View Full Version : HSL meeting last Friday with Ben Kensell

25-11-2024, 06:05 PM
Summary of meeting just received. Seems points were put forward from members but a lot of what was discussed cannot be made public due to confidentiality. It sounds like the disconnect between supporters and the club was raised and hopefully this will be improved

25-11-2024, 06:07 PM
Full summary below-
We can confirm four Hibernian Supporters directors met with club CEO Ben Kensell on Friday afternoon to discuss a range of topics raised by our members in recent weeks.

During the meeting we discussed a number of club matters, including board’s recent statement, the apparent disconnect between supporters and the club and the ongoing relationship with Bill Foley and Black Knight Football.

We also passed on many of the concerns shared with us in recent weeks by our members, and we thank everyone once again for taking the time to get in touch with us.

As significant shareholders, we are committed to doing all we can to support the fortunes of the club on and off the pitch. Many of our members believe there is currently a gap between the support base and the decision makers at the club, and we have reaffirmed our commitment to bridge that gap in any way we can.

Ben has agreed to look at ways in which shareholders, supporters’ groups, fans and other recognised bodies associated with Hibernian FC can work more closely together in order to drive the club forward in a positive way – and we have outlined our commitment and readiness to support with this.

While naturally there are a number of matters which cannot be discussed due to confidentiality, we remain positive that improved ongoing dialogue between supporters and the club can create a more cohesive feeling around Hibernian FC in the short, medium and long-term.

We have agreed to meet with Ben – and other members of the board – more regularly in the coming weeks in order to kickstart a new period of dialogue.

As ever, members are invited to share any views or concerns they have with us by email on [email protected].

Thank you for your ongoing support.

HarpOnHibee
25-11-2024, 06:52 PM
Dear Fans

We take communications and relations between the supporters and the club very seriously. However, due to confidentiality, we have nothing more to say on the matter.

Until the next empty statement,

(Board of directors)

Newhaven
25-11-2024, 06:53 PM
We are working hard behind the scenes to improve results. Trust the process etc.

P.S. wanna buy a hospitality package?

Just_Jimmy
25-11-2024, 06:57 PM
Full summary below-
We can confirm four Hibernian Supporters directors met with club CEO Ben Kensell on Friday afternoon to discuss a range of topics raised by our members in recent weeks.

During the meeting we discussed a number of club matters, including board’s recent statement, the apparent disconnect between supporters and the club and the ongoing relationship with Bill Foley and Black Knight Football.

We also passed on many of the concerns shared with us in recent weeks by our members, and we thank everyone once again for taking the time to get in touch with us.

As significant shareholders, we are committed to doing all we can to support the fortunes of the club on and off the pitch. Many of our members believe there is currently a gap between the support base and the decision makers at the club, and we have reaffirmed our commitment to bridge that gap in any way we can.

Ben has agreed to look at ways in which shareholders, supporters’ groups, fans and other recognised bodies associated with Hibernian FC can work more closely together in order to drive the club forward in a positive way – and we have outlined our commitment and readiness to support with this.

While naturally there are a number of matters which cannot be discussed due to confidentiality, we remain positive that improved ongoing dialogue between supporters and the club can create a more cohesive feeling around Hibernian FC in the short, medium and long-term.

We have agreed to meet with Ben – and other members of the board – more regularly in the coming weeks in order to kickstart a new period of dialogue.

As ever, members are invited to share any views or concerns they have with us by email on [email protected].

Thank you for your ongoing support.That's a long way of saying nothing.

Apparently the club will work harder to tell us nothing.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

25-11-2024, 06:59 PM
We still have sixteen match worn shirts left over from Saturday if anyone is interested ?

25-11-2024, 07:02 PM
No point in even announcing they will speak to them when that’s what the tell members

25-11-2024, 07:02 PM
Well that told us the square root of sweet FA🤫

25-11-2024, 07:05 PM
This is not a dig at the OP.
IF that is a full summary then there wasn't a lot discussed

HarpOnHibee
25-11-2024, 07:06 PM

There was. It's just "confidential". Trust the process.

25-11-2024, 07:09 PM
There was. It's just "confidential". Trust the process.

There is a bus load of folk working for / associated with Hibs who would benefit from a relegation to focus the mind.

25-11-2024, 07:16 PM
So the gist of that is:
1. We had a meeting with Ben
2. We told him you thought he was *****
3. He said "hmm we are a bit but it'll get better"
4. Some other stuff was said but we can't tell you what it was because it's a big secret
5. Ok bye

Yorkshire HFC
25-11-2024, 07:19 PM

What is it you want to hear? Do you not just want the team to start winning? No amount of talking with supporters will achieve that.

25-11-2024, 07:21 PM
There is a bus load of folk working for / associated with Hibs who would benefit from a relegation to focus the mind.

A relegation for Hibs would probably mean a lot of staff lose their jobs and ideally the folk who are destroying the club are chased out OUR club.

HarpOnHibee
25-11-2024, 07:22 PM
What is it you want to hear? Do you not just want the team to start winning? No amount of talking with supporters will achieve that.

If the team had started winning, then it wouldn't be a problem. But it would appear that the "process" is so confidential, that even the manager and players don't know what it is.

