View Full Version : Dundee Utd home - build up thread

31-10-2024, 01:43 PM
3rd game in 7 days for Hibs this Sunday - kick off 3pm. We now have 2 home matches in a row for the first time this season (St Mirren on 9th then 2 week break).

3 of the next 5 games are at home including Aberdeen midweek.

Ross County away was a point - not great - could be worse but we really need to start winning football games especially at home.

Hibs are 2 unbeaten - with 2 draws - but the current lowest scoring team in the league sitting 2nd bottom with 7 points from 10 games (7 from 30).

It’s nearly 7 weeks since Hibs last won against St Johnstone.

Dundee Utd come to Easter Road having lost last 2 games - their last win was against Hibs on 19th October with that late goal and Hibs finishing with 10 players.

Utd sit 5th on 15 points from 30. Out of the 5 away games for Utd they have only lost 1 to Aberdeen - 2 draws and 2 wins (including an away win against Hearts).

Hibs haven’t beaten Utd since December 2021 - Utd unbeaten against Hibs in last 5 games.

There hasn’t been a 0v0 game between the sides since 2007 - since then we have played 43 matches !

Last time Hibs beat Utd at Easter Road was 2020 - since then 3 draws and a Utd win.

Will be interesting to see if Gayle is back and if Kwon starts. Newell took a sore one last night and was subbed around 72 mins. Cadden did more in 10 mins that some others. Hoilett has been fine at 10 but not sure if he’s more effective outwide but Youan must start again.

Utd play a 3-4-2-1 and last time caused big issues down our right hand side. Hibs has more ball than Utd and more shots on target but lost 3-2.

Expecting this to be another tough game - Hibs still haven’t scored before the 43rd minute in a game but are coming off a clean sheet as they Utd and St Mirren who both scored 3 against us last time we played.

Would be good to get a win for the first time for a while and some sort of revenge for the last horror show recently at tannidice but another team with players like Middleton who can cause us problems if we give them too much time and space on the ball.

I have a feeling this game and St Mirren will decide Grays future - with a 2 week break after these games. We also have the issue of an upcoming transfer window and who do the club want as manager to decide the transfer targets. (Obviously alongside MM etc).

Over to you Hibs - let’s get the 3 points..it’s been too long.

31-10-2024, 01:52 PM
I reckon we should be looking at a minimum of 4 points from these two games.

Get that and we are off on a wee unbeaten run.

Everything has to start somewhere.

31-10-2024, 02:11 PM
Seen this movie before. Keep conceding dreadful goals but keep creating chances. Then tighten up at the back but stop creating chances. No idea how we turn it around with no obvious candidate for the offensive midfield role. Might have to take a scrappy 1-0.

21May16
31-10-2024, 02:18 PM
There's definitely a platform materials available to be built over the next few games, starting on Sunday after what would usually, under normal circumstances, be the no worst point in the world last night. Let's hope we can do so, hope is all I have at this stage, if we can get the win over the line then hopefully confidence begins to show again.

Dundee Utd aren't world beaters either going by a couple weeks back, there can't be any excuses anymore. We need to win.

31-10-2024, 02:52 PM
I reckon we should be looking at a minimum of 4 points from these two games.

Get that and we are off on a wee unbeaten run.

Everything has to start somewhere.
Only 4 points, why the low bar?

01-11-2024, 10:01 AM
Bursic
Ekpiteta Rocky O'Hora
Miller Kwon Newall Obita
Hoilett
Youan Myko

Would be my team, 3 at the back did well in the second half against them a couple of weeks ago. Why not? :greengrin

01-11-2024, 10:09 AM
Bursik

Miller Ekpiteta O’Hora Obita

Boyle Kwon Newell Hoilet

Myk Youan

Just go for it. At least with Youan up top we’ve got some pace in behind for when we go long.

Donegal Hibby
01-11-2024, 10:15 AM
Going to be a wee bit controversial with my selection , don’t think it will happen though this is my team …

Bursik.

Miller .
Ekpiteta.
O’Hora .
Obita.

Triantis .
Kwon .

Youan .
Cadden.
Hoilett .

Myko.

01-11-2024, 10:35 AM
Only 4 points, why the low bar?

Hence the use of the word minimum.

01-11-2024, 11:15 AM
Going to be a wee bit controversial with my selection , don’t think it will happen though this is my team …

Bursik.

Miller .
Ekpiteta.
O’Hora .
Obita.

Triantis .
Kwon .

Youan .
Cadden.
Hoilett .

Myko.

Please tell me that’s Nicky Cadden and not Chris in the 10!!!

Not sure if Nicky has ever played there but would be interesting to see as he seems good technically and with a good turn on him. He also has ability to strike the ball from distance which is a nice change.

