View Full Version : Hibs players who surprised you in being better than you thought they’d be !

Donegal Hibby
16-11-2024, 10:52 AM
I suppose even though he wasn’t at us too long and a native of my own county mine has to be Conrad Logan . I would say most people would have written him off in the semi final or been taken over by pure fear and panic though one of the best performance a goalie has produced in a semi final for us without question ….

https://youtu.be/KoPYvDUCbmM?si=zZrvpAgcCu5R4Tkr

Any other players that have exceeded your expectations over the years wither at us short term or long?

16-11-2024, 10:55 AM
Paul McGinn.

16-11-2024, 11:01 AM
David Murphy

stuart-farquhar
16-11-2024, 11:11 AM
David Murphy

Without a dadow of a shout, Steve Archibald.

16-11-2024, 11:11 AM
Derek Townsley

HarpOnHibee
16-11-2024, 11:12 AM
Lewis Stevenson

16-11-2024, 11:15 AM
Gary Smith

Martin Boyle

16-11-2024, 11:23 AM
Steve Archibald, not sure why I didn't expect him to be great 😅 fantastic player.

Sauzee another one, didn't know much about him, not sure if it was his debut but I remember seeing him at Falkirk and he just oozed class. To this day probably my favourite ever Hibs player.

Lastly Latapy, again remember seeing him during the pre-match warm up at Ayr and wondering how this small guy was going to make Hibs better. What a player!!

16-11-2024, 11:33 AM
John O’Neil, Didier Agathe, Zemmama, Benji

16-11-2024, 11:42 AM
George McCluskey( Beastie) Dougie Bell,Craig Brewster, Ivan Sproule

16-11-2024, 11:42 AM
Rob Jones - signing from the English 4th tier, never inspires confidence. Everything you would want from an old school centre half and an inspirational captain.

16-11-2024, 11:55 AM
Don't understand why people under-rated Archibald. Great for Aberdeen, matured at Spurs where he is still worshipped, cult-hero (The White Rat) at Barca.

Made every Hibs player play better.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

16-11-2024, 11:57 AM
Dylan McGeouch.

16-11-2024, 11:59 AM
Mixu Paatelainen.

16-11-2024, 12:03 PM
Don't understand why people under-rated Archibald. Great for Aberdeen, matured at Spurs where he is still worshipped, cult-hero (The White Rat) at Barca.

Made every Hibs player play better.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

I was one who did. Saw him as a poacher who fed off having decent midfielders. Couldn't have been more wrong and happy to admit that too. He had unbelievable touch and generally scored v Hearts. Superb signing who I wished he'd stayed longer.

16-11-2024, 12:04 PM
Ally McLeod.

He's here!
16-11-2024, 12:11 PM
I was one who did. Saw him as a poacher who fed off having decent midfielders. Couldn't have been more wrong and happy to admit that too. He had unbelievable touch and generally scored v Hearts. Superb signing who I wished he'd stayed longer.

It was remarkable that he opted for Hibs considering Liverpool were also interested.

The Baldmans Comb
16-11-2024, 01:05 PM
Gary Smith as never expected 150 appearances and 6 dependable years.

Donegal Hibby
16-11-2024, 01:09 PM
Would SJM fall into this category or did fans know we were getting someone special back then ?

leith lynx
16-11-2024, 01:15 PM
Jackie McNamara

16-11-2024, 01:16 PM
Stevie Archibald

Didn’t get the hype Jock Stein raved about him thought he looked average

Wasn’t until he came to Hibs watching him closely guy was a class act killing the ball immediately gave him time on the ball vision and awareness was two moves ahead of everyone else could do all the basics really well shielding the ball passing control heading just quality

Alan Gordon thought he was a poultice Hearts Dundee United reject guy was just a genius best header of the ball I have seen at ER good on the deck and faster than he looked knew the way to goal all his brains were in his heid

16-11-2024, 01:25 PM
Efe Ambrose.