25-11-2024, 07:25 PM
I want to know how involved Ian Gordon is in recruitment.

Trinity Hibee
25-11-2024, 07:26 PM

HSL aren’t the main shareholder but they represent the most important group of people to the club, the fans. This is just contempt for every single one of us

25-11-2024, 07:27 PM
What could possibly be confidential between the board of a football club and the fans of the club?
Just about everything discussed apparently!

TrinityHFC
25-11-2024, 07:28 PM
HSL aren’t the main shareholder but they represent the most important group of people to the club, the fans. This is just contempt for every single one of us

They represent their members. Not the fan base as a whole. It is HSL that aren’t sharing discussions between their representatives and Hibs. Complain to them about that.

25-11-2024, 07:28 PM
This is classic HSL. Ever since their illustrious leader did that car crash Sky Sports interview about the Black Knights it’s been obvious they’re just the same as any other board of directors - in it for themselves and not willing to properly engage with the support just like Kensell.

Don’t ask us to write in then say we can’t know what was said.

Paulie Walnuts
25-11-2024, 07:29 PM
Well that statement tells us absolutely nothing.

25-11-2024, 07:32 PM
Full credit to HSL for turning up and fronting what they can for the members.

Awra best fae the board. Box ticked. Might not see you if we ever manage to turn things around.

Keep buying the hospitality, I've got a target to meet.

25-11-2024, 07:33 PM
This is classic HSL. Ever since their illustrious leader did that car crash Sky Sports interview about the Black Knights it’s been obvious they’re just the same as any other board of directors - in it for themselves and not willing to properly engage with the support just like Kensell.

Wow! You’d be hard pushed to find a single example of where any HSL director has gained an advantage from being in that position. Perhaps you can give one or two?

GonzoReturns
Appreciate there might be certain confidential material disclosed however there should have been a documented Q&A for the members against the points raised/asked. My question would be how do we hold the club accountable for what was discussed. We were asked to provide questions but we don’t know what was asked.

This is where I am at. I won’t be engaging with HSL again for future meetings with BK and the BK group etc.

HarpOnHibee
25-11-2024, 07:35 PM
They represent their members. Not the fan base as a whole. It is HSL that aren’t sharing discussions between their representatives and Hibs. Complain to them about that.

You think Ben Kensell didn't instruct them to keep a lid on proceedings?

25-11-2024, 07:35 PM

Don’t ask us to write in then say we can’t know what was said.What do HSL, as the vehicle for buying shares in the club on behalf of fans who choose to be members of HSL get for themselves?

25-11-2024, 07:36 PM

I want to know what the plan is to help us start winning.

What’s going to change? It’s been a shambles behind the scenes for ages, are we backing what we’ve been doing and continuing with it or are we trying to do anything different. If things are changing, what’s changing?

That Hearts chief executive did an interview about Tony Blooms investment. He made it clear there were things he couldn’t disclose but he said what he could.

Our chief executive is hiding behind the confidentiality line and it’s a load of *****. There’s bound to be something he can tell us about what’s happening, he just can’t disclose the gory details.

Sending the manager out to tell us the “Lads are working hard in training” isn’t cutting the mustard for me any more, I’d like a bit more meat on the bone now please.

25-11-2024, 07:37 PM
I don't really know what people expected.

I was fully behind HSL to start with and still support wider supporter representation and ownership but for as long as the opportunity to purchase shares is off the table and for as long as they have a relatively paltry reserve of funds they are impotent. They have no power or influence within the club and will be treated accordingly.

A combined effort that brought together the HSA, HSL, a wider shareholders association and other fans groups and clubs would arguably carry a bit more weight in approaching the club but ultimately that would be just as powerless and the likelihood of any consensus on what action to take is somewhere south of zero.

I don't like what has, or rather hasn't, been said but I expected nothing else.

25-11-2024, 07:38 PM

That’s really unfair. In it for themselves? It’s a thankless task made even harder by the way the club has treated them ever since Ron Gordon arrived.
They’ve said more regular meeting will be held , let’s see what comes out of them but it’s really down to the club board to say more.

TrinityHFC
25-11-2024, 07:39 PM

Probably did but illustrates how pointless the whole thing is. HSL is a collective for the members but the reality is there’s a small number of people able to represent their views and they can’t report back. It was the same when we had fan reps on the Board. No entity is just going to engage in the detail of managing the business day to day and allow that to be publicised.

HarpOnHibee
25-11-2024, 07:45 PM
Probably did but illustrates how pointless the whole thing is. HSL is a collective for the members but the reality is there’s a small number of people able to represent their views and they can’t report back. It was the same when we had fan reps on the Board. No entity is just going to engage in the detail of managing the business day to day and allow that to be publicised.

It is indeed pointless. That doesn't make it any less infuriating though. We have somebody telling us to put trust in a process that he isn't prepared to divulge any information on. Meanwhile, week after week, we're served up the same disappointment time and time again with zero signs of any meaningful change.

We're not Ben Kensell FC, he can do one.

25-11-2024, 07:49 PM
Wow! You’d be hard pushed to find a single example of where any HSL director has gained an advantage from being in that position. Perhaps you can give one or two?

