performances. He was steady. He made very few mistakes and very few good saves.
I mind being at the official club night after the 2001 cup final, ended up a wee bit star struck round the players, and in an odd friendly way blurted out that he should've saved the opener from McNamara.
Conversation over.
28-11-2024, 02:51 PM
It can only be our younger generation that can be calling the keepers we have now.
No one was worse that Zibi. It's a real stretch to pin point his worst howler but I think the one where he helped chuck a 2-0 lead at ER in a derby when he sprinted from his line to punch a cross that hadn't even reached the box, leaving Velicka a free header into an open goal from 22 yards.
Come on, that's a wee bit of a stretch, it wasn't far off the penalty spot. There's not much of a defence for Zibi's mental strength when he played Hearts, but he'd have been off the scale bonkers to come for a cross at the edge of the D :greengrin
28-11-2024, 02:53 PM
Come on, that's a wee bit of a stretch, it wasn't far off the penalty spot. There's not much of a defence for Zibi's mental strength when he played Hearts, but he'd have been off the scale bonkers to come for a cross at the edge of the D :greengrin
Just checked it. It was just inside:agree:
28-11-2024, 02:58 PM
He had a good pedigree Zibi some moments but he wasn’t that bad
Paul1642
28-11-2024, 05:53 PM
Nah. Zibi was a decent keeper who was either in the pocket of Vlad or had major derbyphobia.
Bursic and Smith are just awful keepers.
30-11-2024, 11:37 PM
Zibi is remembered for the big cup games against Hearts, and while he was a big ocassion player, Clown matched him all the way for sheer consitenct. Anybody remember the game against the Huns when Charlie Adam took a free kick, with Clown wandering around on the edge of his box? Basically just gently volleyed it over the wall into an empty end.
THEN
Did exactly the same thing later on the game.
It was more than an astonishingly inept goalkeeping performance, it was watching a man who was so non-present in the moment, he literally could have been on a different world.
All said a few posts above yours.
01-12-2024, 12:18 AM
Just checked it. It was just inside:agree:
And either way… it was a cross he had absolutely no business coming out for.
The single most inexplicably poor decision I’ve seen a Hibs player make in a game.
I’m one of those who thought that Zibi was actually ok to decent most of the time. It was just the regular game changing gaffes in derbies that got to the point of being borderline suspicious.
01-12-2024, 09:06 PM
A reminder that Zibby made SEVEN high profile howlers against Hearts. And he came from a region of Poland not too far from Lithuania.
And in fact the only save of any note he actually made in a derby was stopping Benji running to the Hearts fans to celebrate a Hibs winner. Got to respect your paymaster.
01-12-2024, 10:49 PM
Pretty sure it was Lee Miller that nicked the ball away and I thought brown was actually fortunate not to get sent off for bringing him down.
Ribs1875
01-12-2024, 11:13 PM
It is crazy to think although Brown was prone to errors, we did get 3rd. We then signed Zibbi the following season. I never rated him from the get go. Whenever he came out for a cross I instantly got butterflies. Yet we still managed tops sixth finishes with Zibbi. It didn't help during that time we had Ian Westwater then Gordon Marshall as the goalkeeper coaches.
Case to be made that our current two goalkeepers and goalkeeping coach would not be missed if they were to leave the club tomorrow.
whiskas
02-12-2024, 11:16 AM
A reminder that Zibby made SEVEN high profile howlers against Hearts. And he came from a region of Poland not too far from Lithuania.
And in fact the only save of any note he actually made in a derby was stopping Benji running to the Hearts fans to celebrate a Hibs winner. Got to respect your paymaster.
I still have nightmares about the 4-0 semi final and Zibi's part in the goals, especially Paul Hartley's free kick
02-12-2024, 11:57 AM
I still have nightmares about the 4-0 semi final and Zibi's part in the goals, especially Paul Hartley's free kick
Prefer not even to think about him, it was that bad but remember watching the game and saying to my mate he's left too much space over that post, he must be ready to dive that way. Hartley of course sees the space and hits the goal. An absolute disaster area of a goalkeeper. Simon Brown arguably even worse but can't forgive the clown for all those derby mistakes.
He's here!
02-12-2024, 12:30 PM
Prefer not even to think about him, it was that bad but remember watching the game and saying to my mate he's left too much space over that post, he must be ready to dive that way. Hartley of course sees the space and hits the goal. An absolute disaster area of a goalkeeper. Simon Brown arguably even worse but can't forgive the clown for all those derby mistakes.
