View Full Version : Who scouted the two goalies?
26-11-2024, 08:25 PM
Whoever it is should be first out the door.
Utterly embarrassing.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
26-11-2024, 08:27 PM
We could have got any keeper from the championship and they would have been better, it's unbelievable.
26-11-2024, 08:28 PM
We could have got any keeper from the championship and they would have been better, it's unbelievable.
We could play an outfield player and they’d be better.
We could have got better goalies from the East of Scotland league.[emoji35]
Whoever it is, we have to know. Shambolic failure
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
Trinity Hibee
26-11-2024, 08:30 PM
How are these guys even professional? The errors are absolutely shocking and it’s a weekly occurrence
Paul1642
26-11-2024, 08:33 PM
Horrific. There are probably 30-40 keepers in Scotland alone who would do better than what we’ve got and that’s probably being kind.
HarpOnHibee
26-11-2024, 08:34 PM
It's not just an issue of recruitment. It's evident at this point that we don't train goalkeepers properly either. The mistakes ours have made over the years would make a goalie in an amateur league blush.
26-11-2024, 08:35 PM
For the keepers alone we absolutely deserve the relegation that is inevitably coming our way.
Paul1642
26-11-2024, 08:37 PM
It's not just an issue of recruitment. It's evident at this point that we don't train goalkeepers properly either. The mistakes ours have made over the years would make a goalie in an amateur league blush.
I don’t know enough about pro football but that doesn’t sound right to me. A competent keeper shouldn’t needed trained on how not to fluff a ball into his own net, basic positioning and not to leave yourself highly and dry after a missed punch.
I think they are just really bad goalkeepers. (Not a defence of our coaching staff who probably aren’t doing us any favours either)
HarpOnHibee
26-11-2024, 08:41 PM
I don’t know enough about pro football but that doesn’t sound right to me. A competent keeper shouldn’t needed trained on how not to fluff a ball into his own net, basic positioning and not to leave yourself highly and dry after a missed punch.
I think they are just really bad goalkeepers.
There's more to goalkeeping than just the technical aspects. There's a huge mentality element to it as well. For me, it's far too much of a coincidence that over the years with different goalkeepers, different managers and different owners, we've repeatedly witnessed the same kind of errors over and over again. It's not easy to find goalkeepers who are this bad naturally.
26-11-2024, 08:51 PM
Utterly embarrassing.
How can a club sign two goalies that are both so crap?
Unbelievable stuff.
26-11-2024, 08:56 PM
Whoever found these goalies must be single still as they wouldn't recognise a keeper 😉
Hibees1973
26-11-2024, 09:07 PM
I suspect Ian Gordon has been all over these two goalies coming in.
During the summer MacKay had to run all new recruits through Ian Gordon. Not just the wages/contract. Their ability as well.
Not much has changed since MacKay came in.
26-11-2024, 09:14 PM
How can a club sign two goalies that are both so crap?
Unbelievable stuff.
Ian Gordon
26-11-2024, 09:16 PM
During the summer MacKay had to run all new recruits through Ian Gordon. Not just the wages/contract. Their ability as well.
There’s no salary available that would allow me to do that job.
“Just before you sign the contract, just to let you know that I decide who we do and don’t sign but you can’t tell anyone about it, it’s our secret”
My hatred for that man ramps up by the day.
26-11-2024, 09:18 PM
Surely we were offered Dennis in the summer from Bournemouth? I genuinely don't understand why he's not our No.1
26-11-2024, 09:23 PM
Neither had played football in a long time so we won’t have had proper scouts watching them live. Most likely they had some stats that impressed our now ex-Head of Technical recruitment signed off by his boss IG. Hopefully this Garvan Stewart boy can spot a goalie or two.
26-11-2024, 09:24 PM
Surely we were offered Dennis in the summer from Bournemouth? I genuinely don't understand why he's not our No.1
Hopefully he is on Jan 2nd
26-11-2024, 09:24 PM
Because Bournemouth need him, he has been on their bench in recent weeks.
26-11-2024, 09:25 PM
Both goalies were signed when Malky Mackay was responsible for recruitment
26-11-2024, 09:25 PM
Ian Gordon
His turn next?
26-11-2024, 09:30 PM
therefore this time we can't just blame Ian Gordon ?
26-11-2024, 09:30 PM
His turn next?
His ego would fill the goal
Hibees1973
26-11-2024, 09:35 PM
Word is Ian Gordon is still heavily involved in identifying players, not just agreeing contracts/wages.
He is not titled Head of Recruitment anymore, but still involves himself in stuff he shouldn't.
26-11-2024, 09:46 PM
It should be a simple question and then a simple answer from the CEO.
26-11-2024, 09:47 PM
It should be a simple question and then a simple answer from the CEO.
And I still wouldn’t believe the answer.