It’s just the vibe I got from the brutal interview last year, that and today’s “only the HSL board get to know what was really said” nonsense. It’s entitlement that I wouldn’t expect from a fans group. I was expecting to open the email and get a decent debrief.

What do HSL, as the vehicle for buying shares in the club on behalf of fans who choose to be members of HSL get for themselves?

That vehicle sped off long ago, it’s now just maintaining a table in the Emerald Suite I’d imagine.

25-11-2024, 07:50 PM

It's like any shareholder owned business. You get the influence and benefits you buy. HSL are volunteers fronting fans who tried to buy shares with different but mostly well intentioned goals.

We fell short but as far as governance goes HSL are where they through no fault of theirs.

25-11-2024, 07:51 PM
That’s really unfair. In it for themselves? It’s a thankless task made even harder by the way the club has treated them ever since Ron Gordon arrived.
They’ve said more regular meeting will be held , let’s see what comes out of them but it’s really down to the club board to say more.

You may be right, I accept I was a bit harsh. We can wait and see what the next emails say if anything.

25-11-2024, 07:51 PM

What a lot of wind and pish. What are the directors of HSL gaining from this? You don’t have a clue 🙄

25-11-2024, 07:53 PM
It’s just the vibe I got from the brutal interview last year, that and today’s “only the HSL board get to know what was really said” nonsense. It’s entitlement that I wouldn’t expect from a fans group. I was expecting to open the email and get a decent debrief.

That vehicle sped off long ago, it’s now just maintaining a table in the Emerald Suite I’d imagine.I agree on your first point but you said these unpaid volunteers with a very limited article of association were in it for themselves. What is it they are in it for exactly?

HarpOnHibee
25-11-2024, 07:54 PM
What a lot of wind and pish. What are the directors of HSL gaining from this? You don’t have a clue 🙄

Who knows. What is a confidentiality agreement worth these days?

stalbanshibby
25-11-2024, 07:55 PM
At least Ben had the courtesy to turn up this time, but that’s a pretty vacuous statement. Not much to get animated about.

I can imagine Ben was wondering what to have for lunch a short way into the meeting.

Lip service paid: tick
Met the supporters: tick ( that’ll shut them up for a while)
Concern expressed: tick ( god I’m gonna have tae meet with this shower again)
keep them onside: tick - promise future meetings ( yeah yeah)

But some dialogue is better than no dialogue, I suppose

25-11-2024, 07:57 PM
Probably got them to sign non disclosure agreements.

25-11-2024, 08:19 PM
What a lot of wind and pish. What are the directors of HSL gaining from this? You don’t have a clue ��

You’re right I don’t know exactly, but it strikes me as a bit of champagne socialism. We don’t all have a seat at the table really, the directors of HSL do and they’ve just released a statement telling us absolutely nothing. I thought the point of HSL members sending all the tough questions in was to give Kensell a bit of a hard time and push for real answers.

Seems to me they went in, were sold the dream again by Kensell and nothing really happened worth reporting back on. A lot of wind and pish you could argue.

linlithgowhibbie
25-11-2024, 09:33 PM

Please let me know how HSL are in it for themselves!
What have the HSL reps got from Hibs, what are they hoping to get for themselves?
They engage with their members, they ask for any queries to be emailed to them. They can ask the questions, they cannot guarantee to get an answer.
I await your reply.

Scotty Leither
25-11-2024, 09:56 PM
I want to know how involved Ian Gordon is in recruitment.

I asked a similar question around recruitment that I wanted asked. I’m broadly supportive of HSL, but there to not even be a summary of what the agenda was so we can get a feel for how robust the process was is a total cop out by HSL and the Board.

Some glib statement about further meetings and “better engagement” has achieved what, exactly?

It’s only deepened the distrust that’s already festering, and I’m sorry HSL, but if you were told from the outset that the content of the meeting was effectively embargoed, you should have walked out there and then.

Are this Hibs Board ever going to front up with the fans at all? Or is Ian Gordon hoping to sell up without ever uttering a single word publicly to the wider support?

OfficialHSL
25-11-2024, 10:59 PM

We try hard not to get too involved in the Forums, for obvious reasons, however it’s not nice to see such unfair criticism of decent guys doing their best to help the Club. If I am the “illustrious leader “ that you refer to perhaps you would be kind enough to tell me what exactly was the “car crash”. I was asked to comment on the financial accounts. At that point we were the Clubs second largest shareholder and many of our Members were expressing deep concern about a second year of losses. I shared that concern with the interviewer. I am quite certain that our Members would not have been satisfied with silence from me. Those same financial concerns still exist. Our whole history has been damned if we do and damned if we don’t. None of us gets anything from our roles other than grief. Our role is to ensure the safe governance of our Members’ investment .

Jim Adie
HSL

OfficialHSL
25-11-2024, 11:16 PM
Trinity Hibee
Please be assured we have no desired to be contemptuous of our fellow fans.

