View Full Version : Ref Calum Scott

26-11-2024, 08:21 PM
Take a bow son you are a disgrace of a ref. Has he even got one decision tonight right :rolleyes:

26-11-2024, 08:22 PM
He’s been disgraceful…

26-11-2024, 09:44 PM
He was shocking. Some ridiculous decisions tonight.
Only surprise is there was no second booking for Myko or Miller.

26-11-2024, 09:44 PM
He was horrendous.

How did no Aberdeen player get booked for their celebrations?

26-11-2024, 09:47 PM
Absolute belter. Had that really annoying way of running the worst refs seem to have too, waddling about the place incompetently.

Oh and why did we not get a penalty for the elbow ball in the first half? Who was on VAR?

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2024, 09:47 PM
Booking Miller really summed up his performance …***** .

26-11-2024, 09:49 PM
Absolutely atrocious most of his decisions were head scratching

It was like Shinnie was refereeing the game not Calum Scott

Shinnie has a word out comes the yellow a Hibee booked

How come the Old Firm don’t get these novice blind referees that don’t even know the basics and have probably never played a game in their lives ?

26-11-2024, 09:49 PM
There isn't a single Scottish referee would get anywhere close to the English top league, they'd be laughed out of the building. What % of our current crop are from out-with Glasgow and Lanarkshire - anyone know?

26-11-2024, 09:50 PM
Shocking performance. Had absolutely no feel for the game and was desperate to blow his whistle at every opportunity, which Aberdeen took full advantage of.

26-11-2024, 09:52 PM
An absolute disgrace. He was letting Shinnie dictate the game.

Albahibs
26-11-2024, 09:52 PM
Gave Aberdeen every single decision their way that he could. Even when it was obvious that the Aberdeen player had simply fallen over or dived he gave them a free kick. Thought he went out of his way to give them an advantage against us.

HarpOnHibee
26-11-2024, 09:54 PM
Tried his best to slow down the game at every opportunity. Giving joke freekicks to Aberdeen and blowing his whistle when it made more sense just to let the game play on. A complete erse.

Houston7
26-11-2024, 09:55 PM
Booking Miller really summed up his performance …***** .

That was a shocker - he was trying to avoid injuring the Dons player. Ref is so inexperienced, he is probably tutored by more experienced refs to look out for certain (Hibs) players. I assumed they got the wrong Calum Scott - the one who is a singer. 😂

26-11-2024, 09:55 PM
Worst we've seen this season. Utterly hopeless for the whole 97 minutes.

26-11-2024, 09:59 PM
A total ****

26-11-2024, 10:01 PM
Gave Aberdeen every single decision their way that he could. Even when it was obvious that the Aberdeen player had simply fallen over or dived he gave them a free kick. Thought he went out of his way to give them an advantage against us.

Apart from the corner Aberdeen should have got late on. It let my 28/1 bet down, clown of a ref! 🤡

26-11-2024, 10:02 PM
I actually thought it was Dean from I’m a celebrity who was reffing it.

Albahibs
26-11-2024, 10:03 PM
Apart from the corner Aberdeen should have got late on. It let my 28/1 bet down, clown of a ref! 🤡

Sorry to hear that mate. So near yet so far arrrggghh. We'll skin these bookies sometime :confused:

26-11-2024, 10:05 PM
Did Devlin throw a punch? Looked like he did and should have been off then scores a goal 2 mins later!

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

Victor
26-11-2024, 10:10 PM
Did Devlin throw a punch? Looked like he did and should have been off then scores a goal 2 mins later!

Looked like a head butt. Cadden made the most of it, but he definitely moved his head forward. No idea why VAR didn’t get involved.

26-11-2024, 10:11 PM

It was a head butt.

Should have been a red tbh.

26-11-2024, 10:13 PM
Looked like a head butt. Cadden made the most of it, but he definitely moved his head forward. No idea why VAR didn’t get involved.

It was Steven McLean that’s why

Looked like a two handed aggressive push but may have been to teh upper chest not head. Did teh TV not show it. No idea why the Hibs player got booked

Josh Campbell pulled a man back right in front of him a stonewall yellow if ever there was one

Play on

Totally incompetent

Hope they had a Supervisor marking him

Couple of dives in the box by McGrath, no yellow. S'pose we should be grateful penalties weren't given for them.