I thought he would be dreadful and he was looked at as a bit of a joke figure while at Celtic.

Man of the match first game at Tannadice and had the cigar out most weeks after that. Had the odd howler (Aberdeen away) but was genuinely one of the last players I can remember enjoying watching in recent years.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

16-11-2024, 01:32 PM
Jackie McNamara

+1

He had the misfortune to be part of a player swap that took Stanton to Celtc, so took a long time to win round the fans, but he was a good player and a great servant to the club.

16-11-2024, 01:40 PM
Boyle and Sproule already mentioned but I was pleasantly surprised how good Jim Leighton was for us. He was out of the picture at Dundee and I like many others thought he was past it. Proved me wrong and was a great keeper earning Scotland caps too. Incredible that we got him on a free transfer as Dundee had paid Man Utd £200,000 for him.

Yorkshire HFC
16-11-2024, 02:16 PM
I suppose even though he wasn’t at us too long and a native of my own county mine has to be Conrad Logan . I would say most people would have written him off in the semi final or been taken over by pure fear and panic though one of the best performance a goalie has produced in a semi final for us without question ….

https://youtu.be/KoPYvDUCbmM?si=zZrvpAgcCu5R4Tkr

Any other players that have exceeded your expectations over the years wither at us short term or long?

Leigh Griffiths. First time I saw him was a game against Aberdeen - I seem to remember it was the week after he had been accused of shoplifting from Tescos!

He was just a different class to any of the other Hibs players.

16-11-2024, 02:33 PM
Right now anyone who puts in a half decent performance

16-11-2024, 02:46 PM
Darren Jackson

16-11-2024, 02:57 PM
Darren Jackson

Legend for us

Dick every time he played against us

16-11-2024, 04:00 PM
David Murphy.

16-11-2024, 04:24 PM
Legend for us

Dick every time he played against us

Vaguely remember him scoring a screamer for Hearts against us at Easter Road. Terrific player Jackson.

16-11-2024, 04:43 PM
Off the top of my heed, I thought Efe Ambrose was an absolute joke and I said as much when we signed him. How wrong I was, I absolutely loved him

I can also remember an outpouring of disbelief on here when we had the audacity to sign Paul McGinn and that was soon proved wrong. He was by and large absolutely solid for us

babahibs
16-11-2024, 05:12 PM
Goram and Griffiths.

Mike Berry
16-11-2024, 05:35 PM
Efe Ambrose.

I thought he would be dreadful and he was looked at as a bit of a joke figure while at Celtic.

Man of the match first game at Tannadice and had the cigar out most weeks after that. Had the odd howler (Aberdeen away) but was genuinely one of the last players I can remember enjoying watching in recent years.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using TapatalkAgree. Absolutely loved watching Efe Ambrose. Fantastic footballer.

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

Green forever
16-11-2024, 05:43 PM
Jim Leighton, thought he was washed up when we signed him , good job I'm not a football manager.

16-11-2024, 06:38 PM
Goram and Griffiths.

We payed a club record 400k for Goram and that wasn't yesterday

16-11-2024, 06:40 PM

£325k was it not? 🤔

16-11-2024, 06:55 PM
Gary Smith and Mixu.

fiolex1
16-11-2024, 07:09 PM
Craig Brewster, though he was class at Hibs and should’ve extended his contract longer than was offered

MKHIBEE
16-11-2024, 07:10 PM
Conrad Logan

16-11-2024, 07:25 PM
Tom Smith was a good right back for us in the McLeish era signed from Clydebank played 44 games before retiring with a serious injury

16-11-2024, 07:30 PM
Paul Fenwick thought he was classy beside Sauzee and Smith

16-11-2024, 07:31 PM
Jim Leighton, thought he was washed up when we signed him , good job I'm not a football manager.

Aye. That was an edgy one. How wrong we were. Miller didn't make many wrong signings. In fact did he ever make a bad signing?

babahibs
16-11-2024, 07:34 PM

Yeah, we all knew he was was good when he signed, he turned out to be unbelievably good.

How much would he be worth today, mega bucks?

The Tubs
16-11-2024, 07:36 PM
Aye. That was an edgy one. How wrong we were. Miller didn't make many wrong signings. In fact did he ever make a bad signing?

Dave Beaumont?

Your point is valid, however. Mental how they've got so many resources now and can totally mess it up. Though I suppose everyone else has similar information.

16-11-2024, 07:56 PM
Ally McLeod.

Which one?

16-11-2024, 07:58 PM

Then Pat Mcginlay 425K ?

16-11-2024, 07:58 PM

LEaston87
16-11-2024, 08:12 PM
Tom Smith was a good right back for us in the McLeish era signed from Clydebank played 44 games before retiring with a serious injury

Im sure he was left back and Derek Collins was right back at that time

16-11-2024, 08:15 PM
Leighton and Sproule.

monarch
16-11-2024, 08:30 PM
Craig Brewster, though he was class at Hibs and should’ve extended his contract longer than was offered
We couldn’t compete with what Dunfermline were paying him.

16-11-2024, 08:46 PM

Both really good players :top marks

16-11-2024, 08:58 PM

Started off at right back but looking at the team sheets moved over to the left to accommodate Derek Collins Paul Lovering and Gary Smith sometimes moving back to right back or midfield but hey Derek Collins is a shout

www.fitbastats.com

Donegal Hibby
16-11-2024, 09:03 PM
Then Pat Mcginlay 425K ?

Pat McGinlay is a great shout btw . I think we did get him around the time we got Goram . I’m not sure what the fee was we paid for him at that time though think maybe 92 or around that we did pay 425k to get him back from Celtic which was really surprising as I think he might have been their top scorer .

16-11-2024, 09:04 PM
Conrad Logan, best ever in my 58 years following Hibs.

Zero expectations but an open mind when I first seen him. Straight to hero, nay, Hibernian folklore.

Just went out and done it. Forever grateful.

16-11-2024, 09:13 PM
Michael O’Neill

Trinity Hibee
16-11-2024, 09:14 PM
Conrad Logan, best ever in my 58 years following Hibs.

Zero expectations but an open mind when I first seen him. Straight to hero, nay, Hibernian folklore.

Just went out and done it. Forever grateful.

100%. Was an incredible game that

Hibeesforever
16-11-2024, 09:16 PM
£325k was it not? 🤔

That amount of money should have been spent on a current keeper by the owners...lack of ambition shown

16-11-2024, 09:17 PM
Pat McGinlay is a great shout btw . I think we did get him around the time we got Goram . I’m not sure what the fee was we paid for him at that time though think maybe 92 or around that we did pay 425k to get him back from Celtic which was really surprising as I think he might have been their top scorer .

I think we got him from Blackpool ? Maybe 88- 89 ? I remember moving to Loanhead in 95 and we resigned him from Celtc after him being their top goalscorer for one season , Pretty sure we got him back for what we sold him for which was a bloody bargain

16-11-2024, 09:21 PM

Probably the only time that a midfielder has been their top goal scorer in a league season.

16-11-2024, 09:23 PM
I think we got him from Blackpool ? Maybe 88- 89 ? I remember moving to Loanhead in 95 and we resigned him from Celtc after him being their top goalscorer for one season , Pretty sure we got him back for what we sold him for which was a bloody bargain

I think we sold him for £550k.

16-11-2024, 09:30 PM

Auld man tells that's right Hutch :aok:

No bad eh , Got Celtics best player back within a year for a profit :greengrin

16-11-2024, 09:33 PM
Which one?70s version. Too young to see the other one when he was here.