And yet as someone else has mentioned we managed to finish third and fourth under Mowbray with those keepers, something we've never achieved since.
We were always on a hiding to nothing in that semi-final with the team we had to put out, but as you say that Zibi howler just compounded things.
Ribs1875
02-12-2024, 02:56 PM
I'm sure it was that very game Amadou Konte went in the air for a 50/50 with Jose Goncalves and broke his jaw. He got carried off with a section of our dejected support singing cheerio 🤣.
02-12-2024, 03:55 PM
I remember it well. Was in the old east and was screaming at him before it was taken as we could also see the gaping chasm he'd left wide open for Adam to aim at.
02-12-2024, 04:32 PM
Did he not save a penalty in that game, though? I think he was just crap.
Zibi, however, I've suspected was on Romanov's payroll. Largely decent except against Hearts where he was like a different player.
He did. Id forgotten about it too, rewatched it the other day. so unless he saved it by mistake (which is conceivable i suppose) i think we have to consign that to a tinfoil helmet conspiracy. Some of his attempts at stopping the final four goals were comical and in exclusion did look very suspicious.
Dr What If?
02-12-2024, 05:30 PM
Some of the names mentioned on here are giving me cold chills :greengrin. I still think our worst though was a Duffy signing, Ole Gottskalksson. Iceland international, looked the part but absolutely horrendous. His keeping was a huge part of our relegation that year.....very much in the Ma Kalambi mold. Cost us £200k if I remember right, big money at the time, especially for an Icelandic player.....released for nothing after a year.
02-12-2024, 06:22 PM
Some of the names mentioned on here are giving me cold chills :greengrin. I still think our worst though was a Duffy signing, Ole Gottskalksson. Iceland international, looked the part but absolutely horrendous. His keeping was a huge part of our relegation that year.....very much in the Ma Kalambi mold. Cost us £200k if I remember right, big money at the time, especially for an Icelandic player.....released for nothing after a year.
Pretty sure he's spent time in jail for burgling a hoose tae , Could be talking crap tho
He's defo no the worst tho , Zibby , Caig simon brown and mark brown all worse imo obviously
Dr What If?
02-12-2024, 06:54 PM
Pretty sure he's spent time in jail for burgling a hoose tae , Could be talking crap tho
He's defo no the worst tho , Zibby , Caig simon brown and mark brown all worse imo obviously
I Googled him :greengrin.....your right about the jail, also got banned from playing by the FA for refusing a drug test, never knew any of that.
It's criminal just how many candidates we have for worst keeper ever......though the more I think about it, those who think its dodgy that Zibby only seemed to drop clangers against them might have a point.
02-12-2024, 06:59 PM
I think part of the problem with Oli (who WAS pish btw) was that the bar prior to him coming for Hibs goalkeepers was very high. We’d had a couple of decades worth (at least) of good to fantastic goalkeepers and then that clown turned up.
So the shock to the system didn’t really help, although he started a trend that has seen us become accustomed to substandard Hibs goalkeepers, with the odd exception thrown in along the way.
02-12-2024, 07:05 PM
Oli was here a lot longer than a year.
Was here the season we were relegated and was replaced firstly by Chris Reid then Bryan Gunn. Played every game in the 1st division the season we were promoted then played the first half dozen or so games of the following season before having a mare v Dundee Utd (Sunday evening game, 3-2 win, Billy Dodds missed a late penalty for them) and was replaced by Nick Colgan away at Kilmarnock the following week. He's in the footage of the Millennium Derby win when Sauzee runs to the Hibs fans. Sub keeper and is celebrating the goal.
A bit of a tragic character really. Football career in the UK went off the rails when he fled before a drugs test. Played a few games in Iceland but since retirement has had a few spells in both prison and rehab. Hopefully he's doing well now.
02-12-2024, 07:07 PM
Gonna chuck in a curve ball here , Anyone remember Miles Hogard ? ( spelling ?) ..Hink he played in an Edinburgh cup festival game , Just remember him being really tall , Cannae hink how many games he played for us tho
LEaston87
02-12-2024, 07:09 PM
Gonna chuck in a curve ball here , Anyone remember Miles Hogard ? ( spelling ?) ..Hink he played in an Edinburgh cup festival game , Just remember him being really tall , Cannae hink how many games he played for us tho
Can’t remember Hogard but I remember Morten Hyldgaard if it was him?