01-11-2024, 11:24 AM
Team selection interesting for this one..3 days in 7 days including the Derby and long trip up north. Will be change much or go with similar again.

Seems Gray likes same back 5 - can’t see him changing that after clean sheet.

Middle to front is where we need more quality / creativity and options.

We scored off 2 balls in the air last time so Myko plus Gayle ?
(If fit).

Boyle hardly been involved last couple games but right hand side an issue due to Middleton - maybe Boyle will cause them an issue as more speed than Cadden last game and they may not want to leave him 1v1 - Youan been good / Hoilett good / Cadden can cross a ball and did well on his 10 min cameo.

We will probably start usual 4-2-3-1 then change it 2nd half but would rather we played on front foot and attack. Last game we lost a goal after their 2nd attack but had a lot of ball first half and 2nd half 3-5-2 was solid. Obviously the sending off didn’t help at all.

We can beat this team if we are positive and show bravery. This setting up not to lose tactic can only get you so far and so many points - you need to take risks at some point.

01-11-2024, 11:26 AM

Bursik.

Miller .
Ekpiteta.
O’Hora .
Obita.

Triantis .
Kwon .

Youan .
Cadden.
Hoilett .

Myko.

Two changes from midweek and a whopping 3 changes from the side who started at Tannadice? Quite the controversy!

I would pick similar. Maybe moving WOH to right back and bringing in Iredale at LCB. Don't think that will happen though.

Saint Hibee
01-11-2024, 12:15 PM
I came away from Tannadice wondering when Glenn Middleton became so fast? He never seemed that quick when he played for us, or maybe Miller was just making him look quick.

01-11-2024, 12:18 PM
I came away from Tannadice wondering when Glenn Middleton became so fast? He never seemed that quick when he played for us, or maybe Miller was just making him look quick.

No one has ever mentioned this before :greengrin

01-11-2024, 12:29 PM
I can barely contain my excitement

andrew70
01-11-2024, 12:42 PM
Bursik

Miller
Ekpiteta
O’Hora
Obita

Kwon
Triantis

Youan
Hoilett
N. Cadden

Myk

01-11-2024, 12:47 PM
I can barely contain my excitement

Calm doon eh? :greengrin

McGruber
01-11-2024, 12:54 PM
Bursic
Ekpiteta Rocky O'Hora
Miller Kwon Newall Obita
Hoilett
Youan Myko

Would be my team, 3 at the back did well in the second half against them a couple of weeks ago. Why not? :greengrin

Would go similar, think the shape suits us just now. Myko needs a partner. Miller struggling right back but being used wing back for Aus. Would have Iredale instead of Rocky though, he's played left of a 3 - and big Marv in the middle.

01-11-2024, 01:04 PM
Bursic
Ekpiteta Rocky O'Hora
Miller Kwon Newall Obita
Hoilett
Youan Myko

Spot on for me.

Best utilisation of the players we have, although I would prefer C.Cadden in the right wing back spot. Think it's time to give Youan that free role up front now that he's getting match fit. Myko needs somebody closer to him. Also agree Triantis should be dropped on current form.

01-11-2024, 01:09 PM
:paranoid:

Paulie Walnuts
01-11-2024, 01:21 PM
Bursic
Ekpiteta Rocky O'Hora
Miller Kwon Newall Obita
Hoilett
Youan Myko

Iredale in for Rocky for me but other than that it’s about as good as it’s going to get imo.

01-11-2024, 02:46 PM
3rd game in 7 days for Hibs this Sunday - kick off 3pm. We now have 2 home matches in a row for the first time this season (St Mirren on 9th then 2 week break).

3 of the next 5 games are at home including Aberdeen midweek.

Ross County away was a point - not great - could be worse but we really need to start winning football games especially at home.

Hibs are 2 unbeaten - with 2 draws - but the current lowest scoring team in the league sitting 2nd bottom with 7 points from 10 games (7 from 30).

It’s nearly 7 weeks since Hibs last won against St Johnstone.

Dundee Utd come to Easter Road having lost last 2 games - their last win was against Hibs on 19th October with that late goal and Hibs finishing with 10 players.

Utd sit 5th on 15 points from 30. Out of the 5 away games for Utd they have only lost 1 to Aberdeen - 2 draws and 2 wins (including an away win against Hearts).

Hibs haven’t beaten Utd since December 2021 - Utd unbeaten against Hibs in last 5 games.

There hasn’t been a 0v0 game between the sides since 2007 - since then we have played 43 matches !

Last time Hibs beat Utd at Easter Road was 2020 - since then 3 draws and a Utd win.

Will be interesting to see if Gayle is back and if Kwon starts. Newell took a sore one last night and was subbed around 72 mins. Cadden did more in 10 mins that some others. Hoilett has been fine at 10 but not sure if he’s more effective outwide but Youan must start again.

