View Full Version : Team for Aberdeen game.

25-11-2024, 09:56 AM
If anyone can be arsed how would you set us up tomorrow?

No need for any it doesn't matter who we put out sort of replies as we all know how bad we have been.

Smith/Boruc

Rocky
O'Hora
Iredale

Miller
Kwon
Triantis
Levitt
N Cadden

Hoilett

Myko.

Not great but hopefully competitive.

Paulie Walnuts
25-11-2024, 09:58 AM
I honestly have no idea.

There was a post outlining what 3-5-2 gives us and it seemed to make sense so I’d probably be inclined to give that a go.

Smith

Ekpiteta (Rocky if he’s not available)
O’Hora
Iredale

Miller
Kwon
Levitt
Triantis
N Cadden

Gayle
Youan

I wouldn’t have Bursik, Cadden, Newell or Myko in the team regardless of what we’re doing.

WestStandWillie
25-11-2024, 10:01 AM
Smith

Rocky
O'Hora
Iredale

Cadden
Kwon
Levitt
Triantis
Cadden

Gayle
Myko

I'm kidding myself on with that line up because we all know he won't change it up.

25-11-2024, 10:03 AM
Boruc

Ekpiteta
Ohora
Iredale

C Cadden
Levitt
Newell
N Cadden

Youan

Gayle
Boyle

Murphys Touch
25-11-2024, 10:07 AM
Triantis is a bigger bomb scare than anyone in the middle of the park.

Costs goals, gets booked which stops him tackling and offers nothing more than anyone else. Have a look at him around the 80 minute mark on Saturday trying to get back into position.

Where is JDH, Amos, NWH when Newell, Campbell and Triantis are the best options. What a state

25-11-2024, 10:08 AM
Ekpiteta is out for a number of weeks, no way he's playing tomorrow.

25-11-2024, 10:10 AM
Boruc

Ekpiteta
Ohora
Iredale

C Cadden
Levitt
Newell
N Cadden

Youan

Gayle
Boyle

Ekpiteta won't be back till around Christmas.

25-11-2024, 10:13 AM
I honestly have no idea.

There was a post outlining what 3-5-2 gives us and it seemed to make sense so I’d probably be inclined to give that a go.

Smith

O’Hora
Iredale

Miller
Kwon
Levitt
Triantis
N Cadden

Gayle
Youan

I wouldn’t have Bursik, Cadden, Newell or Myko in the team regardless of what we’re doing.

That would probably be mine too. It will have to be Rocky. I think Ekpiteta is out for a while.

I'd add Campbell to that list of keep as far away from the team as possible.

andrew70
25-11-2024, 10:17 AM
Smith/Boruc

O’Hora
Rocky
Iredale

Miller
Levitt
Kwon
N.Cadden

Hoilett/Rudi

Myk
Gayle

Hoping Young Lewis Gillie makes the bench with Obita suspended.

25-11-2024, 10:19 AM
Smith

Cadden Bushiri O'Hora Iredale Cadden

Levitt Kwon Molotnikov

Hoilett Kuharevich

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2024, 10:24 AM
Boruc .

Miller .
O’Hora .
Rocky.
Iredale .

Triantis.
Kwon .

Boyle .
Levitt . *
Hoilett .

Myko .

* if Levitt not working in a more advanced role sub him move Hoilett there with N. Cadden coming on in LW.

25-11-2024, 10:25 AM
Smith

Cadden Bushiri O'Hora Iredale Cadden

Levitt Kwon Molotnikov

Hoilett Kuharevich

That back three and midfield is horrendous - and the worst thing is I’m not sure anyone could pick better.

25-11-2024, 10:27 AM
That back three and midfield is horrendous - and the worst thing is I’m not sure you could pick better.

Yup.

25-11-2024, 10:30 AM
Reckon it'll be

Bursik
Cadden O'Hora Rocky Iredale
Newell Triantis Kwon
Cadden Myko Hoilett

Can't see him changing formation now.

25-11-2024, 10:36 AM
Smith/Boruc

N Cadden
Iredale
O’Hora
Rocky
Miller (reluctantly)

Kwon
NMW
Levit

Gayle/Myko
Landers/Clelland

Hibs Go Bragh
25-11-2024, 10:42 AM
East 41 row A seat 105

West Upper 13 row LL seat 165
FFL 19 row M seat 95
West Lower 05 row J seat 114
East 40 row U seat 80

East 42 row CC seat 150
East 39 row AA seat 60
West Lower 02 row M seat 30

FFU 24 row GG seat 104
West Upper 14 row DD seat 200
FFL 17 row S seat 10

Under the current circumstances I think this is the best we can field and to give us an even better chance I haven't chosen myself!

25-11-2024, 10:45 AM
Is Newell suspended ?

St Mirren just beat Aberdeen playing a 3-4-2-1

Hibs team..

Keeper who can simply do the basics

Rocky Triantis Iredale

Boyle Kwon Levitt Cadden N

Hoilett Youan

Myko

Few things to consider...we have let in 22 goals this season - we need a better GK and back line..

Hoilett must play - he's been our best player

Send a clear message to Bursik and Newell they are dropped.