We would ask all our fellow fans to be understanding of our role. Please remember we are a Shareholder Group charged with the responsibility of professional governance of your funds and investment. Our role has never been to be involved in the day to day running of the Club and certainly not involved in football matters. We shared our concerns about our Members investment in the Club and the CEO has promised to escalate those concerns. At this stage we have not had a response so there is little to actually report. We did pass on all of the concerns and questions that our Members forwarded. It is fair to say that it is simply not possible to comment on many matters that are private to individual members of staff.

HSL

SickBoy32
26-11-2024, 04:20 AM

😂 wow that is a truly awful opinion.

The fans must unite, for the wellbeing of our club. Tearing into HSL at this juncture is ****ing bizarre.

Kensell Kensell GTF. Listened to his lies for far too long now.

26-11-2024, 05:54 AM
Was the review carried out? Who carried out the review? What were the results of the review ?

26-11-2024, 06:02 AM
Was the review carried out? Who carried out the review? What were the results of the review ?

It's a secret. :greengrin

There was no review, as usual it was just words to appease us for a while while they appointed all their friends into jobs, none of them are qualified for or capable of doing.:rolleyes:

26-11-2024, 06:45 AM
We would ask all our fellow fans to be understanding of our role. Please remember we are a Shareholder Group charged with the responsibility of professional governance of your funds and investment. Our role has never been to be involved in the day to day running of the Club and certainly not involved in football matters. We shared our concerns about our Members investment in the Club and the CEO has promised to escalate those concerns. At this stage we have not had a response so there is little to actually report. We did pass on all of the concerns and questions that our Members forwarded. It is fair to say that it is simply not possible to comment on many matters that are private to individual members of staff.

HSL

I dont think any of your members genuinely thinks that you are doing anything other than what you believe is the right thing.

Thanks for taking the questions and doing the meeting.

The problem - in my view - is that the club seems to be quite dismissive of anybody questioning their strategy or tactical implementation.

HSL got a lot of questions and concerns - and Bens response was (I am summarising here) "I hear you, let me take these issues away and I will pass them up the line".

Given our current predicament, that is demonstrably just playing for time and hoping we all go away - and him and / or the board assuming we will be happy with that is treating us with contempt.

Its not that surprising that people are disgusted when we have a board that treats a legitimate fans group - and major shareholder - like HSL as an irritation to be patted on the head and ignored.

To reiterate, its not HSL that fans are angry with.

26-11-2024, 07:11 AM

The "car crash" is what has happened to our club under its current majority shareholders. Almost everything the HSL guy said in that interview that you refer to, from worry over the accounts, to annoyance about fans being ignored, to apprehension over HSL's shareholding being diluted when we didn't really know how the new set up was to work... I agreed with. Still do.

"In it for themselves" 😅

DanishJohn
26-11-2024, 07:40 AM
I don't really know what people expected.

I was fully behind HSL to start with and still support wider supporter representation and ownership but for as long as the opportunity to purchase shares is off the table and for as long as they have a relatively paltry reserve of funds they are impotent. They have no power or influence within the club and will be treated accordingly.

A combined effort that brought together the HSA, HSL, a wider shareholders association and other fans groups and clubs would arguably carry a bit more weight in approaching the club but ultimately that would be just as powerless and the likelihood of any consensus on what action to take is somewhere south of zero.

I don't like what has, or rather hasn't, been said but I expected nothing else.

I must disagree with you on one of your points.

" They have no power or influence within the club and will be treated accordingly"

That statement id fundamentally incorrect.

What you are saying is because HSL has no power or influence they are impotent and are therefore to be ignored.

That is not a decision for a Chairman of a board of Directors to make. In fact if our Chairman is following that line, then I would argue he is ignoring one of his key roles.

This key role is to communicate with ALL shareholders.

In fact I would ask all Hibs fans to look up the role of a Chairman of a board of Directors. Plenty good stuff online.

Trinity Hibee
26-11-2024, 07:42 AM
Trinity Hibee
Please be assured we have no desired to be contemptuous of our fellow fans.

HSL

Jim this was actually more aimed at the club asking you to keep discussions confidential. Sorry that wasn’t clear

26-11-2024, 08:24 AM
Dear Fans

We take communications and relations between the supporters and the club very seriously. However, due to confidentiality, we have nothing more to say on the matter.

Until the next empty statement,

(Board of directors)

Genuinely baffled at that statement. Wtf is the point? We were asked what questions we had, gave them they have a meeting where the outcomes are confidential.

WTAF!

DanishJohn
26-11-2024, 08:32 AM

Are you a member of HSL ?

Dmas
26-11-2024, 08:46 AM
Are you a member of HSL ?

I think this posters had enough grief for that post, which isn’t exactly to much wrong with it, the interview they are talking about was toys out the pram stuff at a time when excitement was high the billionaire was coming into town, and HSL weren’t sat at the table, it did come over as self preservation stuff to me as well. Imagine the gloom now if the black knights weren’t voted in, HSL still would be on the outside looking in as well.

Absolutely no doubt the guys involved are good people and doing what they think is best and I don’t envy having to do it one bit, but if they want claims like in it for themselves etc to die down then attending meetings with the club when the results of that can’t be shared they should be cancelling.
What we have now is a couple of guys having the benefit of contact with the club due to being part of the group and the rest of us no further forward despite being asked for our concerns.

