View Full Version : When is it time to call it a day?

SuperTortolano
24-11-2024, 08:32 PM
60 year old Hibs supporter. Been through some tough times and had some amazing times. Winning the cup in May 2016 and the Brondby trip rates as one of the best times of my life. However being a season ticket holder and watching some of the worst football I’ve ever seen over the last three seasons has got me wondering, when is it time to do something more enjoyable on a Saturday afternoon. What’s your thoughts?

InvertedFullBak
24-11-2024, 08:36 PM
I’m 43 and with each passing week , that season ticket renewal for next season is getting less and less attractive.

The only thing we can look at is the vast majority of these clowns on the park won’t be here next season. My biggest worry is , I’m not sure what division we’ll be in come next term.

NC1875
24-11-2024, 08:38 PM
At that stage as well. The longer the Gordon’s destroy our club, the less interested I am.

Far more enjoyable things to do with your days than let these imposters ruin it.

I think they’ll see a huge drop in ST sales next season unless something dramatic is done, and soon.

24-11-2024, 08:39 PM
60 year old Hibs supporter. Been through some tough times and had some amazing times. Winning the cup in May 2016 and the Brondby trip rates as one of the best times of my life. However being a season ticket holder and watching some of the worst football I’ve ever seen over the last three seasons has got me wondering, when is it time to do something more enjoyable on a Saturday afternoon. What’s your thoughts?

I am 67 and spent a fortune watching hibs since I was 12 but the recent poor form as co incidences with grandchildren coming along and I get more enjoyment from them than Hibs
I pick and choose a handful of games but apart from Hsnlon and Stevensons last game I haven’t enjoyed going and this season haven’t been at all
Unless things pick up my first game will be taking my Daughter and Granddaughter aged four to The Woman’s Team in the Semi Final

24-11-2024, 08:43 PM
The answer is surely whenever you think it's time to call it a day? If you are seeking validation or encouragement from other fans then my guess is you aren't at that stage yet.

I don't particularly enjoy football now and rarely watch games not involving Hibs but the emotional attachment keeps me going to ER. If that ever changes then I'll stop. Plenty have done it before and plenty will do it in the future. If I ever do reach that stage I'll know though, I won't need anyone else to tell me.

24-11-2024, 08:44 PM
i'm sort of resigned to us just eventually going with the Black Knights and becoming essentially a franchise club. The good times will be back at some point, they'll just be a bit meh. At least it won't be Saudi money i guess. I just wish we'd seen through the fan ownership thing when we had the chance.

SuperTortolano
24-11-2024, 08:44 PM
Haha, I gave up on expecting to win a long time ago and what I’m asking is my hope is running out, so how long should I give it.

24-11-2024, 08:45 PM
I’ll never stop having a season ticket as long as I can afford it and my health is good. Means I see my brothers and mates. Also, we, the fans, are the soul of Hibernian. Not rich yanks or players to whom the club means a pay check and little else.

Hibees1973
24-11-2024, 08:46 PM
Never.

However, in my time watching Hibs for 50 years has so much money been spent, but wasted.

Club is a joke now. Embarrassing being made fun of by the rest of Scottish football.

There has been regression for the last 3-4 years under the Gordons. I saw it coming a couple of years back but got pelters criticising the Gordons.

Some even said, did I have a problem with Ian Gordon. I think we all have now.

He's here!
24-11-2024, 08:49 PM
Just whenever you decide you have something better to do I suppose.
I’ve done that for years but when I do go, I don’t expect us to win, I don’t demand that we win.
I go to support the team and hope we win.
It’s only a game o fitba

It's only a game, yes, but it's not unreasonable for fans to expect better than what's on offer from a club of our size. Nobody's 'demanding' wins, but a sign that we're capable of achieving one now and again, or even being mildly entertained, would be nice for those who shell out on season tickets.

