View Full Version : Michael Stewart

stalbanshibby
09-11-2024, 05:55 PM
Was listening to him on BBC Scotland before the game today. Personally, I like Mikey - yeah he can be a bit of a knob, but he speaks his mind and said he had been talking to someone high up in Hibs. He made a couple of points:

1. Kensall on ridiculous money (?? dunno how much - sounds like 2-3 hundred K though)
2. Some of the players also on ridiculous money by Hibs standards: 81% of turnover (which is about £12million) spent on wages

Went on to say - Hibs: great facilities, great infrastructure, beautiful city - hinting there's lots of players coasting - 15 contracts up in summer '25 etc etc
Also said there's people at the club 'bashing their heads of brick walls' at some of the decision making - I don't know who he was having a pop at - Kensall?? or the Gordons or who??
Reckons SDG took the job at the wrong time (sounds like too many vipers in the BoardRoom)

Also said our current owners are willing to splash the cash, but it's not been spent well - duff players overpaid etc etc

Does anyone have any more info on this? I gather there's rumours about changes at the top of the club too??

09-11-2024, 05:56 PM
Was listening to him on BBC Scotland before the game today. Personally, I like Mikey - yeah he can be a bit of a knob, but he speaks his mind and said he had been talking to someone high up in Hibs. He made a couple of points:

1. Kensall on ridiculous money (?? dunno how much - sounds like 2-3 hundred K though)
2. Some of the players also on ridiculous money by Hibs standards: 81% of turnover (which is about £12million) spent on wages

Went on to say - Hibs: great facilities, great infrastructure, beautiful city - hinting there's lots of players coasting - 15 contracts up in summer '25 etc etc
Also said there's people at the club 'bashing their heads of brick walls' at some of the decision making - I don't know who he was having a pop at - Kensall?? or the Gordons or who??
Reckons SDG took the job at the wrong time (sounds like too many vipers in the BoardRoom)

Also said our current owners are willing to splash the cash, but it's not been spent well - duff players overpaid etc etc

Does anyone have any more info on this? I gather there's rumours about changes at the top of the club too??

Ben gets 370k a year. We pay some players 7 or 8k a week, to be bottom of the league

09-11-2024, 05:58 PM

Nothing we don’t already know to be honest. He’s right though.

The Tubs
09-11-2024, 06:01 PM
Ben gets 370k a year. We pay some players 7 or 8k a week, to be bottom of the league

We really should have taken some of this cash, offered it to Jason Kerr, begged him to come and got a real captain.

09-11-2024, 06:02 PM
He had a right pop after the game too,couldn’t disagree with anything he said.

09-11-2024, 06:04 PM
Stewart is opinionated but he gives praise when it is due too. He's said plenty nice things about us when we have earned it.

He tore strips of Hearts last season when they were media darlings elsewhere and said it was a bit of a house of cards and it looks like he wasn't far wrong.

He's not wrong about Hibs either. Any flak we are getting is well deserved. When St Mirren fans are singing about us falling apart you know we are the laughing stock of Scottish football.

09-11-2024, 06:06 PM
We do need to get our own house in order.
Sportsound Editorial had it all setup for the events that unfolded. - fair play. Not exactly Nostradamus like foresight and entirely on us.

it will be interesting to see the same forensic scrutiny applied elsewhere. But that’s not to detract from the situation we find ourselves in.

NC1875
09-11-2024, 06:07 PM

Wow, no wonder he struts about like the cat that got the cream. Know a few people who’ve had dealings with him through his son’s football and they all back up my thoughts. He’s a prick!

The sooner he is gone, the better

stalbanshibby
09-11-2024, 06:08 PM
Nothing we don’t already know to be honest. He’s right though.

No. I guess it's not new news but it does seem as though we're run by a bunch of clueless muppets.

Hibees1973
09-11-2024, 06:13 PM
He may of a Yam persuasion, but you could hear in is voice today he is clearly angry what's going on at Hibs.

It's likely he is privvy to a whole load of information about Hibs than we know, given the football circles he moves in.

Trinity Hibee
09-11-2024, 06:15 PM
He may of a Yam persuasion, but you could hear in is voice today he is clearly angry what's going on at Hibs.

It's likely he is privvy to a whole load of information about Hibs than we know, given the football circles he moves in.

He’s always been very honest about Hibs and is largely bang on the money. He asks the same questions we do as fans. He is a hearts fan but he certainly has a spot for us.