Sent from my Tab 12 Pro using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
16-11-2024, 09:37 PM

I think it was about that . I might be wrong though didn’t it go to a tribunal? . I seem to remember seeing Miller at the time of the fee being arranged leaving the tribunal and he looked to be absolutely fuming .. could be wrong on that though.

gordie18
16-11-2024, 10:24 PM
George Stewart and Michael O’Neil

16-11-2024, 10:39 PM
John McGinn.

I thought he’d do well for us when he signed but I never thought he’d have the impact he did. Even though we had good players when he was here, I thought he was the absolute heartbeat of the team and dragged the rest of them up a level.

Septimus
16-11-2024, 11:15 PM
Joe Macbride

16-11-2024, 11:43 PM
Gary Smith as never expected 150 appearances and 6 dependable years.

That's a great shout. In a similar vein, Paul Fenwick.

17-11-2024, 12:07 AM
John McGinn.

I thought he’d do well for us when he signed but I never thought he’d have the impact he did. Even though we had good players when he was here, I thought he was the absolute heartbeat of the team and dragged the rest of them up a level.

Didn't expect him to have the impact he's had at Villa. One of my favourite ever midfielders to play for the club.

17-11-2024, 01:05 AM
Derek Riordan. We had a few strikers at the time and I thought he was a bit too lightweight. Wouldn't have written him off but would never have expected him to be as good as he was.

Also Boyler.

17-11-2024, 06:06 AM
On a more recent one - Kamberi

I remember being annoyed with the season we were having and then we signed a young 23 year old striker from Grasshoppers who had hardly scored a senior goal.

In he comes and bangs in 9 in 14 and was brilliant for that half of the season. Fast, strong, could link play, good in the air, could dribble and could finish.

I really thought he was then going to go on to be brilliant for us when he signed permanently.

So wrong on two occasions 🤣

17-11-2024, 06:26 AM
Joe Macbride

Shout !

Prolific goalscorer scored all types of goals my particular favourite a half volley from the edge of the box one of two against Celtic in a 2-0 win at ER

Made us forget about Colin Stein scoring 24 goals from 28 appearances in his first season his home debut a hat-trick versus Lokomotiv Leipzig

Legend

Bobo
17-11-2024, 07:11 AM
Alan Sneddon & Ulrik Laursen

thebausburst
17-11-2024, 07:12 AM
Chick Charnley (brilliant while it lasted).

17-11-2024, 02:25 PM
£325k was it not? 🤔

My mistake. The 400k was for Keith Wright.

17-11-2024, 03:03 PM
Throw in Ivan Sproule, a complete unknown, who maybe wasn't the greatest technical footballer, he used what he was good at, getting international recognition also.

17-11-2024, 05:39 PM

I thought we sold him for about 800k and re-signed him for about 400k

17-11-2024, 05:45 PM

Nah it wasn't that much to be fair , I think Hutch is right about 550 Thousand we sold him for and got him back a year later cheaper , Mental

How much a Pat Mcginlay would be worth in the modern era tho ,,

17-11-2024, 05:55 PM
Nah it wasn't that much to be fair , I think Hutch is right about 550 Thousand we sold him for and got him back a year later cheaper , Mental

How much a Pat Mcginlay would be worth in the modern era tho ,,

Happy to be corrected, it was many moons ago :greengrin

And yes, a guy scoring like he did from midfield would be a whole lot more than that 😄

17-11-2024, 05:55 PM
When we won championship under Mcleish he found some gems Fabrice Henry and Alex Marinkov but Justin Skinner was very good

e2los
17-11-2024, 06:04 PM
Didier Agathe.

Was one of those rare moments when everyone knew he was far too good for us.

Unfortunately we didn't have him for very long.

17-11-2024, 07:21 PM

He was Celtics top goal scorer when we signed him back.

17-11-2024, 08:53 PM
Joe McBride, Arthur Duncan, Alex Edwards & Alan Gordon.

Latter days, Franck Sauzée, Russell Latapy and SJM.