24-11-2024, 08:52 PM
Just turned 65, ST holder for many years bar time in Noocastle, i couldn't not be (excuse the double negative) at ER despite the agony & despondency but my wife & daughter-in-law are beginning to skip games on a fairly regular basis, they just aren't used to the pain and hurt which appears to be fundamental to supporting Hibs.
In the good times I'm a Happy Clapper, in the bad times I practice Stoicism. Hibs are who I support, born a Leither I could be nothing else but blxxdy hell it can and currently is grim.
Some of the guys around me are already joking about enjoying doing the rounds of the Championship grounds (again) next season; I can't be that sanguine but I get what they essentially mean - they
will support Hibs, whatever.
Still very very annoying to have arsed up so badly over the last few years; wasted opportunities year on year.
GG and all that.

24-11-2024, 08:53 PM

Never for me. There isn't anything better to do on a Saturday.

24-11-2024, 08:53 PM
It's difficult at the moment.

As Hibs fans we're all pretty battle hardened from decades of underachievement.

Underachievement however is not the same as the mental and emotional struggle of watching a team that hardly ever has a good game. And that's what we're doing now. I'm not going to say this is the worst hibs team I've seen, it probably isn't and people have a tendency to forget how bad things were at times in the past when the present is so rubbish. But I can't recall many times over the decades when I've been as bored with hibs and football as I am now.

Honestly can't blame anyone for knocking it on the head. There really is more to life.

Peanut Shaz
24-11-2024, 09:03 PM
Been going to games for about 60 years and a season ticket holder for about 35 of those. Stuck by the team through all the highs and lows. Been a bit of a chore these past few seasons but kept going more out of habit rather than enjoyment. But I think I’ve finally reached a point where I’m going to take a break, for how long I don’t know but I just know I’m done for now. I said earlier in the week that I wasn’t going on Tuesday but thought I probably would end up going. However, after last night I’ve decided I’ll definitely not be there. If as expected they get beat I think it could be a while until I’m back unless there are drastic changes at all levels from the boardroom down. Sad days indeed.

24-11-2024, 09:09 PM
It’s the most I’ve ever thought about why the **** I actually do it, certainly. I don’t expect much, I know we’re never going to win all the time but the complete mess that the club is in from top to bottom is hard to take.

I’ll still be there on Tuesday, not fussed for making the bairn endure it though. It’s him I feel sorry for, since he started going we’ve just got progressively worse.

24-11-2024, 09:25 PM
Never.

WestCoastHibby
24-11-2024, 09:33 PM
I’m as low as I’ve ever been as a fan,
However despite the fact we are the Keystone Kops of Scottish football; it will eventually cycle back to something more palatable.
I’m just fearful there’s another relegation looming.
I’m pretty confident David Gray will be mutually consented tomorrow; or very soon after the next calamity
It’s possibly still doable turning this drifting ship around

DIXIHIBS
24-11-2024, 09:33 PM
Never.

Is the correct answer.

He's here!
24-11-2024, 10:34 PM

I'd argue that there are many better things to do on a Saturday than watch this Hibs team (when it comes to value for money, enjoyment, fulfillment and your health/mental well being) but I respect your view/loyalty.

The Tubs
24-11-2024, 10:37 PM
Ten Champions Leagues.

PHeffernan
24-11-2024, 11:08 PM
It's about much more than football for me now.
I enjoy my time with friends and family at Easter Road including meeting some long time friends that I don't see elsewhere anymore.
The football has always been hit and miss and since the time of covid only the football when AJ was in charge has been enjoyable.
The Maloney, Montgomery and now Gray stewardships have been ...... Gray.
This season has been bizarre, calamity after calamity* ... but I wouldn't consider not going.

* 4 sending offs, 2 missed penalties, loads of player errors and promising 600k Bowie quickly injured'
According to Opta, Hibs have made both the most errors leading to shots (nine) and errors leading to goals (six) in the league this season
Dropped 14 points from winning positions, six more than any other side.
Basically shooting our own feet off.

