View Full Version : Protest
john rossi
10-11-2024, 12:09 PM
I can’t watch my beloved Hibees go down the Swanee without a fight. I was a member of HOH when we got relegated under the Farmer/comb/petrie era. Yes relegation came about but as a group we made sure our voices heard and we did put significant pressure on Farmer who realised that Rod Petrie could sort the mess out with the guidance of Liam Demster. We need to band together and protest vigorously at our next home match to make the Gordon’s no in no uncertain terms that changes must be made. I do wonder with hindsight whether Tom Farmer regrets selling to Ron Gordon as he did have our best interests at heart as did Ron RIP. Getting Gray sacked only papers over the cracks we need Hibs people running the club and a group to get the message across not the apathy that surrounded Easter road on Saturday against St.mirrin.
He's here!
10-11-2024, 12:30 PM
I can’t watch my beloved Hibees go down the Swanee without a fight. I was a member of HOH when we got relegated under the Farmer/comb/petrie era. Yes relegation came about but as a group we made sure our voices heard and we did put significant pressure on Farmer who realised that Rod Petrie could sort the mess out with the guidance of Liam Demster. We need to band together and protest vigorously at our next home match to make the Gordon’s no in no uncertain terms that changes must be made. I do wonder with hindsight whether Tom Farmer regrets selling to Ron Gordon as he did have our best interests at heart as did Ron RIP. Getting Gray sacked only papers over the cracks we need Hibs people running the club and a group to get the message across not the apathy that surrounded Easter road on Saturday against St.mirrin.
I suggested a boycott of the United game a few weeks ago and got shot down by most. I don't think there's a collective will to protest. People either aren't motivated enough or don't really care enough. Most just seem a bit resigned to the fact we're a lost cause under the current owners and are simply hoping they sell up. Apathy and declining crowds are probably the sum total of 'protest'.
10-11-2024, 12:35 PM
I’m surprised block 7 haven’t organised a pre match march before the game up St Clair Street to the West Stand to voice concerns before the game. At the same time block 7 were singing Grays name which was just odd as he’s also at fault.
Maybe fans will start to act now?
I know plenty who won’t attend games until change happens.
We only have 1 home Saturday game before 2025.
Aberdeen is a Tuesday night on 26th Nov
Ross County Saturday 14th
Killie - Sunday 29th
InvertedFullBak
10-11-2024, 12:35 PM
I suggested a boycott of the United game a few weeks ago and got shot down by most. I don't think there's a collective will to protest. People either aren't motivated enough or don't really care enough. Most just seem a bit resigned to the fact we're a lost cause under the current owners and are simply hoping they sell up. Apathy and declining crowds are probably the sum total of 'protest'.
In all respect , what will a boycott achieve ? The club already has our money. Not turning up won’t change anything
A protest is the way to act. Next home game , get to the front door at full time and hound them out. If you don’t make a noise then you won’t be heard.
Scotty Leither
10-11-2024, 12:40 PM
I’m surprised block 7 haven’t organised a pre match march before the game up St Clair Street to the West Stand to voice concerns before the game. At the same time block 7 were singing Grays name which was just odd as he’s also at fault.
Killie - Sunday 29th
Apparently Kensell wanted to organise a Q & A in the Hibs club to discuss the 150th anniversary.
He should go ahead with it and the Hibs club should sell tickets, the gig would sell out in ten minutes.
10-11-2024, 12:43 PM
In all respect , what will a boycott achieve ? The club already has our money. Not turning up won’t change anything
A protest is the way to act. Next home game , get to the front door at full time and hound them out. If you don’t make a noise then you won’t be heard.
That would be close to 10pm at night…not sure many would do that on a weeknight.
Who is Comb?
Tom Farmer has been rumoured to have Dementia for a good few years, I very much doubt Hibs are on his mind anymore.
I do agree that Gray being sacked does nothing to address the real issue at Hibs, namely that Ian Gordon and his pal Ben don't know what they are doing.
Box 17
Killie - Sunday 29th
Block 7 are a bunch of 14 year olds. What they do or chant is irrelevant to most of us.
10-11-2024, 12:44 PM
Apparently Kensell wanted to organise a Q & A in the Hibs club to discuss the 150th anniversary.
He should go ahead with it and the Hibs club should sell tickets, the gig would sell out in ten minutes.
Anyone know if he’s been doing the rounds in hospitality and, if so, has he got any grief at all? Or is everybody all pally with him?
10-11-2024, 12:47 PM
Block 7 are a bunch of 14 year olds. What they do or chant is irrelevant to most of us.
Another problem with Hibs…quite a few fans can’t stand the main fans group Block 7.
Maybe one day all the club will pull in the same direction as right now it’s small fractions of people all pissed off with each other.
Scotty Leither
10-11-2024, 12:49 PM
Anyone know if he’s been doing the rounds in hospitality and, if so, has he got any grief at all? Or is everybody all pally with him?
You don’t see much of him in fairness, and equally I don’t see any Hibs supporters being overly pally with him either.
The club and the supporters are gripped by apathy from where I’m standing. That’s the biggest worry of all as apathy seldom solves anything.
10-11-2024, 12:54 PM
Remove your business over time they will have to change.
leith lynx
10-11-2024, 01:01 PM
Who is Comb?
Tom Farmer has been rumoured to have Dementia for a good few years, I very much doubt Hibs are on his mind anymore.
I do agree that Gray being sacked does nothing to address the real issue at Hibs, namely that Ian Gordon and his pal Ben don't know what they are doing.
Think he meant the late Dougie Cromb, one of the good guys, wonder what he and Kenny McLean snr would think about the present day shambles. Could do with people like them around the club now.
InvertedFullBak
10-11-2024, 01:07 PM
That would be close to 10pm at night…not sure many would do that on a weeknight.
A good number certainly did it the night Fenlon was mutual consented.
If not a midweek game then the next game on a weekend.
10-11-2024, 01:17 PM
Liam Demster is the best wrong spelling of a name I think I’ve seen on here
10-11-2024, 01:20 PM
Or fold. A protest is definitely better than the former.
10-11-2024, 01:21 PM
Wouldn’t have anything like the same impact as a few hundred folk at the back of the West with season tickets and hospitality already bought.
TrinityHFC
10-11-2024, 01:25 PM
What do you want the protest to achieve?
What do you mean by Hibs people running the club?
10-11-2024, 01:38 PM
TBF, it's not the responsibility of a small group of young fans to protest about the state our club is in just now.
This should be something among the wider support.
10-11-2024, 01:53 PM
If you really want to protest, get a large group of you organised and gate crash East Mains while theres a training session on and let them know in no uncertain terms how we feel. Hibs support dont do protest though...
He's here!
10-11-2024, 02:37 PM
If you really want to protest, get a large group of you organised and gate crash East Mains while theres a training session on and let them know in no uncertain terms how we feel. Hibs support dont do protest though...
Direct action. That sort of thing would at least put some frighteners into the club but there's not a chance it would happen. As can be seen from most responses on this thread there's more scoffing at than support of a protest. It's really just a case of sitting on our hands and hoping things get better one day.
11-11-2024, 02:58 PM
Direct action. That sort of thing would at least put some frighteners into the club but there's not a chance it would happen. As can be seen from most responses on this thread there's more scoffing at than support of a protest. It's really just a case of sitting on our hands and hoping things get better one day.
Would you like to organise the protest and send us the details.
I'm sure some people would happily join in, as long as it's not over the top.
11-11-2024, 04:01 PM
Yes he has, he was in the Albion Bar about half twelve/one o'clock. Rod Petrie used to do the same, Behind the Goals.
BK spoke, for some time, to at least one group of supporters. I don’t know what was said but I’d be surprised, not to mention disappointed, if he got a hard time. Some hard questions perhaps but you have to respect an individual is prepared to mix with the support despite knowing things are not right at present. I just don’t get the charge towards pitchforks and fire to get things done. We don’t live in the 18th century any more.
Mark05
11-11-2024, 05:16 PM
I was at the st Johnstone game in hospitality a few weeks ago, and the guy at my table had a word with him.Asked him if he thought he was lucky to still be in a job,I don't think he was impressed with the answer as he came back to the table and called him a prick 🤣
11-11-2024, 05:47 PM
It's time for this now lads.
Aberdeen game?
BurtonOnTrent
11-11-2024, 05:53 PM
That statement says it all about where we are heading
andrew_dundee
11-11-2024, 06:09 PM
Also if we have a shock result and win then it would rather undermine the protest. If there was one it would presumably be best to have a show of anger before or an organised chant at a particular moment in the game?
11-11-2024, 06:45 PM
It's time for this now lads.
Aberdeen game?
Aye definitely, if the fitba and the general malaise at the club isn't enough to get you out to protest, surely tae F that excuse for a statement IS. What is it going to take to waken Hibs fans up to this mess.
It's time to get angry :grr:
cloudy
11-11-2024, 07:04 PM
Also if we have a shock result and win then it would rather undermine the protest. If there was one it would presumably be best to have a show of anger before or an organised chant at a particular moment in the game?
Protest before the game, one hour before kick off when Kensell and co are swanning around in the hospitality. I’m sure they’ll get a good view from the big windows
11-11-2024, 07:16 PM
Protest before the game, one hour before kick off when Kensell and co are swanning around in the hospitality. I’m sure they’ll get a good view from the big windows
Good idea
WeAreHibs
11-11-2024, 07:30 PM
I'd do it earlier before so the hospitality guests get full visibility and potentially have to walk through.
Make this happen!
Greenwich_Hibby
11-11-2024, 07:35 PM
No point in a protest,this mob have no soul and no understanding of this club. I'm voting with my wallet, they won't understand anything else.
Hibees1973
11-11-2024, 07:47 PM
No point in a protest,this mob have no soul and no understanding of this club. I'm voting with my wallet, they won't understand anything else.
Exactly.
By ignoring BKFC and appointing Gray & McKay, highlighted the Golden Quadrant's arrogance.
As you said there is no soul or understanding of the club from The Gordons or Kensell and was doomed to fail.
They have done everything possible to ensure the team on the park fails by appointing joke managers and Ian Gordon being Head of Recruitment for a fair amount of time.
Apart from going to games I don't spend a penny on Hibs. I could if I wanted ,but choose not to while the are Golden Quadrant present.
11-11-2024, 07:56 PM
This is where I am at but come the Aberdeen game the shop will be busy and the food outlets inside as well.
11-11-2024, 08:58 PM
The simplest way would be a fans march before the game from the Iona Bar up St Clair Street to the West Stand. Give folk time to get to their seats if still attending game but with the chairmen’s suite and hospitality in the west stand that’s where it would be heard and seen the most. Obviously all peaceful etc but would send a clear message to people in charge and sponsors etc that fans aren’t happy.
The training ground is miles away and day time would be tricky for most to attend.
Still Smiling
11-11-2024, 09:11 PM
Thankfully not many supporting this protest and as for Block 7 organising anything..I think the average age must be about 14!
The Club statement suggests they are aware of the problems … we await more news .
Chorley Hibee
11-11-2024, 09:12 PM
Thankfully not many supporting this protest and as for Block 7 organising anything..I think the average age must be about 14!
The Club statement suggests they are aware of the problems … we await more news .
There are no tanks in Baghdad.
12-11-2024, 09:09 AM
What are the protestors going to protest about that hasn’t already been acknowledged by the club?
It would likely just involve personal attacks on individuals at the club which serves no real purpose.
hibsmad
12-11-2024, 10:24 AM
The problem for me is that there is no one I feel angry with.
Just a bunch of failed football decisions by people who I believe have the clubs best interests at heart.
Im just desperate for a change at the top, however we don’t even know the possibilities with the BK’s given the SFA’s stance on duel club ownership.
It’s just a mess and I don’t see how we get out of it.
mcohibs
12-11-2024, 11:34 AM
Just a bunch of failed football decisions by people who I believe have the clubs best interests at heart.
Sacking a manager the week before a cup final isn’t in the club’s best interests. It’s a power move.
Appointing your son as head of recruitment isn’t in the club’s best interests. It’s nepotism.
Refusing to listen to wealthy investors who’ve offered their help with football operations isn’t in the club’s best interests. It’s arrogance.
Appointing a complete novice as manager isn’t in the club’s best interests, it’s a cop-out. Refusing to then dismiss said manager when bottom of the league, one win in thirteen and a defeat to Kelty on the books, is a transparent attempt to save face.
These people may care about the club, but they operate with their own interests as priority. That’s not a healthy or sustainable way to run a business, and we are seeing the consequences of that play out in front of us.
12-11-2024, 12:30 PM
Hibs players are soft, nervous wee lambs. Smaller crowds will definitely improve confidence and we might be start getting results. It's no coincidence Hibs had their best season in years, in empty stadia.
Boycott our way to safety.
hibsmad
12-11-2024, 12:50 PM
Sacking a manager the week before a cup final isn’t in the club’s best interests. It’s a power move.
Appointing your son as head of recruitment isn’t in the club’s best interests. It’s nepotism.
Refusing to listen to wealthy investors who’ve offered their help with football operations isn’t in the club’s best interests. It’s arrogance.
Appointing a complete novice as manager isn’t in the club’s best interests, it’s a cop-out. Refusing to then dismiss said manager when bottom of the league, one win in thirteen and a defeat to Kelty on the books, is a transparent attempt to save face.
These people may care about the club, but they operate with their own interests as priority. That’s not a healthy or sustainable way to run a business, and we are seeing the consequences of that play out in front of us.
People can be influenced by their own desires (Ron wanting to work and build a successful club with his son) or outside factors (a good number of fans calling for Gray to get the job) however it doesn’t necessarily change the possibility that when each of these decisions were made, the owners/board felt that it was right for the club.
I’ve already said that there have been a series of failed football decisions, and that I’m desperate for change at the top, so it’s not as if we are arguing on that front.
My point was simply that I don’t feel angry with anyone. I’m absolutely fed up, just not ready to angrily chant at individuals on the board.
12-11-2024, 12:52 PM
People can be influenced by their own desires (Ron wanting to work and build a successful club with his son) or outside factors (a good number of fans calling for Gray to get the job) however it doesn’t necessarily change the possibility that when each of these decisions were made, the owners/board felt that it was right for the club.
I’ve already said that there have been a series of failed football decisions, and that I’m desperate for change at the top, so it’s not as if we are arguing on that front.
My point was simply that I don’t feel angry with anyone. I’m absolutely fed up, just not ready to angrily chant at individuals on the board.
I genuinely don't remember many people at all calling for Gray to be appointed. I think there was a general feeling that he would get the backing of the support due to who he is, but very few, if any at all, were actively calling for him to be given the role.
Add that to the fact he has no experience as a manager it makes the appointment even more baffling.
12-11-2024, 01:23 PM
I think this thread has been infiltrated by some who would love to see us protest and be in more disarray than we are now.
I think everybody knows how we feel, but marching up and down baying at the moon will achieve nought.
12-11-2024, 01:27 PM
I think this thread has been infiltrated by some who would love to see us protest and be in more disarray than we are now.
I think everybody knows how we feel, but marching up and down baying at the moon will achieve nought.
We are sleep walking towards relegation which would be absolutely catastrophic for the club.
Gray, as much as I like the guy, should no longer be our manager. Bottom of the league after 12 games with 1 win is probably, if not the worst, one of the worst starts to a league campaign we have ever had. The club need to act and act quickly or we will be in the Championship next year.
Although I wouldn't be on a protest myself I can see the thinking of how it may just hasten the board to make a decision.
We can't get any worse that's for sure.
Ribs1875
12-11-2024, 01:42 PM
I fully agree! The sacking Ross before a cup final was shocking, at least give him a chance of redemption.
Let's not forget, Maloney got given the job before that final, but everyone in the board and he agreed Gray would take charge of that final because it would be awkward an ex celtic player managing against them in a final.
12-11-2024, 01:45 PM
Would silence make a good protest? The team walk out to silence, if we score then silence, walk off to it too. Very uncomfortable and would be quite the spectacle.
12-11-2024, 02:09 PM
Would silence make a good protest? The team walk out to silence, if we score then silence, walk off to it too. Very uncomfortable and would be quite the spectacle.
It's a good idea but it would work better if Easter Road wasn't mostly silent already.
Contador
12-11-2024, 04:53 PM
I actually think the opposite, I think a protest that gains media attention would actually trigger some action.
The problem is, they are that incompetent any potential changes would likely just make themselves more of a laughing stock. See the pitiful statement that was put out yesterday due to them getting a sense of fan sentiment and feeling they needed to say something - all its done is infuriate the fanbase more.
12-11-2024, 04:59 PM
This is where I am at but come the Aberdeen game the shop will be busy and the food outlets inside as well.
The food outlets are crap I hope beers no as flat and food as cold in the Fancy Albion kensell yuppie hut
12-11-2024, 05:05 PM
It doesn't have to be a boycott or anything. Something visible like Rangers fans have had this season in the form of banners.
'Support the team, not the regime. The time for change is now'.
It's not on the fans to be specific about the changes. The statement yesterday is further absolution or blame of those at the very top and all fans are doing with a banner like that is showing our disagreement with that assesment.
13-11-2024, 05:37 PM
Oh, it's jolly decent of them to confess to being "aware" of the problems that we've been slow marching towards head first like some kind of insipid zombie horde since September.
"We await more news" indeed. I half expect Ben Kensall to declare we have secured "peace in our time" after the meeting with HSL whilst waving around a napkin from hospitality.
13-11-2024, 06:03 PM
Oh, it's jolly decent of them to confess to being "aware" of the problems that we've been slow marching towards head first like some kind of insipid zombie horde since September.
"We await more news" indeed. I half expect Ben Kensall to declare we have secured "peace in our time" after the meeting with HSL whilst waving around a napkin from hospitality.
This lot have never really had an issue identifying there are problems. They specialise in sacking managers, replacing people in various positions and ripping up one plan to start again on a biannual basis.
The issue is they seem to lack the self awareness to spot the common denominators when these plans consistently fail. As you say very nice of them acknowledge being 'aware'of the problems. It's them having any responsibility in trying to fix it that scares me.
14-11-2024, 07:55 PM
What about now? :dunno:
Chorley Hibee
14-11-2024, 07:56 PM
What about now? :dunno:
It's absolutely time.
14-11-2024, 07:58 PM
It's absolutely time.
Hopefully we're now united on what the target of the protest should be - the departure of Kensell and the club to be put up for sale by Gordon.
Stokesy's on fire
15-11-2024, 09:59 AM
I think it's time we all did the Haka
15-11-2024, 10:08 AM
Hopefully we're now united on what the target of the protest should be - the departure of Kensell and the club to be put up for sale by Gordon.
That will help stabilise the club.....
AugustaHibs
15-11-2024, 10:10 AM
And you think them hanging about is stabilising it?
15-11-2024, 10:18 AM
Yes, because we are on to a winner at the moment eh?
15-11-2024, 10:45 AM
Is the club stable right now? Will the current ownership remaining in charge stabilise the club?
15-11-2024, 10:49 AM
The club has backed David Gray.
Do you want him sacked?
The board have backed the manager.
The recruitment process is being reviewed and hopefully resolved.
Explain to me how sacking the manager, the board, the CEO, and insisting the owners put the club on the market, is in the best long-term interests of our club 🤔
Leith_Hibee
15-11-2024, 10:55 AM
Personally I think we need to protest.
Everyone knows the club is a shambles but we need to create more media attention to get some action.
We'd probably need to focus on one thing to protest about....would it be Gordon's Out, Kensell Out, Mackay Out, Gray Out? Maybe needs a poll.
Leith_Hibee
15-11-2024, 10:57 AM
Do you want him sacked?
Explain to me how sacking the manager, the board, the CEO, and insisting the owners put the club on the market, is in the best long-term interests of our club 🤔
Have we not heard all this before though? There was a review into the football operations apparently and we're still making the same bad decisions over and over. I think we need to make changes at the top, get the right CEO in and then they can sort out the mess below them.
15-11-2024, 11:02 AM
Do you want him sacked?
Can you explain how it is in the best interests to retain them all?
Do you think this is magically going to turn round with them there?
15-11-2024, 11:03 AM
Have we not heard all this before though? There was a review into the football operations apparently and we're still making the same bad decisions over and over. I think we need to make changes at the top, get the right CEO in and then they can sort out the mess below them.
My honest opinion is that the Gordon’s have been nieve. I think they were left holding the baby after Ron..
And that's where most of the problems stem from.
Ben Kensell will have been given a set of targets to meet.
Some of which will be commercial, which he will achieve, and some will be football related,which it looks likely to fail.
There is no magic wand.
Paulie Walnuts
15-11-2024, 11:03 AM
Do you want him sacked?
Have you just woke up from a coma and missed the last 5 years or so?
mcohibs
15-11-2024, 11:06 AM
Count me in.
Contador
15-11-2024, 11:34 AM
Personally I think we need to protest.
Everyone knows the club is a shambles but we need to create more media attention to get some action.
We'd probably need to focus on one thing to protest about....would it be Gordon's Out, Kensell Out, Mackay Out, Gray Out? Maybe needs a poll.
This is actually a good point. What is it exactly that the collective fanbase are hacked off about and feel is worthy of a protest?
In an attempt to summarise... please let me know if I am off the mark with each:
Gordon's - General feeling that after the passing of Ron, the Gordon's don't really have; 1. Much of a clue how to run a Scottish football club, or 2. Enough desire or means to make it a success.
Kensell - Struggle to find anyone who believes this guy should remain at the club. Total imposter who can only be in it for the pay check - Got to go
MacKay - Shouldn't have been appointed in the first place with his background, little to suggest any impact and improvement on the playing side - Got to go.
Gray - Majority of the fanbase is keen to see him be a success and feels sorry for him to an extent regarding the **** show above him, but looking like he has short comings on the management front. Others going are probably the priority just now but hard to continue with him if results remain poor.
As for the BK involvement, it is really hard to gauge how committed they are but it does feel like they are our only hope to bring about change. On one hand it looks like the Gordon's have been happy to let them buy in so they can recoup some cash and lean on them to have more influence at running the show. For BK it's another club to their stable, however just how committed they are to making it a success is yet to be seen.
I think that pretty much covers it. Kensell, MacKay and Gray are all dispensable/replaceable with enough noise. However I do fear the issues run deeper from the top, and a protest isn't going to suddenly make a committed buyer of the club to come out of nowhere.
15-11-2024, 11:38 AM
Do you want him sacked?
Explain how continuity is best for the long term interests of the club?
We need better people at the top, better leadership, the toxicity surrounding makes the current situation untenable. This situation around White is the straw that broke the camels back for me. It encapsulates everything that's wrong with the club, poor appointees who, lets not forget, made an absolute **** of it and saw us knocked out the league cup.
snedzuk
15-11-2024, 11:15 PM
My honest opinion is that the Gordon’s have been nieve. I think they were left holding the baby after Ron..
Some of which will be commercial, which he will achieve, and some will be football related,which it looks likely to fail.
There is no magic wand.
You are Mark Warburton and I claim my five pounds.
16-11-2024, 01:23 AM
You are Mark Warburton and I claim my five pounds.
Forgot about the wand 😅
Cheque in the post 😊
16-11-2024, 07:29 AM
There is no magic wand.
👍
19-11-2024, 07:02 AM
There is no magic wand.
Ron before he died was making a right mess of the club, he passed it over and his family are continuing his good work.
stalbanshibby
19-11-2024, 07:18 AM
This is actually a good point. What is it exactly that the collective fanbase are hacked off about and feel is worthy of a protest?
In an attempt to summarise... please let me know if I am off the mark with each:
Gordon's - General feeling that after the passing of Ron, the Gordon's don't really have; 1. Much of a clue how to run a Scottish football club, or 2. Enough desire or means to make it a success.
Kensell - Struggle to find anyone who believes this guy should remain at the club. Total imposter who can only be in it for the pay check - Got to go
MacKay - Shouldn't have been appointed in the first place with his background, little to suggest any impact and improvement on the playing side - Got to go.
Gray - Majority of the fanbase is keen to see him be a success and feels sorry for him to an extent regarding the **** show above him, but looking like he has short comings on the management front. Others going are probably the priority just now but hard to continue with him if results remain poor.
As for the BK involvement, it is really hard to gauge how committed they are but it does feel like they are our only hope to bring about change. On one hand it looks like the Gordon's have been happy to let them buy in so they can recoup some cash and lean on them to have more influence at running the show. For BK it's another club to their stable, however just how committed they are to making it a success is yet to be seen.
I think that pretty much covers it. Kensell, MacKay and Gray are all dispensable/replaceable with enough noise. However I do fear the issues run deeper from the top, and a protest isn't going to suddenly make a committed buyer of the club to come out of nowhere.
For me, all of the above would be addressed if the Club took a more proactive stance towards fan engagement, and talked to me (as a supporter), as oppose to me having to speculate about what's going on. The Board seem aloof and lack any transparency, whilst they continue to make a complete arse of my football club, and rinse my pockets. If they (the Board) talked to me (as a supporter) and engaged, I'd probably be much more onside with them - through thick and thin. A couple of interesting articles I found: Fans Advisory Boards with a route to the Board are now mandatory in the EPL:
https://www.isportconnect.com/the-shape-of-fan-engagement-in-english-football-a-review-of-epl-club-fan-engagement-reports/
and also
https://thefsa.org.uk/our-work/supporter-engagement/
That's what I want.
PHeffernan
19-11-2024, 11:20 AM
Ron before he died was making a right mess of the club, he passed it over and his family are continuing his good work.
Ron's naive decision to go all in on a moneyball transfer strategy for a club with our relatively low level of finance has killed us.
Fortunately, this strategy and it's consequences will finally play out in 6 months time with circa 60k a week leaving the wage bill in May.
That's a mind blowing 3 million quid a year.
Pragmatic player and manager recruitment in the summer would see a massive improvement in both the team and the finances moving forward.
I'll judge those in charge at that point.
Just the small matter of winning enough games in the meantime to see us safe.
GreenPJ
19-11-2024, 11:37 AM
For me, all of the above would be addressed if the Club took a more proactive stance towards fan engagement, and talked to me (as a supporter), as oppose to me having to speculate about what's going on. The Board seem aloof and lack any transparency, whilst they continue to make a complete arse of my football club, and rinse my pockets. If they (the Board) talked to me (as a supporter) and engaged, I'd probably be much more onside with them - through thick and thin. A couple of interesting articles I found: Fans Advisory Boards with a route to the Board are now mandatory in the EPL:
https://www.isportconnect.com/the-shape-of-fan-engagement-in-english-football-a-review-of-epl-club-fan-engagement-reports/
and also
https://thefsa.org.uk/our-work/supporter-engagement/
That's what I want.
The fact that Fans Advisory Boards are now mandatory does not mean anything will change. It means clubs/owners will go through a process of 'listening' and then continue to do what they want to do. There might be some things on the periphery that the Fans advisory boards raise (e.g food pricing) that clubs would do something about but when it comes to football operations they will do their own thing.
Under the previous regime there wasn't particularly strong/good engagement between board and fan base (or imo there wasn't). As has been said, fans get on board with the board if they see an entertaining/successful team - that should be the focus now and always not dismissing the work that is done by the Club/Board and the Hibs Community.
stalbanshibby
19-11-2024, 12:15 PM
The fact that Fans Advisory Boards are now mandatory does not mean anything will change. It means clubs/owners will go through a process of 'listening' and then continue to do what they want to do. There might be some things on the periphery that the Fans advisory boards raise (e.g food pricing) that clubs would do something about but when it comes to football operations they will do their own thing.
Under the previous regime there wasn't particularly strong/good engagement between board and fan base (or imo there wasn't). As has been said, fans get on board with the board if they see an entertaining/successful team - that should be the focus now and always not dismissing the work that is done by the Club/Board and the Hibs Community.
Yeah. They’re a relatively recent innovation but although they’re likely to focus on the quality of the pies to begin with, according to the FSA they’re the first rung on the ladder towards meaningful dialogue between clubs and supporters. They’re now mandatory in the EPL. That probably means at some point they’ll become mandatory beyond the EPL. And why wouldn’t they? There’s a feeling of disconnect between the support and Hibs Board if I understood what I read on here correctly, and I feel that too. Presumably that’s why the Football Supporters Association has promoted FABs. If you read the article the clubs see benefits too: an engaged and increasingly loyal fan base.
So although they won’t be perfect to begin with they are an official route from the fan base to the Board which doesn’t exist at the minute at Hibs. In fact there’s no route to the Board at Hibs from the support, and that includes HSl. I’m merely suggesting that Hibs board could get ahead of the game here, and help themselves to help us, to help them if you see what I mean. It seems to be a win win.
19-11-2024, 12:17 PM
A week until the Aberdeen game.
Is there any sign of an organised protest forming or nothing?
snedzuk
19-11-2024, 12:31 PM
If we stumble on as we are a result will eventually arrive that will mean no organisation is necessary for this to happen.
19-11-2024, 09:49 PM
Do you want him sacked?
Explain to me how sacking the manager, the board, the CEO, and insisting the owners put the club on the market, is in the best long-term interests of our club ��
https://www.hibs.net/blob:https://www.hibs.net/8d08c458-fbb6-4029-b0e0-15aa98851697
23-11-2024, 05:47 PM
A half-empty stadium and a shrug from whoever's there on Tuesday then?
What's the threshold for us to protest, ever?
MikeyS
23-11-2024, 05:50 PM
A half-empty stadium and a shrug from whoever's there on Tuesday then?
What's the threshold for us to protest, ever?
I reckon the Ultras should all skive school and storm that training centre on Monday morning
TheHibernator
23-11-2024, 05:52 PM
Relegation looking a certainty barring a miracle in January. This Bournemouth boy got his work cut out. The support are as apathetic as I’ve ever seen though due to the club having it soul torn out by ***** at the corporate level
LunasBoots
23-11-2024, 05:52 PM
No chance, Hibs fans have to much patience and apathy to protest, years ago we had a different type of crowd to these days where this **** is just accepted
23-11-2024, 05:55 PM
Just don’t go to Aberdeen game - send a clear message with an empty stadium.
23-11-2024, 06:05 PM
The only thing these ***** care about is money and the only way to make them listen is hit them in the pocket so you’re snookered as the season ticket money is already in the bank
It's quite simple stop going to watch this ****. We've all got better things to be doing with our time than wasting it on these losers. They'll quickly realise things have to change when there's under 10k every week at the games.
Exuberance1875
23-11-2024, 06:07 PM
Better protest would be to not leave the ground once you are in. A sit in protest
23-11-2024, 06:09 PM
It's quite simple stop going to watch this ****. We've all got better things to be doing with our time than wasting it on these losers. They'll quickly realise things have to change when there's under 10k every week at the games.
We did 10k for about half a decade in the 2010s and Pertie didn't care one bit. Neither will Gordon.
23-11-2024, 06:09 PM
I'd happily join in any protest. Enough is enough
We did 10k for about half a decade in the 2010s and Pertie didn't care one bit. Neither will Gordon.
True, anyone fancy buying tennis balls. Who was that again? Coventry?
23-11-2024, 06:17 PM
Nothing will happen, the entire state of the club seems to be MEH at best.
Hibees1973
23-11-2024, 06:20 PM
Should have been done 3-4 weeks ago.
All these clowns have drained any energy I had for Hibs now. I'm done.
Surely there will be multiple resignations at the club between now and Tuesday.
If not, I won't be there on Tuesday.
23-11-2024, 06:36 PM
These players will be, that's the real problem.
He's here!
23-11-2024, 07:33 PM
I suggested a boycott weeks ago. It will naturally occur now. Be surprised if there are 5k home fans to see the sheep gub us. They'll be fired up after seeing their unbeaten run ended. And who better to take it out on than our clowns?
Stokesy's on fire
23-11-2024, 07:44 PM
Lose to aberdeen then a protest is a must
sean04
23-11-2024, 07:47 PM
Be great if all the fans didn't go on Tuesday. Imagine the teams coming out to a couple 100 aberdeen fans. Send a proper message
Newhaven
23-11-2024, 07:48 PM
Lose to aberdeen then a protest is a must
Time for protest was weeks ago. Be amazed if Gray’s still there on Tuesday.
23-11-2024, 08:30 PM
Boycott the next game, simple. I never even watched the game today, went oot fir a wee meal wae the wife, no havin Hibs F this weekend aswell. Same for the Dons game, nae interest in it.
BegbieHSC
23-11-2024, 09:50 PM
Hate to say it, but no way am I showing up on Tuesday.
Not because I fear defeat - seen us pumped plenty, and made it out of bed the next day.
I just feel like turning up would be me endorsing that shower of ***** upstairs, destroying our club.
I won’t be back until at least half of them are gone. Malky, Kensell, Gordon or MacPherson. Kensell is a non-negotiable, but at least one other before I can remotely contemplate coming back.
23-11-2024, 10:01 PM
That's me done for the now. Until we get back to being a competitive club, I'll do something else.
Scunner that Hibs have got my cash already, so hopefully there'll be reason to go back this season.
AdidasHibernian
23-11-2024, 10:17 PM
Like others have said, don't go simple as that. The players don't deserve the support. Why waste you night on them, I've recently moved to Glasgow so heading through this season was always going to be harder however the thought of trekking through there to support the regime that has failed us for years is beyond me.
He's here!
23-11-2024, 10:48 PM
Boycott the next game, simple. I never even watched the game today, went oot fir a wee meal wae the wife, no havin Hibs F this weekend aswell. Same for the Dons game, nae interest in it.
I don't even check the score on those sort of occasions, sometimes for a day or two if we're heading away for a weekend. It's nice to enjoy the experience fully without Hibs intruding on it. Even if you suspect at the back of your mind we've lost again it's far better not knowing than having it confirmed.
24-11-2024, 02:01 PM
I didn't renew my ST this year, had enough of this ownership and their inability to run the club. Same goes for the players, can't stand most of them, weak as piss. I just don't enjoy going to games anymore, haven't for a while now.
I'll be back once the owners have sold up, or there is a mass clear out of the clueless morons who leech about our club. Until then it will be the odd game every 6 months if they're lucky.
Vote with your wallet, nothing else will work with this lot. That being said, we should be protesting anyway to really get the message across, more so to get the wider media in the loop that the fans want this lot gone.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
ChuckNor
24-11-2024, 02:42 PM
I see someone has painted sack the board outside the Famous Five stand. Good work whoever did that. We need more of this. Get these clowns away from our club. Keep the anger for them and no one else.
Bridge hibs
24-11-2024, 02:56 PM
I see someone has painted sack the board outside the Famous Five stand. Good work whoever did that. We need more of this. Get these clowns away from our club. Keep the anger for them and no one else.Good work ? Graffiti on a wall of a business who will most likely have to pay to get it removed, aye good work. Its funny that a couple of weeks ago we had folk on here slating the dafties for graffiti on walls around the stadium yet others think this is acceptable.
I want these ***** out of the club too but not at the expense of others, we are better than that surely. Im sure they could have washed a couple of old crusty bed sheets and scrawled their messages onto them.
We are also a green club, the sheets can be reused again.
24-11-2024, 03:01 PM
We should allow go and support the women. Do it positively, force a huge lock out of Meadowbank, make a big deal about support something about the club that appears to be worthwhile. Banners, public statements, anything to highlight what's wrong with the club.
Well aware this won't happen, for a variety of reasons.
Murphys Touch
24-11-2024, 03:08 PM
Good work ? Graffiti on a wall of a business who will most likely have to pay to get it removed, aye good work. Its funny that a couple of weeks ago we had folk on here slating the dafties for graffiti on walls around the stadium yet others think this is acceptable.
I want these ***** out of the club too but not at the expense of others, we are better than that surely. Im sure they could have washed a couple of old crusty bed sheets and scrawled their messages onto them.
We are also a green club, the sheets can be reused again.
See that’s the thing though mate “crusty” bed sheets is already adding disparaging tones to those that want to protest. Some united front this is
Bridge hibs
24-11-2024, 03:12 PM
See that’s the thing though mate “crusty” bed sheets is already adding disparaging tones to those that want to protest. Some united front this is
Yeah I wasnt being overly serious about the crusty bed sheets ffs, thats never going to happen is it. However the rest of my post, do you think its ok to graffiti a wall that doesn't have anything to do with hibs ?
I get the message, I dont think it should be plastered over a wall opposite the stand
Murphys Touch
24-11-2024, 04:04 PM
Yeah I wasnt being overly serious about the crusty bed sheets ffs, thats never going to happen is it. However the rest of my post, do you think its ok to graffiti a wall that doesn't have anything to do with hibs ?
I get the message, I dont think it should be plastered over a wall opposite the stand
But that’s the whole point in protest - hardly going to write letters or have the fact we are a “green” club at the front of their mind. It has to be visible and attention grabbing.
Protest would be 100000 times harder if you couldn’t but a poster, paint, sticker in places that were pre approved
24-11-2024, 04:30 PM
I see someone has painted sack the board outside the Famous Five stand. Good work whoever did that. We need more of this. Get these clowns away from our club. Keep the anger for them and no one else.
Block 7 tweeted about it. Think it’s at the South stand though
HendoDelivered
24-11-2024, 04:41 PM
I think if/when we get beat again vs Aberdeen it may kick off after the game.
24-11-2024, 05:25 PM
It’s a wall. It will survive. Hibs will probably end up cleaning it off themselves.
24-11-2024, 05:26 PM
I would say vote with your feet and don’t go, but 16,000 odd Hibs fans protesting inside the stadium post match would have a much bigger impact.
Stokesy's on fire
24-11-2024, 05:37 PM
I think if/when we get beat again vs Aberdeen it may kick off after the game.
All 3 points is a must anything less then the fans must protest.
HarpOnHibee
24-11-2024, 05:40 PM
All 3 points were a must over half a dozen games ago. If we're not already protesting now, then there's going to be no protest after the Aberdeen game either. Just further apathy.
24-11-2024, 05:41 PM
Unless you are protesting David Gray what difference does getting 3 points make? If we win surely you still want changes to be made.
24-11-2024, 05:44 PM
It’s the back of the South Stand.
As far as I’m aware all the club staff have offices in south stand as they moved from main stand when hospitality was built.
24-11-2024, 05:47 PM
It’s a wall. It will survive. Hibs will probably end up cleaning it off themselves.
They have already
24-11-2024, 06:08 PM
They have already
Huh, so they can get stuff done quickly if they want to.
TrinityHFC
24-11-2024, 06:12 PM
I don't even check the score on those sort of occasions, sometimes for a day or two if we're heading away for a weekend. It's nice to enjoy the experience fully without Hibs intruding on it. Even if you suspect at the back of your mind we've lost again it's far better not knowing than having it confirmed.
Strange that some of the noisiest on here can admit to not even checking the score for a few days. That’s not remotely close to being a fan.
24-11-2024, 06:24 PM
The club should ban Block 7 from attending any more home games.
24-11-2024, 06:38 PM
On what grounds?
I'm not their biggest fan but voicing a bit of displeasure and a bit of graffiti is hardly reason to ban a group of a hundred or so ST holders and regular away travelers.
24-11-2024, 06:46 PM
No they shouldn’t
LewysGot2
24-11-2024, 08:26 PM
Huh, so they can get stuff done quickly if they want to.
They didn’t clean the B7 graffiti on residents houses or the cemetery though…been an eyesore for weeks.
24-11-2024, 08:50 PM
On what grounds?
I'm not their biggest fan but voicing a bit of displeasure and a bit of graffiti is hardly reason to ban a group of a hundred or so ST holders and regular away travelers.
How about on the grounds that they're breaking the law. That's 3 or 4 very large cases of graffiti on the walls of local businesses, residents and even the grave yard wall. At no point have B7 tried to hide the fact that they're responsible, in fact, they've advertised it. This on top of all the other examples of anti social behaviour we are all very aware of. These days it looks to me like 30-40 B7 are attending home games, nowhere near 100. They certainly shouldn't be entertained by the club and given any preferential treatment.
24-11-2024, 09:59 PM
Why.
Ribs1875
24-11-2024, 10:14 PM
I get why supporters are annoyed, and making these statements. Our expectation should be a challenges in the cups, signing young hungry players, strong home record and European football. Over the last 5 years we have regressed and now run by a bunch of fairies, who have constantly kicked us in the teeth.
I am not condoning what's been done, but you got to remember this will be a group of lads with a low IQ's, full of testosterone and irrational thought process. I am at peace with the situation we are in as its no surprise to me giving the decision making made in recent times.
24-11-2024, 10:20 PM
Why.
So they can feel more like the people they want to emulate.
Seriously though - they, as a group, have taken ownership of vandalism in the vicinity of the club on a few occasions. The club has bent over backwards giving them preferential treatment for tickets and their own section in the ground.
Where do the club draw the line standing back from this. Is smashing windows acceptable for example?
24-11-2024, 11:27 PM
Strange that some of the noisiest on here can admit to not even checking the score for a few days. That’s not remotely close to being a fan.
Slow handclap for your tremendous bit of pointing out that some of the passengers aren’t correctly filling out their complaint forms while the aircraft is on fire and nose diving toward the ground…