View Full Version : 1st January 1998 - the saving of Duff Jim
Walter
27-11-2024, 10:06 AM
After last night anyone else getting flashbacks to the 1998 new year Kevin Harper wonderland derby that saved Duff Jim?
27-11-2024, 10:11 AM
After last night anyone else getting flashbacks to the 1998 new year Kevin Harper wonderland derby that saved Duff Jim?
Harper was unplayable in that game , Ripped them to bits on that right hand side , So much so Hearts players took it in turns to kick ****ing lumps out of him !
Musselbound
27-11-2024, 10:13 AM
I just recall it being a 2-2 comeback draw (from 2-0 down?) that kept Duffy in the job. But not for too long?
27-11-2024, 10:16 AM
Andy Walker and McGinlay for Hibs think Fulton scored for them at least once.
27-11-2024, 10:20 AM
Said exactly this last night
Trinity Hibee
27-11-2024, 10:20 AM
Andy Walker and McGinlay for Hibs think Fulton scored for them at least once.
Aye he scored 2. That game is often shown as a derby classic on sky sports.
27-11-2024, 10:23 AM
That Hibs team was much better than the current one. Sure we beat Celtic on first game of the season.
27-11-2024, 10:25 AM
The 26th November is not the 1st January.
I appreciate that I was 6 at the time and don't have the personal experience to make the comparison, but the two games are a bit off from each other.
27-11-2024, 10:37 AM
That Hibs team was much better than the current one. Sure we beat Celtic on first game of the season.
We did Larssons first game where he gifted the ball to Chico in midfield. BOOM!
Broxburn Greens
27-11-2024, 10:38 AM
The Chick Charnley goal from the halfway line when a certain Henrik Larsson made a hash of a clearance :agree:
We were top of the league or around it during September the start of October and relegation seemed a million miles away... Then we lost 4-3 to the original Rangers at home and it all went Pete Tong from there :rolleyes:
The appointment of McLeish came too late to save us.
I've been saying for the last couple of weeks there's a whiff of that season in the air and last night maybe has that feeling to it, although I hope instead it proves to be a point we can kick on from and get out of the mess.
Been saying if we're sticking with Gray we must get to the transfer window in touch with the teams above us and I'm hoping we perhaps have some decent loans lined up from Bournemouth to come in right at the start of the window, that being the case I still have optimism we'll prove too strong for the likes of St. Johnstone & Ross County and catch then pass them.
WestStandWillie
27-11-2024, 10:44 AM
I don't get that vibe whatsoever.
If we get to January and the gap is somewhere between 5-6 points away from 8th then it turns that Transfer window into the most important one in recent memory.
Doesn't matter if it's Gray or whoever in charge.
Last night gave me some hope that we can stay up but a goalkeeper must be identified and signed within the first couple of days in January.
TrinityHFC
27-11-2024, 10:45 AM
Some seem disappointed we didn't lose. Best case is we build on it and improve.
27-11-2024, 10:46 AM
I am thinking January 1996 Hibs fresh from a 0-7 doing at Ibrox everyone feared the worst Hearts took an early lead but Hibs replied with a header from Michael O’Neill and a glorious volley from the edge of the box from Kevin Harper to restore the natural order and wish Hearts all the compliments of the season
Kevin Harper loved a goal against Hearts scoring in a 3-1 win 1995 and another 2-1 win in 1998 to scupper Hearts’ title hopes
27-11-2024, 10:53 AM
I have some faith still that we could have a better January window than the likes of St Johnstone or Ross County but we need to look a bit healthier with the players we do have as well.
We can't sign 15/20 new players for example but we could get 3/4/5 starters in the door to improve us. But that leaves us relying on guys that are currently playing still, I just hope we can turn a corner performance wise over Christmas and new year to kick on with some new recruits.
Broxburn Greens
27-11-2024, 10:57 AM
That's just bonkers, have I wanted change including the consideration that the Manager should be gone over the last few weeks? Of course I have, like nearly every other Hibs fan.
Do I ever want Hibs to lose a game, of course I don't & I hope I never do. To want such a thing would make me question someone's true level of support for the club.
It would've been criminal to have lost last night. The team for all their frailties to a man worked and went right to the very death, not one player's effort could be faulted and whilst we should've won and been out of sight before Aberdeen equalised to be on the "right side" of that crazy injury time period was a wee shot in the arm for all at the game I thought and one of those draws were you left feeling almost like a win and hopefully lifts the team to go on to an equally tough workmanlike performance against Motherwell and the other games coming down the track.
27-11-2024, 10:58 AM
Goals here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wvZSBdiEDRc
Fulton on 5 and 10 minutes for Hearts. Walker on 51 and McGinlay on 67 for Hibs.
Reid
Miller
Boco
Dods
Dennis
Dow
Harper
Jackson (Chris)
Crawford
Walker
McGinlay
Rougier and Kenny Miller coming off the bench with Charnley an unused sub.
There were 3 derbies in a row actually played on NYD from 96-98. A 2-1 win for Hibs at ER with Harper and O'Neill scoring, a 4-0 loss at ER in Duffy's first game in charge and the aforementioned 2-2 draw. We next played on NYD itself in 2011 with Hearts winning 1-0 and Kevin Kyle scoring. It hasn't happened since.
Hibs Go Bragh
27-11-2024, 10:59 AM
The Chick Charnley goal from the halfway line when a certain Henrik Larsson made a hash of a clearance :agree:
We were top of the league or around it during September the start of October and relegation seemed a million miles away... Then we lost 4-3 to the original Rangers at home and it all went Pete Tong from there :rolleyes:
The appointment of McLeish came too late to save us.
I've been saying for the last couple of weeks there's a whiff of that season in the air and last night maybe has that feeling to it, although I hope instead it proves to be a point we can kick on from and get out of the mess.
Been saying if we're sticking with Gray we must get to the transfer window in touch with the teams above us and I'm hoping we perhaps have some decent loans lined up from Bournemouth to come in right at the start of the window, that being the case I still have optimism we'll prove too strong for the likes of St. Johnstone & Ross County and catch then pass them.
Charnley's goal from the halfway line was a different game, no? I had Killie in my head but struggling to remember now! Pat McGinlay also scored from the halfway line a couple of weeks before (or maybe after) Charnley did it.
The 4-3 Rangers game was a killer! We were 3-1 up and Jimmy Boco missed a great chance to make it 4-1. Rangers brought Stuart McCall off the bench and he ran the show for them that day.
27-11-2024, 11:04 AM
Charnley's goal from the halfway line was a different game, no? I had Killie in my head but struggling to remember now! Pat McGinlay also scored from the halfway line a couple of weeks before (or maybe after) Charnley did it.
The 4-3 Rangers game was a killer! We were 3-1 up and Jimmy Boco missed a great chance to make it 4-1. Rangers brought Stuart McCall off the bench and he ran the show for them that day.
McGinlay was against Killie from about 45 yards, a 4-0 win. Charnley was against Alloa in the LC, a 3-1 win. No cameras covering the game so it was lost to history.
27-11-2024, 11:10 AM
McGinlay was against Killie from about 45 yards, a 4-0 win. Charnley was against Alloa in the LC, a 3-1 win. No cameras covering the game so it was lost to history.
I've definitely seen both goals on tv at some point years ago , Mcginlay's for sure was on tv
27-11-2024, 11:23 AM
I've definitely seen both goals on tv at some point years ago , Mcginlay's for sure was on tv
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1796117346031128969?s=46
Don’t think I’ve ever seen the Charnley one again, but his was not only inside his own half but up the slope as well - makes Pat’s look a mere tap in by comparison!
27-11-2024, 11:29 AM
Mcginlay on his birthday tae :greengrin
What we'd give for a player like him in the team now !
Trinity Hibee
27-11-2024, 11:30 AM
Mcginlay on his birthday tae :greengrin
What we'd give for a player like him in the team now !
As a youngster, Frank Lampard had posters of Pat McGinlay on his wall
27-11-2024, 11:33 AM
As a youngster, Frank Lampard had posters of Pat McGinlay on his wall
Quite believe it :greengrin
27-11-2024, 11:33 AM
McGinlay's definitely was. It was featured in the 'Going for Glory' VHS we released early that season along with a few other early season highlights. That worked out well:greengrin
I'm 99% sure there was no footage of the Charnley goal. I remember the EEN made a fairly big deal of presenting him with a framed photo of him hitting the shot because of that.
27-11-2024, 11:35 AM
I wasn't disappointed at all when we equalised- I was delighted.
But in the cold light of day I see itas a stay of execution and at this point I think we're desperately in need of change before it's too late. I made the same connection to that 2-2 Derby at Tynie.
We are in serious danger of becoming very detached from 10th place- our run of fixtures to take us to the halfway point in the league is horrendously difficult. We're taking comfort from Hearts being next to us but they have a much more favourable run coming and the next derby is a home game for them - one that they rarely lose. The rest are all taking points of each other.
There were a few positives from last night and signs of hope but I'm still wondering where our next win is coming from. Is a single point at home justification for more risk?
The Baldmans Comb
27-11-2024, 11:53 AM
I'm sure I've seen Charnley's goal, wasn't it on the Goals and Glory DVD?
Sadly you haven't as there was a frantic search led by the EEN to try to obtain footage but they admitted defeat in the pre smart phone age.
Uphill as well and in front of a very small crowd.
27-11-2024, 11:56 AM
Sadly you haven't as there was a frantic search led by the EEN to try to obtain footage but they admitted defeat in the pre smart phone age.
