View Full Version : Hibsing it? Time to change the record.

03-11-2024, 07:49 AM
If you watched the interview with John Robertson, he made the most damning yet truthful observation about our games.

If Hibs are level or even one gosl ahead entering the last 10-15 minutes their fans start to get nervous and the anxiety and fear in the stands, transmits to the Hibs players. They start to get deeper and deeper and end up playing hoofball.

It also transmits to the opposition team who are emboldened into believing they can score.

So how about if the Easter Road stands lift the volume at 75 minutes instead? Roar the team on and encourage our players to continue the attack?

At the Derby, after Myko scored the place was rocking. But it did quiten down again before they scored in 87 minutes.

Most of the responsibility for end game performance and tactics rests with the Head Coach. So how much more can we supporters do to instill some belief in our team that we can fight for 100 minutes - not just 75?

Trinity Hibee
03-11-2024, 07:52 AM
Oh Christ not again

18Craig75
03-11-2024, 07:56 AM
It’s a good post. I’m sure there will be the usuals along soon to tell us how the players need to do something to get the crowd going. It works both ways.

More than a few posts saying this squad isn’t up for the fight. My question would be, are we as fans up for the fight? Many writing us off a relegated already. No doubt about it we’re in a difficult period but if we can all pull together and get behind the club legend leading us and the players he currently has to work with, we can still have a decent season - then look ahead to better time…hopefully.

Malonga's Cat
03-11-2024, 07:57 AM
Perhaps the coaching staff don't instruct the team to sit in so deep for the last 15, inviting the opposition to attack and build goal scoring opportunities. Maybe the team should be fit enough to still press forward in the last 15 and keep the opposition on the back foot. 1-0 is rarely enough in football. The crowd just respond to what is happening on the park.

I also don't think Hibs fans could do anything more. Look at the backing we get away, home crowds still regularly over 16k and don't get me started on the money we are asked to spend on kits, hospitality, events and whatever the next American commercial opportunity is.

WeAreHibs
03-11-2024, 08:07 AM
It’s a good post. I’m sure there will be the usuals along soon to tell us how the players need to do something to get the crowd going. It works both ways.

More than a few posts saying this squad isn’t up for the fight. My question would be, are we as fans up for the fight? Many already writing us off a relegated already. No doubt about it we’re in a difficult period but if we can all pull together and get behind the club legend leading us and the players he currently has to work with, we can still have a decent season - then look ahead to better time…hopefully.

Also a good post!

03-11-2024, 08:16 AM
Oh Christ not again

Yep he's used that phrase plus blaming the fans. Tiresome.

03-11-2024, 08:34 AM

More than a few posts saying this squad isn’t up for the fight. My question would be, are we as fans up for the fight? Many writing us off a relegated already. No doubt about it we’re in a difficult period but if we can all pull together and get behind the club legend leading us and the players he currently has to work with, we can still have a decent season - then look ahead to better time…hopefully.

It’s a team game and the supporters are a big part of that team, not some kind of detached bunch of critics. When the chips are down or heads go down. On or off the park, the whole team has to pull together to get it over the line.
Let’s not forget that the support is part of the team.

03-11-2024, 09:10 AM
If you watched the interview with John Robertson, he made the most damning yet truthful observation about our games.

If Hibs are level or even one gosl ahead entering the last 10-15 minutes their fans start to get nervous and the anxiety and fear in the stands, transmits to the Hibs players. They start to get deeper and deeper and end up playing hoofball.

It also transmits to the opposition team who are emboldened into believing they can score.

So how about if the Easter Road stands lift the volume at 75 minutes instead? Roar the team on and encourage our players to continue the attack?

At the Derby, after Myko scored the place was rocking. But it did quiten down again before they scored in 87 minutes.

Most of the responsibility for end game performance and tactics rests with the Head Coach. So how much more can we supporters do to instill some belief in our team that we can fight for 100 minutes - not just 75?

I hated watching that clip of him because deep down I knew he was 100% bang on the money.

The other day I had a bit of back and forward with a few folk when I was at times critical of our fans. Specifically I think we can transmit a nervousness from the stands to the players and I also think we’re quick to reach the “must eject another manager / head coach” stage.

Our crowd numbers have stood up brilliantly in the face of some pretty abject results in recent years so I wouldn’t dream of criticising that aspect but rather than glibly absolving ourselves of blame I don’t think it would do any harm to look in the mirror occasionally and ask if we’re doing all we can to help the team.

Whilst the OP has good points, I do think the thread title stinks and it contains a phrase that absolutely no Hibs fan should ever use in any sort of context. It’s a phrase and concept that needs banished to our version of room 101 and every single one of us should have a burning desire to see it banished. The meek acceptance of it possibly being a thing is part of the problem - and it needs to firmly gtf. The appearance of the phrase in Hibs.net should trigger the swear filter imo.

raeburnhibs
03-11-2024, 09:14 AM

So it's our fault? Ridiculous. How about Gray stops making defensive substitutions which clearly signal to the other team our intentions. How about the players grow a pair...