18-11-2024, 07:05 AM

Aye Arthur is some shout wasn’t expecting much when he was signed from ‘Thistle to replace ‘Nello first time I realised that at our level speed is everything speed kills

Nijinsky like Shades was a bit of a keep fit fanatic and his MO was getting the ball taking it up to the full back then booting it past him and burning him off with sheer pace hitting the touch line and sending over a cross

Many a shout going downhill ‘ Open the gates ‘

This tactic best illustrated in 2-1 Scottish Cup win at a mud spattered Tiny when Arthur scored the winner burning off the Hearts defence and the winner in the 5-3 final versus Celtic

Went on to make the highest number of League appearances only to be recently overtaken by the immortal Lewis Stevenson money well spent

Legend :not worth

18-11-2024, 07:15 AM

Out of interest what was it about sauzee that made you think he wouldn't be as good as he was

18-11-2024, 07:33 AM
Aye Arthur is some shout wasn’t expecting much when he was signed from ‘Thistle to replace ‘Nello first time I realised that at our level speed is everything speed kills

Nijinsky like Shades was a bit of a keep fit fanatic and his MO was getting the ball taking it up to the full back then booting it past him and burning him off with sheer pace hitting the touch line and sending over a cross

This tactic best illustrated in 2-1 Scottish Cup win at a mud spattered Tiny when Arthur scored the winner burning off the Hearts defence and the winner in the 5-3 final versus Celtic

Went on to make the highest number of League appearances only to be recently overtaken by the immortal Lewis Stevenson money well spent

Legend :not worth

Agreed Billy. In his debut against Celtic, he played on the right, with Eric Stevenson on the left, and got Hibs goal [1-2]. He didn't set the world on fire, for the rest of that 69/70 season.

The next season, in the league cup section games, he was on fire and Hibs' most effective player. When we qualified, in a group that had Scottish cup holders Aberdeen, he won the deciding game, 4-0.

We were eagerly looking forward to the quarters against Rangers, mainly on the back of Arthur's form. Before the first tie, Arthur was bundled into the terracing wall, as he put the afterburners on. The extent of his injury was kept secret, but he missed both ties and we got beat 3-1 in both legs. He was just as effective when he returned from injury and became Scotland's [latest] hottest property, after the goal at Tynie.

18-11-2024, 07:38 AM
I'm another one who had never been impressed by Archibald I was even non plussed when he signed.

How wrong I was :greengrin

The guy oozed class and as others have said made other players better.

Ivan Sproule is a good shout too.

18-11-2024, 07:41 AM
Agreed Billy. In his debut against Celtic, he played on the right, with Eric Stevenson on the left, and got Hibs goal [1-2]. He didn't set the world on fire, for the rest of that 69/70 season.

The next season, in the league cup section games, he was on fire and Hibs' most effective player. When we qualified, in a group that had Scottish cup holders Aberdeen, he won the deciding game, 4-0.

We were eagerly looking forward to the quarters against Rangers, mainly on the back of Arthur's form. Before the first tie, Arthur was bundled into the terracing wall, as he put the afterburners on. The extent of his injury was kept secret, but he missed both ties and we got beat 3-1 in both legs. He was just as effective when he returned from injury and became Scotland's [latest] hottest property, after the goal at Tynie.

Remember the Liverpool and England defences struggling with his pace as he was a bit of an unknown quantity to them before saturation coverage on TV and my all time fav a master stroke by ET versus the highly fancied Sporting Lisbon second half when Alex Edwards and Arthur Duncan swapped wings and the Portuguese couldnae cope

18-11-2024, 08:06 AM
Always thought Graham Mitchell was an excellent player for Hibs very steady talented player. Think he came from Hamilton for guessing about 40k incredible value for money signing

18-11-2024, 08:09 AM
Another shout for Alan Gordon. I remember the moans from the terracing in his first couple of games, what are we signing that herts bassa for etc but it didn't take long for him to turn it around and become a Hibs legend.