Utd play a 3-4-2-1 and last time caused big issues down our right hand side. Hibs has more ball than Utd and more shots on target but lost 3-2.

Expecting this to be another tough game - Hibs still haven’t scored before the 43rd minute in a game but are coming off a clean sheet as they Utd and St Mirren who both scored 3 against us last time we played.

Would be good to get a win for the first time for a while and some sort of revenge for the last horror show recently at tannidice but another team with players like Middleton who can cause us problems if we give them too much time and space on the ball.

I have a feeling this game and St Mirren will decide Grays future - with a 2 week break after these games. We also have the issue of an upcoming transfer window and who do the club want as manager to decide the transfer targets. (Obviously alongside MM etc).

Over to you Hibs - let’s get the 3 points..it’s been too long.
Well you've gone and said it now :greengrin

Cabbage-Patch
01-11-2024, 03:04 PM
This is based only if players are fit

Smith

C.Cadden Iredale Marv Obita

Kwon Triantis

Boyle Hoilett Youan

Gayle

01-11-2024, 03:18 PM
I wouldn’t be changing the back 5, we’ve only conceded 5 goals in the last 9 hours of football when we’ve had 10 men on the pitch.

Keep 11 players on the pitch and get the attack clicking and we’ll be fine.

01-11-2024, 03:25 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p_Wgc4w2SVg

Mikey_1875
01-11-2024, 03:32 PM
Bursik
Cadden(if fit) Ekpiteta O’Hora Obita
Boyle Kwon Newell Hoilett
Youan Myko

Probably a “controversial” formation these days but we have no one that can play the 10 properly so I would just go without one. It’s also important to have Hoilett back out wide imo.

If we are playing with a 10 I would be tempted to try Nicky Cadden in there. Based only on a hunch!

01-11-2024, 03:32 PM
Triantis been poor in the last two games, think Kwon might come back in for him.

Don’t expect many changes from Wednesday. Nicky Cadden doing the press today if that is any kind of giveaway.

aljo7-0
01-11-2024, 03:48 PM
Triantis been poor in the last two games, think Kwon might come back in for him.

Don’t expect many changes from Wednesday. Nicky Cadden doing the press today if that is any kind of giveaway.

and that's so typical at the moment - if we don't press as a team it just won't work :greengrin

01-11-2024, 04:12 PM
I wouldn’t be changing the back 5, we’ve only conceded 5 goals in the last 9 hours of football when we’ve had 10 men on the pitch.

Keep 11 players on the pitch and get the attack clicking and we’ll be fine.

I agree that the tightening of our defence has been by and large decent over the past few weeks, but don’t you think that in order to get that defence out there, it detracts from our ability to attack?

Main problem I have with our attacking play is a big, slow, lone central striker who offers no threat in behind and who we often struggle to get up and support.

The suggestions of 3 at the back sacrifice and risk a bit if that defensive stoutness to attempt to come up with something that suits our attacking players more.

I just struggle to see what we can do to make the Youan / Hoilett / Boyle /Myko front 4 provide more of a threat than they’re currently providing in the current, which is negligible.

Bursik

Ekpiteta
O’Hora
Iredale

Cadden
Kwon
Newell
Obita

Hoilett

Youan
Myko

Hibees1973
01-11-2024, 04:13 PM
Copy and pasted this from the last 5 or 6 match day threads.

'This is a must win'

01-11-2024, 04:59 PM
Bursik

Miller
Marv
O’Hora
Obita

Boyle
Kwon
Newell
Hoilett

Myko
Youan

Sioux
01-11-2024, 05:12 PM

All DG's 'cut & paste' press conferences contain "...we've talked about that, and we've been working on it..."

Unfortunately nothing changes. It's about time it did.

01-11-2024, 05:15 PM
Just make sure you pass the ball to a player in green, find open spaces protect the ball and get more delivery's into the box and defend for you life and when you get a chance hit the back of the net. Is that too much to ask?

Donegal Hibby
01-11-2024, 05:47 PM
Please tell me that’s Nicky Cadden and not Chris in the 10!!!

Not sure if Nicky has ever played there but would be interesting to see as he seems good technically and with a good turn on him. He also has ability to strike the ball from distance which is a nice change.

Yeah Nicky … I’m not sure if he has either though I thought if Hoilett could maybe he could too , prefer Hoilett on the wing and liked the way Cadden came forward and had the shot at the end of the Ross County game …

Seems he’s played as a LWB according to this …

https://youtu.be/elyZYCe8IQI?si=CYM0KmFYepRK0fxE

01-11-2024, 05:56 PM
Yeah Nicky … I’m not sure if he has either though I thought if Hoilett could maybe he could too , prefer Hoilett on the wing and liked the way Cadden came forward and had the shot at the end of the Ross County game …

Seems he’s played as a LWB according to this …

https://youtu.be/elyZYCe8IQI?si=CYM0KmFYepRK0fxE

Nicky Cadden is a left wing back, he could never play central in a million years.