02-12-2024, 07:10 PM
Morten Hyldgaard. Signed about the same time as Daniel Anderson. Only played a couple of games.
Miles Hogard sounds suspiciously like Myles Hogarth who played for Hearts (and his laddie plays for Falkirk).
02-12-2024, 07:12 PM
Iirc he was also an Iceland international at basketball. Ball handling skills obviously not prevalent there!
02-12-2024, 07:20 PM
Can’t remember Hogard but I remember Morten Hyldgaard if it was him?
Morten Hyldgaard. Signed about the same time as Daniel Anderson. Only played a couple of games.
Miles Hogard sounds suspiciously like Myles Hogarth who played for Hearts (and his laddie plays for Falkirk).
Aye Morton Hyldgaard guys :agree:
Ribs1875
02-12-2024, 07:42 PM
Jakub Divis
TrinityHFC
02-12-2024, 07:48 PM
Most of the older aeration of keepers got a period to settle in. There wasn’t the clamour to drop or get rid of people after a few games.
02-12-2024, 07:48 PM
There was a guy we signed who was Canadian, Mike Franks, played a couple of games the season we finished 3rd including the game at Fir Park when Zitelli scored an absolute rocket in a 3-1 win. Sure we brought him in from someone like Ajax or PSV. Big Dutch team anyway.
Don't remember much about his ability but I always remember he couldn't kick for toffee. Made Jim Leighton look like prime Barthez with the ball at his feet.
02-12-2024, 07:51 PM
David Grof a young Hibs goalie played against Morton in the League Cup. Can’t remember if he started or he came on as a sub, but he had a torrid time
Went onto have a decent career back in Hungary
02-12-2024, 08:00 PM
David Grof a young Hibs goalie played against Morton in the League Cup. Can’t remember if he started or he came on as a sub, but he had a torrid time
David was a good keeper but his head was full of mince when he was young (hardly a rarity admittedly). I knew him quite well when he was in Edinburgh and played against him a couple of times. He was a bit of a legend in his own head back then and spent all his time telling anyone who would listen he was off to Celtic. Was rarely without a drink in his hand which didn't go unnoticed at Hibs either.
Bit of a nomadic career but played a fair few games and was part of a squad that won the Hungarian league. Was playing in Greece last I heard.
02-12-2024, 08:11 PM
David was a good keeper but his head was full of mince when he was young (hardly a rarity admittedly). I knew him quite well when he was in Edinburgh and played against him a couple of times. He was a bit of a legend in his own head back then and spent all his time telling anyone who would listen he was off to Celtic. Was rarely without a drink in his hand which didn't go unnoticed at Hibs either.
Bit of a nomadic career but played a fair few games and was part of a squad that won the Hungarian league. Was playing in Greece last I heard.
Aye had a decent career parading about the pubs and clubs of George St in the heyday of Shanghai:hilarious
LEaston87
02-12-2024, 09:08 PM
There was a guy we signed who was Canadian, Mike Franks, played a couple of games the season we finished 3rd including the game at Fir Park when Zitelli scored an absolute rocket in a 3-1 win. Sure we brought him in from someone like Ajax or PSV. Big Dutch team anyway.
Don't remember much about his ability but I always remember he couldn't kick for toffee. Made Jim Leighton look like prime Barthez with the ball at his feet.
I remember he came on at ht to make his debut against Celtic and we drew 0-0
02-12-2024, 09:34 PM
Aye Morton Hyldgaard guys :agree:
Did he not come to the club quite highly rated but couldn’t shift someone with a lower reputation but who was doing well for the first team. Can’t remember who, might even have been Daniel Andersson?
Edit - just noticed someone mentioned he signed at roughly the same time as Andersson.
Ribs1875
02-12-2024, 10:21 PM
Did he not come to the club quite highly rated but couldn’t shift someone with a lower reputation but who was doing well for the first team. Can’t remember who, might even have been Daniel Andersson?
Edit - just noticed someone mentioned he signed at roughly the same time as Andersson.
He played in the festival derby, came out for a cross, flattened our centre half (I think it was Doumbe) then the hearts player got the ball at his feet and scored an open goal. Andersson played them in a few weeks later in the league derby. Brebner got sent off and Andersons saves kept us in that game. We managed to edge those ****s out with ten men and O'connor scored a last minute goal. I remember supporters running on the pitch celebrating after the final whistle.
He's here!
02-12-2024, 11:23 PM
Oli was here a lot longer than a year.
Was here the season we were relegated and was replaced firstly by Chris Reid then Bryan Gunn. Played every game in the 1st division the season we were promoted then played the first half dozen or so games of the following season before having a mare v Dundee Utd (Sunday evening game, 3-2 win, Billy Dodds missed a late penalty for them) and was replaced by Nick Colgan away at Kilmarnock the following week. He's in the footage of the Millennium Derby win when Sauzee runs to the Hibs fans. Sub keeper and is celebrating the goal.
A bit of a tragic character really. Football career in the UK went off the rails when he fled before a drugs test. Played a few games in Iceland but since retirement has had a few spells in both prison and rehab. Hopefully he's doing well now.
Oli was sound for us in the First Division. Was Chris Reid still around then?
03-12-2024, 04:04 AM
I think Chris Reid left the club shortly after relegation. Oil and Chris crossed over in their Hibs careers for one season - 1997-98. Coincidentally, it was 36 years ago yesterday that Chris made his Hibs debut at East End Park, in place of an injured Andy Goram.
03-12-2024, 09:25 AM
He was outstanding. I hardly missed a game that season and there was one game away to Stranraer where we won but Oli’s saves kept us in the game.
03-12-2024, 01:13 PM
I think Chris Reid left the club shortly after relegation. Oil and Chris crossed over in their Hibs careers for one season - 1997-98. Coincidentally, it was 36 years ago yesterday that Chris made his Hibs debut at East End Park, in place of an injured Andy Goram.
Reid was magnificent in that game keeping a clean sheet. Looked like a huge prospect at the time, but then only played 35 games in just under 10 years for us.
Wonder if he would have had a better career had he become a number 1 somewhere else earlier on rather than warming the bench at ER.
03-12-2024, 01:16 PM
Maybe it's just the passing of time but I just don't recall Ole being that bad. He was hardly going to ever win the Golden Gloves but the worst ever? Not sure about that.
03-12-2024, 01:38 PM
Maybe it's just the passing of time but I just don't recall Ole being that bad. He was hardly going to ever win the Golden Gloves but the worst ever? Not sure about that.
He had a few howlers along the way.
One spilled shot that cost us a win at home to Motherwell on our way to relegation proved to be particularly damaging.
Had a few good games in the First Division though.
No way he'd have been allowed to stay our number one for so long in the modern era, we're definitely more impatient now.
I think he just stands out because he was the first ropey goalkeeper most of us will have seen Hibs have, even if he wasn't even all that bad.
03-12-2024, 04:04 PM
He played in the festival derby, came out for a cross, flattened our centre half (I think it was Doumbe) then the hearts player got the ball at his feet and scored an open goal. Andersson played them in a few weeks later in the league derby. Brebner got sent off and Andersons saves kept us in that game. We managed to edge those ****s out with ten men and O'connor scored a last minute goal. I remember supporters running on the pitch celebrating after the final whistle.
And Brebners red was later rescinded. Also beat that lot with 10 men at the PBS
Archibald famous celebration game and the red was also in the first half.
He's here!
03-12-2024, 04:22 PM
I don't recall Chris ever letting us down when he stepped in, although he was never going to get much of a run with Goram then Leighton in front of him.
Another in a similar position was Robin Rae, who I think was the back-up for much of Roughie's time at Hibs.
When I first started following Hibs seriously the keeper's shirt seemed to alternate between Jim McArthur and Mike MacDonald.
03-12-2024, 07:44 PM
I don't recall Chris ever letting us down when he stepped in, although he was never going to get much of a run with Goram then Leighton in front of him.
Another in a similar position was Robin Rae, who I think was the back-up for much of Roughie's time at Hibs.
When I first started following Hibs seriously the keeper's shirt seemed to alternate between Jim McArthur and Mike MacDonald.
I used to go to Misty’s in Porty back in the day. One Saturday night, Robin Rae was in and he could barely stand. We were playing on the Sunday for some reason and he started the game. Not sure what was up with Roughie but RR didn’t do too badly from what I remember.