26-11-2024, 10:14 PM
Josh Campbell pulled a man back right in front of him a stonewall yellow if ever there was one

Play on

Totally incompetent

Hope they had a Supervisor marking him ?
I said at the game that if he doesn't go back and book Campbell that should be his last game as a ref. Utterly ridiculous performance and 90% of his decisions were against us, what's new

26-11-2024, 10:25 PM
Why do we have so many incompetent idiots masquerading as referees in Scottish football? He should stick to his crap singing career

Silky
26-11-2024, 10:26 PM
Amazing how things change! There was a thread on here about a month ago about terrible referring and it was derided as "excuses", "not the ref's fault were p!5h and such like. Now, get a draw, and there's three pages criticising the referee and how bad he was an no mention of "excuses".

26-11-2024, 10:27 PM
The referee looked like he’d won a competition, he was an utter clown.

Have to say the sheep never helped him with going down any time someone was near them.

26-11-2024, 10:29 PM
Amazing how things change! There was a thread on here about a month ago about terrible referring and it was derided as "excuses", "not the ref's fault were p!5h and such like. Now, get a draw, and there's three pages criticising the referee and how bad he was an no mention of "excuses".

There would have been a similar thread if we had won. That is up there as one of the worst referees I have seen and more than just incompetence. Referees change games and rarely do they do it in our favour. Some of the free kicks he gave Shinnie were ludicrous and he really did them a bunch of favours.

26-11-2024, 10:32 PM
Starting to think that Refs don’t like us much

26-11-2024, 10:34 PM
Why did the Aberdeen player have to go off the pitch when the trainer didn’t come on to give him treatment?

(Or at least I didn’t think the trainer came on?)

26-11-2024, 10:39 PM
Ref was shocking, as was that Aberdeen team diving at every challenge. F’n embarrassing.

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2024, 10:39 PM
He seemed to be very fussy about making sure our wall was back the correct distance for a free kick he gave them and not so fussy with their wall as it was only back 8 yards according to Lovell ..

Glad it didn’t bother Cadden as much 😂

26-11-2024, 10:43 PM
Absolute belter. Had that really annoying way of running the worst refs seem to have too, waddling about the place incompetently.

Oh and why did we not get a penalty for the elbow ball in the first half? Who was on VAR?

I've seen it back and it's definitely a penalty for me. Defenders arm makes a slight movement towards the ball. No pen and results in Myko getting booked.

I've said it before, but he is definitely the worst referee I've seen.

CL0762
26-11-2024, 10:57 PM
The “foul” on Shinnie when Elie was baring down on him made me absolutely lose my marbles.

I ****ing despise fouls like that. Especially when it’s basement Barry Ferguson receiving them.

26-11-2024, 10:58 PM
An utter clown. Allowed the Aberdeen players to simply fall over to win free kick after free kick. Have to say it was like watching them under McInnes. His booking of Miller was utterly ridiculous.

26-11-2024, 11:10 PM
He's a policeman from Ayrshire apparently

26-11-2024, 11:14 PM
I've seen it back and it's definitely a penalty for me. Defenders arm makes a slight movement towards the ball. No pen and results in Myko getting booked.

I've said it before, but he is definitely the worst referee I've seen.

https://x.com/fellowst1888/status/1861508413521363077?s=61

What would have happened if VAR intervened and Myko was correct in claiming for the penalty? Would yellow have been removed?

26-11-2024, 11:14 PM
An utter clown. Allowed the Aberdeen players to simply fall over to win free kick after free kick. Have to say it was like watching them under McInnes. His booking of Miller was utterly ridiculous.

Aberdeen definitely struggled with the gravity in Leith. I was fearing for their health at one point, there is no way fit and healthy sportsmen could have dough poor balance without something serious being up.

26-11-2024, 11:16 PM

What would have happened if VAR intervened and Myko was correct in claiming for the penalty? Would yellow have been removed?