Let Kwon sit and Hoilett and Youan find the gaps with Myko from Levitts passing. Cadden and Boyle give us some width and defensive shape. Aberdeen right hand side very fast.

snedzuk
25-11-2024, 10:51 AM
East 41 row A seat 105

FFL 19 row M seat 95
East 40 row U seat 80

East 42 row CC seat 150
East 39 row AA seat 60

FFU 24 row GG seat 104
FFL 17 row S seat 10

Under the current circumstances I think this is the best we can field and to give us an even better chance I haven't chosen myself!

You'll need some subs as several of these first picks aren't coming tomorrow.

Hibs3-2
25-11-2024, 11:05 AM
At this point i have no idea.

Smith

Miller Ohora Iredale Cadden
Boyle triantis kwon Hoilett
Levitt
Myko

Docker
25-11-2024, 11:10 AM
Is Newell suspended ?

St Mirren just beat Aberdeen playing a 3-4-2-1

Hibs team..

Rocky Triantis Iredale

Boyle Kwon Levitt Cadden N

Hoilett Youan

Myko

Few things to consider...we have let in 22 goals this season - we need a better GK and back line..

Hoilett must play - he's been our best player

Send a clear message to Bursik and Newell they are dropped.

Let Kwon sit and Hoilett and Youan find the gaps with Myko from Levitts passing. Cadden and Boyle give us some width and defensive shape. Aberdeen right hand side very fast.

St Mirren played the same formation when they beat us and I posted then that we should move to the same style. I actually think it would suit our players better than SDG’s preferred formation.
I would go with slightly different player selection though……

Rocky O’Hora Iredale

Cadden C Kwon Levitt Cadden N

Hoilett Youan

Gayle

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2024, 11:27 AM
Reckon it'll be

Bursik
Cadden O'Hora Rocky Iredale
Newell Triantis Kwon
Cadden Myko Hoilett

Can't see him changing formation now.

I see a few opting for this and I thought I ask you what your reason or reasons were….why Cadden over Miller is my question? .

CL0762
25-11-2024, 11:29 AM
I hope Triantis is nowhere near the side tomorrow.

Watching the goals from Saturday back, he was utterly criminal for Dundee’s first letting the midfielder just jog past him to get on the end of the cutback.

25-11-2024, 11:30 AM
I see a few opting for this and I thought I ask you what your reason or reasons were….why Cadden over Miller is my question? .

That is a good question. Miller can be infuriating but he is way better than C Cadden.

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2024, 11:34 AM
That is a good question. Miller can be infuriating but he is way better than C Cadden.

Yeah, i think he is too .

25-11-2024, 11:39 AM
It's nigh on impossible.

The team on Saturday looked like one Gray picked because he believed it was a group who would fight for him and that totally backfired, the collective giving up after the red card was as obvious as it was appalling.

We have to change the keeper. Miller is the best of a bad bunch on the right and we need a footballer of some description in the middle of the park and I'd lean towards Hoillet over Levitt or Rudi. I think our best half of football this season, late collapse excepted was away at Tannadice when we went 3 at the back. As such I'd go something like:

Boruc

Rocky
O'Hora
Iredale

Miller
Kwon
Triantis
Hoillet
N. Cadden

Gayle
Myko

That team is pretty scary if I'm being honest but to defend myself most of the others on the thread are pretty scary as well:greengrin

Hibiza
25-11-2024, 11:48 AM
Why play a consistent underperforming Goalie , I'm at the what difference does it make ( Smiths )

25-11-2024, 11:55 AM
Boruc

O’Hora
Rocky
Iredale

Miller
Kwon
Levitt
Hoilett
N Cadden

Gayle
Myko

There is no real decent combination you can come up with but we just need to try something completely different. Sadly, I expect some personnel changes but Gray will just shuffle them round in the same formation. And still play Bursik.

Stokesy's on fire
25-11-2024, 12:02 PM
I thought Boruc was on loan at Arbroath?

25-11-2024, 12:05 PM
St Mirren played the same formation when they beat us and I posted then that we should move to the same style. I actually think it would suit our players better than SDG’s preferred formation.
I would go with slightly different player selection though……

Rocky O’Hora Iredale

Cadden C Kwon Levitt Cadden N

Hoilett Youan

Gayle

this

25-11-2024, 12:06 PM
I thought Boruc was on loan at Arbroath?

That was for the 2nd half of last season.

25-11-2024, 12:07 PM
What was wrong with Marvin and Kwon on Saturday? Are they fit for this

Stokesy's on fire
25-11-2024, 12:08 PM
That was for the 2nd half of last season.

Thanks didn't realise that.

25-11-2024, 12:09 PM
What was wrong with Marvin and Kwon on Saturday? Are they fit for this

Marvin out for a few weeks, Kwon was an unused sub

25-11-2024, 12:12 PM
Think Triantis is getting an easy time after the other night

Lost his man for the first goal and then second goal seems to almost turn his back on it

I say we try something different, middle 3 of

JDH Newell
Campbell

Anyone?🤣

Murphys Touch
25-11-2024, 12:13 PM
Rocky put forward for the Press Conference today - fielding some pretty awkward questions. Fair play to him for doing this, he's rarely played this season.