Albahibs
26-11-2024, 09:47 PM
Going against the grain. Thought Smith had a good match tonight, until the error. The Aberdeen keeper had a couple of similar errors that fortunately for him didn't (unfortunately for us) end up in the back of the net.
26-11-2024, 09:50 PM
Going against the grain. Thought Smith had a good match tonight, until the error. The Aberdeen keeper had a couple of similar errors that fortunately for him didn't (unfortunately for us) end up in the back of the net.
The error eh think it was errors mate he is garbage just like the other clown we have.
HibsGW
Did he? I don’t really remember the Aberdeen keeper flapping at a cross and leaving us with a shot from 6 yards out or him letting a shot in thats straight at him from the penalty spot
HarpOnHibee
He was fumbling relatively weak shots before the 2 errors and his kicking was atrocious.
26-11-2024, 09:51 PM
Absolute shocker for the 2nd and looked like he should have saved the 3rd but not seen the goals back.
Daydreamer
Was told tonight that Craig Samson the goalkeeping coach endorsed both goalkeepers. Jesus he got kicked out of Aberdeen for not being competent enough. Says it all about Hibs now
Whoever it was instant dismissal
Whelahan 1875
26-11-2024, 09:55 PM
On tonight’s performance Smith looks worse than Bursic, which is truly staggering!
Souter96Mac
26-11-2024, 09:57 PM
If we want to try and win any games of football between now and January, we must delve into the free agents. There has to be someone even remotely half competent we can get in. If not, we will continue to concede soft as **** goals and make horrible errors in that position. Won't matter if we score 3 goals every game.
26-11-2024, 09:57 PM
Nowt to do with him so I've been told. Or SDG. Or Samson.
Houston7
26-11-2024, 10:00 PM
Utterly embarrassing.
I assume Stevie Wonder scouted them. Perhaps better had we signed Stevie. 😂😎
K-Zazu
26-11-2024, 10:09 PM
Must have been Marshall then.
26-11-2024, 10:16 PM
Is it the recruitment analyst who has just been punted and Ian Gordon? It's frightening if SDG wasn't involved and even more frightening if he was!
26-11-2024, 10:17 PM
I suspect he had a tenner on an Aberdeen win as the only other scenario is we signed someone who has never played in goals before. For their third he seemed to dive below the ball with his hand up in the air - bizarre. He was so far away from the cross in their second that he got his passport stamped. Never held a thing all night and his distribution was woeful. I can't believe he looks good in training because I'd have to put him in as the worst keeper I have ever seen at Hibs, and that includes some huddies. Gray is totally out of his depth sadly.
26-11-2024, 10:30 PM
Because Bournemouth need him, he has been on their bench in recent weeks.
No he's not. Travers has been on the bench for them.
26-11-2024, 10:32 PM
Is it the recruitment analyst who has just been punted and Ian Gordon? It's frightening if SDG wasn't involved and even more frightening if he was!
Allegedly but I can't verify it. Got told by a guy who may or may not have been talking bollox but has been right in the past mostly.
26-11-2024, 10:33 PM
No he's not. Travers has been on the bench for them.
26th October v Aston Villa - Dennis was on the bench.
2nd November v Man City - Dennis was on the bench.
He’ll also be back on the bench when they play Chelsea as Kepa is unavailable.
I suspect he had a tenner on an Aberdeen win as the only other scenario is we signed someone who has never played in goals before. For their third he seemed to dive below the ball with his hand up in the air - bizarre. He was so far away from the cross in their second that he got his passport stamped. Never held a thing all night and his distribution was woeful. I can't believe he looks good in training because I'd have to put him in as the worst keeper I have ever seen at Hibs, and that includes some huddies. Gray is totally out of his depth sadly.
never like to slate the players but he looked the worst I have ever seen between the sticks tonight. Everything about him looked nothing like you'd expect from a professional keeper. looking at their WIKI pages the careers of both goalies are bizarre and utterly outrageous both are here at the same time.
26-11-2024, 10:35 PM
On tonight’s performance Smith looks worse than Bursic, which is truly staggering!
Agree. I wasn't sure that was even possible before tonight. Boruc has looked better than both the few times he's played for us. Get him in.
26-11-2024, 10:40 PM
26th October v Aston Villa - Dennis was on the bench.
2nd November v Man City - Dennis was on the bench.
He’ll also be back on the bench when they play Chelsea as Kepa is unavailable.
9th November and 23rd November he wasn't. They don't need him and Cal McKenna could easily go on the bench v Chelsea.
26-11-2024, 10:47 PM
Genuinely considering campaigning for the tan to start without a keeper on Saturday to give us a chance.
26-11-2024, 10:57 PM
Neither had played football in a long time so we won’t have had proper scouts watching them live. Most likely they had some stats that impressed our now ex-Head of Technical recruitment signed off by his boss IG. Hopefully this Garvan Stewart boy can spot a goalie or two.
They saw they hadn’t conceded a goal all last season but forgot to check that was because they’d played zero games
27-11-2024, 12:08 AM
He’s in charge of recruitment…and certainly was when we signed both
He can’t claim innocence
27-11-2024, 01:38 AM
He’s in charge of recruitment…and certainly was when we signed both
He can’t claim innocence
Bigger concern for me is that they’re getting worse with coaching.
Buying two players who aren’t good enough is just about ok if you’re confident you can develop and improve them. Buying them and making them worse is horrendous.
Cooshed Kid
27-11-2024, 01:39 AM
Absolute shocker for the 2nd and looked like he should have saved the 3rd but not seen the goals back.
Who knows what gaffes Boruc may have made if he was in goals, but with their second, if Boruc went for a punch he’d make it, and with their overhead kick third he’d parry it over the bar just because of his height. Play Boruc and offload the others ASAP.
27-11-2024, 03:20 AM
Utterly embarrassing.
It had to be Stevie Wonder. Either him or his guide dug.
27-11-2024, 03:43 AM
What's Conrad Logan doing these days?
tonyrougier123
27-11-2024, 04:14 AM
It is baffling how we could end up scraping the barrel of keepers with such a large amount of competent goalies we could’ve made a move for. Aye not great at all.
27-11-2024, 06:10 AM
Scouted hahaha
Ian Gordon found them on FM 23 I reckon
The staypuft marshmallow man
kentao
27-11-2024, 06:42 AM
Genuinely considering campaigning for the tan to start without a keeper on Saturday to give us a chance.
Should give rocky the gloves he's made more blocks between the sticks than either of the keepers, Think what he could do with a gloves on. 😁
kentao
27-11-2024, 06:43 AM
Scouted hahaha
Bursik is actually decent on FM23 so you might be onto something.
27-11-2024, 06:46 AM
You're talking about Calvin Charlton but he part of the coaching staff last night.
27-11-2024, 06:47 AM
You're talking about Calvin Charlton but he part of the coaching staff last night.
Calvin isn't part of the coaching team
roo62
27-11-2024, 06:50 AM
Definitely.Ironically if we had stuck with Bursic we would probably have won the game.
27-11-2024, 06:56 AM
You’re thinking of Colin Clancy, the fitness coach/sports science guy. Same initials on the track top, looks vaguely similar to Charlton but much taller. Has also been on the bench for years.
27-11-2024, 07:35 AM
Charlton has left the club in the last week.
27-11-2024, 07:37 AM
Anything more on Garvan Stewart? Is he actually employed by us and we've just not announced it? A lot of work for the guy to do in the next few weeks.
27-11-2024, 07:43 AM
Anything more on Garvan Stewart? Is he actually employed by us and we've just not announced it? A lot of work for the guy to do in the next few weeks.
Can he play in goals?
27-11-2024, 07:45 AM
I agree. We've signed some poor goalies but we seem incapable of improving them.
27-11-2024, 07:45 AM
Can he play in goals?
Can't be any worse than the two jokers we have.
He's also the man who’ll be tasked with getting one in. Surely to god its Will Dennis!
27-11-2024, 07:46 AM
The third one just looks like a fairly simple catch. Stand up, put your hands out, grab. I’ve nae idea why he collapses his legs and swings his arm up like a guy in a panic trying to swat a bee away from his head.
We’re used to much, much better. Andy Goram. Jim Leighton. Even Alan Rough.
27-11-2024, 07:49 AM
We’re used to much, much better. Andy Goram. Jim Leighton. Even Alan Rough.
We’ve had much much better, I wouldnae say we’re used to it though.
27-11-2024, 08:21 AM
Scouted hahaha
You laugh but Bursik does have not too bad potential on FM relative to this level. The man cannot beat the accusations.
27-11-2024, 08:26 AM
We’ve had much much better, I wouldnae say we’re used to it though.
I was born in the early 90s. I'd say I'm more used to the ***** keepers than the great ones now sadly. I mean Marciano makes my all time team which would probably give anyone over 45 an aneurysm.
TrinityHFC
27-11-2024, 08:32 AM
It is a position where coming into a team is usually difficult. If you happen to make a mistake or two early which is quite likely in a new team with new teammates it is a long way back for your confidence.
De Gea at Man U had a nightmare for a long period before going on to win player of the year I think more than once. Dennis that we’d quite like had a bad start at Killie including an own goal v Hearts and they stuck with it and he improved a lot.
Gray has been left with not a lot to choose from. I’d be letting Bursik ride it out but I’m not sure any option just now is a good one.