Chorley Hibee
26-11-2024, 08:52 AM
Could I ask how that HSL representation felt at the conclusion of the meeting?

Did you find it a useful exercise and a positive step?

Or, did it just seem like more bluster and bull**** from them?

26-11-2024, 08:58 AM
I must disagree with you on one of your points.

" They have no power or influence within the club and will be treated accordingly"

That statement id fundamentally incorrect.

What you are saying is because HSL has no power or influence they are impotent and are therefore to be ignored.

That is not a decision for a Chairman of a board of Directors to make. In fact if our Chairman is following that line, then I would argue he is ignoring one of his key roles.

This key role is to communicate with ALL shareholders.

In fact I would ask all Hibs fans to look up the role of a Chairman of a board of Directors. Plenty good stuff online.

I'm aware of the role of a chairman.

I'm also aware that there is a requirement for communication with all shareholders. That doesn't mean the club are required to facilitate meetings or dialogue beyond their legal requirements though which seems to be what many expected from this meeting. The club aren't going to publicise anything in depth about the day to day running of the club in a meeting with HSL or any other shareholder for that matter.

I'm about as big a champion of fan representation as you will get but anyone expecting a full breakdown of what is going on at the club or any meaningful change off the back of this or future meetings is living in a fools paradise.

26-11-2024, 09:14 AM
Could I ask how that HSL representation felt at the conclusion of the meeting?

Did you find it a useful exercise and a positive step?

Or, did it just seem like more bluster and bull**** from them?

With further meetings planned I'm not so sure HSL would be doing any of us any favours by publically describing this meeting as bluster and bull****. It would kill any further dialogue stone dead before it began.

I've never met anyone connected with HSL and my only connection with them was the initial DD I set up at it's inception. I do however have a great deal of sympathy for them, seeing fans representatives being singled out for fire (and I'm not suggesting you are doing that here) only distracts from the real culprits.. Kensell and co should be getting it both barrels from us all instead of turning some of it on ourselves. The sooner that lot are gone the better.

26-11-2024, 09:21 AM
I'm aware of the role of a chairman.

I'm also aware that there is a requirement for communication with all shareholders. That doesn't mean the club are required to facilitate meetings or dialogue beyond their legal requirements though which seems to be what many expected from this meeting. The club aren't going to publicise anything in depth about the day to day running of the club in a meeting with HSL or any other shareholder for that matter.

I'm about as big a champion of fan representation as you will get but anyone expecting a full breakdown of what is going on at the club or any meaningful change off the back of this or future meetings is living in a fools paradise.

I'm genuinely scunnered as to what the actual point of the meeting was. HSL went in to get answers on several key issues that supporters of Hibernian have, came out of it unable to tell us anything and told us the board have committed to more open communication, which they've done before, and not delivered.

If that's the level of outcome HSL are capable of, I can see fans taking things into their own hands as that 'outcome' is an absolute nonsense.

26-11-2024, 09:42 AM
I'm not in HSL so commenting from the outside but their website mission statement reads "Hibernian Supporters believes that any level of fan ownership should revolve around these three key principles " Democracy, Transparency , Not for Profit".

If I was a paying member who'd asked my HSL Director representatives to ask the Club specific questions I'd have been looking for more democratic, transparent feedback than this bland statement.

26-11-2024, 09:49 AM
I'm not in HSL so commenting from the outside but their website mission statement reads "Hibernian Supporters believes that any level of fan ownership should revolve around these three key principles " Democracy, Transparency , Not for Profit".

If I was a paying member who'd asked my HSL Director representatives to ask the Club specific questions I'd have been looking for more democratic, transparent feedback than this bland statement.

I think it has been covered above but the anger/disappointment around this really should be aimed at the club rather than HSL. The latter got the answers, or lack thereof, I expected.

Hibs have closed down various avenues for dialogue with fans for sometime now. I didn't expect HSL to be treated any differently and it played out as such.

26-11-2024, 09:57 AM
I think it has been covered above but the anger/disappointment around this really should be aimed at the club rather than HSL. The latter got the answers, or lack thereof, I expected.

Hibs have closed down various avenues for dialogue with fans for sometime now. I didn't expect HSL to be treated any differently and it played out as such.

I blame Hibs for the lack of communication and transparency. I’m also not convinced HSL couldn’t publicly be demanding more and making it more awkward for those in charge.

If the club are refusing to have any sort of meaningful dialogue and what they do say, has to be censored so much, maybe they should tell the members that so they can decide what their next steps should be.

In the interests of transparency, I should add that I’m not a member of HSL any more so I’ve got a cheek commenting on this. I’d just quite like to hear what’s going on at the club. I buy two season tickets a year for me and my boy, I also spend relative fortunes in the shop, I don’t think it’s right that you need to be in some sort of hierarchy to hear from the people running the club.

What happened to them just being custodians but the club belongs to the fans? I think that’s what Ron said in his initial press conference, does his son and Kensell believe that?

26-11-2024, 10:00 AM

Tbf, the outcome they achieved was pathetic. People pay into HSL and expect some value for it and those who do, had a reasonable expectation that they would get some answers. They didn't. Wtf did they sign that statement off and why did they think it would fly with they supporters? They got nothing and left me questioning their actual purpose.