24-11-2024, 11:19 PM
The fact he’s not been sacked is utterly incredible- it’s clear as day he’s never ever going to be a good manager and since his appointment he’s made a series of naive and rookie mistakes, not just a couple, but in every game. His choice of backroom team, his selection of captain, his team selections and formations, his blind loyalty, his introduction of players way out the picture, his selection continually of players off form, and zero introduction of young players performing well in the academy- he’s seriously the worst manager we’ve had in decades. We’ve employed a manager who hasn’t even managed a youth team and they expect success - scandalous decision to appoint him in the first place.

24-11-2024, 11:29 PM
We could get relegated 3 times back to back and I’d still be here watching it all unfold.

If you want to watch the best football in the world it’s all on TV.

The state of the club is a mess but there’s nothing I can do about that in any real tangible way. Supporting hibs isn’t something I do always expecting the best outcomes.

ErinGoBraghHFC
24-11-2024, 11:53 PM
It's only a game, yes, but it's not unreasonable for fans to expect better than what's on offer from a club of our size. Nobody's 'demanding' wins, but a sign that we're capable of achieving one now and again, or even being mildly entertained, would be nice for those who shell out on season tickets.

I don’t think it’s unreasonably to “demand” a club of our size and budget wins the majority of their games, in all honesty

Contador
24-11-2024, 11:54 PM
We have 2016 to cling to and that is literally about it for me and my dads life time. Couple of good away European memories but all too infrequent for a club of our size.

Many of my mates chucked it after the cup final against hearts. Hibs will always be a part of my life but its safe to say life is more enjoyable as I age and the less I care.

25-11-2024, 12:26 AM
Another relegation might prove the tipping point for me. The three years of torture last time is something I don’t want to repeat. That might be the time to become a walk up. However, even that isn’t a done deal, and there’s still a decent chance I would renew. Must have a screw loose.

25-11-2024, 12:38 AM
Never

Persevere

babahibs
25-11-2024, 05:03 AM
Never.

25-11-2024, 05:58 AM

Agree totally just part of the cyclical Hibs rollercoaster 😄

25-11-2024, 06:02 AM
My season ticket gets cheaper in 2026, thats probably the thing that will keep me buying one, how often i use it is down to the owners.:rolleyes:

25-11-2024, 06:51 AM
I'd argue that there are many better things to do on a Saturday than watch this Hibs team (when it comes to value for money, enjoyment, fulfillment and your health/mental well being) but I respect your view/loyalty.

I didn't help my club survive Mercer's attempt to wipe us off the face of the earth just to walk away because we are a bit crap.

As you rightly point out it's a question of loyalty, not to the current incumbents, but to the football club that has given me so much throughout my life particularly when other things may not have been great.

25-11-2024, 07:11 AM
I didn't help my club survive Mercer's attempt to wipe us off the face of the earth just to walk away because we are a bit crap.

As you rightly point out it's a question of loyalty, not to the current incumbents, but to the football club that has given me so much throughout my life particularly when other things may not have been great.

:agree: :flag:

DIXIHIBS
25-11-2024, 07:15 AM

For someone who admits to not even looking at the Hibs score for days after the game, you spend an awful lot of time on here telling everyone else how bad Hibs are and how you would do other things. Out of curiosity, are you a troll, a pest or just an attention seeker? Asking for a friend.....

25-11-2024, 07:22 AM
If you want to jack it in because we're not very good then you do you. I'll be there on Tuesday.

25-11-2024, 07:24 AM
For someone who admits to not even looking at the Hibs score for days after the game, you spend an awful lot of time on here telling everyone else how bad Hibs are and how you would do other things. Out of curiosity, are you a troll, a pest or just an attention seeker? Asking for a friend.....

Where's the All of the Above option?

25-11-2024, 09:19 AM
It’s a real slap in the pus the way hard working fans back the club to be run by this ****show won’t be renewing till something gives it’s dire

25-11-2024, 09:50 AM
I guess it depends how you define calling it a day. Not spending your money and/or time going to the games, or just completely disengaging with all things Hibs?