09-11-2024, 06:15 PM
He’s bang on the money

Dmas
09-11-2024, 06:21 PM
I’d love to know who is banging their heads against the wall makes it sound like people are attempting the correct things but getting nowhere but from where I’m standing it’s a complete and utter ****show top to bottom

09-11-2024, 06:24 PM
Kensall seems to be the one that pops up first all the time.
Time to move on pal whoever you are.

Jakhog1
09-11-2024, 06:36 PM
Kensall seems to be the one that pops up first all the time.
Time to move on pal whoever you are.

He is the man that makes a grand a day being at hibs, wrap yer heid round that one

09-11-2024, 06:43 PM
Stewart is opinionated but he gives praise when it is due too. He's said plenty nice things about us when we have earned it.

He tore strips of Hearts last season when they were media darlings elsewhere and said it was a bit of a house of cards and it looks like he wasn't far wrong.

He's not wrong about Hibs either. Any flak we are getting is well deserved. When St Mirren fans are singing about us falling apart you know we are the laughing stock of Scottish football.

St Mirren's aggregate score in last 5 league matches v Hibs.........13-5 to Saints. 13 points taken out of a possible 15, including 9/9 at Easter Road. :rolleyes:

09-11-2024, 06:45 PM
Probably cares more than kensel and Gordon.

Trinity Hibee
09-11-2024, 06:47 PM
St Mirren's aggregate score in last 5 league matches v Hibs.........13-5 to Saints. 13 points taken out of a possible 15, including 9/9 at Easter Road. :rolleyes:

Disgraceful

09-11-2024, 06:53 PM
Tuned into Sportsound 4.30 they were covering the Falkirk game was hoping to find out the Hibs score I knew things were not good when he was spewing his usual mantra ‘ let Paul McGinn go let Alex Gogic go and brought in worse players on bigger money’

Hard to disagree but at least we have an identity now we are pish !

Something has got to give at the club cannae go on like this

john rossi
09-11-2024, 07:01 PM
Disgrace from top to bottom could be a few years of championship football. The people who are in charge could run us out of business shocking state of affairs.

Fergos
09-11-2024, 07:07 PM
Hard to disagree with him this evening…..however he was praising us earlier in the season for bringing in football people…..Malky was his example…..I’ll say no more.

PHeffernan
09-11-2024, 07:25 PM

Heard him before the game, he said absolutely nothing that has not been in the public domain since the last AGM, 9 months ago, and known by any informed Hibs supporter. Zero insight from Michael in this case.

PHeffernan
09-11-2024, 07:28 PM
Tuned into Sportsound 4.30 they were covering the Falkirk game was hoping to find out the Hibs score I knew things were not good when he was spewing his usual mantra ‘ let Paul McGinn go let Alex Gogic go and brought in worse players on bigger money’

Hard to disagree but at least we have an identity now we are pish !

Something has got to give at the club cannae go on like this

:greengrin :aok:

09-11-2024, 07:31 PM
Thought he made some good points about the Gordon’s stripping the club of the good people inside of it

Loads of really good folk from inside the club have left or been pushed since the Gordon’s arrived.

09-11-2024, 08:11 PM
Thought he made some good points about the Gordon’s stripping the club of the good people inside of it

Loads of really good folk from inside the club have left or been pushed since the Gordon’s arrived.

Leeann

09-11-2024, 08:21 PM

How do you know this? Are you sure it is accurate?

GreenPJ
09-11-2024, 08:21 PM
Of course we won the holy grail but other than the 3rd place finish we were hardly consistent achievers. Am not saying that we have not regressed further but to be fair to the Gordon's and Foley they both have/had ambitions for us to be more than we were under Farmer. The aspirations are good the but the execution has been terrible.

I hope that someone can persuade the Gordon's to set the objectives but then leave the execution (coaching and recruitment) to someone who knows what is needed.

LithgaeHibby
09-11-2024, 08:23 PM
Most of Sportsound this afternoon was about Hibs and our shortcomings. I didn't disagree with much of what Mikey Stewart was saying. He seems to have a good understanding of what's been going on. However Kenny McIntyre was absolutely loving every minute of our painful afternoon - a total rubbernecker at a car crash. Same with Preston. They are certainly very happy to give Hibs plenty of air time when putting the boot in.

Trinity Hibee
09-11-2024, 08:32 PM
Most of Sportsound this afternoon was about Hibs and our shortcomings. I didn't disagree with much of what Mikey Stewart was saying. He seems to have a good understanding of what's been going on. However Kenny McIntyre was absolutely loving every minute of our painful afternoon - a total rubbernecker at a car crash. Same with Preston. They are certainly very happy to give Hibs plenty of air time when putting the boot in.