03-12-2024, 07:59 PM
Simon Brown is the one I truly despise. Wasn’t the worst, but he was poor - the two Rangers goals were bad, but who could forget the Lee Miller header that he thought he was ushering round the post at Tynie?
Regardless, the reason I hate him most of all is for his “prison camp” comments about the warm weather training resort the team went to ahead of winning the LC in 2007.
To come out with comments like that at all was ridiculous enough, never mind when you’ve just gained a winners’ medal (probably his only ever one).
Collins clearly fell short on the man management front, but it’s the attitude of players like Brown that held us back from doing something absolutely amazing that season - not that the cup win wasn’t great, but we had a great crack at the Scottish as well.
Ribs1875
04-12-2024, 08:48 AM
Simon Brown is the one I truly despise. Wasn’t the worst, but he was poor - the two Rangers goals were bad, but who could forget the Lee Miller header that he thought he was ushering round the post at Tynie?
Regardless, the reason I hate him most of all is for his “prison camp” comments about the warm weather training resort the team went to ahead of winning the LC in 2007.
To come out with comments like that at all was ridiculous enough, never mind when you’ve just gained a winners’ medal (probably his only ever one).
Collins clearly fell short on the man management front, but it’s the attitude of players like Brown that held us back from doing something absolutely amazing that season - not that the cup win wasn’t great, but we had a great crack at the Scottish as well.
Collins was too big for his own boots when he was in charge at hibs. He blamed everyone else but himself for it not working out with us. Stripping Thomson of captaincy didn't sit well with the players. Petrie was also to blame for undermining him and holding a meeting with the players in his livingroom.
Simon Brown was not good enough, hence the reason he was happy enough to see that contract out. My other half's dad is mates with him. He speaks highly of the club and our supporters. His comments after leaving were aimed at Collins.
04-12-2024, 09:08 AM
Is Simon Brown not held in very high regard at one of his former clubs?
Colchester maybe?
I remember having fairly high hopes for him as he arrived with a decent reputation. He definitely had a few good games but also had his howlers and you couldn’t really make any sensible argument that he was a success over the piece.
04-12-2024, 09:39 AM
Is Simon Brown not held in very high regard at one of his former clubs?
Colchester maybe?
I remember having fairly high hopes for him as he arrived with a decent reputation. He definitely had a few good games but also had his howlers and you couldn’t really make any sense of argument that he was a success over the piece.
He had a brilliant save in the cup game we won 3-0 at Ibrox. Bob Malcolm shot on the angle and he showed a level of agility I thought was beyond him to shift his weight and dive back across himself to touch it onto the bar. I'd go as far as to say it is in the top 5 best saves I have seen live. That was at 0-0 and had it gone in it was a different game altogether.
He also played in the QF that year when we beat Falkirk 5-1 as well but Zibi was obviously back in goals for the semi final. Another season when the wheels fell off spectacularly after Christmas. Between Boxing Day and seasons end we went W5 D4 and L10 in the league.
04-12-2024, 09:44 AM
He had a brilliant save in the cup game we won 3-0 at Ibrox. Bob Malcolm shot on the angle and he showed a level of agility I thought was beyond him to shift his weight and dive back across himself to touch it onto the bar. I'd go as far as to say it is in the top 5 best saves I have seen live. That was at 0-0 and had it gone in it was a different game altogether.
He also played in the QF that year when we beat Falkirk 5-1 as well but Zibi was obviously back in goals for the semi final. Another season when the wheels fell off spectacularly after Christmas. Between Boxing Day and seasons end we went W5 D4 and L10 in the league.
I remember that save, it was a belter.
04-12-2024, 09:55 AM
:agree: So true. I was right behind it and still dont understand how he got to it. Up there with Gordons last minute save from a Rob Jones header in the same era. We were getting battered at the time and SB very much contributed to my best ever Hibs away day.
Paulie Walnuts
04-12-2024, 10:03 AM
I can’t believe he was still here when we won the cup. Had it in my head he was here for Mowbrays first season then emptied.
04-12-2024, 03:50 PM
These days many Hibs fans would have been demanding Mowbray should be sacked for that type of run.
TrinityHFC
05-12-2024, 10:15 PM
These days many Hibs fans would have been demanding Mowbray should be sacked for that type of run.
There are one or two still on here that whined about Tony Mowbray back then.