Though i agree that we should be angry at the club, fans are rightly pissed off at that ****show of an outcome.

Chorley Hibee
26-11-2024, 10:12 AM
With further meetings planned I'm not so sure HSL would be doing any of us any favours by publically describing this meeting as bluster and bull****. It would kill any further dialogue stone dead before it began.

I've never met anyone connected with HSL and my only connection with them was the initial DD I set up at it's inception. I do however have a great deal of sympathy for them, seeing fans representatives being singled out for fire (and I'm not suggesting you are doing that here) only distracts from the real culprits.. Kensell and co should be getting it both barrels from us all instead of turning some of it on ourselves. The sooner that lot are gone the better.

I couldn't agree more, and I obviously expect a more diplomatic response than the example I offered, but an insight into how the HSL representation felt at the conclusion of the meeting might at least provide some information.

Amit
26-11-2024, 11:13 AM
Chase Kensell up after a reasonable amount of time (assuming there were a lot of questions posed).

For the next meeting, send Kensell the questions in advance so he can prep to answer some (if not all) of them in person.

He may still give the “confidential” response for some of them but there will be plenty that should be reasonably straightforward to answer.

26-11-2024, 11:31 AM

I'm fully aware who the main culprits are in this current crisis at the Club so don't need you to tell me , in what comes across in quite a patronising manner , who to direct the main thrust of my anger / disappointment towards.

If my branch took specific questions from branch members to put to the Club , while appreciating confidentiality I'd expect more detailed feedback than this bland statement. I've no axe to grind with HSL but find it surprising that the Directors of an organisation which promotes itself on the values of democracy and transparency shows such little transparency in the feedback it provides to its members. That's my opinion and it'll remain my opinion.

TrinityHFC
26-11-2024, 11:33 AM
Chase Kensell up after a reasonable amount of time (assuming there were a lot of questions posed).

For the next meeting, send Kensell the questions in advance so he can prep to answer some (if not all) of them in person.

He may still give the “confidential” response for some of them but there will be plenty that should be reasonably straightforward to answer.

This isn’t about Hibs not answering it is HSL not being able to share the response with members. It is as expected but definitely a limitation in the set up. The directors represent their members but then can’t actually share a with them. I do think that talking to HSL you talk to the membership not just people representing but obviously HSL think they have to stick to withholding that.

26-11-2024, 11:35 AM
I couldn't agree more, and I obviously expect a more diplomatic response than the example I offered, but an insight into how the HSL representation felt at the conclusion of the meeting might at least provide some information.

I get that.
I’m guessing, and it is just a guess, that they felt as hacked off with Kensell and Co as the rest of us.

26-11-2024, 11:35 AM
Was this meeting with Ben,the rearranged meeting to replace the meeting with the board, that was cancelled due to sickness 🤔🤔 ??

26-11-2024, 11:36 AM

Not so pointless when HSL were a conduit for raising enough money to buy 20% or so of the shares from our previous owners though?

"As supporters we provided in excess of £500,000 in donations during the Covid pandemic and, to date, we have invested more than £1 million in the club"

26-11-2024, 11:43 AM
This isn’t about Hibs not answering it is HSL not being able to share the response with members. It is as expected but definitely a limitation in the set up. The directors represent their members but then can’t actually share a with them. I do think that talking to HSL you talk to the membership not just people representing but obviously HSL think they have to stick to withholding that.

Is that not the same thing?

Amit
26-11-2024, 12:33 PM

Yeah. A holding statement by HSL may have been better in this instance with a detailed one released when Hibs had come back with responses.

26-11-2024, 12:52 PM
Yeah. A holding statement by HSL may have been better in this instance with a detailed one released when Hibs had come back with responses.

I don't think HSL made a very good job with the email ... and details on the website. It wasn't until Jim came on here I realised they'd left questions with the club and that the club would respond to them.

I hope that's what's happened. A lot of folk seem to think there's been a meeting held in secrecy and we're not getting any further feedback.

Dmas
26-11-2024, 01:19 PM
I don't think HSL made a very good job with the email ... and details on the website. It wasn't until Jim came on here I realised they'd left questions with the club and that the club would respond to them.

I hope that's what's happened. A lot of folk seem to think there's been a meeting held in secrecy and we're not getting any further feedback.

“During the meeting we discussed a number of club matters, including board’s recent statement, the apparent disconnect between supporters and the club and the ongoing relationship with Bill Foley and Black Knight Football“

Why would you not think there was a meeting and since we have no answers to any of that it seems we’re not getting any further feedback

26-11-2024, 01:21 PM
I think this posters had enough grief for that post, which isn’t exactly to much wrong with it, the interview they are talking about was toys out the pram stuff at a time when excitement was high the billionaire was coming into town, and HSL weren’t sat at the table, it did come over as self preservation stuff to me as well. Imagine the gloom now if the black knights weren’t voted in, HSL still would be on the outside looking in as well.