Weird like...but the journalists are really pressing him

Murphys Touch
Think Triantis is getting an easy time after the other night

Lost his man for the first goal and then second goal seems to almost turn his back on it

I say we try something different, middle 3 of

JDH Newell
Campbell

Anyone?🤣

Triantis is extremely woeful

Exuberance1875
It surely needs to be a back 3 but I can’t see it, would like to use Boyle on the right hand side, had some success there albeit in his very early days at Hibs when Stubbs used him in that role. Nicky Cadden on the left (looks like he’s going to be an impactful player for us)

If Gayle is fit it would be interesting to see how he played with Myko as a pairing but again, appreciate that’s a blue sky idea

25-11-2024, 12:17 PM
Rocky put forward for the Press Conference today - fielding some pretty awkward questions. Fair play to him for doing this, he's rarely played this season.

He did well especially deflecting the joker who asked him about keepie uppie gate.

25-11-2024, 12:20 PM

Think that also sums up Hibs as a club right now too… who thought it was a good idea to put rocky on press duties today ? Should have been newall or Boyle our so called experienced players

Not the player who has hardly played this season and unfortunately is already an source of fan’s frustration

25-11-2024, 12:23 PM

It's scary those are our 2 options for right-back.

I find it difficult to confidently state that any player in this squad is way better than the other and I'm not sure it's the case either with these two. The problem we have is that we now think that we need to play whoever is not getting a game because they can't be any worse than the player that's currently in the starting line-up.

There's been a recent mini-clamour for Levitt to start and it's not really based on anything he's actually done. I was watching the Longbangers podcast during the week and there was even a guy who (with a straight face) said that he'd rather guys like Rocky and Campbell were starting games at the moment because they at least "set the tone". Well he got his wish on Saturday.....

I think the situation with the goalie is similar- I think Smith and Boruc will actually turn out to be worse than Bursik. Again- terrifying.

25-11-2024, 12:27 PM
I’ve resigned myself to the fact we’re never going to change shape, so;

…………………Smith………..

Miller….O’Hora….Rocky….Iredale…..

………….Levitt….no idea? JDH? Kenneh?

N.Cadden……….Hoilett……….Youan…

………………………Gayle….

The only thing for sure about tomorrow is we’ll see the very best Kevin Nisbet there is, the same one we see when he wants a move

EGL2000
25-11-2024, 12:29 PM

Can't believe the number of people who were happy when he came back. Cost us an unbelievable amount of points goals over the 2 seasons.

Stokesy's on fire
25-11-2024, 12:30 PM
I’ve resigned myself to the fact we’re never going to change shape, so;

…………………Smith………..

Miller….O’Hora….Rocky….Iredale…..

………….Levitt….no idea? JDH? Kenneh?

N.Cadden……….Hoilett……….Youan…

………………………Gayle….

The only thing for sure about tomorrow is we’ll see the very best Kevin Nisbet there is, the same one we see when he wants a move

I think we should be looking to bring Nisbet back.

25-11-2024, 12:30 PM
It's scary those are our 2 options for right-back.

I find it difficult to confidently state that any player in this squad is way better than the other and I'm not sure it's the case either with these two. The problem we have is that we now think that we need to play whoever is not getting a game because they can't be any worse than the player that's currently in the starting line-up.

There's been a recent mini-clamour for Levitt to start and it's not really based on anything he's actually done. I was watching the Longbangers podcast during the week and there was even a guy who (with a straight face) said that he'd rather guys like Rocky and Campbell were starting games at the moment because they at least "set the tone". Well he got his wish on Saturday.....

I think the situation with the goalie is similar- I think Smith and Boruc will actually turn out to be worse than Bursik. Again- terrifying.

Aye way better was pushing it a fair bit.

25-11-2024, 12:32 PM
He did well especially deflecting the joker who asked him about keepie uppie gate.

He always speaks well.

I always try and speak up for him purely because he seems a top guy. His ability is certainly in question but his effort and attitude definitely isn't.

Exuberance1875
25-11-2024, 12:35 PM
He always speaks well.

I always try and speak up for him purely because he seems a top guy. His ability is certainly in question but his effort and attitude definitely isn't.

Agree with this wholeheartedly and I do the same. Would much rather he played than some of the other impostors, Rocky for lack of some ability, he is all heart and at times like this, that can go a long way

25-11-2024, 12:41 PM
He always speaks well.

His heart is definitely in the right place.

I was gutted for him when he messed up on Saturday as he had actually had a decent game up until then. I realise that's what he has done before but i still felt for him.

WestStandWillie
25-11-2024, 12:43 PM
Trying to watch the press conference, still no sign of DG yet?

25-11-2024, 12:48 PM
If Bursik starts then it doesn’t really matter tbh

Gray will get himself sacked persisting with him.

25-11-2024, 12:53 PM

He's looking very much like a pretty poor defender playing in midfield. Which he is.

25-11-2024, 12:53 PM
Boruc

Miller
O’Hora
Iredale

Boyle
Kwon
Levitt
Newell
Youan

Molotnikov

Gayle

Paulie Walnuts
25-11-2024, 01:04 PM

He is crap. :agree:

snedzuk
25-11-2024, 01:15 PM
He always speaks well.

Completely agree.

25-11-2024, 01:16 PM
I think we should be looking to bring Nisbet back.

Be stunned if he fancied that, especially given his stint at Aberdeen

25-11-2024, 01:19 PM
Given the team have shown they cannot be trusted to defend in a back 4, a move to a 3-5-2 is just common sense. It should have happened weeks ago and an emphasis placed on getting a clean sheet at all costs.

I also think Boyle should play up front. I know we've all written him off and he's done nothing from wide. But I think he can still be useful playing up front with a partner. Get him playing on the shoulder and try to play in behind - it's worked against Aberdeen plenty in the past. Gayle doesn't have the pace or fitness and Youan simply cannot be trusted to follow instructions and play for the team.

Boruc

O'Hora
Rocky
Iredale

Miller
NMW
Kwon
Hoilett
Cadden

Boyle
Myko

CL0762
25-11-2024, 01:28 PM

Quite frankly, embarrassing from the club to put forward a player that has barely featured this season off the back of another shameful defeat.

Club captain or vice captain should be fronting up to take these at a time like this.

Although Rocky did speak extremely well and you can tell he’s hurting.

25-11-2024, 01:29 PM
Be stunned if he fancied that, especially given his stint at Aberdeen

Think Aberdeen want to keep him if possible

25-11-2024, 02:01 PM
You'll need some subs as several of these first picks aren't coming tomorrow.

🤣🤣🤣

25-11-2024, 02:09 PM
He's looking very much like a pretty poor defender playing in midfield. Which he is.

Yep, that's exactly what I said last season when they moved him from defence to midfield. Basically he couldn't have been as bad a midfielder as he was a defender, now he's a pish midfielder as well as a pish defender.

25-11-2024, 02:16 PM
I honestly have no idea.

Smith

O’Hora
Iredale

Miller
Kwon
Levitt
Triantis
N Cadden

Gayle
Youan

Cadden has scored our only two goals in the last two games, of course he should play.

25-11-2024, 02:17 PM
Cadden has scored our only two goals in the last two games, of course he should play.

I assume he meant Chris, he has Nicky in his team

25-11-2024, 02:17 PM

I think he means Chris, given Nicky is in his starting team

Paulie Walnuts
25-11-2024, 02:20 PM

I meant Chris. Nicky is in my team.

25-11-2024, 02:20 PM
I meant Chris. Nicky is in my team.

Gotcha, too many Caddens :-)

Donegal Hibby
25-11-2024, 02:23 PM

Thought he was having a decent game up until he made the mistake which in fairness he has in him at times though I like him as I think he’s got a good attitude and it shows a lot about his character doing the press conference and the one he done the last time too … fair dues to him .

25-11-2024, 02:26 PM

Rocky is a strong character. Proved that when he came through all that nonsense a couple years back. He'll take it in his stride.

Southernhibee
25-11-2024, 02:32 PM
Rocky is a strong character. Proved that when he came through all that nonsense a couple years back. He'll take it in his stride.

Wonder why it’s not captain fantastic

25-11-2024, 03:12 PM
If anyone can be arsed how would you set us up tomorrow?

No need for any it doesn't matter who we put out sort of replies as we all know how bad we have been.

Smith/Boruc

Rocky
O'Hora
Iredale

Miller
Kwon
Triantis
Levitt
N Cadden

Hoilett

Myko.

Not great but hopefully competitive.

Seeing that team and I couldn't help thinking of Wednesday back page headlines - The Rocky O'Hora Show spooks Hibs directors as Gray exits

Murphys Touch
25-11-2024, 03:18 PM

He did…not sure he should be fronting it to be fair to him

sauzeelegod
25-11-2024, 03:54 PM
Smith

Miller
Rocky
O’Hora
Iredale

Triantis
Kwon
Levitt

N.Cadden
Gayle
Hoilett

25-11-2024, 04:11 PM
Marvin out for a few weeks, Kwon was an unused sub

Nightmare huge loss imo

25-11-2024, 04:41 PM
Any 11 of the posters on hibs.net,cannot do any worse than what we have fielded in the past few weeks.

HarpOnHibee
25-11-2024, 04:46 PM
Any 11 of the posters on hibs.net,cannot do any worse than what we have fielded in the past few weeks.

I could. But only if it serves the purpose of making the other 10 .netters look like world beaters. :greengrin

25-11-2024, 04:46 PM
Not much point in putting one up as we know how bad Gray is at picking a team 😒

25-11-2024, 04:55 PM
Nightmare huge loss imo

I’m not sure a single player in the squad being out for any length of time could be classed as a huge loss. Maybe Bowie, but nothing to say the others wouldn’t have eventually dragged him down too.

McGruber
25-11-2024, 05:01 PM
Boruc

Miller
O'Hora
Rocky
Iredale
N Cadden

Levitt
NMW
Kwon

Hoilett
Myko

3-5-2.

Not great but Bursik, C Cadden, Triantis simply can't be put in again to start

25-11-2024, 08:05 PM
He always speaks well.

When Youan was arguing with fans after the St Mirren game Rocky handled it brilliantly. He comes over as a really strong personality and I think it is probably a decent decision to have him out at the press conference. Newall did the after match one and I doubt many hands went up. I don't think he is anywhere near as bad as he is made out to be and who knows with Marv out he may stake a claim. He played well on Saturday up until the 4th goal and that is similar to Marv earlier in the season and he worked his way into decent form

25-11-2024, 08:26 PM
I’m not sure a single player in the squad being out for any length of time could be classed as a huge loss. Maybe Bowie, but nothing to say the others wouldn’t have eventually dragged him down too.

Think Ekpiteta has been good recently

tonyrougier123
25-11-2024, 09:06 PM
——————boruc—————-
Rocky——o’hora——-Iredale
——-Kwon———Triantis——-
————-Campbell—————
——-hoilett——-n.cadden
———Boyle——youan———-

1875M
25-11-2024, 09:11 PM
Aberdeen are levels above us. No chance we win this. Point is the best we can hope for.