I go to Easter Rd much less than I used to, I'm still a ST holder but I've been 8 times over the last 3 seasons (including this one). I wouldn't personally say I'd "called it a day" - I just have other things I prioritise.

The style and quality of football comes and goes - nothing is permanent. I've been a ST holder since 2003, my first year was a pretty lacklustre league campaign under Bobby Williamson along with my first trip to Hampden with 40,000 Hibs fans to watch us get beat by Livi in a final.

After that, the "golden generation" came through and we won the LC, we then went through a slow and prolonged decline into relegation (a low point in the last 21 years) which quickly turned around into winning the SC (the high point) and a couple of really enjoyable years after that.

I feel like I've ridden the Hibernian rollercoaster - Hamilton relegation and SC win are lows and highs that I can't see being emulated. I'm not done with Hibs, I can't imagine I ever will be - but I don't let a bad result get to me and I'll not go out of my way to attend every other Saturday.

25-11-2024, 09:57 AM
Never.

I'd be too worried to give up my season ticket in case we suddenly became amazing and I'd miss it! :greengrin

25-11-2024, 10:04 AM
What was the pre-Internet equivalent of this?

didn’t this think even get raised in pubs and households? - I suppose it was the ultimate sin of chucking a scarf onto the pitch

as Yoda would say “do or don’t do “.

LunasBoots
25-11-2024, 10:36 AM
Know many that have called it a day, no longer the club people grew up supporting. Have to say while I watch the games I've been put off attending for a while now and don't miss it.

hibbydog
25-11-2024, 10:42 AM
I’m so disengaged that I can barely be ar5ed posting this.

I’m 44. I used to be a passionate Hibby. I was in tears after the cup win and both relegations I’ve experienced felt like a death in the family. And don’t get me started on Hampden 2012.

But my emotional connection with Hibs has been battered down over the years. Yeah you can talk about loyalty and all that, the long and short of it is that Hibs give me more frustration and disappointment than anything good.

My enthusiasm has dwindled from ‘looking forward to Saturday’ to ‘just going out of habit’. And now I’m at the ‘do something else’ stage.

How many chances have Hibs had to get it right? I’m bored with the constant underperforming and disappointments.

I also feel like I’m a customer of a business rather than part of a club. Hibs keep emailing me wanting money out of me for one thing or another. It just doesn’t sit right.

I have other hobbies that are cheaper and give me more fun. So I’m out. Probably one day I’ll drift back but for now I can’t see myself at ER any time soon.

25-11-2024, 10:45 AM
I’m glad I have other things to do in my life.

I’d feel pretty depressed if Hibs were the only thing I had to do at weekends.

25-11-2024, 10:49 AM
I’ll never chuck it altogether but my commitment has certainly changed.

I used to be every game, home and away. That then became every home game with the odd away one.

It became quite easy to drift away last season, albeit I drifted back around January.

This season I go when I can, watch on tv when I can, and don’t feel remotely bad about missing games when I need to / want to.

In time, and as commitments with kids change I may well drift back.

Tomorrow night I’m going - and really looking forward to it. There’s actually something about Hibs in adversity that really draws me back in. Relegation battles and scrapping to get out of the Championship are often the situations that engage me the most, possibly more than when we’re actually good. It’s the safe but nondescript, drifting along bottom to mid table prem that tends to see me lose interest, unless we’ve maybe got a young team coming together.

Bushwoof
25-11-2024, 10:49 AM
I'm going with never. It's a strange one, though. The most passionate fans are ironically the ones who are going to be the most fed up, and thus the most likely to jack it in.

I'm past the stage of caring that much (it used to ruin my weekend when we lost), and now just look at it as an entertaining (or not!!) way to spend a Saturday.

After 2016 I don't have any unfulfilled expectations of Hibs, they can do what they like and I'll still turn up, and I guess it's people like myself who don't really mind if we get relegated who'll be happy to carry on. It would be a terrible thing though if the only people turning up to the game were a dispassionate bunch. You'd be as well supporting Man U.

