View Full Version : Nicky Cadden

31-10-2024, 10:26 AM
Based purely and solely off a couple of snippets from the Ross County highlights, he looked like he was trying to go forward, at least showed a desire to be positive and has a decent left foot on him.

Seems to have signed then not played much.

What do people who've seen him play more than me think of him?

31-10-2024, 10:32 AM
Thought he looked overweight when he first came in and not fully sharp.

No surprise as he signed late on and without a full pre season anywhere.

Last night I thought he looked leaner and sharper.

Hopefully performs well for us however our left wing is probably the strongest area of our team with Youan, Hoilett, Cadden and Rudi all able to play there

Saint Hibee
31-10-2024, 10:37 AM
Hope he does well, but really surprised that he was given a three year deal ...

31-10-2024, 10:52 AM
Based purely and solely off a couple of snippets from the Ross County highlights, he looked like he was trying to go forward, at least showed a desire to be positive and has a decent left foot on him.

Seems to have signed then not played much.

What do people who've seen him play more than me think of him?

Think he is a decent player and having a natural left sided player helps

31-10-2024, 11:25 AM
Thought he looked overweight when he first came in and not fully sharp.

No surprise as he signed late on and without a full pre season anywhere.

Last night I thought he looked leaner and sharper.

Hopefully performs well for us however our left wing is probably the strongest area of our team with Youan, Hoilett, Cadden and Rudi all able to play there

Isn't he the only 1 mentioned there that's naturally left footed? I'm terribly old fashioned and like my wide players to be played on their natural foot side.

31-10-2024, 11:42 AM
Looked fine last night but think he has the same issue as Chris does, too slow for a winger.

31-10-2024, 12:12 PM
Heard on the commentary he'd been out injured, but I thought he did well last night.

It was refreshing to see a wide player who just put their head down and ran with the ball. Our wide play is all about pissing around with the ball and trying to skin a defender, fine if it works, but sometimes I just want to see someone going like hell for the byeline and playing in a cross.

He's had limited time but I like the look of him so far, likes a dig at goal from distance too.

31-10-2024, 12:23 PM
He looked okay when he came on and tried to make things happen. Harry McK offered very little when he came on. Not able to to hold the ball up and very easily brushed off the ball.

31-10-2024, 12:32 PM
He looked okay when he came on and tried to make things happen. Harry McK offered very little when he came on. Not able to to hold the ball up and very easily brushed off the ball.

Just like Myko then.

31-10-2024, 12:38 PM
Just like Myko then.

Cannae be putting them in the same bracket. Myko not great, with limited service, but he does actually participate in the game. McKirdy comes on, gets in the way then moans at the referee at full time for no apparent reason. He shouldn’t be anywhere near the pitch.

31-10-2024, 12:46 PM
Just like Myko then.

Harry McKirdy is closer to Bojang than Myko in terms of usefulness.

31-10-2024, 12:51 PM
Cannae be putting them in the same bracket. Myko not great, with limited service, but he does actually participate in the game. McKirdy comes on, gets in the way then moans at the referee at full time for no apparent reason. He shouldn’t be anywhere near the pitch.

Myko needs to start showing it then. Got the goal in the derby, fair enough, but 2 league goals in 11 for our main striker is poor.

31-10-2024, 01:47 PM
Just like Myko then.

Myko wasn’t great last night and got pulled out wide a lot in the first half. I thought he was miles better than Harry though.

31-10-2024, 01:50 PM
Myko wasn’t great last night and got pulled out wide a lot in the first half. I thought he was miles better than Harry though.

That’s because he is

The Tubs
31-10-2024, 01:55 PM

Bojang at least got into a position where he missed two gilt-edged sitters. McKirdy seems like a total mystery because I've no idea how he managed to score all those goals in one season when he's always so far off the game. The English fourth tier can't be that bad.

SickBoy32
31-10-2024, 02:20 PM
Should start ahead of Youan on Sunday.

Looked a lot more threatening in a short spell, than Youan did throughout the game. Couple of really dangerous deliveries and not too far away with a shot.

31-10-2024, 02:25 PM
Given we don't have a number 10, we'd be better changing the make up of the midfield rather than playing Hoilett in there. Go more of a 4-1-4-1

I'd give Cadden a shot playing that centre left midfield role.... something like this below and actually ask the two central midfielders to get in the half spaces and regularly get in the box to support the forward.

Triantis

Youan
Kwon
Cadden
Hoilett

Myko

31-10-2024, 02:35 PM

I'm maybe being harsh but I can't remember Myko doing anything apart from losing headers and missing the target - did he have a header that Laidlaw saved?

It was more than McKirdy, but it still had the same impact on the end result.

Donegal Hibby
31-10-2024, 02:39 PM
That’s because he is

Puts in a power of work for the team . Thought Cadden looked decent when he came on too.

31-10-2024, 02:48 PM
I'm maybe being harsh but I can't remember Myko doing anything apart from losing headers and missing the target - did he have a header that Laidlaw saved?

It was more than McKirdy, but it still had the same impact on the end result.

He didn’t do too much I agree and he lost most of the aerial duels with the RC defenders. I found it frustrating he kept going out wide in the first half and Hoilet was in the middle. Junior is much more effective out wide. Mckirdy ran about a lot but looked absolutely lost.

random sub
31-10-2024, 10:36 PM
What do people who've seen him play more than me think of him?[/QUOTE]

underwhelming so far. Seems like a journeyman pro, who clearly can play, but doesn’t seem to be the sort to improve our team. Find it hard to understand why we gave him a 3 year deal. Hope he proves my doubts wrong.

01-11-2024, 06:39 AM
Looked fine last night but think he has the same issue as Chris does, too slow for a winger.

This. He's a left footed version of his brother. Baffling signing.

01-11-2024, 07:08 AM
This. He's a left footed version of his brother. Baffling signing.He plays nothing like his brother from the clips and what I've seen

Can't believe folk are so quick to totally write someone off

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

01-11-2024, 07:25 AM
He plays nothing like his brother from the clips and what I've seen

I've watched him play football matches not clips. I've seen him play for Forest Green, Barnsley and here.

Not talented enough to play left wing. Not a good enough defender to play as a full back. He's a wing back, with minimal pace, can't defend and a decent crosser of the ball. He's almost identical.

01-11-2024, 07:30 AM
I've watched him play football matches not clips. I've seen him play for Forest Green, Barnsley and here.

Not talented enough to play left wing. Not a good enough defender to play as a full back. He's a wing back, with minimal pace, can't defend and a decent crosser of the ball. He's almost identical.Interesting as to be he already looks more dynamic than Chris

01-11-2024, 07:36 AM
Interesting as to be he already looks more dynamic than Chris

Ye need to show me these clips you've been watching as he looks even slower than his brother.

01-11-2024, 08:02 AM
Ye need to show me these clips you've been watching as he looks even slower than his brother.Maybe dynamic isn't the right term

But his cameo on Wednesday I thought he looked good, beating a few players and taking them out the game - getting good balls into the box and a wee bit unlucky with his long range effort at the end

I've rarely seen his brother look as threatening

Guess we will see but I hope I'm right for once!

01-11-2024, 08:33 AM
Maybe dynamic isn't the right term

But his cameo on Wednesday I thought he looked good, beating a few players and taking them out the game - getting good balls into the box and a wee bit unlucky with his long range effort at the end

I've rarely seen his brother look as threatening

Guess we will see but I hope I'm right for once!

He brought a bit of energy late in the game when opposition legs appeared to be tiring but he looks very one-paced to me. Like just about every other player in our squad, including his brother these days.

Bizarrely enough, the only player who has pleasantly surprised me with a burst of pace lately has been Lewis Miller.

1875Sean
01-11-2024, 12:35 PM
He brought a bit of energy late in the game when opposition legs appeared to be tiring but he looks very one-paced to me. Like just about every other player in our squad, including his brother these days.

Bizarrely enough, the only player who has pleasantly surprised me with a burst of pace lately has been Lewis Miller.

Too bad Lewis Miller can’t control or pass the ball when it comes his way

01-11-2024, 12:50 PM
Just like Myko then.

Myko has scored a goal for us. In fact, more than that but even one would be enough to stand them apart.

Mark ****ing Oxley is a better striker than McKirdy.

01-11-2024, 01:58 PM

Shame he cannot get out of first gear when chasing after wingers he has been caught on the wrong side of

That pass out of play to no one second half on the counter on Sunday was bizarre to say the least

A burst of pace at the Hearts equaliser would have been nice as well no sense of danger

Maybe Nicky Cadden can give him a few pointers as has experience and seems to know what he is doing

Donegal Hibby
02-11-2024, 12:40 AM
Nicky Cadden interview …

https://youtu.be/LBJOUu9wY10?si=i74N9Br9Yw0KuvUe

02-11-2024, 10:35 AM
My comparison of McKirdy to Myko was a bit OTT, but genuinely feel Myko needs to start making contributions to games. I thought he was bullied by the County defenders the other night.

McKirdy is a write-off, never good enough in a million years. I’m staggered someone thought he was of the required standard.

02-11-2024, 11:17 AM
My comparison of McKirdy to Myko was a bit OTT, but genuinely feel Myko needs to start making contributions to games. I thought he was bullied by the County defenders the other night.

McKirdy is a write-off, never good enough in a million years. I’m staggered someone thought he was of the required standard.

Yeah, I thought Myko had a very poor game the other night too.

He seemed to lose everything aerially and the least you can normally expect from him is that he challenges the defenders to an extent that he wins bits and pieces and what he doesn’t win, he makes it very hard for defenders to win decisively.

I thought his movement (or lack of) was fairly central to our poor attacking from open play, and our failure to create much when we were getting the upper hand during the second half.

He’s a player I normally rate and like too.

Donegal Hibby
02-11-2024, 11:37 AM
Agree that big Myko hadn’t one of his better games against Ross County though in other games he’s won quite a few headers flicking them on only for us not to benefit… would he be better playing with another striker? .. maybe Gayle tomorrow if he’s fit?

02-11-2024, 11:41 AM
Agree that big Myko hadn’t one of his better games against Ross County though in other games he’s won quite a few headers flicking them on only for us not to benefit… would he be better playing with another striker? .. maybe Gayle tomorrow if he’s fit?

Absolutely imo.

451 with Myko as central striker and no natural 10 are fairly central to our attacking / creativity problems as I see it.

02-11-2024, 12:07 PM

The whole team would benefit from another striker playing up with him IMO.

More outballs, more options, more goals, a better press.

sauzeelegod
02-11-2024, 12:32 PM
523/343 would work nicely I think.

02-11-2024, 01:11 PM
Surprised at the stick Myk is getting.

Couple of times I thought he held it in really well.

I feel for strikers at times when people are shelling the ball or pointing nothing balls forward and just expecting the striker to be there or make it stick. If we’re doing that technique everyone off the ball needs to be set up for the seconds, flick ons or misses.

Still a young lad, snatched at a good chance but think he’s a good player

03-11-2024, 06:50 PM

Felt like ine I (and I'm sure a few others) were treading on eggshells giving an opinion about him as a player after his medical diagnosis, which I'm very happy he's back from. However, he's absolute pony, a haircut and not much else, and has been since the day he joined. One of those players off the bench that you know is going to contribute sweet FA

itslegaltender
03-11-2024, 06:58 PM
A poor man’s Drey Wright

03-11-2024, 07:08 PM
A poor man’s Drey WrightHis 6 min appearance today seal that opinion?

raeburnhibs
03-11-2024, 07:11 PM
His 6 min appearance today seal that opinion?

Cadden like many was absolutely fine today, several good balls in from corners which meant we finished on the front foot looking more likely to win despite being down to 10

03-11-2024, 07:41 PM
I thought his corners were better than Hoillets today. Most of Hoillets barely made it past the first man.

03-11-2024, 07:48 PM
Cadden like many was absolutely fine today, several good balls in from corners which meant we finished on the front foot looking more likely to win despite being down to 10

Yes he was good when he came on. Was very involved for only being on a short while

03-11-2024, 09:53 PM
Played well when he came on

04-11-2024, 12:48 AM
A poor man’s Drey Wright

Pish. Nicky Cadden did well when he came on today and helped us get the upper hand for the closing stages of the game. He should have been on with the others ten minutes before he was though. And I’m convinced we’d have won the game had that happened. Nowt wrong with Nicky Cadden today.

04-11-2024, 08:09 AM
Pish. Nicky Cadden did well when he came on today and helped us get the upper hand for the closing stages of the game. He should have been on with the others ten minutes before he was though. And I’m convinced we’d have won the game had that happened. Nowt wrong with Nicky Cadden today.

He put some good balls in to the box when he came on.

As you say, changes were too late. Him, and I think it was Molotnikov, were standing ready for 5-10 minutes and we didn’t get them on. Penalty and sending off happened and it changed to Youan and Molotnikov but it was too late.

04-11-2024, 09:40 AM
I’d have had him or Youan on for Boyle mid way through 2nd half. Game was opening up and Martin wasn’t, and hasn’t been lately, at the races.

05-11-2024, 06:07 AM
Surprised at the stick Myk is getting.

Couple of times I thought he held it in really well.

I feel for strikers at times when people are shelling the ball or pointing nothing balls forward and just expecting the striker to be there or make it stick. If we’re doing that technique everyone off the ball needs to be set up for the seconds, flick ons or misses.

Still a young lad, snatched at a good chance but think he’s a good player

He is a good player seems everyone is in the firing line

05-11-2024, 11:35 AM
He is a good player seems everyone is in the firing line

I agree that he's a good player but he's not had a great few weeks, in a team where our biggest problems are in an area where he's the focal point.

Whilst everybody from the Gordons to Kensell to MacKay to Gray get the finger pointed at them and blamed for our current ills, Myko has been culpable for some fairly definitive on field moments that have cost us points and put a more pessimistic slant on everything. He can't avoid his share of the blame.

07-11-2024, 03:17 AM
He plays nothing like his brother from the clips and what I've seen

have you been away from the forums for a while’ :)

Clarence
07-11-2024, 05:33 AM
Myko has scored a goal for us. In fact, more than that but even one would be enough to stand them apart.

Mark ****ing Oxley is a better striker than McKirdy.

I’ve seen half time penalty takers better than McKirdy.

10-11-2024, 06:27 AM
Thought he was good again when he came on yesterday, result and performance was obviously crap but he was a positive I felt

hibeejeebies
10-11-2024, 07:54 AM
Thought he was good again when he came on yesterday, result and performance was obviously crap but he was a positive I felt

Agree, looked bright and a composed penalty.

ChuckNor
10-11-2024, 08:02 AM
Should’ve been allowed to take the first penalty. Pretty sure he took set pieces at Barnsley

10-11-2024, 08:04 AM

Agree has looked good since he came back in. Looks like he has a bit of fight about him which we criminally lack

10-11-2024, 08:08 AM
We need to get to a back 3 ASAP. Both Caddens are wing backs at their best IMO.

We need a left footer in central defence. And having 3 CBs probably helps to fit Levitt in without worrying too much about the defensive side also.

Got to be worth a try to tighten up.

10-11-2024, 08:34 AM

We need a left footer in central defence. And having 3 CBs probably helps to fit Levitt in without worrying too much about the defensive side also.

Rocky Marv and Iredale would be my 3, it's got to be worth a shot, couldn't be any worse than what we normally do.

10-11-2024, 08:37 AM
Rocky Marv and Iredale would be my 3, it's got to be worth a shot, couldn't be any worse than what we normally do.

Agree again better balance some aggression some pace

hibsdaft
10-11-2024, 08:40 AM
He's the best crosser of a ball we have. Fairly limited player otherwise but he's shown himself to be a good option off the bench.

10-11-2024, 08:52 AM

Rocky has been absolutely awful anytime we have used him in a 3, his positioning is all of the shop. Do you remember Celtic Park earlier this season. The only sustained periods of periods of winning football we have had in the last 3 years have been when Rocky was out injured under LJ. He isn’t the answer.

10-11-2024, 08:55 AM
Rocky has been absolutely awful anytime we have used him in a 3, his positioning is all of the shop. Do you remember Celtic Park earlier this season. The only sustained periods of periods of winning football we have had in the last 3 years have been when Rocky was out injured under LJ. He isn’t the answer.

I remember, I'm just throwing darts at a balloon here, we don't have many other options 😭

LewysGot2
10-11-2024, 10:54 AM

His attitude is better than some of his team mates, too.
We're in a battle and we need people are not "half hiding" as was accurately aimed at some players by McCann yesterday.
He's got better dead balls from the Newell side than Newell, too.

10-11-2024, 10:58 AM

Conceded a goal from the right yesterday, thanks to the Cadden/Boyle not stopping crosses masterclass they offered. Miller straight back in on the right for me.

22-12-2024, 08:16 AM
I know there is another thread but does this one show why we need to let players settle at the club before making minds up, cadden has probably been our best player in the last wee while but some folk on this thread and another one before wouldn't have him near the team

22-12-2024, 11:12 AM
I know there is another thread but does this one show why we need to let players settle at the club before making minds up, cadden has probably been our best player in the last wee while but some folk on this thread and another one before wouldn't have him near the team

Happy to say that starting this thread is proof that very rarely, I don't haver absolute pish. Since that County game, or around then, he's been in the starting line up most of the time and contributing.

Long may it continue.