That is a stonewaller for me. He makes a movement towards the ball and at that point the arm is'nt supporting him but propelling him. Thought that at the game but the clip seems pretty clear to me. A second movement that would be called in Rugby

26-11-2024, 11:26 PM
I made my feelings clear in the match thread... Mistakingly double posted a rather cheeky and foul language response to his sheer ineptitude after his xth mistake. Deleted the post with PB deleting the other which I hadn't noticed but suffice to say that's one of the worst refereeing displays I've ever seen at Easter Road despite him ultimately not costing us the game in any meaningful way. Horrific excuse for a ref.

26-11-2024, 11:31 PM
It was a head butt.

Should have been a red tbh.

The one on Iredale? 😂😂😂

Iredale dived clear as day, was embarassing.

Never a head but or red card

26-11-2024, 11:32 PM
I thought he was terrible.

The decision to book Miller was one of them where you know the ref has never played the game in his life and just doesn’t understand it. Where exactly he expected Miller to go, I don’t know.

27-11-2024, 06:04 AM
He's a policeman from Ayrshire apparently

Thought the way he spoke to players was atrocious. Clearly didn't have a clue about football either the Miller booking and allowing Shinnie to ref the game while giving them every laughable dive while not giving us similar soft fouls was a highlight. Hoilett clearly fouled in first half near edge of the box ignored.

27-11-2024, 06:06 AM
That is a stonewaller for me. He makes a movement towards the ball and at that point the arm is'nt supporting him but propelling him. Thought that at the game but the clip seems pretty clear to me. A second movement that would be called in Rugby

Would have been interesting to see that from the other side. Utterly bizarre that wouldn't have been reviewed for a few minutes. Think he deliberately plays the ball with his arm.

27-11-2024, 06:08 AM
Starting to think that Refs don’t like us much

They don't. No way Steven McLean was giving us anything from var either.

27-11-2024, 06:09 AM
Would have been interesting to see that from the other side. Utterly bizarre that wouldn't have been reviewed for a few minutes. Think he deliberately plays the ball with his arm.

I was at the other end of the East and thought it was clearly played out by his arm.

27-11-2024, 06:09 AM
There isn't a single Scottish referee would get anywhere close to the English top league, they'd be laughed out of the building. What % of our current crop are from out-with Glasgow and Lanarkshire - anyone know?

Pretty much they are simply atrocious.

27-11-2024, 06:13 AM
Thought the way he spoke to players was atrocious. Clearly didn't have a clue about football either the Miller booking and allowing Shinnie to ref the game while giving them every laughable dive while not giving us similar soft fouls was a highlight. Hoilett clearly fouled in first half near edge of the box ignored.

It was right out of the "headmaster" style of refereeing.

Smacks of lack of control or confidence in his own ability.

I dont think he was "biased" as such, just utterly useless.

The overall standard of refereeing in Scotland is awful.

27-11-2024, 06:14 AM
I was at the other end of the East and thought it was clearly played out by his arm.

Certainly looked it I am in ff upper and you could tell from fans reaction that side they clearly thought he played it which looked like he did. For it not to be looked at over and over like the recent United penalty was ludicrous. That is two appalling handball decisions by Devlin in the last year. Quite important at 1 0 Hibs.

27-11-2024, 06:15 AM
I find it bizarre that the referees in this country all seem to deal with the game the exact same way. They all have the same body language, the same attitude towards the players, the same facial expressions. It’s like they teach “how to look like an officious wee prick” classes at ref school.

None of them seem to have any rapport with the players. They never laugh or smile about anything, they never seem to be able to explain anything calmly or with a hint of a smile or have any personality whatsoever. It’s no wonder the players have no respect for them. I wouldn’t.

Ayrshire Branch Refbot (serial no. Dr1t6yh9u0n) was the exact same as the last 25 referees that have flounced through Easter Road, put in the same type of performance as the last guy we had on trial.

27-11-2024, 06:17 AM
Has to be demoted

27-11-2024, 06:18 AM
Has to be demoted

Probably promoted

27-11-2024, 06:19 AM
I find it bizarre that the referees in this country all seem to deal with the game the exact same way. They all have the same body language, the same attitude towards the players, the same facial expressions. It’s like they teach “how to look like an officious wee prick” classes at ref school.