Smith (cannot be worse than Bursik)

O'Hora
Rocky
Iredale

Chris Cadden
Kwon
NMW
Nicky Cadden

Levitt / Hoilett

Youan
Boyle

25-11-2024, 09:17 PM
——————boruc—————-
Rocky——o’hora——-Iredale
——-Kwon———Triantis——-
————-Campbell—————
——-hoilett——-n.cadden
———Boyle——youan———-

Good attacking team that.

K-Zazu
25-11-2024, 09:26 PM
Bursik simply has to be dropped.

tonyrougier123
25-11-2024, 09:54 PM
Good attacking team that.

Cheers, aye the the thinking is a narrow through the middle play with front able to interchange out wide, Campbell giving the nod centrally but your stuffed with players on bench that could drop in there if it’s not working or needing freshened up. Kukharevych and gayle again fresh different dimension up top if needed. No full backs totally unreliable at this point and suspension.

McGruber
25-11-2024, 10:19 PM
See Newell is available tomorrow, suspension kicks in Saturday. So.... good news then 😬

SickBoy32
26-11-2024, 04:22 AM
Whoever is selected, the whole lot should be booed out the tunnel on to the pitch this evening.

26-11-2024, 05:00 AM
See Newell is available tomorrow, suspension kicks in Saturday. So.... good news then 😬

The last time we won a game Newell wasn’t playing..

One of our best performances this season was Rangers away…Newell didn’t play..

26-11-2024, 05:13 AM
Rocky spoke well in his pre match interview Defo has the right attitude Unfortunate to get his pocket picked at the death on Saturday but has not played a lot of football lately fair play for speaking up and keeping it professional and focused and showing good character

Bursik and Newell deserve to be dropped but cannae see SDG doing it

Anyway will be an interesting team selection as his options do not look great with nobody in form

Keep the faith

sauzee1989
26-11-2024, 05:19 AM
Triantis is a bigger bomb scare than anyone in the middle of the park.

Costs goals, gets booked which stops him tackling and offers nothing more than anyone else. Have a look at him around the 80 minute mark on Saturday trying to get back into position.

Where is JDH, Amos, NWH when Newell, Campbell and Triantis are the best options. What a state

Agree it amazed me some hibs fans happy when he resigned. He offers nothing.

sauzee1989
26-11-2024, 05:20 AM
——————boruc—————-
Rocky——o’hora——-Iredale
——-Kwon———Triantis——-
————-Campbell—————
——-hoilett——-n.cadden
———Boyle——youan———-

Jesus it would end 5-0 Aberdeen with that protection for Rocky on right side

Bridge hibs
26-11-2024, 05:21 AM
Whoever is selected, the whole lot should be booed out the tunnel on to the pitch this evening.

Yeah that will boost their confidence right enough eh !

We will support you ever more and all that

26-11-2024, 05:41 AM
Jesus it would end 5-0 Aberdeen with that protection for Rocky on right side

I can't tell if that's us having a successful night of damage limitation if we keep it at 5, or if that's a bad result... :greengrin

3-5-2 seems worth a go. I'd be inclined to have Boyle as an impact sub going forward and see how that works out.

Boruc
Rocky Ohara Irate
Miller Kwon Newall Hoilett Cadden
Gayle Myko

sauzee1989
26-11-2024, 06:01 AM
3-5-2 is our only choice since all 3 centre backs are absolutely woeful. Can’t afford to just have two of them 😅

26-11-2024, 08:27 AM
Smith

Miller
O’Hora
Iredale

Cadden
Kwon
Newell
Cadden

Levitt

Hoilett
Youan

No danger he picks that team

Unfortunately I suspect Bursik, Campbell, Rocky, Myko and Boyle will start.

26-11-2024, 08:59 AM
What's the situation with Super Joe Newell? I read posters saying he's suspended, but also that his latest booking just takes him over the suspension threshold that takes a number of days before the suspension kicks in.

I'm more inclined to believe the latter. I'm assuming it's the Motherwell game or Celtic game that he'll miss.

Murphys Touch
26-11-2024, 09:05 AM
What's the situation with Super Joe Newell? I read posters saying he's suspended, but also that his latest booking just takes him over the suspension threshold that takes a number of days before the suspension kicks in.

I'm more inclined to believe the latter. I'm assuming it's the Motherwell game or Celtic game that he'll miss.

TV suggested that he was suspended on Saturday

26-11-2024, 09:06 AM
Smith

O'Hora
Rocky
Iredale

Miller
Levitt
Kwon
Newell
N.Cadden

Myko
Youan

26-11-2024, 09:11 AM
Smith
O'Hora Rocky Iredale
Miller Levitt Newall NCadden
Hoilett
Gayle Myko

Has to be this IMO, Youan and Boyle good options off the bench. Kwon and Triantis haven't done enough, Levitt can at least offer some passes forward. Newall because I want him to play as we have seen in the past against Shinnie. Nicky Cadden must play IMO, the only one who has offered anything over the last few games.

Hoilett is better on the left but think he's the best option going forward.

For **** sake don't get anyone sent off please Hibs.

26-11-2024, 11:41 AM
TV suggested that he was suspended on Saturday

Gray confirmed the suspension doesn’t kick in til after the Aberdeen game. So he’ll no doubt be playing tonight.

26-11-2024, 12:06 PM
https://youtu.be/DMFdeS0o4f8?feature=shared

Same players by and large.

26-11-2024, 12:11 PM
East 41 row A seat 105

FFL 19 row M seat 95
East 40 row U seat 80

East 42 row CC seat 150
East 39 row AA seat 60

FFU 24 row GG seat 104
FFL 17 row S seat 10

Think we have not only a winnimg team selection. But a new manager as well.

FastEddieFelson
26-11-2024, 12:13 PM

crikey

26-11-2024, 12:16 PM
Agree it amazed me some hibs fans happy when he resigned. He offers nothing.

I quite liked him in midfield last season so was happy when he signed.

He had a notably poor game in midfield against St Johnstone at home in a key game but other than that I thought he was always good.

This season - other than maybe his first game at Killie he’s been very poor indeed and Saturday was as bad as he’s ever been for us.

It’s near impossible to make a case for him starting tonight other than the other candidates are all crap and someone has to.

26-11-2024, 12:18 PM
Smith

Miller
O’Hora
Iredale

Cadden
Kwon
Newell
Cadden

Levitt

Hoilett
Youan

FWIW I like the look of that team.

26-11-2024, 12:19 PM
East 41 row A seat 105

FFL 19 row M seat 95
East 40 row U seat 80

East 42 row CC seat 150
East 39 row AA seat 60

FFU 24 row GG seat 104
FFL 17 row S seat 10

East 40 row U seat 80 has a shocking attitude. Always on the bounce during games, lacks focus to play 90 minutes.

Heard that East 39 row AA seat 60 has started drinking early and was just seen staggering out of the Harp for a quick smoke. Good luck playing him tonight.

26-11-2024, 12:20 PM
Smith

Miller
O’Hora
Iredale

Cadden
Kwon
Newell
Cadden

Levitt

Hoilett
Youan

That looks about the best we could hope for.

As you say though. Gray has to shoehorn his pals in.

26-11-2024, 12:21 PM

That Campbell is some player…

Jock O
26-11-2024, 12:28 PM
I would like to see Kwon Triantis and Newell starting this game, but suspect I am in a minority of one. Mostly because they can all play far better than they have to date, and if they all play to their best together I think they would be a formidable trio, it would also allow Levitt to start instead of Campbell and Newell to be much higher depending on how the game was going. I don't think its a case of any of them not having lots of room to improve. I also realise on the season's form that is a bit like thinking the tooth fairy still exists at 61, but I am ever the optimist when it comes to football.

I suspect he will play close to the team that started at the weekend because of their bright start and they fact he seen them as doing what they were asked until the sending off, sadly I think that will make him as blind an optimist as I am.

26-11-2024, 12:30 PM

If our defending was as good as our attacking often was under LJ we'd be talking about him in a different way

26-11-2024, 12:45 PM
That Campbell is some player…

That was my thought too. Just shows how big a part confidence plays in football.

26-11-2024, 12:50 PM
For me I'd go 5-3-2.

Bursic/Smith/Whoever

Miller
O'Hora
Rocky
Iredale
N.Cadden

Newell
Kwon
Levitt

Mykola
Youan

It's probably still going to get beat but I can't for the life of me pick other players and think it's any better. You could debate Chris Cadden over Miller or Triantis over Kwon. To be honest I don't really care. I just think 5 at the back with two through the middle might be our only shot at keeping them out at one end and sneaking one at the other.

Amit
26-11-2024, 12:50 PM
4-4-2 anyone?

GK - Anyone but Bursik (Smith, Boruc)
RB - Miller
CB - O’Hora
CB - Bushiri
LB - Iredale
RW - N Cadden
CM - Levitt
CM - Kwon
LW - Hoilett
FW - Gayle
FW - Boyle

26-11-2024, 05:30 PM
Smith

Miller O’Hora Rocky Iredale

Triantis Newell

Cadden Hoilett Youan

Myk

26-11-2024, 05:31 PM
Can’t believe he’s finally dropped Bursik

26-11-2024, 05:31 PM
Can’t believe he’s finally dropped Bursik

Meanwhile Newell still plays.

26-11-2024, 05:32 PM
Can’t believe, despite him assuring that no places were guaranteed, that Newell keeps his place. Glad he’s eventually dropped Bursik, Smith might not be an improvement but it was time to find out.

26-11-2024, 05:32 PM
I'd have given Levitt a go instead of Newell

26-11-2024, 05:33 PM
Newell FFS

Exuberance1875
26-11-2024, 05:33 PM
That’s a defeat then

26-11-2024, 05:34 PM
Smith, Miller, O'Hora, Youan, Newell, Iredale, N.Cadden, Hoilett, Triantis, Rocky, Kuharevich

supermcginn
Terrible team, at least the complete huddies that are Bursik and Campbell are dropped.

He was never going to drop Newell

26-11-2024, 05:35 PM
Well he's dropped the goalie at least. Outside of Hoilett it's probably much of a muchness in terms of quality

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

26-11-2024, 05:36 PM
Very attacking Aberdeen team.

https://x.com/aberdeenfc/status/1861478448226615450?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg

26-11-2024, 05:37 PM
Is that Chris Cadden or Nicky in the team?

If it's Nicky then there's a pretty decent looking 352ish team there.

If it's Chris then it's probably a variation on the recent theme with a few head scratchers.

26-11-2024, 05:38 PM

If it's Chris then it's probably a variation on the recent theme with a few head scratchers.

Nicky is starting, Chris on the bench.

26-11-2024, 05:38 PM

Nicky.

26-11-2024, 05:41 PM
****ing finally.

Three at the back too.

26-11-2024, 05:42 PM
This video thing with background noise they're using now to announce the team is beyond ridiculous.

26-11-2024, 05:42 PM
If it's...

Smith

O'Hora
Rocky
Iredale

Miller
Triantis
Newell
Cadden

Hoilett

Youan
Myko

... then that's very close to exactly what I'd have picked.

Trinity Hibee
26-11-2024, 05:44 PM
Problem is I bet after a game Gray will say to himself, X Will never play for me again. So he tries someone else next game and says the same thing and so on and so on. No one is performing so it’s a rotation of players who aren’t up for it or simply aren’t good enough.

26-11-2024, 05:45 PM
Wonder who’s getting sent off tonight

I don’t rate Smith either (awful recruitment) but Bursik could not continue. Hopefully that’s Bursik played his last game for Hibs.

HendoDelivered
It’s so obvious Nisbet scores against is the night, eh?

Kevin Nisbet back at Easter Rd what could possibly go wrong 🤔

Exuberance1875
26-11-2024, 05:46 PM
Wonder who’s getting sent off tonight

Will take Average Joe and Triantis all of 5 mins to pick up a yellow so good chance for either of them

Exuberance1875
26-11-2024, 05:47 PM
Free Dylan Levitt

26-11-2024, 05:47 PM
****ing finally.

Three at the back too.

Might not be. Could be:

Smith

Miller
O’Hora
Rocky
Iredale

Newell
Triantis
Hoilett

Cadden
Myko
Youan

Hope you’re right though

Exuberance1875
26-11-2024, 05:49 PM
Shinnie and Nielsen going to have an absolute field day today

Stokesy's on fire
26-11-2024, 05:50 PM
Shinnie and Nielsen going to have an absolute field day today

Shinnies is a dirty bugger hope he gets sent off

chasitup
26-11-2024, 05:51 PM
If it's...

Smith

O'Hora
Rocky
Iredale

Miller
Triantis
Newell
Cadden

Hoilett

Youan
Myko

... then that's very close to exactly what I'd have picked.

I don't think he is going to change from this bloody 4-2-3-1.

Formation was what I hoped for tbh but I'm still not overly confident of getting anything.

Don’t think our midfield will get close enough to him for him to get sent off

26-11-2024, 05:52 PM

He won't even be booked.

1875M
26-11-2024, 05:52 PM
Nisbet to score, Newell yellow and Aberdeen win. Free cash.

Paulie Walnuts
26-11-2024, 05:54 PM
He won't even be booked.

He’s the most booked player in Scottish football over his time at Aberdeen.

Stokesy's on fire
26-11-2024, 05:54 PM
He won't even be booked.

Probably not typical aberdeen player untouchable.

Stokesy's on fire
26-11-2024, 05:55 PM
He’s the most booked player in Scottish football over his time at Aberdeen.

Always seems to get away with murder.

Anyway bring on AbVARdeen FC

26-11-2024, 05:58 PM
Get down quick. Theres huge queues at the ticket pods, 3 to a seat in the East and the Dallas Cowboys cheerleaders are here looking for dates.

Bizarrely I am confident we'll win tonight, or get horsed.

26-11-2024, 05:58 PM
Smith

Miller O’Hora Rocky Iredale

Triantis Newell

Cadden Hoilett Youan

Myk

Ooft, that is one awful looking side!!

I hope none of these players are anywhere near our first team next season.

26-11-2024, 05:59 PM
Is it just me that doesn’t think our squad - starting xi and bench looks not bad?

Should be nowhere near the bottom with them

26-11-2024, 06:00 PM
Is it just me that doesn’t think our squad - starting xi and bench looks not bad?

On paper? I do get what you mean.
In reality having watched them all play football together multiple times? I understand why we're bottom.

26-11-2024, 06:00 PM

Based on what? We've only won 1 league games FFS!

Paulie Walnuts
26-11-2024, 06:01 PM

Yup. It’s nowhere near a bottom of the table squad. It’s not great, but it’s certainly not the worst in the league. It’s nowhere near it.

26-11-2024, 06:02 PM
Our squad is dreadful.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

1875M
26-11-2024, 06:03 PM
Yup. It’s nowhere near a bottom of the table squad. It’s not great, but it’s certainly not the worst in the league. It’s nowhere near it.

I agree but I would argue our keeper (both actually) and our current striker (Myko) would not get a game in any other team in the league. The 2 most important positions. Add in the likes of Triantis and Miller to that also.

26-11-2024, 06:04 PM

If only we played on paper eh 😏

26-11-2024, 06:06 PM
Based on what? We've only won 1 league games FFS!

A team with those players should win more than 1 game is what I’m getting at

So the system, coaching or whatever it is must be an issue

26-11-2024, 06:07 PM

Nah seen enough of them all now to know they’re ***** I’m afraid.

K-Zazu
26-11-2024, 06:07 PM
I don’t think Gayle is fit enough to start games.

AdidasHibernian
26-11-2024, 06:09 PM
It worries me people still think we have a decent squad.

We are poor. Plus the league table doesn't lie. Would love Levitt to have got a go starting and Newall starting is mental but he was never going to drop Super Joe the Captain.

snedzuk
26-11-2024, 06:11 PM
A team with those players should win more than 1 game is what I’m getting at

So the system, coaching or whatever it is must be an issue

Individually you could make a case for our players. Collectively, they're woeful and you might be right about reasons. Have a look at tonight's Aberdeen team and their bench - how much will it now cost, and how long, to get us into that kind of shape I wonder.

26-11-2024, 06:13 PM
I don’t think Gayle is fit enough to start games.

I don’t think Myko is good enough to start games. 1 shot on target in over 4 hours of football since his goal against Hearts. It’s no wonder we can’t score goals when that’s our best option up front.

We are poor. Plus the league table doesn't lie. Would love Levitt to have got a go starting and Newall starting is mental but he was never going to drop Super Joe the Captain.

It's truly staggering.

I think the 3 at the back papers over quite a few cracks - and we should have been going with something like this all along. The same players in the usual 4231 looks to have all the usual faults - dodgy full backs, uncomfortable LCB, dysfunctional central 3 (albeit the same as it is in the 352) and an isolated central striker that’s unlikely to get much service from the wide players.

A win tonight we go 2 above Hearts and one behind Killie🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼

26-11-2024, 06:15 PM
I don’t think Myko is good enough to start games. 1 shot on target in over 4 hours of football since his goal against Hearts. It’s no wonder we can’t score goals when that’s our best option up front.

I’d love to see him play with a strike partner somehow.

He’s a terrible, terrible lone striker in this team.

HarpOnHibee
26-11-2024, 06:15 PM

They think we have a decent squad because every now and then a player or two will do a wee flick or something and they think they're brilliant for it, even if it does bugger all to help us win a game.

jakedance
26-11-2024, 06:16 PM

With a great manager, confidence surging through the team, a galvanised support roaring them on and a bit of luck I could see them finishing as high as 9th.

Paulie Walnuts
26-11-2024, 06:16 PM

He’s a really poor football player. I couldn’t believe folk were so excited to get him back in the summer.

26-11-2024, 06:17 PM
It’s a crap squad but a half decent manager would be doing better with it.

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2024, 06:19 PM

No .. it shouldn’t be anywhere near the bottom which might suggest the problem with it lies elsewhere.

Newell playing holding midfield again gives me the fear - can’t tackle and doesn’t track runs.

K-Zazu

He’s a really poor football player. I couldn’t believe folk were so excited to get him back in the summer.

He’s just too slow.

AdidasHibernian
26-11-2024, 06:22 PM
They think we have a decent squad because every now and then a player or two will do a wee flick or something and they think they're brilliant for it, even if it does bugger all to help us win a game.

Exactly mate... Hence why we settle for absolute pish constantly. The whole team could go and put the young lads in. Maybe you'll get a bit fight and pride to play for the jersey.

sauzeelegod
26-11-2024, 06:22 PM
Looks like 4231 again?

Basildon Hibs
26-11-2024, 06:24 PM

It must be the worst.

We're bottom of the league, ffs !!

1875M
26-11-2024, 06:25 PM
Looks like 4231 again?

If it is, he only has himself to blame when get gets the sack. Same system again and he expects something different? Madness.

26-11-2024, 06:26 PM
I don’t think the squads too bad either.

But they lack discipline and motivation.

None of them look like they want to be here or play for the badge.

jakedance
26-11-2024, 06:27 PM
Not sure what people see in this squad to think they’re capable of doing much better than they. It’s a bottom six squad whatever you do with it. Hopefully everything goes right tonight and we can get a win but I just can’t see them stringing results together.

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2024, 06:28 PM
I’d love to see him play with a strike partner somehow.

He’s a terrible, terrible lone striker in this team.

I think he’d be much better with a strike partner .. seems he has to go out wide a lot to get the ball in games too which might be partially down to our wingers being off form as well .

26-11-2024, 06:29 PM

You’d think Gray would realise starring him constantly is going to help towards the sack

K-Zazu
26-11-2024, 06:29 PM
I think he’d be much better with a strike partner .. seems he has to go out wide a lot to get the ball in games too which might be partially down to our wingers being off form as well .

How many teams play with 2 up top these days tho?

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2024, 06:30 PM
If it is, he only has himself to blame when get gets the sack. Same system again and he expects something different? Madness.

Didn’t someone say that’s what St Mirren played against them ?

26-11-2024, 06:32 PM
Can't make out the subs on X with that stupid god awful font. Can't zoom it on it now either. Wtf thought that was a good idea?

1875M
26-11-2024, 06:36 PM
Didn’t someone say that’s what St Mirren played against them ?

St Mirren have a good manager and decent players who are well drilled. We’re not.

26-11-2024, 06:41 PM
We are back to being favourites with the bookies who are rarely wrong..........

26-11-2024, 06:47 PM
No Boyle tonight

26-11-2024, 06:57 PM

Yup.

I get that folk want to see the positives, but to me there aren't any.

Go back to the squad that Jack Ross had. None of our current squad would get a game.

They are all poor players. If they were half decent they would win some games, no matter who the manager is.

26-11-2024, 08:05 PM
Why are refs such angry people.. the way they speak to players sometimes