25-11-2024, 10:51 AM

I’m 44. I used to be a passionate Hibby. I was in tears after the cup win and both relegations I’ve experienced felt like a death in the family. And don’t get me started on Hampden 2012.

But my emotional connection with Hibs has been battered down over the years. Yeah you can talk about loyalty and all that, the long and short of it is that Hibs give me more frustration and disappointment than anything good.

My enthusiasm has dwindled from ‘looking forward to Saturday’ to ‘just going out of habit’. And now I’m at the ‘do something else’ stage.

How many chances have Hibs had to get it right? I’m bored with the constant underperforming and disappointments.

I also feel like I’m a customer of a business rather than part of a club. Hibs keep emailing me wanting money out of me for one thing or another. It just doesn’t sit right.

I have other hobbies that are cheaper and give me more fun. So I’m out. Probably one day I’ll drift back but for now I can’t see myself at ER any time soon.

Fantastic post.

Exactly how our family feels about Hibs now.

My two teenagers who used to love going to ER have completely chucked it this season. I honestly don't think they'll go back. They've completely moved on from Hibs. They don't even mention them anymore.

25-11-2024, 11:06 AM

I really hope those at the club read this post, and really take in not just the written words but the emotion behind them - that’s EXACTLY what those at the club have caused and are continuing to do so, creating a groundswell of complete apathy, disenchantment and disappointment. The owner, Board, CEO, Manager and players should hang their heads in shame.

The supporters are the biggest investors of this club, financially and emotionally- we’ve been let down far too often and it’s time the owners and those around them recognised it. They are an embarrassment.

He's here!
25-11-2024, 11:14 AM

We all deal with supporting Hibs in different ways. My opinion of the club is just one of many. I've never intentionally disrespected anyone else's.

I've established through experience that staying clear of the Hibs score for a while (and yes, sometimes for days) if my enjoyment of/focus on something else would be soured/compromised by a bad result is something that works for me. For example, we're going to be down south for a few days this Christmas in the company of someone who may well not be around for the next one and there's no chance I'll be checking in on the Boxing Day derby score until we come home.

He's here!
25-11-2024, 11:15 AM

You've absolutely nailed it there.

7Hero
25-11-2024, 11:42 AM
The plonkers in charge should read this post.

25-11-2024, 11:46 AM
Almost every football club provides more downs than ups by the very nature of the business.

Respect everyone's right to vote with their feet but if it ever came to that time with me, I like to think I wouldn't spend the rest of my life trying to get other people to give up on the club too.

Not sure everyone on here can say that honestly.

Mr Grieves
25-11-2024, 11:58 AM
Because I have a season ticket I'll continue to go to games this season but I'll be making sure I let the ****wits running the club know how I feel.

As for next season, there'll have to be massive changes at the club for me to even consider renewal. Kensell, Mackay and the Gordon's oot would be a start.

25-11-2024, 12:08 PM
Almost every football club provides more downs than ups by the very nature of the business.

Respect everyone's right to vote with their feet but if it ever came to that time with me, I like to think I wouldn't spend the rest of my life trying to get other people to give up on the club too.

I do find this a weird phenomenon.

As disillusioned as I can get, I never stop being a fan and wanting what is best for the club… therefore what is to be gained from winning an argument that argues people should stop going?

I try to duck out of those conversations.

25-11-2024, 12:13 PM
I was genuinely going to "retire" from Hibs and football after the cup win as I'd seen the one thing I wanted to see before I die, I genuinely could have done it and would have been cool with it

My pals talked me round and said now was the time to support the team more than ever, 8 years later and I wish I hadn't listened to them

25-11-2024, 12:21 PM

I’ve not seen anyone try to convince others to stay away from ER.

What’s up with you lately? All your posts recently are having sly wee digs at others. You never used to do that.

Trinity Hibee
25-11-2024, 12:25 PM

Haven’t seen anyone trying to convince others to chuck it, it’s just many feel that way with what’s going on. That should be a concern to everyone. The damage all of this is doing to keeping young (and old) fans engaged and pulling in new fans can’t be underestimated

25-11-2024, 12:28 PM
I’ve not seen anyone try to convince others to stay away from ER.

What’s up with you lately? All your posts recently are having sly wee digs at others. You never used to do that.

All my posts? Really?

25-11-2024, 12:40 PM
Never. Like many people I’ll just go to fewer games as we continue to decline, then show up when we start winning/playing better.

hibbydog
25-11-2024, 12:41 PM
The plonkers in charge should read this post.

I’ve copied and pasted it into an email to the club.

I don’t expect them to take notice

25-11-2024, 12:41 PM
All my posts? Really?

It was only at the weekend you were telling someone else to stop point scoring!!

What do you gain by having a pop at anyone? Why not just share your thoughts on the subject like we’re all doing.

It’s nothing personal and no one is having a dig at you.

25-11-2024, 12:45 PM
It was only at the weekend you were telling someone else to stop point scoring!!

What do you gain by having a pop at anyone? Why not just share your thoughts on the subject like we’re all doing.

It’s nothing personal and no one is having a dig at you.

I do that all the time. There are people on here who are relentless in their pursuit of unhappiness. Filling up every thread with the same stuff even though they don't even bother supporting the team anymore.

I don't take anything personally here and never will.

25-11-2024, 12:47 PM

That's just bollocks.

heid the baw
25-11-2024, 12:54 PM
I don't particularly enjoy football now and rarely watch games not involving Hibs but the emotional attachment keeps me going to ER. If that ever changes then I'll stop. Plenty have done it before and plenty will do it in the future. If I ever do reach that stage I'll know though, I won't need anyone else to tell me.

I'm quite the opposite. I really enjoy watching football not involving Hibs or any other Scottish team. I'm over the emotional attachment I once felt about going to Easter Rd..
Our league football is of a dire standard. Overpriced and over hyped
Hibs are shocking to watch. Soulless on and off the pitch. Saddest thing is that a couple of better results would see them climb above the equally shocking teams around them.

25-11-2024, 12:58 PM
That's just bollocks.

Not sure it is. They might be agent provocateurs but there are a couple of posters who have been at it for months.

Trinity Hibee
25-11-2024, 12:59 PM
I'm quite the opposite. I really enjoy watching football not involving Hibs or any other Scottish team. I'm over the emotional attachment I once felt about going to Easter Rd..
Our league football is of a dire standard. Overpriced and over hyped
Hibs are shocking to watch. Soulless on and off the pitch. Saddest thing is that a couple of better results would see them climb above the equally shocking teams around them.

It might be easier to watch other games as there is no emotional attachment? Certainly easier on the blood pressure.

G15 Hibs
25-11-2024, 01:44 PM
The good thing about calling it a day is that you can uncall it a day when things get better again. It's not outlawed, and you don't even have to tell anyone.

25-11-2024, 03:03 PM
The good thing about calling it a day is that you can uncall it a day when things get better again. It's not outlawed, and you don't even have to tell anyone.

Much less hassle also when the guys you go to the games with have called it a day.

25-11-2024, 03:28 PM
Hibs are already 3rd behind family and golf. I reckon they won’t slip further.

25-11-2024, 08:28 PM
I'll buy a season ticket for as long as I can afford it. One thing that has changed for me is I have stopped feeling guilty about not going to away games in the last couple of seasons. Covid may have played a part in that. I also used to turn jobs down when we were at home or a Derby match but I've missed a few games to be sat on the sidelines of another club. Its not easy watching us right now but that has been the case for the vast majority of the 50 years or so I have been going and at some point it will be enjoyable again

25-11-2024, 08:36 PM
Gave up during Fenton’s time ,renewed when he left

26-11-2024, 08:52 PM
When is it time to call it a day?

Uh, ****ing never.

Paul1642
26-11-2024, 08:54 PM
When is it time to call it a day?

Uh, ****ing never.

Glad Rocky agrees with you :)