None of them seem to have any rapport with the players. They never laugh or smile about anything, they never seem to be able to explain anything calmly or with a hint of a smile or have any personality whatsoever. It’s no wonder the players have no respect for them. I wouldn’t.

Ayrshire Branch Refbot (serial no. Dr1t6yh9u0n) was the exact same as the last 25 referees that have flounced through Easter Road, put in the same type of performance as the last guy we had on trial.

Insecure wee man syndrome. What was that comment by Groucho Marx that I wouldn't join a club that would have me as a member. Sums up referees perfectly.

27-11-2024, 06:20 AM

Is it no the rule that if it’s a supporting arm it’s not a hand ball?

Load of pish like cos he clearly flicks it out, but I’d assume that’ll be the VAR teams excuse

SerenityGreen
27-11-2024, 07:19 AM
There would have been a similar thread if we had won. That is up there as one of the worst referees I have seen and more than just incompetence. Referees change games and rarely do they do it in our favour. Some of the free kicks he gave Shinnie were ludicrous and he really did them a bunch of favours.
There was an instance where shinnie miscontrolled the ball in centre circle and tried to sort of drag the ball back from behind him and sort of stumbled in doing so. Think hibs player tried to get the ball but ref gave them a foul. It was just ludicrous.

27-11-2024, 07:22 AM
Hibs v Aberdeen is one of the biggest games in the Scottish calendar, but i'd bet my house that he will never be given a bigots derby match, but he's alright for the rest of the dross.:rolleyes:

27-11-2024, 07:36 AM

Load of pish like cos he clearly flicks it out, but I’d assume that’ll be the VAR teams excuse

Anyone else - and certainly an Ugly Sister - and that’s a VAR penalty all day long. The supporting arm is on the right taking his weight, the left arm is not taking weight and is extended way beyond the length the right arm is. Difficult to spot and quite well executed by the Aberdeen player - but definitely a penalty. Exactly the sort of thing VAR is supposed to be there for and has awarded against us all season and last season. Did they even look?

27-11-2024, 07:41 AM
Boy was absolutely honking. He'll go far.

27-11-2024, 07:43 AM

They showed it on sportscene, even mode blatant.

27-11-2024, 07:47 AM
VAR Review will come back to say ‘ aye it was a penalty in retrospect but tough s#*t Hibs ‘

27-11-2024, 07:53 AM
VAR Review will come back to say ‘ aye it was a penalty in retrospect but tough s#*t Hibs ‘

I’m not sure it will. I think they’ll defend their decision on this one.

Chorley Hibee
27-11-2024, 08:11 AM
Yet again, we've been absolutely ****ed over by more ridiculous decisions and a truly inept/corrupt (I know which one I think it is) referee and VAR.

Stop being ****ing diplomatic, Hibs, and come out and call this ***** out, every week if necessary!

Create a siege mentality at least and start putting real pressure on these jokers.

27-11-2024, 08:30 AM
Yet again, we've been absolutely ****ed over by more ridiculous decisions and a truly inept/corrupt (I know which one I think it is) referee and VAR.

Stop being ****ing diplomatic, Hibs, and come out and call this ***** out, every week if necessary!

Create a siege mentality at least and start putting real pressure on these jokers.

I don’t get why we don’t call it out, take any repercussions on the chin but get it out there

27-11-2024, 08:42 AM

There is a rule. It is intended for when a player is sliding to play the ball or make a block and has his hand down supporting him. To me that wasn't the case last night where Devlin stumbled and them threw himself at the ball in a second motion. To be that is a cop out by the refs and I hope we see it reviewed in teh round up as it will be interesting to see if any handball where your hand is also on the ground cannot be deemed a handball. I'm not convinced the arm was supporting Devlin at all. As I have said quite a few times, how did our scouts not fight for us to sign him. An absolute no brainer. Quick, strong, scores goals and a consistency level that our players can only dream off. Likely cheap too

27-11-2024, 08:50 AM
There is a rule. It is intended for when a player is sliding to play the ball or make a block and has his hand down supporting him. To me that wasn't the case last night where Devlin stumbled and them threw himself at the ball in a second motion. To be that is a cop out by the refs and I hope we see it reviewed in teh round up as it will be interesting to see if any handball where your hand is also on the ground cannot be deemed a handball. I'm not convinced the arm was supporting Devlin at all. As I have said quite a few times, how did our scouts not fight for us to sign him. An absolute no brainer. Quick, strong, scores goals and a consistency level that our players can only dream off. Likely cheap too

I agree, I think it should've been a pen. I just think they'll hide behind the "supporting arm" rule.