Absolutely no doubt the guys involved are good people and doing what they think is best and I don’t envy having to do it one bit, but if they want claims like in it for themselves etc to die down then attending meetings with the club when the results of that can’t be shared they should be cancelling.
What we have now is a couple of guys having the benefit of contact with the club due to being part of the group and the rest of us no further forward despite being asked for our concerns.

You could be on the HSL board if you want and participate in those meetings??

26-11-2024, 01:22 PM
I'm fully aware who the main culprits are in this current crisis at the Club so don't need you to tell me , in what comes across in quite a patronising manner , who to direct the main thrust of my anger / disappointment towards.

If my branch took specific questions from branch members to put to the Club , while appreciating confidentiality I'd expect more detailed feedback than this bland statement. I've no axe to grind with HSL but find it surprising that the Directors of an organisation which promotes itself on the values of democracy and transparency shows such little transparency in the feedback it provides to its members. That's my opinion and it'll remain my opinion.

I wasn't intending to be patronising, I just think it probably suits those running the club down to the ground if fans start turning on each other.

I would argue some people had unrealistic expectations of what results a meeting such as this would yield. As one example the club aren't going to discuss the security of individual employees positions with a fans group/a group representing a minority shareholder. My expectations of the meeting were rock bottom and they were largely met.

I would concede that the HSL statement could have been better with regards to the queries they have left with the club for potential clarification down the line. Had such detail been included originally rather than included in responses on here then perhaps the whole thing would have been better received.

As is stands when it comes to the promise of ongoing dialogue I'll believe it when I see it (or rather I'll believe such dialogue will be productive or in any way enlightening when I see it). It screams paying lip service to me, a 'this will get rid of these pests for a while' response.

26-11-2024, 01:33 PM

I think it’s also worth noting that 4 HSL members did not meet with Hibs’ board. They met with one individual from the board. The only one prepared to give them the time of day. In fact, going by many posts on .net, the board members many have met it a bar and been able to engage. BK will be unable to give conclusive answers but has to take things to other board members to get the club view.
Given that he is being hounded out of the club by abusive fans, I guess that only avenue of communication closes shortly. I’ll bet he moves on the some EPL club and continues the excellent, corporate, work he has done here.

God help us with this mob rule stuff going on.

Chorley Hibee
26-11-2024, 01:41 PM
I think it’s also worth noting that 4 HSL members did not meet with Hibs’ board. They met with one individual from the board. The only one prepared to give them the time of day. In fact, going by many posts on .net, the board members many have met it a bar and been able to engage. BK will be unable to give conclusive answers but has to take things to other board members to get the club view.
Given that he is being hounded out of the club by abusive fans, I guess that only avenue of communication closes shortly. I’ll bet he moves on the some EPL club and continues the excellent, corporate, work he has done here.

Some EPL club, are you serious?

Given he left Norwich under a cloud, and has made an absolute pig's ear of his time at Hibs, I don't think any serious club with an ounce of competence will be remotely interested in him.

Scotty Leither
26-11-2024, 01:55 PM
I'm genuinely scunnered as to what the actual point of the meeting was. HSL went in to get answers on several key issues that supporters of Hibernian have, came out of it unable to tell us anything and told us the board have committed to more open communication, which they've done before, and not delivered.

If that's the level of outcome HSL are capable of, I can see fans taking things into their own hands as that 'outcome' is an absolute nonsense.

So The Board have committed to more “open communication” in the form of more meetings, but any communication arising out of said meetings won’t be allowed to be communicated?

Was anybody on the Board a Monty Python script writer in a previous life by any chance?

26-11-2024, 02:08 PM
I wasn't intending to be patronising, I just think it probably suits those running the club down to the ground if fans start turning on each other.

I would argue some people had unrealistic expectations of what results a meeting such as this would yield. As one example the club aren't going to discuss the security of individual employees positions with a fans group/a group representing a minority shareholder. My expectations of the meeting were rock bottom and they were largely met.

I would concede that the HSL statement could have been better with regards to the queries they have left with the club for potential clarification down the line. Had such detail been included originally rather than included in responses on here then perhaps the whole thing would have been better received.

As is stands when it comes to the promise of ongoing dialogue I'll believe it when I see it (or rather I'll believe such dialogue will be productive or in any way enlightening when I see it). It screams paying lip service to me, a 'this will get rid of these pests for a while' response.

Fair points PB , personally I think we can disagree on the way HSL representatives are communicating things while remaining fully focused on the incompetent charlatans running our Club into the ground , but I do take your point.

Your comment that I've highlighted has been our current owners modus operandi for years as far as I'm concerned and shows how little interest or value they place on our views and opinions.

26-11-2024, 02:15 PM

Good grief.

I'm glad you inserted the 'corporate' word in there because there is nothing excellent about Hibs as far as football is concerned.

CEO of a football club still has something to do with football, right?

26-11-2024, 02:18 PM
Good grief.

I'm glad you inserted the 'corporate' word in there because there is nothing excellent about Hibs as far as football is concerned.

CEO of a football club still has something to do with football, right?

Corporate is the only thing about Hibs that gets a decent write up. Everything else is a mess. They can't even be arsed turning the TV's on for half-time in the top tier in the south side of the main stand.