Uphill as well and in front of a very small crowd.
Yeah just realised I was thinking of a completely different goal lol. Apologies
TrinityHFC
27-11-2024, 12:14 PM
I wasn't disappointed at all when we equalised- I was delighted.
But in the cold light of day I see itas a stay of execution and at this point I think we're desperately in need of change before it's too late. I made the same connection to that 2-2 Derby at Tynie.
We are in serious danger of becoming very detached from 10th place- our run of fixtures to take us to the halfway point in the league is horrendously difficult. We're taking comfort from Hearts being next to us but they have a much more favourable run coming and the next derby is a home game for them - one that they rarely lose. The rest are all taking points of each other.
There were a few positives from last night and signs of hope but I'm still wondering where our next win is coming from. Is a single point at home justification for more risk?
You don't guarantee an upturn though and you create more risk with more change.
Changing managers shouldn't be done as a punishment - it should be about what is the best position for the future. We really don't know enough just now due to the the circumstances with lots of new players, keepers struggling, mistakes, red cards, refereeing errors to know without any doubt that someone else would do a better job in the long term.
Changing managers has done us no good for years, I'm fine with us trying a different approach of working through our issues. I don't think we have been as bad this season as the results show it can turn around. We are way too early in the season for comparisons with other relegations. Most of which have been due to the second half of the season collapses.
27-11-2024, 02:49 PM
The 26th November is not the 1st January.
I appreciate that I was 6 at the time and don't have the personal experience to make the comparison, but the two games are a bit off from each other.
There were cry's for Duffy to be sacked well before he was, and before the 2-2 draw, but of course those 2 goals gave him a stay of exicution, then McLeish came in just too late to save us from relegation.
Sack him now and give the new man the best chance possible to keep us up.
27-11-2024, 02:56 PM
Was there Boco shaved his tache and got K/O by free kick was a typical derby wee walker was decent loan signing
27-11-2024, 05:09 PM
Charney scored from about 20-25 yards out v celtic.
The halfway line goal was up the slope v alloa.
Mcginlay scored down the slope from about half way vs killie.
So many parallels to that season, scary.
27-11-2024, 06:34 PM
Don’t think I’ve ever seen the Charnley one again, but his was not only inside his own half but up the slope as well - makes Pat’s look a mere tap in by comparison!
Which I believe Chic mentioned to Pat on quite a few occasions :greengrin
27-11-2024, 07:47 PM
Goals here:
Fulton on 5 and 10 minutes for Hearts. Walker on 51 and McGinlay on 67 for Hibs.
Reid
Miller
Boco
Dods
Dennis
Dow
Harper
Jackson (Chris)
Crawford
Walker
McGinlay
There were 3 derbies in a row actually played on NYD from 96-98. A 2-1 win for Hibs at ER with Harper and O'Neill scoring, a 4-0 loss at ER in Duffy's first game in charge and the aforementioned 2-2 draw. We next played on NYD itself in 2011 with Hearts winning 1-0 and Kevin Kyle scoring. It hasn't happened since.
Hibs have won the most Jan 1st derbies
32 to 30. Pity they have stopped them.
He's here!
27-11-2024, 07:53 PM
Yep, got it on an old VHS somewhere. Don't think Charnley's was televised.
His goal against Celtic SEEMED like it was hit from the halfway line but it was probably 25-30 yards out.
hibeejeebies
27-11-2024, 08:12 PM
Goals here:
Reid
Miller
Boco
Dods
Dennis
Dow
Harper
Jackson (Chris)
Crawford
Walker
McGinlay
Great memories PB, thanks for posting.
Classic Hibs strip and Jim Duffy should've been sacked for the leather jacket alone.
27-11-2024, 08:58 PM
I have some faith still that we could have a better January window than the likes of St Johnstone or Ross County but we need to look a bit healthier with the players we do have as well.
We can't sign 15/20 new players for example but we could get 3/4/5 starters in the door to improve us. But that leaves us relying on guys that are currently playing still, I just hope we can turn a corner performance wise over Christmas and new year to kick on with some new recruits.
If it’s the same people in charge of recruitment as it is now we will sign more duds
27-11-2024, 09:08 PM
Yep, got it on an old VHS somewhere. Don't think Charnley's was televised.
His goal against Celtic SEEMED like it was hit from the halfway line but it was probably 25-30 yards out.
Think you are getting confused :greengrin
Charnley scored a decent goal against Celtic from about 25-30 on the opening day of the season , His goal against Alloa in the cup was the one from the half way line then Mcginlay done the same a week later :thumbsup:
28-11-2024, 07:24 AM
After about 5 games that Hibs team was murder and got relegated.
28-11-2024, 08:34 AM
After about 5 games that Hibs team was murder and got relegated.
It was murder yes, but the standard has gone down lots in the league since then and the 98 team would batter this lot.