EGL2000
27-11-2024, 08:35 AM
It is a position where coming into a team is usually difficult. If you happen to make a mistake or two early which is quite likely in a new team with new teammates it is a long way back for your confidence.
De Gea at Man U had a nightmare for a long period before going on to win player of the year I think more than once. Dennis that we’d quite like had a bad start at Killie including an own goal v Hearts and they stuck with it and he improved a lot.
Gray has been left with not a lot to choose from. I’d be letting Bursik ride it out but I’m not sure any option just now is a good one.
Had more than enough time to prove he's a good goalie. Yes goalkeepers will make mistakes, prime example Marciano. But he also won us a heck of alot of points. I don't think Bursik has won us any yet and drops a pretty big clanger every second game. Add in alot of goals where you think a good goalie saves that, he's just no very good at all.
kentao
27-11-2024, 08:38 AM
The third one just looks like a fairly simple catch. Stand up, put your hands out, grab. I’ve nae idea why he collapses his legs and swings his arm up like a guy in a panic trying to swat a bee away from his head.
He looked like a 10 year old playing in full size goals trying to pull off a TV save, Embarrassing attempt from a professional keeper. He takes one step and catches it at chest height.
27-11-2024, 08:58 AM
I was warned by someone who worked at Ross County when Malky Mackay was appointed that he only used one agent. He said we would fill the squad with English lower league players who would have gone to Ross County if he had still been there. Not the standard we want.
These 2 signings have him all over them.
I wish he and Malcolm MacPherson would get out our club now.
27-11-2024, 09:01 AM
I know stats aren’t everything, but save % over a whole season tells you a lot. Big sample size. Best in Scotland last season were Roos at Aberdeen who left to join a club in Italy, Will Dennis at kilmarnock and Mitov at St johnstone. The eye test seemed to back up the stats, i remember thinking Dennis and Mitov looked the best keepers id seen at ER and i wish we had them. Obviously Aberdeen invested in Mitov when Roos left and is doing well by all accounts this season, and the obvious candidate for us for a proven commodity especially with the bournemouth connection, was Dennis. But it hasn’t happened.
By comparison, arguing about Bursik vsSmith vs Boruc is bald man amd comb territory really.
Edit-other thread.
The Hibee Harp
27-11-2024, 09:13 AM
Did he? I don’t really remember the Aberdeen keeper flapping at a cross and leaving us with a shot from 6 yards out or him letting a shot in thats straight at him from the penalty spot
Literally happened in the second half when Mitov flapped at a corner and O’Hora hooked it over the bar. Summed up where both clubs are just now that Devlin scores and O’Hora misses from similar scenarios.
WestStandWillie
27-11-2024, 09:17 AM
I think Smith was headhunted by Marshall. Sure I read that in the Hibs Observer.
Trinity Hibee
27-11-2024, 09:18 AM
Literally happened in the second half when Mitov flapped at a corner and O’Hora hooked it over the bar. Summed up where both clubs are just now that Devlin scores and O’Hora misses from similar scenarios.
They were very similar. Ball just wouldn’t come down for O’Hora.
Some finish from Devlin and not dissimilar from a Zlatan goal v Italy at Euro 2004
27-11-2024, 09:28 AM
I think Smith was headhunted by Marshall. Sure I read that in the Hibs Observer.
Don't get me started on Marshall. We created a role for him to stay at the club cause Mackay has known him for years and he's a ‘good person’. This after Mackay saying it won't be jobs for the boys in his first HibsTV interview.
27-11-2024, 09:29 AM
I was warned by someone who worked at Ross County when Malky Mackay was appointed that he only used one agent. He said we would fill the squad with English lower league players who would have gone to Ross County if he had still been there. Not the standard we want.
These 2 signings have him all over them.
I wish he and Malcolm MacPherson would get out our club now.
Mark Hughes did this throughout his managerial career in terms of deals with one agent. Needs looked at if there's any truth in it as implications are quite obvious.
27-11-2024, 09:31 AM
Bursik is on Samson.
Hibs Go Bragh
27-11-2024, 09:48 AM
We laughed about it at the time but we probably should have taken more notice when these 2 jokers were standing on their tip toes in the team photo to try and look taller. Both of them are far too small to be goalkeepers.
To go out and sign the worst keeper in the league is one thing but to also sign the second worst keeper in the league in the same transfer window is unbelievable!
Which one is worst and second worst is a pointless debate though!
27-11-2024, 09:51 AM
Mark Hughes did this throughout his managerial career in terms of deals with one agent. Needs looked at if there's any truth in it as implications are quite obvious.
Bursik, Gayle and Ekpiteta all have the same agent, NMW and Murray Johnson are also registered with the same agency as them but not sure if that means anything since both were here before Mackay.
O'Hora, Iredale and Smith don't seem to have one listed publicly but the rest rest all seem to be unique one offs.