26-11-2024, 02:37 PM

How do you know that? The only way to know that would be to have been at the meeting...

26-11-2024, 02:42 PM

"mob rule"

They have been running the club into the ground for literally years and the consequences of their actions are all too visible in on-pitch ****tyness, the utter mediocrity of our expensively salaried squad and in our resolutely propping up the rest of the league from our position at the bottom of it.

But yeah, Kensell is leaving not because of failure but "because he's being hounded out". Sure.

HarpOnHibee
26-11-2024, 02:46 PM
We're Hibernian "Football" Club. But all I see right now is a club made up of corporate suits. If the only real purpose of HSL is to have some accounting quotas met to appease their shareholders, then their existence is fundamentally pointless to the vast majority of us who just want to see a functional football team on the park.

26-11-2024, 02:58 PM
We're Hibernian "Football" Club. But all I see right now is a club made up of corporate suits. If the only real purpose of HSL is to have some accounting quotas met to appease their shareholders, then their existence is fundamentally pointless to the vast majority of us who just want to see a functional football team on the park.

HSL have members and contributers who are fans of Hibernian Football Club. The organisation itself is a shareholder.

I'm not sure what point you're trying to make regarding HSL but I agree with your first two sentences. HSL are not the problem here.

HarpOnHibee
26-11-2024, 03:10 PM
HSL have members and contributers who are fans of Hibernian Football Club. The organisation itself is a shareholder.

I'm not sure what point you're trying to make regarding HSL but I agree with your first two sentences. HSL are not the problem here.

I'm not suggesting they are the problem. It's pretty clear where the route of the problem lies. They do however come across as an extension of it to some degree. If they were truly serious about getting answers out of Kensell, then they would go more public with the questions. They would do more to try and pressure him into giving more tangible answers. By keeping it all under wraps behind closed doors, they effectively allow him to hide behind corporate speak under no real pressure to do anything else. Draw him out.

Hibees1973
26-11-2024, 03:11 PM
Sorry but for me the trust has long gone due to past aberrations by Ian Gordon and Kensell.

With each passing day they make things worse and more difficult for someone to come in and sort out the mess created by them.

When you lose trust in the way these two have, there is no going back.

Hibs will be a better club when they are both gone.

26-11-2024, 03:16 PM
Sorry but for me the trust has long gone due to past aberrations by Ian Gordon and Kensell.

With each passing day they make things worse and more difficult for someone to come in and sort out the mess created by them.

When you lose trust in the way these two have, there is no going back.

Hibs will be a better club when they are both gone.

My worry is what sort of state we'll be in when they go.

I reckon Ron would be furious at the state they have got us in.

Hibees1973
26-11-2024, 03:19 PM
My worry is what sort of state we'll be in when they go.

I reckon Ron would be furious at the state they have got us in.

Think we were sitting in 3rd when they came in.

Where are we now.

Scandalous, given the reported money spent on players & wages.

Complete failure.

Hibees1973
26-11-2024, 03:21 PM
Did anyone ask Kensell why he tweeted 'trust the process' in the summer?

Arrogance in the extreme.

26-11-2024, 03:21 PM
Think we were sitting in 3rd when they came in.

Where are we now.

Scandalous, given the reported money spent on players & wages.

Complete failure.

It was the middle of the summer and we'd just finished 5th. Still shocking whats happened since.

26-11-2024, 05:51 PM
You’re right I don’t know exactly, but it strikes me as a bit of champagne socialism. We don’t all have a seat at the table really, the directors of HSL do and they’ve just released a statement telling us absolutely nothing. I thought the point of HSL members sending all the tough questions in was to give Kensell a bit of a hard time and push for real answers.

Seems to me they went in, were sold the dream again by Kensell and nothing really happened worth reporting back on. A lot of wind and pish you could argue.

Yup. What's the point in asking fans to send in their questions if you're not going to share the answers!!

Personally, I'd like HSL to sell their shares to the BKs so that they, ultimately, have more of a say, before hopefully buying out the Gordon's.

I don't see any positives to HSL, only a barrier to anyone else wanting to invest.

26-11-2024, 06:05 PM
Good grief.

CEO of a football club still has something to do with football, right?If only we were running a night club or a hospitality venue and measuring our success by the size of our tellies, the grassy bit in the middle between the bars and dining areas could be turned into an area for weddings, bar mitzvah's etc and kicking a ball into the netty thing more than the other lot could disappear from the golden quadrant's mission statement.

Just_Jimmy
26-11-2024, 06:28 PM
It's a secret. :greengrin

There was no review, as usual it was just words to appease us for a while while they appointed all their friends into jobs, none of them are qualified for or capable of doing.:rolleyes:Shut up and trust the process!

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

26-11-2024, 06:34 PM
Yup. What's the point in asking fans to send in their questions if you're not going to share the answers!!

Personally, I'd like HSL to sell their shares to the BKs so that they, ultimately, have more of a say, before hopefully buying out the Gordon's.

I don't see any positives to HSL, only a barrier to anyone else wanting to invest.

Even if HSL wanted to do that (and why on earth would they?) they can't because unless they have changed the rules recently the Gordons have barred minority shareholders selling to each other.