He's here!
18-11-2024, 08:26 AM
Always thought Graham Mitchell was an excellent player for Hibs very steady talented player. Think he came from Hamilton for guessing about 40k incredible value for money signing

Alex Miller brought a lot of good players to Hibs and I think Mitchell was one of his first. If memory serves me right he brought in Mitchell, Dougie Bell and possibly Neil Orr around the same time which immediately gave us a lot more solidity.

18-11-2024, 08:35 AM
Alex Miller brought a lot of good players to Hibs and I think Mitchell was one of his first. If memory serves me right he brought in Mitchell, Dougie Bell and possibly Neil Orr around the same time which immediately gave us a lot more solidity.

A famous January transfer swoop saw Lexo bringing in Tommy McIntyre Dougie Bell and Graham Mitchell for a 3-1 victory at frost bound Brockville in January 1987 Neil Orr would follow in the summer

For a Coach with such a negative approach Alex Miller signed a lot of good attack minded entertaining players for the Hibees

Stanton Spence
18-11-2024, 09:07 AM
Chick Charnley (brilliant while it lasted).

That’s who I was going to mention and I’d like to have seen him at hibs a few years younger

18-11-2024, 09:33 AM
Out of interest what was it about sauzee that made you think he wouldn't be as good as he was

Pure ignorance. I hadn't seen too much of him and the general apathy of players with big reputations, ending in disappointment.

18-11-2024, 09:36 AM
My mistake. The 400k was for Keith Wright.

I thought it was 500 for Keith.

18-11-2024, 09:46 AM
Remember the Liverpool and England defences struggling with his pace as he was a bit of an unknown quantity to them before saturation coverage on TV and my all time fav a master stroke by ET versus the highly fancied Sporting Lisbon second half when Alex Edwards and Arthur Duncan swapped wings and the Portuguese couldnae cope

He was our best player, at Wembley, 1975 and kept on ripping England apart [despite the score], Scotland had played decent enough, Kennedy excepted. It was a shock to see Ormond replace him with Hutchinson.

I also remember the U23 game, when he was giving the English defence a torrid time, down their right & John Blackley was outshining Derby's new 175k, defender, Colin Todd. Unfortunately, for us, Dave Wagstaff was doing the same to John Brownlie, on our right. The game ended 2-2 and this was the only time I saw Onion get dominated by a winger.

18-11-2024, 10:00 AM
He was our best player, at Wembley, on 75 and kept on ripping England apart [despite the score], Scotland had played decent enough, Kennedy excepted. It was a shock to see Ormond replace him with Hutchinson.

I also remember the U23 game, when he was giving the English defence a torrid time, down their right & John Blackley was outshining Derby's new 175k, defender, Colin Todd. Unfortunately, for us, Dave Wagstaff was doing the same to John Brownlie, on our right. The game ended 2-2 and this was the only time I saw Onion get dominated by a winger.
Yip remember The Flyer being the meat in the Liverpool sandwich when we ultimately missed the penalty when we won 1-0 at ER

Remember the Old Firm being terrified of him and he was usually singled out for ‘ special treatment’

Mickey as well 😀

18-11-2024, 10:14 AM

Yes remember that. Was the other Tommy Macintyre rather than Orr. Might be wrong with that.

18-11-2024, 11:08 AM
Yes remember that. Was the other Tommy Macintyre rather than Orr. Might be wrong with that.

Yep it was Tommy. No idea why Miller persisted playing him at full back for so long, cost us big time in the semi against Celtic. He was brilliant at centre half in the 91-92 season.

Glass half full
18-11-2024, 11:42 AM
Graham Mitchell was a solid, dependable player for many years. Done surprisingly well. Was it Hamilton we signed him from?

Couldn't believe we signed a finished Jim Leighton from Dundee reserves. Never would have seen him playing for Scotland again.

Boozy - so composed in Scottish football.

Sproule and Boyle. Both were really only pace when we signed then. Improved massively as footballers.

18-11-2024, 11:55 AM
Sol Bamba
Kevin McBride
Martin Boyle
Efe Ambrose
Florian Kamberi

18-11-2024, 12:05 PM
Sol Bamba
Kevin McBride
Martin Boyle
Efe Ambrose
Florian Kamberi

Kevin Mcbride ? I thought he was crap for us , Each to their ain

Edit : Thinking of the wrong guy , Aye Mcbride i think came in and played most games in his first season and done a job , Think he had injury issues throughout his career , Can remember him being sent off against the huns and at the time thinking that's extremely harsh

18-11-2024, 12:40 PM
Leighton for sure. Like many I thought his career was finished. What a turnaround and my favourite ever Hibs goalie.

Mixu I remember McLeish had failed previously in a bid to sign him. Remember thinking 'good. What's he wasting his time going after him for?' Got him a few weeks later and what a signing! For the role he played, Mixu's goals record for Hibs is still really impressive.

18-11-2024, 01:26 PM
Kevin Mcbride ? I thought he was crap for us , Each to their ain

Edit : Thinking of the wrong guy , Aye Mcbride i think came in and played most games in his first season and done a job , Think he had injury issues throughout his career , Can remember him being sent off against the huns and at the time thinking that's extremely harsh

For booting the ball off Kyle Lafferty incredible decision

18-11-2024, 03:20 PM
Pat Stanton. Remember seeing him for the first time in the first team at Easter Road. Was slow, ponderous, several times fouling opponents nipping past him. But it was just him getting up to speed with first team football, and he didn't put a foot wrong in the next 539825705 games for us.

18-11-2024, 03:23 PM
The polar bear

18-11-2024, 03:29 PM
Ivan and Conrad are the obvious ones that jump out straight away for me struggling to think of other examples that come close.

Lewy and Paul maybe get a mention for their longevity, surprising in the fact they kept themselves at that level for so long over several managers and squads of players.

18-11-2024, 04:39 PM
Did Boozy made his debut trialiist v Leeds and was swiftly taken off after classy 45 mins ?

18-11-2024, 05:00 PM
Did Boozy made his debut trialiist v Leeds and was swiftly taken off after classy 45 mins ?

Defo started the game 31/7/2004 Hibs lost 1-3 Tam McManus opened the scoring then goals from Ricketts 2 and Richardson

Boozy made his debut first game of the season in a 0-1 loss at ER to Kilmarnock

https://i.ibb.co/ZLkdsb7/IMG-3091.png (https://ibb.co/smMjSXz)

18-11-2024, 05:04 PM

Legend :not worthWas in the old north stand with my dad who was a ref. Alex Edwards would play a pass into the open space behind the full back for Arthur to run onto down the slope and be flagged offside because he was so quick,when he was yards onside when the ball was played. Did my dad's head in the number of times the linesman got it wrong. Big Frank would also make his feelings known at the front of the stand.

18-11-2024, 05:08 PM
Was in the old north stand with my dad who was a ref. Alex Edwards would play a pass into the open space behind the full back for Arthur to run onto down the slope and be flagged offside because he was so quick,when he was yards onside when the ball was played. Did my dad's head in the number of times the linesman got it wrong.

Aye he was fast but an often discussed topic on these threads re who was the fastest ever ?

My own memory second half going down the slope Arthur would always reappear wet hair psyched up ready to go for it as if he had had a pre second half shower to waken himself up

ET would always sit in the Stand to get the perfect view of what was happening

He's here!
18-11-2024, 05:48 PM
A famous January transfer swoop saw Lexo bringing in Tommy McIntyre Dougie Bell and Graham Mitchell for a 3-1 victory at frost bound Brockville in January 1987 Neil Orr would follow in the summer

For a Coach with such a negative approach Alex Miller signed a lot of good attack minded entertaining players for the Hibees

Took a lot of flak over the years for the supposedly negative approach but give me a Miller team any day over what we're subjected to now!

Hibiza
18-11-2024, 05:58 PM
Jackie McNamara

Just class .

18-11-2024, 06:16 PM
Daniel Andersson. I'm sure that he was originally a third choice keeper signed as backup to a backup.

18-11-2024, 06:22 PM
Took a lot of flak over the years for the supposedly negative approach but give me a Miller team any day over what we're subjected to now!

I'd take a Bertie Auld team at the moment.

18-11-2024, 06:36 PM
I'd take a Bertie Auld team at the moment.

If Stuart Turnbull is in it the you're taking that too far 😁

18-11-2024, 06:40 PM
Could do with Miller at Easter Road to help David Gray in a consultancy capacity. When he was on Hibs TV during covid he was so spot on with his analysis.

jakedance
18-11-2024, 06:50 PM
I can’t believe more people aren’t saying Conrad Logan. I was actually embarrassed to see him warming up for Hibs in a cup semi but we wouldn’t have had the best day of our lives if it wasn’t for him. An unbelievable performance and someone we’ll be talking about for decades.

19-11-2024, 10:20 AM
Des Bremner started off a big raw laddie with big boots to fill when John Brownlie broke his leg but developed into a cracking player covering every blade of grass

Did not realise how good he was until big gaps started appearing in our midfield where he should have been after he left went on to win the League and European cup with Aston Villa

Another cracking player was Iain Munro started off well for us then a weird move to Rangers that didn’t last and returned to us eventually good player capped by Scotland

19-11-2024, 10:30 AM
Pat McGinlay. I had low expectations from a free transfer from Blackpool and turned out to be one of Alex Miller's best signings

19-11-2024, 10:57 AM
Pat McGinlay. I had low expectations from a free transfer from Blackpool and turned out to be one of Alex Miller's best signings

Mental to think all he got was a B cap with Scotland

Albahibs
19-11-2024, 11:01 AM
Brian Rice.

Remember thinking after first seeing him, that he wouldn't make it at Hibs. He was very slender built back then, and the game was much more physical, but I'm so glad I was wrong. He had a terrific left foot on him, and went on to sign for Brian Clough's Notts Forest from us.

19-11-2024, 12:14 PM
Brian Rice.

Remember thinking after first seeing him, that he wouldn't make it at Hibs. He was very slender built back then, and the game was much more physical, but I'm so glad I was wrong. He had a terrific left foot on him, and went on to sign for Brian Clough's Notts Forest from us.

Aye mind he scored a cracking volley with his left peg in a 3-3 draw up at Tannadice Big Gogs Rae and Willie Irvine #1 chipped in to help us earn a well deserved draw

https://youtu.be/6yYX2y9cdoA?si=m3eTTkj3Un1fvVyR

19-11-2024, 01:35 PM
Another vote for Archibald. He was generally thought of as lazy and gash in Scotland due to his poor goal return and performances for Scotland and his signing was met with apathy by most Hibs fans, myself included. I remember when he was called up to the 1986 World Cup squad to replace Kenny Dalglish.......he was mocked by many, including Only and Excuse. 'No footballer could replace King Kenny, so we called up Steve Archibald cos he's not a footballer'.

Imagine us signing the current Barcelona number 9 and no being happy about it. Utterly ridiculous.

19-11-2024, 02:17 PM
I had thought that it was Latapy they brought in then hauled him off in a friendly in case anyone else spotted him. Could be my aging memory though :greengrin

20-11-2024, 06:38 AM
I had thought that it was Latapy they brought in then hauled him off in a friendly in case anyone else spotted him. Could be my aging memory though :greengrin

McLeish wanted to see if Latapy still had the legs so played him in a trial game in a friendly up at Brechin It was driving rain and he thought that the conditions would not be ideal for him but he thought wrong the Little Magician was majestic and was just effortlessly gliding across the surface dictating play He found himself anxiously scanning the Stand to make sure no scouts were watching