Sioux
01-11-2024, 06:00 PM
Nicky Cadden is a left wing back, he could never play central in a million years.

Yip. Somebody has a shot at goal (off target) and all of a sudden he's a second striker.

We've got enough problems.

01-11-2024, 06:13 PM

“I don’t know why they’d be feeling nervous” 😂

We’ve been ****ing brutal all season and have one win in ten games, that might explain it a wee bit.

Donegal Hibby
01-11-2024, 06:15 PM

Yeah seems to have played mostly there alright and probably played as a LW too , maybe he can’t , it was just a thought seeing as its a problem area for us .

01-11-2024, 06:35 PM
Bursik

Rocky
Ekpiteta
OHora

Triantis

Boyle
Kwon
Obita
Hoilett

Gayle
Myk

01-11-2024, 09:24 PM
Bursik

Miller Ohora Marv Obita

Kwon Newell

Hoilett Rudi Youan

Boyle

01-11-2024, 09:36 PM
Watched the Raith game tonight, can we get Stevenson back? Up & down the pitch all night and put in some stunning crosses/passes, created a couple of goals & motm.
And as level headed and modest as ever. I know he was no longer a Premier full back but a wing back? Still got it...
Guess it's the green tinted glasses after watching the s...show that this season has been thus far but, what a guy............

02-11-2024, 08:00 AM
2 nil Hibs.

This will be the turning point in our season.

🙏

02-11-2024, 08:03 AM
Is Gayle fit?

02-11-2024, 08:05 AM
Is Gayle fit?

Last minute fitness test.

Slight knock last week.

He's here!
02-11-2024, 10:25 AM
2 nil Hibs.

This will be the turning point in our season.

🙏

It feels like a make or break game for Gray. Looking at the league table and the other fixtures you can see how important a win is.

02-11-2024, 10:50 AM
It feels like a make or break game for Gray. Looking at the league table and the other fixtures you can see how important a win is.

Yet another "must win". SDG should be thankful Hearts are having a dreadful season and below us at the moment. That won't continue, so Hibs need to start winning now.

02-11-2024, 02:48 PM
Yet another "must win". SDG should be thankful Hearts are having a dreadful season and below us at the moment. That won't continue, so Hibs need to start winning now.
Back at the bottom with Hearts currently winning.

02-11-2024, 02:53 PM
All DG's 'cut & paste' press conferences contain "...we've talked about that, and we've been working on it..."

Unfortunately nothing changes. It's about time it did.

It's getting hard to watch. Every pre match and post match interview is the same given the results aren't improving. With that I'm not sure there's much more he can say.

hibeez1875
02-11-2024, 03:34 PM
Bursic

Cadden Ekpiteta O'Hora Obita

Kwon Newall Triantis

Boyle Gayle Youan

02-11-2024, 03:44 PM
Bursic

Cadden Ekpiteta O'Hora Obita

Kwon Newall Triantis

Boyle Gayle Youan

I’d be dropping Boyle as he’s been woeful. (Mind you who hasn’t) move Youan to the right and play Hoilett on left.

If Gayle isn’t fit Myko starts

AdidasHibernian
02-11-2024, 03:47 PM
Am more worried that Gray and some of the players feel we dominated that game on Wednesday?

It's literally copy and paste.

Need 4 points minimum from next 2 games or he goes I think

02-11-2024, 03:47 PM
I’d be dropping Boyle as he’s been woeful. (Mind you who hasn’t) move Youan to the right and play Hoilett on left.

If Gayle isn’t fit Myko starts

Same and I'd be doing it for the foreseeable. I'd also be looking for a replacement in Jan if possible. He'll definitely be away in the summer and just hasn't been at it at all this season.

Injuries finally catching up with him possibly? Shame cause he was phenomenal for us before his move to Saudi.

Saint Hibee
02-11-2024, 03:50 PM

We’ve been ****ing brutal all season and have one win in ten games, that might explain it a wee bit.

How can somebody who’s been a key witness to all our implosions not understand why we’d be nervous?!?!

02-11-2024, 03:53 PM
Same and I'd be doing it for the foreseeable. I'd also be looking for a replacement in Jan if possible. He'll definitely be away in the summer and just hasn't been at it at all this season.

Injuries finally catching up with him possibly? Shame cause he was phenomenal for us before his move to Saudi.

He’s been really poor but seems undroppable. Has offered nothing pretty much all season.

He should be gone in the summer. Shame really but big wage for next to zero return.

What I will say is if St J don’t equalise we are bottom and added pressure to a team with 1 win in 10.

We have two games in hand but not sure we can handle the pressure. Hope I’m wrong though

02-11-2024, 03:56 PM
A win tomorrow and we're up to the heady heights of 9th place.

02-11-2024, 03:58 PM
Hoping for a performance tomorrow but with where we are it's three points by any means necessary.

Every game we've played since Celtic has been close and competitive so no reason to expect otherwise from this one.

He's here!
02-11-2024, 04:15 PM

I think the last couple of fixtures were 'must not lose' rather than 'must win'. In theory we should now be building on them and getting a win under our belts so tomorrow definitely has that feel. A draw and the grumblings will intensify but a defeat can't be contemplated. If we lose I think it's clear Gray isn't going to turn our fortunes around. It's hard to feel confident whichever way you look at it.

02-11-2024, 04:19 PM
Looking at the league tonight there is no doubt that tomorrow is now a 'Must Win' game.

02-11-2024, 04:24 PM
So if we don't win tomorrow we're clear at the bottom.

Cabbage-Patch
02-11-2024, 04:25 PM
We fail to win tomorrow then it's curtains for Gray and he must go. Simple as that.

02-11-2024, 04:25 PM

We are at the bottom.

02-11-2024, 04:28 PM

We are bottom by 2 points albeit with two games in hand.

Scotty Leither
02-11-2024, 04:34 PM
We fail to win tomorrow then it's curtains for Gray and he must go. Simple as that.

So should Kensell and Mackay, MacPherson tae.

02-11-2024, 04:56 PM
Don’t think there’s any question that SDG has got to win. If we are still bottom come the international break there’s no other course of action that makes sense but firing him, sad as that would be.

02-11-2024, 04:59 PM
Games in hand are fine if you go on and win them , but you wouldn’t bank on us doing that on present form Aldo

02-11-2024, 05:01 PM
Games in hand are fine if you go on and win them , but you wouldn’t bank on us doing that on present form Aldo

No I wouldn’t and I hope I am proved wrong Ronnie.

Cabbage-Patch
02-11-2024, 05:02 PM

Agreed

02-11-2024, 05:05 PM
Have to win tomorrow. I don't want to hear fluff at 6pm tomorrow about how United have a good away record, we'd have won it with Bowie, or playing on Sundays is hard because of the bus services. I'm just not interested in excuses, I want to see results.

02-11-2024, 05:05 PM
No I wouldn’t and I hope I am proved wrong Ronnie.
I have stopped going mate it’s been brutal with nothing changing The Black Knoghts review was a chance to get things back on track but Gordon and Kenswell etc thought they knew better and have somehow contrived to spend more money on cresting new posts that would appear to have made us worse
Which I didn’t think was possible ffs

AdidasHibernian
02-11-2024, 05:06 PM

Would much rather have the points on the board.

yes we do however give me the points ahead any day right now!

02-11-2024, 05:07 PM

Especially when the game in hand is against Aberdeen.

02-11-2024, 05:07 PM
Am more worried that Gray and some of the players feel we dominated that game on Wednesday?

It's literally copy and paste.

Need 4 points minimum from next 2 games or he goes I think

I could understand them taking heart from the fact that Ross County never looked like threatening to score and we did have a decent amount of possession, especially second half.

Surely nobody can be as poor in the final third as we were and feel like they dominated though? It wasn’t like they clung on to get a result. It was a poor game between 2 teams who carried very minimal attacking threat.

I can definitely get why Gray may be wanting everyone to remain as positive as possible but I don’t think anybody’s buying that.

02-11-2024, 05:11 PM
Would much rather have the points on the board.

yes we do however give me the points ahead any day right now!

Of course I would and I never suggested it was a good thing (note you edited your post as I was replying)

I mentioned it to the poster as a matter of fact not that I believe the two games will make any difference. Hence my other posts that I hope I’m wrong.

02-11-2024, 05:37 PM
Don’t think there’s any question that SDG has got to win. If we are still bottom come the international break there’s no other course of action that makes sense but firing him, sad as that would be.

SDG could quite easily be a week or two away from being fired, for reasons obvious to everyone and anyone. Let's hope someone has alerted the Hibs owner and Board, so it doesn't come as a shock when it happens. Too often Hibs look like they've been caught with their pants down, when they fire a manager - taking weeks/ months to list, vet, approach and secure a replacement - invariably and clumsily missing out on 1st. 2nd choices. Got to hope this was a topic of discussion with Foley in Vegas and we're well prepared this time. This is not being disrespectful to SDG, who's seen plenty of Hibs managers fired for less.

02-11-2024, 05:52 PM
How can somebody who’s been a key witness to all our implosions not understand why we’d be nervous?!?!

IMO a lot of Hibs fans stopped being nervous some time ago, instead expecting a Hibs capitulation at end of games. Holding out with a clean sheet against RC was a bit of shock, to be honest.

02-11-2024, 06:10 PM

I think the board will give him the St Mirren game as his final game - then 2 week break so would move then to change things and also a new manager before the January window. Agree with others though I would be raging at many around and above Gray though and expecting many to leave too for failing.

Let’s see what tomorrow brings - we aren’t playing Real Madrid but we do need to start well and be on the front foot.

AdidasHibernian
02-11-2024, 06:23 PM
Of course I would and I never suggested it was a good thing (note you edited your post as I was replying)

I mentioned it to the poster as a matter of fact not that I believe the two games will make any difference. Hence my other posts that I hope I’m wrong.

I was editing it as it came across worse than I intended it to do apologies for that as was only meaning it as right now due to how rotten we are the points seem like a better out the two that's all mate. My mistake 👍

02-11-2024, 06:24 PM
I was editing it as it came across worse than I intended it to do apologies for that as was only meaning it as right now due to how rotten we are the points seem like a better out the two that's all mate. My mistake [emoji106]

No worries. [emoji1303]

Would definitely prefer the points.

02-11-2024, 06:55 PM
Absolutely a must win, no two ways about it. Gray goes if we lose.

02-11-2024, 07:00 PM

Said the same on another thread, found it a really odd response

02-11-2024, 07:06 PM
Hibs 1 Dundee Utd 1

Donegal Hibby
02-11-2024, 07:19 PM
Most of our games this season so far have been tight , some I think we have played well in only to shoot ourselves in the foot ….

Hopefully cut out the daft mistakes and be more clinical and there’s every chance we will get a positive result…

Like to see us give it a go tomorrow and play two upfront, thought Youan played well in our last game and looked our most dangerous player , fancy him to score tomorrow.🤞🤞

02-11-2024, 07:19 PM
Mon Hibs, let's start creating some chances and putting them away.

02-11-2024, 07:21 PM
Anything other than a win tomorrow is unacceptable and, if we fail, I expect Gray to go. I would go further and say that, a loss will signal the real beginning of the end.

02-11-2024, 08:25 PM
How brutal was the first Cup replay in 82?

Saint Hibee
02-11-2024, 09:33 PM
Most of our games this season so far have been tight , some I think we have played well in only to shoot ourselves in the foot ….

Hopefully cut out the daft mistakes and be more clinical and there’s every chance we will get a positive result…

Like to see us give it a go tomorrow and play two upfront, thought Youan played well in our last game and looked our most dangerous player , fancy him to score tomorrow.🤞🤞
I do genuinely appreciate your relentless positivity, but blaming our failures on “daft mistakes” is a bit misleading. The whole point of good recruitment and good coaching is to reduce the said daft mistakes. Recent losses have been as much down to Gray’s substitutions as daft mistakes.

RMQ1967
02-11-2024, 09:55 PM
I do genuinely appreciate your relentless positivity, but blaming our failures on “daft mistakes” is a bit misleading. The whole point of good recruitment and good coaching is to reduce the said daft mistakes. Recent losses have been as much down to Gray’s substitutions as daft mistakes.

Agree with Donegal - aside from one or 2 matches we've been undone by idiotic individual decisions on at least half a dozen games.

Penalty misses, red cards, daft passbacks, goalie brainstorms.

The tactics aren't the issue in these situations - no manager can allow for that level of stupidity.

02-11-2024, 10:07 PM
Agree with Donegal - aside from one or 2 matches we've been undone by idiotic individual decisions on at least half a dozen games.

Penalty misses, red cards, daft passbacks, goalie brainstorms.

The tactics aren't the issue in these situations - no manager can allow for that level of stupidity.

The tactics are the issue when you are leading and make changes that cause you to sink further and further back. Dundee, Dundee Utd and Hearts being the three main games impacted by that.

RMQ1967
02-11-2024, 10:14 PM
The tactics are the issue when you are leading and make changes that cause you to sink further and further back. Dundee, Dundee Utd and Hearts being the three main games impacted by that.

The tactics didn't make them miss penalties or get themselves sent off unless I'm missing something.

The tactics didn't make them play ropey backpasses or fail to cover a 17 year old lurking on the 6 yard line.

monarch
02-11-2024, 10:22 PM
Kensall won’t be sacked. His record of bringing in income on the commercial/ hospitality side will ensure that.

02-11-2024, 10:25 PM
The tactics didn't make them miss penalties or get themselves sent off unless I'm missing something.

The tactics didn't make them play ropey backpasses or fail to cover a 17 year old lurking on the 6 yard line.

There wasn’t ropey back passes or missed penalties in the games I mentioned. A sending off in one, yes, but we should be capable of seeing 10 minutes in that one though. There was individual mistakes, aye, but do you really not think the tactics, where we went so negative, helped put us in such positions?

BS44
02-11-2024, 10:43 PM
How brutal was the first Cup replay in 82?

It was okay, Hibs were unlucky. Second replay was rubbish

Donegal Hibby
02-11-2024, 11:16 PM

In Bournemouths game when they went 2-1 up City took off a midfielder and put on a striker , Bournemouth countered this by taking off a midfielder and put on a defender, Newcastle done the same in a midfielder went off and a defender went on ….

The hertz game their manager took off two midfielders for two strikers and were going to throw the Kitchen sink at us which we tried to combat…

If Gray had a went gung-ho with his subs after the changes they made and we lost that goal he’d still be getting called out for it and maybe more so …

I think in most cases like the Bournemouth , Newcastle and hertz game one team that’s losing is going to go for it and the others got something to hold on too … sadly compared to the two other games I mentioned their players didn’t make any daft mistakes like us ..

If we don’t tomorrow and our attackers have their shooting boots on then hopefully the outcome will favour the Hibees

21May16
02-11-2024, 11:50 PM
In Bournemouths game when they went 2-1 up City took off a midfielder and put on a striker , Bournemouth countered this by taking off a midfielder and put on a defender, Newcastle done the same in a midfielder went off and a defender went on ….

The hertz game their manager took off two midfielders for two strikers and were going to throw the Kitchen sink at us which we tried to combat…

If Gray had a went gung-ho with his subs after the changes they made and we lost that goal he’d still be getting called out for it and maybe more so …

I think in most cases like the Bournemouth , Newcastle and hertz game one team that’s losing is going to go for it and the others got something to hold on too … sadly compared to the two other games I mentioned their players didn’t make any daft mistakes like us ..

If we don’t tomorrow and our attackers have their shooting boots on then hopefully the outcome will favour the Hibees

Bournemouth are a club with 15,000 capacity stadium, playing against one of the richest teams, maybe the best team in the world, with the best manager in the world. Do Bournemouth concede last minute goals like we had in 3 or 4 games already this season?

We were playing the *****st team in the league. We shat ourselves collectively and there is zero excuse for it. We lost the goal because of ***** tactics, shocking subs and a **** up by the ***** goalie we had then a centre half not winning the ball, then lewis miller daydreaming as per usual. Nowt to do with bad luck, everything to do with personell and tactics.

Hibees1973
03-11-2024, 09:18 AM

Don't think so.

If we fail to win today he will get to the St Mirren game. If we are still bottom after that then surely no one will want him to remain as manager. He will have to go.

The Golden Quadrant will then have the international break to hand over the footballing reins to the Black Knights and see what they can come up with. I expect there to be a new manager and a whole new coaching group in place for the game away to Dundee.

03-11-2024, 09:36 AM

I think the level of player Bournemouth have compared to us allows them to defend better.

We have leaked goals so our best ways to win games is to get a 2nd goal.

Hearts were on the ropes and even made a defensive sub taking off Vargas.

We took off 3 attackers against Hearts..

Gayle - scored this season
Hoilett - scored this season
Youan - scored 4 last season - was just coming into game more.

Brought on

MNW - never scored for us
JDH - hasn’t played for 15 months and scored 2 goals 4 years ago
Myko- got the goal - fine as was like for like

I hope we are in the lead today but we aren’t good enough to protect leads it seems - most we have done it for is 45 mins this season when we beat St J - apart from that it’s 20 odd mins here and there.

03-11-2024, 10:05 AM
Fairytale think we’d kickstart our season against hearts and again in Dingwall where we don’t have a great record

But, today, against the mob

YYYYAAAASSSSSSS

03-11-2024, 10:09 AM

Bournemouth were playing against one of the best club sides in the world. Newcastle were playing one of the best teams in the country.

We were playing Hearts.

HendoDelivered
03-11-2024, 10:16 AM
“Hibernian's last top-flight home win versus Dundee United came in Nov 2012, with Hibs winless in six meetings since (D4 L2).
The Terrors could win three Scottish Premiership games in a row against Hibs for the first time since Aug 2012.”

Donegal Hibby
03-11-2024, 10:23 AM
Bournemouth were playing against one of the best club sides in the world. Newcastle were playing one of the best teams in the country.

We were playing Hearts.

Yeah though in games where teams are generally equally matched if one is leading say 2-1 , 1-0 they are more likely to make attacking changes in throwing everything at it in an attempt to salvage something from the game while the other is more likely to take off strikers , wingers and put on defender’s or midfielders in the hope of holding on to their lead ..

Bournemouth and Newcastle were just examples , think hertz might have took Shankland off yesterday for a midfielder as well going into the last five minutes while leading 2-1 too .

03-11-2024, 10:34 AM
“Hibernian's last top-flight home win versus Dundee United came in Nov 2012, with Hibs winless in six meetings since (D4 L2).
The Terrors could win three Scottish Premiership games in a row against Hibs for the first time since Aug 2012.”That win put us top of the league under Fenlon. Griffiths and Doyle scored both and the first was a great move and finish. I'm sure Paul Cairney also nutmegged someone before setting up the second.

We also managed to gift Dundee Utd a goal back with a defensive howler and Skacel embarrassed himself throughout.

I only remember as I had a tenner on Griffiths first goal and 2-1 Hibs [emoji23]

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

03-11-2024, 10:44 AM
We need to win. 3 points, nothing else is acceptable today.

03-11-2024, 10:52 AM

Correct. We needed four points minimum from Ross County and today.

03-11-2024, 11:11 AM

I've read that so many times on here this season already lol

Trinity Hibee
03-11-2024, 11:14 AM

Absolutely but today is one of them as we’ve not won either of the last 2.

Given we gave DU a game at Tannadice we should be looking to win today

EGL2000
03-11-2024, 11:14 AM

Early season you get a little more leeway. Not now things need to start changing and same excuses can't be used.

For what it's worth I think we win today.

03-11-2024, 11:17 AM
Not really looking forward to today, I'm usually buzzing to get to ER but just not feeling it today, hopefully we are celebrating a win later today

03-11-2024, 11:18 AM
It’s hard to predict a win when nothing that we’ve seen this season points to it.

Probably be happy with the draw.

EGL2000
03-11-2024, 11:19 AM
It’s hard to predict a win when nothing that we’ve seen this season points to it.

Probably be happy with the draw.

Don't know how you could be happy with a point at this stage. Away from home is fair enough but at home you need to be winning these games.

03-11-2024, 11:23 AM
Don't know how you could be happy with a point at this stage. Away from home is fair enough but at home you need to be winning these games.

I’m the same.

Bottom of the league, we need to go for wins.

Must win today and next week. Go into the break on a bit of a high and confidence building

Trinity Hibee
03-11-2024, 11:26 AM
I’m the same.

Bottom of the league, we need to go for wins.

Must win today and next week. Go into the break on a bit of a high and confidence building

Simply has to be a win today. End of

03-11-2024, 11:55 AM

We’re rank rotten. Picking up any points is a positive.

Goes without saying that we’d all prefer the win.

Paulie Walnuts
03-11-2024, 11:58 AM

A draw isn’t good enough.

Scotty Leither
03-11-2024, 12:06 PM
Don't think so.

If we fail to win today he will get to the St Mirren game. If we are still bottom after that then surely no one will want him to remain as manager. He will have to go.

The Golden Quadrant will then have the international break to hand over the footballing reins to the Black Knights and see what they can come up with. I expect there to be a new manager and a whole new coaching group in place for the game away to Dundee.

I really hope that was the substance of the meeting in Vegas where equally I hope Gordon and Kensell were told a few home truths.

We must win today, a draw or defeat isn't good enough.

It's nothing short of laughable (if it wasn't so painful to watch it play out in front of us) that there is these constant re-sets/reviews, call it whatever BS term they want you to believe after 5 years of the Gordons' ownership, yet our attendances home and away are still at the level they're currently at.

Just imagine if they could manage to put a decent team on the park...

03-11-2024, 12:07 PM
Not really looking forward to today, I'm usually buzzing to get to ER but just not feeling it today, hopefully we are celebrating a win later today

I’m the opposite - while it’s not exactly fun drawing games or picking up zero points - I feel these games are so important and curious to see how we perform.

We need a win - we need fans to continue to back the team and we need to avoid the disaster of relegation. No point fans coming out in numbers late in the season when we are desperate - the sooner we get away from this bottom mess the better.

03-11-2024, 12:25 PM

Yup. A draw with Dundee United, at any time, especially at home is utter pish. A win is a must. But then we've been saying that for weeks.

03-11-2024, 12:46 PM
Kwon in for Youan.

DJ HIBBY
03-11-2024, 12:46 PM
Can’t believe Youan has been dropped, was by far our best player during the week.

K-Zazu
03-11-2024, 12:50 PM
Boyle undroppable

03-11-2024, 12:54 PM
Can’t believe Youan has been dropped, was by far our best player during the week.

My only thing I can think of is that by playing Elie Hoilett and Boyle from the start there's zero to bring off the bench.

03-11-2024, 12:57 PM
Youan dropped and a flat midfield 3 isn’t the most exciting at home when you need a win

Hopefully SDG is right