View Full Version : So, we are ten games in

03-11-2024, 06:00 AM
A fair number of games on which to form an opinion upon how a season is going.

Bottom of the league
One win
Nine goal scored
Seven points, currently on track for 27 points for the season

What do we do now? Scunnered with this club.

03-11-2024, 06:11 AM
I’ve been more critical than anybody about this Hibs team this season so I’m no happy clapper but a thread like this on the morning of the game seems a bit unnecessary.

I get the concern but feels like a thread for after we lose a game (adjusting the games played obviously). Win today won’t cure all of our ills and I’ll still have real concerns but it would put a different perspective on the numbers, especially with another winnable home game ahead next weekend.

Drop points again today and I’ll be as hysterical as anybody about our start to the season.

Skol
03-11-2024, 06:21 AM
I know. Let’s sack the manager and try again. That’s worked when we have done that all the previous times.

03-11-2024, 06:28 AM
I’ve been more critical than anybody about this Hibs team this season so I’m no happy clapper but a thread like this on the morning of the game seems a bit unnecessary.

I get the concern but feels like a thread for after we lose a game (adjusting the games played obviously). Win today won’t cure all of our ills and I’ll still have real concerns but it would put a different perspective on the numbers, especially with another winnable home game ahead next weekend.

Drop points again today and I’ll be as hysterical as anybody about our start to the season.

Thats fair enough. Let’s see if game eleven provides some respite. United won’t be easy, but we have to start winning home games before the situation gets critical. The current points per game ratio would see us relegated. It’s now November and we need wins.

Trinity Hibee
03-11-2024, 06:33 AM

Agree. Today is absolutely must win. Don’t win today then we can stick the boot in

03-11-2024, 06:49 AM

As crap as it has been - we need full focus on a win today.

Atmosphere was good last week - brilliant feeling when we scored.

The manager - players know what is at stake. If you want to win games you need to take risks at times and be on the front foot. Accepting draws and scared to lose won’t get you very far in this league.

Fully accept things haven’t been great but in a weird way we are all hoping Gray turns this around and we all know timing is running out (possibly 180 mins left).

Ribs1875
03-11-2024, 07:29 AM
I know. Let’s sack the manager and try again. That’s worked when we have done that all the previous times.

I see where you are coming from, especially if you look at the softness of our midfield. The trigger happy sacking of managers hasn't worked because each time they employ the wrong candidate for the job.

03-11-2024, 07:39 AM
I see where you are coming from, especially if you look at the softness of our midfield. The trigger happy sacking of managers hasn't worked because each time they employ the wrong candidate for the job.

I don’t think our midfield is soft at the moment. Our issue is a severe lack of open play attacking threat.

03-11-2024, 09:20 AM

The most nonsensical reason for sticking with a manager ever.

03-11-2024, 09:22 AM
The most nonsensical reason for sticking with a manager ever.

It’s truly not. It should be painfully obvious by now that the manager is not the main problem at the club.

03-11-2024, 09:23 AM

We have been hiring less and less experienced managers to try and fix years of decline. Johnson - Monty - Gray. That’s the real issue IMO, though the problems run much deeper than just the manager. Following that trend, Newell as our player manager next.

03-11-2024, 09:27 AM
A fair number of games on which to form an opinion upon how a season is going.

Bottom of the league
One win
Nine goal scored
Seven points, currently on track for 27 points for the season

What do we do now? Scunnered with this club.

Couldn't wait to put the boot in as soon as you woke up on matchday could you.

He's here!
03-11-2024, 09:53 AM
We have been hiring less and less experienced managers to try and fix years of decline. Johnson - Monty - Gray. That’s the real issue IMO, though the problems run much deeper than just the manager. Following that trend, Newell as our player manager next.

Maloney came before Johnson so the trend is more inexperience followed by experience and back to inexperience.

03-11-2024, 10:01 AM
It’s truly not. It should be painfully obvious by now that the manager is not the main problem at the club.

Of course it’s nonsense. You don’t stick with a manager because previous managers have been crap.

Should we also just stick with Bursik cos we’ve had loads of **** goalies?

It doesnae matter if the manager is the “main” problem or not. There’s plenty more funding going through our squad than most other teams in the league, we’re underperforming at our level. The managers we’re appointing are crap. We signed a new spine of a team, goalie, 2 centre halfs, 2 centre mids, striker. We’re bottom. That’s on the manager.

03-11-2024, 10:02 AM
Couldn't wait to put the boot in as soon as you woke up on matchday could you.

He's right though. We're in a really bad spot and today is massive.

Skol
03-11-2024, 10:10 AM
We got rid of Ross because to stick with him was not showing ambition and accepting mediocrity. There is an argument that all managers since then have not been given sufficient time or backing.

03-11-2024, 10:16 AM
I’ve been very critical however today is the day.

Win today and next week, both games at home will potentially put us 6th

03-11-2024, 10:17 AM
We got rid of Ross because to stick with him was not showing ambition and accepting mediocrity. There is an argument that all managers since then have not been given sufficient time or backing.

Not sure about that. I think the club have backed managers and spent alot of money.

The issue for me is the managers we continuously hire have very little/no manegerial experience and they’re sacked because we’re very poor

Skol
03-11-2024, 10:24 AM
Not sure about that. I think the club have backed managers and spent alot of money.

The issue for me is the managers we continuously hire have very little/no manegerial experience and they’re sacked because we’re very poor

Johnson had prior experience. Arguably Monty did also, but less so.

Stubbs and Mowbray had no prior experience.

Skol
03-11-2024, 10:26 AM
Oh, and the money spent you can argue has been poorly targeted. Whether that’s down to the managers or others at the club is also open to debate

03-11-2024, 10:26 AM

Yeah Johnson did, and unsurprisingly he’s by far the best manager out the last 4.

Monty had nae relevant experience. 60 games in Australia, nothing.

Skol
03-11-2024, 10:31 AM
Butcher had plenty experience as did duff jimmy. And Williamson.

Halmyre Hibee
03-11-2024, 10:33 AM
Would be great if we could start winning as it only takes a win or two to move up the table. We need to get to the January window and get a few loan players in who would improve this team. It’s not impossible to get into top 6 or even Europe but we need to win football matches and dig deep.

03-11-2024, 10:39 AM
Butcher had plenty experience as did duff jimmy. And Williamson.

What is your point?

You’re cherry picking managers to suit an argument but it makes nae logical sense to the appointments we’ve made in the last few years.

Inexperienced managers are a bigger risk. That’s not to say they can’t do well, or that experienced managers will always succeed.

We signed Ivan Sproule from a semi pro team in Northern Ireland and he succeeded, we signed Nelom who’d played over 100 games for Feyenoord and been capped twice for Holland…and he was crap. Should we take that to mean that semi pro team signings are the way to go?

03-11-2024, 10:40 AM
Of course it’s nonsense. You don’t stick with a manager because previous managers have been crap.

Should we also just stick with Bursik cos we’ve had loads of **** goalies?

It doesnae matter if the manager is the “main” problem or not. There’s plenty more funding going through our squad than most other teams in the league, we’re underperforming at our level. The managers we’re appointing are crap. We signed a new spine of a team, goalie, 2 centre halfs, 2 centre mids, striker. We’re bottom. That’s on the manager.

Heard the exact same arguments last time around. Said that it wouldn’t make much of a difference. We back Monty. Didn’t make much of a difference.

03-11-2024, 10:46 AM
Heard the exact same arguments last time around. Said that it wouldn’t make much of a difference. We back Monty. Didn’t make much of a difference.

It wasn't a one sided argument. None of the sackings were. We back Monty. No difference. We sack Monty. No difference. See Jack Ross. Maloney. Johnson. That is the point. Do we change something else or just keep repeating that pattern?

God I hope we win today!

Skol
03-11-2024, 10:48 AM
What is your point?

You’re cherry picking managers to suit an argument but it makes nae logical sense to the appointments we’ve made in the last few years.

Inexperienced managers are a bigger risk. That’s not to say they can’t do well, or that experienced managers will always succeed.

We signed Ivan Sproule from a semi pro team in Northern Ireland and he succeeded, we signed Nelom who’d played over 100 games for Feyenoord and been capped twice for Holland…and he was crap. Should we take that to mean that semi pro team signings are the way to go?

My point is that we as a club and a support have become too trigger happy with our managers assuming that to change will bring immediate improvement. We have not given any of our recent managers sufficient time to turn things around.

I include myself in this as I wanted two of the last four out, which I now accept was an error.

03-11-2024, 10:52 AM

Yeah and no coincidence our the last 4 managers it’s probably sent in order of experience for how good they were

Johnson
Monty
Maloney
Gray

Stubbs and Mowbray were brilliant, but it’s a different time now - imo we need experience

03-11-2024, 11:09 AM
My point is that we as a club and a support have become too trigger happy with our managers assuming that to change will bring immediate improvement. We have not given any of our recent managers sufficient time to turn things around.

I include myself in this as I wanted two of the last four out, which I now accept was an error.

90% of Hibs fans would prefer the owners go and Gray to stay, rather than Gray to go and owners to stay. But it's not realistic. A good manager would make a big difference and it is realistic.

PHeffernan
03-11-2024, 12:09 PM
90% of Hibs fans would prefer the owners go and Gray to stay, rather than Gray to go and owners to stay. But it's not realistic. A good manager would make a big difference and it is realistic.

90% of the loud supporters is not 90% of the support.

I want to keep the owners and for Gray to remain until the end of the season but for Hibs to have an experienced pragmatic manager waiting to be appointed on June 1st. This is the date the moneyball system of recruitment and the cycle of all it's constituent parts and commitments predominately ends.

Ron Gordon was all in on moneyball and that meant a long time to turn the ship around, once the penny dropped, given Hibs were already commited on player contracts. See us finishing 4th next season and at the very least winning the points just given away by stupidity this season.

hibeerealist
03-11-2024, 01:28 PM
In all honesty, when they spoke about the number of contract up at the end of the season, I thought this season would be a struggle.
There are too many that won’t be offered a new contract being paid a wage that would be better spent elsewhere.
No point in further inflating the squad so ride out the season and start afresh next season.
We’re good enough to survive so the real investment, money, time, experience, knowledge, players and other personnel will come then.
Now? Just support the team, the players and take whatever enjoyment you can.

Ah I see, so just another transitional season for us fans to enjoy. Pity we don't get transitional discount on our tickets or anything else for that matter from HFC!

Transitional is only a fancy word for failure.

03-11-2024, 01:32 PM

I want to keep the owners and for Gray to remain until the end of the season but for Hibs to have an experienced pragmatic manager waiting to be appointed on June 1st. This is the date the moneyball system of recruitment and the cycle of all it's constituent parts and commitments predominately ends.

Ron Gordon was all in on moneyball and that meant a long time to turn the ship around, once the penny dropped, given Hibs were already commited on player contracts. See us finishing 4th next season and at the very least winning the points just given away by stupidity this season.

I think you're just part of the 10% mate. Most realise they're taking us down.

Ron Gordon didn't need to turn things around. He took is over in a good position. He had to build on them.

I think the idea of needing to get rid of a whole squad to then rebuild is just nonsense. Wishful thinking. We'll be just a crap next year with this recruitment, clean slate or not.

03-11-2024, 01:54 PM
Wow, has it really only been 10 games :bevvied!:

03-11-2024, 08:50 PM
We’ve developed a very annoying habit of dropping points from winning positions, often late in games. Shot ourselves in the foot once again. I don’t know whether it’s bad luck, bad coaching or bad play. Perhaps there’s an element of all of them. It’s disheartening just now; we need to be more resilient.

03-11-2024, 08:59 PM
We’ve developed a very annoying habit of dropping points from winning positions, often late in games. Shot ourselves in the foot once again. I don’t know whether it’s bad luck, bad coaching or bad play. Perhaps there’s an element of all of them. It’s disheartening just now; we need to be more resilient.

We don’t concede many goals but we also don’t score many so when we do concede it will typically cost us points. We need to find a way to start scoring more goals, that needs to be our primary focus.

03-11-2024, 09:01 PM

If it happened once or twice I’d say it’s unlucky

9 goals conceded in the last 15 minutes of games is more than just bad luck

03-11-2024, 09:08 PM

Yes, it is. Holding on for three points today would have been a huge boost. Once again we are stuck on just one victory. So many points thrown away from winning positions is concerning.

03-11-2024, 09:27 PM
Best form of defence is attack.

We don't attack...

03-11-2024, 09:32 PM
Best form of defence is attack.

We don't attack...

We did attack today, once again we lacked quality in the final third to convert it into goals. We had 15 shots and 13 corners which isn’t reflective of a team that doesn’t attack. A team that doesn’t attack wouldn’t put in 47 crosses in a match.

03-11-2024, 09:43 PM
Since Mowbray the only real success stories at Hibs have been Stubbs and Lennon. One had experience, the other didn't.

The key variable here is the Pyrite Quadrant and their inability to pick a manager or put a competent footballing structure in place.

03-11-2024, 09:45 PM
We did attack today, once again we lacked quality in the final third to convert it into goals. We had 15 shots and 13 corners which isn’t reflective of a team that doesn’t attack. A team that doesn’t attack wouldn’t put in 47 crosses in a match.

Attack has to be concluded in the final 3rd.

We had zero big chances according to Sofascore stats. And only 3 on target.

03-11-2024, 09:47 PM
Definatley prefer the 3 in midfield rather than two. It allowed one to sit and the the two to push forward and support more.

Would play youan through the middle next week. Only him or mckirdy and I ain’t wanting mckirdy

03-11-2024, 09:50 PM

Thank you for helping me make my point, for all our attacking play we created very little in the way of quality chances. If more of those 47 crosses we put in were of better quality, maybe we would have scored more goals.

03-11-2024, 09:58 PM

Miller had a very big chance from an Obita cutback. Great bit of play from Jordan. That was an easier chance than the one in the second half the Utd player hit wide imo

03-11-2024, 10:19 PM
10 goals scored in 11 games isn’t enough to pick up many wins.
16 conceded isn’t bad (the least in the bottom six) but it’s when we concede that is hurting us. A lot have been late goals which have cost us points. And, of course, we never get any luck.

dizzy hibee
04-11-2024, 04:02 AM

Here are the timings of goals scored against us in the final few minutes of games this season, and points dropped. All of which we were in winning positions:

Dundee 88’ - 2 points
Kilmarnock 92’ - 2 points
Dundee United 93’ + 99’ - 3 points
Hearts 86’ - 2 points
Dundee United 90’ - 2 points

Dropping 11 points from 86 minutes onwards, in a world where matches were 85 minutes long we’d be on 19 points, 3rd level with Rangers. Mental.

04-11-2024, 01:32 PM

Ron Gordon went all in on having his own people in charge and that included removing Mathie and installing his son, a former wine salesman, as Head of the the Football department.

Our record since then has, I am sure we can agree, been awful; we have burned through upwards of £10m since Mathie was dispensed, have a worse team and currently sit bottom of the league.

Using data analysis to identify players is part of modern football but having the right data is key as garbage in = garbage out.

04-11-2024, 01:40 PM
The most damning stat (aside from being bottom), is in the last 15 minutes of all competitive games this season(including those big wins against part timers in the league cup), we have conceded TEN goals and scored, wait for it, ZERO.

That’s statistically mind boggling unlikely and ridiculous and points to something wrong with fitness or mindset or both.

04-11-2024, 01:49 PM
Here are the timings of goals scored against us in the final few minutes of games this season, and points dropped. All of which we were in winning positions:

Dundee 88’ - 2 points
Hearts 86’ - 2 points

Dropping 11 points from 86 minutes onwards, in a world where matches were 85 minutes long we’d be on 19 points, 3rd level with Rangers. Mental.

Need to include Andy Hallidays against Motherwell which cost us two points 4 weeks ago. Other late goals against were the two away at st mirren, when we were already 1-0 down but playing quite well, and a less important one in the 96th minute against Queens Park.

K-Zazu
04-11-2024, 01:52 PM
The most damning stat (aside from being bottom), is in the last 15 minutes of all competitive games this season(including those big wins against part timers in the league cup), we have conceded TEN goals and scored, wait for it, ZERO.

That’s statistically mind boggling unlikely and ridiculous and points to something wrong with fitness or mindset or both.

That is quite incredible.

04-11-2024, 03:30 PM

Dundee 88’ - 2 points
Hearts 86’ - 2 points

Good posts which explain the problem with cold, hard stats. There is no way we should be bottom just now; it’s criminal how many points we have thrown away very late in games. We aren’t scoring many, so gifting goals away leaves us really struggling.

St Mirren at home is huge. We have to win that.