27-11-2024, 08:51 AM
I agree, I think it should've been a pen. I just think they'll hide behind the "supporting arm" rule.

Aw, without a doubt they will. It'll probably not even make it on the review show.

27-11-2024, 09:03 AM
I don’t get why we don’t call it out, take any repercussions on the chin but get it out there

It’s difficult when we have so little clout within the media to back up the club, so any dissatisfaction expressed publicly by Hibs never gains momentum, and such performances like last night will continue on without consequence.

Other than us, nobody is really interested unfortunately.

27-11-2024, 09:32 AM
We've never had a decision since Paul McGinn call out John Beaton in the League cup final, even before that stretching back to the Scottish win in 2016.

Somethings smell with the whole set up. If a fish smells like a fish it's a frigging fish.

CL0762
27-11-2024, 09:45 AM

We did.

Paul McGinn went for them after the LC final against Celtic and we’ve had absolutely jack **** from refs ever since.

27-11-2024, 09:47 AM
He was dreadful. Nisbet leaps a challenge, lands on Rocky’s ankle and nothing happens. Miller gets a yellow. He looked sick that he couldn’t find something to rule out Ricky’s equaliser.

coldingham hibs
27-11-2024, 12:11 PM

He clearly moved his elbow outward to deflect the ball. We are the only team that wouldn’t get a penalty for that.

Fifeshirehibs
27-11-2024, 01:27 PM
Scott could well be one of the Forres Mechanics supporters growing up that Forres Mechanics knew nothing about.His farcical decision at Ibrox to play advantage to St Mirren at the edge of the Edward Bears box then when the St Mirren forward was clean through and about to put one in the Edwards onion bag he brought play back for the free kick.

27-11-2024, 01:53 PM

Absolute stone wall penalty. The arm is flicked out to play the ball. It wasn't supporting him at the time because he moved it's position in order to play the ball. That was my thought at the match , from 50 yards away. HTF that wasn't given is beyond me.

The Miller booking and then Youan's "foul" on that horrible wee scrote Shinnie, both pathetic decisions from the ref.

27-11-2024, 01:56 PM
For the pen, my sons pal was in the Aberdeen end right behind it and within 30 seconds of the incident he had messaged to say that it was a definite penalty. Having watched the replays of it, I think that would be given to most teams

Ron D Hibbie
27-11-2024, 02:23 PM
He was dreadful. Nisbet leaps a challenge, lands on Rocky’s ankle and nothing happens. Miller gets a yellow. He looked sick that he couldn’t find something to rule out Ricky’s equaliser.

His reward for his performance last night is celtic v ross county on saturday. 🙄🙄

Donegal Hibby
27-11-2024, 02:47 PM
I might be totally wrong here though was there not a penalty given against us for one of our players handling the ball while on the ground in something of a similar situation.. had it in my head it was Newell against Aberdeen . As I said I’m probably away off here .

27-11-2024, 02:48 PM
It’s difficult when we have so little clout within the media to back up the club, so any dissatisfaction expressed publicly by Hibs never gains momentum, and such performances like last night will continue on without consequence.

Other than us, nobody is really interested unfortunately.

Very true but an interesting thing to note is the Gordons have access to all that TV/Media empire they built and could quite easily use the technology to their advantage hence benefitting us for a change.

27-11-2024, 04:02 PM
I might be totally wrong here though was there not a penalty given against us for one of our players handling the ball while on the ground in something of a similar situation.. had it in my head it was Newell against Aberdeen . As I said I’m probably away off here . Killie a few seasons back rings a bell. Maybe Porteous but the rules were different then

27-11-2024, 07:48 PM
On contrast, the ref in the Liverpool/Madrid game has been having a great game, letting loads play on

27-11-2024, 08:01 PM
There is a rule. It is intended for when a player is sliding to play the ball or make a block and has his hand down supporting him. To me that wasn't the case last night where Devlin stumbled and them threw himself at the ball in a second motion. To be that is a cop out by the refs and I hope we see it reviewed in the round up as it will be interesting to see if any handball where your hand is also on the ground cannot be deemed a handball. I'm not convinced the arm was supporting Devlin at all. As I have said quite a few times, how did our scouts not fight for us to sign him. An absolute no brainer. Quick, strong, scores goals and a consistency level that our players can only dream off. Likely cheap too
Agree, from the replay I seen his hands were outstretched and unnatural for a length of time that indicated he was trying to block the cross that way, not just an innocent strike off the arm when lying down.

27-11-2024, 08:49 PM

That's exactly what they're like, they've been a bunch of cheating, diving barstewards for years and far too often get away with it.

27-11-2024, 09:18 PM
I might be totally wrong here though was there not a penalty given against us for one of our players handling the ball while on the ground in something of a similar situation.. had it in my head it was Newell against Aberdeen . As I said I’m probably away off here .
Laureen against Rangers. Was sent off.

percy veer
27-11-2024, 09:26 PM
Another hand ball nicky cadden gets away with, about time someone tood up to shinnie aswell

27-11-2024, 09:51 PM
Laureen against Rangers. Was sent off.

Ulrik Laursen you mean. Remember that one. Flat on the deck the ball is kicked against him, they get the obligatory pen and he’s off. Was outrageous.

The_Sauz
27-11-2024, 11:51 PM
Was not Devlin who knocked the ball away with his elbow when the Hibs player had just crossed it into the path of the Hibs player in the box (I think it was a Hibs break away) in the game up in Aberdeen last season?

The_Sauz
27-11-2024, 11:53 PM
Ulrik Laursen you mean. Remember that one. Flat on the deck the ball is kicked against him, they get the obligatory pen and he’s off. Was outrageous.
Tam McManus also got sent at the same time for complaining

28-11-2024, 05:50 AM
Was not Devlin who knocked the ball away with his elbow when the Hibs player had just crossed it into the path of the Hibs player in the box (I think it was a Hibs break away) in the game up in Aberdeen last season?

Yes same guy should take up volleyball

28-11-2024, 05:51 AM
Another hand ball nicky cadden gets away with, about time someone tood up to shinnie aswell

Assume you mean Devlin :greengrin

28-11-2024, 05:53 AM

That's how the world worked in Mike McCurry Land. A minister even joked in one of his sermons about praying for a Rangers win. Genuinely couldn't make it up

28-11-2024, 06:33 AM
That one where Elie was closing down Shinnie second half and he just slipped fell over like a weeble leaving Elie with a clear run on goal result free kick to Aberdeen and Miller’s booking for absolutely nothing you could tell by his reaction never a bookable offence

Needs to be an enquiry into this joker and a few others will be interesting to see how he gets on refereeing Celtic at the weekend?

28-11-2024, 10:29 AM
That's how the world worked in Mike McCurry Land. A minister even joked in one of his sermons about praying for a Rangers win. Genuinely couldn't make it up

Also used to get his congregation to sing Simply the Best in his services. There's video evidence of that on YouTube too.

28-11-2024, 10:39 AM
That one where Elie was closing down Shinnie second half and he just slipped fell over like a weeble leaving Elie with a clear run on goal result free kick to Aberdeen and Miller’s booking for absolutely nothing you could tell by his reaction never a bookable offence

Needs to be an enquiry into this joker and a few others will be interesting to see how he gets on refereeing Celtic at the weekend?

Looked totally out of his depth including an appalling aggressive manner with players. Can we not find officials who don’t double up as over officious police officers or traffic wardens. A personality would help.

28-11-2024, 10:43 AM

Even the Red TV commentary team mentioned Shinnie used his "experience" on that one

28-11-2024, 10:47 AM
Even the Red TV commentary team mentioned Shinnie used his "experience" on that one

Subtext for dived

29-11-2024, 04:05 PM
The VAR Review panel have confirmed they unanimously agreed with the on-field decision in regards the handball

Or “unanaimously” going by what they have written