03-11-2024, 09:28 AM
It’s a team game and the supporters are a big part of that team, not some kind of detached bunch of critics. When the chips are down or heads go down. On or off the park, the whole team has to pull together to get it over the line.
Let’s not forget that the support is part of the team.
Lets not forget the fans have rurned up in their droves home and away this season, were doing our part.

03-11-2024, 09:35 AM
Admins why isn't that phrase banned on here yet

03-11-2024, 09:53 AM
Robertson is speaking from experience. This isn't just a current Hibs squad/management team issue

Rumble de Thump
03-11-2024, 09:53 AM
A bizarre phrase Hearts fans came up with the season we pumped them out the Scottish Cup on our way to lifting the trophy. You would think they'd have been too mortified to continue using it.

03-11-2024, 09:58 AM
A bizarre phrase Hearts fans came up with the season we pumped them out the Scottish Cup on our way to lifting the trophy. You would think they'd have been too mortified to continue using it.

The whole of Scottish football uses it. Even some of our own fans have started using it which is the annoying thing.

03-11-2024, 10:02 AM
Lets not forget the fans have rurned up in their droves home and away this season, were doing our part.

Yep and I’m there too. Dingwall on Wednesday, ER today. It’s an interesting time listening to fans and supporters differing views at each game. Some quietly hopeful, some constantly supportive and some… well, not so supportive even before a ball is kicked.

LithgaeHibby
03-11-2024, 11:10 AM
Nobody who thinks of themselves as a Hibs fan should come anywhere near to using that phrase. Everyone, owners, directors, CEO, manager, coaches, players and fans should be doing everything they can to consign it to history.

03-11-2024, 11:16 AM
No Hibs fan uses that phrase.

Oh, and wee fat robbo can piss off as well.

03-11-2024, 11:19 AM
Anyone on here using that bloody phrase should be banned immediately, get it to ****.

03-11-2024, 11:31 AM
Dunno why folk get so worked up about the phrase. Just don't react or respond to it. Folk are only saying it to get a reaction out of you.

03-11-2024, 11:34 AM

Especially when they have quite the record of Heartsing it when it really matters

03-11-2024, 11:41 AM
Especially when they have quite the record of Heartsing it when it really mattersBrora'd I think the phrase is.

Self Sufficiently Brora'd.

03-11-2024, 11:43 AM
Op is at it and smells like a Yam. Using that phrase and also referencing John Robertson says it all! And yeah lets blame the fans who have stuck by the club and team despite the poor show from them!

Donegal Hibby
03-11-2024, 12:00 PM
Hertz have f***** up just as big as any other clubs , maybe more so …..Love the end bit :greengrin

https://youtu.be/JWjDNyd9RIg?si=qk_Y1kv3C0x-OKdN

https://youtu.be/e13KjAdArvc?si=cZ4wm6E2YIGk7UI4

LithgaeHibby
03-11-2024, 12:07 PM
Remember that the Hertz fanzine was called "Always the Bridesmaids" in the auld days.

HarpOnHibee
03-11-2024, 12:07 PM
Players at this level shouldn't be impacted by any sense of nerves from the stands. If they're given a clear plan to follow on the pitch, then their full focus should be on that plan, not what's going on in the stands. The problem our players have aren't due to nerves from the stand, they're due to a lack of a focused plan on the pitch and this falls on the manager and the coaching staff.

It's poor game management that's costing us, nothing more.

03-11-2024, 12:12 PM
Remember that the Hertz fanzine was called "Always the Bridesmaids" in the auld days.

I thought that was Dundee Utd.

03-11-2024, 12:14 PM
Op is at it and smells like a Yam. Using that phrase and also referencing John Robertson says it all! And yeah lets blame the fans who have stuck by the club and team despite the poor show from them!

Chris, I still love you for taking that beautiful 'Taps Aff' photo of me and the laddie on the pitch after the 2016 cup final victory.

And don't worry. 63 years on from my first game at Easter Road, I'm still singing my head off in Section 43.

Oh and to all the snowflakes peeing their pants over 'that phrase'. The best way to see the back of 'that phrase' is to make Easter Road a place to be feared. That starts on the terracing and gives courage to the players.

Time some people grew a pair and faced up to the reality of where we find ourselves. When the going gets tough, the tough get going.

03-11-2024, 12:14 PM
When I hear the phrase it actually reminds me of winning the Scottish Cup after all those years as fans used to use it.

Even someone mentions it now they are either a jambo or rival fan who think it’s an insult but doesn’t bother me.

Of course Hibs have had a recent issue letting in late goals and feel that’s an issue that needs to be addressed with better players / mindset / focus / concentration/ decision making etc but I’m hopeful that will come.

It’s definitely not the fans fault - but we do need a brave manager and players like SJM who used to shield the ball, draw fouls and see out the close games. Now we have players like Campbell running into defenders and losing the ball and straight away we are under pressure / losing a goal.

03-11-2024, 12:17 PM
Hertz have f***** up just as big as any other clubs , maybe more so …..Love the end bit :greengrin

https://youtu.be/JWjDNyd9RIg?si=qk_Y1kv3C0x-OKdN

https://youtu.be/e13KjAdArvc?si=cZ4wm6E2YIGk7UI4Always thought Archie did a very professional job there, holding back bursting into laughter right at the end.

03-11-2024, 12:31 PM
Chris, I still love you for taking that beautiful 'Taps Aff' photo of me and the laddie on the pitch after the 2016 cup final victory.

And don't worry. 63 years on from my first game at Easter Road, I'm still singing my head off in Section 43.

Oh and to all the snowflakes peeing their pants over 'that phrase'. The best way to see the back of 'that phrase' is to make Easter Road a place to be feared. That starts on the terracing and gives courage to the players.

Time some people grew a pair and faced up to the reality of where we find ourselves. When the going gets tough, the tough get going.

Fans who don't like that phrase are snowflakes?

Do yourself a favour and delete the thread, you are making a fool of yourself.

03-11-2024, 12:31 PM
Yam history is littered with f..k ups and collapses. Their 'in seven days' league and cup f..k up of 1986 is perhaps the biggest in recent Scottish football history.

Donegal Hibby
03-11-2024, 12:35 PM
Always thought Archie did a very professional job there, holding back bursting into laughter right at the end.

How he managed to hold it together was quite a feat , probably rolled about hysterically laughing off air though:greengrin

03-11-2024, 12:49 PM
There's a fine line between people who are going to just shout at the players for the smallest mistakes or for not getting the ball up the park quick enough, and then there's this weird notion I'm to just stand up and start cheering in the hope we'll finally create a goalscoring chance.

This club is very well backed for the shambles it produces at times. We're all bordering on mentally unstable to still be hopeful every season and yet we are, and we're all disappointed when we find ourselves in situations like this, again.

Sick of hearing how much the fans play a part. I didn't make Obita thunder into the boy at Killie, I didn't lose the young Hearts laddie at the back post, I didn't choose to sign a ***** goalkeeper. Hibs.net isn't the reason we have arguably the worst bench in the league.

I'll celebrate and cheer them when these *******s give me something to do it for.

03-11-2024, 12:52 PM
Yam history is littered with f..k ups and collapses. Their 'in seven days' league and cup f..k up of 1986 is perhaps the biggest in recent Scottish football history.

They are responsible for two of the three biggest end of season title collapses (1965 and 1986) with Celtic in 2005 being the other one

03-11-2024, 01:00 PM
No Hibs fan uses that phrase.

Oh, and wee fat robbo can piss off as well.

Absolutely spot on

03-11-2024, 01:01 PM
How he managed to hold it together was quite a feat , probably rolled about hysterically laughing off air though:greengrinProbably a separate subject but I think he was one of the best Scottish football commentators ever, especially when you look at what the BBC and mainstream media has been reduced to nowadays.

Oh, and a special mention to Bob Crampsey[emoji16]

03-11-2024, 02:41 PM
Sick of hearing how much the fans play a part.

I'll celebrate and cheer them when these *******s give me something to do it for.

We are playing well. We have scored a cracking goal. Five of us just started a song up top in Section 43.

Are you up for joining in yet? 😀💚

03-11-2024, 03:54 PM

What the heck are you on about? Never met you

03-11-2024, 03:56 PM
We are playing well. We have scored a cracking goal. Five of us just started a song up top in Section 43.

Are you up for joining in yet? 😀💚

Not any more, no.

AdidasHibernian
03-11-2024, 04:05 PM
We are Serial Bottlers sadly as hard as it is to admit. Nothing changes with us.

03-11-2024, 04:05 PM
We must be the only club to change management and personal regularly and remain mired in the same mediocrity. It’s perversely impressive.

03-11-2024, 04:06 PM
The Hibernian Social Credit Score™ - automatically win any argument by comparing your level of support with others!

Ribs1875
03-11-2024, 04:17 PM
I don't think we are bottlers, we just always lacked consistency in recruitment. We lost Brown and Thomson, then replaced them with Brian Kerr. We lost Stokes and replaced him with Daryll Duffy. We lost Anderson and replace him with Simon Brown, we realised he was a liability and signed Zibbi then Makalambay.

03-11-2024, 05:58 PM
Well done to the fans for giving great backing today which confirms the OP is talking utter nonsense.

scm70nyd1973
03-11-2024, 07:53 PM

That fechin expression should never be used again by any true HIBS fan again - especially in a thread - sorry - it was laid to rest by SJM after the Cup Final 😡

03-11-2024, 08:10 PM

Ah that's it, the Hibs fans are somehow to blame again.

How about we appointed a Manager who was able to change the player's fragility? In every walk of life it is a Manager's job to motivate their direct reports, create confidence and create team strength.

It's not rocket science. Make the correct managerial appointment and our fortunes will change. Something of course that our custodians have repeatedly failed to do.

Se7enUp
03-11-2024, 08:30 PM

Let's not play to the yam fuds tune with phrases like that, eh?

Worst collapse in Scottish fitba history was 1986. Their fekcing magnificent implosion.

Se7enUp
03-11-2024, 08:32 PM

You would think so-called "Hibs" fans would know better than to use it.

03-11-2024, 08:35 PM
OP thinks it's time to change the record then starts a thread using that very same term.Eejit.