Kenny McIntyre is a welt. No idea how he has got the gig of host for that show. He adds zero value

09-11-2024, 08:37 PM

Well they will feel smug given how far Hearts are sitting above Hibs!!!

WestStandWillie
10-11-2024, 07:30 AM

Who we paying that money to?

I thought it was a typo on a computer game that became fact to many?

Sure it was Le Fondre where it said he was paid 15k a week

10-11-2024, 07:37 AM

The likes of Levitt, Boyle for starters.

Kenneh will be on a good wage to play reserve football this season.

10-11-2024, 08:11 AM
The likes of Levitt, Boyle for starters.

Kenneh will be on a good wage to play reserve football this season.

Mckirdy

10-11-2024, 08:31 AM

Between Kenneh, Mckirdy, Levitt, Tavares wages are easily a combined 25k-30k a week.

players that have contributed zero to this club.

10-11-2024, 08:34 AM
... When St Mirren fans are singing about us falling apart ...

They were singing that in the first game of the season.

They're obviously an insightful bunch.

10-11-2024, 08:41 AM

That Kensell figure is mind boggling. That's a crazy investment for so little reward.

10-11-2024, 08:55 AM
Stewart speaks as much ***** as he talks sense.

He’s got a better hit rate, and is more articulate than Tam McManus, but I just cannae be arsed with either of them.

Ribs1875
10-11-2024, 08:56 AM
Stewart is spot on with everything he said yesterday.

10-11-2024, 09:41 AM
Sportsound was difficult listening yesterday, but I suppose it’s our own fault for switching it on in the first place. It’s not the the fact that they incessantly slag Hibs as much as the obvious glee in their voices. At one point, after a defensive blunder, Preston laughingly shouted over to Stewart “Hey, Mikey, come and have a look ( it might have even been ‘laugh’ ) at this. If and when we get relegated, they’re going to struggle to find a new whipping boy. Stewart is just annoying but Preston is the pits.

Hibiza
10-11-2024, 05:04 PM
He always talks sense to me , keep it going Micheal.

10-11-2024, 05:38 PM
Think Ben's wage was published in the accounts. Was definitely reported at the time he was earning £300k+.

10-11-2024, 06:57 PM

Checked on the accounts, apologies, salary in last accounts was £326,818 with 25,000 underneath that line as pension contributions by club.

Sorry for the confusion 😕

LithgaeHibby
10-11-2024, 07:58 PM
Sportsound was difficult listening yesterday, but I suppose it’s our own fault for switching it on in the first place. It’s not the the fact that they incessantly slag Hibs as much as the obvious glee in their voices. At one point, after a defensive blunder, Preston laughingly shouted over to Stewart “Hey, Mikey, come and have a look ( it might have even been ‘laugh’ ) at this. If and when we get relegated, they’re going to struggle to find a new whipping boy. Stewart is just annoying but Preston is the pits.

They do love it when things go t**s up at ER. McIntyre was constantly goading Stewart into putting the boot in a bit more. At times MS seemed a bit reluctant to have to respond, but he generally found something new to say, which was difficult to disagree with. But after 4 hours of listening to everything Hibs-related being crucified (and I know I should have just turned it off), the shower from across the city are just ONE point above us with a game more played.

10-11-2024, 09:28 PM
They do love it when things go t**s up at ER. McIntyre was constantly goading Stewart into putting the boot in a bit more. At times MS seemed a bit reluctant to have to respond, but he generally found something new to say, which was difficult to disagree with. But after 4 hours of listening to everything Hibs-related being crucified (and I know I should have just turned it off), the shower from across the city are just ONE point above us with a game more played.

If only we’d stop messing up that game in hand

11-11-2024, 11:48 AM

TBF they love it when something goes tits up at any club as it gives them things to talk about. Was no different when Aberdeen were in disarray and Goodwin got sacked and Hearts have been getting it tight recently but they have changed their manager and had an upturn in fortunes, so its obvious that we should be getting it in the face.

I don't mind McIntyre, his job is to provoke and get heated debates going. And basically Mikey Stewart was pretty much spot on with everything he said. We are getting the media attention we deserve unfortunately due to the club being a total shambles....:boo hoo:

11-11-2024, 12:07 PM
TBF they love it when something goes tits up at any club as it gives them things to talk about. Was no different when Aberdeen were in disarray and Goodwin got sacked and Hearts have been getting it tight recently but they have changed their manager and had an upturn in fortunes, so its obvious that we should be getting it in the face.

I don't mind McIntyre, his job is to provoke and get heated debates going. And basically Mikey Stewart was pretty much spot on with everything he said. We are getting the media attention we deserve unfortunately due to the club being a total shambles....:boo hoo: